Netflix | Release Date: November 9, 2022
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 173 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
149
Mixed:
17
Negative:
7
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
nnogohkoNov 21, 2022
I wasn't planning to even see this in theaters but it was so worth it! The stop motion animation is stunning and I found the whole scenery marvelous. Ewan McGregor's Cricket is a massive highlight. He was so funny and every time he screamedI wasn't planning to even see this in theaters but it was so worth it! The stop motion animation is stunning and I found the whole scenery marvelous. Ewan McGregor's Cricket is a massive highlight. He was so funny and every time he screamed or made some noise, I burst out laughing. I wasn't expecting this film to go in such a dark and awesome direction by the end. I couldn't believe this movie was made for just $35 million. It looks so much more expensive than it is and the creature design and especially the location of the finale is just simply glorious. Christoph Waltz is so deliciously evil as Count Volpe and he does some terrifically menacing voicework. Mr. Filch from Harry Potter/ Walder Frey from Game of Thrones does an amazing job as Geppetto and I loved his character. This is one of my favorite movies of the year! Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
Rebecca31Dec 4, 2022
It's a much-loved classic that has been retold again and again. Now see Pinocchio like you’ve never seen him before. A stop motion masterpiece from directors Guillermo del Toro and Mark Gustafson in a heartfelt story of a wooden puppet who isIt's a much-loved classic that has been retold again and again. Now see Pinocchio like you’ve never seen him before. A stop motion masterpiece from directors Guillermo del Toro and Mark Gustafson in a heartfelt story of a wooden puppet who is magically brought to life in order to mend the heart of Geppetto, a grieving woodcarver.

The Adventures of Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi has been adapted for the big screen numerous times with some versions more memorable than others. I think most people are nostalgic for the 1940 Disney animated version but very few adaptations have stayed true to the original source material. The 2019 Italian version of Pinocchio certainly took the story on the big screen in a better direction and of course Disney decided another live action remake was due and you can also see that version this year if you’re one of the few not yet worn out by the live action remakes. Yet if you only watch one version, it needs to be Guillermo del Toro’s interpretation. A passion project for years that no studio would fund has now finally been given its moment. So is it really as amazing as you’ve all heard? Yes it really is a masterpiece.

Guillermo del Toro’s interpretation of the fairy tale is strongly focused on love, loss and the similarities between Mary Shelly’s Frankenstein. I know Pinocchio has been adapted a few times now but this is a unique take that completely reinvents the story. It’s a PG rating but definitely has a darker tone with a backdrop of 1930s fascist Italy. Although the focus has shifted from the original story, it’s still at its heart a tale about relationships between fathers and sons that may have you in tears on more than one occasion. With a brilliant voice cast made up of Gregory Mann, David Bradley, Ewan McGregor, Ron Perlman, Cate Blanchett, Christoph Waltz and the list goes on.

The stop motion looks absolutely incredible. Honestly, this is cinema. If you have a chance to see this in a cinema please take the opportunity to do so. This is a project that Guillermo del Toro has been trying to bring to life for years and finally someone was willing to take a chance on it. Although I often give out about Netflix not giving their movies much of an opportunity to run in the cinemas for more than a week, at least they give directors the creative freedom to make the movie they want to make. It’s magical, funny and will pull at the heartstrings for sure. It’s dark, weird and wonderful which clearly has del Toro written all over it. I absolutely loved it.

This one right here is the Pinocchio remake worth your time. Fantastic and a must see for Guillermo del Toro fans and anyone who loves an emotional fairy tale. Highly recommended.
Expand
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
8
CarlElmoreNov 25, 2022
Really sweet. The vocal performances from David Bradley and Ewan McGregor are great and the animation is great. A great retelling of a classic story.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
JeBjBoDec 14, 2022
beautiful, emotional, great attention to detail, amazing score by Desplat, funny, sad, intelligent
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
HughMungus69Dec 11, 2022
An absolute masterpiece, nothing further to add as I’m genuinely speechless
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Garf-tasticDec 10, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the only movies to make me cry. Sadly, the tears made my eyes hurt and kinda ruined the mood. The stop motion is amazing and if I didn't know otherwise, I'd of thought it was 3d animated. Love the art direction too. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
bertobellamyDec 10, 2022
'Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio' is an animated near-masterpiece that reflects on a variety of themes, from the political control governments, church, and spectacle have on people to how fathers and their children feel disappointed about each'Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio' is an animated near-masterpiece that reflects on a variety of themes, from the political control governments, church, and spectacle have on people to how fathers and their children feel disappointed about each other. Let's now pretend the Robert Zemeckis remake never existed. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
NavyBeanDec 13, 2022
So beautiful. The story. The art direction. I would watch it first before showing your children. There are some powerful and intense moments that might be too much for younger viewers. Powerful messages about mortality, love, grief, legacySo beautiful. The story. The art direction. I would watch it first before showing your children. There are some powerful and intense moments that might be too much for younger viewers. Powerful messages about mortality, love, grief, legacy and love. Highly recommend it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
MattyiceDec 9, 2022
Guillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio is a fascinating and fabulous film that embraces all that makes him a masterful director and this story a timeless tale. Rather than simply telling a by-the-book, sunshine and rainbows adaptation of the sourceGuillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio is a fascinating and fabulous film that embraces all that makes him a masterful director and this story a timeless tale. Rather than simply telling a by-the-book, sunshine and rainbows adaptation of the source material, this film chooses to be different through its setting (Fascist Italy, eerily reminiscent of when Del Toro set Pan's Labyrinth in Francoist Spain) and, more important, its tone and themes. This adaptation embraces the more mature aspects of the story by commentating on how important embracing the one life we do have and those who make it worth living, as well as the classic Pinocchio lessons of being good and courageous, and even then it puts a spin on this idea by saying you may need to break the rules once in a while to do so. Finally, I've got to praise the stop motion animation, which is very well done in this adaptation and truly matches the tone set. Overall, even though this is another adaptation of a story you've heard before, it's one certainly worth watching, especially compared to the haphazard and lazy Disney remake released earlier this year. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RuffianDec 15, 2022
Masterpiece of a film. If this was made for the Theatres, I would pay good money for it. Bravo, Guillermo! Bravo!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
sirrongDec 10, 2022
A masterpiece of a film. This feels like it could objectively be the definitive story, which is impressive given the preceding films.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
Melavin3Dec 11, 2022
This is an improvment over the original in every way shape or form. It's looks beautiful, the writing is solid (sometimes flawed though) and the it's well acted. You can feel the passion from everyone involved.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
KJ_20Dec 16, 2022
Emotional, superb and heartfelt. Guillermo del Toro has somehow been able to create one of the best animation (stop animation) movies ever. It's dark, mature, emotional and it all makes sense in the context. Yet, he is able to blend that withEmotional, superb and heartfelt. Guillermo del Toro has somehow been able to create one of the best animation (stop animation) movies ever. It's dark, mature, emotional and it all makes sense in the context. Yet, he is able to blend that with a sense of youngness and joy, creating a film which is a testament to life itself. What a movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Santo277Dec 12, 2022
La mejor película del 2022 sin mas que decir, una maravilla para terminar este 2022
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Badgerryan27Dec 14, 2022
Guillermo Del Toro does it again with his new Pinocchio film. This is a much beloved classic that has been told many times but this is a new rendition that you have never seen before. From the art style, animation, and story that has twistsGuillermo Del Toro does it again with his new Pinocchio film. This is a much beloved classic that has been told many times but this is a new rendition that you have never seen before. From the art style, animation, and story that has twists and turns. I love that this did not go by the book of the old classic tale that many have done before it rather than telling its own differently. Loved it! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SomeGamer1247Dec 11, 2022
Great Movie, I Thought It Was Going To Make Terrible Remake But I It Great. Good Characters, Good Voice Acting, And Good Story. I Think The Movie Would Be Better If They Took Their Time. Near The Middle Part The Movie Started Feeling TheGreat Movie, I Thought It Was Going To Make Terrible Remake But I It Great. Good Characters, Good Voice Acting, And Good Story. I Think The Movie Would Be Better If They Took Their Time. Near The Middle Part The Movie Started Feeling The Movie Started Getting Faster. This Movie Is Still Good. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Alexander_HDDec 13, 2022
Eine visuell wundervoll inszenierte Interpretation des Klassikers angereichert mit ein wenig Mystik und den Grauen des Faschismus. Absolut nicht empfehlenswert für kleine Kinder. Die Gesangseinlagen werden zum Glück nicht überstrapaziert undEine visuell wundervoll inszenierte Interpretation des Klassikers angereichert mit ein wenig Mystik und den Grauen des Faschismus. Absolut nicht empfehlenswert für kleine Kinder. Die Gesangseinlagen werden zum Glück nicht überstrapaziert und die Geschichte hat einen nachvollziehbaren roten Faden vom Anfang bis zum Schluss, der kaum ein Auge trocken lassen dürfte. Wer sich auf eine kindlich emotionale Reise vorbereitet, die aber voll erwachsener Themen und Probleme ist, wird nicht enttäuscht werden. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
YoYoFreak_18Dec 11, 2022
Propably the best stop-motion movie ever made. You can feel and see the passion behind the whole film. There are some very emotional moments, that will catch your attention within the first ten minutes. There are even some connections toPropably the best stop-motion movie ever made. You can feel and see the passion behind the whole film. There are some very emotional moments, that will catch your attention within the first ten minutes. There are even some connections to human history and the time in WW1 and WW2. Thank you, Guillermo del Toro Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
soyluisfDec 11, 2022
Guillermo del Toro is a god, extremely beautiful all the production, including characters, story and music.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
TorreroDec 14, 2022
This is the most unbeliveable adaption of story for children. From the first moment to the last I wasn't sure that it can be watched by children but I think it's great showing of reality for them. The theme of propaganda unfortunatelly isThis is the most unbeliveable adaption of story for children. From the first moment to the last I wasn't sure that it can be watched by children but I think it's great showing of reality for them. The theme of propaganda unfortunatelly is relly actual for Russian children. Because they are being raised with thought not about toys or happy life in peace with everybody but war in heart.
Everybody of us is Pinocchio before they are really adult. But even adult can be Pinocchio sometimes.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MinatoUchiha212Dec 14, 2022
This is quite possibly the best pinnocchio adaptation, so much time, dedication, and love went into this. Through it's animation you can see the soul of the creator, and all of the heart put into it. It's whimsical, dark, fun, sad, andThis is quite possibly the best pinnocchio adaptation, so much time, dedication, and love went into this. Through it's animation you can see the soul of the creator, and all of the heart put into it. It's whimsical, dark, fun, sad, and extremely emotional. While I could go either way on the singing, the art and animation more than makes up for it. I would reccomend this to anyone who enjoys art in it's purest form. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
MystichydraDec 11, 2022
It's a good though disjointed film. It's actually heavily flawed, but the good aspects of it are all especially so. First and foremost - it looks great. I can't see it not winning the academy award for best animated. And not just because ofIt's a good though disjointed film. It's actually heavily flawed, but the good aspects of it are all especially so. First and foremost - it looks great. I can't see it not winning the academy award for best animated. And not just because of the literal animation, but the dialogue is really good too. It's a little bogged down by the overall outline of the plot itself, but it's a consistently humorous and profound film. The voice acting was all really good, too. (I cannot believe that Cate Blanchett voiced the monkey. I didn't know who was even voicing anybody in this, and guessed that she was the blue spirits. I was wrong obv, but wtf - she's in it and is a monkey which has no lines) And as is true in most of Del Toro's films, you can tell he was passionate and cared about it.

But - I was glad when it finished. It felt a little overlong, and as mentioned, a great amount of the plot was contrived and was inconsistent within its own universe. E.g, when Candlewick's neglectful Nazi father orders him to shoot Pinocchio, a well established immortal-puppet at this point. Chadwick's seen Pinocchio live the life of Mr. Bill, dying a few times, getting run over by cars, burned, etc. There's quite a few scenes dependent on tension based on no consequences for this absurdly happy-go-lucky invulnerable puppet. It's also jarringly tonally inconsistent. There's all sorts of scenes with fascism that's often ambiguous and confusing. Why is there a Nazi just hanging around Italy, barking orders and whatnot? Presumably because an Italian blackshirt might be too confusing for the audience, and they want to denote obvious evilness or antagonism. But the inverse happened, and I was trying to figure out the historical context the entire movie. Yes, I know, WWII. But so many things were historically contextually distracting, including the varied accents. The Nazi was voiced by the super American Ron Pearlman. Geppetto and Carlo/Pinocchio are British. And most other people are Italian, but not all. Yes, this is 'just a movie' but all of that on top of weirdly ambiguous (though not always, as obv seen with Mussolini himself)historical setting and happenings makes for a distraction.

Gepetto, not looking a day over 75 loses Carlo in WWI. Then WWII rolls around and he still looks like a spry septuagenarian.

The music, frankly, kinda sucked. Granted, I dislike the majority of musicals anyway. But there's too many songs, and they all sound like generic musical songs. All entirely forgettable. Despite all these complaints, I truly did enjoy this film. It will linger with you, and many of the scenes and imagery are unforgettable.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Dec 11, 2022
Visually stunning, though plotwise it has more than one bump in its road, especially because of the decision to focus on the metaphor of fascism.
Not that Pinocchio's story couldn't lend itself to it, but I suppose the main intention was to
Visually stunning, though plotwise it has more than one bump in its road, especially because of the decision to focus on the metaphor of fascism.
Not that Pinocchio's story couldn't lend itself to it, but I suppose the main intention was to separate itself from previous incarnations of this tale.

Is it successful? Of course it is. This Pinocchio has an identity all of its own, not only in its animation but also in its style, its craftsmanship and its voice cast.
It's true that Del Toro shares director credits, but this project is so much his own that his name is attached to the title.
This is his vision and he has brought it to life in a way that makes for an amazing spectacle from start to finish. It's not perfect, nothing really is, but it's a film that deserves all the attention it can get, no matter what kind of audience gets the chance to see it.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Stream2BigScreeDec 16, 2022
I’m a reeeeeal movie! *Pinocchio classic voice* Welcome back Streamers. This week Netflix released Academy Award-winning filmmaker Guillermo del Toro’s reinvention of Carlo Collodi’s classic tale Pinocchio. As you know, the tale goes by aI’m a reeeeeal movie! *Pinocchio classic voice* Welcome back Streamers. This week Netflix released Academy Award-winning filmmaker Guillermo del Toro’s reinvention of Carlo Collodi’s classic tale Pinocchio. As you know, the tale goes by a wooden puppet is magically brought to life in order to mend the heart of a grieving woodcarver named Geppetto. Del Toro’s and Mark Gustafson stop-motion musical follows the mischievous and disobedient adventures of Pinocchio in his pursuit of a place in the world. Well let’s get to it.

This is one of those simple reviews. Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio is beautiful, heartbreaking, and fun movie. So much so that it actually makes no sense why the movie wasn’t exclusively in the theaters. I mean this isn’t really a December/Christmas movie but it’s definitely one of those movies that just needs to sneak in before Award Season ends for the year. So what to say about Pinocchio. the stop animation is top notch, creative, and realistic at the same time. I mean just the typical for del Toro. This new version of Pinocchio brings the old story . With the storytelling and the voiceover work the movie gives the movie life. The innonnce and naivete of Pinocchio, the desperation and hope of Gepeto, the callous and unforgiving of Podesta and conveiving and cunning of Count Volpe just shoot of the screen. It’s easy to say that with the voice work of a great cast of the likes of Christoph Waltz, Ron Perlman, David Bradley, and Gregory Mann in reverse order. Just to name a few because Ewan McGregor’s Cricket just sounded a bit too like himself to be believe able. ANy way, you need those type of performances when this is a long told story like Pinocchio. The imaginative artisty along with the voice work make this feature its own.

Ultimately, Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio is a must-see movie. The animation is inventive and beautiful. While the Pinocchio story is basically the same, this movie zones in on the emotional connection between father and son and a desire to be a better human being. Make sure to have a big box of popcorn and a few tissues when you watch this on Netflix.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
MovieT00NSDec 11, 2022
Guillermo Del Toro’s Pinocchio’ Was My Best Animated Film This Should Be Winner Oscars Winner For Best Animated Film and This Should be Winner Golden Globe Awards for Best Animated Films
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
PulseDPDec 11, 2022
This movie was definitely a work of art. It is worth seeing just for the spectacular art direction, character design, visual FX and animation. For me personally, I found the story to be rather dull. It wasn't bad by any means. It just seemedThis movie was definitely a work of art. It is worth seeing just for the spectacular art direction, character design, visual FX and animation. For me personally, I found the story to be rather dull. It wasn't bad by any means. It just seemed to meander along not really delivering on any of the moments that should have been highly emotive. I didn't find there were any real highs or lows to keep me engaged. A little comic relief was welcomed but, even that fell short of the mark. I actually had to stop my self nodding off several times. I wouldn't call it compelling, but the film is an enjoyable watch and worth adding to the Christmas list. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
liamexeDec 12, 2022
Even though it is wonderfully depicted, the movie is intended for children. We immediately know who to cheer for and who to despise since the personalities are thin. That prevents Pinnochio from achieving true greatness. Even so, it isEven though it is wonderfully depicted, the movie is intended for children. We immediately know who to cheer for and who to despise since the personalities are thin. That prevents Pinnochio from achieving true greatness. Even so, it is enjoyable enough to spend a few hours immersed in such a lovely fantasy. Worth watching for lovers of del Toro. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SummerstewDec 15, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I never really liked the Pinocchio story line, but this version was a WOW on so many levels. It’s not for small kids but should be okay for a child 11+ and especially given parent guidance for discussion given the maturity level of the pre teen. I found this movie fresh and enlightening. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
DeclanGDec 16, 2022
Great film! Must watch! The 1940 original was great but this may be even better, and has so much more depth to the story and emotion brought a tear to my eye! Fantastic work from cast and crew and Guillermo Del Toro for directing! AbsolutelyGreat film! Must watch! The 1940 original was great but this may be even better, and has so much more depth to the story and emotion brought a tear to my eye! Fantastic work from cast and crew and Guillermo Del Toro for directing! Absolutely outstanding stop frame puppeteer work and animation in post production! Stunning work well worth a watch! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Voodoo123Jan 15, 2023
Charming and bittersweet this version of the classic story is very well produced and has a charming art style courtesy of the stop motion animation and details. While certainly not original, it does carry its own flavour and has the classicCharming and bittersweet this version of the classic story is very well produced and has a charming art style courtesy of the stop motion animation and details. While certainly not original, it does carry its own flavour and has the classic morality tale at its wooden heart. Paradoxically fun and somber to watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 26, 2022
Damas y caballeros: conozcan el nuevo prodigio de la animación stop-motion. No niega ser una versión libre del clásico de Carlo Collodi, pero no es tan suave como la de Disney; de hecho, por su profunda reflexión sobre el vínculo padre-hijo yDamas y caballeros: conozcan el nuevo prodigio de la animación stop-motion. No niega ser una versión libre del clásico de Carlo Collodi, pero no es tan suave como la de Disney; de hecho, por su profunda reflexión sobre el vínculo padre-hijo y la aceptación de la muerte es como un caramelo rompe-muelas: hay que dejar que se disuelva despacio en la boca para que no lastime. Si no lloraste al final, o eres muy valiente o deberías ver un doctor. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
SoulWarfareJan 13, 2023
2022 was a weird year as we had 3 different versions of the Pinocchio story.

We had 'Pinocchio: A True Story' which had a fruity voice and was laughably bad. We had Disney's Pinocchio remake which had no heart and soul whatsoever. A clear
2022 was a weird year as we had 3 different versions of the Pinocchio story.

We had 'Pinocchio: A True Story' which had a fruity voice and was laughably bad.

We had Disney's Pinocchio remake which had no heart and soul whatsoever. A clear cash grab.

In comes Guillermo del Toro's Pinocchio which completely blows both of those rubbish adaptions out of the water. With stunning stop-motion animation, a darker tone, and a more emotional story with a meaningful and bittersweet message.

Guillermo del Toro makes many changes to the classic story that keeps it fresh. It's clear passion was put into this and the final result is magical!

Also, Cate Blancett makes a bunch of Monkey noises, it's worth paying to see that alone!
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
BulgarianCriticDec 18, 2022
This movie starts out great and pretty dark which I really enjoyed. Pinocchio's introduction was like something out of a horror movie (the way he moved his limbs was almost uncanny and very unique). The Voice acting for the supporting castThis movie starts out great and pretty dark which I really enjoyed. Pinocchio's introduction was like something out of a horror movie (the way he moved his limbs was almost uncanny and very unique). The Voice acting for the supporting cast was great but I personally found Pinocchio to be incredibly annoying for some reason (even though he sometimes had his charming moments). The effects and puppetry was pretty amazing and they way they retold the story was also pretty great. They were some parts that were left unsolved for some reason which was a bit disappointing. There were like 3 songs which I did not fully enjoy to be honest and the Sea Part was not looking that good in terms of effects. But I can definitely recommend this one it was pretty great(I think I prefer it more than the Disney one ) Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
BruterakeJan 20, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Não gostei muito do filme acho que ele trabalha muita questões que acabam não se concluindo. A parte dos nazistas com o menino termina lá e ele nunca mais aprece e tem a cena final que é extremamente desnecessária mostrando todo mundo morrendo sei lá não achei que encaixou. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
r96skJan 1, 2023
It's good, even if I wouldn't say it's anything better or worse than its Disney animated counterpart - at least it is a marked improvement on that aforementioned company's remake, mind.

The big win of 'Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio' is the
It's good, even if I wouldn't say it's anything better or worse than its Disney animated counterpart - at least it is a marked improvement on that aforementioned company's remake, mind.

The big win of 'Guillermo del Toro’s Pinocchio' is the stop-motion animation, which is extremely nice indeed. As for everything else? Nothing leaps out of my mind if I'm honest, even within 30mins of watching it. I personally found the design of the titular character to be 'just' OK, same goes for Sebastian J. Cricket & Co.

I did like the casting of Ewan McGregor and David Bradley, particularly the latter. Christoph Waltz, meanwhile, is alright in his role. The more serious vibe of the film is a positive, though I don't think it comes across as deep as it intended (e.g. that last line from Cricket isn't, in my opinion, as effective as the film seems to think it is). As for the music: fine but forgettable, for me.

Again, it's passable. I just unfortunately didn't overly care as much as I wanted to for this story and its characters. The 1940 film did it slightly better, fwiw.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Tom11thDec 21, 2022
A wonderful, inspiring and extremely well made film! The amount of work put into this film is outstanding. Everyone should see it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
HabibiehakimDec 23, 2022
Still first time watching and i even already dare to say that i like and much prefer Guillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio more than the original 1940 Disney classic Pinocchio (forget about the Tom Hanks version that also came out this year becauseStill first time watching and i even already dare to say that i like and much prefer Guillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio more than the original 1940 Disney classic Pinocchio (forget about the Tom Hanks version that also came out this year because that is not a good one), and i love the original Disney film, i really do, and the obvious reason is definitely the story, if you want the more lighter story definitely choose the disney version even that still have some creepy dark things in it, but if you want the more serious darker story and for me i think a better story, a real true Pinocchio story that deserved to be told Guillermo Del Toro's way, which they are not afraid to show you everything, from violence, cruelness, a real true event that happened during the time led by Dictator Mussolini, and the most important one is death, makes it in some way more realistic and real and more powerful, Guillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio is different from the Disney Pinocchio, not only from the looks but the personality, people might found this version more childish and sometimes annoying or too much but isn't that what a real child should be especially the one made from real wood and doesn't know anything, i found Guillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio fascinatingly incredible, i really really adore this movie, story perspective was perfect, they nailed the darker and serious theme appropriately and powerfully and it works perfectly, the voice acting was perfect, and of course the stop-motion animation, and i swear to god if nobody told me that almost if not everything was stop-motion i wouldn't believe it because it doesn't look like it, and in a good way because everything just looks smooth and great, and the song also just beautiful and sometimes catchy, it was great, so overall Guillermo Del Toro's Pinocchio is a Masterpiece, it what's the true Pinocchio story should be told and like i mention before i will much prefer this version more than the original, it's one of the best films of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
GemsicleJan 8, 2023
Very chancy that Guillermo Del Toro will win best director AND animated feature at the Oscars.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DunkaccinoDec 21, 2022
The stop motion animation here gives the picture a much needed depth and crispiness. Pinocchio himself looks more like a real, lifelike puppet. The film is filled with a sense of wonder, fantasy, and magic. It’s everything that a live-actionThe stop motion animation here gives the picture a much needed depth and crispiness. Pinocchio himself looks more like a real, lifelike puppet. The film is filled with a sense of wonder, fantasy, and magic. It’s everything that a live-action adaptation of Pinocchio should be. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MarcologieJan 9, 2023
Pour moi un pur chef d’œuvre tant au niveau visuel que d'intelligence. C'est magnifique et sombre à la fois. La direction artistique est parfaitement maitrisée avec des mélanges stopmotion et arrière plans peints. Une imagerie à la fois dePour moi un pur chef d’œuvre tant au niveau visuel que d'intelligence. C'est magnifique et sombre à la fois. La direction artistique est parfaitement maitrisée avec des mélanges stopmotion et arrière plans peints. Une imagerie à la fois de conte, naïve et plein de détails mélée à celle des pires heures de l'histoire. L'histoire qui sait garder la part du conte de Carlo Collodi original tout en le plaçant dans l'Italie fasciste qui le fait résonner avec beaucoup de sens. C'est un sans faute. . ça fourmille d'idées et d'humour là où il faut, juste comme il faut. Il se permet même le luxe de faire un joli pied de nez (la scène avec le gant bleu sur le nez) à Disney. Il n'y a pas photo, ce Guillermo Del Toro enfonce et dépasse de très loin la ce qu'à fait Zemeckis Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
royalguy07Dec 21, 2022
Kinda a wild ride, I enjoyed it well enough the pace and story is good. Its kind of a Pinocchio story just because though and I see no actual reason.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RekiazDec 25, 2022
Más interesante que la de Disney si es. La trama es un cliché para niños, pero la animación es tan buena, así como el contexto y ambientación. El diseño de las espíritus del bosque me encantó
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
AmateurfilmVWRJan 20, 2023
Probably the best adaption done of Pinocchio done that i've seen in a long time. Visually stunning and wonderfully voiced by all involved, it's a wonderful interpretation that explores life, grief and what it means to be a real boy. GuillermoProbably the best adaption done of Pinocchio done that i've seen in a long time. Visually stunning and wonderfully voiced by all involved, it's a wonderful interpretation that explores life, grief and what it means to be a real boy. Guillermo is a genius Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ScergiohDec 30, 2022
Bela reimaginacao desse clássico
Parabéns ao del toro e equipe
Jepeto e pinochio desenvolvem uma relação incrível
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
N-o-naJan 3, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was an emotional rollercoaster. It made me laugh, made me feel annoyed and it made me cry. I love the twist that was added and the whole message of morality and life it portrayed. It shows loss and grief. The ending is one of a kind and unlike any other recreation that has been made. And although the ending made me cry like it was my last day to do so it was amazing. This movie is not for children who don't understand death. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
tykhololJan 6, 2023
Fantastic visuals, enjoyable pacing, nice twist on the story including the world wars. The depiction of facism in period Italy was done well. The voice acting was definitely a highlight. Another great release from Del Toro.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
oliolik_794Jan 20, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. bien en todo solo no me gusto mucho la parte donde revive pinocho pero el resto 10/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
NeoRock66Jan 23, 2023
Esta película es preciosa, es tan buena que hasta me hizo llorar en los primeros 12 minutos.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LuissDt2Dec 1, 2022
Del Toro says Ciao to previous versions of Pinocchio and makes his own with a deeper and sadder story that is carved from the same tree as the director's previous films, what was the result?, something so charmingly flawed that it manages toDel Toro says Ciao to previous versions of Pinocchio and makes his own with a deeper and sadder story that is carved from the same tree as the director's previous films, what was the result?, something so charmingly flawed that it manages to be a perfect movie from the mexican director Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
MattyIce34Nov 22, 2022
After the disaster that was Disney’s live-action Pinocchio earlier this year, this film is so dark and weird yet whimsical and hopeful. Great take on the oft-told story!
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
9
Emre_AlkanDec 9, 2022
It´s more than just an regular Pinocchio movie. The figures have more character, the Grandpa is three dimensional! Pinocchio was at the beginning really annoying but he has a development and his story end was phenomenal. I also liked theIt´s more than just an regular Pinocchio movie. The figures have more character, the Grandpa is three dimensional! Pinocchio was at the beginning really annoying but he has a development and his story end was phenomenal. I also liked the realistic perspective with the "Great War". The Story itself is quiet different than the Disney version but you should watch it yourself:) Very emotional, nice stop motion style, good story. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
ClutcherDec 7, 2022
This is the version of Pinocchio you should see, forget about the awful Disney remake version. A masterpiece.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
CoringaMateNov 11, 2022
O melhor filme de animação deste ano.
Guillermo del Toro é um gênio da porra.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulDec 10, 2022
La mejor película de Pinocho de toda la historia, superando incluso a la película animada clásica de Disney y dejando a su vez en pañales a todas las demás adaptaciones existentes habidas y por haber.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
7
eded9999Dec 12, 2022
I enjoy it, but without getting to love it.
I was kind of expecting something more dark, creepy or macabre.
I didn't like the musicals (for the most part) hate that from animated films. The stop-motion is beautifully done. And it give me some
I enjoy it, but without getting to love it.
I was kind of expecting something more dark, creepy or macabre.
I didn't like the musicals (for the most part) hate that from animated films.
The stop-motion is beautifully done. And it give me some real laughts in a couple of moments, like the Mussolini song.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Banjo_ReviewieDec 9, 2022
This is a very good movie and it's definitely the best adaptation of Pinocchio we've seen.

It's not as good as it probably could have been though, the pacing really isn't that great and there's a lot of potentially emotional moments that
This is a very good movie and it's definitely the best adaptation of Pinocchio we've seen.

It's not as good as it probably could have been though, the pacing really isn't that great and there's a lot of potentially emotional moments that don't really feel earned.

But the animation is stunning and if you're a fan of the original Pinocchio or disneys movie from the 40's, this is definitely something you should watch.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
rihegNov 26, 2022
Such a relief to take a break from modern identity-/politics, shoehorned into everything and just enjoying art with heart. Brilliant!
6 of 14 users found this helpful68
All this user's reviews
6
MetacriticOnurDec 13, 2022
admirable
[ ad-mer-uh-buhl ]

adjective
worthy of admiration; inspiring approval, reverence, or affection.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
RatedRexDec 13, 2022
Guillermo's version of Pinocchio could have been the best ever. The animation is outstanding, and the voice characterizations are first-class, especially the voice of Pinocchio. But it is excessive. I liked how the film incorporated bothGuillermo's version of Pinocchio could have been the best ever. The animation is outstanding, and the voice characterizations are first-class, especially the voice of Pinocchio. But it is excessive. I liked how the film incorporated both world wars into the story. Also, it was too long and poorly paced. I didn't care for the singing, and I didn't quite like the ending. Maybe it will get better on the second viewing. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryDec 12, 2022
This film's director is known for his unusual take on bizarre subjects (Nightmare Alley, The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth). For this adaptation, he's forsaken the Disneyfied version to stick closer to the original book. While much of theThis film's director is known for his unusual take on bizarre subjects (Nightmare Alley, The Shape of Water, Pan's Labyrinth). For this adaptation, he's forsaken the Disneyfied version to stick closer to the original book. While much of the basic plot is the same, there are some different approaches like setting it in Italy during Musolini's rise to power. There are also a few extremely inert songs that just slow things down. Del Toro's love of creepy character design plays out here, even in the look of the wooden boy (with echoes of Marvel's Groot). While the animation is attractive, the purpose of this film isn't clear. With the dark political edges and creepy creatures, it's not aimed at children and the only adults who might appreciate this are fans of the director or of animation. It's an interesting take on the tale, but a rather listless artistic endeavor. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
4
imthenoobDec 27, 2022
There is no denying that this movie looks stunning and is very well-acted. However, It is nothing that we haven't seen before when it comes to the story because there is really so little you can do when it comes to changing the sourceThere is no denying that this movie looks stunning and is very well-acted. However, It is nothing that we haven't seen before when it comes to the story because there is really so little you can do when it comes to changing the source material. I appreciate the effort in an attempt to be original but this one just didn't cut it for me. It was too long and a tad bit boring for my tastes. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
katezoeDec 22, 2022
Very strange all these great ratings and names? I love del Toro but not this one.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
kirkenderJan 3, 2023
A beautiful film that is incredibly boring. The animation is great! The character designs and the set pieces are wonderful. The music is lame, the songs are possibly the worst outside of basic children's entertainment, and the overall scriptA beautiful film that is incredibly boring. The animation is great! The character designs and the set pieces are wonderful. The music is lame, the songs are possibly the worst outside of basic children's entertainment, and the overall script is cringey. The voice acting is also mediocre. I'm not even comparing it to other Pinocchio adaptations, just on its own, it sucks. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
Siss0rmetimbersJan 9, 2023
I do not understand the hype for this movie. I made it about 20 minutes in and the visuals make my eyes want to puke. It reminds me of Team America World Police, but takes itself seriously and has a quarter of the frames per second. TheI do not understand the hype for this movie. I made it about 20 minutes in and the visuals make my eyes want to puke. It reminds me of Team America World Police, but takes itself seriously and has a quarter of the frames per second. The child is annoying like all children in movies and his voice is utterly grating. And to be honest, I really wasn't expecting the musical part, which I also hated. Didn't feel bad for the old man that waited 20 years for a tree to grow to make a toy out of it and was still sad, it was just stupid. Then Pinocchio started on his number and his annoying grating voice forced us to shut the computer because we couldn't stand it. Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
OrazioJan 8, 2023
Gooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooood
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
Mauro_LanariDec 31, 2022
(Mauro Lanari)
Why is del Toro obsessed with the traumatic effect that historical totalitarianisms have had on childhood? I stress: historical totalitarianisms and not current ones. Who cares? Why is he so incapable of broadening his
(Mauro Lanari)
Why is del Toro obsessed with the traumatic effect that historical totalitarianisms have had on childhood? I stress: historical totalitarianisms and not current ones. Who cares? Why is he so incapable of broadening his discourse as Don Milani in "L'obbedienza non è più una virtù" ("Obedience is no longer a virtue", 1965)? Why, to condemn blind and uncritical puppet-like obedience, does he parasitize Collodi instead of inventing an original story of his own? Does he exploit the brand? "A woody film" (Valerio Sammarco). "I cannot pontificate about it, but by the time I'm done, I will have done one movie, and it's all the movies I want. 'Hellboy' is as personal to me as 'Pan's Labyrinth'. They're tonally different, and yes, of course you can like one more than the other—the other one may seem banal or whatever it is that you don't like. But it really is part of the same movie. You make one movie. Hitchcock did one movie, all his life" (del Toro, "Twitch Film", January 15, 2013). The problem is all here: I'm used to authors, artists, scholars who follow an intellectual journey and publish only if and when they have something new or different to say. I don't waste time hearing always the same thing, albeit perhaps in changed and modified forms or styles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews