Lionsgate | Release Date: November 5, 2010
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 47 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
30
Mixed:
5
Negative:
12
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
somethin2sayNov 7, 2010
im 22 first let me say i would have respected tyler perry alot more if the had been about colored woman in slavery or along some line like that. Then wouldve of been about "colored girls" especially since he wanted to use Whoopis hate for herim 22 first let me say i would have respected tyler perry alot more if the had been about colored woman in slavery or along some line like that. Then wouldve of been about "colored girls" especially since he wanted to use Whoopis hate for her children and why yes woman were raped by white by men and had their children in slavery. Im not making this black and white.it just was all over the place no real plot. It was a bunch of stererotypical crap. Each story those woman had to tell could happen to absolutely ANYONE. Not just black woman are abused, infertile, raped, sexually dependent on love, pregnant and afraid or have allowed man she loved to rule her heart and judgement. I think Tyler Perry hit high volumes in the movie and it was very deep but what he used it in away that portrayed it to only be a BLACK WOMANS struggle. TYLER STICK WITH MADEA YOU KNOW HER WELL. Im very disappointed Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
savaro89Nov 7, 2010
This movie is a waste of time energy and money. Black men being bashed and Black women looking like the weaker being.. Me as a black man left the movie theater feeling like we have taken a step back with his last two movies. He needs to findThis movie is a waste of time energy and money. Black men being bashed and Black women looking like the weaker being.. Me as a black man left the movie theater feeling like we have taken a step back with his last two movies. He needs to find what is making his heart so dark and learn to live with it, but make it a positive aspect in life.I can't do this anymore with his movies. I left the theater with mostly caucasian looking at me like " I am so sorry." This is not the life I live by no means so I can't relate to the movie, but in the future make a ending that shows life gets better don't just have a party and leave it at that. There is a problem and a solution to things. this was by far garbage. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Colored3333Feb 10, 2011
I thought I would like this movie, because I have like a lot of Tyler Perry's movies. However, it is very unrealistic. The poetry in the middle serious traumatic moments was very tactless. I feel like most of the actresses overacted. I amI thought I would like this movie, because I have like a lot of Tyler Perry's movies. However, it is very unrealistic. The poetry in the middle serious traumatic moments was very tactless. I feel like most of the actresses overacted. I am also very tired of seeing the same African American Female actors in these "powerful black movies". There were too many stars in this movies... most of which over acted ..in my opinion. And the randomly placed poetry had me lost for moments throughout the movie. I thought, wait... what is she talking about... I have been through a lot of these same experiences. There was too much going on.. To many famous female actors, and too much poetry at ALL of the wrong moments. No one would recite poetry immediately after being raped, having any abortion, or being abuse etc. This movie could have been great but I think that Tyler tried too hard in his movie. He over did it. I am not being insensitive to the abuse that Tyler suffered or these characters but as a survivor myself who has survived a tremendous amount of abuse, this movie was horrible. I am also tired of Tyler making movies about the same type of stuff. The same battered women, the same sexually assaulted person etc. Everything is so predictable. I realize that he is trying to be inspirational but it is overkill. I know these issues are still prevalent but we need a break. If this is all that Tyler can write about then I believe ha he has done is best work in other movies and it is time for him to retire and explore alternative career paths. I am just tired of the same cliche type of movies. I hope I have not offended any one with my views but for every person that did not like it there is bound to be some who do. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
LordSnowFeb 12, 2011
I have always somewhat enjoyed Tyler Perry movies. However, this... This was just awful. So over written. So overly dramatic. I know it is a stage to screen translation, but wow did it not work. It basically hit every cliche I could think ofI have always somewhat enjoyed Tyler Perry movies. However, this... This was just awful. So over written. So overly dramatic. I know it is a stage to screen translation, but wow did it not work. It basically hit every cliche I could think of in one fell swoop. As much as I hate to say it, this was one of the worst films I have ever seen. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
dollar123Feb 16, 2011
Tyler Perry I can honestly say this was the WORST movie i have ever seen. I never do reviews on movies and i never read them but this i had to see what the rating was. I didn't make it through the whole movie. I had to watch a women get rapedTyler Perry I can honestly say this was the WORST movie i have ever seen. I never do reviews on movies and i never read them but this i had to see what the rating was. I didn't make it through the whole movie. I had to watch a women get raped and a father through his kids out the window to there death. what kind of CRAP is this. This isn't just black women who have to go through this. Is everyone. I have never in my life been so pissed at a movie. I would love for someone to please tell me the point of this movie. There is no point it was all CRAP. I will never in my life watch another tyler Perry movie. They are ruined for me. I thought you were better than this. You want to know what i saw in this movie. I saw something that could have happened to anyone and you are trying to make it sound like black people are so abused in this world. when i saw the movie im pretty sure it was a black guy that raped her. It was a black guy that was gay. It was a black guy who killed his kids. If you ask me this movie was a bit raciest. I have never been so upset with a movie to write a review about it. Horrible job Mr Perry. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
rentcollectorJun 16, 2012
I sat down on today (6/16/2012), two years after this movie has seen the silver screen, only to be pushed into the realm of Netflix. I immediately became infuriated at myself, angry at the idea that I did not myself make my way into the movieI sat down on today (6/16/2012), two years after this movie has seen the silver screen, only to be pushed into the realm of Netflix. I immediately became infuriated at myself, angry at the idea that I did not myself make my way into the movie theater, to pay my hard earned dollar to review what I feel is one of the best productions Tyler has delivered to the world. I have had the opportunity to sit and to read a few of the bad reviews. I find that some of the critics are a bit short-sighted. There are those who would make this out to be a "Tyler Perry" blunder. There was even an implication that it brought all of "Tyler Perry's baggage" to it. This movie was inspiring, fresh, creative and moving. I happen to feel that it was a departure from the norm with Tyler and they way the script weaved each of the women's lives together flowed effortlessly. It was not choppy and each of the scenes seemed to appropriately compliment each other. This was a black man's "Macbeth". At its core it was "Shakespearean" and I feel that it was a riveting, display of showmanship. Forget the 22 year old immature rantings and the implications that Tyler has once again created a movie where actors and actresses "over-act". This was a fantastic learning experience for me as a man and it brought class to the Silver screen in a subtle way. I give Mr. Tyler Perry and the entire cast of "For Colored Girls" a thumbs up! Definitely a MUST SEE! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews