Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 6, 1994
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1187 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
941
Mixed:
33
Negative:
213
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
J-ShapAug 25, 2011
A thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would beA thought crossed my mind many years after viewing this picture: Forrest Gump cannot succeed as a sentimental message picture, because it's message is irresponsible. It is a message of ignorance through bliss, the idea that life would be inherently easier without our pesky brains and ideas. Hanks plays his role as best he could, but the film mistakes a remarkably sad existence for a happy one. Expand
10 of 36 users found this helpful1026
All this user's reviews
1
JLeighJun 25, 2015
A vile, offensive, lazy shambles of a film that is so saccharine its a wonder watching it doesn't give you diabetes. Please don't watch it if you haven't.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
oscarrMar 12, 2012
I hate this movie with all my life.
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
0
MaxO.May 30, 2007
One of the worst films I have ever seen. Pretentious, melodramatic, overly-sentimental, and manipulative. An obvious Oscar/credibility bid. It makes me weep that so many people have fallen for it.
1 of 5 users found this helpful
0
jedwardsAug 30, 2015
This overly sentimental film has often been regarded as one of the finest in cinema history, which it is anything but. This is a badly acted,y written and executed film, that downplays American counter culture events in favour of a dim wittedThis overly sentimental film has often been regarded as one of the finest in cinema history, which it is anything but. This is a badly acted,y written and executed film, that downplays American counter culture events in favour of a dim witted story. The film is patronising to the audience and characters alike, with laughable quotes like "stupid is as stupid does." This is a very poor film, and easily one of the worst best picture winners to date. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
raporgiOct 5, 2014
Stupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. TypicalStupid saccharine coated fantasy drivel that makes morons root for somebody less fortunate. This movie is literally for retards only! The charm and innocence of the main character sends the wrong message about the bliss of ignorance. Typical Hollywood **** that takes people away from the reality they have to live in. Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
2
MattC.Oct 6, 2005
Can it be more overrated? Hanks lays up his performance as a dolt. When will people learn that playing a simpleton or disabled person is not always cause for accolades?
1 of 7 users found this helpful
0
faustoabNov 5, 2013
The worst film ever made. How could it be consider better then "The Shawshank Redemption" No sense at all. How could it be better then Pulp Fiction No, not at all. I prefer "Attack of the Killer Tomatoes" then "Forest Dumb"!
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
0
MattF.May 21, 2008
This was an awful, ignorant, simpleminded movie. Tom Hanks delivered his least nuanced and one-note performance to date, and he won the Oscar! What a disgrace. This is a terrible film whose message is to conform; black panthers and hippies This was an awful, ignorant, simpleminded movie. Tom Hanks delivered his least nuanced and one-note performance to date, and he won the Oscar! What a disgrace. This is a terrible film whose message is to conform; black panthers and hippies are evil. I hate this corny film. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
2
AmyB.Sep 15, 2007
I have now seen the majority of this movie 4 times. The first time was in the movie theater. I absolutely hated it - as did my date. HURRAY!!! The second time a liked it a little bit better, but the third and fourth time I went back to my I have now seen the majority of this movie 4 times. The first time was in the movie theater. I absolutely hated it - as did my date. HURRAY!!! The second time a liked it a little bit better, but the third and fourth time I went back to my thoughts. It is the predecessor for so many movies that take aim at certain things I think should be left alone. Sure, I'm old fashioned. But proud of it. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful
0
thewisekingFeb 6, 2006
perhaps the worst film ever made. never before in the history of cinema has anything this mawkish, pretentious stupid, and manipulative ever been foisted upon us. there is not one single thing in this film which isn't false. it is so perhaps the worst film ever made. never before in the history of cinema has anything this mawkish, pretentious stupid, and manipulative ever been foisted upon us. there is not one single thing in this film which isn't false. it is so outrageously derivative and obviously manipulative that i honestly was hoping, praying, that they were kidding. alas, they were not. this should be preserved, and shown in film schools as an example of "movie making by committee" and as an indictment of the boomer generation and how they destroyed american film. Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful