Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: October 25, 2002
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 307 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
223
Mixed:
44
Negative:
40
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Meth-dudeOct 2, 2016
It had great acting, great practical effects, an interesting story and it was overall pretty entertaining.Sure, it was cliché and some CGI effects might look a little bit dated but, it's still a solid movie.
28 of 28 users found this helpful280
All this user's reviews
8
LevitationApr 13, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The scene on the foredeck where the Captain and the passengers were dancing, and the scene in the ballroom, was a common tradition at the time near the end of a trans-Atlantic voyage. These were usually held as the ship approached the end of the trip, near the coast and these Balls were called the "Captain's Ball" Expand
28 of 28 users found this helpful280
All this user's reviews
10
AviatrixJan 19, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ghost captain tells Gabriel Byrne's character that the Antonio Graza rescued a ship called the Lorelei. Rescuing this ship is what eventually led to the destruction of the Antonia Graza and the death of all its passengers. "Die Lorelei" is a German poem about a siren-type woman who lures boats to ruin and sailors to their deaths Expand
66 of 67 users found this helpful661
All this user's reviews
9
Kyle39Sep 9, 2012
Inventive, very scary film that is almost claustrophobic in it's atmosphere. Great effects to boot. Although ghost ship movies have been done before, this is still a fine movie. The opening sequence rates a bravo, in my opinion.
23 of 26 users found this helpful233
All this user's reviews
9
Appendage7Jan 15, 2020
20 of 23 users found this helpful203
All this user's reviews
7
inegmaxJul 3, 2020
A very Briliant introduction sequence. The rest of the movie is less succesful but the introduction is one of the most inspired ones I ever seen
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
10
Ripcord33Apr 10, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. In 2016, the media website ComingSoon named the film's opening scene one of the greatest in horror film history. Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
10
UvulaApr 11, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Italian in the ship's log is incorrect when Epps looks up Katie's entry. She is listed as "viaggendo solo". The word "viaggendo" is incorrect, and should be "viaggiando". Since Katie is female, the adjective "solo" should also agree and be "sola", so the entry should read "viaggiando sola". Expand
12 of 17 users found this helpful125
All this user's reviews
7
FilipeNetoApr 1, 2018
When we think we've seen a bit of everything in horror, comes a movie that surprises us with something new. It can be good or bad, better or worse achieved, but has the added value of novelty. This is one of this cases: movies about hauntedWhen we think we've seen a bit of everything in horror, comes a movie that surprises us with something new. It can be good or bad, better or worse achieved, but has the added value of novelty. This is one of this cases: movies about haunted houses come in droves, but movies about haunted ships is something different. The director (Steve Beck) and screenwriter (Mark Hanlon) did a reasonable job and got a very interesting story, without the dead times and gratuitous violence that infest the actual horror films. The cast, headed by Gabriel Byrne and Julianna Margulies, also did a decent job, although I believe that Byrne would be able to admit that this was not one of his best films.

Blood abounds, there are scenes able to revolve the stomach and times when we really got stuck to the screen, but its not an overly graphic film. Everything rests beautifully in a slightly blurred picture, a very threatening and gloomy environment discreetly accentuated by sound effects. The decadent scenarios of the ship were designed in the smallest details, and are elegantly compared to their "original" aspect, through the use of a kind of "hallucinations" that closely resemble temporal flashbacks. One of the most impressive moments of the film, however, is its opening scene. Its something that we simply are not expecting to see. The end is not as strong because we, from the middle, can predict some of the key points in the outcome, removing impact to the climax. In the middle of the film, the director and screenwriter were lost, revealing themselves unable to better develop the plot.

I confess that this film impressed me when I saw it for the first time. I loved it then, and it still is one of my favorite horror movies, by its potential and its scowling environment more than by it's quality. Not a great movie, its not a work of art, but its entertaining and gives some nice chills.
Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
Aversion68May 2, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anachronisms The handgun Francesca uses right before her death is a model that didn't exist in 1962. It is a Czech CZ-75, first marketed in 1976. Expand
11 of 29 users found this helpful1118
All this user's reviews
10
DefameApr 28, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Anachronisms The ship is shown to have large round indoor aquariums in several places. The technology did not exist in the 60's to create this type of rounded acrylic. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
Depose570May 15, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Nice variant on the haunted house premise

The ragtag crew of a salvage boat run across an old abandoned ocean liner that turns out to be haunted by the unrestful spirits of people who were all murdered on it back in 1962.

Director Steve Beck relates the enjoyable and involving story at a steady pace, adroitly crafts a pleasing spooky atmosphere, and stages the shock scenes with flair and skill (the boffo grab-you-by-the-throat gruesome opening multiple murder set piece packs a wicked punch!). The inspired script by Mark Hanlon and John Pogue offers a few neat twists as well as a valid reason for why the salvage crew can't simply just leave the ship once they realize something is seriously amiss. The sound acting by the tip-top cast helps a lot: Gabriel Byrne as crusty captain Murphy, Juliana Margulies as the gutsy and resourceful Epps, Ron Eldard as the rugged Dodge, Desmond Harrington as antsy greenhorn Ferriman, Isaiah Washington as the easygoing Greer, Alex Dimitriades as smartaleck Santos, Karl Urban as the scruffy Munder, and Emily Browning as helpful ghost girl Katie Howard. The luscious Francesca Rettondini slinks it up nicely as sultry singer Francesca. Kudos are also in order for the excellent art direction, Gale Tattersall's glossy cinematography, and John Frizzell's shivery score. An on the money fright film.
Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
10
Tendril28May 29, 2021
&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&&
&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷&÷
2 of 10 users found this helpful28
All this user's reviews
10
Ulna319May 16, 2021
``````````````````````````¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¡¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿¿?????????????????????????????
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Autopsy904Jun 13, 2021
°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°》°¡¡¡
_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@_@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@+@
0 of 13 users found this helpful013
All this user's reviews
7
KenW.Apr 27, 2008
Not bad at all. I enjoyed watching it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful