Focus Features | Release Date: November 1, 2019
6.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 131 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
2
Negative:
48
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JAmiekennersonNov 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The negative reviews for this movie mainly come from people who have not actually seen the film and due to xenophobic attitudes to Cynthia Erivo due to her being British and of Nigerian descent. Despite what they are spewing online Cynthia has not expressed any hateful attitudes to African American people and she has cleared up any misunderstanding people have. However, this small number of xenophobic Americans have shown despicable behavior by setting out to ruin this movie's online ratings. The film is a great showcase of a great American hero and should be seen by every American citizen. The star Cynthia Erivo gives a moving and passionate lead performance and deserves every award available to her. Despite the importance and significance of this movie, these small-minded xenophobic people have now claimed that the black slave catcher character who attempts to kill Harriet leading for her former master to kill him is a 'white savior' theme and that the film attempts to make black men the villain. This is uneqiviquoly untrue and shows that these people will do and say whatever it takes to attempt to ruin this movie. In reality, the black slave catcher is one of many black male characters, the character of Harriet's father and William Still are positive portrayals of black men who take up much more of the film than the slave catcher which these people ignore. The idea of a white savior is also false as Harriet is not saved out of respect or goodness, but is saved for the slave masters own good. Overall the campaign to ruin this movie by certain black Americans displays why it is so difficult for black movies such as this to be made as for some reason certain individuals do not allow for them to be made and told. My final point is to ignore the hateful people attempting to destroy this movie and see it for yourself it is a great movie and has many positives. Expand
39 of 39 users found this helpful390
All this user's reviews
10
delineoNov 2, 2019
This movie showcased Harriet's faith, courage and perseverance. She is a true American hero, and I'm so so so glad that there's *finally* a movie that's been made about her. Highly recommended.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
10
catiedanielleNov 3, 2019
Great movie phenomenal acting! Everyone clapped at the end of the movie! A must see movie!
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
10
craigbryantNov 3, 2019
This is a Must See Movie! Disregard any negative reviews you read, they're written to sabotage and dissuade you from seeing the movie. If you want to know what it means to move in the Spirit, watch it.
15 of 16 users found this helpful151
All this user's reviews
8
RatedRexNov 1, 2019
It might be time for Metacritic to discontinue its "User Score", because hateful people use it to try to undermine or sabotage movies that don't fit their political agenda. Most of the time the users with the "0" ratings have never even seenIt might be time for Metacritic to discontinue its "User Score", because hateful people use it to try to undermine or sabotage movies that don't fit their political agenda. Most of the time the users with the "0" ratings have never even seen the movie. Its a shame how hateful people have become. "Harriet" is a pretty good movie. The historical importance of the story, alone, makes it a must-see for anyone interested in the life of one of America's greatest treasures. The acting is outstanding. Cynthia Erivo, who plays Harriet Tubman, deserves recognition for her performance. "Harriet" does have a bit of a made-for-TV feel to it, but that doesn't take away from its cinematic experience. 8 out of 10. Expand
18 of 20 users found this helpful182
All this user's reviews
10
KatrinaENov 1, 2019
Harriet is one of the most inspirational movies I have ever seen. Cynthia Erivo’s performance is Oscar caliber, and the entire cast is superlative. A movie about one of history’s great heroes is long overdue and so timely with the strugglesHarriet is one of the most inspirational movies I have ever seen. Cynthia Erivo’s performance is Oscar caliber, and the entire cast is superlative. A movie about one of history’s great heroes is long overdue and so timely with the struggles for equality that still plague our nation. Brilliant, beautiful, stunning. Don’t miss it. Expand
15 of 17 users found this helpful152
All this user's reviews
9
SarahWillaimsonNov 5, 2019
Most of the user reviews of this movie are from people who have not seen these films and are attempting to lower its score if you look at their profiles many only created accounts to leave negativity on this film. This is unfortunate as theMost of the user reviews of this movie are from people who have not seen these films and are attempting to lower its score if you look at their profiles many only created accounts to leave negativity on this film. This is unfortunate as the film itself is actually very well made with an outstanding lead performance by Cynthia Erivo Expand
13 of 13 users found this helpful130
All this user's reviews
10
AmyMArtNov 5, 2019
Ignore the bad reviews they are from people who are ignorant and haven't seen the film which is a beautiful piece of art about one the most important and courageous people in American history wonderfully portrayed by the amazing lead actressIgnore the bad reviews they are from people who are ignorant and haven't seen the film which is a beautiful piece of art about one the most important and courageous people in American history wonderfully portrayed by the amazing lead actress Cynthia Erivo. She deserves all the awards for this portrayal, one of the best performances of this century so far. An Oscar win wouldn't be sufficient reward for the work Cynthia did in this film. Expand
11 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
MikeaaaNov 5, 2019
An amazing movie about an amazing woman, it can and should be seen by everybody. Hopefully, this will be seen by many young people too as it is also extremely inspiring.
10 of 10 users found this helpful100
All this user's reviews
10
SamPeNov 5, 2019
Don't believe most of these reviews, they are from a conspiracy to silence this film and are from people who have not even seen the film. This is a good film with an outstanding lead in Cynthia Erivo. This story needs to be told and it'sDon't believe most of these reviews, they are from a conspiracy to silence this film and are from people who have not even seen the film. This is a good film with an outstanding lead in Cynthia Erivo. This story needs to be told and it's about time Hollywood starts to tell these stories more often. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
WilliamLovesNov 5, 2019
The majority of the negative reviews here are lies, this is a great movie a fantastic lead. This is a movie everybody can enjoy.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
7
MetaflixNov 6, 2019
Harriet Tubman has near-universal name recognition. Soon, she’ll even be replacing Andrew Jackson on the $20 bill. But the events of her life, which is why her name is so recognized and why she deserves to be featured on currency, are farHarriet Tubman has near-universal name recognition. Soon, she’ll even be replacing Andrew Jackson on the $20 bill. But the events of her life, which is why her name is so recognized and why she deserves to be featured on currency, are far less known. This makes seeing Kasi Lemmons’ ‘Harriet’ more valuable than just spending a couple of hours watching a movie. It’s also like spending time at an educational lecture, gaining a deeper understanding of our history, our country, and ourselves.

Cynthia Erivo gives a phenomenal performance as Harriet and the story itself is truly inspirational. Throughout the film, however, the dialogue often stands out like a sore thumb, dragging the film’s overall rating down. It either comes off as far too cliche, mundane, or basic compared to everything else in the movie, making it that much more (painfully) noticeable.

Overall, we still recommend seeing ‘Harriet’ for the reasons noted above, but just wish the pencil used to write it were a little sharper.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
CurtisClark5Nov 5, 2019
Outstanding performance from the lead actress Cynthia Erivo elevates this film into greatness, one of the most inspiring films I've seen in a long time.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Cameron225869Nov 5, 2019
Amazing, outstanding, fantastic, there are not enough adjectives to explain how good this film is. Cynthia deserves the Oscar and ever another award out there for her performance in this.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
TVJerryNov 7, 2019
After Harriet Tubman (Cynthia Erivo) escaped from slavery, her dedication to freedom took her on a remarkable journey that saved hundreds of others. Erivo is in almost every scene, driving the story with earnest resolution. The rather prosaicAfter Harriet Tubman (Cynthia Erivo) escaped from slavery, her dedication to freedom took her on a remarkable journey that saved hundreds of others. Erivo is in almost every scene, driving the story with earnest resolution. The rather prosaic script and no especially inspired direction turn this into a somewhat staid history lesson. It lacks an urgent power that might have driven it into great drama. An inspiring story of strength and dedication, but not an inspiring movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantNov 7, 2019
While the storytelling approach is rather safe and formulaic, this heroic biopic nevertheless delivers an inspiring tale of a courageous soul who successfully helped liberate an oppressed people. Cynthia Erivo delivers a knock-out,While the storytelling approach is rather safe and formulaic, this heroic biopic nevertheless delivers an inspiring tale of a courageous soul who successfully helped liberate an oppressed people. Cynthia Erivo delivers a knock-out, award-worthy performance as the celebrated title character, backed by a fine ensemble cast of supporting players, all dressed up in a fine period piece production design. Admittedly the dialogue is a tad preachy at times, and the film's overdramatic soundtrack frequently overpowers the mood of many scenes. However, for those seeking uplifting viewing options, this tribute to Harriet Tubman is well worth the time. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Madison5598Nov 6, 2019
A great film, Fantastic performances by the cast particularly Cynthia erivo.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
JakedaholmesNov 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Her sister die
She freed 750 slaves
Nnndjdjdndnx
.dbdbdnsdghjjjhccfvhhsacmngv.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
QadoshNov 10, 2019
One of the best movies I have seen in a long time! No filthy language was used, not that it is ever needed. It was great to see how much Harriet trusted in the LORD and how He guided her and protected her. A beautiful film portrayed in theOne of the best movies I have seen in a long time! No filthy language was used, not that it is ever needed. It was great to see how much Harriet trusted in the LORD and how He guided her and protected her. A beautiful film portrayed in the midst of a very dark time in our history. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
LubisNov 1, 2019
Loved this movie. I wish there were more movies like this being produced. Heroism. Bravery. Fearlessness. Sacrifice. Love. Compassion. Courage. Daring. Not a Superhero movie. A real live amazing woman who overcame impossible odds to do theLoved this movie. I wish there were more movies like this being produced. Heroism. Bravery. Fearlessness. Sacrifice. Love. Compassion. Courage. Daring. Not a Superhero movie. A real live amazing woman who overcame impossible odds to do the miraculous! Go see this movie! You will love it! Expand
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
10
annaebNov 2, 2019
An inspiring and powerful movie about a true American hero! A compelling performance by Cynthia Erivo and an overall incredible cast.
13 of 14 users found this helpful131
All this user's reviews
0
lps25Nov 1, 2019
This "movie" is complete TRASH and ahistorical. Shame on all who are involved. Shame on them.
5 of 23 users found this helpful518
All this user's reviews
0
BennySegalNov 1, 2019
Horrible movie. The acting was terrible and it was made to make the white liberals and conservatives comfortable. White savior scenes all in the film. Typical Hollywood filth.
4 of 20 users found this helpful416
All this user's reviews
3
Snickers19380Nov 4, 2019
Contrived fictional storyline that missed so much of what made this woman so amazing, Such a shame. Seems very little effort was made banking everything on the hopes of people paying to see a movie about an historical legend. The only oneContrived fictional storyline that missed so much of what made this woman so amazing, Such a shame. Seems very little effort was made banking everything on the hopes of people paying to see a movie about an historical legend. The only one benefiting from this movie is Hollywood. Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
0
dlew84Nov 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. the movie twist the story of a legendary black heroine in the worst way possible. making the black man the cause of her problems instead of the slave master. even going as far as changing how she ended up with her seizures. she wasn't accidently hit with an iron weight. she was beating with a cast iron skillet till near death by her slave owner. Hollywood please stop everything you touch is turned into crap.look at the Mises movie if you don't believe me. Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
0
luminaxsterNov 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film's cinematographer was awful, with non existent photography. Harriet story is convoluted with unnecessary God's vision to the point I thought she was a mutant and not being brain injured by her slavers. It has empowering moments, but don't let that fool, she deserves better. The acting is amazing but the direction and script buried this film, and, pointing to the civil war enterprise as part of the story in the trailers is a disgrace, it is like 30s tops. Expand
1 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
kwiseNov 1, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't know where to begin to express my disgust with this movie about one of my personal heroes and pride of Black America.

In Harriet, Focus Features, the producers (Debra Morgan Chase, Daniela Taplin Lundberg), the director Kasi Lemmons, and writer Gregory Allen Howard have managed to turn the story and legacy of an unbelievably strong champion of freedom and warrior against white supremacy and completely de-fang, sterilize, and outright disrespect Harriet Tubman an the history Black Americans as a whole.

Going back almost a year, my expectations for this movie was already low out of the gate. This was mainly due to the controversial casting of Cynthia Erivo, someone who has a history of making very disparaging remarks about Black Americans. Many attempt to shrug these off as just “old tweets” but Cynthia again stepped in it in 2018 by co-signing several insensitive tweets toward Black Americans by her friend Luvvie Ajaye. Even as recently as August of this year Ms. Erivo again showed her contempt and disconnect from Black Americans with her tweets co-signing the misguided and thoughtless tweets from her co-star Janelle Monae regarding the voting habits of Black Americans. This incident showcased the character of these two “Harriet” stars, wherein Janelle Monae offered a sincere, introspective apology, Cynthia Erivo chose to play the victim for those that were offended by HER words.

I wish the casting of a problematic star were the least of this movie’s problems; but it isn’t. Harriet goes on to tell such a watered-down, “safe,” fictionalized accounting of Harriet Tubman’s life that they may have well just changed the name of the main character. It is a sickening revisionist take on history and the brutality of the institution of American Chattel Slavery. As we speak the historical consultant for the film Dr. Kate Clifford Larson (who, for the record, is white) is receiving tons of backlash regarding the antagonist “Bigger Long” who not only didn’t exist, but the notion of black bounty hunters is something that is completely ahistorical and irresponsible for a so-called historian to try and push to the masses. Speaking of history the Bigger Long character is also upsetting from a writing standpoint as the writers for this movie are surely well versed with Richard Wright’s groundbreaking novel “Native Son” and the book’s protagonist: Bigger Thomas. In the creation of the character Bigger Long, this movie managed to kill 2 birds with 1 stone. You managed to demonize the Black man while simultaneously besmirching the work of a legendary Black American author.

In the slave master that is hunting Harriet down, the writers of “Harriet” give us more of the “tortured-secretly-in-love-but-brutal” slave master that we’ve seen before in Steve McQueen’s “12 Years a Slave.” It is this slave master who ultimately kills the very “Black Bounty Hunter” Bigger Long just when he goes to kill Harriet. Many online have characterized this as making “Harriet” a “white savior” movie, which is a bit of a stretch, but technically Harriet’s life in the film was indeed saved by a white slave master, which no matter what the motivation of the character is a WTF writing choice and reeks of sanitizing and easing white movie-goers’ guilt or yucky feelings they may have. All in all “Harriet” is a slap in the face to any and all black people on this planet, in particular the descendants of those enslaved in American chattel slavery and survivors of Jim Crow. This movie should never have been made and it’s evident to anyone familiar with Black American History that its sole purpose is to further poison and corrupt the way Black Americans are seen and understood.
Expand
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
0
TforrestNov 3, 2019
Garbage...Not a true repensetation of what really happened... Totally unacceptable. Period
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
1
AminahcmNov 3, 2019
How does a movie about an iconic black American hero who did so much to free her people from white supremacy/American slavery, invent a fictionalized black bounty hunter who turns out to be the villain of the story? What an insult toHow does a movie about an iconic black American hero who did so much to free her people from white supremacy/American slavery, invent a fictionalized black bounty hunter who turns out to be the villain of the story? What an insult to Foundational Black Americans. Expand
1 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
4
GreatMartinNov 1, 2019
I knew very little about Harriet Taubman and except for the ending credits I didn't learn more about her. I was caught up in the movie, and the performance of Cynthia Erivo as Harriet aka Misty and Moses, until her first time as a leaderI knew very little about Harriet Taubman and except for the ending credits I didn't learn more about her. I was caught up in the movie, and the performance of Cynthia Erivo as Harriet aka Misty and Moses, until her first time as a leader sneaking slaves from Baltimore to Philadelphia.

It has been said that Harriet had been beaten so badly as a child, including having a metal weight thrown at her head, that gave her a traumatic head wound that would make have her strange visions and revelations from God. Without getting into a discussion of religion her walking across, not on, a river took me out of the movie and the other visions and too many coincidences.

From the beginning, and through the movie, there is a repeated scene of 3 girls being taken away from their family and somehow until just now when I read wikipedia about Harriet Taubman I didn't know that they were her sisters.

"Harriet" in many ways is a by the book, Hollywood biography and skips many heavy issues regarding slavery, the Underground Railroad, how both black and white societies worked for and against her and what I was expecting to be a very emotional movie. We don't get to know what she is thinking or feeling before, during and/or after her 'visions'.

I am glad I went to see "Harriet" because it made me more interested into getting her true story, if it is known, and the performance by Cynthia Erivo plus some very strong performances from supporting performers.
Expand
1 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
0
agathareadsNov 4, 2019
Dangerous divisive propaganda demonize black men by portraying #ADOS as brutal slave catcher and white slave master as savior. Denigrating historical narrative to minimize the atrocities of slavery. Used Harriet Tubman's name to promote aDangerous divisive propaganda demonize black men by portraying #ADOS as brutal slave catcher and white slave master as savior. Denigrating historical narrative to minimize the atrocities of slavery. Used Harriet Tubman's name to promote a fictional movie that nobody would pay to see if it wasn't called, "Harriet". Black men were not slave catchers!! Travesty, a horrible representation of a revered black historical figure. Emphasize idea black men evil, problem, villain thereby sanctioning the shooting of black men. Character did not depict the fierce countenance of Harriet Tubman. Character came of fake. Expand
1 of 28 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
6
tropicAcesNov 1, 2019
It’s an important movie, but it’s also a very safe one. It’s historically accurate, but not realistic. The whole thing just comes off like a TV movie, and Ervio is outshined in her own film but Odom and Hunter Hall.
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
2
McgregorNov 10, 2019
Would be more at home in the fantasy section, a lot of wild deviation from the facts.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ZZBEARNov 10, 2019
I prefer historical movies not to take to many liberty's to increase the drama like this movie did.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
1
RockdownplusNov 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is historically inaccurate. It contains a fictional bounty hunter character who hunts Harriet and tries to kill her. The kicker is that the bounty hunter is a BLACK man. To add insult to injury a white slave owner has to rescue Harriet from the bounty hunter!!!!! What a mess Expand
0 of 32 users found this helpful032
All this user's reviews
10
syaniNov 9, 2019
Such a great movie. My friend and I loved it so much. Inspirational. Historical. Just amazing in many ways we want to convince our school to take us on a field trip to see it I loved it. It is really worth the money and I suggest going it wasSuch a great movie. My friend and I loved it so much. Inspirational. Historical. Just amazing in many ways we want to convince our school to take us on a field trip to see it I loved it. It is really worth the money and I suggest going it was a great movie Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
BottstarNov 10, 2019
Everyone in the world should see this movie! Will help you to understand today's state of affairs. Simply amazing!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HselfNov 10, 2019
Love love this movie! Harriet displayed so much courage and belief in God which benefited so many people. A true hero.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GabbryielleNov 11, 2019
This movie is a must-see!!! It is very thrilling and inspiring. I have watched it 3 times already. Cynthia Erivo did a fantastic job at portraying Harriet. You can really learn a whole lot from this movie in such a short amount of time. IThis movie is a must-see!!! It is very thrilling and inspiring. I have watched it 3 times already. Cynthia Erivo did a fantastic job at portraying Harriet. You can really learn a whole lot from this movie in such a short amount of time. I rate it 10/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews