Universal Pictures | Release Date: November 17, 2000
6.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 198 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
105
Mixed:
70
Negative:
23
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
[Anonymous]Dec 11, 2005
Okay in itself, but the Grinch seems pedophilic... the Whos are obsessed, and the mayor is just wierd... It strays off the whole POINT of the book, and Cindy Lou is an annoying little stalker.
2 of 4 users found this helpful
5
OfficialNov 15, 2013
"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a noisy and strange-looking film that ultimately does not entertain. To be honest, I got really annoyed and irritated after watching 30 minutes of this. The story was so completely random and strange. My"How the Grinch Stole Christmas" is a noisy and strange-looking film that ultimately does not entertain. To be honest, I got really annoyed and irritated after watching 30 minutes of this. The story was so completely random and strange. My recommendation would be to check something else out for Christmas. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
DanBurritoAug 26, 2016
How The Grinch Stole Christmas features a hilarious performance from Jim Carrey, but that isn't quite enough to cover for a predictable plot, uninteresting characters and cheesy dialogue. Though the scenes with The Grinch are usually somewhatHow The Grinch Stole Christmas features a hilarious performance from Jim Carrey, but that isn't quite enough to cover for a predictable plot, uninteresting characters and cheesy dialogue. Though the scenes with The Grinch are usually somewhat entertaining, the rest of the movie is sickly sweet and bloated (this concept just wasn't meant for feature length). Overall, though not without its moments, How The Grinch Stole Christmas betrays Jim Carrey with Christmas movie clichés and an overstretched plot. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianFeb 23, 2020
Kinda stuffs it, Carrey provides a few laughs but the tone is all over the place.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RikiegeJan 12, 2013
Gives Christmas spirit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SEROJDec 27, 2014
Without Jim Carey, this would've been a decent Christmas movie... The story is nothing special but i bet you'll have fun! Not gonna' spoil anything. Recommended
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieGuysOct 22, 2013
Ron Howard may have struck gold with us, but some of his other films don't live up to that expectation. This movie is quirky, weird, and unsettling. While it works in some places, most of it is not up to par. But, Jim Carrey plays the GrinchRon Howard may have struck gold with us, but some of his other films don't live up to that expectation. This movie is quirky, weird, and unsettling. While it works in some places, most of it is not up to par. But, Jim Carrey plays the Grinch damn well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
RayzorMooseNov 12, 2013
A wonderful holiday tale that will mesmerize all ages.
With impeccable acting from Jim Carey and with the artful direction of Ron Howard, How The Grinch Stole Christmas is victorious.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Tbone413Jul 25, 2015
My enjoyment of this movie depends what mood I'm in at the time. If I'm in a good mood, then I'll enjoy the movie. Otherwise, I'll be instantly bored, balancing it out to a 5/10.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
CineAutoctonoDec 19, 2015
The old Christmas story to film, it's crazy , but the Grinch, hardly surprised , as funny but very little of other emotions, and do not know who hates Christmas ?, and I became like Scrooge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
EpicLadySpongeDec 30, 2015
Jim Carrey does his all as the Grinch, the dog Max is cute, and this movie has a backstory to nearly why the Grinch hated Christmas so much. Unfortunately, they're not enough to save this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FuturedirectorMar 12, 2017
An undeniably flawed, difficultly funny and some kind of overrated work that can only be enjoyable thanks to Carrey's talented performance as the Grinch.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JPKJun 9, 2019
A Mixed Bag
Jim Carrey is brilliant as The Grinch, But the story’s heart isn’t as big.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
amheretojudgeFeb 24, 2018
it's because i'm green isn't it..

How The Grinch Stole Christmas After walking out of this feature the only thing one remembers and discusses about is Jim Carrey and his excellent performance in it since beyond that it doesn't have anything
it's because i'm green isn't it..

How The Grinch Stole Christmas

After walking out of this feature the only thing one remembers and discusses about is Jim Carrey and his excellent performance in it since beyond that it doesn't have anything to offer. How The Grinch Stole Christmas is a reasonable childish feature that fulfills and checks off each and every fantasy of a five year old kid but forgets to offer anything more than that in order to satisfy it and hence restraints itself to go bold. Ron Howard is disappointingly not in its A game resulting into some poor execution, amateur editing and loosely placed sequences. As mentioned earlier, its a Jim Carrey's show and he has a lot to offer in here, with amazing skill and perfect comic timing he demands attention from the viewers. How The Grinch Stole Christmas has some one liners, cliched comic sequences and petty writing that miraculously comes alive and helps survive it by stellar performance.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
ToastclaimerFeb 20, 2018
The Grinch is a pretty unfaithful addaptation but by no means does that make it bad. A rather confused plot and often weird and gritty visuals will. Carrey is not what youd expect the Grinch to be; but as a big hairy green guy allowed to goThe Grinch is a pretty unfaithful addaptation but by no means does that make it bad. A rather confused plot and often weird and gritty visuals will. Carrey is not what youd expect the Grinch to be; but as a big hairy green guy allowed to go as Jim Carrey as he likes he can get a few laughs out, even if they're not too smart (excluding the "It's because im green isn't it" joke, thats a clever riot of a joke)
The Grinch is enjoyable all year round as a comedy and as long as you arent too fused about changes in adaptations the movie is mostly harmless
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Super0Dec 24, 2019
This movie scared me as a kid but I came around a few years later and i realized that this movie is dark and may have hidden adult humor that may be not so hidden in a pg movie but for a grinch remake 30 years after the original it staysThis movie scared me as a kid but I came around a few years later and i realized that this movie is dark and may have hidden adult humor that may be not so hidden in a pg movie but for a grinch remake 30 years after the original it stays faithful in a lot of ways they had to stretch a 20 minute christmas special to an almost 2 hour long film its kind of impressive with what they could do and now its another classic christmas movie just like the original grinch. it has a lot of downfalls but it also has a lot of upsides so if you want a christmas movie to watch i'd suggest this if you want a movie and the old grinch is you want only almost a half an hour. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews