Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: May 5, 2017
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1815 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,463
Mixed:
232
Negative:
120
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
moviestalkerMay 6, 2017
Imagine your friend makes a bad joke and you give him the pity laugh so he wouldn't feel like an idiot, yet he simply won't get the hint and continue with his bad jokes: Then you know exactly how watching this movie feels like... The mainImagine your friend makes a bad joke and you give him the pity laugh so he wouldn't feel like an idiot, yet he simply won't get the hint and continue with his bad jokes: Then you know exactly how watching this movie feels like... The main plot litterally starts 90 mins in: Until then we get dramatic slow walking, lots of 70s/80s music and plenty of moments that are just cringeworthy "Hey, this guy has a funny name, let's made lame jokes about that for the next 5 minutes ..." also let's have a Yondu, Rocket and Groot subplot that goes nowhere, just because this movie needs some extra minutes. Expand
16 of 49 users found this helpful1633
All this user's reviews
3
WiscoJoeMay 30, 2017
Volume 2? More like Sophomore Slump. The genuine heart and humor that made the first one so refreshing has been replaced with weirdly casual violence, rampant cruelty, flippant misogyny, and off-putting "jokes." This is a movie for teenageVolume 2? More like Sophomore Slump. The genuine heart and humor that made the first one so refreshing has been replaced with weirdly casual violence, rampant cruelty, flippant misogyny, and off-putting "jokes." This is a movie for teenage boys who can't tell the difference between glib and glitz, between innocence and immaturity. The overbearing "family friendly" corporate sheen imposed on top of the cultural rot (Aw, adorable baby tree that you can purchase for $9.99!!!) just makes he whole enterprise feel even more cynical and depressing. Watching this movie, I felt like I was at one of those high-pressure sales pitches where suckers get promised free vacations but end up being sold worthless time-shares in the swamps of Florida. I might be willing to forgive this films' soulless nature if it was at least entertaining and funny, but it's not. The jokes land with a cringe-inducing thud as the cast alternates between desperation and obvious boredom. The story is... honestly, not sure because I barely remember it. Let's just say it's quite an achievement for a plot to be both monotonous and nonsensical. Aesthetically, this is by far the best looking Disney-Marvel film to date, which isn't saying much. The special effects are cartoony but still impressive, and the cinematography transcends the normal network-TV blandness that has became a hallmark of the MCU. Still, I would have traded the improved production values for a memorable story or at least one or two solid jokes. Save your time and spend the 2.5 hours listening to a classic rock radio station while staring at a lava lamp. Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
3
meltdownmonkDec 29, 2017
Yikes - not sure what's going on here.. the story was OK, but overall I found this terrible - the humor was not only bad, but also non-stop. It was sometimes funny, but really felt like it was trying too hard, and the story at times wasYikes - not sure what's going on here.. the story was OK, but overall I found this terrible - the humor was not only bad, but also non-stop. It was sometimes funny, but really felt like it was trying too hard, and the story at times was really bad - kind of "Star Wars" episode 1 and 2 awkward... Some of the scenes were pretty cool, but you can't live off set pieces alone... I just can't recommend this one. I'm surprised there weren't more negative reviews from critics! It did take a lot of the elements that audiences loved from the first movie and took them to another level, so I can see why some people like it so much, but I have to be honest... this one was not for me. Ego was terrible.... so annoying, and so boring!!! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
twkonefalMay 7, 2017
If your sense of humour is that of a fifteen year old then you might enjoy this movie. They try so hard to be funny, but most jokes are forced and of the canned variety. I spent a large portion of the film rolling my eyes.
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
2
night4May 17, 2017
The movie gets a zero, but I'm bumping it up to a 2 because Chris Pratt.

The single negative critical review on this site says "It’s a rare misstep for the usually sure-footed folks behind the Marvel Cinematic Universe." I'd revise that to
The movie gets a zero, but I'm bumping it up to a 2 because Chris Pratt.

The single negative critical review on this site says "It’s a rare misstep for the usually sure-footed folks behind the Marvel Cinematic Universe."

I'd revise that to "It's a TYPICAL misstep for the HAM-FISTED folks behind the Marvel Cinematic Universe."
Expand
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
pkdMay 15, 2017
The 2nd film in this installment worth a 0. It is shallow, boring & vulgar, lacking any action scenes, filled up with kindergarden-level dialogues. I suffered & suffered & suffered, praying for it to end - and it never ended. It is theThe 2nd film in this installment worth a 0. It is shallow, boring & vulgar, lacking any action scenes, filled up with kindergarden-level dialogues. I suffered & suffered & suffered, praying for it to end - and it never ended. It is the incarnation of whatever is bad in this template-based Hollywood cliche scripting. My biggest wonder is how could the score be that high. Unless it is a fraud, Trumpism and alternative facts have completed their conquest of the critical scence. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
3
SpankyMay 10, 2017
This was a huge disappointment after the near perfect first one. Those who like special effects and don't know a darn thing about plot, characters and good dialog g will give this dog a 10 out of 10. It just doesn't deserve it. Way too manyThis was a huge disappointment after the near perfect first one. Those who like special effects and don't know a darn thing about plot, characters and good dialog g will give this dog a 10 out of 10. It just doesn't deserve it. Way too many dumb jokes that try to be funny, but were just stupid. They got away with it to a small degree in the first film because for the most part it was a serious picture. Here they were going for comedy over substance. Reminded me of the first few great James Bond movies that were somber with a little joke once in awhile with a fancy gadget here and there. Then Bond became all about the toys and campiness until recovering many films later when they got back to being somber and significant. I hope this series recovers for the third installment or it will end up being a one hit wonder. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
0
HappyislandsMay 7, 2017
An cinematic turd if ever there wax one. One of the most obnoxious movies I've ever seen. James Gunn has crafted a movie so thoroughly in love with itself it makes you wonder who the real 'Ego' actually is in this production. I think he'sAn cinematic turd if ever there wax one. One of the most obnoxious movies I've ever seen. James Gunn has crafted a movie so thoroughly in love with itself it makes you wonder who the real 'Ego' actually is in this production. I think he's behind the camera. And the last half hour is pure CGI trash. Expand
11 of 29 users found this helpful1118
All this user's reviews
3
euuMay 7, 2017
Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is the latest product in the Disney/Marvel assembly line that has all the features that you think are cool, like quirky characters, jokes every 30 seconds and bad music that you think it's good just because it's old.Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is the latest product in the Disney/Marvel assembly line that has all the features that you think are cool, like quirky characters, jokes every 30 seconds and bad music that you think it's good just because it's old. I did not wanted to watch this movie, but the first one, despite all its flaws and the fact that its plot was a remake of Avengers, was still one of the few Marvel movies I would consider to be above average so I decided to give it a chance. But GotG 2 manages to lower even the mediocre bar set by its predecessor.

I will admit however that I admire what the producers have been trying to do. Instead of making another sci-fi adventure movie like the first, they went more on an Empire Strikes Back route and tried to make a slower, more intimate and character driven movie. Unfurtonatelly, they failed. Every character and their grandmother get a backstory in this movie and even though some are interesting, like Gamora and her sister's, most of them are not and the second act feels like it's never goind to end. Also, some of the characters you liked in the original are absolutelly lame in this one. Drax does absolutelly nothing the entire movie, Rocket is an unlikeable jerk and even though Baby Groot is cute the first five minutes, you spend the rest of the movie wishing you can set him on fire and then pour gasoline on him. Other than these, the movie suffers from the same issues every Marvel movie suffers: action scenes that have no tension, an uninteresting villain with terrible motivation and lame jokes every 30 seconds, even ruining the emotional moments this movie tries to have. And holy **** the humor in this movie is bad. You will ocasionally have a giggle or 2 but most of the "funny" moments involve characters yelling at each other or repeating a joke 30 times just in case you didn't find them funny the first 29 times. The jokes in this makes the ones in Adam Sandler movies feel subtle and intelligent.

In the end, it's not a good movie. It's not even a mediocre movie. It's the kind of crap that will at best be remembered for the memes that will come out of it.
Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
0
Zummy1976May 11, 2017
A nasty and mean spirited re-tread of what made the original great. Takes everything you loved about the original and turns it up to 11, completely destroying the charm in the process. Watching Gamorra is as intetesting as watching paint dry.A nasty and mean spirited re-tread of what made the original great. Takes everything you loved about the original and turns it up to 11, completely destroying the charm in the process. Watching Gamorra is as intetesting as watching paint dry. Rocket Racoon is completely devoid of wit. Chris Pratt is Chris Pratt. Horrible cheap looking CGI is the icing on this foul cake. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
1
johndoe2014May 21, 2017
Just the message the world needs today!!! Reject the light inside you and your sense of creative purpose and go hang out with your high school friend forever so you can make fun of each other like you are 12 for the rest of your life. Amen.Just the message the world needs today!!! Reject the light inside you and your sense of creative purpose and go hang out with your high school friend forever so you can make fun of each other like you are 12 for the rest of your life. Amen. OK groot is awesome so it gets a 1 not a 0. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
2
erias23May 10, 2017
This was not as good as the first movie. The opening sequence set the tone of the movie that it was going to be a disappointment as it was just filled with epic amounts of CGI thrown at you with little concern for the plot development. FromThis was not as good as the first movie. The opening sequence set the tone of the movie that it was going to be a disappointment as it was just filled with epic amounts of CGI thrown at you with little concern for the plot development. From the first movie the jokes and situational humour was few and far between and just sprinkled enough to make the movie flow nicely. Here it's thrown in your face every chance they get. There will be dick and poop jokes and really feels like they made this movie to appeal to 10 year olds and kids that are going to want baby groot toys for Christmas. There was no connection what so ever with the marvel universe in terms of advancing the storyline towards Thanos and the infinity guantlet. That to me was the biggest blunder this movie made. They try and force the emotional tug strings of family and friends but it just falls flat on its face. It was close to 45 minutes into the movie and I had no idea what the plot was and what they were advancing towards. There's nothing wrong with liking the movie but for me it was a huge miss and just fell completely flat that I actually felt bad for spending money to go see this movie and not waiting for it to show up on Netflix. Expand
4 of 12 users found this helpful48
All this user's reviews
3
TVJerryMay 11, 2017
Here's my review of the first one. Nothing has changed, so why waste my time being original when the filmmakers didn't.
The latest Marvel mashup brings a ragtag gang of unusual characters together to save the universe. This opens things up
Here's my review of the first one. Nothing has changed, so why waste my time being original when the filmmakers didn't.
The latest Marvel mashup brings a ragtag gang of unusual characters together to save the universe. This opens things up for irreverent humor, which isn’t always is seldom that funny. Action is inevitable, but most of it is fast & noisy without standing out. There’s also lots to look at, including dozens of fun creatures and some cool design. (New this time: the middle bogs way down with too much dull drama and little Groot is just precious.) The playful tone and unusual individuals make it entertaining, but the underlying lack of originality keeps it from soaring.
I gave the original 3 stars, but I'm only doing 1.5 for this one (half as many stars for a half-assed movie). NOTE: To make sure you watch all the credits, hey've spread out the teaser jokes throughout them.
Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
3
RealMuthaFAug 11, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Oh hey, the new masterpiece by the universally praised MARVEL STUDIOS, Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is finally here! What does it have in store for us folks??!!

More of the things we all enjoyed in the first movie so much! More "alien" races which are humans but are colored differently! WAY much more piece of sh*t pathetic cringy jokes! I mean seriously, already in the opening scenes I was forced to sit through "humor" related to nipples, erections and feces. "Jokes" about penises were quick to follow, as well as my willingness to commit suicide. That's some family quality entertainment the axis of e..., erhm, Disney provides nowadays. More lame boring family drama! More blue ugly bald woman whose name I don't remember and who can't act for jack sh*t! More explosions at the expense of any sensible plot! More needlessly radiant colorful CGI!

What else is there? Well, there's a scene where the blue mohawk guy and the Racoon (mostly the guy) kill what looks like a hundred people and lightheartedly laugh about it. Even the soundtrack is no longer funky and memorable, seriously, those are the tracks you could pick from the rich 70's music collection?

Every time the heroes were in danger, I wanted them to finally die. Unfortunately, nobody important is allowed to die in Marvel movies, but at least somebody did. However, any joy from it was overshadowed by the tedious tear-jerking overly-long funeral that followed.

Okay, I thought the first Guardians to be overrated (as all Marvel movies basically), but at least I found those enjoyable. This, however, is the worst movie of the franchise I have watched so far, so glad I didn't contribute to its box office.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
DCShill12Apr 19, 2019
Coming out of the theater, I was utterly disgusted. I have never watched a film so bad since Captain America Civil War and the Avengers. I would have been happy if this movie came EVEN CLOSE to Marvel's best work, Thor: The Dark World. Like,Coming out of the theater, I was utterly disgusted. I have never watched a film so bad since Captain America Civil War and the Avengers. I would have been happy if this movie came EVEN CLOSE to Marvel's best work, Thor: The Dark World. Like, for me, a comic book film has a simple formula for success: Punch-kick-punch. I could care less that Star Lord's mom died, like I don't care. I can't relate to him. I've never felt the emotion of love, or care. I was raised wthout love. I had to find something to love, and I found that in film. I've talked to one of my fellow critics, MARVELSHILL12. He said that I'll say that any film is great, and that I shouldn't be given the free reign to just review anything. Maybe I should've started smaller. But, in this day and age, you can't start small. I LITERALLY WORK ON THESE REVIEWS FOR HOURS. DC HAS to approve them. If I slip up, even once, I could be fired. Even talking about this right now puts me in trouble. LIKE WHAT AM I GOING TO DO? I don't know how to delete anything that I've already written. I'm literally panicking rn. Like, I'm vrying. I'm scared that my tears will drip onto my computer, and burn out of the circuitry. I won't have nay money to buy a new computer. My job as a reviewer will be over. Like, the other day I accidently reviewed Batman Vs Superman in the Aquaman review spot. DC personally hired a doctor to give me a full medical check. They said that they, and I quote, "HAVE THE EASIEST JOB EVER, AND WE DON'T UNDERSTAND HOW SOMEONE AS DUMB AS YOU COULD MESS IT UP." I tried to stay strong, but this really got to me. Again, I'm all alone, so I can't talk to anyone about this. I DON'T KNOW WHAT TO DO. I should probably stop writing, but this is honestly very therapeutic. I feel a lot better. I'm so happy I have such a great platform to write on, where my views are actually respected, @RottenTomatoes. Shoot, I probably shouldn't have said that either!!! HOW DO I DELETE???? HOW DO I BACKSPACE!!!!!!!!!!!! Ok, I think I'm just gonna stop now. Oh, I forgot. This movie was.. oh.... what am I reviewing again?? Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
BloodyrusMay 21, 2017
Фильм значительно хуже первой части. Видно, что над ним старались не операторы и режисер, а маркетологи и эффективные менеджеры. Но при этом это все еще неплохое попкорновое зрелище на лето.Фильм значительно хуже первой части. Видно, что над ним старались не операторы и режисер, а маркетологи и эффективные менеджеры. Но при этом это все еще неплохое попкорновое зрелище на лето.
2 of 31 users found this helpful229
All this user's reviews
2
VothrossJul 31, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. (Spoiler)..Horrible movie that is aimed mostly towards children and retarded people that like bad movies because they are retarded..Bad plot made for morons, far too much comedy(!!!), boring potato villains(!!!!!), Starlord is half celestial WTF Marvel(..just google what a celestial is in marvel comics universe),all the villains become good guys and help out which is laaame,Mantis sucks (she is called Mantis but looks like a snail).. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
JottaFMay 30, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. GoG Vol.2 is a CHILD PARTY movie. The main characters are formed for: Drax, as the clown of the party - he makes jokes with everything (he left to be the Destroyer to become "the joker"); the bday boy - the teenager mind Starlord, a spoiled adult guy; the cute baby that everyone looks and thinks (like Mantis) "he is so cute" - and just it; the father of the party - Yondu (the only one you respect in this mess); the impulsive and stressed friend - Rocket; the love interest - Gamora and etc.
It's a pitty that the most interesting and emotional parts belongs to Yondu, Rocket and Nebula (secondary characters). The best action scenes comes from Yondu and Rocket. Baby Groot was just a marketing ploy. Drax as Mantis are almost unuseful (I suppose he lost his intelligence after touching the Space Gem in Vol. 1. I love to see Gamora in the screen, 'kuz she looks like badass... she has presence, but they didn't give her the oportunity to show it in the movie...
And about the Sovereigns... oh, my gosh... When I watched the trailers, I expected Ayesha would be a strong, serious and imponent char., but Marvel put her and the others Sovereigns in embarrassing and comic situations which you can't take them seriously and feel some urgency from them. And also the actors adopted a grotesque playing to do their roles. Stallone has few and OK moments, and I hated his costume (like Bryan Singer style).
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
GWF1987Jul 24, 2019
Absolute garbage

The fact everyone loves this movie just because of the stupid jokes just shows how dumbed down movie audiences really are now The second I heard the poop joke in the first 10 minutes I knew this movie wasn't made for adults
Absolute garbage

The fact everyone loves this movie just because of the stupid jokes just shows how dumbed down movie audiences really are now

The second I heard the poop joke in the first 10 minutes I knew this movie wasn't made for adults or even kids. Just made for people who can't function if a plot is more than "LOL, TALKING TREE AND ANIMALS AND FUNNY JOKES!!!!"

Insult to the intelligence and the wallet
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
djniceyJun 30, 2020
I enjoyed the 1st Guardians of the Galaxy but thought that this was some of the most inane garbage I've ever seen. The plot, if you could call it that, starts about 90 minutes into the movie and is barely passable, much of the humor missesI enjoyed the 1st Guardians of the Galaxy but thought that this was some of the most inane garbage I've ever seen. The plot, if you could call it that, starts about 90 minutes into the movie and is barely passable, much of the humor misses the mark and the characterisation is woeful. On the plus side it is colourful and some of the sound effects are good, its big budget nonsense that you don't even need half a brain cell to watch. How do people rate this garbage so highly? There's nothing to it, special effects and nothing of any substance. I grew tired of the superhero genre after Civil War and have just returned to see what I was missing, it turns out I didn't miss anything just more of the same dumb, formulaic, Marvel-by-numbers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
moothemagiccowDec 20, 2017
Just could not make it through this film. It's another laser light show to Top 10 hits of the 70s and 80s. Pratt's acting is cringeworthy, and I'm tired of hearing the big guy, Drax, belt out the same, forced HA HA HA over and over.
I tried,
Just could not make it through this film. It's another laser light show to Top 10 hits of the 70s and 80s. Pratt's acting is cringeworthy, and I'm tired of hearing the big guy, Drax, belt out the same, forced HA HA HA over and over.
I tried, I really did, but slogging through a generic science fantasy movie whose plot is "is this guy my dad?" just does not feel worth it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
RetrodoxJun 24, 2018
Horrible gimmicky and literally cringe at 50% of the times this is a marvel sin and so unlike its genius first movie "evil star dads" really? killing millions of children and stockpiling there skeletons within yourself seriously?Then goldenHorrible gimmicky and literally cringe at 50% of the times this is a marvel sin and so unlike its genius first movie "evil star dads" really? killing millions of children and stockpiling there skeletons within yourself seriously?Then golden people were so boring half of the jokes dont land unlike the first movie and are honestly awkward or odd or way to silly at times I get the 70s theme of it all so its a little bit potheady but it seriously has some issues chris pratt and the soundtrack, score all its points on the rating system Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
beReasonableNov 5, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The first Guardians movie was quite possibly the best Marvel movie, but this is by far the worst. What happened? In one word, this movie was obnoxious. This review contains minor spoilers.

The movie is full of cringy humor that I promise you won't find appealing unless you're a small child. For example, there is a long bit about a character named "taser face". Who actually wrote that and thought it was good? They also make light of casual violence. I'm not usually one to complain about violence, but there's a cringy scene with Groot that goes on for what seems like eternity and ends with a punchline of a severed toe. Wtf?

And if you can trudge your way past the (lack of) humor, you'll find a ridiculous plot that is seriously lacking. The plot is almost entirely driven by, no kidding, a character stealing batteries...for no clear purpose, unrelated to anything else in the plot. It's like this movie was written by a 12 year old, for an audience of 10 year olds, who passed it off as a childish joke for their 8 year old sibling.

You'd have to be really dazzled by the action sequences (in which characters can survive crash landing into a planet unscathed) and visuals to not notice and move past those weak points, which were already too much to bear for me. The pace of the movie tries to painfully force character development and interaction on you. For example, we know rocket is troubled, but when did he become as obnoxious towards his close friends for seemingly no reason?

The redeeming qualities of this movie were the visuals, however. In particular, the planet where the main storyline unfolds was an artistic masterpiece, with visuals rivaling Avatar. It's sad those artists' talents had to be associated with this movie. The main cast was also good with solid performances, in particular by Michael Rooker, which helped damper horrendous writing.

The first movie had a solid plot and clear purpose, with meaningful writing and characters that had touching experiences. You could be crying within the first 10 minutes of it, but this sequel will make you want to stop watching within the first 10 minutes. Everything is just dumbed down, an uncommon miss for Marvel movies in my opinion. Another major disappointment was the soundtrack. The first movie truly was an awesome mix, but this one was weak. The best music comes out at the credits, unfortunately by then you've wasted a couple hours of your life. I'm extremely disappointed, I loved the first one, but no way in hell am I going to watch another sequel.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
ThaddeusDec 16, 2017
I hated the first one and thought they couldn't do any worse, I was wrong, they did. This film was horrible, hated everything but Chris Pratt, Kurt Russell, and Yondu. Worst movie of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews