Netflix | Release Date: February 7, 2020
6.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 30 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
19
Mixed:
7
Negative:
4
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
SchmooSchmooFeb 8, 2020
Just a brilliant movie. Moving, intense and completely enthralling. A bleak honest but beautiful look at mental illness. Allison Brie deserves an Oscar right now.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
The3AcademySinsFeb 10, 2020
While slow and confusing at times, Horse Girl is an absolutely enthralling look at mental illness with some Donnie Darko elements thrown in. The story is really well told and gripping, and Alison Brie is absolutely fantastic. The movie is aWhile slow and confusing at times, Horse Girl is an absolutely enthralling look at mental illness with some Donnie Darko elements thrown in. The story is really well told and gripping, and Alison Brie is absolutely fantastic. The movie is a puzzle box, a cry for help, and really well worth a watch. It might not be for everyone, but if you like an emotional journey with a healthy dose of ambiguity, you'll really like this one. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MrpictureFeb 8, 2020
Alison Brie has never been better on film, and for the first half Horse Girl knows how to blend confussion and mystery well together, before losing it in the climax with poor directorial decissions.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
VestingBootFeb 7, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. To be completely honest this movie could be amazing if it would have stuck to a few of the subplots within it. Horse Girl is one movie that I don't know who its intended for. I came into this movie with the hope that it would keep me interested but it's story and cringe inducing moments make me want to look away. The acting however done by Allison Brie, Debby Ryan,and John Reynolds is fantastic. Brie makes you believe her character's utter confusion with the many weird happenings to herself. Debby Ryan's portrayal of a roommate helping the other is well done. John Reynolds did a fantastic job as Darren and to be honest I wish we saw more of him than we did. The movie isn't bad, but it's just so confusing it makes watching the movie a chore which isn't something you want. The movie has moments that make me want to live in them, the Baker's Dozen scene is extremely entertaining with the banter that goes back and forth with the characters. The scene with Brie's friend Heather was great and I wish that would have been further shown. If I were to categorize this movie it wouldn't be thriller, it's more in the vein of a drama that airs on the side of Psychological and disturbing. The movie is definitely on the low tier of movies I have seen and I wouldn't recommend it, but who knows maybe I'm missing the genius behind the film and it's fantastic for others. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MrDizzleFeb 8, 2020
As someone would has suffered from acute bouts of paranoia schitzophrenia, and had grandparents who suffered from Dementia, I watched this film in awe at its accurate portrayal of mental health issues.

Alison Brie's performance is incredible
As someone would has suffered from acute bouts of paranoia schitzophrenia, and had grandparents who suffered from Dementia, I watched this film in awe at its accurate portrayal of mental health issues.

Alison Brie's performance is incredible and the music and artistic direction all combine to produce a must watch movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Comrade_CriticFeb 21, 2020
Great merkin work. Alison looks great and has one of her best performances. Confusing movie but creates a mood.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
keanexFeb 21, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't honestly know how to feel about this movie. The gradual descent into, presumed, schizophrenia that eventually dives heavily into it, is wild. The entire movie is acted fairly well, and there are some very tense and even sad moments. Allison Brie does a good job of really diving into a realistic feeling view of this awful mental disease. I've seen it first hand and I think it did a solid job even if not completely accurate to my experiences. My largest issue with the movie is the ending. It's ambiguous, intentionally, but I don't think that it serves to better the film. It's unique and worth a watch, but I don't think it'll ever be more than a cult movie at best. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
johndoe2014Feb 14, 2020
There is just so much you can do in 90 min. But this movie gets a lot done and takes the viewer all over the place. We are not sure what is true or not, but Allison Brie is captivating, and the action always rings true. Yes, it is weird, butThere is just so much you can do in 90 min. But this movie gets a lot done and takes the viewer all over the place. We are not sure what is true or not, but Allison Brie is captivating, and the action always rings true. Yes, it is weird, but in a good way. Good job taking a chance on this messy content and pulling it off. If you like straightforward easy to follow narratives, probably better skip it. If you like movie that take a chance and great acting, you will like it most likely. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Feb 11, 2020
This was a very unfortunate film that doesn't live up to its theme nor the performance of Alison Brie.

The approach instead of deepening into the mental illness the main character obviously suffers, seems more interested in exploiting the
This was a very unfortunate film that doesn't live up to its theme nor the performance of Alison Brie.

The approach instead of deepening into the mental illness the main character obviously suffers, seems more interested in exploiting the episodes of imbalance the character experiences and the story goes like this over and over again until the ending, giving the impression that the screenwriters didn't know what to do with the rest of the theme.

This was a let down.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GemperkinsFeb 21, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great acting. Everyone should watch movies like this to understand what it might be like for someone experience a psychotic episode. How scary they must feel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews