Lionsgate | Release Date: November 5, 2010
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 47 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
5
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
CazatuzDec 10, 2010
The Critics have done it again. They underrated yet another movie for the millionth. This movie is superb. These ratings are ridiculous... Its almost perfect. This is def 1 of Tyler Perrys best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
talltamNov 7, 2010
This is an Awesome, Powerful movie. The actresses delivered each woman's story in a moving way so that it was possible to relate to each and every character. I loved the age diversity of the cast so that, as a colored girl, if you couldn'tThis is an Awesome, Powerful movie. The actresses delivered each woman's story in a moving way so that it was possible to relate to each and every character. I loved the age diversity of the cast so that, as a colored girl, if you couldn't identify with one or more of the cast yourself, 9 times out of 10, you know of a family member or friend who has been through, or is going through at least one of the situations. I think that alone is what makes this movie so powerful for colored girls. I love how all of their stories were some how intertwined (similar to real life). I couldn't get enough of these girls. I didn't want the movie to end. I just loved it! I've never seen the play to compare it to the movie, but the movie alone gets 10 out of 10 from me and I would love to see the play now. All in all, "For Colored Girls" is a Colorful, Smart, Moving, and Captivating movie that every colored girl can relate to. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rockaNov 7, 2010
If you were fortunate enough to have seen the play, you would appreciate this movie 100 times over! The way that Perry interwove the lives and scenes (the play was mostly soliloquies!) was pure genius. Though it (like most media) does nothingIf you were fortunate enough to have seen the play, you would appreciate this movie 100 times over! The way that Perry interwove the lives and scenes (the play was mostly soliloquies!) was pure genius. Though it (like most media) does nothing to boost the image of the black man in America, his contribution to the play and playwrite is admirable. Every woman (including Janet Jackson who seems to be reading her lines throughout the movie) deserves recognition for their acting...Kimberly Elise, Whoppi Goldberg and Loretta Devine deserve major credit and awards! Kudos, Tyler! A BIG 10! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Retha210Nov 7, 2010
Not only is â
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LaurelNov 7, 2010
This film takes its viewer on a journey through every one of their emotions. I left the theatre with a rare feeling of satisfaction. I wasn't left with a longing for answers or the nagging curiosity of whats next. The film and its charactersThis film takes its viewer on a journey through every one of their emotions. I left the theatre with a rare feeling of satisfaction. I wasn't left with a longing for answers or the nagging curiosity of whats next. The film and its characters in a sense provided its viewers with a full coarse meal with the indepth discussions that carried on after standing as a sweet desert. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CarrmelNov 7, 2010
All the actresses gave superb performances... My wife and I enjoyed the film, and will probably see it again. Mr. Perry knocked a home-run as far as I'm concern. My advise to him is to not be concern about the naysayers... They are justAll the actresses gave superb performances... My wife and I enjoyed the film, and will probably see it again. Mr. Perry knocked a home-run as far as I'm concern. My advise to him is to not be concern about the naysayers... They are just jealous at his success. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
atlbabesNov 9, 2010
Ok this is not Tyler Perry's movie this is an adaptation of a choreopoem a broadway hit that hit the stage is the 70's Please stop with the whining about man bashing comments the movie nor the play was about men it was about the abuses ofOk this is not Tyler Perry's movie this is an adaptation of a choreopoem a broadway hit that hit the stage is the 70's Please stop with the whining about man bashing comments the movie nor the play was about men it was about the abuses of women! I think that he did a goog job considering the source to take a choreopoem and translate it to the screen is not easy..Please read the original. In the play I don't think the characters had names they were identified by colors. The abuses that the women in this play faced happens everyday...I see it on the news everyone of them with the exception of the back alley abortion. Tyler Perry heart is dark...well he was abused so maybe that's why he is so open to bringing abuse to the forefront. As far as someone not liking the title well the play is called For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When The Rainbow Is Enuff research Ntazke Shange and see why her heart is so dark and why she titled her choreopoem that. Tyler Perry good job Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
kurt-oFeb 6, 2011
I feel this was an excellent piece of work. The only problem I see with this film is that it is a Tyler Perry production, not that this is a bad thing. Just that it seemed that all the baggage of Mr. Perry's previous work was brought along byI feel this was an excellent piece of work. The only problem I see with this film is that it is a Tyler Perry production, not that this is a bad thing. Just that it seemed that all the baggage of Mr. Perry's previous work was brought along by the pro-critics. For some odd reason it was impossible for many of the critics to see this movie as it stands by itself.

It would also seem to me that the term melodrama has been incorrectly used when describing this film. By the mere definition of the word melodrama we know that it basically means over-acting, over emotional etc. But in the case of this movie, I don't see it. These women all went through extremely painful scenes, where the acting and the story line were appropriately matched. To really understand, you have to look at the baggage that each character is carrying just based on their life circumstances, I don't believe any of the critics who negatively reviewed this film did.

Furthermore, the critic who says this movie is filled with clichés, I beg to differ. There wasn't any "baby daddy drama", nor was there "single mom on welfare" subject matter here. I would say, ignoring Whoopi's part, you cold interchange any race/culture into any of these women's role in this movie.

Anyways, for those ignoring this movie because its a Tyler Perry production, I recommend you go see it. You won't be disappointed.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
ntonApr 30, 2011
This is a wonderful poetic movie that is worth a second look to fully appreciate. The acting is first rate with a stellar cast. Having read the book it was easy to tell when they were quoting directly from it and when the script strayed. TheThis is a wonderful poetic movie that is worth a second look to fully appreciate. The acting is first rate with a stellar cast. Having read the book it was easy to tell when they were quoting directly from it and when the script strayed. The dialogue is poetic and musical when it follows the book - the movie would have befitted from fewer additional scenes or storylines. Loretta Devine eats up the screen in every scene she appears in especially the ones that follow the book. Kimberly Elise is another standout - her final scene is gut wrenching. When she utters the word "fiercely" it is reminiscent of Cicely Tyson in Sounder crying "Nathan" - that same trascending quality when you forget you're watching a movie and really believe what you are watching. The final scene makes up for any flaws in this wonderful heartfelt movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheateraNerdJul 9, 2012
This movie is for people who like hardcore drama movies. If you don't like drama then don't watch it. Its that simple! This movie is very well written with a serious, and realistic plot that delivers. This movie demonstrates why Tyler PerryThis movie is for people who like hardcore drama movies. If you don't like drama then don't watch it. Its that simple! This movie is very well written with a serious, and realistic plot that delivers. This movie demonstrates why Tyler Perry is so wealthy...BECAUSE HIS MOVIES ARE ART! This movie is heart-wrenching, realistic, entertaining, and captivating! The ONLY movies that can make me cry are Lion King and Tyler Perry films, and this is one of them. I also love Janet in this film, never knew she could act so well! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ForREALNov 8, 2010
The only problem with Tyler Perry Movies/Plays/Productions are the men (black or otherwise) that are hating on a brother for exposing issues that they try so hard to cover up! And all the people (men and women) that will not look theirThe only problem with Tyler Perry Movies/Plays/Productions are the men (black or otherwise) that are hating on a brother for exposing issues that they try so hard to cover up! And all the people (men and women) that will not look their problems straight on and get help to get over and move on from them. I think he is paving a way for issues to be brought to the surface and dealt with. A far cry from history of covering up and letting it eat the life out of you. Move on people and stop hating on the brother, he don't know you personally, he just ran across somebody just like you. This could have been easily done by anyone else and your reaction would have been the same. It's not the person this time around, it's the issues that society won't deal with. I personally saw this and thought it was a magnificent interpretation of someone else's work. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
somethin2sayNov 7, 2010
im 22 first let me say i would have respected tyler perry alot more if the had been about colored woman in slavery or along some line like that. Then wouldve of been about "colored girls" especially since he wanted to use Whoopis hate for herim 22 first let me say i would have respected tyler perry alot more if the had been about colored woman in slavery or along some line like that. Then wouldve of been about "colored girls" especially since he wanted to use Whoopis hate for her children and why yes woman were raped by white by men and had their children in slavery. Im not making this black and white.it just was all over the place no real plot. It was a bunch of stererotypical crap. Each story those woman had to tell could happen to absolutely ANYONE. Not just black woman are abused, infertile, raped, sexually dependent on love, pregnant and afraid or have allowed man she loved to rule her heart and judgement. I think Tyler Perry hit high volumes in the movie and it was very deep but what he used it in away that portrayed it to only be a BLACK WOMANS struggle. TYLER STICK WITH MADEA YOU KNOW HER WELL. Im very disappointed Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
ShiiraNov 25, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Jo hates the ghetto, just hates it, but Crystal(Kimberly Elise), the editor-in-chief's personal assistant at Robe Rouge magazine, left behind some important company documents in her tenement apartment, so the fashion magazine maven drives the "colored" woman home, and waits inside a chauffeur-driven car, seething with contempt for "places like this", while business is attended to. Within the next few minutes, Jo will discover that the ghetto hates her back, equally, angry at this haughty woman's stance against her own kind, when the ghetto condition takes hold of a war veteran's mind, compelling Crystal's boyfriend to dangle their two young children, over the pavement, from an open window. The ghetto will remind this woman that she's colored, too, with an act so heinous, no ordinary words can describe it, so poetry is called in to do the job. He lets go of their ankles; she lets go of her masquerade, and becomes black again, while red pools on the sidewalk. Later, back home, speaking about Crystal in regard to the abuse she suffered at the hands of her mentally unstable boyfriend, Jo admits to the husband that she knew nothing, even though the woman was in her employment for the past eight years. Jo, played by Janet Jackson, who looks uncannily like her late brother whenever she's under duress, could very well be speaking about the "King of Pop" himself, since the incident can't help but evoke the Berlin episode where Michael suspended his baby Blanket aloft from a hotel balcony, with nothing separating the eleven-month-old infant from the ground. Incidentally, or perhaps not, Janet was eight years old when both Ntozake Shange's choreopoem "For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf" and the Norman Lear-created sitcom "Good Times" impressed themselves upon the American consciousness, back in 1974. Not for nothing did the filmmaker cast Jackson as Jo, which just happens to be one-half of Janet's middle name(Damita Jo), because in a filmic sense, it's good times all over again; it's as if Penny Gordon, the young girl that Willona(Janet DuBois), the Evans family's neighbor, rescued from an abusive parent and eventually adopted, has returned home to the inner-city, and remembered what it was like being a colored. In real life, while Janet was playing the victim of a violent mother on the teevee, Damita Jo's father, by all accounts, would administer corporal punishment upon her older siblings, especially Michael, and maybe her, too(according to older sis LaToya). When Jo talks about Crystal, it's not hard to make the leap and say that she's actually talking in her own voice about Michael, who proclaimed in his last great song, 1991's "Black or White", that he wasn't "going to spend the rest of his life being a color," but probably did, down deep inside, contrary to his white appearance. This, of course, is pure speculation, but when Janet first saw news footage of her brother behaving badly in Germany, it might have dawned on her, the exactitude of the toll that child abuse took on Michael. Although not to the extent of her late brother, Janet, by her participation in "For Colored Girls", practically outs Joe Jackson as a child abuser, since all of the women, in some shape or form, were done wrong by a man, like Tangie(Thandie Newton), a promiscuous woman who could be a character from one of Damita Jo's hyper-sexual songs. When the women congregate for a group hug at the film's end, it's quite possible that Janet needs one for real. In many, if not all of her scenes, you want to close your eyes, because the youngest Jackson practically channels her dead brother, the loneliest man on the planet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
SmellyCatDec 21, 2010
This is a classic case of a film that is filled with some really great acting, but the director's lack of knowing how to deal with the source material interfering with the quality of the film. The cast is immensely talented, with JanetThis is a classic case of a film that is filled with some really great acting, but the director's lack of knowing how to deal with the source material interfering with the quality of the film. The cast is immensely talented, with Janet Jackson, Phylicia Rashad, and Loretta Devine being the major standouts. Though there are two major missteps (Whoopi Goldberg and Thandie Newton), almost everyone in the cast is just lovely. However, the film itself is just a jumbled mess of awkward insertions of poetry and monologues that just doesn't work. Tyler Perry's style just doesn't mix well with the feminist musing that the film is supposed to be, and he gets in the way of some great performances. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
savaro89Nov 7, 2010
This movie is a waste of time energy and money. Black men being bashed and Black women looking like the weaker being.. Me as a black man left the movie theater feeling like we have taken a step back with his last two movies. He needs to findThis movie is a waste of time energy and money. Black men being bashed and Black women looking like the weaker being.. Me as a black man left the movie theater feeling like we have taken a step back with his last two movies. He needs to find what is making his heart so dark and learn to live with it, but make it a positive aspect in life.I can't do this anymore with his movies. I left the theater with mostly caucasian looking at me like " I am so sorry." This is not the life I live by no means so I can't relate to the movie, but in the future make a ending that shows life gets better don't just have a party and leave it at that. There is a problem and a solution to things. this was by far garbage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Colored3333Feb 10, 2011
I thought I would like this movie, because I have like a lot of Tyler Perry's movies. However, it is very unrealistic. The poetry in the middle serious traumatic moments was very tactless. I feel like most of the actresses overacted. I amI thought I would like this movie, because I have like a lot of Tyler Perry's movies. However, it is very unrealistic. The poetry in the middle serious traumatic moments was very tactless. I feel like most of the actresses overacted. I am also very tired of seeing the same African American Female actors in these "powerful black movies". There were too many stars in this movies... most of which over acted ..in my opinion. And the randomly placed poetry had me lost for moments throughout the movie. I thought, wait... what is she talking about... I have been through a lot of these same experiences. There was too much going on.. To many famous female actors, and too much poetry at ALL of the wrong moments. No one would recite poetry immediately after being raped, having any abortion, or being abuse etc. This movie could have been great but I think that Tyler tried too hard in his movie. He over did it. I am not being insensitive to the abuse that Tyler suffered or these characters but as a survivor myself who has survived a tremendous amount of abuse, this movie was horrible. I am also tired of Tyler making movies about the same type of stuff. The same battered women, the same sexually assaulted person etc. Everything is so predictable. I realize that he is trying to be inspirational but it is overkill. I know these issues are still prevalent but we need a break. If this is all that Tyler can write about then I believe ha he has done is best work in other movies and it is time for him to retire and explore alternative career paths. I am just tired of the same cliche type of movies. I hope I have not offended any one with my views but for every person that did not like it there is bound to be some who do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
LordSnowFeb 12, 2011
I have always somewhat enjoyed Tyler Perry movies. However, this... This was just awful. So over written. So overly dramatic. I know it is a stage to screen translation, but wow did it not work. It basically hit every cliche I could think ofI have always somewhat enjoyed Tyler Perry movies. However, this... This was just awful. So over written. So overly dramatic. I know it is a stage to screen translation, but wow did it not work. It basically hit every cliche I could think of in one fell swoop. As much as I hate to say it, this was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
dollar123Feb 16, 2011
Tyler Perry I can honestly say this was the WORST movie i have ever seen. I never do reviews on movies and i never read them but this i had to see what the rating was. I didn't make it through the whole movie. I had to watch a women get rapedTyler Perry I can honestly say this was the WORST movie i have ever seen. I never do reviews on movies and i never read them but this i had to see what the rating was. I didn't make it through the whole movie. I had to watch a women get raped and a father through his kids out the window to there death. what kind of CRAP is this. This isn't just black women who have to go through this. Is everyone. I have never in my life been so pissed at a movie. I would love for someone to please tell me the point of this movie. There is no point it was all CRAP. I will never in my life watch another tyler Perry movie. They are ruined for me. I thought you were better than this. You want to know what i saw in this movie. I saw something that could have happened to anyone and you are trying to make it sound like black people are so abused in this world. when i saw the movie im pretty sure it was a black guy that raped her. It was a black guy that was gay. It was a black guy who killed his kids. If you ask me this movie was a bit raciest. I have never been so upset with a movie to write a review about it. Horrible job Mr Perry. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
rentcollectorJun 16, 2012
I sat down on today (6/16/2012), two years after this movie has seen the silver screen, only to be pushed into the realm of Netflix. I immediately became infuriated at myself, angry at the idea that I did not myself make my way into the movieI sat down on today (6/16/2012), two years after this movie has seen the silver screen, only to be pushed into the realm of Netflix. I immediately became infuriated at myself, angry at the idea that I did not myself make my way into the movie theater, to pay my hard earned dollar to review what I feel is one of the best productions Tyler has delivered to the world. I have had the opportunity to sit and to read a few of the bad reviews. I find that some of the critics are a bit short-sighted. There are those who would make this out to be a "Tyler Perry" blunder. There was even an implication that it brought all of "Tyler Perry's baggage" to it. This movie was inspiring, fresh, creative and moving. I happen to feel that it was a departure from the norm with Tyler and they way the script weaved each of the women's lives together flowed effortlessly. It was not choppy and each of the scenes seemed to appropriately compliment each other. This was a black man's "Macbeth". At its core it was "Shakespearean" and I feel that it was a riveting, display of showmanship. Forget the 22 year old immature rantings and the implications that Tyler has once again created a movie where actors and actresses "over-act". This was a fantastic learning experience for me as a man and it brought class to the Silver screen in a subtle way. I give Mr. Tyler Perry and the entire cast of "For Colored Girls" a thumbs up! Definitely a MUST SEE! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
dkmommieNov 8, 2010
i must say as a young black mother/older sister/daughter/cousin friend i loved this movie. I will agree that parts of the movie (mainly the back alley abortion) were a little outdated but i felt as if T. Perry was trying to stay true to thei must say as a young black mother/older sister/daughter/cousin friend i loved this movie. I will agree that parts of the movie (mainly the back alley abortion) were a little outdated but i felt as if T. Perry was trying to stay true to the original chorepoem. i dont think that T.Perry excluded any woman from the tribulations that the women in the movies faced. I do think that he understood the power that the original play had and the depth of its meaning to the black community. he took an AMAZING play "for colored girls who have considered suicide when the rainbow is not enuf" and he transformed it into a powerful, moving, gripping dramatic movie that was supposed to incite rage and concern and momentum within WOMEN of all races and colors. the purpose so plainly laid out was to spark that fire within women to say it doesnt matter if i meet a million abusive, lying, murderous, cheating, down low, rapist; i am a powerful being and i am worth more than the scrap thrown at me and the treasures within could never be stolen. To everyone who only took away from this movie that it was overdramatic and manbashing u need to go talk to your grandmother or your mother or the woman down the block and around the corner who all have their own dramatic tale that is probably infused some man bashing. This movie was about Women not men. the men were a side note. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
reddragonNov 9, 2010
I've read all the reviews I could find on this film. I am in awe of what people look for in film. All reviews are opinions and I respect that. There are those who focus on the technical, the writing style, the "look" or the set, the actors'I've read all the reviews I could find on this film. I am in awe of what people look for in film. All reviews are opinions and I respect that. There are those who focus on the technical, the writing style, the "look" or the set, the actors' performances and then there are those who focus on the story. In the case of "For Colored Girls..", yes, critique it all, but look at the stories of these women and men. It touches a lot of people because they are true to life. All of us knows one of these characters up close and personal. Some of us are these characters. For Mr. Perry to bring this wonderful piece of art to film is admirable by itself. To point out what could have been done better is fair, but don't neglect what was done well. The hearts and souls of these women were exposed to remind us of ourselves, of the struggles of friends and family. To remember not to forget that we are so much more alike than we are different. The film causes me not to forget who I came from: strong women who endured and was still left standing; who I am: a off-spring of triumph over tragedy; who you are: human - just like me. Sure it was difficult to take Ms. Shange's work and adapt it into a story that interconnected and made sense. He did that; not perfect, but well done. Could it have been better? Everything can always be better. The real question is, "does it speak to the people? Move them? Make them think, remember, leave the theater believing in themselves, in others? I believe it does. Thank you Mr. Perry, for doing what very few filmmakers do -- speak to the people. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
malindaNov 10, 2010
I really enjoyed this movie, i remember back in 1980, we at Malcolm X College, in chicago put on our own production of this poem, at that time I was much younger and had not had the experiences that I've gone through now, This film was veryI really enjoyed this movie, i remember back in 1980, we at Malcolm X College, in chicago put on our own production of this poem, at that time I was much younger and had not had the experiences that I've gone through now, This film was very touching and very real for me. I really loved it one of the best Tyler Perry movies for me!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
simone04Nov 12, 2010
Went to see the movie today. It was awesome. Every woman in this story was someone that I know or once knew. Can't wait to see it again!! Mr. Perry did a wonderful job.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
chevichavonnNov 13, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Walking into the movie theater I hadnâ Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JFordNov 17, 2010
I was completely blown away, by this story, by Tylers directing, and by all of the actors delivery. EVERY actress owned their part, there was no bad actress in here. They all had fair screen time and poured their hearts and souls into theirI was completely blown away, by this story, by Tylers directing, and by all of the actors delivery. EVERY actress owned their part, there was no bad actress in here. They all had fair screen time and poured their hearts and souls into their lines and poems. The top 5 actresses in this movie are 5.Thandie Newton, 4. Macy Gray, 3. Loretta Devine, 2. Janet Jackson, 1. Kimberly Elise. If 3 of these women dont get Golden Globe or Oscar consideration somethings seriously wrong. More than likely if you or any reviewer dont like the movie, you probably couldnt get it or get into it. Because this movie can take you on a wild emotional ride if you let it. But alas theres people against this movie and Tyler so their going to watch it and judge anything they can to keep it down. Im not even that much of a fan of his work but I hope he wins an Oscar for this only so it can piss off the reviewers trying to keep this masterpiece down. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
iamtrent424Dec 29, 2010
I didn't like this movie at all. The story is all over the place. It was too hard to figure out what the plot to this movie was about. Every scene had me wondering, What is the point. DId a horrible job with this movie. I Hope the play thatI didn't like this movie at all. The story is all over the place. It was too hard to figure out what the plot to this movie was about. Every scene had me wondering, What is the point. DId a horrible job with this movie. I Hope the play that he wrote this from was better. This is one of tyler worst movie. Tyler Perry is a good writer at times but I think this movie would have been netter if another director made it. Tyler Perry didn't know how to direct this movie with all these outstanding actors and actress. This movie was not believable. They did a good job acting in this movie but it wasn't believable because scene after scene there was always something wrong with the character , I think he could have did a way better job with directing. Not a good movie. Could have been better. Not horrible to some people , I could understand why, but to me this is his worst movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Libra85Jan 1, 2011
First let me say I'm a black 25 y/o male and I think Tyler Perry is hit or miss. The best work I've seen from him is The Family That Preys and his Madea movies being stereotypical crap. So with that said I like this movie. The best are theFirst let me say I'm a black 25 y/o male and I think Tyler Perry is hit or miss. The best work I've seen from him is The Family That Preys and his Madea movies being stereotypical crap. So with that said I like this movie. The best are the performances with a special nod to Phylicia Rashad and Thandie Newton. Another great thing was the story or stories were well paced and nothing was to preachy though a few small elements were a little trite. Namely the problems with the lady in red. Though not bad just didn't feel as strong or important. The downside is Tyler Perry does not balance well with his movies and they always seem so one-sided. The men in this movie aren't bashed so much as they are givin no character. They are merely statues used as a jump-off point for the female characters. Now the play is older than me and I understand there were no male characters. But I feel that as a film, if they are going to be there, they should be givin more to work with. This is still a good overall movie that works with was is being presented. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KadeemluvmusicMar 31, 2013
This is one of the better Tyler Perry dramas I've ever seen. There was a lot of poetry, a lot of love/hate moments, and a scene that was too gruesome to show where a black man dropped the kids to the window. It was disturbing and hard toThis is one of the better Tyler Perry dramas I've ever seen. There was a lot of poetry, a lot of love/hate moments, and a scene that was too gruesome to show where a black man dropped the kids to the window. It was disturbing and hard to watch. But it was one of my favorite films from Tyler Perry. I like the entire cast, the script was intact, the suspense just kills me every time something violent is going to happen. I didn't get it on Blu-Ray, but I'll get it this week. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews