Lionsgate | Release Date: February 5, 2010
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 120 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
75
Mixed:
36
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TheQuietGamerMar 8, 2011
From Paris with Love shacked the crap out of me with how good it was, I thought it was just going to be your typical buddy cop movie (or in this case buddy spy), it's not perfect do to the fact that you never really know what's going onFrom Paris with Love shacked the crap out of me with how good it was, I thought it was just going to be your typical buddy cop movie (or in this case buddy spy), it's not perfect do to the fact that you never really know what's going on because of the fact they change it up every five minutes, but with two plot twists I didn't see coming, and satisfying action, this is a great movie I can recommend to action fans. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CoDFatherAug 13, 2010
Don't take this rating the wrong way when I give it a 10, I mean this ten in a cult movie way. This is one of the best cults I've seen. John Travolta, don't get me wrong, does look a little messed- up when he's bald, but damn can he play aDon't take this rating the wrong way when I give it a 10, I mean this ten in a cult movie way. This is one of the best cults I've seen. John Travolta, don't get me wrong, does look a little messed- up when he's bald, but damn can he play a pretty kick- ass actor! There are relations to Pulp Fiction in this that made me laugh, and if you don't know what I'm talking about, uh, maybe you should've seen that before you saw this, dumb-ass. I don't mean the **** AMC version, I'm talking DVD, IFC, or anything else that's uncut. And not **** CBC, don't waste your time with the damn tracers. Still, this movie is a very good combination of action, drug- hunting, and all the humor you'd expect from such an actor like John Travolta, not the greaser, John, but pretty much any other John. The good thing about this cult, no **** ending like all the Scary Movies, or the Hottie and the Nottie. Go see From Paris w/ Love... Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MichaelS.Feb 7, 2010
Luc Beson delivers another good story and chilling portrayal of Terrorist zeal and commitment in final scenes. Action is non stop and entertaining. Worth seeing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MarcD.Feb 9, 2010
A surprisingly fun movie, actually. I went in with modest expectations, but Travolta was excellent in this film. And JRM was the straight, and he did a decent job. I had no idea that Besson was the director until the intro titles, but he did A surprisingly fun movie, actually. I went in with modest expectations, but Travolta was excellent in this film. And JRM was the straight, and he did a decent job. I had no idea that Besson was the director until the intro titles, but he did a terrific job with the story and direction. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
RielC.Feb 11, 2010
I don't know why the critics didn't like it... I enjoyed this movie very much. It has the perfect balance between action and comedy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
[Anonymous]Feb 7, 2010
Turn your brain off at the door, and you'll have a great time!! Non stop action and humor, but not much of a story line. Travolta is a over the top bad-ass super agent who can take out an entire gang of thugs without breaking a sweat. Turn your brain off at the door, and you'll have a great time!! Non stop action and humor, but not much of a story line. Travolta is a over the top bad-ass super agent who can take out an entire gang of thugs without breaking a sweat. If you can get past that... you'll be entertained!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
masharpFeb 8, 2010
Characters were GREAT!!!!! Simple and VERY fun. We laughed and laughed. Go see it if you are fun-loving.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AntwianFMar 9, 2010
Weekend action at it's best.brutal,action,sex and comedy by travolta as we know hime. maybe a bit over the top but nonetheless, very heart wretched!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JoeV.Jun 19, 2010
In a day and age of tip-toeing political correctness, It was very refreshing to see a film that didn't care who it was offending, it just laid out what it had to say and set out what it had to do. Now, don't get me wrong, this In a day and age of tip-toeing political correctness, It was very refreshing to see a film that didn't care who it was offending, it just laid out what it had to say and set out what it had to do. Now, don't get me wrong, this wasn't the brainiest of scripts, and it was a ridiculously over the top actioner, but it was fun! Travolta seemed right on target and seems to be genuinely having a good time...having fun...remember people, that's what films are supposed to be! With tongue firmly in cheek, this one's worth watching over a nice tub of popcorn. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JoeMFeb 10, 2010
This movie is alot of fun, the action is fantastic and this is travoltas best role since pulp fiction. Director Pierre Morel has proven himself a fantastic action director and I look forward to seeing more from him.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
MichaelHFeb 6, 2010
I enjoyed this movie. It was slightly sarcastic, slighty stupid, slightly over-the-top. But I went in with little expectations and walked out with a smile on my face. If you see it, just don't overthink it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
PeterR.Feb 6, 2010
Loved it! Don't listen to the asinine critics who've only been promoted out of the mail room or obits. They don't know film. This is a hip, fun action flick.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnD.Mar 16, 2010
When I first entered the theatre i thought that perhaps the trailer was so outlandish that the film might not have any left in it. I was pleasantly surprised indeed, it doesn't have that "love conquers all" attitude that is infecting When I first entered the theatre i thought that perhaps the trailer was so outlandish that the film might not have any left in it. I was pleasantly surprised indeed, it doesn't have that "love conquers all" attitude that is infecting most films these days, not counting the ones that are deliberately depressive to make a name for themselves as the not-happy ones. Perhaps I'm a bit vindictive, but this movie pressed the right buttons and, without giving anything away, was smoothly satisfiying if you're a bit on the dark side. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JShawJun 25, 2010
Entertaining movie for the John Travolta crowd.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
NickK.Jun 4, 2010
Fun movie, great action. Could use some more depth and substance though. But really brings nostalgia action movie factor into the mix.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IgnJun 9, 2010
It 's a really good action movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
kidcoyoteAug 18, 2010
Buy, Rent, Skip. That's how I'll rate my review. Ignore the number above. Pretty decent action flick. Travolta plays a pretty convincing badass. The story gets is kind of slow in the beginning, in the sense you not really sure what the movieBuy, Rent, Skip. That's how I'll rate my review. Ignore the number above. Pretty decent action flick. Travolta plays a pretty convincing badass. The story gets is kind of slow in the beginning, in the sense you not really sure what the movie is about, but once the movies gets to the point it's a pretty great thrill ride the rest of the way. If your looking for a movie that keep your attention for a movie night in, give this a movie a rent. Plus their is a little reference in this movie to one of John Travolta's most famous lines I thought was hilarious. Not the best action movie but definitely worth a watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
rok2slayrSep 19, 2010
Totally predictable all the way through but still fun. If you like action scenes and drug references, this movie is for you. Doesn't give you enough to actually care for the lives of any of the characters so it's just all fun rather than emotional.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Ruler101Dec 1, 2010
Very action packed but a little unbelievable in parts which made you not want to believe it. though it still hooked you in and made you want to keep watching. James Reece is turned from this rule abiding worker into this careless and unrulyVery action packed but a little unbelievable in parts which made you not want to believe it. though it still hooked you in and made you want to keep watching. James Reece is turned from this rule abiding worker into this careless and unruly killer. I think that's what helped make it all the better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuSep 23, 2013
Whilst it's not exactly high art, From Paris with Love is a very entertaining slice of popcorn action. John Travolta is excellent as the maniacal agent Wax; he's just tons of fun to watch. Well paced with exciting action scenes, From ParisWhilst it's not exactly high art, From Paris with Love is a very entertaining slice of popcorn action. John Travolta is excellent as the maniacal agent Wax; he's just tons of fun to watch. Well paced with exciting action scenes, From Paris with Love is a superior action flick. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
drlowdonJun 9, 2013
A number of reviewers around the web have criticised this movie for its nonsensical plot and the fact that its characters make decisions for no other reason than to move us onto the next action sequence and, to be honest, they are right.A number of reviewers around the web have criticised this movie for its nonsensical plot and the fact that its characters make decisions for no other reason than to move us onto the next action sequence and, to be honest, they are right. Anyone watching this film hoping for a subtle thriller though has clearly come to the wrong place.

Thanks in large part to a brilliantly over the top performance from John Travolta as well as some great action scenes and a tongue in cheek sense of humour however From Paris with Love is a gripping, fast paced movie that is sure to entertain fans of the action genre.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StevenFJun 30, 2013
There is little left to the imagination when most of the posters promoting ‘From Paris with Love’ show a bald and bearded John Travolta holding a rocket launcher, we now know exactly what we are in for, an over the top and ridiculous 90There is little left to the imagination when most of the posters promoting ‘From Paris with Love’ show a bald and bearded John Travolta holding a rocket launcher, we now know exactly what we are in for, an over the top and ridiculous 90 minutes...but man is it enjoyable.
Jonathan Rys Meyers stars as James Reese, a small time CIA operative who sights are higher within the place, but who is also a personal aide to a US Ambassador for France, and he’s quite good at his job, and of course he has the woman of his dreams, but when his wish for a more responsible role within the CIA comes to life in the form of unorthodox operative Charlie Wax, played by John Travolta, it isn’t exactly what James was expecting, especially when a shootout goes awry and he ends up carrying a vase full of cocaine around for quite a bit of the film.
John Travolta is without doubt the best thing about the film, his absurd characteristics of Charlie Wax, drinking mint tea, lunch on the Eiffel Tower and being in love with his ‘wife’, a gun, are hysterical, but he also proves he can play the bad guy with excellent effect, alongside the calmer Meyers.While the legendary actor has had his ups and downs across the years, he has proven himself as quite a diverse actor, particularly in his action oriented turns in this and The taking of Pelham 123. Meyers often portrays very serious and one dimensional characters, but again he seems to be enjoying himself throughout the movie, the mismatch of leading actors certainly paid off as is proven by the surprising chemistry of the level-headed James Reese and the crazy Charlie Wax.
The writing certainly has its spark in moments, but this is very much a popcorn flick with plenty of brawling in the most unorthodox of circumstances and enough firepower to keep the bloodthirsty fans amused, it is what A Good Day to Die Hard should have been.
From Paris with Love rightly prides itself in its absurdity, whether its hiding various weapon parts in energy drinks to get through airport customs, hanging out of a speeding car with a rocket launcher or the unbelievable plot which takes each and every twist and turn imaginable, it all equals out to an enjoyable flick that is easy on the eyes but not so much on the ears.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Tss5078Feb 12, 2014
From Paris With Love plays as though it were the fourth or fifth sequel in a legendary saga, that has reached it's end and is just milking another film out of the story. It's adequate and somewhat entertaining, but nowhere near as good as itFrom Paris With Love plays as though it were the fourth or fifth sequel in a legendary saga, that has reached it's end and is just milking another film out of the story. It's adequate and somewhat entertaining, but nowhere near as good as it should have been. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers stars a a junior C.I.A. agent, working out of the U.S. Embassy in Paris. Until now he's been asked to do simple things. His role quickly changes once and international terror cell sets up shop in his backyard. Rhys-Meyers is quickly paired with a veteran C.I.A. hit-man. The kind of guy you call when you want things done quickly and under the radar, but years of killing has taken it's toll. The mysterious man has become cold and reckless to a fault. The story here is painfully predictable, in a film that is about half as long as it should have been. Yes, the film is basically non-stop action, but it moves in such a way that the story is rushed to the point of confusion. Jonathan Rhys-Meyers was terrific in an opposites attract kind of way. John Travolta on the other hand was much too old and out of shape to be believable as this crazy, over the top hit-man. The chemistry between the two and the amazing non-stop action make this movie a pretty entertaining one, but the predictability and rushed story take too much away to make it the kind of film that keeps audiences buzzing after it's over. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
StaticSpineAug 24, 2013
Great action movie. Need more of this nowadays. Travolta is great. As well as Rhys Meyers. They make a good pair. The movie is not too long and full of action. Overall this one reminded me of "Shoot 'Em Up" with Clive Owen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
JohnTravolta321Sep 21, 2016
From Paris With Love was an entertaining ride, with plenty of "edge of your seat" moments, humor, and lots of action. The plot kept twisting and turning, bringing one surprise after the other, which made it really interesting. Travolta wasFrom Paris With Love was an entertaining ride, with plenty of "edge of your seat" moments, humor, and lots of action. The plot kept twisting and turning, bringing one surprise after the other, which made it really interesting. Travolta was dynamic, fun and believable as a seemingly crazy but very able operative/spy. Jonathan Rhys Meyers was excellent in the role of the newbie operative who was fairly innocent and very inexperienced, but still smart. It was a far cry from the authority and power he exudes as King Henry in the Tudors series, which means to me that he's a capable actor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews