A24 | Release Date: June 8, 2018
7.2
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 886 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
634
Mixed:
122
Negative:
130
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
goggomobileSep 13, 2018
I have no idea what the hype was about. The first 15 minutes were intruging enough but then it becomes slow & boring with a sudden jump scare everyone saw coming (any horror buff worth his/her salt, knows what's coming when a character sticksI have no idea what the hype was about. The first 15 minutes were intruging enough but then it becomes slow & boring with a sudden jump scare everyone saw coming (any horror buff worth his/her salt, knows what's coming when a character sticks their head out of a moving car window). Then again it slows down to a snails pace with the most bizarre rushed laughable cliched ending I haven't seen since the 60's. I expected a lot more especially with the calibre of the actors in the movie and seriously we could've done without the granny/grandad nudity, won't be able to unsee that! The movie reminded me of the highly rated Rosmary's Baby plot, but that's where the similarities end. Very, Very, Very disappointing. Expand
34 of 41 users found this helpful347
All this user's reviews
1
clichedpioneerJul 28, 2019
A popular YouTuber (Stuckmanized) when reviewing the second movie installment from this director (Midsommar) admitted when he went to see Hereditary that and I quote: "On opening weekend I got together tonnes of people to come & see it withA popular YouTuber (Stuckmanized) when reviewing the second movie installment from this director (Midsommar) admitted when he went to see Hereditary that and I quote: "On opening weekend I got together tonnes of people to come & see it with me because I wanted to share it with them and none of them liked it, hahahaha cough cough." The reviewer was the only one who enjoyed the movie, (funny how he didn't mention this little tid bit on his Hereditary review video). Sums up what I think about so called professional critics and this movie, they don't seem to relate to the average person, I'm done listening to them. Expand
19 of 23 users found this helpful194
All this user's reviews
2
brokenpolymorphJun 17, 2018
The performances were incredible. Film was dragged down by slow pacing with a lack of tension. It couldn't balance the family drama, psychological horror and supernatural horror well, which led to an unintentionally comedic finale. The highsThe performances were incredible. Film was dragged down by slow pacing with a lack of tension. It couldn't balance the family drama, psychological horror and supernatural horror well, which led to an unintentionally comedic finale. The highs are very high, but it only makes the more consistent lows stand out more Expand
16 of 21 users found this helpful165
All this user's reviews
1
clifbarJun 20, 2018
Not scary. two hours felt like four. very slow paced. disappointing ending.
19 of 25 users found this helpful196
All this user's reviews
1
linvailJun 13, 2018
Although I believe that the story had potential, the narrative was a total disaster. I honestly do not understand the critic's notes.
22 of 29 users found this helpful227
All this user's reviews
3
IconV1Jun 20, 2018
Creepy? Yes. Scary? No. A great story at least? Also no. I did laugh at inappropriate times though.
21 of 28 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
0
Nickw321Jun 16, 2018
0 plain and simple. This movie is about as scary as a bowl of jello. The critics must be getting paid off to give this movie a good review. Just like the other stupid A24 movie the witch. Don’t worry about reading spoilers here this movie0 plain and simple. This movie is about as scary as a bowl of jello. The critics must be getting paid off to give this movie a good review. Just like the other stupid A24 movie the witch. Don’t worry about reading spoilers here this movie will spoil 2 hours of your day. Expand
18 of 24 users found this helpful186
All this user's reviews
0
siglou25Aug 16, 2018
Terrible horror movie. Doesn't really ever get to the point. You feel like you're waiting for the climax but it never happens. The acting is subpar at best and the story is terrible. You'll be more confused and disturbed than scared.
15 of 20 users found this helpful155
All this user's reviews
1
Warrior777Jun 17, 2018
There are a couple of veteran actors in this film. Their performance is not sub-par. At first glance, the story seems to be inexorably intriguing. Occasionally, a movie is created, and there is a stark absence of any redeeming qualities.There are a couple of veteran actors in this film. Their performance is not sub-par. At first glance, the story seems to be inexorably intriguing. Occasionally, a movie is created, and there is a stark absence of any redeeming qualities. "Hereditary" falls into this category. Some classic horror films contain some sort of message of hope or light, but not so with this one. It is a hostile, harrowing, disturbing black hole. I still feel ambivalent about even posting this review. There is trepidation that this may actually encourage someone to go out and see the film. I would urge you not to see it at all, because it is relentlessly dark. It is very emotionally draining to watch. There is no excitement. There is no hope in it. There is only blackness. In particular, if you are a believer, don't waste your time on this film. The pervasive feeling of evil crawls into your skin and refuses to leave. Hollywood has decent material that comes out of it from time to time, but "Hereditary" is purely and strictly obscene. If you have kids, it is not appropriate at all. Take your family to see "Ferdinand" instead. I am not condemning horror films in general. These observations apply specifically to "Hereditary." Don't watch it. Expand
15 of 20 users found this helpful155
All this user's reviews
2
TotalLostCauseJun 11, 2018
This movie was less of the slow burn suspense thriller-horror that is was advertised as and more or a meandering waste of time just waiting for a MST3K episode. About a quarter of the theater left before the movie ended and everyone else atThis movie was less of the slow burn suspense thriller-horror that is was advertised as and more or a meandering waste of time just waiting for a MST3K episode. About a quarter of the theater left before the movie ended and everyone else at the end just before the credits rolled. I waited through some of the credits as I was sure I had been Shyamalan'd again

The story was lackluster with no characters being likable and only two being very sympathetic. Half of the movie I found myself hoping something awful would happen to most of the main cast just to get rid of them and move the plot along to something more interesting. There are several major plot holes and multiple instances of "horror movie logic". Several things that feel like they will be major plot points early in the film have no real relevance and are only there to set a creepy stage for the rest of the film. A few of the cast members have acting talent shine through during rare moments of this film but with the terrible writing it could not save this one.

The music and sound effects in this movie are frequently done hamfistedly. The music will go from low suspenseful rumble, to climactic Jaws is about to appear, to overbearing, to questioning if this will cause long term hearing damage; all with little regard to what is happening on screen. The special effects are all over the place with some being done well and others missing the mark completely. One of the stand outs is a point late in the film that should look like an apparition crawling quickly along the wall and instead looks like a panicked bug in a bed sheet being drug through the background on a wire. When this is part of the final climactic build up for your slow burn horror thriller and several members of the audience can't help but audibly laugh you have failed somewhere along the way.

The single redeeming part of this movie is the cinematography. This film has some amazing sweeps and pans that help to guide your focus through whatever the poor writing wants you to feel is important. It has wonderful use of depth of field. There are some beautiful and technically demanding shots including the opening longshot. This is not enough to suggest this movie in its entirety and but may mean shots from this could be used to study cinematography.

In the end I can not comprehend the hype on this one. I spent more than an hour after seeing this movie thinking and talking with the person that saw the movie with me. We desperately tried to find some less evident metaphor or greater meaning. Despite our best efforts this is just a poor horror movie with an amazing marketing team.
Expand
23 of 31 users found this helpful238
All this user's reviews
2
dontgointhereJun 16, 2018
I also joined this site just to be able to thumbs up people who reviewed this negatively. I'm too emotionally and financially drained (after just getting home from spending my one night out a week on this) to have anything coherent to add.
23 of 31 users found this helpful238
All this user's reviews
0
mitokioAug 28, 2018
Terrifying movie. Truly frightening. That it got such high scores. Clearly something has possessed the critics/people who gave it a high score. That might even explain the ending. Sigh. Remember Rosemary's Baby (and even the Omen) where youTerrifying movie. Truly frightening. That it got such high scores. Clearly something has possessed the critics/people who gave it a high score. That might even explain the ending. Sigh. Remember Rosemary's Baby (and even the Omen) where you didn't need crap-ass special effects to make something that was really unnerving, just talented writers/directors/actors? I pine for those days. The only way this could be considered clever is if, since it's set in Utah, it's a thinly veiled exploration of Mormonism. I did enjoy muttering, "You're terrible Muriel," every time Toni Collette did something stupid. Expand
17 of 23 users found this helpful176
All this user's reviews
3
ShadezofblueJul 7, 2018
One of the most disappointing movie experiences I've had in years. The reviews were so positive and the premise made this to appear to be top-knotch film. It started out promising, but the end was so rediculously cliche. The only reason I'mOne of the most disappointing movie experiences I've had in years. The reviews were so positive and the premise made this to appear to be top-knotch film. It started out promising, but the end was so rediculously cliche. The only reason I'm not leaving a 0 is the movie started out quite intriguing. If would have had to leave the movie 15 minutes early I'd probably have left a good review, but I didn't. Oh, well. Expand
17 of 23 users found this helpful176
All this user's reviews
1
marcaevansJun 26, 2018
What. On. Earth. This film has been massively hyped up. The storyline was flat and there were plot holes all over the place. If you haven't seen, don't bother.
16 of 22 users found this helpful166
All this user's reviews
2
GenjiraJun 23, 2018
Deeply silly, like watching a Monty Python film but with a lower budget and less class. I love Toni Collette but she had nothing to work with in this cack-handed mishmash of awfulness that reaches for the elegance of Babadook but collapsesDeeply silly, like watching a Monty Python film but with a lower budget and less class. I love Toni Collette but she had nothing to work with in this cack-handed mishmash of awfulness that reaches for the elegance of Babadook but collapses into a heap of gibberish. Collette's mom character has to fake anguish and depression (i.e. to herself) but she didn't quite manage to pull it off and just seemed fake, like she was putting in a "for scale" performance. The only redeeming factor was Milly Shapiro. Her performance was captivating and the film could have done with a lot more of her in it.

The most disturbing thing about Hereditary is that so many people find it disturbing. I shall choose to see it as an allegory for the rise of Donald Trump, which is the only way it makes sense.
Expand
18 of 25 users found this helpful187
All this user's reviews
0
MetallichickJun 19, 2018
Possibly the worse 'Horror' film I have ever seen. Extremely boring with only a few scenes with some decent content. What a complete waste of time, that I will never get back & a waste of money. Surely this rubbish isn't what we are nowPossibly the worse 'Horror' film I have ever seen. Extremely boring with only a few scenes with some decent content. What a complete waste of time, that I will never get back & a waste of money. Surely this rubbish isn't what we are now calling horror? If so I fear this was my last! I'm now definitely convinced the critics are paid to give good reviews because no one that understands a quality horror would give this a glowing review?! Do yourselves a favour ,instead of wasting 2 hours bored out of your mind watching this tripe, go & watch some Scooby Doo. Not only will you be more likely to get more scares, you will probably enjoy it more.... Expand
18 of 25 users found this helpful187
All this user's reviews
0
supernova19Jun 15, 2018
I don't know how this got such rave reviews. This movie was awful. Probably the worst movie I've seen this year.
25 of 35 users found this helpful2510
All this user's reviews
0
kolesnikowJun 13, 2018
I also created a metacritic account just to give this movie a 0. It's officially the worst movie that has been released during my lifetime so far. Every negative review you see here is accurate. Anyone who thought it was good should beI also created a metacritic account just to give this movie a 0. It's officially the worst movie that has been released during my lifetime so far. Every negative review you see here is accurate. Anyone who thought it was good should be ashamed of themself. What a trashfest. Words fail me, I am trembling with disappointment, a piece of me has died, all the positive reviews and comparisons to horror classics have obliterated my faith in humanity. It has single-handedly ruined the horror genre. Expand
21 of 30 users found this helpful219
All this user's reviews
2
ianchrayJun 11, 2018
That was hot garbage. Unless you like pointless plots and needless gore. Terrible film.
24 of 35 users found this helpful2411
All this user's reviews
2
paxfoolJun 12, 2018
I created an account on Metacritic just to review this movie, so that should tell you something. It’s a massive disappointment and I’m not sure why it’s getting such rave reviews. Plenty of other movies have had similar plots and handled themI created an account on Metacritic just to review this movie, so that should tell you something. It’s a massive disappointment and I’m not sure why it’s getting such rave reviews. Plenty of other movies have had similar plots and handled them in much more interesting ways. The movie takes absolutely forever to get going, and when it does finally start to move a bit, it’s okay at best, and mind-numbingly eyerolling at worst. If you’ve seen more than five horror movies in your life, you’ll decipher the plot within the first act. There are absolutely no interesting surprises here.

If you’re looking for a good horror movie, go see either of the Conjuring movies. Much better than this giant heaping pile of disappointment.
Expand
24 of 35 users found this helpful2411
All this user's reviews
2
eberman123Jun 9, 2018
Not good. The only redeeming quality was the high quality actors in the movie. The story and plot was inconsistent and ridiculous. The film was highly disappointing.
20 of 30 users found this helpful2010
All this user's reviews
5
beebo42Jun 8, 2018
Overrated. There are a few disturbing scenes but they take a LONG time coming with a whole lot of not much in between. It's a fairly long movie and could easily have been edited down 45 minutes without losing anything. I'm done listening toOverrated. There are a few disturbing scenes but they take a LONG time coming with a whole lot of not much in between. It's a fairly long movie and could easily have been edited down 45 minutes without losing anything. I'm done listening to critics about scary movies, apparently they scare too easily. Expand
27 of 41 users found this helpful2714
All this user's reviews
2
loriwildeJun 9, 2018
Slow and ponderous in the beginning and then totally ridiculous at the end. There were a few genuine scares but I completely did not get the hype. Maybe I've seen too many better made movies in the same ilk.
27 of 42 users found this helpful2715
All this user's reviews
0
inktomiJun 9, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My girlfriend picked this one and she now owes me big. This tired, old storyline was done before. Rosemarys Baby, The Exorcist, The Omen, Rob Zombies Lords of Salem and The Witch are all examples of similar storylines. Been there, done that. This was a boring, slow burn movie that needed narration at the end by a supporting character to explain to the audience what they just sat through two hours for. If you get a chance, miss it or rent it down the road. There were a few shocking scenes, but other than that I was watching a plane crash in slow motion. You know its going to, just not sure whos going to survive it. Thats the main reason I didn't walk out.

Two positive things I can say are the acting is good and the cinematography was done well too. It's actually a very, professional well made movie. Just a very boring one with a hokey, trope filled and overused story.
Expand
21 of 33 users found this helpful2112
All this user's reviews
0
toddatJun 10, 2018
I really like horror movies. I was very much looking forward to this when I saw the reviews and Metacritic score. I was ferociously disappointed. What a horrendously bad movie. Gabriel Bryne! Wake up!! Toni Collette settle down there's noI really like horror movies. I was very much looking forward to this when I saw the reviews and Metacritic score. I was ferociously disappointed. What a horrendously bad movie. Gabriel Bryne! Wake up!! Toni Collette settle down there's no more scenery for you to chew on. Story was ridiculous and the audience I was in was laughing at the parts that were supposed to be "scary". I've seen at least 10 horror movies in the last 5 years alone that were light years better than this. Oculus anyone? Expand
27 of 44 users found this helpful2717
All this user's reviews
3
jackronnerJun 9, 2018
Can't believe the critics' high marks. Dull, listless, glacially slow with only a few cheap "BOO" moments. Tangled plot is impossible to follow. The characters are either chewing the scenery or are impossible patient or detached. BigCan't believe the critics' high marks. Dull, listless, glacially slow with only a few cheap "BOO" moments. Tangled plot is impossible to follow. The characters are either chewing the scenery or are impossible patient or detached. Big disappointment. Would have left but for the forlorn hope of a clarifying ending and chills that never materialized. Expand
25 of 42 users found this helpful2517
All this user's reviews
10
ProtodeusJun 8, 2018
An unholy, relentless, demented film that is emotionally torturous and visually deranged. It will make you feel almost defiled after you leave the theater.

I have watched a lot of 'critically acclaimed' horror movies. The Witch, The
An unholy, relentless, demented film that is emotionally torturous and visually deranged. It will make you feel almost defiled after you leave the theater.

I have watched a lot of 'critically acclaimed' horror movies. The Witch, The Babadook, It Follows etc... I honestly didn't care for any of them. This movie lived up to the hype. I can't really explain why it's so horrifying, but it just feels so... wrong. The way the film captures absolute grief and despair made my emotions churn, and there are some moments in the final 20 minutes of the film that were absolutely horrifying. Of course, this film is nothing without Toni Collette, who gives a performance worthy of an Academy Award. She walks a very fine line between portraying an emotionally traumatized, psychologically damaged woman and not hamming it up to the point where it's funny. I'm actually not kidding, I think it's one of the best performances from an actress that I have ever seen. Alex Wolff also gives an absolutely wonderful performance. The movie is a slow burn, but it's never boring. It's never pretentious either, which I felt was the case with 'The Witch' and 'It Comes at Night'. I honestly think that it is equal to the Exorcist in its horrific imagery. It's really one of the best horror films I've seen in a very long time, and I highly recommend it.
Expand
38 of 76 users found this helpful3838
All this user's reviews
4
dr_heartlessJun 8, 2018
What a huge letdown. This movie is a dull, watered down Rosemary's Baby. It tells you exactly what it's about in the first 10 minutes, so it kills any surprise or mystery. The charters are flat, lifeless so never cared about anyone or whatWhat a huge letdown. This movie is a dull, watered down Rosemary's Baby. It tells you exactly what it's about in the first 10 minutes, so it kills any surprise or mystery. The charters are flat, lifeless so never cared about anyone or what happens to them. I did like the little girl's click noise and the gross toys she made. I got a replica of one at my screening, so that was cool. By the end, everyone in my screening was laughing at how goofy the movie had become. Skip this, see a Quiet Place. Expand
18 of 36 users found this helpful1818
All this user's reviews
3
moviemitch96Jun 8, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is probably an unpopular opinion, but I honestly don't care: A24 doesn't know how to do horror! Most people seem to think 'The Witch' is absolutely terrifying and amazing whereas I not only found it to be one of THE WORST movies I've ever seen, but also zero percent scary and not even remotely creepy, and I also thought it was the worst unintentional comedy I'd ever seen since 2006s 'The Wicker Man' with Nic Cage! The year after, with 'It Comes at Night', I personally thought that had a much creepier atmosphere and more intriguing premise and was slightly better overall, but the final product left much to be desired. Well, with this latest (and waaayyy too overhyped) addition to A24's filmography, they've once again proven to me that they don't really know a good or truly scary horror movie when they see one, at least in my opinion they don't. Much like 'The Witch' and 'It Comes at Night', it was such a slow burn with little or no horror until the very end, and none of these films have any moments of horror whatsoever if you ask me. Furthermore, it certainly didn't help that not only did this remind me an awful lot of 'The Witch', but it had so many predictable moments and tropes that we've seen time and again in so many previous horror films. Silly-looking naked old people (yep 'The Witch' and 'It Follows' had that too), creepy smiling dead people (the Insidious films did this much better), possessed people climbing walls and hiding in ceiling corners (sounds like just about every possession movie out there), possessed people banging their heads on desks, walls, etc. (seen that a million times), a dog getting killed (A24's infamous for that at this point), a possessed person joining a ridiculous-looking witch-like coven or cult at the very end of the film after most or all of their family's been slaughtered (you guessed it, 'The Witch' did it too!) Overall, the only positive it had going for it was Toni Colette's fierce performance. Everyone else was pretty underwhelming to be honest. And like I said before, this movie just isn't scary and there's literally nothing new to see here that hasn't been done before, whether better or worse. And on one final note: A24, no more horror films please!!! You're just not good at it! I don't care what anyone else says! Expand
20 of 41 users found this helpful2021
All this user's reviews
1
DayveJun 8, 2018
This was the worst movie I have seen in a long time. Seriously, I do not know what the critics were watching, but it could not have been the same movie I saw. I was ready to leave after 15 minutes, hoped it would get better but it gotThis was the worst movie I have seen in a long time. Seriously, I do not know what the critics were watching, but it could not have been the same movie I saw. I was ready to leave after 15 minutes, hoped it would get better but it got worse. The actors were not cast well, and I could not have cared less about them. What was with the odd girl, horrible casting job unless they were going for hideous and someone nobody would care about. I would not see this again unless I was paid a ton of money. Go only if you have a serious popcorn craving that you cannot fix at home. Expand
25 of 52 users found this helpful2527
All this user's reviews
1
MoviecrocodileAug 12, 2019
This movie is trash. Please don’t waste 2 hours of your life watching this movie with non-sensical plot. The last 10 minutes of the movie could’ve happened without the preceding first 90 minutes of nonsense. Don’t do this to yourself. -WithThis movie is trash. Please don’t waste 2 hours of your life watching this movie with non-sensical plot. The last 10 minutes of the movie could’ve happened without the preceding first 90 minutes of nonsense. Don’t do this to yourself. -With love,
MovieCrocodile •<
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
5
OdinMovieBlogMar 5, 2019
This has to be one of the most pretentious films I have ever seen with the only thing special about it being that it is a horror film. everything feels like it is done for the sake of doing it and not to actually serve a purpose even thoughThis has to be one of the most pretentious films I have ever seen with the only thing special about it being that it is a horror film. everything feels like it is done for the sake of doing it and not to actually serve a purpose even though the acting is quite good. It should be no surprise that many pretentious critics would put this as one of their favorite movies of the year. if you're looking to be creeped out for no good damn reason this is the film for you. C- Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
dherridgeApr 2, 2019
This movie was a top hit on Amazon Prime for scary movies. Watching this movie I expected the normal scary movie plot but man was I wrong. The beginning seemed quite normal to me but soon after everything turned around. Some very disturbingThis movie was a top hit on Amazon Prime for scary movies. Watching this movie I expected the normal scary movie plot but man was I wrong. The beginning seemed quite normal to me but soon after everything turned around. Some very disturbing scenes occur but never do they have a smooth transition. I felt like I waited with a whole lot of nothing between each big scene. For being a scary movie I'd say its more of a very messed up movie that leaves the viewer on edge and continues to get more and more confusing. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
saldro1Jul 25, 2019
I'm quite an horror movie fan. So I'm not used to over criticize the productions of a genre seldom really good, but often quite enjoyable.
That's not the case. Good production, solid actors, but really a total nonsense. Is not scary at all,
I'm quite an horror movie fan. So I'm not used to over criticize the productions of a genre seldom really good, but often quite enjoyable.
That's not the case. Good production, solid actors, but really a total nonsense. Is not scary at all, it's too long, too slow. Maybe there are ambitions of something more of "just" an horror movie but is a total failure to me. Movies like "It Follows" or "The Babadook" are, in quite the same mood, incomparably superior.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
AthanasiosTSep 10, 2019
Good, but not special, and certainly not up to the critics' reviews. Well directed, shot and acted, but a little cliche, on the "terrifying" scenes and the plot. Too slow for my taste, it finally achieved a good rhythm at the final 10-15 minutes.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
treestandSep 26, 2019
Hereditary is a traumatic experience. It's great. As a lifelong horror fan who rarely enjoys horror films, Hereditary was able to do what I thought horror films no longer could, horrify me. Yeh, there are plenty of films that can make meHereditary is a traumatic experience. It's great. As a lifelong horror fan who rarely enjoys horror films, Hereditary was able to do what I thought horror films no longer could, horrify me. Yeh, there are plenty of films that can make me jump, or creepy orchestral groans that will get my hair raised, but these effects aren't the result of legitimate horror so much as being conned by a well tuned parlor trick. Hereditary is different. First of all, it is a great film. The direction, cinematography, sound design and acting are all stellar throughout. Many of the film's stand out moments are in its quietest, least menacing scenes. But those aren't the scenes that will stick with you. Hereditary isn't just a popcorn jump scare flick. It will chill you to your bone, haunt your dreams, and lay dormant as a menacing memory months or years after viewing it. Also, Toni Collette was born for this role, and it's worth watching for her scream-acting alone. Hereditary is an instant classic in the realm of 'higher horror'. Hereditary is a masterwork of the genre that brings back hope for weird heady entertainment that will haunt you for a lifetime. Enjoy, and prepare to get **** up in the best ways possible. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
nHeat87Jan 22, 2019
Look, I like a good thriller like the next guy, but this was a whole lot of nonsense bound by a thinly veiled story line. I MADE myself watch this whole movie because I expected with all the "good" hype, it had to get better ... but itLook, I like a good thriller like the next guy, but this was a whole lot of nonsense bound by a thinly veiled story line. I MADE myself watch this whole movie because I expected with all the "good" hype, it had to get better ... but it didn't. Sadly, I can't figure out how to get these 127 minutes back ... Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
1
tuanis90Dec 2, 2018
Completely overrated. Felt like losing hours of my life. Toni Collete was the only one who actually delivered some great acting, the rest of the performances were terrible. There were no dencent thrills or good suspence moments (I know it isCompletely overrated. Felt like losing hours of my life. Toni Collete was the only one who actually delivered some great acting, the rest of the performances were terrible. There were no dencent thrills or good suspence moments (I know it is psychological horror, but there are far better movies like Get Out that actually delivered a far superior experience. This might have been an acceptable movie if it was at most 1 hour long, but they did not have enough material for 2 hours. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
3
Troubledkid97Dec 27, 2018
This is garbage. If you are into poltergeist, and spiritual mumbo jumbo, then this movie is for you. If you are looking for a somewhat coherent plot and a good pay off in the end, the like of Saw or A quiet place, you are going to beThis is garbage. If you are into poltergeist, and spiritual mumbo jumbo, then this movie is for you. If you are looking for a somewhat coherent plot and a good pay off in the end, the like of Saw or A quiet place, you are going to be disappointed. It has a few good scares though. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
1
AMasterpieceFanJan 16, 2019
Garbage convoluted third act (seriously a demon reincarnate? TERRIBLE), Nonsense story, poor characterization, plot holes here and there and lastly terrible pacing. Seriously overrated, critics are deluded. Infinity War destroys this movieGarbage convoluted third act (seriously a demon reincarnate? TERRIBLE), Nonsense story, poor characterization, plot holes here and there and lastly terrible pacing. Seriously overrated, critics are deluded. Infinity War destroys this movie for "Movie of the Year" award and it's not that good. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
1
OrestOJun 1, 2019
I found this movie as tedious, boring and disturbing. There is no logic at all- I consider this as of pure waste of time. Just skip it.
9 of 10 users found this helpful91
All this user's reviews
1
UmmmOct 17, 2018
This was hyped as a horror movie, unfortunately it's more of a physiological thriller with a couple of jump scares and an unintentional comedic ending. Characters are poorly written and there is no narrative during most of the movie. TheThis was hyped as a horror movie, unfortunately it's more of a physiological thriller with a couple of jump scares and an unintentional comedic ending. Characters are poorly written and there is no narrative during most of the movie. The sound effects were very irritating and overly used which is what gave it a sense of foreboding practically throughout, but without any pay off. It tried very hard to be different but ended just being another cliche horror movie in just the last few minutes. Watch Rosemary's baby, it will show up this movie for what it really is. Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
0
SinitarraFeb 16, 2019
This movie is the biggest pile of **** I've seen in a long while. marketed as a drama/horror movie it fails in every god damn department of being anything else than a steaming pile of f*ck. The ending is so bad I had to go throw up theThis movie is the biggest pile of **** I've seen in a long while. marketed as a drama/horror movie it fails in every god damn department of being anything else than a steaming pile of f*ck. The ending is so bad I had to go throw up the popcorn I finished 5 minutes into this pile of f*ck

Who ever gave this pile of sh*t over 1 should definitely go see a doctor and get their selves aborted, we don't need people like you in this planet.
Expand
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
4
animereJan 21, 2019
An ok movie with a conveluted plot. A movie that doesn't make sense unless you read the reasonings behind it afterwards. To many subtle hints that make no logical sense as you watch it. Combine that with over the top acting by Toni Colette.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
AngryShark92Sep 9, 2018
Hereditary has some good acting and a decent story, but it does not break ground or do anything new for the genre, and with an exceptionally long run time and poor plot pacing and development, this "horror" flick falls flat on its face.Hereditary has some good acting and a decent story, but it does not break ground or do anything new for the genre, and with an exceptionally long run time and poor plot pacing and development, this "horror" flick falls flat on its face.

There isn't much to say outside of my initial summary, this movie had some good acting, some intriguing plot points, and a decent mystery, but I struggle to see how this is being praised the way it is. Hereditary focuses on a family who loses their estranged matriarch, which leads to the grieving family experiencing strange occurrences and haunting scenarios which can only be explained by unravelling the mysterious dark history of their lost loved one. Sound original? Not really, nothing too special here.

The plot is interesting at some points, and it is interesting to see how they were able to weave it all together in the final third, but the outlying problem is that it took way too long to get there. There were way too many irrelevant scenes that contributed little to nothing to the plot as a whole, and this caused the movie to drag on through the first two acts. I found myself itching to grab my phone and browse other movies I could watch multiple times because I was absolutely bored out of my mind. I can also barely classify this as a horror film until the last 10-15 minutes of the film when things start to actually pull together and the whole purpose of the movie is finally revealed. Unfortunately, to me, it was not worth the long wait, it started to become obvious and somewhat contrived going into the final act. I never got the feeling of being genuinely terrified or worried for any of the characters because the danger was never really present, on top of this the atmosphere was not really well built, which is absolutely imperative for a horror/thriller to impress. The soundtrack was acceptable, but nothing amazing to build immersion, kind of reminded me of The Shining a bit.

Toni Collette did an a pretty good job of portraying her character, she was the most convincing actor in the entire film. Gabriel Byrne, on the other hand, was incredibly disappointing, somewhat because he wasn't involved all that much and his character was bland and underdeveloped... every other character was either acceptable or just "there" as they did not contribute much.

This film could have been about an hour and twenty minutes and might have been a lot better if they were able to delve into the grandmother's mysterious past a lot sooner because those were the only parts that were able to keep my attention. Trying to put the pieces together before the movie does is most of the fun in a mystery film, when it keeps you guessing, you become entertained, but there was way too much subplot that was getting in the way and destroying the pace of the film. It ruined the entire experience for me.

+ Toni Collette's acting
+ Matriarch's mystery is intriguing, at first
+ Final third is decent

- Absolutely abysmal pacing
- Not a horror film in my opinion
- Way too much subplot
- Unnecessary character development
- Poor writing and plot climax
- "Disturbing scenes" are lacklustre
- All other actors are subpar, at best
- Massively overrated, for what reason?

Overall, this movie could have had something interesting on its hands, the initial premise was great, and the story setup from the beginning was good, but the awful pacing, subpar horror/mystery/thriller elements, lack of creepy atmosphere, wasted time, and forced unoriginal ending, make this movie a failure in the eyes of the horror genre. Unfortunately, again, I must mention that critics are really getting it wrong in the entertainment industry right now, 87 is way too high, the only reason I can think of them giving off this rating is simply because they have not seen many horror movies before to notice all unoriginal elements that are present in this film. This movie is a 25 for me.
Expand
12 of 15 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
3
OregonJayBirdAug 31, 2018
For all the hype this movie received pre-release, it failed to deliver upon so completely that I left the theater almost angry at the fact that I had been so incredibly duped. Hereditary is a slow, plodding, and ultimately boring affair thatFor all the hype this movie received pre-release, it failed to deliver upon so completely that I left the theater almost angry at the fact that I had been so incredibly duped. Hereditary is a slow, plodding, and ultimately boring affair that I couldn't wait to leave behind me. My biggest issue with Hereditary is that it breaks absolutely zero new ground. This movie has been made any number of ways; add to that it hones in only on those who have a fear of spiritual/religious matters. While there are many religious folks left out there to scare with ominous music and a few "shock" scenes, the rest of the horror community is totally left out of the gag. Another matter is character development. While aptly acted, I simply didn't care what happened to a single one of these people. They were 2 dimensional as if specifically designed to be horror movie characters. Gabriel Byrne could have been cut from the movie and I'm pretty certain no one would've noticed. Let's hope this is not a trendsetter for the latest wave of horror or we're in for a predictable, dull ride. Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
0
ChristensenJul 11, 2019
I really can't say much other than, this is the worst movie i have ever seen. The story was so bad. I expected nothing and thats what i got..... nothing!
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
1
GarAug 1, 2018
Awful movie, the only horror element is the possibility of losing 2 hours of your life by watching this movie. I hate jump scares, but even the worst jump scare movies have something happen. Nothing happens in this movie. It was so boringAwful movie, the only horror element is the possibility of losing 2 hours of your life by watching this movie. I hate jump scares, but even the worst jump scare movies have something happen. Nothing happens in this movie. It was so boring that I was thinking of sleeping or walking out. In our cinema the only reaction to the movie was laughter at how terrible it was. Worst movie I've have ever seen in a cinema. Wish I could get my money and time back. Expand
13 of 17 users found this helpful134
All this user's reviews
1
JAFOSep 8, 2018
What an over hyped movie, the acting was disappointing, Gabriel Byrne's was non existent & Toni Collette was over the top. Too much time spent on atmosphere rather than plot or story telling, an overly long movie that should have beenWhat an over hyped movie, the acting was disappointing, Gabriel Byrne's was non existent & Toni Collette was over the top. Too much time spent on atmosphere rather than plot or story telling, an overly long movie that should have been shorten by 20 minutes at least. It had a ridiculously rushed laughable ending that left me scratching my head. Not a movie I'll want to watch again anytime soon and I'm dumbfounded this movie has such a high score. Expand
13 of 17 users found this helpful134
All this user's reviews
4
saltypolfroJun 25, 2018
REALLY overrated. Slow as bloody molasses with a very unsatisfying payoff at the end. Biggest problem for me was not identifying with any of the family members. Toni Collette's a fine actress but playing a very unlikable character, I found itREALLY overrated. Slow as bloody molasses with a very unsatisfying payoff at the end. Biggest problem for me was not identifying with any of the family members. Toni Collette's a fine actress but playing a very unlikable character, I found it hard to care about her, and the same for her stoned loser son, who by all rights should have had the story told through his eyes--if they weren't so bloodshot. I found The Witch, A Quiet Place, and even Monster with Jennifer Lawrence far creepier than this. Expand
14 of 19 users found this helpful145
All this user's reviews
3
ggoldingJun 20, 2018
Hereditary comes briskly walking out the doors holding promise that we might get a good look into the different ways that people deal with grieving and a possible look at the effects that paranoid schizophrenia can have on those that sufferHereditary comes briskly walking out the doors holding promise that we might get a good look into the different ways that people deal with grieving and a possible look at the effects that paranoid schizophrenia can have on those that suffer from it... and then the writer got drunk and accidentally wrote another script in the same file. See... I would be praising this film if I got what I'd been promised from the first act, but the film quickly devolves into becoming just another dumb horror film that lacks in any form of depth from the second act on. The only reason I gave this film a 3/10 was because the first act was good and most other aspects of the film were passable. But the more I think about this film, the more I seem to dislike it. Most other bad films in the supernatural horror genre are at least fun to watch, but there were so many moments that I wanted to walk out of Hereditary. Even if I hadn't gone to see it with somebody else, I still would have refused to leave because I held on to that hope that they might just save the film by bringing it back to what the first act had promised, which is something they never did. If you want to walk out of this film at any point, do it, the film doesn't get better, it only gets worse. If you want to watch this film, I'd wait until it's on one of the major streaming services because it's not at all worth the money it would cost to go to the theater. Expand
14 of 19 users found this helpful145
All this user's reviews
2
ruizmigangAug 5, 2018
Ridiculous and boring plot. Not even scary. Since Gabriel Byrne, Ann Dowd, and Tony Colette are great actors, of course the acting is good, but I can't understand the good reviews for this movie.
This film was so hyped up, that it has been my
Ridiculous and boring plot. Not even scary. Since Gabriel Byrne, Ann Dowd, and Tony Colette are great actors, of course the acting is good, but I can't understand the good reviews for this movie.
This film was so hyped up, that it has been my biggest disappointment of the last few years.
Expand
14 of 19 users found this helpful145
All this user's reviews
0
GodOneAug 31, 2018
The Pay for comments is strong in this movie...
A 2 hours long movie when it has a screen play for a 20 minutes TV series episode.
13 of 18 users found this helpful135
All this user's reviews
0
the_nephilim71Dec 26, 2018
This is the most overrated film of the year. It's cliched, too long, too boring, and Toni Collette's acting was waaaaay over-the-top. There is literally nothing new to see here but an odd, boring film with really bizarre camera angles.
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
0
BladeLover2049Nov 16, 2018
A horror movie is not defined by the fear it may cause in the viewer. It is defined by the successful or ingenious deployment it can make so that the viewer can react. This movie is not any of them. It is lost in nebulous symbolism and in aA horror movie is not defined by the fear it may cause in the viewer. It is defined by the successful or ingenious deployment it can make so that the viewer can react. This movie is not any of them. It is lost in nebulous symbolism and in a Machiavellian history, which at the same time is a dark exploration of the collective mind, known as family. The film ends in a vortex meaningless, predictable, with sudden plot twists, and makes the viewer believe that the horror is to see horror, when it should be to feel the horror. An aberration Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful104
All this user's reviews
4
zmgalen2000Jun 27, 2018
Though mystifying and intriguing at times, the movie, due to its convolution, slow progression, and ambiguity deters from the from its potential. The unnamed/unidentified characters at critical scenes make the deeper meanings difficult toThough mystifying and intriguing at times, the movie, due to its convolution, slow progression, and ambiguity deters from the from its potential. The unnamed/unidentified characters at critical scenes make the deeper meanings difficult to process, while other scenes did not match the film's premise nor preconceived horror feel. Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
6
imthenoobAug 29, 2018
I definitely grew on this movie over time. I don't think it's perfect by any means but I think the cast does a great job and it's the kind of movie that really makes you think and makes you want to dive deeper into the story. I appreciateI definitely grew on this movie over time. I don't think it's perfect by any means but I think the cast does a great job and it's the kind of movie that really makes you think and makes you want to dive deeper into the story. I appreciate Hereditary a lot more now than I did when I first watched it. Expand
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
4
Rebecca31Jun 20, 2018
I had such high hopes and Hereditary didn’t even come close. It does a good job reminding you of The Exorcist and Rosemary’s Baby, yet I also couldn’t help but be reminded of The Babadook and The Witch. These are just two examples of filmsI had such high hopes and Hereditary didn’t even come close. It does a good job reminding you of The Exorcist and Rosemary’s Baby, yet I also couldn’t help but be reminded of The Babadook and The Witch. These are just two examples of films the critics did not shut up about for months. I went to see both due to the hype and was left disappointed. Hereditary comes along promising much of the same, I can’t help but get caught up in the hype. I’ve heard the hysteria, I’m prepared, I settle down ready to be terrified and instead I was bored and waiting for the credits to roll so I could finally leave. Oh sure they can compare it to The Exorcist and Rosemary’s Baby all they like, put it on all the posters if you want but it doesn’t make it The Exorcist or Rosemary’s Baby. Maybe I missed something, but for me Hereditary was only mildly better than your average horror movie.

After the death of her mother, Annie (Toni Collette) and her family begin to unravel cryptic and increasingly terrifying secrets about their ancestry. Despite a promising start Hereditary falls into the trap about half way through where it completely lost me, the plot became ridiculous and instead of getting scared I was losing interest. The first half was filled to the brim with atmosphere, so tense and gripping I thought we were on to a winner here. Hereditary puts the effort in to build the tension and create a foreboding atmosphere. Wonderfully shot, the cinematography is simply amazing. Many of the scenes give the sensation of looking at a miniature view of the set, an impressive amount of attention to detail, such a shame the rest of the film didn’t live up to this standard. It’s got some shocking scenes that will disturb you alright, and will no doubt stay in your mind well after the film has ended. Toni Collette is excellent. Her performance is carrying the film, yet the plot doesn’t offer much else, the hammy acting throws you out of the suspenseful horror movie and into over the top and generally trying to suss out whether it’s okay to laugh or not. I wasn’t the only one trying to stifle laughter on more than one occasion and I’m sure I won’t be the last. First time director Ari Aster hasn’t exactly given us a flop, it’s well directed for one thing and I hope his next film works out a little better.

You all know I love horror films so you can believe me when I say Hereditary does not live up to the hype it promises. You’ve seen similar ideas done before only better. Not recommended unless you just love seeing some disturbing cinema in that case enjoy. And don’t forget to scare your fellow movie goers with a tongue click AFTER the film has ended, NOT during a quiet and suspenseful moment.
Expand
8 of 12 users found this helpful84
All this user's reviews
5
jdw5aJun 13, 2018
Ari Aster's feature film debut, and it shows. It's a collection of piecemeal homages to other better horror films. Far too many elements are introduced and never followed through to completion. Possibly scary if you've never seen a horrorAri Aster's feature film debut, and it shows. It's a collection of piecemeal homages to other better horror films. Far too many elements are introduced and never followed through to completion. Possibly scary if you've never seen a horror film before. If you have, you'll find almost every attempted scare predictable. (All but two scary scenes are already featured in the trailers.) Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
0
Richard_LevinSep 10, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's total waste of time. You wait for an hour and in the end it was just about an old myth. Some people say the acting was good:No , acting was specially bad. Expand
10 of 16 users found this helpful106
All this user's reviews
4
Blackstag1710Nov 19, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I read a lot of the favorable reviews for Hereditary, so I went into watching it with quite a few expectations.

However, I sadly have to say that it failed miserably at being what it promised to be: a great horror movie.

The movie begins slow, and really only picks up pace in the last 20 minutes or so (which is not necessarily a bad thing). However, the movie puts into place so many pieces that ultimately don't come into play, or are at least redundant, that I got the impression that the movie aspires to be more than it actually is, and thus fails in the grand scheme of things that make a horror movie scary.

I've read reviews for this movie that said that they couldn't sleep for weeks after watching it, that the movie gave them a lingering feel of dread etc., you know the drill. Reading this stuff really makes me wonder whether I'm too jaded after watching one too many horror movies, since there was no sense of dread, at all, and there was only one scary scene, and that's already being generous.

So, to conclude, it's not like Hereditary is the worst movie I've ever seen, far from it, it's well acted, has a nice sound design, great production value, but it's just not a horror flick. I don't even know what it's really supposed to be, maybe a drama with supernatural influence, but it certainly isn't scary, and it's a shame, since the background and world sound quite interesting, but ultimately fail to deliver.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
4
GinaKJun 12, 2018
If you are a connoisseur of horror films, don’t believe the hype about this one. It is okay, occasionally very good, but generally derivative and inconsistent. This is not “The Silence of the Lambs” or “The Haunting of Hill House” or “TheIf you are a connoisseur of horror films, don’t believe the hype about this one. It is okay, occasionally very good, but generally derivative and inconsistent. This is not “The Silence of the Lambs” or “The Haunting of Hill House” or “The Exorcist,” movies that I would be perfectly happy to be stuck on a desert island with permanently. There are some very good moments, but also a lot of derivative and borderline incompetent ones. I would definitely go to see this director’s next film, but if you go to this one with reasonable expectations, you will enjoy it more. Expand
10 of 17 users found this helpful107
All this user's reviews
6
DefinitelyMaybJul 1, 2018
I think its a well crafted film and certainly the first half of the film was on par with some of the best drama/horror films - such as the J Horror variety and early 80s. However, as notedd by many people, this film is rather cliche by theI think its a well crafted film and certainly the first half of the film was on par with some of the best drama/horror films - such as the J Horror variety and early 80s. However, as notedd by many people, this film is rather cliche by the end and if you've seen Rosemary's Baby, you've bascially seen this film and its logical conclusion. At worst, Ari Aster is just borrowing from a variety of great horror films and trying to mash it into a messy plot that just doesn't add up.

Aside from some superb acting with the cast, and an eerily soundtrack which is akin to some of the haunting sounds by Johnny Greenwood, the film is borderline meandering and the characters never built up enough relationship for the audience to actually care about their peril. In fact, the majority of characters spend so much time outside their house and in daylight that you almost forget this is a horror film. It's a shame because I loved the Witch, the Babadook and It follows (and also It comes at night), but this was the one where I felt the film didn't serve its story and theme. Overall if you are looking for an eery atmospheric film (without much jump scares) and a relative semblance of a plot, Hereditary is decent enough for a watch - however, I doubt it will stick in your mind for long.
Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
6
DOHmetacritic10Jun 9, 2018
Nope. the concerns about hype are real. That, and you've seen all of this before. Many, many times.

It's not that this is a bad movie, it's just not anything like the stellar effort we were told to expect. When you watch this you're going to
Nope. the concerns about hype are real. That, and you've seen all of this before. Many, many times.

It's not that this is a bad movie, it's just not anything like the stellar effort we were told to expect. When you watch this you're going to see things you've seen numerous times in other movies, going all the way back to Jacob's Ladder. There are moments that disturb and a couple of jump scares. The audience I saw the movie with were talking among themselves and it was a universal "Meh". Absent the promotional effort this could have gone straight to video. Toni Collette is the only reason to pay full price, and that's a statement about her performance and it's greatness. Maybe a matinee. Or you could just revisit The Conjuring and experience a much better movie, that provides much more powerful scares.
Expand
11 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
4
dchipps1945Jun 10, 2018
Your take on this movie will probably depend on what you expect to get from a horror movie; meaning, if you want shocks and gravity-defying acts by people affected by supernatural forces, this is for you. If you want a scary-but-logical storyYour take on this movie will probably depend on what you expect to get from a horror movie; meaning, if you want shocks and gravity-defying acts by people affected by supernatural forces, this is for you. If you want a scary-but-logical story you can follow from beginning to end, it's not.

For me, the peril in the best horror films is fairly easy to explain: The girl is possessed and the exorcist is going to try to save her. The hotel is haunted, the father is under its spell, and he is threatening his wife and son. I couldn't figure out what the main peril was in this one until literally the last minute of the film, when it was explained to me, and still didn't add up.

I don't agree that the performances were fantastic. Every scene seemed to have a silent "dun-dun-DUN!" sound effect at the end, and with everything so overwrought, I just didn't see a lot of emotional range or transformation going on:

Mom: Manic, freaked out
Dad: Detached, uncomprehending
Son: Dazed, terrified
Daughter: Creepy, man! Just CREEEEEPY!
Mom's friend: Superficially caring, but obviously EVIL

We've seen these characters before.

I was obviously disappointed. I went in hoping for a great horror film, and experienced a film that loads up on common horror elements and practically screams at the audience, instead of the other way around.
Expand
8 of 14 users found this helpful86
All this user's reviews
0
LNKJul 23, 2018
You have got to be kidding me; 87%, 7.4 generally favorable reviews? Did you people leave after 30 minutes? This movie stinks- it managed to entertain for about half an hour, then got almost silly, finally completing its efforts withYou have got to be kidding me; 87%, 7.4 generally favorable reviews? Did you people leave after 30 minutes? This movie stinks- it managed to entertain for about half an hour, then got almost silly, finally completing its efforts with downright failure. Specifically, oh, hell, I won't bore you with all the useful norms and structural methods it broke or ignored, suffice it to say this movie isn't worth either your time or money. Avoid it. By the way, this is my first review for Metacritic. I usually ride out the variety of opinions expressed here and at other on line review sites. I decided to speak up this time because I felt royally cheated by this movie experience which the reviews had praised. Expand
11 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
6
shockingambroseJun 12, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I was expecting much more from this movie given the gushing reviews. I thought there would be a fresh take on the genre, something to think about - like what Get Out accomplished last year. But it turned out to be just a variation on Rosemary's Baby. And I didn't find it scary at all. Maybe that's because the idea of a devil holds no currency for me. You have to buy into Christianity's notion of the existence of a devil for this film to have an y power. Having said that, the director made some good choices in his attempt to foster a dark atmosphere. The art direction was terrific and poor Toni Collette did a great job looking agonizingly scared most of the time. Bottom line: I'd say skip it unless you really believe in Lucifer. Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
juanxoxoApr 30, 2019
ES UNA HIJUEPUTA MIERDA HORRIBLE DA MAS RISA RAYITALUNA APENAS DESPERTANDOSE, ME GASTE DOS HIJUEPUTAS HORAS VIENDO ESTA maricadada PARA QUE AL FINAL CORONEN A ALGUIEN GAS ESTA MAS VACIO QUE RAYITA QUE LLEVA 14A`OS VIRGEN
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
Vivigirl1Aug 30, 2018
This movie was absolutely so bad I made a metacritic account to save you the agony of watching it!! Completely ridiculous and underwhelming...other than a few cool special effects this movie totally blows... starts out cool n u think itsThis movie was absolutely so bad I made a metacritic account to save you the agony of watching it!! Completely ridiculous and underwhelming...other than a few cool special effects this movie totally blows... starts out cool n u think its gonna be good n then... total disappointment. Expand
10 of 19 users found this helpful109
All this user's reviews
6
pnoyfilmtvadikJul 3, 2018
I get it. This movie makes you want to understand it. It's very very intriguing. The director gets all the credit because of it. But, I can not for the life of me give it a 7 because first and foremost it should entertain but it didn't. It isI get it. This movie makes you want to understand it. It's very very intriguing. The director gets all the credit because of it. But, I can not for the life of me give it a 7 because first and foremost it should entertain but it didn't. It is suspenseful but is it scary enough? No. You can afford to wait for it on HBO if you really want to watch it. Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryJun 15, 2018
Another over-hyped horror flick. Toni Collette goes all out as the mother who's plagued by ghastly, ghostly goings on. She and her family deal with a bunch of mysterious events, but most of it isn't scary. There's lots of atmosphere and buildAnother over-hyped horror flick. Toni Collette goes all out as the mother who's plagued by ghastly, ghostly goings on. She and her family deal with a bunch of mysterious events, but most of it isn't scary. There's lots of atmosphere and build up, but the small frights aren't especially alarming or original. The cast does a good job of responding to the eerie events, which helps make the movie more interesting. Even though it has a creepy ghost story vibe, the build up is slow and the payoff isn't worth it. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
preciouskikiJun 17, 2018
Three movie-loving friends went to see HEREDITARY last night: one a fan of all kinds of horror movies, and the other two fans of movies like "Rosemary's Baby" and other non-gory "chillers." Our universal reaction: Meh. It wasn't overly goryThree movie-loving friends went to see HEREDITARY last night: one a fan of all kinds of horror movies, and the other two fans of movies like "Rosemary's Baby" and other non-gory "chillers." Our universal reaction: Meh. It wasn't overly gory as two of us had feared. But it also wasn't as psychologically chilling as all three of us had expected, based on all the rave reviews. For example, the horror-movie-devotee in our trio began muttering "Boring" about 30 minutes into it, but I held out hope that eventually it would kick in and all the rapturous reviewers would be vindicated. On the plus side: Good performances, great Craftsman-style house to admire, and some nice depth of character. On the negative side: The ending was just so-so, and it borrowed heavily from the aforementioned "Rosemary's Baby," which is a truly good movie. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
TryASummersaultJun 17, 2018
A24 strikes again with an overrated and overhyped scattered film that really isn't even horror, but a well shot drama/thriller full of visual build up without a cohesive pay off. Speaking of pay offs you really have to wonder if these criticsA24 strikes again with an overrated and overhyped scattered film that really isn't even horror, but a well shot drama/thriller full of visual build up without a cohesive pay off. Speaking of pay offs you really have to wonder if these critics are because the rave reviews they constantly give these A24 " HORROR" films are banal and insane. While there are interesting aspects strewn throughout with some intriguing grim subject matter, it meanders into a very dark disjointed story that goes into a very depressingly stupid realm much like 2016's The Witch. If A24 didn't constantly scam people advertising this as a full on horror film with a decent trailer with some horror cliche visuals, and then release a dragged on dark drama, maybe people wouldn't be outraged at them. I for one will never pay for another one of their films since The witch and i advise others not to do so. If you do, you are being swindled. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
tchallJul 2, 2018
There are so many positive reviews on this move and I just don't understand why. It is not the least bit scary. My wife, who does not appreciate scary movies at all...because she doesn't like to get scared, was bored. I don't think it'sThere are so many positive reviews on this move and I just don't understand why. It is not the least bit scary. My wife, who does not appreciate scary movies at all...because she doesn't like to get scared, was bored. I don't think it's worth the money. Wait until it arrives on Netflix. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
6
seeaenJul 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I went into this one with high expectations, buying into the hype and comparisons to "The Exorcist". I really wanted to like it. The trailers made it look so much better than it actually was. I've seen this before - showing the best moments of a movie in the trailer. I bought into it this time. It's a shame because I really like scary movies, even if they really don't scare me that much. Movies like 'Sinister', which I left feeling a little unsettled are what I look for in a horror film.

It was too long - they could have cut at least 15 minutes off the running time and it would have been a more interesting movie. It took too long to get to the point - I found myself nodding off at times. The acting was sophomoric for the most part - surprising considering there were some recognizable actors involved. At the screening I went to it elicited laughter at certain points when, I'm quite sure the scene (a seance) was meant to bring forth surprise and fear.

There was really only one moment where this film took me by surprise. It involved a car traveling at high speed, a person's head out the window and a wooden telephone pole. There was some interesting violence - not that I go to these movies for the violence - a little creepyness is what I'm looking for. By the time they got to it I had pretty much tuned out.

Too long, not scary or creepy, sub-par acting and writing, and comedy when there shouldn't have been, adds up to...... a 'just wait for it to come out on video' offering, or better yet, skip it, and watch "The Exorcist" again. You'll be much more entertained.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
AxeTJun 17, 2018
High marks for steady consistent truly scary and disturbing sustained tone of dread. Low marks for blatant ripoff of "The Shining" in mood and style and "Rosemary's Baby" regarding concept/story, with heavy helpings of "The Exorcist" andHigh marks for steady consistent truly scary and disturbing sustained tone of dread. Low marks for blatant ripoff of "The Shining" in mood and style and "Rosemary's Baby" regarding concept/story, with heavy helpings of "The Exorcist" and "The Sixth Sense". Those are all classics but this will not be as some in the jackass critics herd foolishly and incompetently promote, because as with nearly all horror movies of the present era there is an over reliance on way too easy supernatural nonsense in sacrifice of superior story craft. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
moviecritic68Jun 27, 2018
What ever became of horror screenplay that scares the bajeeses out of you like the Exorcist or some old Vincent Price thrillers like the Haunted House or even Tourist Trap. This was just some old hum-hum crap with a few good special effects.What ever became of horror screenplay that scares the bajeeses out of you like the Exorcist or some old Vincent Price thrillers like the Haunted House or even Tourist Trap. This was just some old hum-hum crap with a few good special effects. A "5" rating was more than generous in my estimation Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
drambuie_Aug 10, 2018
To be honest it was really boring and there were a lot of pieces missing until a little bit of action began. There were some really intense and scary scenes, but the storytelling was bad , I couldnt follow the story a lot and the ending leftTo be honest it was really boring and there were a lot of pieces missing until a little bit of action began. There were some really intense and scary scenes, but the storytelling was bad , I couldnt follow the story a lot and the ending left me confused and not impressed at all. Doesnt worth that big of a score Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
MarcDoyleJun 8, 2018
It's such a great feeling when a critically-acclaimed movie that you've been anticipating for months actually delivers the goods. It's not a common thing for me. As a genre film fan, I loved this movie so much. And I can't stress it enoughIt's such a great feeling when a critically-acclaimed movie that you've been anticipating for months actually delivers the goods. It's not a common thing for me. As a genre film fan, I loved this movie so much. And I can't stress it enough that you have to see this one on the big screen with other movie-lovers - with, hopefully, some horror fans in the mix. The shrieks, the groans, the nervous laughter - it's all there. I won't say anything substantive about the film because I want to give absolutely nothing away, but Toni Collette is phenomenal, Ann Dowd is excellent (as always), and Alex Wolff is a serious find - can't say enough about how effectively he pulls the various threads of this movie together. Expand
14 of 31 users found this helpful1417
All this user's reviews
0
ScraperOct 1, 2019
Family has a young girl with a nut allergy and they keep forgetting epi-pens everywhere they go. There. I just saved you two hours. Of course, it's not a modern horror movie without minute-long shots of gray, dour faces and minute-long shotsFamily has a young girl with a nut allergy and they keep forgetting epi-pens everywhere they go. There. I just saved you two hours. Of course, it's not a modern horror movie without minute-long shots of gray, dour faces and minute-long shots of their uninteresting actions such as walking down a hallway and having a dull conversation about breakfast. I don't know why the lowest note on a cello is supposed to give me the willies. That note is freaking hammered upon in Hereditary. I want to kiss the inventor of the fast-forward button. You saved me once again. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
5
duddy5698Jul 23, 2018
The Positive:
Acting
Script

The Negative:
Dumb twist
Disgusting
Not scary
Disturbing(in a bad way)
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
5
bythewaybtwAug 13, 2018
I'm guessing I detested this movie for most of the reasons deranged people out there have been giving it thumbs up.

I like to think I have pretty solid taste in horror flicks: Alien, The Thing, Evil Dead 2, Nosferatu, It Follows - give me
I'm guessing I detested this movie for most of the reasons deranged people out there have been giving it thumbs up.

I like to think I have pretty solid taste in horror flicks: Alien, The Thing, Evil Dead 2, Nosferatu, It Follows - give me solid characters, solid lines, solid thrills and intrigue and direction and leave me saying "Holy SH*T that was some well-executed fun." So when people were cumming themselves left and right about this movie, I naturally had to see what was up.

Here's the deal: If you're looking for an equally fun and innovative (because, hey- it's gotten GREAT reviews) thrill ride of a horror flick along the lines of the classics and/or new classics, THIS IS NOT IT. If, instead, you're looking for a severely f-ed up, enjoyment-depleting, WTF-inducing nightmare, knock yourself out. Just promise me you won't have kids.

I had high hopes, and there were some good moments with some solid promise. And then the first WTF thing happened and everything was simply terrible and depressing.

I give it a 5 because the acting and atmosphere (two things that certainly matter) were spot on, but -10 for the story and characters and for sending me home feeling disgusted with a terrible taste in my mouth.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
6
AIleSep 6, 2018
الضجة التي حظي بها الفيلم، دفعتني تلقائياً لمشاهدته، وخاصة ما قيل عنه أنه نوع جديد من الرعب، أو طرح فكرة الرعب بطريقة مختلفة، لكن لأكون صادقاً، لم أشعر بكثير اختلاف عن ما يُقدّم من أفلام رعب.
من الصحيح أنه فيلم يقدم حالة من التوتر تستطيع أن
الضجة التي حظي بها الفيلم، دفعتني تلقائياً لمشاهدته، وخاصة ما قيل عنه أنه نوع جديد من الرعب، أو طرح فكرة الرعب بطريقة مختلفة، لكن لأكون صادقاً، لم أشعر بكثير اختلاف عن ما يُقدّم من أفلام رعب.
من الصحيح أنه فيلم يقدم حالة من التوتر تستطيع أن تعيشها كمشاهد، وهذا كان جيداً في النصف الأول، لكن النهاية كانت مخيبة للآمال جداً.
الميزة الوحيدة بالفيلم هي الهدوء الشديد الذي يخلق حالة مشحونة دائماً بالقلق، إضافة لشخصية الفتاة الصغيرة "ميلي شابيرو" خلال النصف ساعة الأولى. كانت بالفعل طريقة لزيادة الأدرنيالين بالدم، والأداء المميز لـ "آليكس وولف" لكن اعتقد أن نهاية الفيلم بتلك الطريقة كانت تحوي خللاً ما وهذا ما جعلني متحفظاً قليلاً حوله.

الفيلم أون لاين
https://bit.ly/2ot9kiK
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
FilmJunkJun 8, 2018
This is real horror. Ari Aster is a writer and a director with the largest possible amount of passion for his craft. Nothing about Hereditary feels cheap or predictable. The horror relies not just upon loud noises or disturbing imagery, butThis is real horror. Ari Aster is a writer and a director with the largest possible amount of passion for his craft. Nothing about Hereditary feels cheap or predictable. The horror relies not just upon loud noises or disturbing imagery, but upon subtlety. As a visual and auditory experience, Hereditary is almost perfect. There is a tremendous deal of skill shown in the scares of this film: every shot lasts just the right amount of time, always revealing the frightening imagery at just the perfect moment and for the proper duration of time. Aster understands that things not shown can be just as scary as what appears on screen. The music is really what puts things over the top and elevates the film to the horror of works like The Exorcist. There is constant tension because the music knows when to come in and it knows when to stay away and let the other sound effects run their full course. It all comes together as a work of brilliance. There is some poorly done, very noticeable audio dubbing that distracts from the movie's tension, but it's not too big of a deal.

The horror is so effective because it's based around events that feel genuine, like they could actually happen. The story blends the supernatural with the realistic in a fantastic way that makes for the type of horror experience that sticks with you to make your own real life as terrifying as the film.

Toni Collette is an absolute revelation in this film. She delivers perhaps her best work ever and injects the atmosphere of the film with the raw terror and loss experienced by her character. The supporting cast isn't always quite as impressive. Alex Wolff didn't quite sell some of the scenes that demanded the most of him. But the performances are overall leaps and bounds above average, especially for a horror flick.

The story doesn't always seem like it's going in any one direction and can feel cloudy throughout the first viewing, but it all wraps up very clearly at the end. The film's conclusion is one that never releases any tension, but rather ends at the most horrifying possible moment. The rising action continues and never falls, and it makes Hereditary one of the best horrors of the decade and shows Ari Aster as a more-than-promising up-and-coming filmmaker.

Story: 9
Acting: 9.5
Script: 9
Visuals/Sound: 9
Entertainment Value: 9.5

OVERALL SCORE: 9.2/10
Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
10
Anthonyp8684Jun 10, 2018
The shining with its dread and slow camera pans + Rosemary's baby= Hereditary. Dont believe the nay sayers, the young horror audience of today is more interested in jump scares and gore. These are the same young people who eat tide pods forThe shining with its dread and slow camera pans + Rosemary's baby= Hereditary. Dont believe the nay sayers, the young horror audience of today is more interested in jump scares and gore. These are the same young people who eat tide pods for fun. Is that who you want to take movie advice from? Expand
11 of 28 users found this helpful1117
All this user's reviews
6
scoleyJun 14, 2018
This film should be called Overrated.It is far to long instead of building tension it just get boring 3 or 4 good momments in the whole film in the end people were just laughing in the cinema,Not worth a score of 87 I would say 60 would beThis film should be called Overrated.It is far to long instead of building tension it just get boring 3 or 4 good momments in the whole film in the end people were just laughing in the cinema,Not worth a score of 87 I would say 60 would be fair score and would not get people to over excited about going to see this film leading to disappointment. Expand
5 of 13 users found this helpful58
All this user's reviews
0
Tony1984Oct 29, 2019
It had all the trappings of a compelling horror if a bit too long drawn out. Style, score and the performance of the adult actors were all very good. All ruined by an absolutely dreadfully stupid ending. Giving a zilch score based on theIt had all the trappings of a compelling horror if a bit too long drawn out. Style, score and the performance of the adult actors were all very good. All ruined by an absolutely dreadfully stupid ending. Giving a zilch score based on the ending alone. One of the worst and most unnecessary I’ve seen in a horror movie. Terrible Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
10
wadisplaceJun 8, 2018
A great but disturbing movie. It is everything that the reviewer said it would be. The movie is outstanding. Yet it will give you nightmares.
The devil is in the details.
10 of 27 users found this helpful1017
All this user's reviews
10
khoinguyen1220Jun 8, 2018
With the psychological terror of The Witch, the emotional depth of The Babadook, disturbing imageries like no others, Hereditary offers a genuine and realistic look into grieves and guilt. Giving their Oscar worthy performances, both ToniWith the psychological terror of The Witch, the emotional depth of The Babadook, disturbing imageries like no others, Hereditary offers a genuine and realistic look into grieves and guilt. Giving their Oscar worthy performances, both Toni Collette and Alex Wolff carry the emotional depth of the film on their shoulders. In a crazy film like this, smaller moment (such as the dinner scene argument) kept the movie grounded. One of the best (and craziest) of the year. Expand
10 of 27 users found this helpful1017
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticJun 9, 2018
A film that uses long shots to help depict emotion and fear and does so with great success. Tension is also gained with great sound design and a terrific score. The performances are all top notch and even when scenes might tend to becomeA film that uses long shots to help depict emotion and fear and does so with great success. Tension is also gained with great sound design and a terrific score. The performances are all top notch and even when scenes might tend to become silly in ideas, the performances still make it feel real. A- Expand
9 of 25 users found this helpful916
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainJun 8, 2018
Toni Collette for Oscar. A chilling, stunning performance. When the classic horror elements start to come in (séances, attics), it's almost a relief from the more unsettling terrors in the film: watching a family emotionally deteriorateToni Collette for Oscar. A chilling, stunning performance. When the classic horror elements start to come in (séances, attics), it's almost a relief from the more unsettling terrors in the film: watching a family emotionally deteriorate before your eyes. This really is "more than a horror movie." Scary good. Expand
10 of 28 users found this helpful1018
All this user's reviews
10
LamontRaymondJun 8, 2018
I so badly want to compare this film to a few other horror flicks that I've seen, but can't let the movie's cat out of the bag. You won't be bored, that's for sure. The girl sitting to my right grabbed her boyfriend maybe 20 times? I almostI so badly want to compare this film to a few other horror flicks that I've seen, but can't let the movie's cat out of the bag. You won't be bored, that's for sure. The girl sitting to my right grabbed her boyfriend maybe 20 times? I almost feel like seeing it again right way just to see how another crowd will react. (BTW: if you happen to see it at an ArcLight, absolutely stay for the interview featurette with the writer/director - some pretty amazing making-of stuff that blew my mind...) Expand
9 of 27 users found this helpful918
All this user's reviews
10
CattleandCane_Sep 19, 2018
Toni Collette-I would put a ring on it. Such a wonderful thrill ride. MOUTH CLICK
5 of 15 users found this helpful510
All this user's reviews
10
teddywymanJun 8, 2018
The first 10/10 of this year. Hereditary has an emotionally deep story with a lot of real, human drama in it, and it frankly does take a while to get going. However, once the true horror begins to set in, it rewards you for paying closeThe first 10/10 of this year. Hereditary has an emotionally deep story with a lot of real, human drama in it, and it frankly does take a while to get going. However, once the true horror begins to set in, it rewards you for paying close attention to all of the small details early on in the film, and the story as a whole becomes clear. It does feature some conventional scares, but they're always necessary to the plot, and never feel cheap. You care deeply about the characters, and there are enough surprises that you should be engrossed for the entire running time. Without spoiling anything, just try to pay attention closely while you watch it. It does have a coherent story, but it's sometimes cryptic and complex, and it certainly has deeper messages that warrant a second viewing. A truly frightening film. Expand
9 of 28 users found this helpful919
All this user's reviews
8
HipsterDufusJun 8, 2018
Truly disturbing. Toni Collette should get a nomination for her role. For me it was not really that scary but at least it doesn't resort to jump scares. It's just really demented. Definitely did not see the end coming and I really wasn't ableTruly disturbing. Toni Collette should get a nomination for her role. For me it was not really that scary but at least it doesn't resort to jump scares. It's just really demented. Definitely did not see the end coming and I really wasn't able to know what was going to happen so high marks on keeping me guessing. Demented, dark and disturbing. Makes you wonder if there are really cults like this. Expand
8 of 25 users found this helpful817
All this user's reviews
10
McGamaJun 9, 2018
This movie has incredible jaw-dropping horror. Chock-full of lore and a looming presence of dread this the best horror movie I've seen in my life. For the first time in years I was afraid of the dark that night. This movie reminds us of whatThis movie has incredible jaw-dropping horror. Chock-full of lore and a looming presence of dread this the best horror movie I've seen in my life. For the first time in years I was afraid of the dark that night. This movie reminds us of what real, genuine fear is by portraying a very realistic and flawed family and how they cope with loss. I genuinely felt my heart pounding harder than it has from watching a movie and my friend almost had to leave the theater from a panic attack. It adapts tropes from countless other horror films then subverts them like a magician with a huge bag full of tricks. I just watched it a second time and scanned all over every shot to see if I might have missed something. People who complain about its run-time, as if that goes against the film, should reconsider film because art doesn't have to be constrained to a cookie-cutter rubric. People who say this film lacks jumpscares are desensitized to them. There definitely are jumpscares in here except instead of resorting to to cheap, startling, non-contextual "BOO" moments there are uncomfortable scenes of imminent death making me feel like open prey about to be attacked. Most modern horror films are like fried foods, fast to make and a quick bite to eat on the go whereas a film of this caliber is like smoked bbq, it took a long time to make but once you finally get to eat it it's one of the most heavenly experiences possible; 10/10 Expand
7 of 23 users found this helpful716
All this user's reviews
10
PanchogulJun 10, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Después de muchos desaciertos en el cine de este género, por fin llega algo nuevo que me es un poco difícil de describir en una sola palabra, una película que te entrega mucho mas de lo que uno puede llegar a esperar, deja mucho a la imaginación, una historia familiar desgarradora que te mantiene con los ojos fijos hacia la pantalla en todo momento, se va desarrollando lentamente, pero que afortunadamente cumple su objetivo, la actuación de Toni Collette es digna de ser premiada, definitivamente un filme que vale la pena ver si realmente te gusta el género de piés a cabeza, si vienes a ver jumpscares mejor pasa de largo Expand
6 of 21 users found this helpful615
All this user's reviews
6
d0vla11Jun 24, 2018
All the critics saying it is one of the best out there, meh.
The plot was messy, the ending was absolute **** seems like the movie was cut at the 70%.
I can't say the acting was bad, the whole family in the movie did great. Also the
All the critics saying it is one of the best out there, meh.
The plot was messy, the ending was absolute **** seems like the movie was cut at the 70%.

I can't say the acting was bad, the whole family in the movie did great. Also the atmosphere was really good, but the bad storytelling and the ending ruined it all.
Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
mishavishOct 2, 2018
Best Horror Movie ever made , I haven't seen such horror since the exorcist but with more demonic atmosphere , its simply horrified me more than I should have … simply this is a masterpiece that i don't think that we gonna see something likeBest Horror Movie ever made , I haven't seen such horror since the exorcist but with more demonic atmosphere , its simply horrified me more than I should have … simply this is a masterpiece that i don't think that we gonna see something like it for years Expand
4 of 14 users found this helpful410
All this user's reviews
10
GoresomethingJun 8, 2018
I came into this movie with nothing but the highest expectations and boy were they completely exceeded. As a long time horror fanatic I have seen it all and thought there was very little left in the genre that could shock me to my core; AriI came into this movie with nothing but the highest expectations and boy were they completely exceeded. As a long time horror fanatic I have seen it all and thought there was very little left in the genre that could shock me to my core; Ari Aster's debut left me not only shocked but inspired. From the get-go Hereditary is a symphony of twisted camera work, implicitly dark tone, and magnetic performances that were eerily relatable. As the film went on these components hurl the viewer into web of paranoia strung together by an antagonist that has no physical presence in the movie but is made more real by the confounding series of events. I was struggling to sit still in my seat. I genuinely felt my own sense of panic succumb to the cascade of macabre imagery and heavy thematic dialogue. The films denouement is nothing sort of devastating and embodies the very definition of tragedy; haunting you long after the credits stop rolling and leaving you horrified. On all elements this film is nothing short of a masterpiece; framing, tone, lighting, acting, story, editing, soundtrack... all of it assembled with such grace and love that it deserves a place among those classics that kept us awake at night. A+ work Ari can't wait for your next picture. Expand
6 of 22 users found this helpful616
All this user's reviews