Columbia Pictures | Release Date: July 12, 2013
3.1
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 350 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
69
Mixed:
64
Negative:
217
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
TheQuietGamerJul 14, 2013
I'm a huge Adam Sandler fan and a huge fan of the first Grown Ups. In my opinion this movie is better than the first and has me asking why Adam Sandler hasn't done more sequels. Almost all of the cast returns (minus Rob Schneider and a fewI'm a huge Adam Sandler fan and a huge fan of the first Grown Ups. In my opinion this movie is better than the first and has me asking why Adam Sandler hasn't done more sequels. Almost all of the cast returns (minus Rob Schneider and a few others) along with hilarious new characters. The whole movie is one non-stop, hilarious stream of jokes. The humor is immature and at times crass, but that's what I loved about the first Grown Ups and other Sandler movies. The amount of hilarious cameos in the film is also appreciated. In the end I was very pleased with this movie and, as always, can't wait for more from Mr. Sandler. Expand
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
9
KadeemluvmusicJul 12, 2013
I don't care if any critics could come out and be so ignorant to blast an Adam Sandler movie. Grown-Ups 2 is pretty funnier than the first because I still like them both. Shaq in a police uniform just stole the spotlight and whether theI don't care if any critics could come out and be so ignorant to blast an Adam Sandler movie. Grown-Ups 2 is pretty funnier than the first because I still like them both. Shaq in a police uniform just stole the spotlight and whether the critics like it or not, it's still a Sandler critic-proof movie because fans wanna see it, neither can I. I have a tougher sell on Pacific Rim because now that Despicable Me 2 is #1 at the box office, the 3-D box office now has an all-time low and it's safe to say that 3-D will be dead as quicker as you think. So look for Sandler to reach another $100 million on his big paycheck. One of the best comedies of the year so far. I wonder if they could make Part 3 (with Rob Schnieder to be back). Expand
2 of 27 users found this helpful225
All this user's reviews
10
AllAroundGamerJul 15, 2013
This movie is great and funny. Good sequel and better than the first. What I really like about this one is how it makes you feel all god inside and have a lot of laughs.
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
10
franissavioJul 28, 2013
Amazing! This movie of fools, by fools and for fools crossed $100 mio. Thank you United States of America!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 9 users found this helpful09
All this user's reviews
8
cheekygobl1nAug 29, 2013
Why so serious, i mean why does a film have to be perfect, me and a couple mates went to see this film and we laughed most the way through, the jokes were stupid yes and when it tried to be serious it falled flat, also Adam sandlers "wife"Why so serious, i mean why does a film have to be perfect, me and a couple mates went to see this film and we laughed most the way through, the jokes were stupid yes and when it tried to be serious it falled flat, also Adam sandlers "wife" was the worst actor in the film by far. But the film was entertaining so yer. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
7
rippedgamerJul 14, 2013
I really did not care for the first one, but having a soft spot for adam sandler and a few of his movies, I had to give him a shot. If you are looking for laughs that a whole family will enjoy, this is the movie for you. Some of the jokesI really did not care for the first one, but having a soft spot for adam sandler and a few of his movies, I had to give him a shot. If you are looking for laughs that a whole family will enjoy, this is the movie for you. Some of the jokes are very childish (farting, peeing etc) but if you go to a movie to get a few laughs I do recommend this movie. Expand
2 of 18 users found this helpful216
All this user's reviews
8
Twist_Of_FateSep 8, 2013
If you want a laugh,This movie will do it,If you liked the 1st one this one is just as good.All the characters add some life to this movie.If you enjoy comedy's and aren't narrow minded you'll really enjoy this.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JohnnyStephensAug 30, 2013
Really, do not listen to anyone and watch this film! It's a happy and funny film to watch and remember this summer. Perfect as the first one. Do not miss it!
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
MrEpic012Jul 18, 2013
Pretty Much It's Like The Original with The Majority Of The Characters Returning, Jokes Are Hit ,Miss, The Story Is Kinda Paced Reasonably, A Nod to The 80's is Nice For Those 80's Fans Out There
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
8
betterbelieveitJul 12, 2013
Nobody goes into this movie thinking THIS is the film that will win Sandler an Oscar. I went to this movie for a few laughs and got more than I expected. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and don't understand why people are judging it by anyNobody goes into this movie thinking THIS is the film that will win Sandler an Oscar. I went to this movie for a few laughs and got more than I expected. I thoroughly enjoyed this film and don't understand why people are judging it by any standard other than what it is: a comedy. A Sandler comedy at that. If you've seen his other movies you know what you're getting into. For what it is, it's great, or very good at least. Expand
6 of 40 users found this helpful634
All this user's reviews
7
Brian-reviewsJul 19, 2013
If you have ever gone into an Adam Sandler movie expecting to see an Oscar award winning performance then you set your self up to be disappointed. This movie is funny! Yes, it is disgusting at times, that is what makes it funny. It'sIf you have ever gone into an Adam Sandler movie expecting to see an Oscar award winning performance then you set your self up to be disappointed. This movie is funny! Yes, it is disgusting at times, that is what makes it funny. It's called "shock value". I'm tired of critics ripping movies apart because its not what they wanted it to be; take it for what it is and enjoy it. Go see this movie with an open mind and have fun! Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
10
LostInThoughtJul 31, 2013
I don't see why this movie got bad reviews! While the plot seemed to jump from one to another, the move was still amusing and entertaining. This movie made my summer!
4 of 35 users found this helpful431
All this user's reviews
7
GamesproAug 7, 2013
Why does this movie get so much hate? Sure it doesn't have a plot,but it doesn't fail to entertain. maybe it repeats some fart jokes but that doesn't matter because it entertained me
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
ConnorDavis88Sep 4, 2013
Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy TatroJimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Jimmy Tatro Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
apatel23Oct 28, 2013
Despite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days I feel as if people forget what movies are made to do and that is entertain. A comedy movie is meant toDespite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days I feel as if people forget what movies are made to do and that is entertain. A comedy movie is meant to make you laugh and Grown Ups 2 did its job in my case. Many people complain because they think Grown Ups 2 has no plot, but the plot is Lenny and the crews life. The overall theme in this movie is family life, unrealistic family life, but still family life. You can't walk into a Adam Sandler movie believing your going to see a high powered dramatic movie. People just need to take a break from life and actually enjoy a movie. If you are willing to take a break then Grown Ups 2 is the movie to see. Collapse
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
8
SerotamDec 13, 2016
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Grownups 2 I thought was the surprise comedy hit for 2013 or at least that summer. This movie may have had little direction or an unconventional / unorthodox style plot but I still thought the writers, director and actors pulled it off. Some may feel as though it was a bummer that Rob Schneider was unable to reprise his role due to scheduling conflicts with another project and that the other lead role characters, (meaning Adam Sandler, Kevin James, Chris Rock and David Spade), were not exactly the same fit as the first movie so to speak since they were missing an arguably major character but I still enjoyed this sequel, (Adam Sandler's first ever), at least as much as the first. The movie even appeared to have all the supporting cast from the first movie including Salma Hayek as Roxanne Chase-Feder, Maya Rudolph as Deanne McKenzie, Mario Bello as Sally Lamonsoff, Steve Buscemi as Wiley, Colin Quinn as Dickie Bailey, Tim Meadows as Malcolm, Jake Goldberg as Greg Feder, Cameron Boyce as Keithie Feder, Alexys Nycole Sanchez as Becky Feder, Ada-Nicole Sanger as Donna Lamonsoff, Frank and Morgan Gingerich as Bean Lamonsoff, Nadji Jeter as Andre McKenzie, and China Anne McClain as Charlotte McKenzie. Other famous faces like Jon Lovitz, Shaquille O'neal, Peter Dante and Allen Covert, (known for many other Adam Sandler projects), Andy Samberg, Jackie, Sadie and Sunny Sandler and even the Director Dennis Dugan and Steve Austin from professional wrestling appear as well.

The movie has little, (if not nothing) to do with the plot of the first movie but is still exceptionally funny in it's own right in my opinion. Multiple characters in the movie have new and/or old bully issues along with other problems around town including "frat boys" but manage to come out on top with one arguably classic comedy brawl towards the end of the movie which by no means should overshadow anything else prior to this unforgettable scene.

This was the most I've laughed during one movie since the last time I saw the movie Elf and that says a lot since Will Farrell is another mega star from Saturday Night Live, (and I'm sure is also missed by those fans as well.) If you're not ready to compare this to the first movie and don't mind the humor behind jiggling boobies, "burp snarts", awkward dance recitals and a battle royal fit for a PG-13 movie, this should be for you and maybe many more too.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
viniciuscaMar 24, 2014
funny movie, people are judging other things, like end which was kind of silly and ridiculous but comedy film does not need to meet good story just funny script, and adam sandler got it but once, and his films always have a sad part and thatfunny movie, people are judging other things, like end which was kind of silly and ridiculous but comedy film does not need to meet good story just funny script, and adam sandler got it but once, and his films always have a sad part and that he did not damage me what the movie was the final note 7 so whatever he did and I get no idea what all critics, but for me it was the movie that much better movie Brazil. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ilovegames123Jul 14, 2014
People are judging way too harsh here. It was supposed to be entertaining, it was. I am shocked by the amount of negative reviews that this movie has received.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Blakeison2112Sep 29, 2014
This movie was amazing. I loved every second of it. I think it's the best sequel and the best movie ever made go buy it on Blue Ray. HAHAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHaAJSJSJ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SrPepeFeb 23, 2018
Una de las comedias más graciosas de Adam Sandler, mucho mejor que la primera
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DanteCarterDC32Jun 13, 2016
This movie is a hilarious "hangout" movie. A great movie to get together with some friends and enjoy. Funny throughout just like the first one, though the first one is better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MPReviewsJun 26, 2018
Don’t get the hate for this one AT ALL. While yes it does have a few gross scenes involving spit and throw up, its overall a very funny movie that is worth a watch if you’re up for having a good laugh!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews