Miramax Films | Release Date: October 10, 2008
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 264 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
208
Mixed:
14
Negative:
42
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
ByeByeOct 8, 2008
I'm sorry but Sally was, in fact, annoying to me. If the movie is her performance, the movie deserves to be failed.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
MalcolmM.Oct 10, 2008
The always sunny disposition of the main character Poppy soon gets annoying. I like positive people, but you can have too much of a good thing. Nothing very interesting happens to Poppy - this is just a few days in the life of an eternal The always sunny disposition of the main character Poppy soon gets annoying. I like positive people, but you can have too much of a good thing. Nothing very interesting happens to Poppy - this is just a few days in the life of an eternal optimist. Nice does not equal interesting. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanG.Oct 10, 2008
A movie that will have you belly laughing. Poppy is one smart cookie. Sally Hawkins is brilliant.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
DanielW.Oct 20, 2008
You really have to give this movie a chance. I thought after 10 minutes that Leigh had committed one of the rare missteps of his career -- an investigation of happiness by a director who is more at home on the dark side of the soul. But You really have to give this movie a chance. I thought after 10 minutes that Leigh had committed one of the rare missteps of his career -- an investigation of happiness by a director who is more at home on the dark side of the soul. But spending time with Poppy makes you realize that her happiness is actually a strategy for dealing with the dark side, by someone who understands what it would mean to give into it. There has been much talk of a seemingly incongruous scene in which the main character has a surreal, unintelligible but nonetheless deeply felt conversation with a homeless man. I thought this was the centerpiece of the movie: Poppy is in a sense looking into the mirror at the shipwreck that can occur to a person if the commitment to happiness (and therefore, Leigh seems to be saying, to sanity) is not kept up. The cast is as always in Leigh's movies astonishing. Cancel the Oscars, deliver acting awards to Hawkins, Marsan, and to the wonderful Alexis Zegerman, and be done with it! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
JillK.Nov 1, 2008
Cliche script that good acting could not save. We were bored after 5 minutes. Cannot understand the the critical raves.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
1
JamesL.Nov 10, 2008
I haven't been this bored at a film since "Lost Highway". All three of us wanted to leave but we left that up to half of the audience. I do not know what else to tell you. Do not waste your time!
1 of 1 users found this helpful
5
HabsburgNov 24, 2008
Bland film, about a bland main character, played slightly better than bland by Sally Hawkins. I wanted my $10 and 2 hours back at films none to soon end.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
WillN.Nov 30, 2008
Inane and boring. Pointless and tiring.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
7
LinL.Jan 4, 2009
This is one of those odd movies you might find yourself liking better a couple of days later than you did while watching it. (While watching it, you sometimes want to wring Poppy's scrawny little neck.) Later, you recall Poppy's This is one of those odd movies you might find yourself liking better a couple of days later than you did while watching it. (While watching it, you sometimes want to wring Poppy's scrawny little neck.) Later, you recall Poppy's verve and loyalty and determination to persevere in a crappy world, and you really wish her the best. At times, the actors' improvising is all too obvious, as when the misanthropic driving instructor's rants go on and on and on. Great acting by Hawkins, so different from our glam and airbrushed U.S. starlets. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
AlekTJan 8, 2009
I, too, am surprised at some of the negative comments this film is receiving, but it's played to a mixed reaction from my own friends as well. I think that actually speaks to why Happy-Go-Lucky is so interesting. How you react to Poppy I, too, am surprised at some of the negative comments this film is receiving, but it's played to a mixed reaction from my own friends as well. I think that actually speaks to why Happy-Go-Lucky is so interesting. How you react to Poppy -- what you think of her -- says something about you, and the way you approach life, happiness, optimism, immaturity... Poppy isn't instantly lovable. She isn't perfect, and she isn't right. This movie isn't about sympathizing with or succumbing to Poppy's character; it's about understanding who she is, why, and how the people who keep her company -- who care for her -- do. She calls into question our memetic cynicism in a way that is sometimes refreshing, sometimes misguided, but she does it, because there's so much more to her than some of us jaded individuals are willing to see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
cindynevinsJan 28, 2009
So refreshing to see how Poppy views the ups and downs of each situation she encounters. With a positive attitude like hers it gives all of us hope who many times sees the glass "half empty"
1 of 1 users found this helpful
0
HerbertFeb 20, 2009
Quite possibly the worse movie ever made. Don't waste your time.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
8
MartinRMar 13, 2009
Quirky, innovative, unique, mainly funny, yet darkened by the amazing cab scenes. A Movie like no other.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SarahKMar 17, 2009
This movie is a gem. How often do we see a movie that actually examines the real-life risks of leading a happy life, and whether happiness itself makes it worth it? Also, the acting is extraordinary.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
3
EdgarMMar 25, 2009
Sally Hawkins saves this film from a 1 - though her character is tendentious and patently desperate in the way she approaches people. Poppy is that awful person we all know who thinks she is just too too clever and should just shut up and Sally Hawkins saves this film from a 1 - though her character is tendentious and patently desperate in the way she approaches people. Poppy is that awful person we all know who thinks she is just too too clever and should just shut up and ask her mum where she went wrong. And the contrived romance with the smarmy social worker is the last straw. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
FabioP.May 6, 2009
One of the most overrated movies i've ever seen. I've rented it after reading so many good reviews by the critics, and i was actually astonished by its emptiness. There basically isn't a story: the film is only made by a bunch One of the most overrated movies i've ever seen. I've rented it after reading so many good reviews by the critics, and i was actually astonished by its emptiness. There basically isn't a story: the film is only made by a bunch of sequences (not always related between each other) where Poppy -quite possibly the most annoying carachter i've ever seen in a movie- just keeps on laughing at people with no reason, blabbling nonsense and telling stupid jokes. There's no laughs, no tears, NOTHING in this movie. I just prayed it could end as quickly as possible, and then i was left with the only desire of punching Poppy on her always-smiling face. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
RobC.May 29, 2009
I loved this film. A refreshing change from your average Hollywood movie, this one made me think during, and after watching it. Some really interesting stuff in it - I think most people can relate to it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
9
MatthewAJun 10, 2009
What a charming and funny character study. I went into this film not expecting much, but i got a whole lot more out of it than intended. The leisurely pace may not be for all, but for those who stick with the film may get a lot out of it. What a charming and funny character study. I went into this film not expecting much, but i got a whole lot more out of it than intended. The leisurely pace may not be for all, but for those who stick with the film may get a lot out of it. Sally Hawkins plays "Poppy" a very friendly and good-spirited girl who interacts with a variety of other characters that can be found in our world. Some of these people who she comes in contact with are the exact opposite of her. This makes for very interesting interactions and funny dialogue. I was reading many of the negative reviews on this film and can understand why those people had a problem with it. They just plain don't like Poppy, and wouldn't like to spend more than an hour in her presence. I found her funny and charming, while others (and this i can understand) find her annoying. However, i feel that her character is undeniably valid, and even though you may not like her character, the audience should be willing to take a step into her shoes. The story is all about Poppy's life, so just be a part of it and SMILE! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
2
ElizaF.Apr 12, 2009
Passive aggression thy name is Poppy. Hate your driving instructor because he's grouchy and racist? Giggle and chatter through all his instructions and persist in wearing the boots he's begged you to leave off. Want to irritate the Passive aggression thy name is Poppy. Hate your driving instructor because he's grouchy and racist? Giggle and chatter through all his instructions and persist in wearing the boots he's begged you to leave off. Want to irritate the shop owner who's trying to concentrate on something? Keep right on talking to him, non-stop? Like to make your flat-mate uncomfortable? Look down her top and stroke her legs. Think your dance instructor is a bit over the top? Roll your eyes and make faces while she teaches Feel like testing the common sense to the absolute limits? Approach a mentally-ill homeless man in the midst of a psychotic episode and invade his space with your supremely annoying chatter and laugh at him. Do it all with a big self-satisfied grin and a wheezy breathless laugh at your own inane jokes and everyone will take your side and find you charming. Well, most people will. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
DaveWApr 19, 2009
For once a film that leaves me speechless. The best, most subtly intelligent movie I've seen in at least a year. Don't be fooled by the hype -- I hate sentimentality and forced optimism. That didn't get in the way of my loving For once a film that leaves me speechless. The best, most subtly intelligent movie I've seen in at least a year. Don't be fooled by the hype -- I hate sentimentality and forced optimism. That didn't get in the way of my loving this film. Great writing and directing combined with an astonishing cast, especially Sally Hawkins. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
7
PeterH.Apr 25, 2009
This entertaining film from Mike Leigh is more a portrait than a film, but it still holds up as an entertaining comedy.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
10
mikeMay 15, 2009
Very good performances. The man who played scott( Eddie Marsan) was very good. The scene where scott confronted poppy(Sally Hawkins) was so mind numbing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful
0
JordanPApr 10, 2011
Through a mis-click I accidentally gave Mike Leigh's 'Another Year' a zero score when it deserved perhaps a 3. This one, however deserves the zero I'm giving it. One reviewer asks whether it's possible to enjoy the company of the world's mostThrough a mis-click I accidentally gave Mike Leigh's 'Another Year' a zero score when it deserved perhaps a 3. This one, however deserves the zero I'm giving it. One reviewer asks whether it's possible to enjoy the company of the world's most irritating woman, yet somehow finds the room to say 'yes'. I can't imagine why. Not only are half her lines made up of jokes that aren't actually infused with anything approaching wit, but she punctuates EVERY SENTENCE with this inhaled half-giggle -- perhaps a gasp-laugh -- that made me eventually put the sound off. I would have to ask whether it's possible to enjoy a movie that also has absolutely no plot. The plot is an incidental background upon which 'real life' plays out in all its unedited glory. Why did Leigh leave us watching school teachers making paper masks for their next day's class for A-G-E-S? Did he take a comfort break with the camera still running, and then decide to just leave it in? There is sort-of a climax towards the end, but it is merely a rare hot-point in one of the story-threads that comes out of nowhere, rather than a moment of resolution. At two hours, this movie runs for at least 45 minutes too long.

The main character is meant to appear happy, and perhaps she is what passes for it in Manchester. She seems rather to be a ditsy dullard who lollops around in a haze of tired slang detritus and blips of half-one-liners, blindly committed to not giving a care about what anyone else requires of her. She is endlessly bubbly, but (except for her three scenes of near-compassion on which this aimless movie seems to hinge) she achieves this veneer of cheerfulness by acting resolutely in her own interest, as though happiness is merely a matter of allowing nothing to faze you and allowing nothing to make demands of you.

As with Another Year, Mike Leigh seems to be examining a theme about which he knows very little. The treatment of happiness and 'message' (which is too strong a word for any conclusions one might draw) are clumsy and poorly analysed. The director's commitment to filming 'Real Life TM' comes across as muddled, paceless, lazy film-making, and all of this might not have mattered too much if the characters were engaging. Making them annoying instead of charming was a directorial risk that is hard to justify, and it continues to mystify me that none of this seems to have mattered to the majority of critics.

The director wants to show us real people doing real things, with messy unresolved real-life events, and not the neat, cliched Hollywood climax and denouement. I wonder why we should bother going to the cinema for that. A desperately abysmal film, among the worst I've ever seen.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
BroyaxJan 19, 2017
C'est l'histoire d'une fille qui rigole tout le temps et qui nage dans le "bonheur", à moins que ce ne soit la simple "joie de vivre"... d'un certain côté, il en faut pour faire son boulot d'institutrice, partager l'appartement avec saC'est l'histoire d'une fille qui rigole tout le temps et qui nage dans le "bonheur", à moins que ce ne soit la simple "joie de vivre"... d'un certain côté, il en faut pour faire son boulot d'institutrice, partager l'appartement avec sa colocataire, se troncher au moins une fois par semaine (et plus si affinités), se coltiner la petite et la grande soeur. Le quotidien de bien des gens "heureux" et toujours de bonne humeur en somme... même si ça semble outré et trop "beau" pour être vrai.

Le problème est le suivant : a-t'on envie de voir ça à l'écran ? est-ce vraiment intéressant ? on peut se poser la question qui concerne d'ailleurs de nombreux films du genre "social". Le moniteur aigri de l'auto-école est le seul "bémol" dans la vie toute guillerette de Mademoiselle Fou-rire, car il est son exact contraire et semble du coup infiniment plus réaliste ou crédible qu'elle. Un professionnel du ciboulot ne manquerait pas de faire remarquer que la névropathe, c'est elle, car elle surcompense à plein régime tout en essayant de ramener le monde entier... à sa vision hilare du monde.

En tout cas, cette situation conflictuelle efface son sourire, au moins pour un temps. Il s'agit du seul bon point du film, toute cette partie avec le moniteur de conduite qui met en opposition le type dégoûté et la fille béate tête à claques, perdue dans son univers plein de couleurs et de blagues.

A part cela, le film ne fait qu'énumérer la litanie répétitive du bonheur de Mademoiselle Jememarre qui prend tout à la déconne. Et plus elle se marre... plus on s'ennuie !
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
JannieA.Oct 7, 2008
Truly a life changing experience. Sally Hawkins is brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
[Anonymous]Oct 11, 2008
Left after 20 min. Nice premise, but either bad script or bad acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
IanG.Oct 11, 2008
I'm not good at explaining why or not that I liked a movie, but I really enjoyed this. And of course it helps that Sally Hawkins really is one the best actresses around today.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DennisD.Oct 13, 2008
This might be cliche - -but it just made me feel happy -- and thought both Sally Hawkins and Eddie Marsan were brilliant -- give them both Oscars.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AliC.Oct 14, 2008
A fantastic performance in a great and thought-provoking film. Sure, she can get annoying occasionally, but that's because she is a real character - everyone can be annoying at times. The film though as a whole is definitely worth A fantastic performance in a great and thought-provoking film. Sure, she can get annoying occasionally, but that's because she is a real character - everyone can be annoying at times. The film though as a whole is definitely worth seeing - hilarious at times (I truly laughed out loud) and sad at others. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JacquiS.Oct 14, 2008
A wonderful film. I really didn't want it to end... I just wanted to stay with Poppy as I loved her. Fantastic!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NoraK.Oct 15, 2008
Ok not great, Poppy is annoying. Would not watch again.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SteveB.Oct 26, 2008
Left after 30 min., couldn't stand it. I couldn't help but see her from the driving instructor's point of view, jokey and unserious to the point of annoyance. Got a ticket refund :-) but wasted a Saturday night.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DaveOct 27, 2008
I really find it hard to believe some people giving this film 1's and 2's. Yes, Poppy was very upbeat, sometimes a bit annoyingly so. You have to look deeper at how she interacted with her two sisters and other relationships in her I really find it hard to believe some people giving this film 1's and 2's. Yes, Poppy was very upbeat, sometimes a bit annoyingly so. You have to look deeper at how she interacted with her two sisters and other relationships in her life. I think it really covered up some deep sown sadness that she felt, which was also mentioned by another poster here. Overall, an extremely good file with fantastic acting as is always the case with Mike Leigh films. He set the bar very high with "Secrets and Lies", and while not quite reaching that, he comes pretty close. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
GabeNov 1, 2008
It's been a while since I've wanted to walk out of a movie, but didn't want to break my girlfriend's heart. Major chick flick to the point of complete drivel, complete lack of a compelling plot line, any joke worth It's been a while since I've wanted to walk out of a movie, but didn't want to break my girlfriend's heart. Major chick flick to the point of complete drivel, complete lack of a compelling plot line, any joke worth repaying with a laugh, replete with horrific flutey mood music and chatty Cathy nonsensical blather. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DruU.Nov 2, 2008
The high critic scores should have been a give-away...stay away from this bomb. The critics nowadays only seem to like very negative, downer movies (such as Rachel Getting Married or The Dark Knight). Yes, those are well-acted movies but the The high critic scores should have been a give-away...stay away from this bomb. The critics nowadays only seem to like very negative, downer movies (such as Rachel Getting Married or The Dark Knight). Yes, those are well-acted movies but the word "happy" is nowhere in the title as it is here. Sally Hawkins gives an excellent performance (that's why I gave it one Star) but the randomness of the writing and the overly oppressive characters around her just drag this movie down. Once again, it comes down to the writing...a weak script cannot be saved by good acting. I did try to like this movie but after an hour and 35 minutes, I gave up. You can be beat me over the head only so long before I have to move on. Disney really blew it on this one. It could have been a real lesson movie if it had been more consistent or focused. Why, after having no fear of all the other challenges in her like, did Poppy suddenly seem so fearful under the bridge where she met the crazy guy talking to himself? So many wasted opportunities. It makes Bangkok Dangerous look like an Oscar contender. Save you $11 for something better. (This year, however, that may be difficult.) Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarianBNov 3, 2008
I was severely disappointed by this film because the trailer seemed so promising. In fact I didn't think a film could actually cause me physical pain (a terrible headache) nor make me think vicious thoughts about the characters. This I was severely disappointed by this film because the trailer seemed so promising. In fact I didn't think a film could actually cause me physical pain (a terrible headache) nor make me think vicious thoughts about the characters. This awful film did exactly that. The script was absolutely unconvincing in its optimistism or at its attempts at portraying realisitic London life (the cabbie for instance was to be pitied for his road rage because of Poppy). Unfortunately also it fulfilled tired stereotypes (white working class cabbie hates black boys, dabbles in conspiracy theories). A new angle would have been appreciated. The romance was forced (the social worker & Poppy exchanging numbers straight after just trying to get the audience to sympathise with an abused child.) Not professional or cute. The attempts to make the audience think that Poppy had some profound insight/kinship with the downtrodden (e.g. the homeless man) was pathetic because there was not a light of understanding between the two, just left with the mad ramblings of a cold and hungry man. The other characters lives (e.g. sister, flatmate, colleagues) were uninteresting and badly acted. The whole film seemed very black and white with everyone enraged with the world (not explained why) and Poppy 'happy' unconvingly. Irritating to the point of knased teeth. Avoid at all cost. I am sorry I rented it. Life affirming films have been done a whole lot better by some seriously good actors with thumpingly good scripts e.g. Audrey Hepburn etc. Indulge in those. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
SteveS.Nov 9, 2008
I considered walking out after 15 minutes. My fiance asked "What's this movie about?" I still have no idea myself. "You know what I mean?" If you made it though an hour of this movie you "know what I mean". Pointelss. Plotless. I considered walking out after 15 minutes. My fiance asked "What's this movie about?" I still have no idea myself. "You know what I mean?" If you made it though an hour of this movie you "know what I mean". Pointelss. Plotless. Soulless. And if you're a fan of the acting you can see the same thing for free volunteering at any mental ward. That's no disregard to mental patients, just the actors and people behing this movie. Happy Go Lucky? No, I was just Happy To Go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RandyC.Nov 11, 2008
I found the film to be incredibly funny and uplifting. The narrative style is non-traditional. Very little conflict, so for some it may seem boring. I was mesmerized by the organic quality of the acting, directing and camerawork. Sally I found the film to be incredibly funny and uplifting. The narrative style is non-traditional. Very little conflict, so for some it may seem boring. I was mesmerized by the organic quality of the acting, directing and camerawork. Sally Hawkins' performance was my fave of the year so far. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
tjNov 13, 2008
I think a lot of people just won't get this movie because it really isn't plot driven...so not much happens. Mike Leigh writes great dialogue...but it's low-key, slice of life writing. Don't expect any great drama or I think a lot of people just won't get this movie because it really isn't plot driven...so not much happens. Mike Leigh writes great dialogue...but it's low-key, slice of life writing. Don't expect any great drama or goofy, over the top comedy. My friend and I laughed a lot, but I noticed we were the only ones laughing. I think a lot of Americans are baffled by this type of film. I'm not sure why people have to love everything about the main character. If real life bores you then don't go. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JimR.Nov 15, 2008
This slice of life/character study by Mike Leigh gains an extra dimension from the question posed: what makes someone happy? But don't expect a traditional plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DavidNov 16, 2008
Some of these scores just further confirm to me of the dumbing down of America! People are so used to being fed garbage by Hollywood they can't appreciate a great film!!! I mean really some of these comments? "What's this movie Some of these scores just further confirm to me of the dumbing down of America! People are so used to being fed garbage by Hollywood they can't appreciate a great film!!! I mean really some of these comments? "What's this movie about?" Huh? I really don't think it's that hard to understand. Anyway, I hope to see some Oscar nominations for this, it is highly deserving. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnNov 16, 2008
Easily one of the best films of the year!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatrickMNov 16, 2008
The Slate review does say it best, though only toward the end: nothing of consequence happens in this movie. The main character (characterized flatly by Hawkins' strained study in obnoxious and defensive optimism) changes nothing and is The Slate review does say it best, though only toward the end: nothing of consequence happens in this movie. The main character (characterized flatly by Hawkins' strained study in obnoxious and defensive optimism) changes nothing and is changed by nothing. The script provides plenty of opportunities for conflict and even, hey, direction, but still somehow eschews either. Garbage. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
DennisL.Nov 19, 2008
The main character Poppy is supposed to be compassionate--but how can we sympathize with a flighty, sarcastic, non-stop-talking 30 year-old giggler? The villains are bad like cartoon villains are bad. And that's cheap and too easy. I The main character Poppy is supposed to be compassionate--but how can we sympathize with a flighty, sarcastic, non-stop-talking 30 year-old giggler? The villains are bad like cartoon villains are bad. And that's cheap and too easy. I wonder about the people who find this movie profound. Poppy is smugly superior, and her treatment of the driving instructor is criminal. A terrible movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
MCNov 21, 2008
As we were walking out of the theatre, another couple stopped us and asked what we thought of the film. We answered that we hadn't really enjoyed it, and they sighed relieved saying "After we read the reviews, we thought we were missing As we were walking out of the theatre, another couple stopped us and asked what we thought of the film. We answered that we hadn't really enjoyed it, and they sighed relieved saying "After we read the reviews, we thought we were missing something because we really didn't enjoy it." At the end of the film, you felt like you hadn't gotten anything from it; none of the characters had changed or learned, there was no narrative to be advanced, and you hadn't really learned much. It was like a two hour long Seinfeld episode where most of the humor was traded away for a small slice of artificial bubbliness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
JohnS.Nov 22, 2008
Had it been billed as a character study of a tragic heroine, I would have scheduled the movie for something besides a chance for comic relief. As it was, being force fed her torturous blytheness was far from relief.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
BillyS.Nov 22, 2008
I don't get it. Maybe the humor was over my head because there was no hilarity here. A couple chuckles was the most i could muster. Sally Hawkins was hardly the new face of comedy that I read about, I mean, come on, an Oscar Nomination? I don't get it. Maybe the humor was over my head because there was no hilarity here. A couple chuckles was the most i could muster. Sally Hawkins was hardly the new face of comedy that I read about, I mean, come on, an Oscar Nomination? She seemed to be doing a Tracy Ullman impersonations the whole movie and a poor one at that. Happy Go Lucky is the most over-rated movie I've seen this year. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
WilliamRNov 24, 2008
Some laugh out louds for sure, but she is so annoying we wanted to walk out not sure what all those great reviews are about (and I love Mike Leigh movies!)
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
BethC.Nov 24, 2008
Most people seem to either love or hate this film. It is basically a slice of life film, with a meandering plot that is frequently slow moving. The most interesting part is the interaction between Poppy and the driving instructor. At the Most people seem to either love or hate this film. It is basically a slice of life film, with a meandering plot that is frequently slow moving. The most interesting part is the interaction between Poppy and the driving instructor. At the beginning of the film I found Poppy rather irritating, and sympathized with the driving instructor for having to put up with her. Yet as the characters are further revealed to us, I found that Poppy really did grow on me. I didn't really see anyone as a villain - everybody is trying to cope as best as they can. And Leigh does leave us with something to think about - particularly on the nature of happiness. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
AdamC.Dec 1, 2008
Pointless exercise in futility. MC's user review sums it up nicely. Was I missing something? There's no progression of characters or plot in this film. Poppy makes whoopee. Who cares? Poppy's driving instructor gets peeved. Pointless exercise in futility. MC's user review sums it up nicely. Was I missing something? There's no progression of characters or plot in this film. Poppy makes whoopee. Who cares? Poppy's driving instructor gets peeved. Who cares? Professional reviewers are out of sync with public tastes on this one, and I usually at least understand why they rated a movie highly. Not so with this 2 hour snoozefest! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
TerriL.Dec 2, 2008
Not the worst movie ever - but pretty boring and meandering. It never starts and it never ends.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JosephDec 12, 2008
Glad to see that this film got several Golden Globe nominations. Can't believe some of the scores and comments about this film. I guess most people are so used to being spoon fed the story and plot that when they actually have to think Glad to see that this film got several Golden Globe nominations. Can't believe some of the scores and comments about this film. I guess most people are so used to being spoon fed the story and plot that when they actually have to think it is beyond them. Well, at least the Golden Globes got it right!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BobE.Dec 17, 2008
A brilliant film. Sally, who at first seems silly and gullible, later proves to have solved many of the subtle problems connected with being happy, e.g. what to do with disappointment, loss of her bike to a thief, and surly folks who turn A brilliant film. Sally, who at first seems silly and gullible, later proves to have solved many of the subtle problems connected with being happy, e.g. what to do with disappointment, loss of her bike to a thief, and surly folks who turn aside her innocent friendly gestures with anger. The real test is her wrathful driving instructor: exquisitely well-portrayed. Sally Hawkin's is so gentle with him! But his pain is so deep she can't reach him. And here we come to the essence of the story: She must choose to put some limits to her compassion - and move on with her life. That she does this with such grace is a marvelous piece of acting. She is a fascinating character. There is a great deal for a Buddhist to think about in Happy-Go-Lucky. Please see this film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DanielRDec 22, 2008
A delightful, charming little movie. Hawkins' performance is miraculous. How this movie can't make you happy is beyond me.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
Happy-Go-LuckyStormDec 28, 2008
After seeing that this film received a rating of "universal acclaim," I expected it would be a buoyant tonic to the holidays. But no, it's a long, aggravating affair, with an inane and irritating main character and the equally After seeing that this film received a rating of "universal acclaim," I expected it would be a buoyant tonic to the holidays. But no, it's a long, aggravating affair, with an inane and irritating main character and the equally irritating and vapid people who comprise her circle of friends, relatives, and professional (?) associates. Poppy dresses like a cheap hooker and has the depth of a three year old. We are supposed to love her for her cockeyed optimism, but she comes across as an optimistic idiot who wanders into seriously dangerous neighborhoods for no apparent reason, bounces on a trampoline, lives in chaos, and has a double-digit IQ at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
RossWDec 30, 2008
This is an extremely bad movie, made seemingly worse by the misleading critical reception. Neither the favorable reviews nor the trailers share what you're really getting from this film: a showcase for a better-than-average David Brent This is an extremely bad movie, made seemingly worse by the misleading critical reception. Neither the favorable reviews nor the trailers share what you're really getting from this film: a showcase for a better-than-average David Brent (UK's The Office) impersonation from Sally Hawkins. We left halfway through and skimmed through the rest after downloading it at home. Just terrible. Make sure your evening has a backup plan if you leave the house to see this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
FrankCJan 3, 2009
Affectation is not acting. The film is one long reaction shot focused on Poppy, and Hawkins's attempt at portraying happiness falls flat; her breathy, fake laughs grate and her voice prickles. Huge disappointment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EvanS.Jan 15, 2009
5.9? Really? We're in a sad state if audiences is unable to see a movie like this and see it's amazing soul. This is one of the few movies I've seen in years that has a real heart. God bless Mike Leigh. I wish more American 5.9? Really? We're in a sad state if audiences is unable to see a movie like this and see it's amazing soul. This is one of the few movies I've seen in years that has a real heart. God bless Mike Leigh. I wish more American filmmakers could match his talent and will. There are some who come close (Ang Lee and "The Ice Storm" to think of one), but he stands alone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
zizek'ssuccesorJan 19, 2009
This movie is ideology at its purest ... critical thinking is mocked embodied by scott and this distance (not engaging with the world) that poppy portrays is symbolic of western buddhism. Hence she can participate in the oppressive matrix of This movie is ideology at its purest ... critical thinking is mocked embodied by scott and this distance (not engaging with the world) that poppy portrays is symbolic of western buddhism. Hence she can participate in the oppressive matrix of virtual capitalism and keep her hands clean. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
TomK.Jan 24, 2009
Wonderful, thought provoking movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
SamS.Jan 26, 2009
Utterly grating.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
HugoS.Jan 26, 2009
Terrible script, no direction, no form, stereotype characters, annoying lead character, pretentious and extremely boring. The 2 points are for the cab driver - great actor. Do not watch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
JayH.Mar 4, 2009
It's a sweet story with well developed characters and fine writing, but I sure don't know what all the fuss is about. Sally Hawkins is good but I found her performance to be nothing extraordinary. Cute story, not much more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HollycMar 24, 2009
Interesting that most people seem to either love or hate this film. I don't generally enjoy Mike Leigh Films---they have no plot, and revel in "every-day-ness" and HGL is still in that vane, though I think it had a lot more plot then Interesting that most people seem to either love or hate this film. I don't generally enjoy Mike Leigh Films---they have no plot, and revel in "every-day-ness" and HGL is still in that vane, though I think it had a lot more plot then usual. Like many, I started off thinking this character was annoying--and like a lot of people who try to be open and generous--positive, sometimes it comes across as irritating and an affectation (so I liked how Hawkins played this character& forces you to react to her). However, the real "plot" surrounds the "tests" Poppy goes through w/ others as we follow her. I do think she genuinely grows throughout the film and I did warm to her. I thought the driving instructor was the centerpiece of the story, the basic antithesis of her--so that dynamic was incredible to watch unfold. Overall, I thought Hawkins and the driving guy--Marsen were brilliant. Liked the character study and meditation on optimism/happiness, but don't particularly enjoy how Leigh tells "stories". Worth a rental. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
JanCMar 24, 2009
I agree with Hugo: "Terrible script, ... stereotype characters, annoying lead character, pretentious and extremely boring. The 2 points are for the driver - great actor. Do not watch." Let me add it's pretentious in the lead character I agree with Hugo: "Terrible script, ... stereotype characters, annoying lead character, pretentious and extremely boring. The 2 points are for the driver - great actor. Do not watch." Let me add it's pretentious in the lead character being "politically correct" and the driving teaching being politically incorrect & psycho to prove the point. This is such an annoying movie - I can't believe they got the money to make something so flimsy and a waste of time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
PatWMar 25, 2009
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
ShaneCJul 4, 2009
Learned next to nothing about main character (Polly) over the course of the entire film. After an hour felt more irritated by her than interested or engaged. Scott (psychotic driving instructor) was much more interesting but too little of the plot.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
bram29Feb 2, 2013
the main reason i find this movie inadequate is the same reason it got made in the first place. because the main character is always optimistic. i find that in most of those cases, it makes her naive and shallow. and it's trying to prove thethe main reason i find this movie inadequate is the same reason it got made in the first place. because the main character is always optimistic. i find that in most of those cases, it makes her naive and shallow. and it's trying to prove the point that constant cheeriness is a positive factor. all the rest in the movie is adequate. i find the driving instructor to be a very competent character, even though the movie tried to paint him as the character we're supposed to frown at. but i guess it gets a 5 because i have some sort of inner hatred against giggling women. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JudgeMathewNov 12, 2013
The acting is wonderful for the most part and the characters are quite believable. What's funny is that no matter how hard I look, there's no actual plot to the film. The general idea is to view a jokingly happy woman's life with differentThe acting is wonderful for the most part and the characters are quite believable. What's funny is that no matter how hard I look, there's no actual plot to the film. The general idea is to view a jokingly happy woman's life with different perspectives and understanding...with the help of several sub-plots. Despite the fact there isn't a reason to watch Happy-Go-Lucky, it's oddly enjoyable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PhoeboBuffayMay 23, 2014
HAPPY-GO-LUCKY is easily one of the best films I've ever seen so far. It's od-ly enjoyable and I smile every time I watch this.
Sally Hawkins is amazingly brilliant! Her performance as (like the movie's title) Happy-Go-Lucky woman and humble
HAPPY-GO-LUCKY is easily one of the best films I've ever seen so far. It's od-ly enjoyable and I smile every time I watch this.
Sally Hawkins is amazingly brilliant! Her performance as (like the movie's title) Happy-Go-Lucky woman and humble person melted my heart. The movie has a beautiful message for us.
Again, Sally Hawkins is the heart and soul of this hilarious, powerful and funny Britain picture.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
beingryanjudeSep 2, 2014
Another achievement in film for Mike Leigh, Happy-Go-Lucky is an unusual look into the life of one of the most peculiar women in all of Britain. Sally Hawkins is marvelous--I think we'll be seeing more of her.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
amheretojudgeJan 23, 2018
en-ra-ha..

Happy-Go-Lucky It takes a lot of effort and a smart writer behind the screen to lead an audience through a 2 hour of journey with just conversations or talkative sequences and addition to that focusing only on a single character
en-ra-ha..

Happy-Go-Lucky

It takes a lot of effort and a smart writer behind the screen to lead an audience through a 2 hour of journey with just conversations or talkative sequences and addition to that focusing only on a single character which makers tend to fail to do so for the audience may get tired of it but in here Mike Leigh has got it right and it bodes well for the tone of the movie too. Happy-Go-Lucky is, of course a writers work but in here if not for Sally Hawkins it would have been difficult for Mike to pull it off as Sally is everything that the plot, character and the environment that Happy-Go-Lucky seeks. Sally Hawkins steals the show with her rugged, soothing and sometimes funny acts and justifies herself as one of the finest actress in our time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
DMoormanAug 11, 2019
Character studyof an intriguing person who wants to be helpfl to others and often succeeds.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews