Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: June 20, 2008
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 286 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
182
Mixed:
77
Negative:
27
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
ryancarroll88Aug 27, 2010
The set up is perfect, but for being an almost two hour film, the laughs are pretty sparse, and Steve Carell seems to be sleepwalking through his role.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
ChrisFarnworthJul 18, 2012
I was in need of a laugh so I decided to watch Get Smart and to be honest I didn
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
RayzorMooseNov 13, 2013
Get Smart stays stupid.
The entire movie feels like a bad joke. Carrell isn't funny, Hathaway does nothing, and Dwayne Johnson is well, Dwayne Johnson. The action is pathetic and the "spy" aspect does nothing for the movie and its terrible script.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
HerlyantiJan 6, 2016
The comedy is too light for me? Or heavy? I don't know. I fell asleep too much and I didn't regret it. This movie also reminded me of Johnny English or The Tuxedo. I mean, the concept. Two agents, man and woman, have to become a partner.The comedy is too light for me? Or heavy? I don't know. I fell asleep too much and I didn't regret it. This movie also reminded me of Johnny English or The Tuxedo. I mean, the concept. Two agents, man and woman, have to become a partner. However, I like the part when Agent 99 had to pass the laser trap and she did it exactly like in striptease moves. But when Max tried to copy her, a very big mouse suddenly came out of his tux. Haha, got me lol. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
grandpajoe6191Oct 17, 2011
"Get Smart" is a terrible spy copy-cat movie. It does nothing right with its crude jokes, dumb action, a not-funny steve carell, stone-cold Hathaway, and homosexuality (Dwayne Johnson)?
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
4
GENov 9, 2008
Wow, people are so easily entertained these days! Can't believe all the 9 and 10 votes for this pretty boring movie. There were a few funny scenes, like Bill Murray as the guy in the tree, but overall . . . zzzzzzzzzz. Very predictable Wow, people are so easily entertained these days! Can't believe all the 9 and 10 votes for this pretty boring movie. There were a few funny scenes, like Bill Murray as the guy in the tree, but overall . . . zzzzzzzzzz. Very predictable and just not that funny. Not as bad as Zohan, and definitely not as bad as Wild Hogs, but still pretty disappointing. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
5
beingryanjudeSep 1, 2014
A few good laughs and a few good smiles. Honestly, that's all I was looking for. Get Smart is not meant to be a quality piece of filmmaking--rather a light, mild-actioned flick starring two likable actors, Steve Carell and Anne Hathaway.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Normal.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesDec 19, 2014
Steve Carell and Anne Hathaway's charm make "Get Smart" worth viewing, but the movie eventually collapses through predictable gags and uninspiring action.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
BillC.Aug 17, 2008
At the end of this film I had the feeling that the makers wanted to leave the door open for perhaps a sequal or two. Sorry , but it just didn't work. It never felt right. Maybe you just can't go back? It wasn't Carells fault At the end of this film I had the feeling that the makers wanted to leave the door open for perhaps a sequal or two. Sorry , but it just didn't work. It never felt right. Maybe you just can't go back? It wasn't Carells fault ,but this film never seemed to feel like anything more than a made for tv movie made to play durings a ratings week. Maybe with lots more TV hype and a 1 day only showing like that it would have seemed better? Or , maybe it isn't 1965 anymore and the whole spy spoof has gotten old.(remember the dreadful last Austin Powers?). Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmyA.Nov 9, 2008
This movie had TONS of potential the cast was good but the set up of the entire movie was bad. and as someone said before me it was mostly made up of bathroom and giggly sex jokes. It have had more jokes that went father then bathroom and This movie had TONS of potential the cast was good but the set up of the entire movie was bad. and as someone said before me it was mostly made up of bathroom and giggly sex jokes. It have had more jokes that went father then bathroom and sex ones. all in all it was not very good and very VERY predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Oct 26, 2008
Entertaining, but I must say I was disappointed and hoped it would capture the essense of the original TV series more than it did. Anne Hathaway si good, but Steve Carell was unimpressive.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JudyTJun 22, 2008
Not smart enough to be funny. A few laughs mostly from side characters. Steve Carrell Maxwell Smart is dumb and agent 99 is whiny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MikeW.Jun 22, 2008
Funny, but sort of a let-down. Not Steve's funniest work.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
MartinS.Jul 14, 2008
This movie had some inspired moments but it also had some formulaic moments in it as well. I thought the espionage segments were well done however the ending was typical Hollywood drivel, with every one of the good guys triumphing in the This movie had some inspired moments but it also had some formulaic moments in it as well. I thought the espionage segments were well done however the ending was typical Hollywood drivel, with every one of the good guys triumphing in the end. The catch phrases from the show were not only poorly delivered and completely unnecessary with the exception of the "Chuch Norris" line. Overall the movie was just okay which is too bad. I thought we had a winner here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
VanessaM.Aug 25, 2008
A fun, laugh-out-loud movie, but not one of Steve Carrell's best. I really enjoyed this movie and was thoroughly entertained for the hour and a half after coming out of the movie theater, however, after seeing such films like "iron man" A fun, laugh-out-loud movie, but not one of Steve Carrell's best. I really enjoyed this movie and was thoroughly entertained for the hour and a half after coming out of the movie theater, however, after seeing such films like "iron man" and ESPECIALLY "the dark knight", my complete interest in this movie has gone. it has it's funny moments, and sometimes is a little too retarded for the kind of "action" genre it was aiming for, however is enjoyable. I'm not sure how much i liked the cast however. I loved Steve Carrell and Alan Arkin, but the rest just didn't fit right. The romance between Carrell and Hathaway was just forced and awkward and weird... and well, was just not there! So they could've done better with that. I don't know, not my favorite and i don't count on buying it when it comes out, but that doesn't mean you shouldn't see it. SEE THE DARK KNIGHT! It will blow your freaking mind! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
PatriciaS.Sep 19, 2008
I thought this film was very entertaining, and pretty funny.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
ScottQ.Nov 15, 2008
I give it a 4 for about 4 really funny scenes and only funny scenes in the movie. The bathroom part on the plane with Carrel was just hilarious. The movie as a whole was a complete mess and overall not funny. I love Carrel but did not love I give it a 4 for about 4 really funny scenes and only funny scenes in the movie. The bathroom part on the plane with Carrel was just hilarious. The movie as a whole was a complete mess and overall not funny. I love Carrel but did not love this movie, sucked. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
ChadS.Jun 21, 2008
Remaking "Tennessee Tuxedo" might've been the more meliorative idea than pumping some parodic comedy with a light touch such as "Get Smart" with steroidal action. Penguins are still a hot commodity. Bono could play the walrus, again. Remaking "Tennessee Tuxedo" might've been the more meliorative idea than pumping some parodic comedy with a light touch such as "Get Smart" with steroidal action. Penguins are still a hot commodity. Bono could play the walrus, again. "Get Smart" finds the right balance of action and comedy when Max(Steve Carell) and Agent 99(Anne Hathaway) are overseas infiltrating KAOS, but when the secret agents return to the states, they separate, and the film loses momentum. There's also a miscalculation of what "Get Smart" needs, as the comedic half of the formula gets framed and hijacked by a storyline that is too large in scale. This nude bomb doesn't merely strip you of your clothes, but it'll melt your skin and tear the flesh from your bones, as well. "Get Smart" is caught in no man's land. It makes the mistake of being an event film. The audience wants more banter between Carrell and Hathaway, not a rehash of Phil Alden Robinson's "The Sum of All Fears". Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
avatar16Apr 11, 2012
Difficile de ne pas comparer Max la Menace à son homologue britannique Johnny English, tant les deux font sans l'ombre d'un doute la paire! Deux agents secrets novices qui se vantent, sans pour autant arrêter laDifficile de ne pas comparer Max la Menace à son homologue britannique Johnny English, tant les deux font sans l'ombre d'un doute la paire! Deux agents secrets novices qui se vantent, sans pour autant arrêter la déferlante de gags. Tout cela pour nous divertir! Et il fallait admettre que cela marchait avec English. Avec Max la Menace, c'est pareil! A la différence que l'on sent ici le produit américain, qui n'hésite pas à user d'un humour parfois pipi caca (et en dessous de la ceinture) qui ne rate pourtant rarement son objectif, et qui possède un côté plus spectaculaire question action (la poursuite finale). Bref, amusant et distrayant. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews