Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: August 19, 2011
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 282 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
194
Mixed:
68
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
kldAug 21, 2011
Having been a fan of the original and not a big fan of hollywood remakes, i was worried about this redo. The basic premise is the same but the makers definitely augmented the whole storyline. Colin Farrell is passable, not great. It'sHaving been a fan of the original and not a big fan of hollywood remakes, i was worried about this redo. The basic premise is the same but the makers definitely augmented the whole storyline. Colin Farrell is passable, not great. It's probably the weakest part of the film...Jerry"s role. The other actors and their parts are really good. Peter Vincent's reincarnation is pretty ingenious. Overall, this is a really good summer movie. Really really funny too...and most of that can't be showed in trailers because it would amiss of context. Not sure why this didn't do well at the box office...I think the trailers failed to show the humor. The Russian kid who plays Charlie and the girl from 28 Weeks Later are excellent in their roles...as is McLovin and Toni Colette. Most fun i had at the movie this summer...for sure. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
EliteF50Aug 20, 2011
Easily one of the best movies of the year. I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in thisEasily one of the best movies of the year. I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie. I mean, everyone is great in it but Colin really stands out. Everyone should see this movie in theaters, it's fantastic. 10/10 Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
bl_nkAug 27, 2011
A very enjoyable mix of campy suspense, action, and humor. Great performances all around, with the highlight being Colin Farrell as Jerry the vampire. My friends and I loved it. Give it a watch, it might surprise you.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
DarkCriticAug 19, 2011
I was planning to see the original 1985 of Fright Night, and I didn't catch up to see. So anyways, the new Fright Night was very entertaining and it's a lot o fun for putting old style of every vampire movies or horror films to bring backI was planning to see the original 1985 of Fright Night, and I didn't catch up to see. So anyways, the new Fright Night was very entertaining and it's a lot o fun for putting old style of every vampire movies or horror films to bring back some memories, until we have to watch more romantic vampires of dullness, you know the Twilight series. Colin Farrell and David Tennant did perfect job as the characters that they look extremely cool. Farrell plays the villain who he wants to terrorize the neighborhood into vampires and he's very charm to others. Tennant plays Peter Vincent who learns everything about vampires does exist to teach the rules to kill vampires. The cast did pretty okay and do like the character who seeks that his next door is a vampire. The scenes are cool to watch and sometimes it could be handy to watch in 3D (but please see this in 2D better). The story was good and almost compare to the original that they have both compliment to the original to make it new. I enjoy so much and please check out the Twilight joke where Charley talks to the McLovin character if you know what I mean. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
scrieciuAug 25, 2011
Usually I'm not a '' vampire '' movie fan, but I really liked '' Fright Night ''. When I first saw the trailer, I wasn't sure how it will turn out to be. For some reason, I founded Colin Farrell (at first) weird as a vampire. I was wrong. HeUsually I'm not a '' vampire '' movie fan, but I really liked '' Fright Night ''. When I first saw the trailer, I wasn't sure how it will turn out to be. For some reason, I founded Colin Farrell (at first) weird as a vampire. I was wrong. He delivered a great performance. The movie was surprisingly good. It had the perfect suspense, the perfect dark ambiance and even the soundtrack was awesome. The only part they left was the '' scary ''. It won't make you scared to death (for those who like to be scared, you will be disappointed), it just has a few '' jump up '' moments and some stressful scenes. Some vampire fans may appreciate the fact that it has the rules, like the vampire can come in to your house unless they are invited and the rest you already know. So it's a good, enjoyable '' end of summer '' movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
FatalExcursionAug 20, 2011
Entertaining in many aspects, balancing jaded roots and a modern flow to create one pretty awesome flick. Action, horror, suspense, comedy - it does all of this with a **** that provides pure adrenaline at times, and fun and laughter at others.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
nyeAug 20, 2011
Better than i expected. The cast was really good, especially anton yelchin who did a great charley, david tennant and chris mintz plasse were funny and hilarious. Everybody have to see it. Will not be disappointed.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
fsw37Aug 29, 2011
I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie.
www.onsale7.com designer clothing
I was really surprised at how great Fright Night was. Everything from the acting, the atmosphere, the music, the story... it was all pin-point perfect. Colin Farrell was absolutely amazing in this movie.
www.onsale7.com designer clothing online stores
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
xXRenTyrellXxAug 27, 2011
The movie "Fright Night" is just what you've been waiting for, if you've been looking to see a fun, intense, vampire, bloody, good time! The movie was basically made for nothing less then a fun time. So boys, grab your dates, head to theThe movie "Fright Night" is just what you've been waiting for, if you've been looking to see a fun, intense, vampire, bloody, good time! The movie was basically made for nothing less then a fun time. So boys, grab your dates, head to the theater, and get ready for movie that truly defines a night of fright, and bloody good fun! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DriveThruReviewAug 28, 2011
For me, this is one of the best suspense movies that I have seen in a long time. You get everything you ever wanted in a movie without needing to change theaters. You get sucked into the story right from the start and you have a lot of funFor me, this is one of the best suspense movies that I have seen in a long time. You get everything you ever wanted in a movie without needing to change theaters. You get sucked into the story right from the start and you have a lot of fun during it trying to figure out how he is going to get out of the situation. I never thought that Colin Farrow had it in him to be able to pull this off, but he does. I never watched the original and after this I don't think that I want to. The graphics are amazing and seeing the old one will just make me want to see the new one and trash the old one. Great movie must see! Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MegWhiteleyMar 2, 2012
A really funny film, I think that is not much scare than the original, but is great, the cast is awesome, Anton Yelchin, Collin Farrell, David Tennant, wow are awesome, I love this remake.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
TresidentevilAug 9, 2012
Simply brilliant. I think it takes a certain type of movie fan to appreciate this kind of film. Treads a fine line between comedy and horror which could be seen as cheap and cheesy but if you can get past that, wow masterpiece. Literally theSimply brilliant. I think it takes a certain type of movie fan to appreciate this kind of film. Treads a fine line between comedy and horror which could be seen as cheap and cheesy but if you can get past that, wow masterpiece. Literally the best film I've seen in years but it's kind of my genre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ArkonBladeDec 14, 2011
i liked the original fright night and is a great vampire movie classic . the remake actaully doesn't do to bad a job. i dont think it was as good as the original but still pretty solid. colin ferral does a pretty solid job as the vampire .i liked the original fright night and is a great vampire movie classic . the remake actaully doesn't do to bad a job. i dont think it was as good as the original but still pretty solid. colin ferral does a pretty solid job as the vampire . the british guy who is replacing mcdowles role is ok but mcdowle did a much better job . the new lead kid is ok carries him self well enough . there have been some changes in the story , not a bad thing since overal it basically follows the same plot as the original. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AudiowombatAug 21, 2011
This was a well done movie. Fun. Funny. Gory. And scary too. I had liked the original in its day and there are things they lost from that one which I wish they had preserved, including the mechanism for Charlie's discovery of the natureThis was a well done movie. Fun. Funny. Gory. And scary too. I had liked the original in its day and there are things they lost from that one which I wish they had preserved, including the mechanism for Charlie's discovery of the nature of his neighbor. There were moments in the movie where the 3-D was really impactful, but frankly, those moments were too few and far between. Lesson learned, do not take someone who has been recently bitten into the sunlight.........Yikes. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuMar 30, 2013
I don't really like horror movies in general but this remake of Fright Night left me with an ear-to-ear grin. I loved the original 80's movie and this new version is almost as good. Funny, campy and even a little bit scary, this is about asI don't really like horror movies in general but this remake of Fright Night left me with an ear-to-ear grin. I loved the original 80's movie and this new version is almost as good. Funny, campy and even a little bit scary, this is about as much fun as I've had watching a horror film in years! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RoscoAug 28, 2011
Personally, i'm not what you would call a vampire movie fan, the thought of Twilight makes me sick however I was pleasantly surprised with "Fright Night." It gets back to basics, well what I remember of the old vampires, and is veryPersonally, i'm not what you would call a vampire movie fan, the thought of Twilight makes me sick however I was pleasantly surprised with "Fright Night." It gets back to basics, well what I remember of the old vampires, and is very entertaining. Colin Farrell was absolutely fang-tastic as Jerry (the vampire) and seemed to be having the time of his life, all 400 years of them! Farrell was impressive to say the least after his phenominal performance in Horrible Bosses he steps up again and takes it up another notch. The plot is simple, Charley Brewster (Anton Yelchin) a teenager with everything going for him, hes popular, cool and ofcourse has the girl of his dream however when Charley's former best friend (Christopher Mintz-Plasse or McLovin to most) tries to convince him that his neighbour Jerry (Farrell) is a vampire his suspisions fall on deaf ears but very quickly Charley realises his former best friend has been right all along and as it turns out Jerry is thirsty! The film is actually pretty dark compared to the usual steroptypical films think Disturbia except with vampires and your on the right tracks. The suspense is brilliantly built throughout and combined with a more darker outset it really works well with this reboot although I have to say its far from scary. Sure there are a few moments that will make you jump but you won't be frightened enough to avoid going to your next neighbours door! All in all Fright Night is good, solid, well made movie. It makes vampires look evil again after all the Twilight outings. Christopher Mintz-Plasse aka McLovin himself is great in albeit a small role and brings good charisma on his part but Farrell steals the show as he is dynamite throughout. Definetly worth a look and one of the shockingly good movies of the summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HighwayUKJun 1, 2012
Hard not to be tarnished having watched the original 2 movies, but this feels more a new direction for the series and it largely works at what it does well, but there are things that pull the lining out the story in places. Farrell'sHard not to be tarnished having watched the original 2 movies, but this feels more a new direction for the series and it largely works at what it does well, but there are things that pull the lining out the story in places. Farrell's performance as the vampire are decent, although there was a sort of vacant feel to it... my biggest issue was really the casting for peter vincent... hard not to see him as Dr. Who. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KAS--WillSep 6, 2011
In the wake of nothing but highly feminine, not scary, VERY homosexual vampire movies, this one came along. And despite me not seeing the original, nor caring too much for vampires since I like zombie movies better, and the best vampireIn the wake of nothing but highly feminine, not scary, VERY homosexual vampire movies, this one came along. And despite me not seeing the original, nor caring too much for vampires since I like zombie movies better, and the best vampire movie I've seen and recall is "Let Me In", this movie changed my view on vampire movies; there's still hope for good vampire movies, and Twilight hasn't ruined them, despite greatly making people thing their nothing to fear and something you want as a pet. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HalfwelshmanDec 8, 2011
It may not do much in terms of revolutionising the genre (though I did like the comparison between vampires and sharks), but Fright Night is an undeniably enjoyable vampire film. The two main highlights of the film are Colin Farrell and DavidIt may not do much in terms of revolutionising the genre (though I did like the comparison between vampires and sharks), but Fright Night is an undeniably enjoyable vampire film. The two main highlights of the film are Colin Farrell and David Tennent. Farrel makes a great vampire - you can almost see him plotting how best to bring down his prey like a calculating predator, and Tennant's magician and vamp expert, while just a swearier, alcoholic, leather-clad version of The Doctor, is great for pure entertainment value. There may not be too much going on below the surface of Fright Night, but that hardly matters when the action, gore and self-referential humour is handled so well. It's just plain fun, and sometimes that's all you want from a film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Knicksfan7Aug 29, 2011
I saw this movie expecting a fun ok vampire flick and i came out of the theater very pleased. This movie was really good. At first when i saw the trailer, i was like serioisly? Colin Farrel as a vampire? Yeah that mofies gonna suck, and i wasI saw this movie expecting a fun ok vampire flick and i came out of the theater very pleased. This movie was really good. At first when i saw the trailer, i was like serioisly? Colin Farrel as a vampire? Yeah that mofies gonna suck, and i was totally wrong. Mr. Farrel did an amazing job. He was frightening. He did a great job in this film as the creepy mysterious neighbor who turns out to be a powerful ancient vampire. This movie never got boring, i didnt see an unnecessary scene. Everything was good from start to finish. This movie was suspenseful and frightening, living up to its name Fright Night. Very good vampire flick. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie 8.5/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
destroya1artSep 5, 2011
i liked this movie a lot! haven't seen the original yet but i must say if the original is great which i hear it is then this remake did an awesome job. i liked the cast except for the "bully" Charley's friend who is a total ASS! and looks ai liked this movie a lot! haven't seen the original yet but i must say if the original is great which i hear it is then this remake did an awesome job. i liked the cast except for the "bully" Charley's friend who is a total ASS! and looks a lot like James Franco! wait that's because they're brothers. lol anyways the movie was great can't say it was "Scary" but it did have its suspense! Colin Farrel did AWESOME! he really convinced me, and definitely looked the part ,nice job. Charley's character was a dick to Ed AKA "Mclovin" but he played a passable part honestly i think that part could have gone to anyone. Amy who is Charley's girlfriend also had a passable performance and could have been replaced easily! OVERALL the movie was good it served its Purpose. Not quite scary but definitely had its suspenseful moments. Some good humor in it also and some nice action scenes. Didn't care for the 3D! SO I'm giving this movie 9/10 some parts dragged a bit like the whole going to "Vegas" thing but its a great movie. I also compared this movie to "Disturbia" imagine Disturbia meets Vampires! REALLY UNDERRATED FILM. its actually sad that people would go watch a **** movie over THIS! if you're going to see a movie i highly suggest you watch this one! its definitely worth 12 or 15 bucks!....... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TonyRioAug 21, 2011
Fright Night is wildly entertaining. The storyline adheres just enough to the original plot for me to ignore the modern trappings inserted by director Craig Gillespie. Fright Night is a remake of the 1985 film starring William RagsdaleFright Night is wildly entertaining. The storyline adheres just enough to the original plot for me to ignore the modern trappings inserted by director Craig Gillespie. Fright Night is a remake of the 1985 film starring William Ragsdale (Herman from "Herman's Head" for those of you old enough to recollect the failed sitcom). What is new about Fright Night v 3 or FN 2011 as it were, is Colin Farrell. Farrell brings a much needed edginess and let's face it, a believable bad boy vibe to the franchise. Even better is the added bonus of Christopher Mintz-Plasse returning to his McLovin' roots by acting like a bamboozling buffoon. There is nothing more pleasurable than watching the clumsy geek-Ed Nelson (Mintz-Plasse) turn into the frightful vampire 'Evil' Ed Nelson. Newsflash people, turning into an undead creature of the night does not guarantee a change of personality, a mailing address perhaps, but that's it!
http://www.screenspotlight.com/movie-reviews-mainmenu-47/34-horror/898-fright-night
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
Fright Night is a great horror not because it is the scariest (it isn't), or the most richly layered (it isn't), or speaks the most about the genre as a whole (it doesn't). Fright Night is a great horror film because it remembers that justFright Night is a great horror not because it is the scariest (it isn't), or the most richly layered (it isn't), or speaks the most about the genre as a whole (it doesn't). Fright Night is a great horror film because it remembers that just because it can be scary doesn't mean it can't be a lot of fun. It's an antidote to the sickening "torture porn" craze as much as an antidote to the "soft vampires" that Stephanie Meyer and Anne Rice have sickened us with for the last 18 years. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BiobillyAug 28, 2011
While I wouldn't say this is the greatest movie of all time or even close. I would say this is a fun movie to go see. The scares are more subtle and the humor is easy to follow. This is a remake of the older 80's film it does however take aWhile I wouldn't say this is the greatest movie of all time or even close. I would say this is a fun movie to go see. The scares are more subtle and the humor is easy to follow. This is a remake of the older 80's film it does however take a darker twist to it. Ferrell's Jerry role is much more intimidating and scarier than the old version. Some people wont understand the film or are looking to deep for something that isnt there. This film is predictable but it isnt about the epic story twisting or some nonsense like that and there are no Emo-Vamps in this. If your looking for a more classic style movie of bang here it is then this is the movie for you, I relate it to a simplistic roller coaster. I can just sit and enjoy the ride so to speak. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
wojo1215Sep 11, 2011
So I went and saw this movie opening night with my girlfriend who is a die hard fan. Walking into the theater there was only about three other movie goers in attendance. I have to say this movie was great and while watching the movie weSo I went and saw this movie opening night with my girlfriend who is a die hard fan. Walking into the theater there was only about three other movie goers in attendance. I have to say this movie was great and while watching the movie we didn't even notice that we were basically alone. Colin Ferrel's take on Jerry's character is a very refreshing rebirth of Chris Serandon's sexy seductive vampire. Things like the green apple obsession remind lovers of the original that the movie producers hadn't forgotten this movies roots. I wish it had done better because this truly was the best movie I saw over the summer. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
RyanPrattSep 12, 2011
See-it - Colin Farrell stars in this stylishly scary remake of the 1985 cult classic about a high school senior and his "bloody" strange new neighbor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
louistothSep 24, 2011
I saw it, not enough good as expected but it's OK. David Tennant comes in as the magician just at the right time to juice up the proceedings, it's all for vampires lover. supply chain management system
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RodrigoBGCSep 30, 2011
Collin Farrel is simple the best vampire i ever seen, obviously Gary Oldman is the best classic vampire but this movies is just great! this movie show a vampire the way it is mean to be, this movies is just another kick in the ass ofCollin Farrel is simple the best vampire i ever seen, obviously Gary Oldman is the best classic vampire but this movies is just great! this movie show a vampire the way it is mean to be, this movies is just another kick in the ass of twilight, suck this Edward Cullen! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Dave2008Sep 30, 2011
I don't know why this movie didn't have more success, it was totally awesome. Colin Farrell was the perfect casting choice for Jerry, and Anton Yelchin establishes himself as leading man material. I don't get the people who weren't blownI don't know why this movie didn't have more success, it was totally awesome. Colin Farrell was the perfect casting choice for Jerry, and Anton Yelchin establishes himself as leading man material. I don't get the people who weren't blown away by this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
EssenceOfSugarJun 10, 2012
I should have seen this at the cinema but I got caught up in other things. It sounded extremely fascinating when I first heard about this, mostly considering there were some great actors in it, like David Tennant and Colin Farrell. When I didI should have seen this at the cinema but I got caught up in other things. It sounded extremely fascinating when I first heard about this, mostly considering there were some great actors in it, like David Tennant and Colin Farrell. When I did see this a couple of days ago, I suddenly agreed with my previous statement. To make it more effective, my parents turned out all the lights in the house, so all I could see was this disturbing glow of a bloodthirsty vampire tearing out someone's throat. Colin Farrell makes for a very effective vampire; (he was my favourite character) he didn't really scare me, he was more creepy than that. He certainly had the look and quality of a vampire. Remakes aren't normally as good as the original, but despite the normality, the acting, the dialogue, the atmosphere - it all creeped the hell out of me. This is also fantastically gory and the actors just passed swiftly under it, refusing to give in despite the fact that there was a vampire on the loose. Nothing like Twilight - as Ed described Jerry (cool name for a supernatural creature by the way) - he's the freaking shark from Jaws. In fact, this is very, very good quality. Would have liked it to have a higher score, but at least the reviews were mostly favourable. It just seemed a damn shame that I didn't see it when it came out, especially in 3D. It was extremely thrilling and heart-pounding though anyway. Highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
nashville13Nov 2, 2011
this' one of the best remake movies in this year.'cause this movie didn't follow the original movie at all,the director had added some new elements in this movie.this' a good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
spadenxDec 20, 2011
I liked it and I enjoyed how they immediately put the action on as soon as the film started. The acting was solid and it was interesting through out. There were a few parts that made you lose interest though and the run time did push it aI liked it and I enjoyed how they immediately put the action on as soon as the film started. The acting was solid and it was interesting through out. There were a few parts that made you lose interest though and the run time did push it a little as well. I also disliked the ending, Thought it was disapointing considering how good it was up until that point. Still it was a solid film none the less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Super8mmDec 13, 2011
This remake of the original Fright Night was good for 3 reasons. 1. Casting, the casting for this movie was incredible, Colin Ferrel did an outstanding job as Jerry Dandrich, he had that level of creepiness, that everyone loves. 2. Storyline.This remake of the original Fright Night was good for 3 reasons. 1. Casting, the casting for this movie was incredible, Colin Ferrel did an outstanding job as Jerry Dandrich, he had that level of creepiness, that everyone loves. 2. Storyline. Tom Holland, the director of the original film, wrote the remake automatically making it as good as the original, that is what every remake should do. and 3. Setting. what better place for a vampire to be than Las Vegas, everyone is awake at night. All in all Fright Night was a great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Mad_Hatter91Oct 9, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fright Night is a 2011 film directed by Craig Gillespie's remake of the 1985 film. The story is about Charley Brewster (Anton Yelchin) a boy to try to achieve popularity and get noticed by the girl he loves he began to neglect his best friend Ed (Christopher Mintz-Plaase). For a short time close to home Brewster moved Jerry (Colin Farrell) and Ed thinks he's a vampire who chooses his victims in the neighborhood but Charlie does not believe him. But in the end he will change his mind when he begins to investigate after the death of Ed and will face a terrible adventure to protect his mother and the girl he loves. The film has an excellent direction with excellent photography and the horror genre and the comedy genre are able to join well being able to make people laugh (just think of the vampire named Jerry) and also to scare you. Excellent interpretation of Colin Farrell in the role of vampire and hilarious characters of Christopher Mintz-Plaase and David Tennant who plays here an alleged vampire hunter. A lot of love for sure except for Twilight fans because in this film, there are many quotes that make fun of the saga of the same name. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 28, 2014
I am not a fan of remakes, because rarely, if ever, do they do justice to the original film. That being said, I wasn't expecting anything out of the Fright Night remake, except for a cameo by Chris Sarandon. I was however pleasantlyI am not a fan of remakes, because rarely, if ever, do they do justice to the original film. That being said, I wasn't expecting anything out of the Fright Night remake, except for a cameo by Chris Sarandon. I was however pleasantly surprised, as the young cast was better than expected. For those who don't know the story, it is a classic vampire tale. Charley Brewster (Anton Yelchin) is a normal teenager, whose life revolves around High School and his beautiful girlfriend. Everything is perfect until an old friend tells him that his new neighbor is a vampire. At first Charley doesn't believe him, but the more he watches, the more he realizes that something isn't right. Anton Yelchin opposes Colin Farrell, and while he might not have the name recognition, he easily outshines the veteran actor. Yelchin has a cult following among fans of teen movies, after strong performance in films like Charlie Bartlett and Middle of Nowhere. As with most teen idols, his popularity is not just about his looks, it comes from his smooth relaxed style of acting, that people can relate to. Yelchin's characters are always real and honest, the kind of guy audiences can easily relate to, and that's what makes him as good as he is. Yelchin has help in this film from an all-star cast that includes, Farrell, Toni Collete, Christopher Mintz-Plasse-Mclovin, Dave Franco, and of course the original vampire, Chris Sarandon. The combination of chemistry between new and veteran make for a truly powerful cast, that bring new life to this classic story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
allmoviesJan 5, 2012
Senior Charlie Brewster (Anton Yelchin) finally has it all-he's running with the popular crowd and dating the hottest girl in high school. In fact, he's so cool he's even dissing his best friend Ed (Christopher Mintz-Plasse). But troubleSenior Charlie Brewster (Anton Yelchin) finally has it all-he's running with the popular crowd and dating the hottest girl in high school. In fact, he's so cool he's even dissing his best friend Ed (Christopher Mintz-Plasse). But trouble arrives when an intriguing stranger Jerry (Colin Farrell) moves in next door. He seems like a great guy at first, but there's something not quite right-and everyone, including Charlie's mom (Toni Collette), doesn't notice. After witnessing some very unusual activity, Charlie comes to an unmistakable conclusion: Jerry is a vampire preying on his neighborhood. Unable to convince anyone that he's telling the truth, Charlie has to find a way to get rid of the monster himself in this revamp of the comedy-horror classic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
imthenoobFeb 27, 2012
Another underrated film imo. Yes it maybe a remake but its still a remake that is well worth watching. Its interesting, the cast is solid as well, and its entertaining to watch. One flaw of the film that ruins it a little for me isAnother underrated film imo. Yes it maybe a remake but its still a remake that is well worth watching. Its interesting, the cast is solid as well, and its entertaining to watch. One flaw of the film that ruins it a little for me is Christopher Mintz-Plasse, IMO he was a terrible casting for the film and brings it down a bit. Also it ended in a very unsatisfying way. Besides that, Id tell others to give it a chance but thats about it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobDunstanFeb 24, 2012
Very enjoyable rehash of the original (which I haven't seen) sees Anton Yelchin submit a decent performance as the high school kid who is alerted to the nefarious antics of his vampiric neighbour (Colin Farrell). This has clever elements,Very enjoyable rehash of the original (which I haven't seen) sees Anton Yelchin submit a decent performance as the high school kid who is alerted to the nefarious antics of his vampiric neighbour (Colin Farrell). This has clever elements, attributing the Nevada locale as being the ideal, non-descript setting for a vampire to reside due to its propensity to attract people who 'work at night and sleep during the day'. David Tennant is exceedingly...funny as a supposed (but ultimately specious) 'vampire expert' in a role that looks to have been written for Russell Brand. Christopher Mintz-Plasse also appears as a resentful, supernatural-obsessed, ill-fated ex-best friend of Yelchin. Fright Night is a very enjoyable, if not entirely groundbreaking, contemporary foray into the horror genre. 7.3/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I had extremely low expectations when watching this film but I was pleasantly surprised by the intelligent, funny and scary (but not really) picture stood in front of me. I thought that Tennant was trying too hard to be like Russel Brand butI had extremely low expectations when watching this film but I was pleasantly surprised by the intelligent, funny and scary (but not really) picture stood in front of me. I thought that Tennant was trying too hard to be like Russel Brand but apart from that, the film is very good. I would watch it again without much contemplation at all. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
adoubleJul 30, 2012
This has to stand as the best horror remake in a long time. it genuinely made me laugh quite a few times. It's not only clever, but it really is scary in parts. Colin Farrell is a standout, playing his vampire in a way that's different fromThis has to stand as the best horror remake in a long time. it genuinely made me laugh quite a few times. It's not only clever, but it really is scary in parts. Colin Farrell is a standout, playing his vampire in a way that's different from any portrayal you've probably seen. Also good is David Tennant as the Criss Angel-style vampire hunter, definetely the role that provides the most laughs in the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 28, 2012
Stylish, witty and occasionally spooky, Craig Gillespie's remake of the 1985 cult classic actually proves to be quite worthy of note.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
worleyjamersDec 7, 2012
The surprise gem of the year. One of the best films of 2011! As good as the classic vampire film Let The Right One In. A must-see! I liked the cast...
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
KivaJun 16, 2013
I liked as it has great atmosphere and plot. The actors were ok. The ending was obvious but it is still entertaining as a movie. It is perfect for an afternoon with friends
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Meth-dudeApr 23, 2016
With great acting performances, entertaining fight scenes and subtle humour, Fright Night has everything to succeed as a good remake.Even though most of the special effects are pretty bad and there is a cruel lack of blood and practicalWith great acting performances, entertaining fight scenes and subtle humour, Fright Night has everything to succeed as a good remake.Even though most of the special effects are pretty bad and there is a cruel lack of blood and practical effects, it's still a good movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Fabricionet232Aug 12, 2015
It's really cheesy, but if you can overlook that, you'll find a solid film with a great performance by Colin Farrell. As for the CGI, i must say is decent for a 30+ million budget, just lower your expectations, don't expect to see 200+It's really cheesy, but if you can overlook that, you'll find a solid film with a great performance by Colin Farrell. As for the CGI, i must say is decent for a 30+ million budget, just lower your expectations, don't expect to see 200+ million dolars CGI. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews