Summit Entertainment | Release Date: November 4, 2016
8.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 703 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
629
Mixed:
52
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
Seymour_MoviesNov 13, 2016
Hacksaw of course is a typical (for Gibson) heavy-handed, overly graphic, religious themed story about a man who overcomes adversity. The cinematography was excellent at times and disappointing at others. This movie was perfectly okay held upHacksaw of course is a typical (for Gibson) heavy-handed, overly graphic, religious themed story about a man who overcomes adversity. The cinematography was excellent at times and disappointing at others. This movie was perfectly okay held up by a decent performance by Garfield and a good by limited performance by Weaving. This movie brings nothing special, but might be slightly entertaining for people who like gore. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
6
RatedRexDec 3, 2016
"Hacksaw Ridge" plays as religious propaganda. This isn't the first time that Mel Gibson has overplay his religious hand. He did the same thing in "Passion of the Christ." Americans love religion and war. If you can intertwine both, and"Hacksaw Ridge" plays as religious propaganda. This isn't the first time that Mel Gibson has overplay his religious hand. He did the same thing in "Passion of the Christ." Americans love religion and war. If you can intertwine both, and then add a touching love story, that could be the recipe for box office success. The problem with "Hacksaw" is that it is way over the top. I don't think I've ever seen so many limbs blown off, or intestines spattered all over the place. View this at your own risk. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
5
rattusturpisFeb 21, 2017
Directing with sledgehammer. There is not one bit of subtlety in this film, not in the acting and certainly not in the directing. The fight scenes are quite good, but the rest is not.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
capt_morganNov 6, 2016
So I liked the movie; great acting; great fighting scenes, maybe a bit too much guys flying in the air on fire like it was pyrotechnics exhibition. The issue I had with the movie because it was so glaring, was the ridge and the rope ladder.So I liked the movie; great acting; great fighting scenes, maybe a bit too much guys flying in the air on fire like it was pyrotechnics exhibition. The issue I had with the movie because it was so glaring, was the ridge and the rope ladder. Through out the flick its shown that the enemy controlled the top of the ridge and several times patrolling the edge with the rope ladder but not burning it or cutting it down. What looked like the main and only access completely undefended by both sides - nonsense. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
5
dunnyoneJan 19, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Truly, this is the most spectacular was film since Saving Private Ryan. Once the action begins, it's non-stop, jaw dropping scenes until the film ends. Unfortunately, the first hour and a half is awful soap-opera style scene-setting that could have been told in a ten minute scene. Also, this is a deeply religious film, but what else can you expect from Mel Crucify me quick Gibson. Terrible first half (you've seen it all before), but outstanding second half. So that gets a 5 from me. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
dashtagMar 25, 2017
I was looking forward to this one, but Hacksaw Ridge was a disappointment. The story is good, but the way it's told is not. We do not see much fighting until about 90 minutes into the movie, and most of those 90 minutes are Desmond DossI was looking forward to this one, but Hacksaw Ridge was a disappointment. The story is good, but the way it's told is not. We do not see much fighting until about 90 minutes into the movie, and most of those 90 minutes are Desmond Doss thinking if he should go to war. The acting is not very good, and Andrew Garfield, the lead as Desmond is not very good. The war scenes are not very intense or realistic, because of all the bloodshed and gore that comes out. When we see severed limbs, it doesn't look very realistic, it just looks stupid. An overrated movie, Hacksaw Ridge is. Saving Private Ryan is better. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
DonMegaMar 26, 2017
The story wasn't good at all as it's political propaganda drivel.
My rating is solely based on the battle scenes. Up there with saving private ryan and black hawk down.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews