STX Entertainment | Release Date: April 8, 2016
7.8
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 528 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
413
Mixed:
71
Negative:
44
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
JackMApr 15, 2016
I walked out of this one. I would appreciate this film if it had a better told story worth caring about. Here, I was given nothing. This first-person view will just be a short lived gimmick that gave me motion sickness. This is the same asI walked out of this one. I would appreciate this film if it had a better told story worth caring about. Here, I was given nothing. This first-person view will just be a short lived gimmick that gave me motion sickness. This is the same as just watching someone play a video game. The positive user reviews must all come from video game junkies who found a much cheaper alternative. Or you can just watch games on Twitch or Youtube for free. Expand
7 of 16 users found this helpful79
All this user's reviews
0
TyronJamesMay 21, 2016
Hardcore Henry is by far the worst action flick of all time.With a stupid plot and undeniably worst written characters with dialogues which are just cringe worthy,performances that are just bland.It failed to be innovative with a FPS stupidHardcore Henry is by far the worst action flick of all time.With a stupid plot and undeniably worst written characters with dialogues which are just cringe worthy,performances that are just bland.It failed to be innovative with a FPS stupid shots with action set pieces which are just ugly. Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
2
BuddahApr 8, 2016
What a crapfest. I was 15 minutes in and I was hoping it would just end. I paid, and I do not like leaving early, but if there was ever a movie I wanted to walk out on it was this one. This is simply a video game from the perspective ofWhat a crapfest. I was 15 minutes in and I was hoping it would just end. I paid, and I do not like leaving early, but if there was ever a movie I wanted to walk out on it was this one. This is simply a video game from the perspective of Hardcore Henry. Yes, I knew what it was about. I had seen plenty of sneak peaks over the last couple of months to peak my interest, but after a while you can only take so much of that kind of shaky camera perspective. This movie makes the Blair Witch Project genre of reality perspective films look like still footage in comparison. There are a lot of positive reviews of this movie, but I have to imagine it is from those people who love this type of video game massacre. I do not mind violence in movies, but to kill at a rate of 10 people per minute of film scene is crazy. Henry is mute and so the majority of the film he is just a killing spree being guided by the mysterious Jimmy. I won't spoil the movie for you, but if you are not a video game junkie that blood lusts, then you might want to go watch a less violent movie like Friday the 13th. At least your eyes will be able to focus on the murderous demon and his piles of death. Expand
9 of 34 users found this helpful925
All this user's reviews
2
moviecritic68Apr 22, 2016
I'm guessing the intrigue for some is the virtual reality effect due to the camera being placed on the character. This was the only reason I scored it 2 rather than 0. The thrill of the story itself was no where to be found. We walked outI'm guessing the intrigue for some is the virtual reality effect due to the camera being placed on the character. This was the only reason I scored it 2 rather than 0. The thrill of the story itself was no where to be found. We walked out about 40 minutes in along with other disappointed patrons. If you have trusted & agreed with my other reviews then I suggest ignoring this 8.5 rating and save your money. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
SoakerCityDec 12, 2016
Anything this divisive HAS to be good. To people who get it, its the finest wine. To people who don't get it, its like a dog trying to watch TV. It just doesn't register. Very split along generational lines, I'd assume. Gamers will get it.Anything this divisive HAS to be good. To people who get it, its the finest wine. To people who don't get it, its like a dog trying to watch TV. It just doesn't register. Very split along generational lines, I'd assume. Gamers will get it. People who appreciate innovation, stunts, and camera/technical work will think its the second coming.

Personally, I was blown away and must disagree with any critic who does not give this film a very strong review. Its either way ahead of its time, or everyone else has just utterly failed to deliver novel action, and video game-to-movie synchronicity. This shoestring budget, sophmore job by Ilya Naishuller will go down in history as the first movie that got so very much right for the first time. Its more than a gimmick, every action movie will have most of these elements, and soon. This is the way of the future, there's no doubt.
Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
CoolfreezApr 15, 2016
Too bad there is no score less that "0"
~1.5 hours of nonstop violence being acted upon the camera or performed by the camera agains an ever growing army of bad guys.If your idea of entertainment is to watch someone else play a silly action
Too bad there is no score less that "0"
~1.5 hours of nonstop violence being acted upon the camera or performed by the camera agains an ever growing army of bad guys.If your idea of entertainment is to watch someone else play a silly action video game, going from level 1-10 in 90 minutes, then you'll probably love this movie. Who was the moron who decided it was a good idea to make this movie? I would not put this movie on my resume if I had anything to do with it!
Expand
4 of 25 users found this helpful421
All this user's reviews
1
AndresLunaAug 8, 2016
I recommend you not to waste your time with this film. I simply had to quit the cinema several minutes before this film ended. I just couldn't keep watching this. It was vulgar, dead people falling around all the time. The camera was almostI recommend you not to waste your time with this film. I simply had to quit the cinema several minutes before this film ended. I just couldn't keep watching this. It was vulgar, dead people falling around all the time. The camera was almost stained with blood. And the filming style makes it very hard and boring to watch. It was shot from the perspective of only one camera. Unfortunately I didn't get my money back. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
GarbageManJrJul 30, 2016
This movie gave me permanent vertigo... If you ever want to simulate the feeling of post tilt-a-whirl motion sickness, this is the movie for you. I really wanted this movie to be good what with the super cool FPS-movie gimmick it had going,This movie gave me permanent vertigo... If you ever want to simulate the feeling of post tilt-a-whirl motion sickness, this is the movie for you. I really wanted this movie to be good what with the super cool FPS-movie gimmick it had going, but it's just garbage in pretty much every category. Obviously this movie wasn't trying to be some blockbuster high budget movie, but you can't even enjoy the FPS action because it is just so poorly filmed which was the whole point of the movie. Stablise. Your. Footage.

Also the villain was written to seem creepy but he just ended up cringey. Like he graduated a C+ student from the Tommy Wiseau University of Cringe. A prestigious establishment no doubt.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews