Lions Gate Films | Release Date: January 6, 2006
3.3
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 665 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
195
Mixed:
69
Negative:
401
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
[Anonymous]Jun 17, 2006
This movie is stupid, it has no plot, its not scary, its just disgusting. The first hour or so is ok, but after that, its one of the dumbest movies I have ever seen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
MarkH.Jun 18, 2006
The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most The first half a very stupid teen movie with all clichés - the rest a desperate attempt to make all previous chainsaw massacres look like "finding nemo". At the end a big question: How sick does one have to be to find the most perverted kinds of torture entertaining? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DavidC.Jun 22, 2006
People are forgetting the point of a horror flick. its aim is to have you on the edge of your seats as much as possible. true there is no gore at the beginning of the film but there needs to be a foundation for the following activites that People are forgetting the point of a horror flick. its aim is to have you on the edge of your seats as much as possible. true there is no gore at the beginning of the film but there needs to be a foundation for the following activites that occur. i feel that this film is a well layered structure that did have me at the edge of the seat most of the time. however i feel this could not be a DVD to own as i dont think i could have the stomach for it again. however an exciting experience none-the-less. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AdrianF.Jun 24, 2006
The thing that annoys me most about how people vote on this movie is how vile, sick and disgusting it is. However that should be be expected for a horror movie and perhaps those that don't enjoy delving into the darkest depths of human The thing that annoys me most about how people vote on this movie is how vile, sick and disgusting it is. However that should be be expected for a horror movie and perhaps those that don't enjoy delving into the darkest depths of human nature should steer well clear of this movie (and genre). Also on the front cover of this DVD it clearly indicates strong sexuality and graphic violence. If you adverse to these, also steer clear! (maybe you should get out Wallace & Gromit instead on your next visit to your dvd store - a true classic in its own genre). The main objective of any horror movie is to entertain and shock. Not to make a political or profound statement. Not to be 100% realistic. Does Hostel achieve what a horror movie is meant to? Without a doubt, yes. Eli Roth is the future of horror movies and can't wait to check out his future work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ZackO.Jun 27, 2006
why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did why why why? the first half hour is pretty much cliche softcore horror movie porn. after that, it becomes a twisted and meaningless film of needless torture and pain. there is no reason for this movie to exist. the eye mayonaise really did it for me. i actually laughed out loud when the blatantly fake thousand island dressing splurged of the asian's eye socket. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
AaronB.Jun 28, 2006
The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' The premise of this moving is interesting. I agree with many reviewers in saying that the gore in the movie is a little over the top. However, isn't that what a blood and guts horror movie is all about? I gave this movie a '5' because that is what it deserves. It's not as great as some would have you believe but, at the same time, it certainly isn't as bad others would tell you. My advice: check it out and make come up with your own opinion. At least with the DVD you can turn off the disgust at any time you like. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
AmurabiM.Jul 8, 2006
"Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an "Hostel" is an exercise of innecesary sadism. This is an exploration of the American POV, no more than that. It is a metaphor as amercans being torturers and people who suffers torture. This is waht we get, people!. Eli Roth makes an excercise of hyper violence, hyper realism and exploitation without any guilt. Mixing all the cliches of the genre and twisting them in a mean humor. "Hostel" is just a shocking film, no more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BillJul 15, 2006
Maybe the best horror movie this decade. disturbing, creepy, funny, and gory. a must see.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
3
S.BannonJul 26, 2006
I knew the film would suck. But it was supposed to be totally offensive and gruesome, so I thought I should atleast watch it. Not even close. No suspense, no twists, even the gore was lame. Total waste of time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AlecB.Aug 16, 2006
more of a soft porn flick than horror. not what i was expecting but still pretty good.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
1
NickA.Sep 8, 2006
So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and So this is supposedly one of the most vicious and goriest films ever if you believe the front cover. Well don't because this is neither, the film doesnt know what to be, is it a spoof, is it horror? no its basically utter garbage and doesnt work on any level. The characters to begin with are so annoying and one dimensional that as the viewer you couldnt care less what happened to them and this is the big problem here, the tension never gets going, the gore becomes laughable, basically this sucks big time ! Please Eli Roth go back to your day job! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
6
NoahG.Sep 13, 2006
[***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all [***SPOILERS***] I thought this was awesome! It was really wrenching at times, like when the guys feet freakin get cut & he stands up.....gross!, but all in all it was really good..... real gore....But it didnt really go any where..... all it was was people getting tortured or dieng but yea it was good... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnE.Oct 10, 2006
I thought the idea behind this film was brilliant. A lot of people have criticised it because it is either too gory, or because it is not gory enough. I liked the film because it got the balance right - it was a bit slow to get going, but I thought the idea behind this film was brilliant. A lot of people have criticised it because it is either too gory, or because it is not gory enough. I liked the film because it got the balance right - it was a bit slow to get going, but this only made the last half hour feel more shocking. Worth seeing. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
JeffM.Oct 29, 2006
If you want a soft-core porn movie that turns into a torture flick halfway through, this is your movie. I like naked breasts as much as the next guy, but the gore was mostly disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
4
RD.Apr 4, 2007
Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth Not scary enough. Not as gory as some say. I saw unraTED VERSION btw. Just flinched twice in the whole movie. One during the removing a finger from the legs of a woman and during cutting of an eyeball scene if you know what I mean. Roth needs to seriously do something different or else his Hostel series will become just another Saw series except the fact thatS aw 1 is intelligent while Hostel which had a good premise is not! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
2
ABSep 9, 2007
It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, It is surprising that "Hostel" was advertised as a particularly shocking horror film; it turns out to be standard horror fare: it is boring, fairly gory, and has no plot whatsoever. And, of course, it is not scary. Its only merit is that, although it is sharply degrading (especially toward women and children), it is not as offensive as its preposterous sequel. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
HalB.Nov 3, 2007
A minor masterpiece of modern horror, that draws heavily from several horror classics. Was the soft porn over the top at times? Probably. But the direction, set design and cinematography are all top notch, and the performances pretty A minor masterpiece of modern horror, that draws heavily from several horror classics. Was the soft porn over the top at times? Probably. But the direction, set design and cinematography are all top notch, and the performances pretty believable. The story arc is pretty simple, some might say boring... but I think that misses the point. This is a horror film; it's meant to entertain and shock by depicting the worst that humans are capable of. And some of the human monsters even get their just desserts in the end. Revenge is a dish best served cold. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
0
ShaoKahn260May 10, 2015
This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin
This movie shouldn't have been released. The movie has gratuitous sex, violence and of course profanity.
The movie tried to capitalize on movies like the saw series. The director hasn't made a quality movie in my opinion. His movie Cabin Fever is just as pointless and offensive as this picture. Fortunately few movies of this type are released. This movie has nothing to enjoy and has no originality, a total waste of time for any viewer.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
WJSOct 12, 2015
A strong narrative highlights this at time exploitive body parts feature. The first act of the film is nothing more than a frat boy, soft core porn fest, with lots of T & A. The second act is the definitive example of torture porn, with bloodA strong narrative highlights this at time exploitive body parts feature. The first act of the film is nothing more than a frat boy, soft core porn fest, with lots of T & A. The second act is the definitive example of torture porn, with blood and guts and body parts flying all over the place. In the third act the film morphs into a fairly effective Jason Bourne style game of cat and mouse, which really proves quite entertaining. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Duke_NukemOct 17, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie will keep American tourists from ever visiting Slovakia.

It has a slow, dull start in Amsterdam (where the inhabitants speak German instead of Dutch) and it's only once our American friends start their train trip to Slovakia that things get interesting.

The whole setting in the hostel is very nice, the sexy girls are there to seduce horny boys and lead them to hell. The receptionist is a creepy nerd who keeps saying things like "Americans? Cool! Party yes? Why not!"

The way that Eli Roth portrays a village in Eastern Europe can be seen as slightly racist, but in the end it creates a very nice modern, spooky fairy tale feeling. They boys are far from home, and in here there are other rules at stake than they are used to.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Meth-dudeMar 20, 2016
Apart from the entertaining last 45 minutes or so and the gore, Hostel is a pretty generic movie and it doesn't bring anything new.It's a good movie but, it's also a slightly overrated one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DeanieTheGOATOct 25, 2017
For a horror/slasher film I found the movie overall enjoyable. I think there was a sufficient balance of action/gore as there was plot development. I always like having the experience of being able to route for the main character. I thinkFor a horror/slasher film I found the movie overall enjoyable. I think there was a sufficient balance of action/gore as there was plot development. I always like having the experience of being able to route for the main character. I think it's important however that the main character remains to have plausible actions that don't have the reality of the film becoming out of reach or "too unrealistic". Overall pleasantly surprised with the quality of Hostel and am definitely going to check out Hostel II. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
FilipeNetoMay 12, 2018
I saw this movie a few years ago but it's one of those movies that you can hardly forget. I love horror movies, but I'm more afraid of what is cleverly suggested than with what I see explicitly. So this movie is not the kind of movie II saw this movie a few years ago but it's one of those movies that you can hardly forget. I love horror movies, but I'm more afraid of what is cleverly suggested than with what I see explicitly. So this movie is not the kind of movie I prefer. The action revolves around a group of three North American travelers who are making the traditional backpacking trip to Europe that immense teenagers or pre-university students do. The recipe is the usual: drink, testosterone, little brain and huge desire for sex and light drugs. They go to Slovakia, where they are looking for a hostel, advertised as the ideal place to find all this, but they end up wrapping themselves in a criminal and dangerous web where they are the flies. From here, the film is basically a torture session capable of making the Spanish inquisitors want to take notes in a notepad.

We can then understand that the most serious problem of this film is the absence of a credible and well-constructed story behind the horror scenes. The script is built on gore, graphic violence is an end in itself. Another problem, a direct consequence of this, is the poor construction of the characters, who are just stupid teenagers who deserve to die in the film because the public does not care about them. Never mind the names of the actors. There are no sounding names, they would not risk their career in such a movie. They are meat to the slaughter. Eli Roth, the director / screenwriter, must have a distorted conception of what horror movies are but, in any case, the film has a specific audience and Roth was entirely capable of meeting their expectations. Special and visual effects are a fundamental part of the most soulless scenes and were done with great attention to detail.

This is a movie inappropriate for popcorn, as I say, for joke. It is sadistic and shocking, arresting public attention for explicit violence. It is not a movie that is suitable for most people. They would think it is too visual, too disgusting to bear. But fans of gore and pure and tough violence will love it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jonslowFeb 16, 2019
This movie Hostel scare me enough when I was at the hostel for a trip. zzzzzzzzz
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews