Grown Ups 2

Grown Ups 2 Image
Metascore
19

Overwhelming dislike - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 323 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Starring: , , ,
  • Summary: Lenny (Adam Sandler) has relocated his family back to the small town where he and his friends grew up. This time around, the grown ups are the ones learning lessons from their kids on a day notoriously full of surprises: the last day of school. [Sony Pictures]

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off

Where To Watch

Stream On
Stream On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 24 out of 28
  1. Reviewed by: Owen Gleiberman
    Jul 11, 2013
    75
    For Sandler, it's not just when he grew up. It's the garden of idiotic innocence, something that, in Grown Ups 2, he is helping to keep alive.
  2. Reviewed by: Elizabeth Weitzman
    Jul 11, 2013
    40
    You know what you’re going to get, and that is, indeed, what Sandler delivers. It’s juvenile, it’s obvious and it’s crass. But with Sandler at the helm, at least it’s as easy to like as it is to forget.
  3. 38
    It’s another pointless romp through Sandlerland — where the women are buxom, the kids have catch-phrases and the jokes are below average.
  4. Reviewed by: Randy Cordova
    Jul 11, 2013
    20
    It’s hard to imagine another comedy coming along this year that is this abrasive and free of laughs. It’s like everyone involved intentionally tried to create a horrible movie.
  5. Reviewed by: Andy Webster
    Jul 12, 2013
    20
    This is pap, plain and simple: scattered raunch-lite devoid of emotional resonance. At best, it sells itself on the spectacle of a TV show’s cast reunion — and even then it disappoints.
  6. Reviewed by: Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
    Jul 11, 2013
    16
    Largely free of Sandler’s usual schmaltz and lame romance, it’s pure plotless, grotesque high jinks, bizarre and inept in a way that’s fascinating without ever being all that funny.
  7. Reviewed by: Gabe Toro
    Jul 11, 2013
    0
    Basically, it’s a film made for brainless grunts who like to hang out all day making sub-literate jokes about boobs and gays while watching the game. No wonder the first movie was such a success.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 105
  2. Negative: 68 out of 105
  1. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    I don't see why this movie got bad reviews! While the plot seemed to jump from one to another, the move was still amusing and entertaining.I don't see why this movie got bad reviews! While the plot seemed to jump from one to another, the move was still amusing and entertaining. This movie made my summer! Collapse
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    8
    Despite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days IDespite being panned by so called professional critics and normal people I would still recommend Grown Ups 2 to any comedy fan. Some days I feel as if people forget what movies are made to do and that is entertain. A comedy movie is meant to make you laugh and Grown Ups 2 did its job in my case. Many people complain because they think Grown Ups 2 has no plot, but the plot is Lenny and the crews life. The overall theme in this movie is family life, unrealistic family life, but still family life. You can't walk into a Adam Sandler movie believing your going to see a high powered dramatic movie. People just need to take a break from life and actually enjoy a movie. If you are willing to take a break then Grown Ups 2 is the movie to see. Expand
  3. Jul 23, 2013
    6
    I know it's a crime nowadays to be a fan of Adam Sandler but I am. This movie was absolutely hilarious and I had a blast watching it. However,I know it's a crime nowadays to be a fan of Adam Sandler but I am. This movie was absolutely hilarious and I had a blast watching it. However, a good amount of jokes are about piss and barf and that sort of took me out of the experience. Expand
  4. Aug 14, 2013
    2
    Although I must admit, I did laugh several times, most of this humor is silly, dumb, and frankly, not funny. Even though I didn't expect thisAlthough I must admit, I did laugh several times, most of this humor is silly, dumb, and frankly, not funny. Even though I didn't expect this movie to be good whatsoever... I was still very disappointed. Don't waste your money going to see it in theaters, wait till it comes out on DVD.
    The first movie is better by far.
    Expand
  5. Jul 25, 2013
    1
    This was horrible, I felt like I was being attacked by an onslaught of rejected Saturday Night Live sketches. Don't watch it, I don't wantThis was horrible, I felt like I was being attacked by an onslaught of rejected Saturday Night Live sketches. Don't watch it, I don't want Adam Sandler to carry on with these films, we need him to return to the good old days or at least fun films like Hotel Transylvania! Expand
  6. Jan 17, 2014
    1
    I can't believe I used to like Adam Sandler, but now I hate him, and this movie is a perfect example, unfunny jokes, and even more painfulI can't believe I used to like Adam Sandler, but now I hate him, and this movie is a perfect example, unfunny jokes, and even more painful celebrity cameos. This is one of Sandler's worse movies, and somehow worse than the original, which is saying something, think some about that. Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2014
    0
    adam sandler's grown ups 2 is funny but i enjoy the first one . it is a crazy film buts whats crazy then a guys who are rembering theadam sandler's grown ups 2 is funny but i enjoy the first one . it is a crazy film buts whats crazy then a guys who are rembering the childhood memories back in the day ? Expand

See all 105 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. 20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder

    20 Terrible Movie Sequels, Ranked from Bad to Badder  Image
    Published: June 16, 2016
    We pick out 20 great examples of lousy movie sequels.
  2. The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far

    The Best (and Worst) Movies of 2016 So Far Image
    Published: July 1, 2016
    We reveal the 50 best-reviewed films of 2016 so far ... as well as the 10 worst.
  3. What Movie Should I See This Weekend?

    What Movie Should I See This Weekend? Image
    Published: June 30, 2016
    Preview all of this weekend's new theatrical releases (including The BFG, The Purge: Election Year, The Legend of Tarzan, and more), with Metascores and trailers for each new film.
  4. DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016

    DVD/Blu-ray Release Calendar: July 2016 Image
    Published: June 29, 2016
    Find a complete guide to TV and movie titles heading to Blu-ray and DVD throughout the month of July, including an extended version of Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice plus Green Room, Everybody Wants Some!!, O.J.: Made in America, and more.
  5. 10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July

    10 (or Maybe 11) Films to See in July Image
    Published: June 28, 2016
    Our editors pick out the most interesting films headed to theaters next month.