Orion Pictures | Release Date: January 31, 2020
4.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 60 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
23
Mixed:
9
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
OlddadFeb 4, 2020
PC, intersectional bastardized fairy tale. Acting is fine, sets are fine, story that the world is driven by magic woman’s decisions and not faith family fidelity is social justice swill. Glad I did matinee with senior discount.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
Tony1984Feb 7, 2020
What they did well, they did very well. Cinematography, production, score and the performance of the leads, Gretel and the Witch, were excellent. What they did poorly was a slow story that meandered and mumbled too much. What they didWhat they did well, they did very well. Cinematography, production, score and the performance of the leads, Gretel and the Witch, were excellent. What they did poorly was a slow story that meandered and mumbled too much. What they did terribly was the embarrassingly woke casting of minor characters. This kind of thing is just eyerollingly stupid. Do a Ghanian version of Hansel and Gretel with Ghanaian actors and we’ll go see it. Don’t shoehorn diversity in for the sake of it where it is obviously out of place. It detracts and diminishes minorities and Europeans alike. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
luckystrike_bhFeb 4, 2020
The best part about this movie is the run time of 90 minutes. I should not be bored at 60 minutes. The narration is completely unnecessary in the movie. Plot holes are distracting to the viewer experience. This is a watch for free onThe best part about this movie is the run time of 90 minutes. I should not be bored at 60 minutes. The narration is completely unnecessary in the movie. Plot holes are distracting to the viewer experience. This is a watch for free on streaming service after there is nothing else on your list type of movie. Don't waste your hard earned money on it. I will give an up for some solid visuals but its too little, too late. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
AsclepiusJan 31, 2020
Alice Krige's performance was excellent, and I suppose something can be said for the cinematography and art direction. It's the writing that really brings this title down. Do not recommend.
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
StormSorceressFeb 9, 2020
Sooo Bad. Not scary, not a rich story, boring, one of the worst movies I spent money on and I really wanted to walk out of the movie because it was that disinteresting but I was out with my Mom on a daytrip in a new town so we sat through andSooo Bad. Not scary, not a rich story, boring, one of the worst movies I spent money on and I really wanted to walk out of the movie because it was that disinteresting but I was out with my Mom on a daytrip in a new town so we sat through and endured it. We left both feeling like we wasted our time. It doesn't have appeal in any way- Do not waste your time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
robertoiglesiasFeb 15, 2020
Great, another overly feminist film. How fuc*king great. What is up with Hollywood for these last few months?! December and January have been abysmal. Cats, Black Christmas 2019, The Grudge 2020, Dolittle, and now this! Oh god
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
GrammyWanFeb 9, 2020
Gretel and Hansel was not enjoyable. I wish we had gone with our first instinct and left at the beginning of the movie- but we wanted to give it a chance. We tried to find anything to like about the movie. But we couldn’t . The acting didn’tGretel and Hansel was not enjoyable. I wish we had gone with our first instinct and left at the beginning of the movie- but we wanted to give it a chance. We tried to find anything to like about the movie. But we couldn’t . The acting didn’t even save it. It was dull and dreary. It was not scary, just yuck. It made us feel like we needed fresh air afterwards. It is a firm NO. Skip it Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
BemorecreativeFeb 10, 2020
Nothing like the story, Really lacked in direction. My attention was more on how did the producers direct such erratic BS
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews