United Artists | Release Date: January 9, 1965
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 117 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
103
Mixed:
13
Negative:
1
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
kheasFeb 26, 2019
The film itself is a blast, every aspect of it is perfect in every way. It is fun, adventurous, absurd at times, but ultimately one of the most enjoyable entries in the Sean Connery era of James Bond. To this day, every new Bond Film isThe film itself is a blast, every aspect of it is perfect in every way. It is fun, adventurous, absurd at times, but ultimately one of the most enjoyable entries in the Sean Connery era of James Bond. To this day, every new Bond Film is compared to this movie and rightfully so. https://latetothegame.blog/2019/01/17/key-movies-of-my-life-james-bond-edition-goldfinger-1964/ Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
imthenoobNov 9, 2019
Goldfinger isn't just Connery's best Bond film but it's arguably the best Bond film in the whole franchise. Goldfinger is a classic villain, Oddjob is a great henchman and the plot doesn't get stale or is dragged down by the pacing. It'sGoldfinger isn't just Connery's best Bond film but it's arguably the best Bond film in the whole franchise. Goldfinger is a classic villain, Oddjob is a great henchman and the plot doesn't get stale or is dragged down by the pacing. It's simply a great movie. This is the perfect example of a franchise building on what works and constantly aiming to improve it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tontoOct 17, 2021
Goldfinger is probably the best Bond film of all time. It is the third installment of the franchise, with Sean Connery as Bond. The film's plot has Bond investigating gold smuggling by gold magnate Auric Goldfinger and eventually uncoveringGoldfinger is probably the best Bond film of all time. It is the third installment of the franchise, with Sean Connery as Bond. The film's plot has Bond investigating gold smuggling by gold magnate Auric Goldfinger and eventually uncovering Goldfinger's plans to contaminate the United States Bullion Depository at Fort Knox. Oddjob, Goldfinger's Korean henchman with the steel-rimmed hat and Bond girl **** Galore are classic characters from this one. There are some timeless scenes in this film, like when a woman is killed with gold spray-paint, or when Bond is placed on a table under an industrial laser and almost killed by Goldfinger. Auric Goldfinger is an iconic villain, with his lust for gold, and gold gimmickry. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
gracjanskiSep 11, 2021
On the one side the movie is less realistic than the second one. And I dont like that. But on the other side Gert Fröbe as Goldfinger is a perfect villain, who you never know what he will do next.
Other than that I liked the beautiful
On the one side the movie is less realistic than the second one. And I dont like that. But on the other side Gert Fröbe as Goldfinger is a perfect villain, who you never know what he will do next.
Other than that I liked the beautiful landscapes from different countries. Also I enjoyed the masculin scenes with Connery. A joy to see that, what is impossible nowadays thanks to feminism in the movies.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
511andahalfFeb 5, 2021
It's considered to be one of, if not, the greatest Bond movie, and it's easy to see why. Connery is at his peak here, and the Bond formula is established here, balancing action, espionage, and romance without letting one overstay its welcome.It's considered to be one of, if not, the greatest Bond movie, and it's easy to see why. Connery is at his peak here, and the Bond formula is established here, balancing action, espionage, and romance without letting one overstay its welcome. Goldfinger and Oddjob are very unique and memorable villains, not to mention Shirley Bassey's "Goldfinger" being one of the best title songs of the series. It's definitely the best James Bond movie in my eyes. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
WalterKovacsDec 26, 2017
A great film for those who are a fan of the era but ultimately will be a forgotten film in time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
7
tonyGreenMar 20, 2020
Rated as one of the better early Bond movies, this one does at least work as reasonable entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
VidyaBumOct 27, 2021
Having watched 25 Bonds from Dr.No to Spectre, and having posted a review on each and every one of these movies, I can finally place Goldfinger at N°1. I watched these 25 movies with a friend, spent dozens of hours of watching and discussingHaving watched 25 Bonds from Dr.No to Spectre, and having posted a review on each and every one of these movies, I can finally place Goldfinger at N°1. I watched these 25 movies with a friend, spent dozens of hours of watching and discussing all of them with him, and took so many hours putting down my thoughts on Metacritic to free my brain from all the Bonds.

And I still, since my childhood where I first saw it, do not change my opinion one tiny bit: Goldfinger is the peak, the masterpiece, the absolute and ultimate expression of what James Bond was all about.

Goldfinger is a masterpiece of Bond in so many ways, that words sort of fail me. By today's expectations of what a movie should be, lots of people would call it a bad movie, in the sense that Bond movies are self-indulgent, escapist fantasies about a man with some life experience but before middle-age (Sean Connery was 34 when he shot this movie), who travels the world, smacks girls' butts, has sex with ease, humiliates other (evil) men, kills other men but never gets hurt badly himself, and says cheesy lines every other sentence. By today's standards, many would just call it camp and move on.

But it is also an absolutely glorious movie, where the banter and mind games are incredibly memorable, the lines are glorious, the villain is so memorable and grows on you, from a fat, balding, ridiculous man to a mastermind of evil, the fights are just as much made in one's mind, as in fists, guns, and cars, gadgets and techno-madness, and victory is gained as much through all of those as it is gained through Bond's magic c*ck which wins him the villain's main girl over to the good guys. It's a movie that epitomises the term FUN, without muddling it with obscene amounts of action or comic relief. It shines at being made by and for adults, while being just as fun as a kids cartoon. Goldfinger embodies the Bond style so much, it hasn't been equaled as a Bond movie, as an adults fun movie, even 50 years later. It may never be equaled.

It's an entirely and thoroughly Bond movie, with all the good and the bad to its paroxysm. It's to the point that I can only say this: if you have never watched a classic James Bond, watch Goldfinger. Nothing else matters. Like it or hate it, there is no Bond more Bond.

Bond movies often shine, or do not, due to their main villain. Goldfinger cements that by giving what is still today the best Bond villain by far.

Bond movies often delve into more or less good taste action & romance, that nonetheless are fun at the end of the day. Goldfinger gives us the most, good or bad, but the strongest taste.

Bond movies can and should be this unique mix of fun, action, banter, mind games, sex, death, natural virility and suave charm. Goldfinger gives us the most of that.

It's simply THE Bond movie. It's simply a masterpiece. Even outside of being a Bond fan, it's a gloriously enjoyable, charming, and memorable movie, full of so many great lines, scenes, and moments, that there is no way to forget it. It's a movie of an era, a movie that crowns itself the highest of a very long series, and a movie that influenced cinema perhaps more than any of the movies that will end up on a "100 best movies of all time" lists. Watch it for leisure, watch it for Bond, watch it for its historical value.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Kai82Dec 7, 2020
It is for most the best and quintessential James Bond movie. It was a huge success, became the blueprint and benchmark for all following movies while also having some of the most memorable scenes in the franchise. For me the strength are theIt is for most the best and quintessential James Bond movie. It was a huge success, became the blueprint and benchmark for all following movies while also having some of the most memorable scenes in the franchise. For me the strength are the characters and the story that compliment each other. Story: After destroying a drug laboratory James Bond is on a mission to investigate Auric Goldfinger. He is one of the richest man in the world with countless talents and an obsession for gold. As you can imagine there is more to him as his official persona will tell you (It would not be a James Bond movie otherwise ;-). More I wont spoil. The story is great with good ideas and twists. It is also a case were the bad guy has a remarkable well thought out plan. There is the book “Shaken, not Stirred! James Bond in the Spotlight of Physics” from Metin Tolan and Joachim Stolze. In it they analyze various ideas and scenes from many James Bond movies. The conclusion for the final plan in Goldfinger is that it is doable and mostly scientifically accurate (There are other problems however that will make it hard to do). Another scene was even analyzed by the Mythbusters as it became pop-culture knowledge. It has so many remarkable scenes that transcended the movie. Each fan knows what I mean (Painting, laser, hat, timer etc.). Then there are the actors. Lets start with Gert Fröbe as Auric Goldfinger. He set the benchmark for a James Bond villains. He is clever, a good schemer and a diabolical gentleman who enjoys what he does. With Harold Sakata as Oddjob we have a remarkable lieutenant. He is not a man of many words but absolute dangerous. There is a remarkable man behind the actor. He was a weightlifter (silver medal at Olympics!), successful wrestler and actor. Of cause we have Sean Connery as James Bond and many said this is his best performance. Shirley Eaton has only a shorter role but a golden one that is unforgotten even today ;-). The rest of the cast also delivers a good performance. They also started the friendly unfriendliness between Q and James Bond (Both like each other and would put their life on the line to save the other). We got here the interesting homing beacon and the legendary Aston Martin DB5. Then there are the good sets and soundtrack. Shirley Bassey made the title song and had a hit with it. She was chosen to made two other title songs for other James Bond movies. The rest is also pretty good but less remembered. Overall this was the movie that made James Bond a hit. In today's currency the movie would have made over 900 million dollars. It has great actors and an enjoyable story with great moments. Rarely it is not in the top 3 for the favorite James Bond movies and it deserves it. For me a highlight of the series and the best James Bond movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kyle20ellisMar 18, 2022
I am a fan of the James Bond series, and Goldfinger is just amazing for so many reasons. As much as I love Dr.No and From Russia with Love, I think Goldfinger is a serious contender for the best Bond film ever.

For me Goldfinger is the
I am a fan of the James Bond series, and Goldfinger is just amazing for so many reasons. As much as I love Dr.No and From Russia with Love, I think Goldfinger is a serious contender for the best Bond film ever.

For me Goldfinger is the slickest of the Bond films in terms of how the stunts are performed and how the story is told. The story mayn't be the most exciting of all the Bonds, but it is still very gripping. The direction is sly, the cinematography is stylish, the locations are stunning and I can never get enough of the theme song sung by Shirley Bassey.

The script is sophisticated and humorous, while James Bond is still his suave and charismatic self, **** Galore is fabulously sexy and Auric Goldfinger himself ties with Blofeld as the best Bond villain, and a deliciously bizarre one he is too, being obsessed with gold and everything.

Other than the theme song and Goldfinger, the action is what makes this film. I love the gadget designs which are wonderfully over-the-top, while my favourite scenes include Shirley Eaton's legendary gold-plated death, the duel with the bowler-hatted sidekick Oddjob and the midair showdown between Bond and Goldfinger.

The acting is superb. Sean Connery gives his best performance as the character of Bond, although Connery is the master of suavity and charisma he is even more suave and charismatic here. Honor Blackman is sexy and enthusiastic as **** Galore, while Gert Frobe is amazing as Goldfinger. Overall, a golden treasure and a serious contender for the best ever Bond. 10/10 Bethany Cox
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeMay 6, 2019
Now, I am confused whether Midas Touch is a blessing or a curse, for this touch is something we all felt and are overwhelmed by it.

Goldfinger Hamilton is on a whole new level. He sees what this character is and how to portray it on screen
Now, I am confused whether Midas Touch is a blessing or a curse, for this touch is something we all felt and are overwhelmed by it.

Goldfinger

Hamilton is on a whole new level. He sees what this character is and how to portray it on screen to its best. And with finesse like his, the content subverts the flaws or inadequacies of the plotline and embraces the super-ness of the characters in this sketchy world. Finally, after two long chapters, the finest quality of this franchise, i.e. its antagonist, is magnified to an almost parallel role in this chapter. And carrying the title and the fear of his name, the snidy villain to Connery is perpetually playing a long tennis game with him.

An ace for an ace and a set for a set, if Sean Connery has gadgets in his pocket, Gert Frobe has a contingency plan in his mind, to every reply he has a counter argument that desimmates Connery's view for a whole act. Even in its last act, he never, mind you, never for a split second accepts his lose, at its most vulnerable point, he throws an equally challenging punch to our Martini-consumer host. One of the primary reason how the sense of urgency is kept alive throughout this two hours of journey, is the bluffs of Connery and Frobe's that are called out up front.

And with almost an entire film, Connery spending under Frobe's shade, his cloaking or more accurately stripping of the revisited character has made to be "out of touch", in fact, he doesn't even get to say his name, "Bond, James..". The director Guy Hamilton brings less verbal sparrings in the script this time, which to be frankly seems like of barely twenty pages. Relying completely upon complex and witty physical sequences like an escape from a prison to stalling while shaving, these quiet moments on screen haunts us for the rest of the film, with not a monsterous face but a Goldfinger.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LoletinAlexisMay 15, 2021
GoldFinger is the consecration of the saga of Agent 007 and his scheme in the cinema.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
FilipeNetoFeb 16, 2018
The consecration of a franchise

In this film, the third in the franchise, British secret agent must investigate the operations of Auric Goldfinger, a greedy millionaire who plans a terrorist attack on the US gold reserves in Fort Knox. This
The consecration of a franchise

In this film, the third in the franchise, British secret agent must investigate the operations of Auric Goldfinger, a greedy millionaire who plans a terrorist attack on the US gold reserves in Fort Knox.

This film is surely one of the most cherished by fans of the franchise, featuring Sean Connery as Bond, Bernard Lee (as M), Lois Maxwell (as Miss Moneypenny) and Desmond Llewelyn (as Q). In this film the villain is Goldfinger, played brilliantly by Gert Fröbe (at the height of his career), which is assisted by Oddjob (Harold Sakata), which started the "tradition" of the franchise villains always have a helper remarkable for its cruelty or some characteristic weapon, in this case the top hat that he cuts his head to his enemies. Its also one of the few films to have three "Bond-girls": the sisters Jill and Tilly Masterson and **** Galore (Honor Blackman). In the film also appears, for the first time, the Aston Martin as Bond's car, full of gadgets that make the audience delights.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lori007101Nov 19, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Goldige Zeiten für James Bond 007!
In seinem dritten Abenteuer muss James Bond einen Goldschmuggler überführen. Was er nicht weiss: Goldfinger will den ganzen Goldvorrat in Fort Knox Radioaktiv verseuchen, um sein Vermögen in die Höhe zu treiben.
Sean Connery schlüpft jetzt schon zum dritten Mal in die Rolle des britischen Agenten 007. Und er macht es Perfekt! Connery hat sich in dieser Rolle gefunden und spielt es Bravourös!
Als Bösewicht hat man jetzt den deutschen Schauspieler Gert Fröbe angeheuert. Fröbe gibt den grössenwahnsinnigen Goldfinger ein richtiges Gesicht. Ein richtiger Gegenspieler der alten James Bond Klassiker und einer der Besten.
Auch wird hier diesmal eine Rechte Hand des Bösewichtes eingeführt: Odd Job. Harold Sakata, ein hawaiianischer Ringer, spielt hier den ersten richtigen Bodyguard mit technischer Finesse. Obwohl es simpel wirkt, einen Hut als Tötungsmethode, macht es Spass zuzuschauen.
Honor Blackman spielt **** Galore. Obwohl sie erst später als Bondgirl endet, hatte sie eher Interesse an Frauen, als an Männer. Was auch eine Neuerung ist, Mitte in den 60ern.
Die Kombination in der Agentenreihe von 1964 ist spassig mit einer klassischen Action verbunden. Darum gilt auch Goldfinger als einer der Besten der Serie.
Es verspricht alles, was ein Agentenfilm ausmacht: Humor, ein klassischer Kampf zwischen Gut und Böse, einen übermotivierten Bösewicht mit einem starken Gehilfen und mit sehr viel schönen Frauen!
Fazit: Ein gelungener Spionageklassiker, der Connery Ära, der einen Stempel aufgedrückt wurde! So muss ein James Bond Thriller sein!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MahmusOct 5, 2020
Goldfinger is in many ways the first classic James Bond movie. All the tropes that have become synonymous with 007 originated here. Unfortunately, as a result of this tropes being endlessly parodied and done to death by the frachinse, thisGoldfinger is in many ways the first classic James Bond movie. All the tropes that have become synonymous with 007 originated here. Unfortunately, as a result of this tropes being endlessly parodied and done to death by the frachinse, this doesn't hold up as well as Dr. No
(I haven't seen From Russia With Love yet).

While Dr. No is a much slower movie, it's also better shot, better paced, it has a cold blooded Bond and takes itself pretty seriously, kinda like Casino Royale would do decades later.
This movie on the other hand is very goofy. Not as goofy as some future installments, but still pretty goofy. Also, half of it takes place in Kentucky.

Also, Connery's Bond canonically hates The Beatles so **** him. Oh, and he basically raped **** Galore, so that's not good either.

With that said, this is still a good movie. The opening credits are great, Oddjob is a great henchman, the third act is a lot of fun and the "I expect you to die" line is so awesome that it more than makes the whole film worth watching.
Seriously, the entire rest of the movie could have been absolute garbage and I still would've given it a positive review just for that line.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RobwinzJul 31, 2020
Oddjob is one big bastard and anyways this might be my favourite James Bond movie at the moment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Gamepro3093Aug 19, 2020
A fabulous Bond movie! The pacing was great, the action was good, the soundtrack great, the locations were good. The villains were also great and the plan was actually really great and withstands even heavy scrutiny unlike most. A must see,A fabulous Bond movie! The pacing was great, the action was good, the soundtrack great, the locations were good. The villains were also great and the plan was actually really great and withstands even heavy scrutiny unlike most. A must see, fan of the series or not Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SoapNuggetJun 24, 2021
Goldfinger (though I didn't like as much as From Russia With Love) is a fantastic film with all the usual Bond tropes to create a very entertaining and great film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MrPajamasFeb 17, 2021
Goldfinger is without a doubt one of the best Bonds. The third film with Connery was just a success. The film won't keep you waiting and will throw you into action right away. The locations are great and especially Goldfinger is just perfect.Goldfinger is without a doubt one of the best Bonds. The third film with Connery was just a success. The film won't keep you waiting and will throw you into action right away. The locations are great and especially Goldfinger is just perfect. Especially the end of the film I really enjoyed. Great movie that I recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HeroicAge616Oct 26, 2021
Goldfinger perfects the Bond formula, and gives Connery's Bond endlessly entertaining moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews