Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 16, 2018
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 400 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
339
Mixed:
38
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SEROJMar 16, 2019
A story worth filming! Worth watching! And absolutely worth 10/10! I don't know what's wrong with some of the people who rated it so low, but honestly - i don't care. I loved every second of it and without any doubt - will watch it again! IA story worth filming! Worth watching! And absolutely worth 10/10! I don't know what's wrong with some of the people who rated it so low, but honestly - i don't care. I loved every second of it and without any doubt - will watch it again! I think "The academy" did its job right, this time around! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
LatinCritic13Feb 16, 2019
Green Book is probably one of the most satisfying films ever created based on the historical events that took place in the 60s America. The two main wise guys, Nikolai from Eastern Promises (Viggo Mortensen) and Juan from MoonlightGreen Book is probably one of the most satisfying films ever created based on the historical events that took place in the 60s America. The two main wise guys, Nikolai from Eastern Promises (Viggo Mortensen) and Juan from Moonlight (Mahershala Ali) had the best set chemistry based on a true friendship that I have ever seen on the big screen I tell you what. To be honest, this film had me mistaken that it’s a PG-13 rated film but not an R rated film because of the superb directing and writing that this film has accomplished on and honestly, I had a legitimate great time seeing it. If I were you, go see this film – capiche? Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
annbdMar 27, 2019
Adorable story, funny, dramatic. Actually, I don't want to destroy the film, putting stupid words and making dumb review.. just watch the film, it's one of the best.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
KjaxMar 10, 2019
This movie was fantastic - although I've read much about the racism in the US back then, the performance by Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen really painted the picture vividly, and showed the difficulties and abuse an African-American facedThis movie was fantastic - although I've read much about the racism in the US back then, the performance by Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen really painted the picture vividly, and showed the difficulties and abuse an African-American faced in even attempting to climb the social ladder. But all this was conveyed and brought forth in a truly likable and warm narrative through the chemistry of Ali and Mortensen, and inspired hope in changing hearts by shining like a sun and not blowing like the wind. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKNov 22, 2018
It’s been a very long time since I have heard an audience applaud spontaneously after a film in an ordinary local theater, but it happened today after a screening of Green Book. And I must admit I had to agree with the audience verdict aboutIt’s been a very long time since I have heard an audience applaud spontaneously after a film in an ordinary local theater, but it happened today after a screening of Green Book. And I must admit I had to agree with the audience verdict about this one. Perhaps the “message” was obvious, but the commitment, believability, and humanity of the two main actors (Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali) was extraordinary. I really felt like I took the journey with them. This is definitely one of the best films I have seen this year – beautifully written, directed, and acted. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondNov 28, 2018
Easily one of my favorite movies of 2018. I can see why cynical movie critics can't embrace it, but it's got all the ingredients of a feel-good movie, with some harsh realities, and what it takes to be a good friend. I loved every minute of it.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
lmorinJan 6, 2019
Two days after seeing A Star is Born, which I loved, I saw Green Book--a more impressive move. Funny. Touching. Great acting. I'd give it a 10 but for a few details I didn't like. Hard to believe this story reflects real events and attitudesTwo days after seeing A Star is Born, which I loved, I saw Green Book--a more impressive move. Funny. Touching. Great acting. I'd give it a 10 but for a few details I didn't like. Hard to believe this story reflects real events and attitudes of 1962. The nation has taken many steps away from that era, thank goodness. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryNov 29, 2018
This charmer is based on the real relationship between a rough-edged, Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) and the refined African-American jazz pianist Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali). Lip is hired to drive Shirley on a concert tour thruThis charmer is based on the real relationship between a rough-edged, Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) and the refined African-American jazz pianist Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali). Lip is hired to drive Shirley on a concert tour thru the Deep South in the 60s. As expected, they go from contrary attitudes to an endearing, mutually-beneficial friendship, so it's up to the filmmaking to create something special. Both of the lead actors give deep and affecting performances. Director Peter Farrelly (best known for silly comedies) has maneuvered between racial discord and human interaction with skill, assurance and a few laffs. The script, while predictable, still manages to create an involving narrative. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
netflicDec 26, 2018
Based on real events and real people, this film is about relationship between a famous black pianist Don Shirley and his driver Tony, a New York bouncer of Italian origin.
The name 'Green Book' refers to a hotel travel guide in the Deep South
Based on real events and real people, this film is about relationship between a famous black pianist Don Shirley and his driver Tony, a New York bouncer of Italian origin.
The name 'Green Book' refers to a hotel travel guide in the Deep South where black people were allowed to stay in 1960th. Obviously, racism (especially in the South) is one of the main themes of the movie.
It's also about family, dignity, courage, self-identification, and many other things, foremost about an earning to connect, to feel close. It is a serious drama peppered with funny episodes.
Great performances from both leads. Believable script, detailed nuances.
Overall, the movie is quite enjoyable to watch.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
shpostalNov 23, 2018
"Green Book" is a fairly true story of a gifted concert pianist and his hired Italian driver making a swing through the Deep South in 1962 at the height of Jim Crow before the civil rights battles really started. The actual "green books""Green Book" is a fairly true story of a gifted concert pianist and his hired Italian driver making a swing through the Deep South in 1962 at the height of Jim Crow before the civil rights battles really started. The actual "green books" were indeed real, and were handed out at gas stations or other locations to help African Americans find locations to eat, sleep and otherwise be entertained without being harassed by the ignoramus separatist white racist idiots especially in the South. Viggo Mortenson plays a Bronx semi-wise guy Italian who needs a few months employment as his club where he is employed as a bouncer, the famous Copacabana is undergoing renovations, and lands a job as a driver for Dr. Don Shirley, brilliantly played by Mahershala Ali. Both men are absolutely genius in their respective roles, as Shirley, a gifted and very erudite and intelligent concert pianist play off each other during this two month tour of the Deep South. It's a shock to the system of the time with a white man driving the affluent and privileged African American around between gigs, and the film carefully examines the strife and attitudes of the day and age without getting into some of the truly horrendous events that also happened. The film doesn't really cover a lot of new ground here, and has its similarities with "Hidden Figures", the blockbuster from a few years ago without being a derivative. Without being a spoiler, we are witnessing the gradual closing of the gap of understanding the world as both men know it, including Dr. Shirley's own unawareness of the awful poverty he witnesses during the trip of his fellow African Americans, and learns that Tony, his driver lives in very modest circumstances of his own in the Bronx. This is a movie where we don't really see a cataclysmic event, but rather the common behaviors of a Jim Crow south, where patrons in cities like Memphis and Birmingham want to be seen as "cultured" and have no problem with Shirley performing at their private swanky parties, but that tolerance stops obviously the second the show's over. "Green Book" serves a duel purpose: the enormous racial divide, class divisions and the courage it took for more open minded people of all races to begin to stand up and unite against the profound hate that sadly still exists today, but was a genuine threat to life and limb back then. It's a great movie and highly recommended. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
consumerguyDec 6, 2018
"This based on a true story" film is an unexpected surprise. Few films are able to combine compelling drama and comedy without stretching one genre or the other. If you had given me a list of one hundred candidates for the role of a"This based on a true story" film is an unexpected surprise. Few films are able to combine compelling drama and comedy without stretching one genre or the other. If you had given me a list of one hundred candidates for the role of a semi-educated 1960s nightclub bouncer from the Bronx, I probably would have placed Vigo Mortenson I at the bottom of that list as a likely candidate for the role. And he knocks the role of Tony Lip outta the park. Mahershala Ali, who won an Oscar for his role as the ominous drug dealer in Moonlighting is no less a surprise as the somewhat prissy and bottled-up jazz pianist
Don Shirley.
In balancing issues of racism and violence with laugh-out-loud humor, director Peter Farrelly is this film's third surprise. Along with brother Bobby, Farrelly is most famous for dopey and base comedies like the "Dumb and Dumber" flicks.
I was amazed by Farrelly's deft handling of transitions that move from Tony's knuckle-headed ignorant insights to the humiliations heaped upon a refined black man in the mid-twentieth century Deep South by hypocritical sophisticates.
Green book is an emotional, artistic and fulfilling gem.
Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
10
votingNov 27, 2018
One of the best movies of the year. Both performances are fantastic. Inspiring and heartfelt.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Compi24Nov 30, 2018
Though its softened edges and cautious approach might irk some of the more discerning viewers in the audience, its "Green Book's" benevolent nature and engaging thematic material that should be commended above all. Generally more of a comedicThough its softened edges and cautious approach might irk some of the more discerning viewers in the audience, its "Green Book's" benevolent nature and engaging thematic material that should be commended above all. Generally more of a comedic filmmaker, director Peter Farrelly handles the story behind Don Shirley and Tony Vallelonga's true-to-life friendship with a surprising patience and care, ultimately lending a tremendously feel-good experience. Spearhead all of that with some unsurprisingly magnificent performance work from both Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen, and you've got yourself one of the better movies of the year. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
AndrewBurgeFeb 24, 2019
They just don't make 'em like this anymore. Peter Farrelly's 'Green Book', inspired by true events is a conventional drama, but a pure and heartwarming one. Tony Lip (Viggo Mortensen), the working-class Italian-American bouncer hired to beThey just don't make 'em like this anymore. Peter Farrelly's 'Green Book', inspired by true events is a conventional drama, but a pure and heartwarming one. Tony Lip (Viggo Mortensen), the working-class Italian-American bouncer hired to be the driver/bodyguard/assistant to a virtuoso African-American classical pianist with multiple PhD's while he tours throughout the American South during the 1960s is just as you expect it to be.

Both characters are brilliantly acted by two of the best actors working right now, and their personalities, especially Tony's, are somewhat stereotypical--but the genius of Farrelly is how he manages to make them blend in to one another with such ease, such humanity, warmth, that they dissolve into something simple, straight-forward, but beautiful.

Racism in this story its so obvious that its delicate to mention it. When Tony hangs out with the other drivers while Dr. Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali) performs, he is annoyed when Don tells him to behave himself at which Tony argues that he was just having fun. Shirley's reply sparks unease when he says that you had a choice whether to be in or not, they did not--I don't need to tell you that Tony was the only white driver among them. Throughout old-school vibey camera and cinematography, for these entire two hours these two characters have an unmatched chemistry. Their simplicity makes it easy to work with. They are both human, they have flaws, regrets, secrets, memories, rituals, principles--they both sacrificed, they both loved, hated, cried and laughed, and so did we.

In the end, the film ends with a sweet albeit utopic, unreal silver lining. But, for once, I liked that. Racism is still alive, yes we know that. We don't need another film to act all knowledgeable trying to portend something. For once, let's resume to family and friends rather than preaching to the entire society. It all starts there. This film is not as much about racism as it is about people.

In fact, the only thing keeping this film from being a masterpiece is the fact that, in a burst of anger, Dr. Don Shirley screams out all the concepts and insights which should be hidden so that we discover them for ourselves. "Yes, I live in a castle, Tony! Alone! In which white people pay me to play piano for them because it makes them feel cultured. But as soon as I step off that stage I go right back to being just another n***er to them. Coz that is their true culture and I suffer inside alone coz I'm not accepted by my own people coz I'm not like them either! So if I'm not black enough and if I'm not white enough and if I'm not man enough then tell me, Tony, what am I?" The quintessential question. No one could have said it better.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
tropicAcesNov 21, 2018
Funny, breezy, emotional and impactful. Great performances and screenplay. Just an enjoyable movie with a tiny bit of a message (even if it doesn’t get as deep as it maybe could have).
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Nov 22, 2018
This was a simple yet culturally significant, funny, and often times very heartwarming and crowd-pleasing film while also providing important social commentary regarding race and discrimination. The film follows an Italian-American bouncerThis was a simple yet culturally significant, funny, and often times very heartwarming and crowd-pleasing film while also providing important social commentary regarding race and discrimination. The film follows an Italian-American bouncer (Viggo Mortensen) who is hired to drive an African American pianist with a Doctorate in music (Mahershala Ali) on his musical tour through the American South in the 1960s. From the film's opening moments, I knew I was in for a charming and great time, cause despite the serious historical subject matter and depiction of racism throughout the film, every moment in the film is played out surprisingly light-hearted but never too much so as to remind us of the important cultural and historical significance of these different and difficult times in America. In addition, Mortensen and Ali play off each other perfectly from start to finish, seemingly forming a genuine bond and friendship as the film progressed. I was especially impressed with Mortensen however, who not only had so many great and funny moments and lines, but also showed serious commitment, gaining approximately 40 lbs or so for his role. Overall, despite the film's rather safe and restrained depiction of racism and prejudice, it nonetheless remains very mature and insightful regarding these themes and depictions, and the performances and chemistry between Mortensen and Ali are undoubtedly the film's biggest charm, with all of these elements coming together to make the film a mostly smooth yet satisfying ride. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantNov 28, 2018
A superb fact-based road trip buddy film featuring two of the unlikeliest of travel companions. This tale of an African-American pianist and his New York Italian driver on a concert tour of the American South in 1962 hits all the right notesA superb fact-based road trip buddy film featuring two of the unlikeliest of travel companions. This tale of an African-American pianist and his New York Italian driver on a concert tour of the American South in 1962 hits all the right notes without belaboring its message while effectively capturing the unusual friendship that grows between the film's two protagonists. Excellent performances by Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali are punctuated by a script that's full of laughs, poignancy and heart. An underrated gem that deserves high marks and well-earned accolades. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
AcaciaDec 2, 2018
Fabulous movie! Go see it. You won’t be disappointed. My review ended up under Green Room! Did not realize that Green Book didn’t come up.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
darkbloodshed13Dec 4, 2018
Green Book is directed by Peter Fairly and is about the journey and friendship between Tony Vallelonga, an Italian driver played by Viggo Mortensen, and Dr. Don Shirley, a black pianist played by Mahershala Ali, as they journey though theGreen Book is directed by Peter Fairly and is about the journey and friendship between Tony Vallelonga, an Italian driver played by Viggo Mortensen, and Dr. Don Shirley, a black pianist played by Mahershala Ali, as they journey though the south in the 60's. That concept sounds pretty simplistic but this film executes it so well that you don't think that. The relationship between our two leads is portrayed excellently. The film is at it's best when it's just the two of them having a simple conversation. Viggo Mortensen plays Tony Vallelonga perfectly as the typical Italian during the 60's, his comedic timing and delivery makes him hilarious but relate able and is balanced excellently Mahershala Ali's stoic and dramatic portrayal as Dr. Don Shirley. Peter Fairly has established him self as good comedy director with the Dumb and Dumber movies, but this the first time that I have felt like he has hit that perfect balance of drama and comedy. In conclusion this is the best film of the year so far and if you haven't seen it yet then see it immediately. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
SyklatFeb 6, 2019
Green Book, ünlü siyah caz piyanisti olan Don Shirley'nin (Mahershala Ali), Tony “Lip” Vallelonga (Viggo Mortensen) ile bilrikte, Amerika Birleşik Devleri'nde güneye doğru yapmış olduğu turneyi bize olabildiğince sıcak bir biçimde anlatan birGreen Book, ünlü siyah caz piyanisti olan Don Shirley'nin (Mahershala Ali), Tony “Lip” Vallelonga (Viggo Mortensen) ile bilrikte, Amerika Birleşik Devleri'nde güneye doğru yapmış olduğu turneyi bize olabildiğince sıcak bir biçimde anlatan bir yol hikayesi. Green Book, o dönemde siyahi kardeşlerimizin güvenli bir şekilde konaklayabilecekleri otelleri ve yemek yiyebilecekleri restoranları gösteren bir seyahat kitapçığı. Yönetmenin filme neredeyse hiç bir dokunuşunun olmaması, filmin hikayesinin ve senaryosunun sıcaklığını hiç bir şekilde etkilememiş gibi. Mahershala Ali'nin devleştiği filmde içinde bulunulan dönem bize olabildiğince yansıtılmaya çalışılmış. Kısacası Green Book, çok fazla yönetmen etkisi olmayan ama izlenmeye değer oldukça eğlenceli bir hikaye filmi. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixNov 29, 2018
'Green Book' barrels past some initial hokeyness to take us on a poignant journey through the deep south ... and into the heart of America's persistent deficiency in overcoming racial inequality.

Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen both
'Green Book' barrels past some initial hokeyness to take us on a poignant journey through the deep south ... and into the heart of America's persistent deficiency in overcoming racial inequality.

Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen both disappear into their roles as only actors of their caliber can, making every scene so captivating that the movie's 130-minute run time feels half as long. There's plenty of contemplation and outrage to go around. However, it's the genuine laughs that truly round out the film, providing a full range of delightful (and sometimes dizzying) emotions that quickly come and pass like mile markers on the side of a highway.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
MarkHReviewsDec 13, 2018
“The Green Book” derives its name from The Negro Motorist Green Book, an annual publication from 1936-1966 designed to help people traveling while black to find friendly lodging, restaurants and gas stations and to keep from running afoul of“The Green Book” derives its name from The Negro Motorist Green Book, an annual publication from 1936-1966 designed to help people traveling while black to find friendly lodging, restaurants and gas stations and to keep from running afoul of a variety of arcane local laws (if you’re interested, learn about “sunset towns”).

In 1962, Dr. Don Shirley, a classically trained pianist, left his opulent apartment above Carnegie Hall in NYC to tour the Midwest and Deep South. The record company sponsoring his tour had the good sense to hire a driver/bodyguard/valet to help him navigate the perils of the South in the period just before the Civil Rights Act. Tony (Lip) Vallelonga was hired for those roles and worked with Shirley during his two-month tour. The challenges faced and overcome by Shirley are entirely predictable – overt racism, harassing cops, etc. But “The Green Book” is not intended to be a history lesson. It’s a story about enduring friendship.

As the two lead characters, Mahershala Ali (House of Cards, Oscar for Moonlight in 2016, a can’t-wait upcoming role in True Detective, Season 3) and Viggo Mortensen (Lord of the Rings series, A History of Violence, Eastern Promises) perform a series of memorable duets. Unable to rely on his Danish-American heritage for this role, Mortensen (Tony) adopts a Bronx accent that would fit right in on The Sopranos. This makes perfect sense, given that the real Tony Lip had a recurring role in the series. (Regrettably, for all his talking, our Tony never lets loose with “Ba-Da-Boom, Ba-Da-Bing.”) His rough-and-tumble, street-smart approach to the world stands in stark contrast to the well-educated Dr. Shirley (Ali), who struggles mightily because he is neither black enough not white enough to fit in anywhere. Dr. Shirley’s struggles to teach Tony diction, manners and Oxford English (Oxford, England, not Oxford, Mississippi) are highlights of the film.

What drives the narrative, though, is the bond built between the two men. Tony is in awe of Dr. Shirley’s regal bearing and erudition (Shirley earned a doctorate in Music, Psychology and Liturgical Arts). Shirley, in turn, sees Tony’s good heart and envies the passion and wonder through which he views the world. Spying a road sign announcing a KFC up the road, Tony enthuses, “Kentucky Fried Chicken in Kentucky – when’s that gunna happen?” The chemistry between the two is funny, touching and the glue that holds this film together.
Director Peter Farrelly (There’s Something about Mary, Dumb and Dumber, Stuck on You) has reined in his slapstick impulses and over-reliance on visual humor. The result is thoughtful, honest and memorable.

“The Green Book” does not offer its audience profound insights into the human condition. But it does suggest, as Shirley’s character discovers, that occasional human interaction, in small controlled doses, might actually be worthwhile.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
JohnTheAndroidJan 28, 2019
Even if it's similar to other movies, Green Book manages to teach very valuable lessons that you thought you already knew, showing a different point of view, while being incredibly entertaining. I've laughed out loud during many parts of theEven if it's similar to other movies, Green Book manages to teach very valuable lessons that you thought you already knew, showing a different point of view, while being incredibly entertaining. I've laughed out loud during many parts of the film, thanks to the charming performaces of the two leading actors (Vigo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali). Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 26, 2018
"Green Book" is the true story of Dr. Don Shirley, the great classical/jazz pianist and his famous 1960's tour of the deep south accompanied by his driver, Tony Lip Villelonga, as they travel together using the infamous Green Book which"Green Book" is the true story of Dr. Don Shirley, the great classical/jazz pianist and his famous 1960's tour of the deep south accompanied by his driver, Tony Lip Villelonga, as they travel together using the infamous Green Book which served as a guide for African American travelers as to where they could and could not find accommodations in the southern part of our nation. As the book so brutally states in its logo "avoid aggravation on your vacation".
The film stars Mahershala Ali as Dr. Shirley and Viggo Mortensen as Tony Lip Villelonga. Directed by Peter Farrelly who co-wrote the screenplay with Bruce Currie and Nick Villelonga, this is a warm and deeply moving story of the plight of a talented world class musician who, like most black entertainers in that era, could perform and entertain in the "white only" establishments but could neither sleep nor eat there. The film serves as a great reminder of how demeaning and wrong the culture was in all too many parts of our country and how so many of its citizens were robbed of the dignity and rights they were otherwise entitled to have and enjoy. Although Mr. Ali's performance was noteworthy, the true star of the film is Mr. Mortensen who, deviating from his normal "leading man" role, portrays the Bronx born and raised Tony Lip Villelonga with sensitivity and caring in spite of, and perhaps maybe because of, his Italian American heritage and upbringing.
I give this film an 8.0 rating and suggest that it be seen by all who wish to understand where we were as a nation 56 years ago, where we are now and how far we still have to go.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
8
imthenoobJan 3, 2019
The performances of Mortensen and Ali make this movie worth watching. Both actors really bring their characters to life and make this movie a must watch.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticNov 23, 2018
A film that tended to by to glossy on some of its subject matters, but because of the phenomenal chemistry and performances by Viggo and Mahershala you can't help but laugh and cry. Definitely the feel good film of the year. Overall a low 9 an A.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
moviecritic68Dec 12, 2018
Easily in the running for Best Picture. The theater was filled with laughing outburst throughout and the audience left with a gleeful buzz. The 3 negative critiques should be banned from the site. 9.75 is my final tally because I'm old enoughEasily in the running for Best Picture. The theater was filled with laughing outburst throughout and the audience left with a gleeful buzz. The 3 negative critiques should be banned from the site. 9.75 is my final tally because I'm old enough to remember the racial divide in the 60's and I grew up in one of the southern cities displayed in the movie. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
BikerjamesFeb 11, 2019
Did I feel a little manipulated after watching Green Book? Yes. So what. Nothing wrong with making a movie that makes you feel good about race relations. A refreshing role reversal taking place in 1962 where the African American is theDid I feel a little manipulated after watching Green Book? Yes. So what. Nothing wrong with making a movie that makes you feel good about race relations. A refreshing role reversal taking place in 1962 where the African American is the educated, sophisticated person teaching the prejudice bully from the Bronx about life (and vice versa in some cases). Although they run into the usual cliched circumstances while touring the South, the movie is basically about two opposites who become friends and learn from each other. A lot of humor along the way and terrific performances all around, especially from both leads. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
GreatMartinNov 23, 2018
A treat!

I was very hesitant about going to see "Green Book" starting with it being directed by Peter Farrelly who was known for such 'low' films as "Dumb and Dumber" and "There's Something About Mary" which dealt with obscene language and
A treat!

I was very hesitant about going to see "Green Book" starting with it being directed by Peter Farrelly who was known for such 'low' films as "Dumb and Dumber" and "There's Something About Mary" which dealt with obscene language and scenes though big hits. It also sounded to me like a takeoff of "Driving Miss Daisy" only with a white driver and a black passenger which would probably be 'Hollywoodized" and "the Odd Couple" thrown in as the arc of the movie and it is..

I went only because I am a long time fan of Viggo Mortensen and was impressed with Mahershala Ali in "Moonlight". I expected to see a so-so film with good performances and we certainly saw the latter but it won me over showing the Carnegie Hall apartments, though I never did see one like Ali had. Also the scenes supposedly filmed in the Bronx was not a Bronx I was raised in but all of a sudden I was laughing and then being touched and going through layers of emotions.

Yes Viggo Mortensen as Tony Vallelonga and Mahershala Ali as Dr. Don Shirley are cliches in many scenes but they are both such good actors you believe what they are saying and doing not to forget the touch of family that Linda Cardellini as Tony's wife brings to an Italian Bronx thug who does love his wife and 2 sons, along with other family members.

Based on a true story I must admit I had never heard of Dr. Don Shirley but his story of being a black entertainer who is going to travel through the south in 1962 it is reasonable that he would hire a Tony 'type' to be his chauffer and, in a sense, protector. A lot of cliches are nothing more than stereotypes and much what we see and hear of Shirley and Vallelonga sound and seem familiar which is sad because we aren't surprised.

"Green Book" is being sold as 'a true story of a friendship' and it is just that with many laughs and tears supplied by two brilliant actors who bring more to the script than the script brings to them. There are a couple of scenes that took me by surprise which if talked about would mean spoilers and should be discovered on their own but one question I would love if anyone knows if Mahershala does his own piano playing or is it Hollywood magic?

Both "Green Book" and "The Hate U Give" are two of the best films I have seen this autumn and though both deal with race they are completely different and also have leading performances that should get nominations , if not actual wins, for their performances.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
WaelJan 15, 2019
"Green Book" is simply a fantastic film. It takes on many important themes through a simple, lovely story, and layers them with so much moral. It has some very funny bits and lines of humor, but it also has several tender, even heart-warming,"Green Book" is simply a fantastic film. It takes on many important themes through a simple, lovely story, and layers them with so much moral. It has some very funny bits and lines of humor, but it also has several tender, even heart-warming, some heart-breaking moments. The writing is deft, and the characters are extremely lovable, audiences will sure find themselves bonding with them as they bond with each as the story progresses. The chemistry between Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali is so natural, and the performances from the two are just excellent. This is a very neat, masterful film-making. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AndremaxFeb 4, 2019
Green book prepares soil using tactile sense of friendship as in Mean Streets and GoodFellas, roading genre of Vanishing Point (without that action), but fails in turns protagonist almost a neanderthal and wanting makes the racism entering inGreen book prepares soil using tactile sense of friendship as in Mean Streets and GoodFellas, roading genre of Vanishing Point (without that action), but fails in turns protagonist almost a neanderthal and wanting makes the racism entering in first plain without looks small, when happens precisely opposite. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
riordanpettJan 23, 2019
A Star Is Born made me cry at the end, this made me smile hugely. This is a real crowd-pleaser I'm sure. I wouldn't give it Best Picture myself. Oscar bait in every sense though, and sometimes it felt like that was the calculated purposeA Star Is Born made me cry at the end, this made me smile hugely. This is a real crowd-pleaser I'm sure. I wouldn't give it Best Picture myself. Oscar bait in every sense though, and sometimes it felt like that was the calculated purpose behind the story. Preferred it to BlackkKlansman too. But neverthless, a great film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
FlotchaJan 27, 2019
Best wide release movie of the year. Great acting, directing, cinematography. Has it all. How a movie like the favorite ends up with a Metacritic rating of 90, and this a 70, it is difficult to fathom.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Feb 6, 2019
Based on the real life events of Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali) the world-class African-American pianist about to go on tour in the Deep South. He hires Italian-American bouncer Tony Lip (Viggo Mortensen) to drive him and deal with any issuesBased on the real life events of Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali) the world-class African-American pianist about to go on tour in the Deep South. He hires Italian-American bouncer Tony Lip (Viggo Mortensen) to drive him and deal with any issues that may arise. Together they put aside their differences and form an unlikely friendship.

It may be set in the 1960s but it's still very relevant today and although Green Book feels the need to drive home this point a little too often it's a terrific film. Viggo really has found his inner Joe Pesci for this role and plays it to perfection. The story is well written and well paced but what makes Green Book so good is the chemistry between Viggo and Mahershala. It finds the balance between drama and humour, a crowd-pleaser that seems to be accurate for the most part. No matter how true a film claims to be it will never be completely accurate, so just sit back and enjoy this unique story with a superb cast giving it their all. Can we also just take a moment to appreciate the composer Kris Bowers who worked as a body double for Mahershala's piano performances and transcribed Don Shirley's music by ear to use in the film. It's mesmerising and Green Book would not have happened without that level of dedication. I loved this film, you'll love this film, go see Green Book, you won't be disappointed. Highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
8
DrSancochoDec 14, 2018
Two of the year's most engaging performances lead this biopic about clashing personalities coming to understand each through intimate conversations and sincere empathy. Green Book made me laugh as it made me reflect about the society its era,Two of the year's most engaging performances lead this biopic about clashing personalities coming to understand each through intimate conversations and sincere empathy. Green Book made me laugh as it made me reflect about the society its era, a time where empathy and culture were defined by shallow preconceptions about each other. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
IsaacJFeb 3, 2019
Director Peter Farrelly is certainly best known for his big-hearted, light comedies; from Dumb and Dumber to There’s Something About Mary, Farrelly has shown himself to be a sure hand at the genre. His new film, Green Book, employs much ofDirector Peter Farrelly is certainly best known for his big-hearted, light comedies; from Dumb and Dumber to There’s Something About Mary, Farrelly has shown himself to be a sure hand at the genre. His new film, Green Book, employs much of the same warm comedy, but along with a far more dramatic narrative.
Green Book is the (though now debatably) true story of Italian-American bar bruiser, Tony “Lip” Vallelonga (Viggo Mortensen), who finds work as a driver for a renowned black pianist, Dr Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali) as he embarks on a concert tour across the Deep South. The film explores the growing friendship of the two men against the ugly backdrop of segregated America.
There is plenty of fun to be had in Green Book; as expected of Farrelly, there’s an effortless charm to the film, supported by belly-laughing humour and spirited characters. The script is occasionally a little clunky, but what truly ensures the success of Green Book is its performances (both Oscar noms). Viggo Mortensen leads as Tony, a big-mouthed big eater, impressively humorous but also adding an emotive touch to a role that could have easily seemed like a caricature. There’s a huge heart to Mortensen’s lively performance that is somewhat captivating. This is played off nicely by Mahershala Ali, on usual expert form as Dr Shirley. Ali’s composure and poise lend his performance this quiet gravitas that seems to find its true culmination in the film’s most powerful scene, as Tony and Don argue in the rain as two minorities unaccepted in 1960s America. It seems a shame, however, that the aforementioned scene is the closest that Green Book gets to really addressing its subject. The racial themes of the film are swiftly glossed over for the most part, even from the beginning where we see an apparently prejudiced Tony dispose of the drinking glasses of two black workmen, only to be seen happily kneeling on the ground playing dice with a group of African Americans some twenty minutes later. The film doesn’t just discuss race; class and sexuality are also lingering themes, but both feel all too briefly mentioned. There are certain scenes that do tackle the issues head on and I loved those moments, but much of the film is coated in a layer of sentimentality that, certainly by the third act, becomes almost sugary.
That being said, however, I loved the warmer and lighter points of the film as much as I loved the more dramatic. Though helped certainly by the brilliant performances, Green Book’s sentimentality doesn’t stop it from being voraciously watchable. The final act drags, suitably like a car with a flat tyre, but otherwise the film is infectiously entertaining, bringing across its narrative in the most accessible way. In the end, perhaps Green Book isn’t intended to be a gritty account on race relations; though there is more opportunity for nuanced drama, it feels far more like a feel-good crowd-pleaser.
In the end, Green Book may be a little simplistic in approach for more cultivated audiences, but it remains a thoroughly entertaining romp, made successful by two standout performances.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
JoeCoolMar 9, 2019
Great performance by both lead actors. A feel good movie about a subject that probably doesn't deserve to be treated quite as nicely as it was in this movie. PG-13 only lets you go that far. If you can't watch this movie, then at least lookGreat performance by both lead actors. A feel good movie about a subject that probably doesn't deserve to be treated quite as nicely as it was in this movie. PG-13 only lets you go that far. If you can't watch this movie, then at least look up green book, those actually existed. Good movie if you have time for it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Qgal5kapMar 14, 2019
I absolutely loved it! A really nice feel-good movie, and I hope we get many more like this one. Great for date night. :-D
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksApr 4, 2019
Although well acted and well made, the story isn't fleshed out enough. The character of Tony seems to change so dramatically that at times it's unbelievable. Overall not a bad film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
gxm143Dec 23, 2018
All I need to know about film critics is that the putrid The Favourite rates a 94 and Green Book a 70. Green Book is one of the best movies I have seen this decade. It is funny, dramatic, relevant, touching, and is the rare picture thatAll I need to know about film critics is that the putrid The Favourite rates a 94 and Green Book a 70. Green Book is one of the best movies I have seen this decade. It is funny, dramatic, relevant, touching, and is the rare picture that leaves you feeling good as you leave the theatre. I don't agree with the "white saviour" criticism from artsies, and I am a liberal. The leads are absolutely stellar and the Oscar was deserved. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AxeTFeb 7, 2019
Hollywood comedy drama at its best! Smart layered rich writing that reminds you of how good movies should be crafted, this actually deserves Oscar praise unlike many other typically pretentious and/or diversity handicap handouts in theHollywood comedy drama at its best! Smart layered rich writing that reminds you of how good movies should be crafted, this actually deserves Oscar praise unlike many other typically pretentious and/or diversity handicap handouts in the field. Both lead actors are exceptional. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ohnomrbillFeb 26, 2019
nice movie, i enjoyed it very much yet do not agree that it should have won best picture. still a fun movie and maybe its a best to wait until its on tv kind of film? i am sure many will disagree. thats my 2 cents worth.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HotelCentralMay 17, 2019
Probably the best I can say about Green Book is "It's a nice story."

The problem of course is that the film says nothing much about the sixties, racism, and the South that I haven't heard before and frankly this version of the racist South
Probably the best I can say about Green Book is "It's a nice story."

The problem of course is that the film says nothing much about the sixties, racism, and the South that I haven't heard before and frankly this version of the racist South is portrayed as being far less ugly than the South deserves. The Klan doesn't even put in an appearance. And this story is supposed to have taken place at the same time when white civil rights activists from the North were being hunted down, murdered, and buried in shallow graves, and black people generally were being lynched, bombed, and burned out of their homes, in many cases with the collaboration of so-called "law enforcement."

A lot is being made of the fact that it's a tough Italian-American from Brooklyn who signs on with an African-American. And, yeah, that's a little bit amazing. The film however does not do anything much to convince me that the character "Tony Lip" would actually sign on to work with a black man. The film makes it clear that just the idea of black workmen using the same drink glasses his family uses is too much to bear, (Tony drops the glasses in the garbage), but it doesn't do anything to show me that such a man is capable of putting his feelings aside for the sake of a paycheck, especially when there seems to be plenty of Italian-Americans around willing to provide Tony with work.

So, yeah, it's a nice film, but it doesn't really do a great job of showing the South as it was, or how it is to this very day, in places.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
aurora1Feb 24, 2019
The touching true story of an amazing friendship, the metamorphosis of a soul from prejudice (in a early scene the white protagonist throws in the garbage bin the glasses used by a couple of black people working in his house) to complicity.The touching true story of an amazing friendship, the metamorphosis of a soul from prejudice (in a early scene the white protagonist throws in the garbage bin the glasses used by a couple of black people working in his house) to complicity. An outstanding Viggo Mortesen delivers the best performance of his career so far, Mahershala Alí confirms and overcomes the skills shown in Moonlight. With or without an Oscar statuette, this movie will be remembered for a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
andre27Mar 23, 2019
Green Book é sem duvidas um filme que vale a pena ver. Se no inicio do filme entendi logo o conceito do filme e no que se iria tornar, os 2 actores principais conseguem fazer com que fiquemos agarrados ao filme e a todo o preconceito,Green Book é sem duvidas um filme que vale a pena ver. Se no inicio do filme entendi logo o conceito do filme e no que se iria tornar, os 2 actores principais conseguem fazer com que fiquemos agarrados ao filme e a todo o preconceito, diferença, egoísmo que havia naquela época para com os negros. Em suma é um filme que nos faz pensar no que realmente importa na vida e que apesar de todas as diferenças os seres humanos podem sempre se entender, pois alguém que no inicio deita fora um copo por apenas alguém diferente ter bebido nele, no fim pode vir a beber do mesmo copo. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaFeb 10, 2019
“After watching a bunch of Hollywood films, I deeply believed it was time to change some genres and prototypical actors on screen which was my best decision so far because this movie is about friendship, countryside trips, racial treatment,“After watching a bunch of Hollywood films, I deeply believed it was time to change some genres and prototypical actors on screen which was my best decision so far because this movie is about friendship, countryside trips, racial treatment, and many more fun adventures of the 1962s”

I am not keen on watching movies without either a remarkable director or well-known actors, however, as I wanted to run over different genres and experiences I decided it would be appropriate to give chances. The opportunity of changing habits is as challenging as employing a double-edged sword because you will never know when and how is the film going to disappoint/amaze you, so I wanted to get something out of my system. Therefore, after watching The Green Book I felt blissful and stress-free because this was the type of film I wanted to see (and I had not seen for a while) because they (Mortensen and Ali) provide good laughs, lessons about life, the overwhelmed decade of the 60s and finally the different lifestyles some people might have. From the very beginning, I thought this was going to succeed because (even the music) softs the situation representing the soul soundtrack of the movie. Could you imagine a radical change between pop-culture references with modern-life habits and a great old-fashioned but nice-looking film bowing to the 60s? It felt like this…

Every single act performed in the movie represents a bond between the character’s way of acting and a call back to their past bringing back so many memories lived of each one, either happy or sad about their epoch-status. Examples like this could support you in fully-understanding the key of its success, I would love to offer you more information and specific details, nevertheless, I do not want to spoil anything. (83/100)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Feb 14, 2019
Full magnetic real live story of a road trip that developed an everlasting friendship. The music is a full treat for viewer, and the performances of Mortensen and Ali, who plays the piano like a master. ¿Who would say the director is the sameFull magnetic real live story of a road trip that developed an everlasting friendship. The music is a full treat for viewer, and the performances of Mortensen and Ali, who plays the piano like a master. ¿Who would say the director is the same of Dumb & dumber? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Trineo99Mar 16, 2019
First of all, the acting in this done by both Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen was amazing. Mahershala Ali got all the awards for his performance as Don Shirley and you can see why. They easily contracted each other in more than one ways.First of all, the acting in this done by both Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen was amazing. Mahershala Ali got all the awards for his performance as Don Shirley and you can see why. They easily contracted each other in more than one ways. This helps to show that opposites really do attract in both friendships and relationships. Throughout the film, you can see both actors giving it their all in every scene they are in. Both characters in this film have character development that is perfect for their character. This is because both of them teach the other something and help them grow as a person. Whether it be Tony teaching Shirley how to loosen up a bit or Shirley teaching him how to write letters. This film isn’t afraid to show how in the 1960s racism was very prominent and how we still face that in this day and age. While watching this film you notice how things that happen back then still happen now and wonder why that is. Even though they do take this subject matter seriously like they should they also throw in a bit of humor in well-placed scenes that helps not take it away from the serious topic it’s dealing with. This film is two hours and ten minutes and you don’t feel it. Really even though I don’t say it that much I kinda wish it was a tiny bit longer. Nothing in this film felt rushed and felt at the speed it should be going at. There are a few scenes that I would’ve cut but not that many. In the end, this is a film that I think everybody should check out at least once. Whether just to learn about this interesting story about two friends who defied the odds or just a movie to watch. I give Green Book a 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
AkumaJackApr 26, 2019
Good movie, well acted by both Ali and Mortensen. The plot is rather easy: a wealthy black pianist hires a white, poor, italian immigrant to ride him through the southern (and more racists) states of the USA of 1962. During the trip they bothGood movie, well acted by both Ali and Mortensen. The plot is rather easy: a wealthy black pianist hires a white, poor, italian immigrant to ride him through the southern (and more racists) states of the USA of 1962. During the trip they both learn something. Although is the 184392th movie about civil rights in the last 5 years (i don't really care anymore sorry, you oversaturated the market with that crap) it is kinda refreshing and not cliché. Especially since it tries to portray the clash between being black and wealthy in a racist country vs being white but poor and uneducated. Showing how racism isn't the only issue of USA but mostly classism. Overall a good movie. Worth a watch and pretty funny. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ViniciusBritoJan 4, 2019
"You never win with violence, Tony, you only win when you maintain your dignity. DIGNITY ALWAYS PREVAILS."
"Yes, i live in a castle, Tony. Alone!"
"So if i'm not black enough, and if i'm not white enough, and if i'm not man enough, then tell
"You never win with violence, Tony, you only win when you maintain your dignity. DIGNITY ALWAYS PREVAILS."
"Yes, i live in a castle, Tony. Alone!"
"So if i'm not black enough, and if i'm not white enough, and if i'm not man enough, then tell me Tony, what am i?!"
"The world is full of lonely people afraid to make the first move."
Based on the true story of Don Shirley and Tony Lip. Tony Lip looking for a job, ends up meeting "Doc." Shirley, piano musician, and the job that he offers to Tony is to be his driver and assistant while making a tour in the deep south in United States. In a time that racism was literally everywhere in the worst way as possible they gonna go through a lot of struggle and also face a big self learning with eachother. Directed by Peter Farrellt and written by Peter Farrelly, Nick Vallelonga and Brian Currie.
The story is based in real facts, and it is really interesting how they make us know the characters, in a lot of moments, without dialogue, just how they are, or what attitudes they got into some situations, in simple things, like throwing two cups away for a specific reason, or drinking and starring at people talking and having fun, it's not necessary to the characters to verbally say something, you get a lot just by watching them. I giant thing about this movie is the dialogues, the dialogues in this film are outstanding, those who wrote this deserve some awards, the dialogues in here go really deep, they do make you have a reflection about many different things and in many different layers, it does teach a lot with different and smart conversations.
I like that this movie give different layers for it's story, it isn't a story where they approach racism, just saying that white people do bad things, there is this, yes, and it is important, there are really shocking moments where they approach this, showing how ugly racism is, but in this story they show also that, there are good white people, so as there bad black people, this movie isn't trying to make your thoughs agains one or other, they show nice black people in bar, so as bad trying to steal, so as they show a bad white cop, so as one that just wanted to help them, so i think that this movie is trying to unite, wich is really important.
The relationship between them are really nice, that makes the movie, you can got different layers from both of them, not just personally, but also in a society form, preconception, solitude, fear, there are so many different themes that this story reaches, and i think that it was all very satisfactory, there is a lot in here.
The journey of the character Tony, is really nice, they first show that he is a racist, but a subtle one, that doesn't make anything better, so with time, with his time with Shirley, learning a lot with him, having him helping with letters, i think that he kind of lost that, showing that with conversation you can solve things a lot of times, at the end there is a really moment of hope, wich worked for me.
The film may have some continuity problems, some sequences felt lacked in giving the results of something that was happening right before, it felt like the sequence got broken.
For this movie to work, the both main characters would have to play a great job, their chemystri would have to be really good, and in fact, it is outstanding as well. Viggo Mortensen is amazing in here, first his accent that he keeps perfectly during the whole course of the film, it is not just funny but also categorical, his character is very imposing, strong, you totally believe in him beeing able to fix possible problems while a trip, he is definely a guy that you would like to have around, he does that character more like not caring for many things, more swinish. Mahershala Ali is exatcly the contrary, and he is damn perfect, he is fine, speaks like a gentle, have really careful choice of words, and have a posture of a king, his composure and wisdom are really interesting, he does have some lines that are really deep, and i think that he could give that depth in the way he spoke, you truly believe in those words, like he knows what he is talking about, another really great thing about his work, that he could made see the sadness in some moments, it wasn't like he just talked about it a few times, you could see in the way that he looked to the others, fantastic job. Another casting that i found really fun, is the members of the Tony Family, they actually got the real people from his family to put in the movie, that was nice. Linda Cardellini is also in here, she is at least functional, nothing very challenging, but she was good.
Green book is a amazing film, it does show the grown of a relationship, as a both people becoming good friends, as a individual point of view as well, very clear how they grown with eachother, and also as a society, talking about racism and loneliness with great dialogues, funny and dramatic moments and awesome lines.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeDec 29, 2018
No Bookmarks. No Regrets.

Green Book Farrelly's meticulously planned trip goes every way as it was anticipated; fun, lighthearted and awe-inspiring. This already overridden concept on film-making, narrows down the finite possibilities of
No Bookmarks. No Regrets.

Green Book

Farrelly's meticulously planned trip goes every way as it was anticipated; fun, lighthearted and awe-inspiring. This already overridden concept on film-making, narrows down the finite possibilities of the makers where they are cornered in the familiarity, and Farrelly's heartwarming answer to these accusations is simplicity. Carrying out the usual theme with a typical textbook structure, there is an ease, almost impenetrable by any of the weakness, that helps bubble up the best possible outcome from this journey. In fairness, Farrelly is not challenging himself. He is playing way too safe, convincing but never a stranger.

His fear over going an avant-garde vocab wrong is won over by his brilliant execution. His world, no matter how unfair, is perfectly balanced. Raising questions and clearing doubts, the trajectory of all the sub plots is predictable and yet entertaining. These old methods of intertwining two opposite personas in a room and working its way up to an imperishable friendship by accepting the difference of opinion, just works, it flows.

And we may have already encounter the usual, narrow minded and open minded, coy and bold, rich and poor debate over the years in cinema but with a performance as such from the cast, you cannot stop yourself for being giddy up for more. Mortensen as a free spirited Italian-American living at the brisk of his life is the teddy bear of the film. His adorable feature may as well be funny, but a world so tiny and shiny with his eyes is something the viewers connect with instantly.

And balancing the other side of the coin, Ali as a poised artist that quotes "dignity", is the huskier bit of the film. Portraying an infamous persona as such, Ali's performance is a testimony to his marvelous career, from performing an act on stage through resisting the urge to be parental with Mortensen, his performance craves your attention. But nevertheless, Mortenson's buoyant expressive nature is much more three dimensional and cinematic to share the applause, from his body language to his sense of humor, he slaps other artists on screen with an unflinching portrayal. Your usual montage sequences like helping each other with something they are natural with, this half and half team makes a complete ten on screen.

Mortensen preaching on the practicality and ruggedness of the street is hysterical whilst Ali's genuinely moving descriptions over the letters, humbles your opinion as it ages on screen. Clocking at more than two hours, narration flows like a smooth vivid fluid that keeps encouraging you for more of these stops. Has Farrelly managed to make his best film till date? Definitely, but what surprises you, is that it is his funniest too. He is just natural in his comic tone. And the dramatic part is relied upon the performance which never disappoints. The toe-tugging conversations in a car cruising over the locations is the ultimate peak of the film that is delivered at multiple orderly stages. Green Book is an already-read open book, but it never hurts to revisit those pages, the perspective has evolved.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RaduAMar 2, 2019
85/100

This movie is nice. If you want to relax, you look at this movie. It made my day better, I do not know, it really did. The humor was good. The relationship between the two was built very well and it was a delight to see it. The acting
85/100

This movie is nice. If you want to relax, you look at this movie.
It made my day better, I do not know, it really did. The humor was good.
The relationship between the two was built very well and it was a delight to see it. The acting is good, the cinematography is ok and the songs were nice.

In the conclusion, I felt really good watching this movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
CharleyNewmanFeb 6, 2019
An excellent film. Is it a more idyllic vision of the 60's than the reality of that time? Quite undoubtedly. However, that doesn't change the effectiveness of the story. Sometimes we need a little bit of idealism. Even if the film isAn excellent film. Is it a more idyllic vision of the 60's than the reality of that time? Quite undoubtedly. However, that doesn't change the effectiveness of the story. Sometimes we need a little bit of idealism. Even if the film is sometimes timid in it's portrayal of racism in the deep south. But this movie isn't intended to be torture porn or a cautionary picture of the world, it's a film about how we as people can be better and how we can overcome our differences. Director Peter Farrelly brings humor to the film, making it more mirthful than I had expected, but it always comes from the characters naturally and feels right. It's often witty and clever and maybe even a little saccharine, but this is a great film with outstanding performances by Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GrachechkovskiMar 31, 2019
This is one of kindly and gentle movie such as Kristopher Robin for me. Brilliant story, where you could see to an evolution of characters. Viggo has a marvelous role that was created specialy for him. Bravo
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ThePeoplesVoiceJan 30, 2019
First I was't sure if I would like this film but it's written really good. Great character development. Fun to watch and a nice representation.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Vitor007Jan 29, 2019
A film depicting the sad reality of racism in the 60 decade, "Green Book" makes a beautiful transition from a real story to cinemas, with a great humour. Despite being limited, without exploring new possibilities in history and onlyA film depicting the sad reality of racism in the 60 decade, "Green Book" makes a beautiful transition from a real story to cinemas, with a great humour. Despite being limited, without exploring new possibilities in history and only addressing the subject of racism, the story is easy to understand, however, the curious will come out wanting more about the history of their characters (even containing beautiful performances by the of the protagonists). Even being discreet, the montage made behind the film (photography, sceneries and characterization) makes the audience experience even better. 8.6/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SweevilJan 8, 2019
Best movie of 2018. Beautifully written, shot and acted. The only people who don't like it are certain cranky old white lefties who refuse to approve of ANY movie touching on racial issues unless every single white character is an evil,Best movie of 2018. Beautifully written, shot and acted. The only people who don't like it are certain cranky old white lefties who refuse to approve of ANY movie touching on racial issues unless every single white character is an evil, irredeemable, murderously vicious racist. Fingering all other white people as racists allows cranky old lefties to feel marvelously sanctimonious and superior.

Don't listen to these self-serving, mean-spirited idiots. This compelling true story, at times hilarious, other times deeply moving, doesn't flinch at showing southern segregation at its ugliest but -- the white lefties cannot abide this! -- it shows individuals can help heal the country's racial wounds by gaining understanding and reaching out with kindness and generosity.

This message is not happily received by the sort of white lefties who feel all white people are racist and must die. All white people EXCEPT them, of course ...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
bataguilaFeb 17, 2019
Entretenida, si da risa. El negro trabaja muy bien, vigo esta en un cliche. La historia es redonda.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
StraciatellasFeb 13, 2019
Amazing movie with two amazing lead actors. Perfect balance between drama and comedy. This movie is not JUST about racism (even though a lot of scenes would suggest otherwise), it's also about the importance of fitting in and feelingAmazing movie with two amazing lead actors. Perfect balance between drama and comedy. This movie is not JUST about racism (even though a lot of scenes would suggest otherwise), it's also about the importance of fitting in and feeling accepted, about finding your joy in life and about unexpected friendship. In my humble opinion, this movie depicts this to perfection, whilst making you smile more often than not. The story is well crafted, not every Acadamy Award worthy movie needs a sad ending. No, not every story in life has a happy ending, but some do, and it's important to remember this. Shout out to Viggo Mortensen, still one of the underrated gems in Hollywood. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
goncalocoutoMar 15, 2019
"Green Book" é um filme com um roteiro excepcional, atuações marcantes (Mortensen e Ali), uma direção firme e sensata e uma dose certa de humor. Um dos melhores de 2018.
9/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
AceZachRocks2Nov 21, 2018
I was shocked how much I liked this movie, It has a heart of gold. It's always sweet and funny and you love the two leads despite some of there opinions and weird charms. This is one of the best Comedy Dramas I have seen in a while. I hopeI was shocked how much I liked this movie, It has a heart of gold. It's always sweet and funny and you love the two leads despite some of there opinions and weird charms. This is one of the best Comedy Dramas I have seen in a while. I hope either of the leads will win some award because without them this movie would be bland. 8/10 Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ARGzelderMar 17, 2019
Con un mensaje de hermandad e igualdad, "Green Book" nos cuenta la historia del Dr. Donald Shirley, un reconocido músico afroamericano, a través de los ojos de su chofer, Tony Lip, durante una gira por el sur de los Estados Unidos.
Esta
Con un mensaje de hermandad e igualdad, "Green Book" nos cuenta la historia del Dr. Donald Shirley, un reconocido músico afroamericano, a través de los ojos de su chofer, Tony Lip, durante una gira por el sur de los Estados Unidos.
Esta película es una historia de contrastes, ambos personajes tienen personalidades y estilos de vida muy diferentes y en el transcurso del tiempo uno puede apreciar cómo esas personalidades entran en conflicto, coexisten, y forman una amistad. Todo con el contexto de una sociedad que discrimina al personaje del Dr. Shirley.
El gran punto a favor de la cinta es la actuación, ambos personajes son muy expresivos, Viggo Mortensen se pone en la piel de un italoamericano en su forma rústica de hacer las cosas y la cultura familiar. Mahershala Ali es la gran estrella, la manera en que encarna al personaje es excelente, genera mucha empatía y ver como se desarrolla su viaje es muy emocionante.
Sin lugar a dudas una gran película que puede ver cualquier persona, la producción es brillante y la actuación es el gran pago que uno recibe por verla. No por nada es una de las películas más galardonadas del 2018.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999Jan 6, 2019
The best work of Peter Farrelly's career as a solo project after 24 years of sharing the director chair with his brother. And a reminder that Viggo Mortensen has never won an Oscar.
I mean... how on earth you people say that Green Book is a
The best work of Peter Farrelly's career as a solo project after 24 years of sharing the director chair with his brother. And a reminder that Viggo Mortensen has never won an Oscar.
I mean... how on earth you people say that Green Book is a feel-good movie?! This is so dark and infuriating!

Seriously though, despite its heavy themes, this movie is, surprisingly, supremely delightful to watch. Partly, thanks to the electrifying chemistry between Mahershala Ali and Viggo Mortensen, whose equally phenomenal performances prove that they are two of the most talented actors working today. But largely, thanks to Peter Farrelly's nifty direction. Not only has he shown maturity as a director, but Farrelly also completely understood how to blend his sense of humour with a dramatic movie, and hence more earnest tone and more serious subject matter, way more serious! If he sticks with this refreshing style of filmmaking, and collaborate with excellent screenwriters, such as the writers of the screenplay of this movie, I bet that he will be one of the most popular directors in the coming years. The way he handles his performers, or shots a comedic scene here were really out of the ordinary.

The relatively deliberate pace couldn't have been more challenging for Peter Farrelly to stick with a particular tone, and find balance for this movie, but besides his palpable capability of doing so, the script, which he also co-wrote, offered sincere and genuine smart dialogues, and extremely likable reasonably fleshed-out characters, made this task way much more easier. Let alone the astonishing performances from the entire cast.

The screenplay is what to blame, however, for these two points I took away from my rating for this movie.

First, there is an action Mortensen's character, Tony Lip, take at the beginning of the movie that didn't add anything to the movie. This action also had some consequences that took some time. Adding insult to injury, this action, along with its consequences, was nothing but a cheap trick to make the viewers make a wrong judgment about the character.

Secondly, there was an abrupt change of mind made by the same character that, however understandable it might be, I still found it hard to swallow.

Thirdly, and most importantly, the illogically symmetric pattern of the storytelling; the plot keeps moving forward in a very unrealistic by making every phase in the movie seemingly predictable. It's safe to say that a movie with a fairly familiar themes like this one can easily suffer from such problem.

That said, Green Book is undoubtedly one of the most 2018 movies that I've enjoyed watching. Peter Farrelly miraculously managed to make a movie that tackles such sore themes, a breezy crowd-pleaser. "That's how to break a peak", Peter!

(8/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ThatFilmGuy20Jan 1, 2019
Green Book is as smooth as they come, this film covers a lot of things at once and it does it so seamlessly and effortlessly and the credit for that goes to two amazingly talented leads who shape this film to what it is, an affectionateGreen Book is as smooth as they come, this film covers a lot of things at once and it does it so seamlessly and effortlessly and the credit for that goes to two amazingly talented leads who shape this film to what it is, an affectionate friendship story, considering that this is based on actual real-life story and how hard is to put together something worth telling without slipping to no man's land of storytelling is amazing in and of itself, but this film doesn't stop there it offers a heartwarming story between seemingly opposite men but deep down they're the same.

I gotta say that Viggo Mortensen opposite Mahershala Ali is one of the best lead partnership I've seen in the last couple of years, talk about chemistry and strong presence, they make this story memorable and gripping and convincing as well, they have this special back and forth in dialogue that makes it very enjoyable to watch.

Adding to all of that, Green Book is extremely well put together from the directing to the camera work and the writing and it just has that good ol' fashion classic film framework to it and you can't beat that.

To put Green Book in a few words, I'd say it's a satisfying story that couldn't be presented in a better way, I absolutely love this film.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MistakenHeroJan 20, 2019
The movie as a whole was just phenomenal, from the writing, the acting, and the cinematography. The comedy was fantastic, I was laughing about every 5 minutes. The overall plot itself has a few hiccups but that can be overlooked by just howThe movie as a whole was just phenomenal, from the writing, the acting, and the cinematography. The comedy was fantastic, I was laughing about every 5 minutes. The overall plot itself has a few hiccups but that can be overlooked by just how phenomenal everything else was. This is definitely a must see movie for people who are interested in movies that describe America and racial discrimination during the mid 1900s Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
movieseeerFeb 2, 2019
Not your mother’s Driving Mrs. Daisy in Green Book, perhaps the worst title and opening of a fine movie in sometime. Fact is seeing the previews of the film reminded of the American Yin and Yang of black on white a particularly touchyNot your mother’s Driving Mrs. Daisy in Green Book, perhaps the worst title and opening of a fine movie in sometime. Fact is seeing the previews of the film reminded of the American Yin and Yang of black on white a particularly touchy subject among many Americans today.

At any rate the film is very lively and surprised me quite a lot. Mahershal Ali plays Don Shirley a gay black man who was an impresario of the piano, and the film does have a very fine vibe when the man gets up to play. There is the usual white flight to these times as Shirley and driver, Tony, marvelously acted by Vitto Mortensen uses his more brutish instincts to protect and help Mr. Shirley through the very white south of America.

There is a fine chemistry between the two actors and men, Shirley played by Ali is debonair with a capital D, his life as a black man is examined interestingly enough, as some black field hands watch as Tony helps the shimmering Don Shirley into the expensive car. There is a disconnect with the angry
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
rohxanderJan 24, 2019
A very fine blend of American history with racism in a very blissful and touching manner. It has a very nice flow to it. Has humor fun emotion sadness. Loved It.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SpaceJazzzFeb 25, 2019
Stranger among strangers, stranger among his own kind.
Film about dignity, courage and true friendship. ---
After more than 20 years since Peter Farrelly directorial debut with movie Dumb and Dumber, he has directed a truly masterpiece.
Stranger among strangers, stranger among his own kind.
Film about dignity, courage and true friendship. ---

After more than 20 years since Peter Farrelly directorial debut with movie Dumb and Dumber, he has directed a truly masterpiece. Working throughout his career mainly with the comedy genre, Green Book has absorbed all the Farelly accumulated experience about how to make the audience laugh, but now with the help of a completely evolved type of humor – an intellectual one.

In the tragicomedy as a cinema genre, a balance between the quantity and quality of humor and the dramatic part is very important and the authors of the film coped with this task with a bang.

Extraordinary combination of Viggo Mortensen (The Lord of the Rings Trilogy, A Perfect Murder, The Road) and Mahershala Ali (Moonlight, True Detective) acting duet and good story makes this film really fun to watch. The feelings and emotions of the main characters are sincere and real. Dialogues and their accompanying with body language are well thought out and felt harmonious.

Colors of the film are warm and bright. Cinematography is solid but nothing special. Camera movements are calm, different angles and plans changes with the normal frequency.

Green Book is highly recommended to watch and a must to watch if you like jazz, America 60s and willing to empathize with the main characters on their thorny path in the era of human-to-human violence and selfishness.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
sroman72Feb 25, 2019
This is a superbly done movie! Great story line. Best feel good movie of the year! Well written, acted and directed!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
OdinMovieBlogMar 10, 2019
With strong performances from both leads and a solid supporting cast, Green Book tells the story of two men who would become unlikely friends and change each other for the better. This is arguably one of the best written films of the year asWith strong performances from both leads and a solid supporting cast, Green Book tells the story of two men who would become unlikely friends and change each other for the better. This is arguably one of the best written films of the year as it balances a serious story during a dark time in American history with a charming sense of humor that somehow works extremely well. Go see this movie if you get the chance to. Solid A Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AngryBanelingMar 15, 2019
I don't remember the last time I watched such a heartwarming movie about racism. Yes, those two words just went together in a sentence without problems and that's what this movie did for me with its powerful tale of blooming friendship. AI don't remember the last time I watched such a heartwarming movie about racism. Yes, those two words just went together in a sentence without problems and that's what this movie did for me with its powerful tale of blooming friendship. A beautiful road trip story with lots of emotions. I haven't laughed and felt so bad for someone at the same time in a while. Take note Hollywood, this is how you get your social commentary across, with actual character building and emotions! Never with beating people over the head with rhetoric! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
alvindinoMar 11, 2019
Green Book is a drama that distorts all prejudices and stereotypes inherent in certain races. This film presents a conflict that actually does not involve outsiders but shows the inner conflict faced by each character. Does being a black manGreen Book is a drama that distorts all prejudices and stereotypes inherent in certain races. This film presents a conflict that actually does not involve outsiders but shows the inner conflict faced by each character. Does being a black man in that era have to like the music of Aretha Franklin? Does being a white man mean he has to enjoy jazz and a fancy dinner? Mahershala Ali and Viggo Morstensen really performed amazing acting and were able to convince their viewers through gestures, dialogues and facial expressions that they did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DerekReideMar 11, 2019
It's not very often I'd rate a movie 10/10, but oh my God. 'Green Book' lives far beyond what I expected it would be. It's funny, inspirational, clever, and just so historical. Yes, I know this was based on a true story and all, butIt's not very often I'd rate a movie 10/10, but oh my God. 'Green Book' lives far beyond what I expected it would be. It's funny, inspirational, clever, and just so historical. Yes, I know this was based on a true story and all, but everything just worked. Viggo Mortensen and Mahershala Ali are perfect together and this movie is perfect in all. It fully deserved every award it won at the Oscars. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
YunesDelshadMar 10, 2019
from my point of view "Green Book" was the best movie of 2018 and it deserved to win the best picture of academy awards. although the story was kind of cliche and it reminded every movie fan of " Driving miss Daisy" but the powerful acting offrom my point of view "Green Book" was the best movie of 2018 and it deserved to win the best picture of academy awards. although the story was kind of cliche and it reminded every movie fan of " Driving miss Daisy" but the powerful acting of two main characters of movie was amazing and worthy to watch. i think that beside Mahershala Ali it was Viggo Mortensen's right to win the academy award for best actor and it was not fair that Academy Gave this award to Rami Malek. in the terms of story i can say that it was simple and after some sequences i was able to guess that what will happen at the end of story. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
WebMikeMar 18, 2019
Well-matched actors (Mahershala Ali & Viggo Mortensen) playing well-written characters that play well off each other. On top of that, they learn and grow from respecting one another to the point of becoming friends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrunoVn00Mar 31, 2019
I didn't realize this movie is from the same director of Dumb and Dumber, it's surprising to see a director that generally makes dumb comedies making a Best Picture-winning movie!
This movie is pretty good and I think one of my favorite
I didn't realize this movie is from the same director of Dumb and Dumber, it's surprising to see a director that generally makes dumb comedies making a Best Picture-winning movie!
This movie is pretty good and I think one of my favorite movies of 2018. The way this movie depicts racism might be a little generic, but really the focus of this movie is the cute friendship our main characters Tony Lip Vallelonga (Viggo Mortensen) and Don Shirley (Mahershala Ali) develop throughout the movie despite their drastic differences in personality and mindset, so this is a movie about a friendship that struggle to move on on their adventure due to the racism seen in the south of the United States during that time.

The Good:
-The beautiful, emotional and heartbreaking story.
-The character development makes you care about the main characters and they also learn something at the end of the movie, they have a nice arc.
-The performances are really good, specially from Mahershala Ali, his Academy Award is truly deserved. Viggo also made a great job playing as a rude, racist and uncaring character.

The Bad:
-The only thing I didn't like is that the movie can get pretty repetitive. There's one scene and then it happens again but with different characters or in a different place, then it happens again, then a completely different situation, but in the next scene it's repeated in a different place, with other characters, and so on.

I loved this movie overall and if it wasn't by that "it's repetitive" complaint, I would have give it a 10/10. The Favourite is actually my favorite movie of the year and my choice for Best Picture, but I have no problem with watching Green Book win the big prize as it's also a great movie.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AnhVanMay 4, 2019
Phim thật sự là hay và ý nghĩa, để lại trong mình những suy nghĩ rất thiết thực về cuộc sống. Phim rất đáng để xem
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Wavy_YeezyMay 4, 2019
This was an amazing movie. It was humorous, and a great drama. The best "based on true story" movie I've seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
summerhartingerMay 9, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Green Book directed by Peter Farrelly and staring Vigo Mortenson and Mahershala Ali, which opened in November 2018, describes the relationship between Dr. Don Shirley and Tony Vallalonga in the 1960’s. In the beginning of the film, viewers watch Dr. Shirley hire Vallelonga to be his chauffer and body guard as he embarks a two month long musical tour as a pianist. Vallelonga, an Italian American man, became Dr. Shirleys chauffeur. Dr.Shirley, an African American, was a wealthy and very sophisticated man. The two men travel around the Midwest and in the deep South, while Shirley preforms music on his piano at many different places and event. As the film progresses, viewers watch the two men develop a friendship and grow closer to each other through cultural and personality differences. Greenbook is a compelling drama because of the tension between Mortenson and Ali, the cinematography, and the music and sound effects. The tension between Dr. Don Shirley, played by Mahershala Ali and Tony Vallelonga, played by Vigo Mortenson is truly captivating. In a scene at the start of the film, Vallelonga and Shirley meet to interview about the job. Shirley, sitting superior in his throne wearing a white and gold gown develops a tension between him and Tony. It caught Tony off guard because it wasn’t very common for an African American man to be wealthy and sophisticated. Vallelonga was middle class, racist, and extremely rough around the edges, so him and Shirley were very different people. In the middle of the film, the men stopped at a place where Vallelonga had secretly stuffed a rock into his pocket, and Shirley forced him to return the stolen rock, but he didn’t. This scene indicated that Shirley was starting to figure out who Tony was, but was expecting more out of him. Toward the end of the film, Vallelonga and Shirley grew closer as they started to see through each other’s differences. Eating without utensils was not an option for Shirley, however toward the end of the movie he broke through his pride and sophistication and started eating fried chicken with his hands, just like Tony. That showed that they were stating to mingle together and overcome the differences of each other. Tony stands up for Shirley throughout the movie when he is faced with discrimination along their journey. The two men developed a friendship through hard times, but also the good times too. The cinematographers created a film that is very eye capturing. The lighting, dull and dim, throughout the movie portrayed the time period that the movie was set in. The scenes that were shot in the bars helped to create a shallow mood throughout the story because the bars were dark, smoky, and dingey. The actors wore clothing that really fit the 1960s because the women dressed in dresses and hats, while the men wore suits. The viewers really got to dive in and feel more a part of the story with small details like the old cars. Specific parts in scenes that are shot around the different towns that they went through had old classical cars, and the car that Tony chauffeured Shirley around in was an old car, but classy to them. At the end of the film, there were old photographs showed of the real people that the story was based off. Those photos helped the film become so much more alive than it already was. The music and sounds effects are a very important part of a movie to make it more realistic. There was good music throughout the film to create moods for certain scenes. During the film, they were all out at a gathering and there was classical upbeat music while there were shots of people having a good time. When there became racial tension between Dr. Shirley and the white crowd, the music changed to a more serious tone, then stopped. The sounds effects help move along parts of the story because without them, the movie wouldn’t feel realistic. The Green Book is a feel-good movie for families to sit down and watch together as Dr. Shirley and Tonys friendship evolved over the film, to observe the cinematography, and to hear the music and sound effects that the editors placed to make the movie realistic. If you are looking for a film that is going to end with a good underlying story, then you should purchase Green Book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews