Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 22, 2019
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 497 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
315
Mixed:
112
Negative:
70
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
Fayne-FaeNov 29, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Greetings! I am a huge Frozen fan ever since the first Frozen movie came out back in the year 2013. Sadly, Frozen Ⅱ wasn't as good as Frozen for several reasons. Don't misunderstand me, but Frozen II disappointed me quite alot. Here are the reasons and I hope you guys understand my words and thoughts and of course my feelings about it.

Design: the design of the characters was insanely amazing. I love how epic their clothes are. 9/10

Animation: the animation was stunning, amazing movements. Some parts seem so realistic, I thought the forest was real. 10/10

Music/Songs: the song's weren't as catchy as the songs from the original yet they were pretty emotional. Queen Iduna's lullaby made me cry and Into the unkown gave me goosebumps. Kristoff's song (lost in the woods) was okay. 7/10

Plot: the story seemed so interesting in the trailers, but ended up being okay. The idea of finding out why Elsa has powers and the others not, wasn't a very bad idea. You could go deeper into more detail tho... 5/10

The ending (the part of the movie I hate the most which caused me to rate this movie with a 2): Now listen closely because you Disney people appear to like the idea of separating the main characters. NO! Don't do that, never do that. You can't just separate two characters from each other after showing us how much they love each other especially when the characters are siblings (everyone dislikes such endings). Frozen is about sisterly love, trusting, promising and having a wonderful time together. There were so many different ways to end this movie. For example; •the spirits could take away Elsa's powers and make her feel relief for the first time in her life. She wouldn't live in fear of hurting someone and could still live in Arendelle TOGETHER with her beloved sister Anna and the others.

•Arendelle gets destroyed by the water and gets rebuilted in the enchanted forest, making it easier for Elsa to take care of both of the Kingdoms which could end up being one big kingdom. •everything stays the same as it is now but Elsa lives in Arendelle TOGETHER with Anna and the others and visits the enchanted forest whenever the spirits call her for help.

Just don't separate the main characters, don't do it. Such things break our hearts and it makes us hate Disney (especially if you grew up seeing the cuddling, hugging, playing and having a wonderful time together such in Frozen Fever. My heart melted because of happiness. Seeing the sisters together is very touching.) There are so many possibilities and ideas to end a franchise without separating the characters. (Also the Frozen universe never needed a bridge between the magical world and the human world. The Nothurlda seem to have good control of the elements without Elsa doing anything at all as we showing one of the flashbacks). 1/10

Characters;

Elsa: this time Elsa was more interesting and a bit open minded. What pissed me off is her breaking her promises. I mean she literally broke every promise she made except the one "I am going to safe the forest". She promised to not push Anna away, but she pushed her away. Also, Elsa appears very stubborn in this movie.

Anna: She was funny (not as funny as in the original Frozen). However, her personality was so different in this movie. She didn't even care if Elsa is leaving the kingdom. She didn't develop any good connections with other characters except of Olaf. Not to mention she almost destroyed her own home without thinking twice. I didn't feel her in this movie.

Kristoff/Sven: I think the developers forgot Kristoff's and Sven's existence.

Olaf: I really enjoyed his presence this time. He was funny, smart, loud and very sympathetic in alot of scenes.

The others: Mattias was cool but sadly we didn't see much of him. The Nothurlda were okay and Yelena was cool. I wish we could see more of them. 4/10
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
zoeamberrrrDec 2, 2019
The original Frozen had solid characters and a great, simple plot line that was easy to follow yet powerful. However, Frozen 2 was a letdown. The plot was very vague, the unsatisfying ending left viewers with questions, and the plot consumedThe original Frozen had solid characters and a great, simple plot line that was easy to follow yet powerful. However, Frozen 2 was a letdown. The plot was very vague, the unsatisfying ending left viewers with questions, and the plot consumed the character’s personalities. Also, I think that the message that the movie gave was unclear. On the other hand, Olaf was very funny and the graphics are high-quality. But those two elements do not make up for the disappointment the movie brought. Overall, not worth it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
yung_maenDec 8, 2019
I'll start with the positives: The animation is genuinely beautiful. Soaring mountains and exquisitely detailed landscapes showcase just how far animation has come in the past few years.

The story, unfortunately, is a huge disappointment. A
I'll start with the positives: The animation is genuinely beautiful. Soaring mountains and exquisitely detailed landscapes showcase just how far animation has come in the past few years.

The story, unfortunately, is a huge disappointment. A paper-thin plot driven by conveniences and vague references to magic coupled with a shoehorned B-plot make for a confusing, shallow, and badly paced movie. The musical numbers add nothing to the story and lack the charm and memorability of the original. It's a pity that in 7 years this is all they could do.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
NikolayGNov 23, 2019
The two stars are for Olaf. Otherwise this would be a zero. Disney has lost its way during the interval of time between Frozen and Frozen 2. Its ultimate goal used to be telling a compelling story. Now its goal seems to be mostly aboutThe two stars are for Olaf. Otherwise this would be a zero. Disney has lost its way during the interval of time between Frozen and Frozen 2. Its ultimate goal used to be telling a compelling story. Now its goal seems to be mostly about transmitting political messages, while the other elements of the production are given to an intern to take care of. The original Frozen had a tightly constructed plot, nice pacing, solid character development, and several memorable songs. Frozen 2's plot is a vague bunch of junk that makes little to no sense on any level, though it does manage to convey a politically correct message dumping on western civilization. Its pacing is so sluggish in the first half that I saw two families leave at the halfway point. After the movie ended, as I left the cinema I could not remember a single melody from the movie (other than ones that were recycled from the first movie), and no new characters were introduced that were remotely interesting. The movie was a mess that appears to have been written by committee. It was sometimes boring and sometimes painful. The worst part, though, was seeing the disappointment in my daughter's eyes as she watched. When after the movie she asked me why this or that happened in the story, I tried to invent answers but ultimately just told her, "because the movie was not very well written." I just didn't know what else to say but the truth. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
2
BlueLightningTNNov 23, 2019
The story is convoluted, chaotic, and the impetus is mundane. By the time a lead character attempted a terrorist act in order to "save the day", I had already become annoyed an hour ago to the point I no longer cared. How this made it pastThe story is convoluted, chaotic, and the impetus is mundane. By the time a lead character attempted a terrorist act in order to "save the day", I had already become annoyed an hour ago to the point I no longer cared. How this made it past storyboards is beyond me. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
2
DrakanDec 10, 2019
Awful, stupid movie. I couldn't wait until it ended. Stupid, convoluted plot. Avoid.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
foxgroveNov 24, 2019
Whilst one cannot blame the producers for wanting to cash in on the original film's success, this time out it's like watching a precocious child acting up, both irritating and unlikeable. The screenplay is overly complex for adults, let aloneWhilst one cannot blame the producers for wanting to cash in on the original film's success, this time out it's like watching a precocious child acting up, both irritating and unlikeable. The screenplay is overly complex for adults, let alone small children, and the dialogue and characterisation is often quite patronising. The animation is still great, but the songs fail to hit the heights. A couple of them aren't too bad in themselves but as presented here add nothing to enhance proceedings. The opening ballad is blandly nice, but 'lost in the Woods' is embarrassingly showcased like a pop video of the 80's. As for 'Into the Unknown' it follows all the familiar cadences of 'Let it go' but a classic it definitely isn't! Perhaps we can now say goodbye to Elsa and co and let this franchise go. With box office receipts as they are, I somehow doubt it. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
mmagicNov 24, 2019
I saw the movie on cinema:
- from a graphics point of view it was nice, it had good 3d camera angles, very nice graphics
- story, it had innovated so little, no new characters, lame subject, max 2-3 moments of really good laugh for a movie
I saw the movie on cinema:
- from a graphics point of view it was nice, it had good 3d camera angles, very nice graphics
- story, it had innovated so little, no new characters, lame subject, max 2-3 moments of really good laugh for a movie for kids is too little, most of the time it was boring. The subject wasn't clear, it was too complicated
- sound was good but uninteresting music
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
umaumaiNov 27, 2019
I think the overall ratings from critics and users alike are fair here. It’s fine if you enjoyed it, but for me this movie was mostly inane garbage with really good music now and then. Aside from borrowing from “The Fifth Element” the storyI think the overall ratings from critics and users alike are fair here. It’s fine if you enjoyed it, but for me this movie was mostly inane garbage with really good music now and then. Aside from borrowing from “The Fifth Element” the story is your basic “this group of people, who happen to be white, that did something to this other group of people, who happen to be nondescript natives, and the only way to fix this is to do something so that no one really suffers any consequences at all. I will say that I’m not cynical person, but I actually said “f@#k you” out loud at the movie when they had the balls to sing “you are the one you’ve been waiting for you” in a musical number. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
BabysteveNov 25, 2019
Disney has lacked their old magic for a long time now. I went in with low expectations and it was as unoriginal, boring and bad as i expected.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
Shawn28341Nov 26, 2019
Ok, So we went to watch Frozen 2 last night.. Just my son, who is 12 and me.. The reason we did it was we saw the previews last week while watching another movie.. And thought maybe this will be a good one.. I mean it has a lot to live upOk, So we went to watch Frozen 2 last night.. Just my son, who is 12 and me.. The reason we did it was we saw the previews last week while watching another movie.. And thought maybe this will be a good one.. I mean it has a lot to live up to.. And in a way it really got me thinking about the market and what little girls really have offered to them at Christmas times and birthdays and such.. Not a whole lot.. Little boys have a whole world of variety.. So with that said, movies like Frozen two, like 1 has to hit their mark.. I mean really.. The reason for it coming out this time of year is for merchandising at Christmas as well that goes with the movie.. Especially for little girls I believe.. This will be the theme's of so many little girls Birthday parties and dresses and such..

Now.. With that thought out of my mind.. I have GOT to say what I thought.. This movie was DARK! I mean like DC Comics made this story kind of dark.. Even Deadpool was in a better upbeat light than this movie.. There were TWO scenes TWO! That the little girl behind us was crying.. We could hear it!! And one little kid sitting in the row in front of us had to sit with his mom because of what was taking place.. THIS is not the right message for these little kids and mostly girls.. If the snow wasn't around, with the two stars being dressed all bright and colorful like Frozen SHOULD be... You would think it was taking place at Gotham city where the sun NEVER seems to come out.. That was the feel that was being put on the story.. It was so loosely put together and drab.. It never felt like a big time movie ever the entire time watching. The dramatic climatic scene itself, really didn't make any sense.. And TWO of the big stars died in the movie.. Well for a while.. Hence the crying kids part.. Not going to give any spoilers here.. But wow.. This was NOT the movie I am sure that all the little girls was looking for and hoping for.. And honestly NEEDING... The first one was so much better, along with EVERY girl movie that has come out as well before it.. Just pick any, that would qualify... To me it felt like a world of darkness for our characters and in turn just a marketing scam to some degree as well at the right timing.. I have NOT seen a single review of this movie.. But someone has had to mention the way this movie went and agree with me on my analysis..

Well I had to say something.. : 0) And there it is.. "Malecicent" with Angelina Jolie from last week was way more put together, thought out and enjoyable than this one.. If that tells you anything.. I know we are, well male species and all, but even I could sense this movie went down a wrong path with this one.. Just way too few laughs and all of it was riding on Olaf the snowman to save.. Not at all a good movie...
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
AntonEgo27378Nov 22, 2019
Película horrorosa, estúpida y que la verdad muy cliché, esperaba más de esta película, muy decepcionante, no me gusta poner 0 a las películas, pero en serio que esto no tiene nada de bueno
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
Jp117Nov 22, 2019
This is such an awful movie songs weren’t as good as the original it was all kinda blah please Disney don’t make a 3rd!
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
0
CrisNDec 29, 2019
Wow, what a bomb. Thats all I can say about this one. If Frozen 2 is judged by anyone who didn’t see Frozen one they will wonder why it was so popular. This Frozen didn’t hold my attention at all, the plot was weird and pointless with noWow, what a bomb. Thats all I can say about this one. If Frozen 2 is judged by anyone who didn’t see Frozen one they will wonder why it was so popular. This Frozen didn’t hold my attention at all, the plot was weird and pointless with no moral or purpose. The native american theme is in appropriate for what is supposed to be a Norwegian based film. Trying to make it less “white” maybe? The desire for political correctness and evwryone following a schizophrenic Elsa who is now hearing voices makes you want to call the psychiatrist on this one. If I didn’t have the dinner and movie combo I would have considered bolting on this movie. More than half of what I see on Netflix is more entertaining. Is this the actual writer for Frozen one? Or was Frozen plagiarized in the first place? Such mediocrity with this one makes you wonder, but maybe I should just let it go. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
ZDCJan 6, 2020
This horrible,sloppily and lazily written movie is antithetical to everything that made Frozen one of the most memorable,meaningful,and thoroughly beautiful movies of all time,for any age group.It's an entirely forgettable movie,andThis horrible,sloppily and lazily written movie is antithetical to everything that made Frozen one of the most memorable,meaningful,and thoroughly beautiful movies of all time,for any age group.It's an entirely forgettable movie,and forgetting about it is what I suggest doing. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
2
JtubbFeb 15, 2020
Beautiful visuals but the plot and story were half baked. Very disappointing as the film felt like it was trying really hard to make another "let it go" moment but it fell hard on its face.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
DanTheMan28Jan 1, 2020
Potentially the worst film I've seen in 2019 (and I enjoyed Frozen 1). Beginning was insanely boring, with very little forward momentum. Plot was simply not compelling. Anna was insufferable! A one dimensional character with the same constantPotentially the worst film I've seen in 2019 (and I enjoyed Frozen 1). Beginning was insanely boring, with very little forward momentum. Plot was simply not compelling. Anna was insufferable! A one dimensional character with the same constant refrain ... "I'm coming with you..I'm coming with you..I'm coming with you". Were I not watching in theaters with family, would 100% have walked out the first hour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
GabrielCoutinhoJan 9, 2020
Frozen 2,it is everything tou can imagine from dysney, it is a play turned into a movie to profits in more ways, its shallow, uncollorfull, tasteless and vcan not reach his public.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
CmkoReviewsJan 26, 2020
This is an incredibly boring sequel. Disney needs to pull an Elsa with Frozen and let it go.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DenversMay 5, 2020
Frozen II, although incredibly pretty, is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I saw it in theaters with some younger relatives, and since I liked the original movie, I thought this would be a fun movie as well. The plot is non-existentFrozen II, although incredibly pretty, is one of the worst movies I have ever seen. I saw it in theaters with some younger relatives, and since I liked the original movie, I thought this would be a fun movie as well. The plot is non-existent - I didn't even really know what was going on besides that Anna, Elsa, and the crew were following elemental spirits. I watched about 3/4 of the movie before I got SO bored, I just went on my phone. In addition to that, the ending was absolutely terrible. Would not recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Deadshot159May 26, 2020
Extremly boring. When i stepped into cinema i knew it will be bad. And yes it was. Extremly boring story. Guess how it ends? I wont spoiler but you can think about it, trust me this type of ending are everywhere. From film it became one bigExtremly boring. When i stepped into cinema i knew it will be bad. And yes it was. Extremly boring story. Guess how it ends? I wont spoiler but you can think about it, trust me this type of ending are everywhere. From film it became one big cringy song. The story is so chaotic, i never know what they must do, what are they doing, what happend etc. More boring film i never saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
Willywonka180Dec 16, 2020
Frozen ll is a mess! There is so many subplots and the story barely even makes sense! The songs are lacking the originality of the first. It feels like the crappy direct to video Disney sequels
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews