Warner Bros. | Release Date: May 31, 2019
7.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 674 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
480
Mixed:
122
Negative:
72
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
GCORTMay 31, 2019
This isn't a Shakespeare play. This isn't Driving Miss Daisy. It's GODZILLA. Grab a big bucket of popcorn, sit back and enjoy the movie for what it is. Just plain fun
30 of 48 users found this helpful3018
All this user's reviews
10
romson87Jun 14, 2019
I honestly don't understand why people require a sophisticated human story arc in a Godzilla film. Went to see it tonight with mrs and we both had a blast. If you're in for an epic monster showtime you won't be disappointed. The pace is goodI honestly don't understand why people require a sophisticated human story arc in a Godzilla film. Went to see it tonight with mrs and we both had a blast. If you're in for an epic monster showtime you won't be disappointed. The pace is good and I actually felt kind of a monster tension thoughout the film. Long live the king! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
SerchvazJul 2, 2019
It is a godzilla movie, if you want those big monsters
fighting, you wont be disappointed, it has a good history with the monsters, the human history is horrible but that does not matter.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
BoringDadJun 22, 2019
I grew up watching monster movies and I came to this with my family hoping for the same thrills. I did not leave disappointed, rather stoked that this engine is firing on all cylinders. More action and entertaining than the Cranston iterationI grew up watching monster movies and I came to this with my family hoping for the same thrills. I did not leave disappointed, rather stoked that this engine is firing on all cylinders. More action and entertaining than the Cranston iteration which set this movie up. Some groaner lines but it's a monster movie 9/ 10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
KianshengJul 6, 2019
Incredibly amazing. Don't let critics or rotten tomatoes to stop you from watching this movie. Cool visuals and graphics, more monsters fights scenes, exactly what audiences need! Best monster movie so far, really worth to watch it!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Hi398621Jun 1, 2019
Exceeded my expectations
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
10
MatamesiQuieresJun 17, 2019
Way better than the overrated Avengers EndGame.
Godzilla KOTM is not perfect but is a movie made with passion and love.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
8
Garo27Jun 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really enjoyed watching watching the movie and seeing a lot of the old titans coming back but I wished there were more fighting and especially between Godzilla and Mothra vs Rodan and Ghidorah Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
VargatyrJun 15, 2019
Good action, good acting, good storyline. Just the right balance between the human and monster storylines. If you like the cheesy black and white Godzilla movies, you’ll like this movie for the nostalgia aspect alone. This movie is theGood action, good acting, good storyline. Just the right balance between the human and monster storylines. If you like the cheesy black and white Godzilla movies, you’ll like this movie for the nostalgia aspect alone. This movie is the best Godzilla movie yet! Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
MichaelRiendeauJun 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A fantastic Godzilla movie, way better than its 2014 predecessor, with much more Godzilla, loads of kaiju action, and an actual cast of likable and interesting human characters. Bringing back the big four classic monsters from Toho, this movie brings Godzilla, Mothra, Rodan and the evil Ghidorah to their full potential while staying true to their classic lore. The only downside is that you don't see as much Mothra and Rodan as you the other two monsters fighting for the fate of the world and there is one ugh scene where Godzilla and Ghidorah charge at each other, only to cut away to the monarch ship watching them fight from a distance. Aside from that, with a tremendous music score, I highly recommend anyone who loves the Godzilla movies or have an interest in the franchise to check this one out. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
Luis3000Jun 13, 2019
Despite mediocre human drama, the movie delivers exactly what it promises, huge and amazing monster fighting with some good fan service and some of the best visual effects of the year
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
10
DazarJun 13, 2019
Very enjoyable movie. Not as much snarky humor as more recent movies have had. A trait which turned me off of watching American entertainment in general.I am concerned that critics killed this franchise as I was the only one in my theater toVery enjoyable movie. Not as much snarky humor as more recent movies have had. A trait which turned me off of watching American entertainment in general.I am concerned that critics killed this franchise as I was the only one in my theater to watch it. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
Reciter5613Jun 1, 2019
Awesome movie!

Now the human elements are hard to keep up with especially the bad human's motivation. But the monster fights and fan service were awesome. I think it worked out.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
HellfyreJun 1, 2019
Fantastic, action packed movie. It gives exactly what everyone was wanting with more monster action along while making the human plot more bearable and not so overwhelming.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
GoreministerJun 18, 2019
Finally Hollywood understood how to create a proper Godzilla movie. Has it great, interesting characters? Not really! Has it huge Monsters (or Kaijus) and epic battles? Definetly! So, what are you looking for when watching a Godzilla movie?Finally Hollywood understood how to create a proper Godzilla movie. Has it great, interesting characters? Not really! Has it huge Monsters (or Kaijus) and epic battles? Definetly! So, what are you looking for when watching a Godzilla movie? Right! Huge Monsters bashing the sh** out of each other and destroy whole landscapes. And THAT´S exactly what you get with King Of The Monsters. It´s not the best Godzilla movie, but definetly the best US-Godzilla. Haters gonna hate, but if you love Godzilla and want to have a good time at the movies, then this is for you. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
drscorpioJun 4, 2019
Has anyone in the history of the world gone to a Godzilla movie expecting it to be Citizen Kane? Yes, the story is thin. Yes, the army and government are set on destroying Godzilla even after he saved the world 5 years ago. Yes, every humanHas anyone in the history of the world gone to a Godzilla movie expecting it to be Citizen Kane? Yes, the story is thin. Yes, the army and government are set on destroying Godzilla even after he saved the world 5 years ago. Yes, every human in the movie makes dumb, bad decisions until the point they realize they have to work with Godzilla not against him. In short, it's a Godzilla movie. Don't go expecting the best script ever. What you will get is amazing visual design and effects (Godzilla, Mothra, and King Gidorah look amazing; Rodan is less stunning), awesome battles between humans and kaiju and between kaiju, bad dialogue that will nonetheless make you laugh out loud over and over. In short, it's a great monster movie. Don't expect any more than that and you will be delighted. If you have seen the two movies that preceded this one in the Monsterverse series (Godzilla and Kong:Skull Island), it will remind you more of the second one than the first. Snappy dialogue, great action, solid entertainment. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
rafi120Jun 3, 2019
For long time Godzilla fans, this movie has everything you could ever want. Phenomenal
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
EnkindledJun 2, 2019
Godzilla fan here. I have watched all Godzilla movies ever made, from the Japanese ones to the American ones. I know the big lizard here since I was a child and I can say a lot of things about this movie. Go watch, it is good! More bellow.
If
Godzilla fan here. I have watched all Godzilla movies ever made, from the Japanese ones to the American ones. I know the big lizard here since I was a child and I can say a lot of things about this movie. Go watch, it is good! More bellow.
If you are a casual watcher (i.e. I don't really know Godzilla, just like monster movies), don`t you worry, this movie is packed with monster actions. The plot is interesting, and the actors did their job well, all of them. The writers made a good job of making the whole flow of the movie interesting, so even if you do not see monsters, you are paying attention.
If you are a Godzilla fan like me (The original Godzilla). This is a great adaptation. There are easter eggs from all movies you can think of, but I will say they are more focused on Godzilla Final Wars (2004) and Godzilla, Mothra, and King Ghidorah: Giant Monsters All-Out Attack (2001) as source material here. But they take Easter eggs from Godzilla vs Destroyah (1995), Godzilla Destroy all Monsters (1968), you named it. DONT MISS THE MOVIE, IT IS REALLY GOOD ADAPTATION.
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
OrgaJun 2, 2019
The best American Godzilla movie. The monsters and the fights are great. The human story was okay. The movie loyal to the Toho universe. I can't wait to see Kong vs Godzilla.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
SabertuthJun 3, 2019
A Dream for Godzilla fans. Complains about Characters and the plot are mostly unjustified. The action, CGI, Lighting and Cinematography are fantastic. Not to mention the wonderful Soundtrack. Can't wait to see it again and get my hands on theA Dream for Godzilla fans. Complains about Characters and the plot are mostly unjustified. The action, CGI, Lighting and Cinematography are fantastic. Not to mention the wonderful Soundtrack. Can't wait to see it again and get my hands on the Blue Ray Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
3
ArkonBladeJun 21, 2019
I'm a huge Godzilla fan since I was 3 years old. I've seen every movie they have made. I was so looking forward to this. Well I'll start with whats good. The monsters look good, They look more modern but still have their old feel. GodzillaI'm a huge Godzilla fan since I was 3 years old. I've seen every movie they have made. I was so looking forward to this. Well I'll start with whats good. The monsters look good, They look more modern but still have their old feel. Godzilla looks like Godzilla, Mothra like Mothra , King Ghedora like he is suppose to look. So I was happy with that. What very little monster fighting this movie had was ok. Every thing else sucks. The 2014 Godzilla movie was ok mainly due to Bryan Cranston who is a great actor and gave you some one to care about unfortunitly they killed him half through that movie and man was that a mistake. This movie really could have used him. I didn't care one bit for one person in this movie. Infact I hated them all outside of the one Japanese guy who was in the 2014 Godzilla movie who barely did any thing in this one. I was just so damn bored with this movie. the Human element was so god awful that I wanted to just get up and walk out of this pile of trash. The action was minimal. It did the same stupid thing Godzilla 2014 did. show you 10-20 seconds of action then go back to the boring human characters. I pay to see a Godzilla movie to see a bunch of giant monsters go at each other and I got less then the bare minimum. This was my number one want to see movie this year and I feel so let down. They got it so right with Kong Skull island. I felt so satisfied with that movie or some thing like the first Pacific Rim gave you plenty of Robot vs Monster action and if you were expecting any thing close to that ,you will be massively let down. Before this movie I couldn't wait for Godzilla vs King Kong but now I'm really doubtful on it. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
mrmonsterJun 18, 2019
Godzilla: King of the Monsters may not best a best-picture worthy movie, but you know what, it was a Hell of a fun time to watch. This movie gave us awesome kaiju fights, that's what matters.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Bertaut1Jun 13, 2019
Very loud, very dumb, and very entertaining

The third film in the "MonsterVerse" franchise, King of the Monsters is a direct sequel to Gareth Edwards's 2014 Godzilla (sadly, he didn't return as director), and sets up Godzilla vs. Kong, which
Very loud, very dumb, and very entertaining

The third film in the "MonsterVerse" franchise, King of the Monsters is a direct sequel to Gareth Edwards's 2014 Godzilla (sadly, he didn't return as director), and sets up Godzilla vs. Kong, which is scheduled for release next summer. However, whereas Edwards held Godzilla back and made the action feel smaller by focalising it through the human characters, new director Michael Dougherty inverts that formula, putting Godzilla front and centre and shooting the action in such a way as to make it seem as grandiose as possible. He isn't half the director Edwards is, but King of the Monsters works well in a braindead summer action movie kind of way. Sure, there are significant problems (all the best shots are in the trailer, the plot is laughable, the characters are so thinly sketched as to make those in the first film feel Shakespearean), but all things considered, I enjoyed it.

Five years since Godzilla defeated the MUTOs, many more creatures (now dubbed Titans) have been found in various forms of hibernation. In charge of studying and protecting them is Monarch Sciences (introduced in a fledgling state in Kong: Skull Island, which took place in 1973). However, when an eco-terrorist, Jonah Alan (Charles Dance) steals a bioacoustics device designed to communicate with the Titans, he uses it to awaken the only non-terrestrial Titan, a fearsome three-headed dragon known as King Ghidorah. Arguing that humanity has brought the planet to the point of destruction, Jonah believes that a global Titan conflict would wipe out most of human civilisation, allowing the planet the time it needs to heal. And so, as Ghidorah awakens the various Titans, Godzilla emerges to stand against him.

Godzilla was originally conceived as a metaphor for the destructive power of nuclear weaponry, and King of the Monsters has one eye on its themes too (eco disaster, biodiversity, co-existence with other species, military impulsiveness). But really, the sermonising script by Dougherty and Zach Shields is so badly put together that any thematic concerns dissipate into nothing. And yes, it does address the fact that through inattention and greed, humanity is on the brink of ensuring its own extinction. The problem is that the eco themes are so preachy, they come across as background irrelevancies at best, and distracting moralising at worst.

And there are other problems with the script. For example, not one, not two, but three characters sacrifice themselves for the greater good, resulting in none of the sacrifices really meaning anything. Another scene that doesn't work is the death of a major character, which happens so suddenly, amidst so much chaos, with the camera on even focused on them, that in the very next scene, the film has to show us their face on a monitor with the word "Deceased" written underneath. There are also far too many scenes of characters standing on the bridge of the Monarch flagship, the ARGO, spouting exposition at one another.

There are also some spatial hijinks going on. I get that the ARGO is supposed to be super-advanced, but it seems capable of flying from one side of the planet to the other in about ten minutes. Another issue is that Zhang Ziyi plays twins. Except I didn't even realise there were two of them until I read a few reviews. Sure, I noticed what I thought was a singular character appear to be in two places at once, but because the ARGO had already been globe-hopping, I just put it down to the film's lack of geographic realism. The fact that it's so easy to miss that there are twins is spectacularly bad writing.

But for all that, I thoroughly enjoyed King of the Monsters. Although the trailer did promise what the film can't deliver on (Claude Debussy and pensive apocalypticism), aesthetically, there's a lot to admire. The sound design is suitably deafening, and Lawrence Sher's cinematography has a well-judged sense of scale, especially in the 2.39:1 3D IMAX format. The film also does some interesting things with colour, coding the Titans in binary elemental shades. There are also some extraordinary individual shots (most of which have been spoiled by the trailer); Mothra spreading her wings, Ghidorah perched atop a volcano with a crucifix in the foreground, the reveal of Godzilla's lair. And the final shot is a goosebumps moment with which no Kaiju fan could possibly be dissatisfied. Purely at the level of craft, this is a hugely impressive film.

Citizen Kane it most certainly isn't, but who expected (or wanted) it to be. The key to really parsing it is to consider the context, looking at what it was trying to be. And in this sense, it's a success. Sure, the script is hideous, and Dougherty struggles to accomplish what Edwards did with ease; bring his own personality to the spectacle. However, if you approach it for what it is, a dumb summer blockbuster about large monsters punching each other, you'll like it just fine.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
TiptopmaguJun 3, 2019
It was a great solid movie... only downside I have is that they kept moving away from fighting scenes.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
TmkhnpJun 16, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. - The movie provide a lot of epic scene, but wrapped in a very good proportion
- The intensity is much higher than previous Godzilla.
- The Godzilla is much more dinamic
- The visual is better than previous Godzilla. The fight scene is visible and clearer
- If the previous Godzilla is scored 67, then for me this one is deserve much higher score
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
WalksJun 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Si la trama fuera como los efectos especiales seria la mejor, ojala mejoren este aspecto, si no fuera por los monstruos esta pelicula no seria nada Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
FOXGEARJun 7, 2019
It's not the best Godzilla movie, but dang is it up there. The humans could be a lil better written but the ratio of humans to monsters was great. It really feels like the director loved Godzilla and wanted to do him justice.
Also much love
It's not the best Godzilla movie, but dang is it up there. The humans could be a lil better written but the ratio of humans to monsters was great. It really feels like the director loved Godzilla and wanted to do him justice.
Also much love for Mothra.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
Roycar69Jun 6, 2019
Action packed. I loved the pacing in the film. I really had a sense of monster tension throughout the whole movie. This was the first movie in a long time that most people clapped at the end. A must see at the Big Screen.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
iasonconyersJun 4, 2019
Freaking awesome. Just needs a bit more monster battles instead of the human characters. I love it.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
OkcpestJun 4, 2019
This was a movie definitely for any fan of Godzilla. Not perfect by and stretch but fun to go see none the less. It tried to cover a lot of stuff from past Godzilla movies like the missile removing oxygen, which is how they killed him in theThis was a movie definitely for any fan of Godzilla. Not perfect by and stretch but fun to go see none the less. It tried to cover a lot of stuff from past Godzilla movies like the missile removing oxygen, which is how they killed him in the first Godzilla movie from 1954 to King Ghidorah being from Space. If I had one gripe about the movie is it played to hard on the one character trying to redeem her self at the end. I could had lived with out that whole family moment, just my opinion. Either way It was a really fun and great movie. Nice to see some of these creature get a proper treatment with modern special effects. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
0
DrShepherdLIVEJul 26, 2019
This is the worst movie and the worst Godzilla I have seen in a long time.
Cant remember what is worse than this cringefest. Worst dialogs like it was written for 6 year olds, plot is utterly garbage and nothing in this movie makes any sense.
This is the worst movie and the worst Godzilla I have seen in a long time.
Cant remember what is worse than this cringefest. Worst dialogs like it was written for 6 year olds, plot is utterly garbage and nothing in this movie makes any sense. No action of any character is believable or understandable. It's really like a 6 year old wrote the script just to glue together the special effects they wanted! You dont care about the action cause it's emotionless. Godzilla doesnt evolve or endure like he is in animes or other movies. You never feel with him cause he is just there and smashes stuff. There is no emotional connection to his doings or his story ever. Special Effects are meh.
We endured GoT Season 8, Aquaman, Ghostbuster 2016 and others but this movie goes straight to the top place of worst movie.
The beginning is also so unprofessional and I dont know how anyone whit a little bit of knowledge in cinematography could go with that.
Again dialogs in this movie have no substance and you never care what someone says cause it doesnt suit to any situation or support anything to make you believe anything!
Stay away from this movie and save your money.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
7
thefakepierreJun 2, 2019
It's not perfect but I still enjoyed it. There are still too much human for me. I might give it a second watch. Do not expect Academy Award level of writing. It is a kaiju film. Not an Oscar one.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
dearjohnnyhJun 2, 2019
The movie throws back to the original Godzilla in very subtle yet respectable ways. For any Godzilla fan it has everything you can ask for. Way more fun movie then the critics give credit for.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ClaraaaJun 3, 2019
Fan or not you'll love this movie!!! Incredible action!! Beautifull soundtrack!! It will make u goosebump!!!
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
Kay1992Jun 3, 2019
“Godzilla: King of the Monsters” has a sense of wonder. After I left the screening late at night and emerged onto a dark city street at nearly one a.m., I wanted to look up rather than straight ahead, just in case Ghidorah the three-headed“Godzilla: King of the Monsters” has a sense of wonder. After I left the screening late at night and emerged onto a dark city street at nearly one a.m., I wanted to look up rather than straight ahead, just in case Ghidorah the three-headed dragon or Rodan the giant pterodactyl came screaming down from the clouds. That's not the same thing as saying this is a perfect movie. It's far from that. But its errors fall mainly under the heading of failing to get out of its own way, and its imperfections are compensated by magnificence. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
Gojira420Jun 3, 2019
If you're not a Godzilla fan or don't understand monster movies, please stop with your negative reviews.This is a great movie. I've seen people complain about too much human drama or that it is confusing..what's confusing about it? It's notIf you're not a Godzilla fan or don't understand monster movies, please stop with your negative reviews.This is a great movie. I've seen people complain about too much human drama or that it is confusing..what's confusing about it? It's not that complicated. I've also seen people complain about the monster fights??? "There's too much destruction and rubble." Well considering that they're giant monsters fighting in a huge city, that's to be expected. The monsters looked great, the fights were amazing. The movie had an in your face attitude and some jaw dropping scenes. Stop over thinking it and just enjoy the darn film. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
Delta4582Jun 3, 2019
I loved it! The acting was better than the first one, the monsters are amazing, the special effects were gorgeous, and the plot was straightforward, but provided some important societal commentary. Critics are going to hate, but it's easilyI loved it! The acting was better than the first one, the monsters are amazing, the special effects were gorgeous, and the plot was straightforward, but provided some important societal commentary. Critics are going to hate, but it's easily the best Godzilla film since Giant Monsters All-Out Attack. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
ReverendRektEmJun 3, 2019
FORGET THE CRITICS! I literally made a Metacritic account solely to review this movie.

I grew up watching all those cheesy, supremely awful Godzilla movies from the 70's, 80's, 90's etc. with my dad. This movie not only honors all of those
FORGET THE CRITICS! I literally made a Metacritic account solely to review this movie.

I grew up watching all those cheesy, supremely awful Godzilla movies from the 70's, 80's, 90's etc. with my dad. This movie not only honors all of those previous movies but in my opinion it COMPLETELY surpasses them. This movie is two hours of pure hardcore Kaiju-fight porn. All of the Godzilla monsters are EXTREMELY true to their iterations from the past.

In my opinion, other than Brian Cranston's limited time in the first movie; this movie's human element completely surpasses that of the first movie. I loved the featured family and Milly Bobby Brown's scenes with Charles Dance are particularly fantastic.

Godzilla: King of the Monsters is the Godzilla movie that everyone wanted the first go around. This is the movie you've been waiting for.

LONG LIVE THE KING.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
Gojira54Jun 5, 2019
"Godzilla King of the Monsters" corrects many of the issues I had with the 2014 release and provides fantastic imagery and a fun story. -If you're looking for deep story and development in human characters go elsewhere. -Though some"Godzilla King of the Monsters" corrects many of the issues I had with the 2014 release and provides fantastic imagery and a fun story. -If you're looking for deep story and development in human characters go elsewhere. -Though some scenes depicting fights between monsters are dark, the action is still very visible and able to be enjoyed unlike in the 2014 Godzilla film. -The monster action starts early and maintains an enjoyable presence throughout the film. -Human characters are more interesting and contribute more without being overly focused on. -The special effects are good and consistant throughout the film. -If you're a hardened fan of the Japanese Godzilla films you'll find plenty of respect has been given to the source material. -Music was fantastic and included pieces heavily inspired by many of the original themes from the Japanese films. -There are some cheesy lines in the film but nothing that heavily impacts the overall entertainment. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
wahhabsijuJun 5, 2019
This is the ultimate fan service from Michael Dougherty. A good time to be a kaiju fan. The movie is great. Badass monsters fighting, definitely better than Godzilla 2014. Phenomenal. Can't wait for Godzilla vs Kong next year
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
DrunkenJedi92Jun 2, 2019
Critics are out of touch with both America and the globe. This movie was everthing a fan of the franchise could ask for. King Ghidorah (Godzilla long time arch enemies) takes center stage and reeks havoc onto planet Earth on a scale heCritics are out of touch with both America and the globe. This movie was everthing a fan of the franchise could ask for. King Ghidorah (Godzilla long time arch enemies) takes center stage and reeks havoc onto planet Earth on a scale he couldn't due in the older movies due to budget and technical restraints. I came for the fight, but the human stuff was really cool and interesting as well. Please support this film, especially if your getting tired of super hero films. I want to see more movies like this! Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
8
RyanlMay 30, 2019
While this movie does have plot and character issues, it doesn't take away from the fact that the fighting scenes are insane and action-packed. Overall, I thought this movie was a great way to kickoff the summer, despite the issues it doesWhile this movie does have plot and character issues, it doesn't take away from the fact that the fighting scenes are insane and action-packed. Overall, I thought this movie was a great way to kickoff the summer, despite the issues it does have. It is worth the price of admission on the biggest possible screen. Expand
10 of 15 users found this helpful105
All this user's reviews
10
nateOstrikeJun 3, 2019
My wife started crying in a Godzilla movie... That deserves a 10. Thankfully I held back the tears.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
DIEGOGCUNHAMay 31, 2019
Semelhante um filme do Godzilla japônes do anos 80/90, mas com um grande orçamento!
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
veshchesJun 2, 2019
This film is fun, but not great fun. If you can ignore the plot and just watch monsters fighting you will have a good time.
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
Martinx15Jun 1, 2019
The story its not that great but its a godzilla movie and I can safelly say that the story its not that important, what really is important are the kaijus and they look amazing, with cool battles and desings.
If you are a real fan from
The story its not that great but its a godzilla movie and I can safelly say that the story its not that important, what really is important are the kaijus and they look amazing, with cool battles and desings.
If you are a real fan from godzilla, this movie is made for you
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
8
Jkrunch2166Jun 2, 2019
TL:DR - If, and only if, you're a Godzilla fan, this is an absolute must-see on every level, narrative mistakes be damned. First off, let me preface this by saying yes - I'm a a huge Godzilla fan. Have been for all my life, as evidenced by myTL:DR - If, and only if, you're a Godzilla fan, this is an absolute must-see on every level, narrative mistakes be damned. First off, let me preface this by saying yes - I'm a a huge Godzilla fan. Have been for all my life, as evidenced by my massive collection of Godzila figures, clothing, and even my tattoo of the Big G that adorns my left bicep. Whether or not you are a fan will deeply impact your opinion of this movie, as it is a big, overstuffed blockbuster in the vein of the maligned Bay-formers movies. The difference here is that the creative team behind KOTM clearly are Godzilla fans, and it is reflected throughout the course of the film. From a narrative standpoint, this movie has issues. While I will say that the main characters were far more interesting than the piecemeal cardboard cutouts from the 2014 film (sans Brian Cranston), it was laughable how Mark, the film's main character, just happened to know all of the right information at exactly the right time. He was an expert in everything, and knew just what to do at the right time. Given how he was on a ship with literal MONSTER EXPERTS for a good chunk of the movie, they easily could have split his dialogue with designated expository characters, like Ken Wantanabe's Serizawa, to humanize him a bit better. It's also worth noting that sadly, like the aforementioned Bay-formers movies, a lot of humor simply doesn't land, though when it does it's outright hilarious. As is the sheer sustainability of the main cast. You can suspend your disbelief as much as you want, there is no conceivable way anyone could have survived the monster brawls that happened directly over them while the scurried about like helpless ants. But the oxygen destroyer was the biggest missed opportunity in the plot. Being the narrative heart and soul of the very first movie, it only serves to have a glorified cameo here. Now at the film's beginning, we see a Congressional panel grilling Monarch about their supposed failure to monitor these creatures - why not introduce the oxygen destroyer here, with the government saying this is monarch's last chance or this weapon will be used to wipe the beasts out? It also would have better explained why one of the film's villain does what they do, as if the beast's weren't released, they would have been easy targets for the weapon. It would created an interesting question - is there a right time to play god, and if so, when? And how much of the natural order should be preserved at the cost of human existence? Sure, the movie touches on these questions, but in the film's current state, there is something more to be desired. Beyond that though, this movie served as a love letter for Godzilla fans, by Godzilla fans. The biggest issue from the 2014 film was Godzilla's was relegation to a supporting roll in his own film. That is remedied here, as the conflict between him and the enigmatic Monster Zero is the core of the film's plot, as the two battle for supremacy in their prehistoric food chain. Most importantly, the personalities of the monsters are in-line with their original counterparts. Supporting monsters Mothra and Rodan are handled with care and respect, although the latter does unfortunately get lost in the shuffle after his epic debut. It is understandable though, given how packed to the gills this movie is with action set-pieces and visual eye-candy. To a normal viewer, this may seem like chaos for the sake of chaos, but to fans like me, this is Hollywood simply making up for lost time.

Whether it be the phenomenal score that features modern renditions of the classic Akira Ifakube tunes, the sound design that brilliantly recreates the sounds of these titans, or the cutting edge visual effects, the creative team learned from their Eastern forefathers to deliver a product that honors Godzilla's legacy, something that can hardly be said of the previous two American iterations. Your mileage may vary, but as a lifelong fan, and especially as a Massachusetts resident and Red Sox fan, this movie, while certainly not perfect, was a grand slam.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
DantheMan24Jun 2, 2019
As a Godzilla fan of the original series, this was one of the best Godzilla movies I've ever watched. I'm with the majority that believes this was successful in capturing why we love Godzilla despite having a lot of cheesy dialogs which canAs a Godzilla fan of the original series, this was one of the best Godzilla movies I've ever watched. I'm with the majority that believes this was successful in capturing why we love Godzilla despite having a lot of cheesy dialogs which can be seen in every Godzilla film but the fans don't remember the humans that much anyways so we forget that what makes Godzilla greate is the badass monsters, mayhem, and battles. I've seen a lot of films this year and none have moved me as such as this film, which inspired me as a 3D artist to continue working on my craft in order to get a chance to work on an amazing project like this. I believe there's never a perfect film because we all have our preferences and despite the critics, I loved this film and in my honest opinion I thought this film was perfect in how it balanced the human aspect with the monsters and I simply can't wait for next year. Good work G-team you deserve the rest after all that hard work on this passion project that you've helped bring us to us. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
7
TheRaven21Jun 5, 2019
Well, well, well. What have we here? We have confusing motivations, hammy dialogue, and an underdeveloped script, but something about it combined with the stunning visuals just completely sell this movie for me; ending up being kind ofWell, well, well. What have we here? We have confusing motivations, hammy dialogue, and an underdeveloped script, but something about it combined with the stunning visuals just completely sell this movie for me; ending up being kind of charming because of that balance between terrible and outstanding. The action was just everything I could ask for! The fights of the titans were just incredible. Their designs were very nice, one of the monsters is basically a Hydra (where's Hercules when you need him?). Godzilla is just amazing in this movie. I just had a blast, almost enough to ignore everything else. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
7
imtheonlytyeJun 3, 2019
It is a pretty decent movie, but I feel like they definitely had to rely on the cgi in order to get the audience engaged. Because visually it is fantastic, but dialogue isn't the best. Nonetheless, a very solid movie to continue theIt is a pretty decent movie, but I feel like they definitely had to rely on the cgi in order to get the audience engaged. Because visually it is fantastic, but dialogue isn't the best. Nonetheless, a very solid movie to continue the franchise. I am quite excited for King Kong vs. Godzilla!!! Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
8
EmperorMinillaJun 2, 2019
Less human focus: Check
More monster focus: Check
More action: Check
Interesting Lore: Check
Serviceable story: Check
Kickass Visuals: Check
Amazing Soundtrack: Check

Not sure what all the negativity is about. I thought this movie was insane.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
GodzillixJun 3, 2019
Amazing shots and close ups and full action packed and adds monsters from the old movies
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
redpowerJun 5, 2019
this is what Godzilla fans have waited for. more monsters in the first 15 minutes than in the entire previous Godzilla. spectacular.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
3
imthenoobAug 13, 2019
The monster side of things is fine. It's entertaining, Great to see all these classic monsters in CG. The human side of things is a freaking drag. The story isn't interesting in the slightest and I often wanted to skip it in order to get backThe monster side of things is fine. It's entertaining, Great to see all these classic monsters in CG. The human side of things is a freaking drag. The story isn't interesting in the slightest and I often wanted to skip it in order to get back to the monsters. And it's way too long with its over 2-hour runtime. I felt that they tried to introduce too much without properly fleshing out the story and the characters. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
NShep53Jun 18, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The monster battles are amazing. No doubt about it. The human characters are even worse than Godzilla 2014. Oh well. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
flametail23Jul 13, 2019
This movie is a complete dumpster fire. Terrible humour, medicore acting, battles that cut back to the humans every five seconds. The only positive I can give the movie is that we actually get to see Godzilla this time around for more thanThis movie is a complete dumpster fire. Terrible humour, medicore acting, battles that cut back to the humans every five seconds. The only positive I can give the movie is that we actually get to see Godzilla this time around for more than about 10 minutes. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
WhiskeyStoriesJun 14, 2019
Happy. Thank You. More. Please.
If you loved Toho's Showa era kaiju movies, I really don't see why you wouldn't at least enjoy this sequel/love letter. It's a genuine blast! The many beautiful nods to the franchise (the good kind of fan
Happy. Thank You. More. Please.
If you loved Toho's Showa era kaiju movies, I really don't see why you wouldn't at least enjoy this sequel/love letter. It's a genuine blast! The many beautiful nods to the franchise (the good kind of fan service) will surely warm your heart and the wonderful score might even cause a nuclear meltdown in there. While the pure sensory overload of the last 20 minutes could border on assault to some and be considered too much, I don't really get the haaarsh criticism. I might be as bold to call the critics out and ask:
Do you even like these kinds of movies? This franchise? What exactly were you expecting?

Edwards' 2014 Godzilla - a very well made disaster film - cracked open the rusty gates of Hollywood's monster madness. Then Vogt-Roberts got to put his foot in with his stylish take on Kong, and now Dougherty finally kicked them down with King of the Monsters. Hopefully Wingard will be pushing at open doors with Godzilla vs. Kong come next year.
Fingers crossed...
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
Captain105Jun 15, 2019
This is NOT for your Hitchcockian uncle. This is NOT for fans of drama and character development. This IS for people who want to have a good time and watch Godzilla smash a three headed dragon into a skyscraper. It’s well made and veryThis is NOT for your Hitchcockian uncle. This is NOT for fans of drama and character development. This IS for people who want to have a good time and watch Godzilla smash a three headed dragon into a skyscraper. It’s well made and very entertaining, and much, much better than the critics say it to be but not by much. I loved the lighting, the stage like locations and, although it got a bit hard to watch at points, the shaking edits. The colour grading in this film is spectacular. The limited blue and red colour scheme gives it an ancient, colossal feel to it.
The monsters we’re alright. I found monster zero to be dull, to say the least, Godzilla was okay, in my opinion Mothra was the best of them. But the monsters aren’t everything. The actors do their best to ask with a poorly written script and try to pull off characters that really in the end don’t have a character. Millie Bobby Brown pulls it off well. I definitely don’t agree with this point as much is the critics, The characters are simply meant to push the plot along and they succeed in this.
It succeed on the title at least, it very much is Godzilla: King of the Monsters! But in the end it results a spectacle of colours, lights and Godzilla breathing blue fire out of a dragon head, so if you are into that, go see it (definitely in IMAX)!
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
FireStarter73Jun 16, 2019
A very nice looking and competently made movie that appeals to it's audience who just want to see cool action and don't really care about the story any critic who says it's bad because of some human story is insane and belittles all theA very nice looking and competently made movie that appeals to it's audience who just want to see cool action and don't really care about the story any critic who says it's bad because of some human story is insane and belittles all the effort put into this movie and all the movies it pays homage to. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
ESCANORSUNSHINEJun 13, 2019
realmente bacan, complio con lo que querian mounstros no se que mas quiera la gente
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
PopperoJul 22, 2019
Messy screenplay. Story holes and very little coherence. A bovine exercise of cgi.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
kring1245Aug 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie touches on the cliché subject that humans are the "disease" of our world. This idea is the whole driving force behind a woman/mom, that lost her son a few years ago, to simply murder billions of people and animals. This idea itself is ofcourse not totally undoable, for example "avengers infinity war" was able to pull it off perfectly. The problem lies within the character development of that woman. You could compare it with Albert Einstein trying to prove the earth is flat, it would just NEVER happen.

This made the movie totally unrealistic and that fact alone was enough to pull me completely out of the movie without ever getting back into it. All I could do was wonder who came up with such a sloppy excuse.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
ProVConReviewsJun 3, 2019
Godzilla: King of the Monsters is hands down the best American-made Godzilla flick yet, with a genuinely amazing world that I want to see more and more of. It is handcrafted with so much love for the classics both in story and world, with soGodzilla: King of the Monsters is hands down the best American-made Godzilla flick yet, with a genuinely amazing world that I want to see more and more of. It is handcrafted with so much love for the classics both in story and world, with so many memorable moments that left me with a huge smile on my face. It both feels and acts like one of the older era films that has a level of lovable charm to keep it in my memory forever and to feel like I am once again a child, excitedly waiting to see where the biggest influence of my life is going next. If the flaws of the film are accounted for in the future installments of the franchise, then we genuinely have something amazingly special and perfect on our hands that I would gladly choose over all newer movies in other cinematic universes. This is the biggest step for the franchise towards perfection and I genuinely love it to death for all that it is doing. Thank you to all who were involved in reimagining these classic characters for the modern day, it makes me happy to see the big G so relevant again. Long live the king! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
nonameformeJun 9, 2019
I expected monster fighting WWE match, or at least something with weight like the 1st Pacific Rim movie. However, I got neither. There's barely any 'Titan' on scene. The movie is also poorly edited. It jump from one camera view to anotherI expected monster fighting WWE match, or at least something with weight like the 1st Pacific Rim movie. However, I got neither. There's barely any 'Titan' on scene. The movie is also poorly edited. It jump from one camera view to another every 0.2 seconds like it's a Jason Borne movie. Also whose idea is to always shoot the film at night? Fire that person and exile him from Earth now. I can barely see anything and half of the time I wonder if there's some error to the projector. It's like paying to see black screen.

The director lied "Godzilla got double time on scene compare to the 2014 one" and should be hold accountable. Well you can argue he didn't lie, but imagine this. There's Titan fight scene that last 60 seconds. The 1st 5 seconds is overview shot that show who will fight who and one of them throw the first punch. Then the next 45 seconds the camera switch to some dudes running around the fight, with occasionally glimpse of either titans' foot or tail that randomly enter the camera at the background. Then for the last 10 seconds the camera zoom out and show the winner and the other run away or die. Yeah in previous movie it's 30 seconds of full fight and other 30 seconds of characters doing other thing. But this time it's 60 seconds of fight that we barely see anything because the camera is from character POW and we mostly see buildings or cloud or what with a glimpse of the fight behind them. The 45 seconds that focus on character didn't even move the plot forward like the (2014) one.
Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
8
Sattoman95Jun 8, 2019
Let's be honest, the human characters in this film aren't very likable. But the kaiju fights play a true homage to what these films are all about: monsters!

The CGI team did an excellent job with making scenes that looked raw and destructive.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
8
AssmanbbqJun 7, 2019
Would rate it higher but my phone can't scroll over to anything past 8. Great monster stuff, visuals, music, and fan service. Clunky writing, but that's not the reason to go see this. Longer than the first movie but feels shorter.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
5
HTGamerJun 3, 2019
I liked the 2014 Godzilla movie, but this sequel is a titanic mess.

Good news first. The kaiju part of this movie is great. Not just the CGI quality, but the actual battles make sense. There are plenty of references to old japanese Godzilla
I liked the 2014 Godzilla movie, but this sequel is a titanic mess.

Good news first. The kaiju part of this movie is great. Not just the CGI quality, but the actual battles make sense. There are plenty of references to old japanese Godzilla movies, such as Ghidorah being an extraterrestrial life form and Mothra being an ally to Godzilla. The point of the movie is to depict Godzilla as the king of the monsters of this world, and quite literally, many monsters come from around the globe to kneel before Godzilla.

Now the bad news. The human factor in this film is just horrible and annoying. More so than the 2014 Godzilla movie. First there are scientists fighting to not have the Titans killed in their sleep for an absurd reason (just like Jurassic World: Fallen Kingdom's similar plot point), a plot which smells of real-world SJW agenda and vegan-like activists. Then there is Monarch trying to observe and study the slumbering Titans, but WTF with that "eco-terrorism" plot? That's just trash. They wasted such a good actor as Charles Dance ("Tywin Lannister" in Game of Thrones) for nothing. And while this is a fantasy action movie, WTF with that flying fortress acting like the Avengers' Helicarrier? Can't Monarch just equip that air carrier with tons of laser guns and "Oxygen Destroyer" bombs? Last but not least, WTF with the ancient civilization ruins in the depths of the ocean, the place where Godzilla goes to recuperate whenever it's injured?

Godzilla is the King of the Monsters, but King Kong doesn't agree with that, and Godzilla doesn't take kind to insubordination LOL There is a "Godzilla vs Kong" film coming next year to settle this dispute. Well, I hope the sequel is better than this.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
10
AreosephMay 31, 2019
10/10: a near perfect representation of the Godzilla movies I had the most fun with over the course of my life.

It's no '54 in terms of tone and story, but if you average out Godzilla films over the course of 65 years, KOTM is far more
10/10: a near perfect representation of the Godzilla movies I had the most fun with over the course of my life.

It's no '54 in terms of tone and story, but if you average out Godzilla films over the course of 65 years, KOTM is far more fitting to that average than '54, 2014, or Shin Godzilla.

This is Invasion of Astro Monster, or Godzilla vs King Ghidorah, with a 200 mil dollar budget. They absolutely nail the feel of of what it means to be an action oriented Godzilla film. The Kaiju are represented with shocking (for Hollywood translations) precision and faithfulness.

There's been much gnashing of teeth by Esteemed Critics about the "human story" or lack thereof...

It's not The Dark Knight, but any fan of Godzilla films, or summer blockbusters in general, will be pleasantly surprised by the acting and overall story. Ken Wantanabe and a few others really stand out. The humans never get in the way of the fighting and Kaiju, which the first movie suffered from (according to many, myself included). I found the story more interesting than 2014s. That being said, it is FAR less grounded of a story than 2014, but it's relatively tame in terms of "out there" compared to many Godzilla films. It's very fast paced, thrown at you without much fanfare or explanation, and serves the point of getting us to the battles in some kind of sensible fashion. It's the weakest part, but not even close to weak enough to sour the film... Because...

The Kaiju battles are the best we've ever seen, in any movie, ever. It's not even close. I was smiling the cheering the whole time, like a child. I kept saying out loud "holy **** that's **** awesome". The Monster battles absolutely makes this movie what it is...

A classic, quintessential Godzilla film. Fans rejoice, the Godzilla you dreamed about is here. Those less inclined towards Godzilla, just go have fun with it!
Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
8
BryamAndresJun 5, 2019
Es hermosa y colosal buena para fans y el público en general Buenos efectos pero algo lento en la trama de los humanos
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
8
thatnonamedguyJun 11, 2019
After watching this film i thought it was a fantastic edition to the monsterverse building on the lore for the monsters and the world around it.The fight scenes we're amazing on every level and the monsters had personalities I instantly fellAfter watching this film i thought it was a fantastic edition to the monsterverse building on the lore for the monsters and the world around it.The fight scenes we're amazing on every level and the monsters had personalities I instantly fell in love with. I thought the humans were relatively good even though there wasn't as much character depth to most of the side characters. So it shocks me to see this movie being reviewed so poorly even by those who say they are fans of the monster, and I think the reason for that is because of the bar the MCU has set for cinematic universes. Marvel mastered character and character development having us fall in love with (almost) every character for a different reason. This has made people expect the same from any other universe that comes out nowadays and its a double edged sword. It has made film makers realize that we expect higher quality in our movies but it also leads to good movies (like this one) being chastised for not living up to the legacy that marvel has left behind when they do not need to. The characters and plot in this movie may not be much to write home about but there is at least some level of emotional depth with the human characters and the monsters alike. And as stated before it builds great lore for these gigantic creatures and even gives them distinct personalities. Yet still the critics that went into the movie wanting deep characters and story will often say its nonsensical or just say it didn't exist in the film at all. It is the complete opposite though and if your not one to harp over deep story lines and character development you will find this film to be amazing. And f you are a long time Godzilla fan you may just tear up from the film. Overall the movie was a joyride from the start to the end and i wasn't let down in the slightest. Don't let the the critic's words sway you into not seeing this movie if you we're looking forward to it. A movie doesn't always need deep characters and a philosophical plot to be fun. Sometimes it just needs to be fun. 8/10 from me no question. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
Huey_KratosJun 11, 2019
This is just a full on Kaiju movie and i love it. I only gave it a 10 because of one character who i wanted to really get what she deserved but otherwise, this is awesome and i can't wait for the sequel.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
10
Uncle_RanchJun 2, 2019
Absolutely loved the movie and plan on seeing it at least two more times. Visuals were amazing and the fights were beyond awesome. As most are saying, the story wasnt perfect, but I'd say it serves its purpose to fill space between the actionAbsolutely loved the movie and plan on seeing it at least two more times. Visuals were amazing and the fights were beyond awesome. As most are saying, the story wasnt perfect, but I'd say it serves its purpose to fill space between the action sequences. The score was also really great and had quite a few callbacks to the original movies. I honestly think that they could've done even more monster madness and less of a focus on the characters. They weren't near as bad as in the 2014 film, but they weren't anything special either. This is a 10 in my book just because of how mesmerizing the fights were to me, and that's all I really go to see a Godzilla movie for. Also, the setup for the Monsterverse has a ton of potential and was really set in motion in this film. Really looking forward to what the future has in store for this franchise. Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
8
Davrosdaleks1May 31, 2019
If you're looking for a jamboree of giant monsters fighting giant monsters then Godzilla, King of the Monsters is exactly what you're lookin gor.

Not to insult the quality of previous Godzilla movies, but the budget and modern CGI allow this
If you're looking for a jamboree of giant monsters fighting giant monsters then Godzilla, King of the Monsters is exactly what you're lookin gor.

Not to insult the quality of previous Godzilla movies, but the budget and modern CGI allow this film to reach a level never seen before. These are some pretty epic fights.

Director Michael Dougherty started off in animation and his previous films Trick 'r Treat and Krampus have already demonstrated his excellent visual eye, and he's still got the touch here. In comparison to the previous film, we get flying monsters, and the sky as a setting is used to great effect, including some neat storm and cloud shots. Nice use of underwater scenes, too. Some of the night or subterranean scenes are too darkly shot, but I do give Dougherty credit for excellently contrasting the darkness with bright lighting effects such as monster fire or spotlights.

Of the three American films, this feels the closest to the structure of a traditional Japanese Godzilla movie. If you weren't the biggest fan of our nation's previous attempts, either because of the lack of the big lizard's screentime in the last film or for many, many reasons for the 90's version, this may be what you're looking for.

Dougherty also seems to be a fan of the original films and there seems to be respect for the handling of the monster (no drastic deviations) and includes some franchise easter eggs. The music includes some impressive takes on such classic musical bits as Godzilla's and Mothra's themes. We get the three biggest Toho kaiju other than the big freen guy, Mothra, Rodan, and Ghidora. The first two are redesigned and I felt it worked. There were no real betrayals of the character. Ghidora on the other hand isn't really altered. They didn't really need to. He's so distinctive already: a three-headed/two-footed/two-tailed, golden dragon.

Ghidora, is Godzilla's most prominent adversary and the film made sure to hold him to that title. This is as much his film as the title character's. He's just so impressive and ferocious. hen you see a close-up of his heads, it is the only time when the CGI doesn't quite gel, but WI didn't think it was that much of an issue.

I've heard a lot of complaints about the human characters. I partially agree and disagree with these feelings. Running at 2 hr., 11min., some of their time could've been cut near the middle when they're just discussing and discussing and DISCUSSING! how to handle the monsters. I also felt the backstory of the lead played by Kyle Chandler was explained a little too quickly.

Still, I liked the cast and characters. Ken Watanabe continues to really sell his performance as the scientist in awe of Godzilla. Chandler's likable and sells his moments of anger. The movie takes some notes from Kong: Skull Island and adds a little comedy to the proceedings in the form of en Middleditch and Bradley Whitford who have some humorous lines. The eco-terrorist human villains are refreshing in that they don't feel broad like these type of movie villains often are.

Overall this movie runs too long and perhaps the human scenes aren't quite as enthralling as the monster parts. But the action, oh boy is it something to see.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaMay 30, 2019
Godzilla King of the Monsters (KOM) succeeds in delivering big scale fights akin to the Godzilla of yesteryear, but boosted up with today's special effects. The problem of this film is typical in all Godzilla films. With all these monstersGodzilla King of the Monsters (KOM) succeeds in delivering big scale fights akin to the Godzilla of yesteryear, but boosted up with today's special effects. The problem of this film is typical in all Godzilla films. With all these monsters bashing each other out, who needs the human characters? They are played well, but at the end of the day, they are clearly not the focus of the movie. As such, the unfolding story line rings hollow, as clearly they are just padding until the next set piece. On a more positive note, the monsters...wow. Seeing Ghidorah, Rodan and Mothra on screen using modern CGI is a sight to behold and worth the price of admission. Expand
8 of 15 users found this helpful87
All this user's reviews
10
onehonestcriticMay 30, 2019
Godzilla: King of the Monsters is a fun, action-packed, satisfying summer movie. I liked the plot and the graphics most of all. The acting was not too bad, either. I really enjoyed this movie. I highly recommend checking it out.
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
4
RtheomJun 2, 2019
The 2014 movie was a terrible Godzilla movie and a mediocre action movie. This is a terrible a Godzilla movie and a terrible action movie. Once again, America continues to prove that it just cannot do a proper Godzilla film. We get maybe 7The 2014 movie was a terrible Godzilla movie and a mediocre action movie. This is a terrible a Godzilla movie and a terrible action movie. Once again, America continues to prove that it just cannot do a proper Godzilla film. We get maybe 7 minutes of monster screen time instead of the 5 minutes in the last movie. Hardly an improvement. The characters are all completely ridiculous or pointless and there is nothing interesting going on between the half-second monster fights.

The one good thing about this is that it means we're going to get a freakin' sweet Godzilla movie from TOHO in the next year or so. :)
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
BadWolf1991Jun 4, 2019
On this budget with this many monsters, I very much enjoyed this flick. See this film.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
8
leburn98Jun 1, 2019
Godzilla: King of the Monsters is the first film in Legendary's MonsterVerse that feels like a Toho film. Much like last year's Aquaman, King of the Monsters knows what kind of movie it is and doesn't make any apologies for it. It has cheesyGodzilla: King of the Monsters is the first film in Legendary's MonsterVerse that feels like a Toho film. Much like last year's Aquaman, King of the Monsters knows what kind of movie it is and doesn't make any apologies for it. It has cheesy dialogue, it has a ridiculous plot and more importantly it is fun as hell. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
AkidomaJun 1, 2019
Esta pelicula fue asombroso, spectacular y memorable.
El Monsterverse va ser una locura
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
KyleHikeJun 2, 2019
I took my 7 year old nephew to see this. We had a blast. Good flick haters gonna hate. Top tier popcorn flick turn your brain off and enjoy the ride.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
ThirdHandChunkJun 1, 2019
Godzilla: King of the Monsters is a must-see film this summer. For those looking into whether or not to watch this film, I have only one thing to say do not let a negative review from so-called critics dissuade you. If someone didn't enjoyGodzilla: King of the Monsters is a must-see film this summer. For those looking into whether or not to watch this film, I have only one thing to say do not let a negative review from so-called critics dissuade you. If someone didn't enjoy this movie it is because they were watching it looking for something it never was meant to be. So go to the movie and just enjoy a giant monster movie with all the action people felt was missing from the first one and then some. If you want the most out of this movie then take some time and verse yourself in the Japanese films as this movie even though it doesn't require you to recognize them is heavily steeped in small details that fans of the source material will love and feel rewarded for recognizing. This film does what it was meant to give you an all-out brawl between monsters of cataclysmic proportions, all the while dragging you up close and personal with incredible visual effects and some of the most immersive sound ever featured in a film to date. In conclusion, this film makes a promise and then over delivers on that promise all the way using visuals and audio to deliver an experience that will have you feeling as if every bone in your body is vibrating with pure excitement. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
ChafidzJun 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. While I'm generally happy with most of the movie like the soundtracks, the battles, and especially the monsters, this one is less memorable than 2014 Godzilla. While having more screen times, 2019 Godzilla fails in making impact such as the first time it unleashed the atomic breath back then. I can absolutely said that the main cinematic MVP in this movie is Mothra, not the Godzilla itself. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
MVO66Jun 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Would’ve said that the monster’s part saves this movie from being bad. However, the human drama most of the time is related to the monsters. Is that a bad thing? No, well...for most of the time but even with all of it’s flaws( wich aren’t too much) this movie is really solid and enjoyable, specially if you’re a Godzilla fan. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
dj2261Jun 13, 2019
Movie is dope. If you're a. Godzilla fan def check this one for sure, the cgi, and some of the fight scenes between the monsters look incredible in this one.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
martinexAug 21, 2019
Easily one of the dumbest premises for a movie you'll ever see. When Vera Farmiga gave her ecological justification for awakening the "legendary" monsters, I should have walked out right then. What a waste of a fairly decent cast and whatEasily one of the dumbest premises for a movie you'll ever see. When Vera Farmiga gave her ecological justification for awakening the "legendary" monsters, I should have walked out right then. What a waste of a fairly decent cast and what undoubtedly amounted to millions of dollars in CG and special effects. These people must be stopped. It's become embarassing. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
BryuversAug 18, 2019
What is this S***? What are these mediocre actors? You do not believe their grimaces from the word at all, but the plot ... yes, the fifth grader will write more fun and more logical. The director can take the rope and soap and make the worldWhat is this S***? What are these mediocre actors? You do not believe their grimaces from the word at all, but the plot ... yes, the fifth grader will write more fun and more logical. The director can take the rope and soap and make the world a better place! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariAug 16, 2019
(Mauro Lanari)
In "Aliens vs. Predator" there was still behind Giger's hand and therefore the dark side of anthropology, in "Independence Day" (1996) there was a simple and linear blockbuster signed Emmerich on the unification of the humanity
(Mauro Lanari)
In "Aliens vs. Predator" there was still behind Giger's hand and therefore the dark side of anthropology, in "Independence Day" (1996) there was a simple and linear blockbuster signed Emmerich on the unification of the humanity for a common effort against a planetary enemy, here there is an eco-environmentalist story that becomes an eco-terrorist one that becomes a yawning clash of monsters, pardon: between kaijū (in short: a fantasy family movie). The presence of "11" is irrelevant.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
mscsniperxJun 2, 2019
The CGI was mostly obscured by rain. The biggest problem with the movie was the Human chrachters were so horribly written, it was beyond cringe. I am not at all a snob and very forgiving, but some of things the characters do were so mindThe CGI was mostly obscured by rain. The biggest problem with the movie was the Human chrachters were so horribly written, it was beyond cringe. I am not at all a snob and very forgiving, but some of things the characters do were so mind blowingly unbelievable and stupid (specially in motivation).. it took me write out of the movie. The monsters were far far more believable then the character's motivations, dialog, and actions. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
5
CheckerMay 31, 2019
Godzilla is fun by all means but the plot was very cliche and badly told with some forgettable characters and villains.In fact it was the first movie I slept while watching after five years of movie experience.Despite that,they also gave usGodzilla is fun by all means but the plot was very cliche and badly told with some forgettable characters and villains.In fact it was the first movie I slept while watching after five years of movie experience.Despite that,they also gave us some cool and exciting fight scenes along the way and the cgi was amazing but in certain scenes the monster cgi looks a little bit...off.By all means if you are going to watch Godzilla watch it for the cool fight scenes and monsters but not for the characters and plot.Average at best. Expand
5 of 11 users found this helpful56
All this user's reviews
3
ARP2169May 31, 2019
Oh my Godzilla is it bad. The worst sin of the movie isn't that Millie Brown breathing heavily ISN'T acting, or that the plot was so dumb it hurt, or even the internal logic of the film doesn't work, it is that the film is boring. HollywoodOh my Godzilla is it bad. The worst sin of the movie isn't that Millie Brown breathing heavily ISN'T acting, or that the plot was so dumb it hurt, or even the internal logic of the film doesn't work, it is that the film is boring. Hollywood has made two giant monsters boring. I was actually getting upset how with how boring thus film is. It is literally a waste of two hours of my life. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
9
Rej72380May 31, 2019
Godzilla: King of the Monsters is perhaps one of the best movies of the year. The action sequences are very riveting and the battle scenes between the various gigantic monsters make it well worth the price of admission.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMay 31, 2019
While not being a great movie, it is still widely entertaining. Supported by great CGI effects, good acting performances, a decent (although cliché and stupid) story and a good soundtrack, it definitely succeeded at doing what it was supposed to.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
moviestalkerJun 5, 2019
The story was beyond stupid. It's like the script was written 15 minutes before they started filming. Monster battles could have been longer imho.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
RatedRexJun 2, 2019
Too dark. Too cloudy. Too rainy. Horrible plot. Bad writing. Bad direction. Bad acting. Not much Rodan or Mothra. Not enough Godzilla. Not enough Ghidorah. Not enough monster fights. Way too much human stuff. Special effectsToo dark. Too cloudy. Too rainy. Horrible plot. Bad writing. Bad direction. Bad acting. Not much Rodan or Mothra. Not enough Godzilla. Not enough Ghidorah. Not enough monster fights. Way too much human stuff. Special effects weren't that impressive, especially Ghidorah, who looked cheaply designed. Worst of all, the movie was boring. The best things about the movie was the music and the atomic Godzilla at the end. What an enormously missed opportunity. If Godzilla vs Kong is no better than this, the franchise will be doomed. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
7
RDaddy497May 31, 2019
If you see the critic reviews, they are right about all the flaws in the movie. However, they use the flaws of this movie to put it way down. Expect the flaws, but the movie has incredibly redeemable qualities. The titan fights and all scenesIf you see the critic reviews, they are right about all the flaws in the movie. However, they use the flaws of this movie to put it way down. Expect the flaws, but the movie has incredibly redeemable qualities. The titan fights and all scenes that has anything to do with Titans are incredibly entertaining. The actors were considered the biggest flop in this movie (rightfully so), but a lot of other lead actors redeemed some of that. The film has great pacing to be entertaining without exhausting the viewer, which is perfect for a summer blockbuster.

Anyway, to cut to the chase, is the movie better than the 2014 reboot? No. Is it a lot more entertaining? In a lot of ways yes. The movie was cliche, some bad acting, and felt a little too simple at times. But has all the qualities to be a fun summer blockbuster, this movie is obviously not seeking to be one of the best Godzilla movies ever. It’s just supposed to be a bunch of fun and if you’re a classic Godzilla fan, you’d understand that a lot of Godzilla (not all) movies do just that. They just have a bunch of fun. Unlike the 2014 reboot where it was fun and cool yet also very serious and had more realistic plot layout. That film was a better quality movie. But I’ve never seen a movie rated so low for the cons while not praising the pros nearly at all.

Go watch this movie and watch it for what it is. It’s a classic fun-to-watch Godzilla kaiju battling movie that shouldn’t be taken so seriously.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
ErneltpMay 31, 2019
When we ask for Godzilla movie they gave us Godzilla movie. Let them fight .. Im here for the monsyer fight and not for the humans.it was fun it was action packed and boby brown acting great as ussual .
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
4
MysticshockMay 30, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good cgi, although it was dark, cloudy, and raining most of the time. Underwhelming fight scenes, especially when they keep cutting back to the humans. Mothra and Rodan barely used, especially Mothra. Unecessary human drama. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
DublM987May 30, 2019
This delivers everything a monster movie needs. Urban beat downs and scientists trying to save the world. It’s terrifying and loads of fun.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
PolukisvettMay 31, 2019
This film was a solid love letter to Toho and nodded to everything they have done in their films. Incredible Godzilla experience!
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
8
JAustin14May 31, 2019
Of the 30+ Godzilla films made in the last 65 years, approximately 3-4 of them have been intended to be serious" as allegories or satires. The rest of them are silly, over-the-top monster mash films catering to our inner child, and theseOf the 30+ Godzilla films made in the last 65 years, approximately 3-4 of them have been intended to be serious" as allegories or satires. The rest of them are silly, over-the-top monster mash films catering to our inner child, and these films have a very distinct style that often transcends broad B-Movie tropes alone. Doughtery's film taps mostly into the latter, but it is also a highly enjoyable love letter to the entire franchise, from two clear references to the 1954 original to a final battle hybridizing elements of "Godzilla vs. Mechagodzilla 2" and "Godzilla vs. Destroyah." This film is a blast if you go into it with proper expectations. Remember that the "serious" side of the Godzilla spectrum has been covered in two unique ways since 2014 (one a light environmental allegory and exercise in restraint, the other a lo-fi political satire). This one, on the other hand, strives to channel the most entertaining aspects of the Showa and Heisei films; it's Toho-style popcorn entertainment at its finest, and to view it with any type of lofty critical eye is to appear synonymous with some of the film's overly serious, unintentionally funny dialogue.

Sure, there have been some truly bad films that have been bailed out this way by fans (look at you, Bay-directed Transformers films), but hollow, robotic human characters are still better than overtly annoying, sometimes racist ones. Doughtery's human characters are here to dictate the flow of monster fights, and that's what they should be doing. Do their arcs leave something to be desired? Sure. Is the film's narrative messy? Oh yes. But these complaints are all but meaningless in a film featuring a giant atomic lizard, a three-headed alien dragon, a giant moth, a pteranodon, and bunch of other ridiculous **** (keep an eye out for the woolly mammoth kaiju). Just go see this film and have a blast, and if you're out of touch with this longstanding franchise, watch any title with "vs." in the title to properly prepare yourself.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews