Twentieth Century Fox Film Corporation | Release Date: February 22, 2019
8.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 311 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
263
Mixed:
37
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
moviemitch96Feb 23, 2019
I loved the first two films, so I was excited to check this one out, but also especially eager and interested once I found out it'd be the final film in the series. And I'm more than happy to say that it did not disappoint! The magic andI loved the first two films, so I was excited to check this one out, but also especially eager and interested once I found out it'd be the final film in the series. And I'm more than happy to say that it did not disappoint! The magic and fantastical elements that made the first two so enjoyable are all here, along with a touching and bittersweet but also fitting ending to go with it. Storywise, I will say it felt a bit rushed in order to get to the great big emotional ending sooner, but the payoff of the ending was worth it and made up for this for the most part. Overall, this was a great send off to a really solid animated trilogy of films that l've come to consider to be among DreamWorks animation's best works over the years and will likely remain that way for quite some time to come! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
jacob4Feb 23, 2019
An epic and wonderful conclusion to a beloved movie trilogy. A touching story for both adults and children, filled with thrills, laughs, awesome action, and heart tugging moments. A must see conclusion for all fans who've been there since theAn epic and wonderful conclusion to a beloved movie trilogy. A touching story for both adults and children, filled with thrills, laughs, awesome action, and heart tugging moments. A must see conclusion for all fans who've been there since the very first movie and have waited almost a century for a satisfying end, and boy do they indeed get a worthy end! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LarianApr 4, 2019
The perfect end, to a near perfect trilogy. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it made me glad that i fell in love with these characters back during the first Movie. Every character has a solid Arc, every character shines in their ownThe perfect end, to a near perfect trilogy. It made me laugh, it made me cry, and it made me glad that i fell in love with these characters back during the first Movie. Every character has a solid Arc, every character shines in their own way, and every character makes you care about them IMHO. (your mileage may vary of course.) But even if you have not seen the first two movies you can still come into this and enjoy the ride as is... you will miss some subplots, but you can still enjoy it. The dragons are every bit as real characters as the people. One of my favorite parts is the way Ruffnut... how shall i put this. Confounds the villain. (you'll understand when you see it.) and you need to see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JoeCoolMar 6, 2019
Beautiful end to the trilogy. The kids absolutely loved it and truth be told I thought it was very well done as well. Visually and emotionally a very nice movie, even if there are times when it just feels too long-winded. Everthing just seemsBeautiful end to the trilogy. The kids absolutely loved it and truth be told I thought it was very well done as well. Visually and emotionally a very nice movie, even if there are times when it just feels too long-winded. Everthing just seems to work well enough, all the way to the excellent ending. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
DavidTejadaFeb 22, 2019
“You might say that the final part is not as exciting as the previous two films, however the third instalment proved to be a solid better-than-expected movie which signified the conclusion of the second best cartoon trilogy after Toy Story”“You might say that the final part is not as exciting as the previous two films, however the third instalment proved to be a solid better-than-expected movie which signified the conclusion of the second best cartoon trilogy after Toy Story”

It has been nearly five years since the second movie was released. From then on, I was waiting excitedly to 2019 because my childhood most-impressive saga was about to come to an end. Afterwards, I watched the first trailers, they reinforced my expectations and gave me chills because everything I loved about the saga was in. When I arrived at the premiere I felt a little weird because I was surrounded by 9-year-old kids. They were laughing about the childish behaviour presented in the movie and also about baby dragons, but I was a little uncomfortable. WHY? Because I realised the saga became more about providing laughs and less about developing the characters such as the villain (who was not bad but could have been enhanced). Nevertheless, there were many laughable moments and basically throughout the movie I was having fun as a little kid I used to be. I love how director DeBlois still gave importance to each character, considering they were a bunch of 10 individuals, like if it was their first appearance ever. Have I mentioned the visual effects became some of the most outstanding beautifully-crafted details I have ever spotted in an animated flick? Dreamworks, after all, is mending fences from its previous non-convincing films released. I bet our studio production will be nominated at the Oscars next year. I deeply believe so. The relationship between Toothless and the new Night Fury is just gorgeous and lovable in every way (if not, consider yourself douchebag, hehe…)

The little problem I had with it was the subtle affair between Hiccup’s young friend and Hiccup’s mother… Can you believe it? (80/100)
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
mirgFeb 22, 2019
This movie wraps up the storyline for the series and it's a pleasant send off at that. The movie does have some nice twists and turns to it. The animation is quite fluid and the 3D models have drastically increased in quality from the lastThis movie wraps up the storyline for the series and it's a pleasant send off at that. The movie does have some nice twists and turns to it. The animation is quite fluid and the 3D models have drastically increased in quality from the last film. The action scenes are much more impactful then the last movie along with the love and comedy scenes too. The only real downside to the movie is that it's quite predictable for an experienced movie goer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
higgins404Feb 28, 2019
This is one of the rare occurrences where a trilogy is wrapped absolutely beautifully. The movie provided a great ending to this wonderful coming of age story. The villain probably didn't need to be in the movie, but the feels the movieThis is one of the rare occurrences where a trilogy is wrapped absolutely beautifully. The movie provided a great ending to this wonderful coming of age story. The villain probably didn't need to be in the movie, but the feels the movie brought out were real. Great movie. I would give this a 9.5, but I will round up. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Vitor007Feb 22, 2019
With a beautiful farewell, the trilogy fires in an exciting way, bringing more original conflicts, and finally deepening in the history of the Night Furies. Despite being less electrifying, with less intense battle scenes compared to previousWith a beautiful farewell, the trilogy fires in an exciting way, bringing more original conflicts, and finally deepening in the history of the Night Furies. Despite being less electrifying, with less intense battle scenes compared to previous films, the film manages to replenish the lack of intensity in conflicts with the addition of Light Fury. His characters remain naive, even after years in the timeline of the film. We missed a great villain, but it wasn't disappointing. Overall, it is beautiful to see a beautiful conclusion at this level. 8.9/10 Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Juel14Mar 10, 2019
It´s beatiful!!!!

A fantastic closure, with well-planned characters and incredible turns, a gift for your inner child
the animation is perfect and in the end it brings out the tears of joy
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sarbear99Apr 6, 2019
First, I would like to note that even though this movie is intended for children, it also appeals to the older audiences as well. I have been a fan from the very first movie and fell in love with the relationship between Hiccup and Toothless.First, I would like to note that even though this movie is intended for children, it also appeals to the older audiences as well. I have been a fan from the very first movie and fell in love with the relationship between Hiccup and Toothless. It made me reflect on my own relationship with my pet dog. Usually when the first movie is really good and the director decides there needs to be a second, or a third, they sequels are not as good as the first. Unlike most movie series, How to Train Your Dragon 1, 2 and the Hidden World all complement each other equally. From the first movie to the third, you can see a progression of the main character Hiccup as he grows up and learns the ropes of becoming the new chief of Berk but also can see the progression in the other main characters as well. In the Hidden World, the beauty of the world around them just shines through and is honestly jaw dropping. For anyone, the ending of the movie is very touching and heart breaking but for those who have taken the progression from the first to the third movie, like I have, the emotions hit you more. I was impressed with the detail it all went through to create the movie because the writers and animators could have easier made it much more simple yet they jam packed it with mini details. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Trineo99Feb 23, 2019
First of all, this is just something I wanted to talk about and that’s Toothless and how he’s just so cute and innocent. Every scene that he’s in he just steals it. If they made a solo Toothless film, which please don’t, I would see it. SinceFirst of all, this is just something I wanted to talk about and that’s Toothless and how he’s just so cute and innocent. Every scene that he’s in he just steals it. If they made a solo Toothless film, which please don’t, I would see it. Since the very first film that came out in 2010 the animation in this film series has just constantly been getting better and better from each entry and in my opinion this one probably had the best animation. Whenever you saw water it looked like real water, all the buildings had the look and texture of real ones. Even the people looked somewhat like real people. All the colour in this film is vibrant and bright that it helps bring you into this world. Also, the lighting in this film helped with what you should feel in that scene. If it was more bright and colourful you knew that it was a happy scene compared to a dark and grim look that would represent a sad moment in it. The characters in this film felt real because they had flaws and made mistakes. Since the first movie to now you see all of these characters grow up over these films and it’s great to see them all mature into these grown adults by the end of this film. All of the action scenes in this film were just breathtaking and were probably better than some of the live action fight scenes you see. The camera angles that showed the action no matter and knew where to focus at what point and time was just amazing. Of course, the music in this film, which was done by John Powell, was intense and easy listening to. I can easily see myself listening to it. The message in this film is great and everybody should follow it. I was going to complain about the subplot between Toothless and the Light Fury but then I realized that it had to happen to help with the main plot and so it really wasn’t a subplot. The humour in this film is subtle and doesn’t over power the film. When there is humour it’s placed in an appropriate place. This isn’t a spoiler because it’s in the trailer but one of the funniest scenes is when Toothless is trying to flirt with the Light Fury. I think really my only problem with this film is the villain Grimmel. He just wasn’t a fully developed villain and this could be because they wanted to keep him a mystery but after the last movies great, one they needed to step it up in this film. I highly recommend seeing this film in 3D due to the breathtaking visual effects. In the end, this film was great and is a great wrap up on one of the best trilogies to date. Also, the ending to this film made me actually cry. Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
5
PurplepufferyFeb 26, 2019
Wish I could say more, but this movie just wasn't good. I've read the books, watched the first movie around 42 times, the second around 6, and have seen both tv series. I'm a huge fan of the HtTYD series, and that's why this hurts me soWish I could say more, but this movie just wasn't good. I've read the books, watched the first movie around 42 times, the second around 6, and have seen both tv series. I'm a huge fan of the HtTYD series, and that's why this hurts me so much.
The movie is visually stunning, and John Powell's soundtrack work salvaged it for me.
The plot is incredibly forced, and emotionally draining with how unsatisfactory this movie is.
I'd never expect something so generic and predictable from Dreamworks, but here we are.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
MayfieldjaMar 10, 2019
Though this film lacks the emotional punch of the first two installments of this trilogy, The Hidden World still puts a nice little bow onto the film franchise that the kids will enjoy. You will still find some laughs but ultimately this filmThough this film lacks the emotional punch of the first two installments of this trilogy, The Hidden World still puts a nice little bow onto the film franchise that the kids will enjoy. You will still find some laughs but ultimately this film is the weakest of three with less character development and less depth than it’s predecessors. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TrevorsViewFeb 22, 2019
Moving to a new place can feel like your own house got set on fire. Meeting someone who speaks another language can feel like you are talking to a wall. Deciding to shower in the morning instead of the evening can shift your entire sleepMoving to a new place can feel like your own house got set on fire. Meeting someone who speaks another language can feel like you are talking to a wall. Deciding to shower in the morning instead of the evening can shift your entire sleep routine. Embracing change puts a toll on anyone, myself included. DreamWorks’ attentive conclusion to their popular trilogy presents these challenges and more in an approach that guarantees any child at heart watching How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World will confront transformation greater as a result.

The screenplay to this otherwise watchable feature remains too safe by keeping the side characters to one-note comic devices, as was the problem with previous installments to the franchise. While Toothless learning how to court a white female dragon of his own species becomes a sweet scene without dialogue, the naïve bonding still may distance most others who would see this as too little-kiddish. Adults may enjoy the relatively huge clouds that progress into a powerful storm, yet the sudden splendor ultimately remains pretty hollow in its true meaning. Some older viewers may see it all as nothing but a weak tool for empty spectacle to prioritize its claims to help sincere problems. Not all kids would be totally into the experience either, as some could possibly find some of the dragons too scary, especially a couple of sabretooth venom-spitters who go on a rage in their own flames. Stuff like that could make children skip over the message.

Speaking of the message, a bland flashback copies The Lion King with an overused theme, “humans shouldn’t exercise authority over the environment,” with little added on to it that other family films have done better in the past. Its catalyst for delivering that theme centers around an unnecessary lazy old villain trope who kills Night Furies when the focus should have stayed on a true, healthy friendship. There’s the strong friendship between Hiccup and his dragon alright, but what about Fishlegs, Snotlout, Ruffnutt, Tuffnutt, and even Astrid? Nothing exploits the clear changes in each of the friends since their first appearances to display their growth… not even Fishlegs’ new braided moustache. It’s the same problem movies numbers one and two have: the gang is not fully invested to help Hiccup decide what’s best for Berk.

Now with the negative aspects out of the way, DreamWorks’ franchise still remains a wonderful investment. Considering our culture wants to build up borders, what a breath of fresh air that the big screen unites nationalities through something unanimously tangible. The Hidden World does so in a way that must be seen only in IMAX as more dragons fly than ever within neon glows, even to the extent of caressing a silent storytelling language! At a smaller scale, the white Night Fury’s slumber within radiant backlights looks pure inside her misty forest. Then she moves catlike before turning invisible: prim, independent, and well mannered.

Everyone can understand animals (that includes dragons), a truth exploited to its full potential when some green auroras grace a sky dance to contrast against other larger, uglier, beast designs. The immense range of scale guides Berk’s soft sunrise stretched from one of Earth’s corners to another that looks much stronger after the foggy rescue mission prologue gives a cold aura. To tie it all together into a cohesive unit, the franchise’s usual director adds dramatic flames beneath the magic hour moments to symbolize Hiccup’s fear of being a nobody without his pet.

To make things better, the vocal cast puts their best feet forward without any more of those fake-sounding accents! Jay Baruchel improved quite a lot after struggling a little throughout the first two installments; he carries our familiar hero to take on those new responsibilities of being chief to great success.

The wonderful continuation off past movies helps our sympathetic capacity, both in the story arcs and the quality of the animation; Toothless’ sand drawing turns out better now because the sand texture moves so realistically thanks to technological wizardry! These filmmakers clearly matured as they present a series finale that sweetens the senses, as if you too grew over the last decade.

We all must take on those risky challenges, as do I, being always caught in personal thoughts. So, I recently joined my church’s Spain mission trip as a way to enforce needed growth. In that same way, Hiccup’s sky-riding has done wonders to inspire fans the past nine years—you can do the same, whether raising a son or daughter, a dog, a cat, employees, or a workspace. Then, proper etiquette can be taught and learned to eventually help others expose the hidden.
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryFeb 27, 2019
This is the 3rd installment in this series about a young man and his friendly dragon. It starts with his community rescuing a bunch of captured dragons, but their plight from a diabolical villain is played out thru the rest of the plot. ThereThis is the 3rd installment in this series about a young man and his friendly dragon. It starts with his community rescuing a bunch of captured dragons, but their plight from a diabolical villain is played out thru the rest of the plot. There are plenty of bizarrely funky dragons, lots of frenzied action and some mildly charming supporting characters. This final chapter will appeal to fans who are invested in the series, but there's nothing particularly original or special here. The ending is sweet. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
LUntikusADApr 7, 2019
Откровенно очень плохое продолжение, я не понимаю почему у этого мультика такой рейтинг?( Ведь ты весь сюжет узнаёшь в трейлере, и это очень плохо я никому не рекомендую этот мультикОткровенно очень плохое продолжение, я не понимаю почему у этого мультика такой рейтинг?( Ведь ты весь сюжет узнаёшь в трейлере, и это очень плохо я никому не рекомендую этот мультик
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianMay 16, 2019
Decent third film with strong animation and music though very poor writing.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
chesaroFeb 23, 2019
I see this as an improvement for the second, but yet far for the first one, you have a really similar story from the second, but this time i felt it was presented a little better, but the villain in this one was so... Meh, nothing important,I see this as an improvement for the second, but yet far for the first one, you have a really similar story from the second, but this time i felt it was presented a little better, but the villain in this one was so... Meh, nothing important, it could have been almost the same movie without the bad guy. The franchise deserved a better sequels but at the end this two where what we got Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
ohnomrbillFeb 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. i did not expect to like this as much as i did. i did not like the first 2 as much as this one. it is very beautiful cinema and the story moves seamlessly. the ending does not pause to make you wait to see if the bad guy looses, it just moves right into it. because the professional critics liked it so much i thought i would not. i was very wrong. excellent film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
avadaApr 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So very poor. With repetative and nonsensical storylines. Rampant dragonphilia. Toothless gets another upgrade pulled out of thin air. They continued with that alpha, dragon-king nonsense, despite toothless not having hypnotic powers. They add to its ridiculousness with some magic mind-control venom.
They find a hidden undergorund world where magically there's sunligh. And lots of dragons. And apparently they feed on nothing at all. Of course toothless instantly becomes king and the other dragons bow... Even the Alpha from the second movie. Of course all dragons need to hide there, for some reason...
Such a steep downhill from the first movie to the third. It was painful to watch. It has no sense or palatable story. Only cheaply constructed sentimentalism (dragons good, humans bad), beast love, and equally cheap human romance.
At the end they apparently stayed at a remote unfamiliar island, instead of going home for no reason...
Toothless apparently learnt to fix its mechanical tail on its own BTW.

Good graphics though.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
Creeper3455Feb 22, 2019
Thanks,Universal. You already spoiled me the important bits in the Teaser (the only trailer I’ve seen for this movie). Aren't you PROUD? Also,I hate the new DreamWorks logo. That music feels like a perfect 80s VHS intro,aside the interestingThanks,Universal. You already spoiled me the important bits in the Teaser (the only trailer I’ve seen for this movie). Aren't you PROUD? Also,I hate the new DreamWorks logo. That music feels like a perfect 80s VHS intro,aside the interesting animation.
Onto the review.

Ok,so...Now that DreamWorks is owned by Universal,I know what you're thinking. I'll talk worm squat about this movie,then telling you not to go see it. Right?
Not this time,dear! (or,at least for 50 or 70% of it?)
How To Train Your Dragon 3 is a great movie,and it's chock-full of stuff everyone will enjoy,but it's also a tiring point for DreamWorks’ style of making sequels.
But let's get the positives out of the way.
I love how the story writes Hiccup. Sure,now he's the “alpha” of Berk,but how is he going to handle everything going on and try to make Berk a safe place? The villain is also great. While they steer to the Ethical Villain route (where he thinks he's making good choices,but really,he isn't),they try to make him just as likable as Drago (who is still the better villain of these movies). Hell,with a shot of Grimmel killing a dragon like nothing,you're starting to cook things up nicely. It's visually spectacular,yeah,but also very busy. So many things are going on,and sometimes,it's so chaotic,right from when we see a Busy,Busy Berk.
And the score by John Powell is nothing special and really good at the same time. The beginning set the music up for some greatness,but then,it had a balance with Good and Great,aside from the 3rd Act filled to the brim with fantastic choral work. It’s right up there with Lisa Gerrard’s choral work on Gladiator (2000)
The relationship between Toothless and the new Light Fury was...Interesting...although it's mostly used for Dragons Schtick.
That’s where I say “Too bad this franchise caper feels like DreamWorks getting tired of their traditional Sequel formula” (‘Who really am I?’ and ‘Gee,I wonder where my parents are…’).
It’s not DreamWorks’ fault,though,as they make clear in the Screenplay that “Sometimes,you’ll need to let go of your beloved one”,polite and good enough for an animated franchise. Believe me,I’m struggling to find other good stuff about this movie.
The Screenplay,aside from that gold nugget,feels like Dean DeBlois getting tired of the franchise and writing this as the epic finale,since he understands the franchise finished its gas (something studios like Universal doesn’t want to understand). Hey,at least someone understood this car ran out of fuel.
Unlike the first two movies,they try to shoehorn in the secondary characters too. While Gobber,Astrid and Eret (the Jon Snow character) are still hilarious,the kids,on the other hand...Get ready for what are they going to do with it.
There’s a romance B-Plot in here that it’s so weird,it’ll make the kissing scene from Venom look like the Church sequence from Kingsman 1.
And,once in a while,they just stop the movie to make you look at the visual prettiness,and it’s something I’m kinda starting to despise. I get it,your movie is gorgeous.
I don’t know,man,maybe it’s my head telling me “IT’S A UNIVERSAL MOVIE. GIVE IT A NEGATIVE RATING”,but at the same time,I’m battling with the traditional movie critic head against the Universal Virus. That sure as hell felt better than the actual movie.
This could’ve been one of the greatest animated trilogies of all-time,but sadly,I can’t say it for how this conclusion turned out to be. But hey,it’s still one of the best trilogies of a book-to-movie adaptation,so a cup of cheers for that ;-D
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
AkumaJackApr 26, 2019
Loved the first two movies. This one is kinda "meh". It's a slower version of the same story we saw years ago, with nothing really interesting or emotionally moving happening. Nothing really happens until the last 10 movies and i was tooLoved the first two movies. This one is kinda "meh". It's a slower version of the same story we saw years ago, with nothing really interesting or emotionally moving happening. Nothing really happens until the last 10 movies and i was too bored out to care anymore. Too bad it ended like that. Avoid. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
CyberRobotnixMar 3, 2019
I think it's enough of these "Train Your Dragon" movies, all good things have to end.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
SamSayajinFeb 22, 2019
Above average film.Its a fine conclusion to the trilogy but i like much more the 2nd
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
JortigoMar 18, 2019
A close more than good but without being epic like the previous tapes.
I wanted something much bigger than this.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
lolafack0Mar 2, 2019
eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeezaebis normas Vova pidoras
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
promised_mahdiApr 16, 2019
only reason i had to watch it was love between toothless and light fury and only things i like about this episode is hiccup's wedding with astrid i was waiting for it since 2010 and some scenes were like first episode and also soundtracksonly reason i had to watch it was love between toothless and light fury and only things i like about this episode is hiccup's wedding with astrid i was waiting for it since 2010 and some scenes were like first episode and also soundtracks from 2010 were amazing but at end i hate it and never watch again what kind of end was that end "we should separate friends because there is enemy and it isn't important we can defeat that enemy" it's not sane at all ): Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
6
LouesApr 8, 2019
The emotions and animation are better than the antecessors, but we have a really weak script.
This is not a bad movie, however it's worse than the other two.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
nicktohzyuJun 8, 2019
Good graphics and passable laughs but the narrative is lacking and the pace is too slow, sometime adding cheesy moments that drag on for too long
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
joegernautApr 1, 2019
we loved it and got to see it in 3D ! The trailers ruined all the supersizes but it was still great . I just wish that 3D wasen't so hard to find . No 3D NO SELL !we loved it and got to see it in 3D ! The trailers ruined all the supersizes but it was still great . I just wish that 3D wasen't so hard to find . No 3D NO SELL ! . Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MattyiceMar 29, 2019
Hidden World closes off one of the best animated movie trilogies of all time in strong fashion. It's beautifully animated with lively main characters that have been developed well through the past two films, backed from a top-tier voice cast.Hidden World closes off one of the best animated movie trilogies of all time in strong fashion. It's beautifully animated with lively main characters that have been developed well through the past two films, backed from a top-tier voice cast. The story is also entertaining with the action and flying sequences being as stunning as ever. The only thing hampering this film from being as great as its acclaimed counterparts is the weak, cliche villain, which has seemed to be a problem with all the How to Train Your Dragon movies. In the end, Hidden World closes off Dreamworks' best trilogy yet, even with new parent company Comcast/NBCU at the helm for this one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
marcmyworksApr 1, 2019
The third instalment of the franchise has amazing visuals and great animation, the plot however is very much a rehash of the previous films. Not much happens but regardless, there are some touching moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HealingToolboxMay 2, 2019
Surprisingly full of human moments, expressions of humanity and human values. A technical marvel. Probably has more MOVEMENT than any other AAA animation feature ever. 90% of scenes are flying, fighting etc. Roger Deakins no doubt a wiseSurprisingly full of human moments, expressions of humanity and human values. A technical marvel. Probably has more MOVEMENT than any other AAA animation feature ever. 90% of scenes are flying, fighting etc. Roger Deakins no doubt a wise asset here. Compare to Pixar's feature UP. Compare how limited movement is in UP compared to this. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
EpicLadySpongeMar 14, 2019
DreamWorks Animation is usually the home of mediocrity with a few smash hits on its side such as the previous How to Train Your Dragon installments and the first two Shrek movies. When it comes to How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, IDreamWorks Animation is usually the home of mediocrity with a few smash hits on its side such as the previous How to Train Your Dragon installments and the first two Shrek movies. When it comes to How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World, I wasn't expecting a bit much from it because DreamWorks usually never cares about their stories when it comes to their movies but I was honestly blown to bits when I see this near-Pixar level movie in the hands of a mediocrity animation studio that never cares about its stories. Of course since it's the end of the entire franchise, we might as well never see anything like this from DreamWorks Animation unless they manage to step up their game from this point on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Live2RiseMar 5, 2019
”How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World” should be the equivalent of how every other animated or live-action trilogy should add up to when it reaches the end of their run. It takes the gorgeous 3D animation, the interchangeable”How To Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World” should be the equivalent of how every other animated or live-action trilogy should add up to when it reaches the end of their run. It takes the gorgeous 3D animation, the interchangeable characters, the stellar action set pieces, the breathtaking cinematography, the captivating musical scores, the emotional but heart-tugging messages, everything that made its predecessors so adorable, so lovable, so relatable, so reeling in awesomeness, it all carries over here. The only major downside is the fact that despite how good this movie is, despite the fact that it’s one of those rare gems in a trilogy where the third film doesn’t suck, it is still effectively the weakest out of the three. It separates away from the darker and more mature tone that its predecessor set, the two main story arcs that come together seamlessly wrap up to the benefit of one arc as opposed to the other and there was no need for an antagonist here. In a movie this simple but so complex in its execution, you either give its villain the Drago treatment or you don’t wanna include him here PERIOD. Here, it should’ve been the latter.


As far as I know though, these stories aren’t exactly very original as far as these movies go but it isn’t so much on what the story is that matters more than it is how it’s executed. It’s how these stories are presented plus the relationships they build plus the journey they take to get to the destination that matters the most and the presentation for how all three of these movies executed it is the very reason why we’ve been able to have so much fun with it for this long. But all things considered, it manages to end this series on a high note, the way it deserves. All good things come to an end......and there’s no denying we’re gonna miss you, Toothless.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
miccaelMay 19, 2019
I dont know what is wrong with mixed reviews, this is very worthy ending for trilogy. Nice touching moments, funny parts too. Just good overall movie. What not to like?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
alejandro970Feb 24, 2019
The final quest of Berk dragonaut fulfills the expectatives same as previous chapters, with same efficient mixture of action and humor that identified the trilogy, and a final act that will break a few hearts. Whole family will appreciate.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DubeauMar 30, 2019
Hidden world is the perfect ending to that trilogy. The story isn't really amazing in itself, but it has it"s moment of emotions and satisfactions. Visually the film is very well done with some spectaculars scenes. The action is timedHidden world is the perfect ending to that trilogy. The story isn't really amazing in itself, but it has it"s moment of emotions and satisfactions. Visually the film is very well done with some spectaculars scenes. The action is timed perfectly. I give it a 75%. This was a very good trilogy that adults and children could appreciated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
AwesomeArnoldKMar 13, 2019
The first two “How to Train Your Dragon” films have been one of the greatest sets of films of the last decade and the third one does not disappoint in capping off this amazing series of epic films. Yes, to put it bluntly, “How to Train YourThe first two “How to Train Your Dragon” films have been one of the greatest sets of films of the last decade and the third one does not disappoint in capping off this amazing series of epic films. Yes, to put it bluntly, “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World” is amazing.

The first thing you’ll notice is the leap in animation. The first couple movies are pillars in terms of visuals in the animation world and this one only enhances and improves on that. The backgrounds are vivid and well detailed, the character animations are fluid and weighted, the details in the character’s design are precise and meticulous, and the fire, water, hair, scale, and other visual effects are breathtaking. Yes this film is a visual treat from start to finish. The cinematography like in the other films are just breathtaking. The flying sequences are absorbing that you get lost in the visually detailed world. The camera work along with the stunning visuals create a living breathing world that you almost forget doesn’t exist. The characters are great. The dynamic between Toothless and Hiccup is still the heart of the film. It’s amazing to see the amount of growth these two have had since their previous adventures. One thing that I particularly love about this series is the character progression from film to film, they don’t stop growing and evolving. The side characters are great and I like how they are tested on how well they work together under Hiccups leadership. Music has always been in the forefront of this series and it does not disappoint here either. John Powell’s classic scores still bring that same sense of wonder and mystique, while the new ones enhance the world and character themes, It makes you feel every emotion that the filmmakers want at every venture of the film from beginning to end, whether it’s humor, fear, or tears.

Dean DeBlois has crafted an amazing world with so much heart and wonder. He’s made a modern epic series of films that rival the greatest Hollywood fantasies and epics, such as The Lord of the Rings or “Gladiator.” He knows exactly, when to throw in humor or make you cry. The final 15 mins of the film are some of the best moments in any film, period. It’s filled with moments of real danger, visceral action, and tears that would make even the hardest of souls cry. I’ve praised “How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World” and made it sound like it’s even better than the second film. However, it does fall short, but only by a little. This film is more humor heavy, but that doesn’t take away from the real emotional moments in it. However, the stakes do feel less here and the villain, while solid for the film, wasn’t necessarily needed. He added a nice dimension, but the film could have sufficed and excelled on the drama between Hiccup and Toothless and them learning to grow and be individual characters. These are minor complaints in an otherwise great film.

This is how you end a trilogy. The Dragon series is one of not just modern animation’s, but modern film’s greatest series. And The Hidden World concludes this franchise in a bittersweet, but satisfying end. I give it 4.5/5
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AliashhadiApr 29, 2019
I think this is very good ending for whole movies. Maybe it could be better but I think it's good dream works ends it and not try making more money from this
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Kayjuku6Feb 22, 2019
Im not one to write many reviews but this review wraps up the whole series very well, there are scenes that still have to appeal to the younger audience but growing up with this movie from the first time it came out to now has really had anIm not one to write many reviews but this review wraps up the whole series very well, there are scenes that still have to appeal to the younger audience but growing up with this movie from the first time it came out to now has really had an everlasting emotional impact. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Feb 25, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is my favorite movie in the How to Train Your Dragon trilogy, my 2nd favorite animated movie of 2019, and one of my favorite movies of 2019. The voice over performances were stupendous especially from Kristen Wiig, American Ferrera, Jay Baruchel, F. Murray Abraham, Christopher Mintz-Plasse, Cate Blanchett, Kit Harington, and Jonah Hill. The visuals and animation was spectacular and beautiful especially the scene in the Hidden World. The writing, story, and screenplay were hilarious and heartwarming. The humor in the movie was hilarious. This was a spectacular conclusion to a spectacular trilogy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
boxishereMar 12, 2019
1>3>2 for me, I have to say this is the most visually stunning movie (watched in 3D) in the trilogy let down by a rather bland story and a generic-ish villain. A satisfying conclusion nonetheless. Would recommend to anyone young and old.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JackmillerApr 6, 2019
Loved the movie, it had a lot of heart and love overall it was awesome good movie
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
RaduAFeb 24, 2019
Just like the second movie but every element was a bit better, just a tiny bit.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LivingTribunalMar 3, 2019
This movie isn't just about a story of two friends but also about two groups, Parents and kids, and many good things like recollections, hope, sacrifice. The villain kind of reminded me Up's villain and was amazing. John Powell's scoreThis movie isn't just about a story of two friends but also about two groups, Parents and kids, and many good things like recollections, hope, sacrifice. The villain kind of reminded me Up's villain and was amazing. John Powell's score touches my heart every time whether it's funny, happy, thrilling, or sad. Once there were dragons and the memories will always be with me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SmileSongMar 21, 2019
I would just like to start this review stating my favorite things about the movie.

For starters, Toothless and the Light Fury, in the way that they are developed. Toothless doesn't just meet the Light Fury and immediately win her over. It's
I would just like to start this review stating my favorite things about the movie.

For starters, Toothless and the Light Fury, in the way that they are developed. Toothless doesn't just meet the Light Fury and immediately win her over. It's a gradual process in which Toothless encounters her many times, because she connects him with humans and she is afraid of that. In fact, it's only when Toothless leaves behind any trace of humanity and joins her in flight in the wild (in a beautifully choreographed scene, by the way) that she finally accepts him as a mate. I really appreciate the effort Dean went through to make this relationship feel believable. Secondly, the animation. I absolutely loved the animation in this movie. It has come a long way from how it was in 2010 in the first film, and the attention to detail and hyperrealism in this movie really shows the love that went into its making. Anything from the way light bleeds through the trees onto the characters, to the aurora borealis during the Light Fury and Toothless's romantic flight, is just simply breathtaking. Lastly, the ending. Everything about it was just... a rollercoaster. Toothless and Hiccup separate, Toothless and the Light Fury go to the Hidden World to live in peace. Nothing we didn't see coming, right? Well, they also had kids. Nightlights, to be exact. Hiccup and Astrid even had two little gems of their own - Nuffink, the boy, and Zephyr, the girl. We even get the most beautifully constructed reunion scene before the credits roll, with Hiccup finally seeing his old friend again after two years, and even getting to ride him like in old times. The ending is treated with so much respect that it makes me emotional thinking about it. All I can say to the developers at this point is: thank you. Thank you for being so careful with this ending. Now, my complaints. The villain. Grimmel was typically nothing we hadn't seen before. He hated the dragons and wanted to eradicate him. The thing that did set him apart, though, was his accomplishments; he was a Night Fury hunter, and the sole reason for the near-extinction of the species. However, this does not mean he wasn't shallow. He was. He was horribly shallow, terribly developed, and felt more like a character shoed in. I felt like I was just supposed to accept that Grimmel was a "bad guy", and didn't really get any explanation as to why he was so. Secondly, the pacing. In truth, the Hidden World feels more like a bunch of short clips randomly stitched together. The awkward jumps between present tense and past tense is what really hurts this movie. At times, it feels like a rollercoaster - a rocky, out of control roller coaster at an amusement park, the ones that aren't all that fun, nor amusing. In short, the Hidden World soars just short of its original destination. It is horribly weighed down by bad pacing and an underdeveloped villain. However, should you be a long time fan of the Dragon series,you may find yourself calling it a fitting end to the trilogy. It has enough redeeming qualities to keep it from being terrible, and enough bad qualities to keep it from being spectacular. I'd choose the previous two movies over this one in a heartbeat, but I will call it a fitting end to the trilogy until the end of time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HappyspellingApr 14, 2019
The visuals are fantastic and a lot of effort went into this movie, but it wasn't quite as good as the other two. It's a great ending to the series, but I prefer the first one.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
clarkaddisonFeb 22, 2019
The visuals are breathtaking. I really wished I went to see this in 3D. The ending is so satisfying for a multitude of reasons. Another basic villain for this franchise is one of the few minor complaints I have. Otherwise this is a fun filmThe visuals are breathtaking. I really wished I went to see this in 3D. The ending is so satisfying for a multitude of reasons. Another basic villain for this franchise is one of the few minor complaints I have. Otherwise this is a fun film for the family and can be enjoyed by anyone. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
GLADIADORJun 3, 2019
Um final perfeito que fecha essa trilogia, o filme é engraçado, divertido e o final é muito emocionante
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MrFimMar 17, 2019
Шедевр! Жду 4 часть если она всё таки будет. лучший мультфильм DreamWorks.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MironCrane22Feb 22, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolutely one of the best movie I’ve ever seen. Emotionally, cool, with a great (but not so original) story and a super super fantastic ending, an excellent ending for this trilogy.
Rating: 100/100
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
FlameFBMar 19, 2019
Interesting time we live in when it takes an animated movie about dragons for a movie to actually have heart, and by god does this movie have heart.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Kirollos-NoahFeb 22, 2019
I have a great feeling about this year!

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World is the last installment of DreamWorks' Dragons and it's directed and written Dean DeBlois, the same from the previous two. Starring Jay Baruchel, America
I have a great feeling about this year!

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World is the last installment of DreamWorks' Dragons and it's directed and written Dean DeBlois, the same from the previous two. Starring Jay Baruchel, America Ferrera and F. Murray Abraham.

The story is about Hiccup who's now chief and ruler of Berk alongside Astrid, Hiccup has created a gloriously chaotic dragon utopia. When the sudden appearance of female Light Fury coincides with the darkest threat their village has ever faced, Hiccup and Toothless must leave the only home they've known and journey to a hidden world thought only to exist in myth. As their true destines are revealed, dragon and rider will fight together-to the very ends of the Earth-to protect everything they've grown to treasure.

How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World is one of my top 10 most anticipating movies of 2019, and fortunately it didn't disappoint me! As we all know, most of the third movies in trilogies sucks, but How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World is one of the rare third installment that really works, emotionally and visually.. almost everything is working with this movie!

Let's talk deeply about this movie.. and let's ask ourselves a very important question "Is it perfect?" Well, the answer is variable, for some hardcore fans this movies is perfect, also for audiences it might sucks or they gonna love it! For me as a film critic -and most of the film critics as well- we'll notice some stuff that makes this movie imperfect, let's talk about them in this spoiler-free, and BTW I'm gonna make a spoiler review about this movie because I have lots of things to say about it but I don't want to ruin it for you, guys, let's just get into it...

The things I didn't like about his movie are few, but they still annoying, and the thing I hated the most about this movie is the editing, I'm not saying the the entire editing was bad or something but most of the scenes ended in a very fast and uncompleted way, and sometimes the editing was like the TV show, and that annoyed me so much, because How to Train Your Dragon 2 had a very good cinematography and editing, this one has a good cinematography, especially the ending which I will talk about deeply in the spoiler review because it was so emotional and it has an amazing caption, the cinematography of this movie is pretty good, but the editing was.. nah!

The second thing that I didn't like is the villain.. we don't get that much of him, he's not scary and threatening as Drago was, though they tried too hard to make him even more scarier, but eventually he wasn't, the voice acting is amazing still, but I expected more of him, and also I wanted a back story that has at least a simple connection with the main characters, but we don't get it either!

The third thing is that they didn't care that much of Valka, now Valka was very good in HTTYD 2 but in this one we don't get that much of her, that happened also with Eret.

The last thing I didn't like about this movie and it happened also with the second one, is the recap scene, it's like "Here're some info for you in case you forgot!" I didn't like it in the second one, and also in this one!

Now these are the things I hated or disliked about this movie, let's move to the things I loved, which I won't talk about them deeply not to spoil anything for you... Anyway, the graphics of this movie is the best of the whole trilogy, the details of everything is perfect, it reminds me of how Incredibles 2 was visually stunning, still didn't reach that level, but it's still stunning!!

The voice acting still fitting, and even better, with more emotions, like you can feel them all, the pain, the hate, the love and the passion.. everything is even better in this one!

The cinematography as I said is amazing, I will get deeply to this point in the spoiler review because the direction was pretty good!

And now the story, I can't talk about it know because I will spoil if I talked, but all what I got to say is that this movie doesn't have any epic scene like HTTYD 2, still have some action, but not like the previous one, but the story of this one is giving every fan a great conclusion and emotionally satisfying as well, yeah they might didn't develop any character, but it's just because they already have in the previous two, so yeah the story of this one is effective and very good as a trilogy conclusion!

Guys, this movie made me cry, not because of death or something, but because Dean DeBlois knew how to make a heart-touching scenes with simple stuff! How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World is even better than I expected it to be, and I'm gonna give it an A-!

Alright, guys, and thanks for reading my review, and if you liked it, you can click on my name up above to see all of my reviews. Look forward for my How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World spoiler review really soon...
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
SamComedianMar 3, 2019
Como Entrenar a tu Dragon 3 es la épica conclusión de la trilogía que todos esperábamos.
Una película muy emotiva, sentida, continuista respecto a las dos anteriores ( no por ello peor, diría incluso hasta mejor ), un despliegue visual y
Como Entrenar a tu Dragon 3 es la épica conclusión de la trilogía que todos esperábamos.
Una película muy emotiva, sentida, continuista respecto a las dos anteriores ( no por ello peor, diría incluso hasta mejor ), un despliegue visual y artístico increíble.
Me ha gustado mucho, de principio a fin.
Mi nota es de 10 sobre 10. Mi decimosexta crítica u/o review de la sección de Movies.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
DuckeyApr 1, 2019
In the last 40 minutes of the movie, I was crying, my heart hurts! Life there is amazing! Why the story has to end? I don't want to say goodbye to Hiccup, Toothless and all of them! How to Train Your Dragon is always my favorite movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
cemenMar 2, 2019
This is just a great cartoon movie, one of the best. A very interesting story and a great picture.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
CartoonshiFeb 22, 2019
Your enjoyment of this movie will largely depend on if you like this franchise or not, so if you didn't like the last two films or the TV shows then you probably won't enjoy this. But seeing as I'm a long time fan, THIS MOVIE WAS FANTASTIC.Your enjoyment of this movie will largely depend on if you like this franchise or not, so if you didn't like the last two films or the TV shows then you probably won't enjoy this. But seeing as I'm a long time fan, THIS MOVIE WAS FANTASTIC. It's not only a satisfying and emotional end to one of the best animated trilogies ever, it also tells a wonderful story with light but effective humour, the same dark and mature moments that defined the franchise as a whole, and all of it is capped off with absolutely stunning animation. If you needed more proof that this was Dreamwork's greatest franchise, this movie should definitely prove it. How every single movie in this franchise has managed to be equally fantastic is beyond me. So please, if you're a fan, SEE THIS MOVIE. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AvengerDragon56Apr 16, 2019
I have been a huge fan of the series for a long time now and all I got to say is that I am very satisfied with it. It can probably be too paper thin and bittersweet for some people, some jokes don't land always, but as long you're able toI have been a huge fan of the series for a long time now and all I got to say is that I am very satisfied with it. It can probably be too paper thin and bittersweet for some people, some jokes don't land always, but as long you're able to look past those missteps, you can still take your mind off and feel that this is a really good movie. Perfection, no. Satisfying, totally. If you like the other two, just take your mind off and enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
mZWDFeb 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Этот мультфильм я запомню на долго. Очень грустно после просмотра. Это стоило пяти лет ожидания. Я очень надеюсь что это не конец и DreamWorks вместе с Universal всё же решатся на продолжение этой шедевральной трилогии о драконах. Очень трогательная концовка, она вызвала смешанные эмоции. Очень зацепил фильм. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MerfiFeb 23, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The visuals are breathtaking. I really wished I went to see this in 3D. The ending is so satisfying for a multitude of reasons. Another basic villain for this franchise is one of the few minor complaints I have. Otherwise this is a fun film for the family and can be enjoyed by anyone Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JumpCut_OnlineFeb 24, 2019
Deblois’ script is deeply, powerfully moving, relying on smart callbacks to earlier films – musical cues, character moments, shot framings, he packs them in beautifully – but never forgetting to keep the trajectory forwards. The Hidden WorldDeblois’ script is deeply, powerfully moving, relying on smart callbacks to earlier films – musical cues, character moments, shot framings, he packs them in beautifully – but never forgetting to keep the trajectory forwards. The Hidden World is very much a film about the future, a film about the paths we walk with others forking off into separate avenues, and it’s a beautifully told resolution – bring the tissues for the final act alone, you’re going to need them. A resonate ending to a trilogy we ought never to forget. Perhaps The Hidden World isn’t perfect as a film, but as a finale? It just might be. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
NoahPfisterFeb 27, 2019
The How to Train Your Dragon franchise has been the black sheep of Dreamworks line up of movies. Where most of their films consist of pop culture references and toilet humor, HTTYD has souly relied on its characters, story, and music. IThe How to Train Your Dragon franchise has been the black sheep of Dreamworks line up of movies. Where most of their films consist of pop culture references and toilet humor, HTTYD has souly relied on its characters, story, and music. I remember seeing the first one in theatres when I was 12. It blew me away. I remember seeing the second one in theatres when I was 17. It blew me away. I have seen this one when it was pre-released on February 2, when I was 21. How does this third and final movie cap off this trilogy? With. A. BANG. The Hidden World is the absolute perfect ending to a movie that I have ever seen. I sobbed -- LITERALLY SOBBED as the credits rolled. No other movie has ever made me feel the way The Hidden World has made me feel. It is a perfect movie, or damn near it. Jay Barachel truly nails his role as Hiccup as does America Ferrera does with Astrid. The story is beautifully told with fast paced beats and high stakes. Toothless himself gets a huge role in the movie and there are large portions where it's just HIM and the Light Fury. The villain is menecing and does prove to be the perfect villain to cap off the series being a sort of anti-Hiccup, or what Hiccup would have been if he killed Toothless. The music by John Powell and the writing and directin of Dean DeBlois are what make this movie what it is...Well...that and the animation which is just skjfhvdkjfgfwkejhfsiurgkfhrudhvjrd. That's me trying to put the noises I made while gawking at the screen into words. It's beautiful, is what I'm saying. The only downsides of the movie is that some of the characters we got to know in the last one don't get fleshed out more, the side characters we've been with since the beginning don't get much more to do development-wise, and the pacing can sometimes be an issue. But these are MINOR nitpicks that won't affect or effect your overall viewing pleasure. I plan on watching this and watching it again, and again, and again, forever as this trilogy has proven to stand the test of time and filmmaking itself. While I am happy to see thatwe got a great movie, I can't help but feel sad. The journey that I started nearly a decade ago has met its end. And the ride it took to get there...was worth it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
hameowMar 2, 2019
It may be because of nostalgia, but i really enjoyed it. I love how main characters grow older with their audience.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
GingaAil1994Mar 2, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World," is the long awaited culmination to one of the most beloved series of all time. Set a year after the second film, Hiccup is now the chief of Berk, while his best friend, Toothless, is alpha of Berk's dragons. Hiccup, his friends and his mom keep rescuing dragons from trappers, leading to severe overcrowding issues, so the island is now a much bigger target for enemies. In order to solve this problem, Hiccup wants to find the Hidden World, a realm only known in myth, from where all dragons come, and move his people and dragons there. Problems escalate when Grimmel the Grisly, a cunning hunter responsible for killing off the Night Furies, has his eyes set on the last one - Toothless. Not only that, but a new female Fury turns up on the island, ruffling Toothless' wings. Hiccup and Toothless are faced with their most difficult trials yet; of growing up, facing adulthood and learning to let go of the things you treasure, so they can flourish.

Pros:

+ The animation is the best I've seen yet. The textures, the movement, the shot composition. It looks stunning. + The music is as good as always.

+ The character development of Hiccup, Toothless and Astrid is done brilliantly, through subtle animation and acts of selflessness and heart.

+ The film goes back to the roots of the series; it isn't as epic in scope as 2 was, but it still done well in its execution, making it feel big, but also very humble and sobering.

+ The film feels incredibly genuine. It comes from a place of passion, you can really see all the effort and love put into it.

+ Toothless is the star of the show, once again. Here, he's given even more of a spotlight, and it leads to some of the best moments in the series.

+ The scenes between Light Fury and Toothless are beautifully executed and feel very much like a nature documentary.

+ Gobber hitting on Eret is something I never knew I needed.

+ The whole film is amazing, but the last forty minutes is even more so. The ending and epilogue are just stellar.

+ The bond between Hiccup and Toothless is expanded on in subtle ways, and they are still the heart and soul of the franchise.

+ Keeps with the overarching themes of acceptance, love and friendship, as well as the nature between man and beast,and man and nature. It also expands upon the themes of growing up and responsibility, but also on having faith in yourself and others that you may take for granted, albeit unintentionally. Of course, there's also the issue of letting go, which is handled excellently.

+ The villain is impeccably voiced, and comes off as a type of serial killer, who derives a sick pleasure from his actions and the hunt. + it's really funny!

Cons:

- The pacing, as with 2, is for the most part great... except for one thing. Some parts go way too fast! This is the first time ever I wanted *more* from a film, not because I was unsatisfied, but because I liked everything of what I got.

- while the villain and his Death Gripper dragons are great, I did find him turning up on New Berk at the exact same time as the Furies to be very "screenwriter's wont." There is elements of this in 1 and 2, but they are done so in a way that the film feels almost aware, e.g. Hiccup saying "did *anyone* see that!" after shooting down Toothless. That, and the venom is kinda confusing in how it works.


This should be titled "How to End Your Trilogy." It goes without saying that "How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World" is a wonderful end to an amazing saga. It's sincere, heartwarming and bittersweet, with amazing animation, character relationships and a story that goes back to the roots of the original. It is an absolute must see, and one I can't wait to buy and watch over and over with the first two films. Pacing issues aside, this is an *excellent* film.

9.4/10.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BenaudMar 6, 2019
Great fun. Provides a fitting conclusion to this trilogy. Faithful to its characters and their arcs.
Can't ask for much more than that if you liked the other two movies in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jinxerfelixMar 8, 2019
A fun time for the family, my kids really enjoyed it and I thought it made for a good end cap to the series. The writers got a little loosey goosey with the girl power shtick but nothing that overshadowed or took away from the overallA fun time for the family, my kids really enjoyed it and I thought it made for a good end cap to the series. The writers got a little loosey goosey with the girl power shtick but nothing that overshadowed or took away from the overall enjoyment of the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Brando217Mar 9, 2019
Very few movies can be heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time. This is a perfect finale to one of the best trilogies in cinematic history.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
MovieFan503Mar 9, 2019
I loved the first 2 movies, I love that the animation style and I feel that it has something for kids and adults. I also really loved Hidden World as well, was it as good as the first? Maybe a little less, but I still really enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
alvindinoMar 11, 2019
Indeed, for the audience who do not care or have not been able to understand the side of the development of their character, in short, if they just want to see a stunning visual presentation, it will also be realized here. Because, this filmIndeed, for the audience who do not care or have not been able to understand the side of the development of their character, in short, if they just want to see a stunning visual presentation, it will also be realized here. Because, this film is also loaded with complete visual offerings, interesting action scenes that are very attractive, rich in color, and more imaginative dragon variants. The visual presentation of the hidden world is very impressive and eye-catching.

Of course, through The Hidden World DeBlois is undoubtedly able to present a very satisfying work and a very elegant farewell to this animated saga. Even though it has become a very pleasant visual journey, let's hope that this third film really will be the closing stage - because if there is another story of the sequel or other spinoff it will tarnish and hurt the very sweet ending that has been achieved here.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Wa_Mar 9, 2019
Really enjoyed this movie. Not as great as the first two but still a nice conclusion to the trilogy.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
lia_384Mar 10, 2019
Amazing! The story is so good and not disappoint at all! Love it, one of the best animation in the recent time I think :)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
WapitikevMar 10, 2019
A satisfying conclusion to the H2TYD movie series...seemed a bit rushed, particularly the action scenes, but overall a decent film. Recommended.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JerryWApr 1, 2019
Although I liked the movie itself, I should probably add that it was not as good as the first two. Still, I believe it is worth watching, at around the middle of the movie, it starts getting more interesting. The ending was very emotional andAlthough I liked the movie itself, I should probably add that it was not as good as the first two. Still, I believe it is worth watching, at around the middle of the movie, it starts getting more interesting. The ending was very emotional and different. I recommend it to anyone who wants to see how it all ends. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
topensproplaMar 11, 2019
Just in case you've never heard of the blatant copypasta:

(Seriously, go see the movie, it's great!) "I'll make it very simple and clear: Captain Marvel is really worth a watch. It's just entertaining and visually impressive, exactly what
Just in case you've never heard of the blatant copypasta:

(Seriously, go see the movie, it's great!)

"I'll make it very simple and clear: Captain Marvel is really worth a watch. It's just entertaining and visually impressive, exactly what it was meant to be.

Just keep this in mind that it's an origin story so don't go looking for an overstuffed complex story. It's just a fun action movie that introduces us to a new superhero Captain Marvel, played brilliantly by Brie Larson. I became an instant fan watching her in this action heroine avatar, something she manages to pull off with ease. Watch her in the action sequences and there's no way you can't be impressed. Viewers were literally cheering for some of the most heroic moments in the film. Samuel L Jackson as Nick Fury is as awesome as always, it's just that his character feels even better and refined than what we've seen. Jude Law is also quite good, and so are Ben Mendelsohn and Lashana Lynch.

But the one character that ultimately steals the show is Goose, the cat. Some of the sequences involving her are so hilarious that it was really difficult to stop laughing.

Visual effects are excellent, and the IMAX 3D viewing just elevated them. And since it's most importantly an action movie, every single action sequence it delivers is impressive, especially the train sequence. I would call it one of the major highlights of the movie. Cinematography in certain portions is really impressive. Humor, like any other MCU movie, is top notch and really manages to make you laugh.

Captain Marvel has a simple-looking origin story presented and executed in a terrific manner. The directors have done a great job with the characterization of Captain Marvel, and that is what makes everything in the film seem so good. The pace is brisk, gore is minimal to no, and there's nothing unsuitable for kids. Best superhero movie with a woman at its peak.

I'd definitely recommend watching Captain Marvel to anyone who likes superheroes or is simply a fan of action movies. You'll love it if you want to be entertained. It also does answer some much-asked questions, and that should be the reason enough for you to stay instead of just walking away. Can't wait to watch Avengers: Endgame now!"
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ApocaBeeMar 14, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film being the ending to the HTTYD trilogy was thrilling and an emotional ride towards the last film. I will admit watching Hiccup grow and be challenged, yet rise to his calling and mature for both him, his people, and the dragons was astonishing! The graphics and Animation is never not beautiful. Out of all of the villains (Grimmel) was actually one I was worried about. I mean I understand DreamWorks endings will always leave on a good foot, but this man was quite intimidating, and cunning, and was always one step ahead which made me jump to conclusion that the ending was going to take a dark turn. Although Grimmel's death was pretty plain and simple, I wish they were a bit more extra with him, for such a difficult villain he died way to easily. When I say emotional it's more towards the chemistry between the animation and the score which leaves me teary eyed because, it all just melts together so well. The design for the light furry and behavior really contrastes well with Toothless, not just by color comparisons but also maturity and actions. I give this film a 9/10 because of two reasons, the death for the villain was anti-climatic and Hiccup the savior of dragons couldn't save the four dragons that were under Grimmel's control, instead he let them drown with Grimmel, which kind of defeated what drives Hiccup to be Hiccup. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BrunoVn00Mar 31, 2019
The third and (probably) final installment of the How to Train Your Dragon series is a nice conclussion to probably the second best animation trilogy ever besides the Toy Story trilogy.

The Good: -The action scenes were very good. -Stunning
The third and (probably) final installment of the How to Train Your Dragon series is a nice conclussion to probably the second best animation trilogy ever besides the Toy Story trilogy.

The Good:
-The action scenes were very good.
-Stunning visuals and animation.
-A simple but effective and easy-to-follow story.
-A beautiful and satisfactory ending, even though a little predictable.
-The score once again is great.

The Bad:
-The villain was underwhelming. He had the potential to be a good, intimidating character but it feels like the writers didn't know how to develop him well.
-Zero character development for almost everyone with some exceptions, but everyone felt very one-dimensional.

It's an overall fun movie worth watching and it's probably the best Dreamworks has released in a long time.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Parya_princeApr 21, 2019
last movie for a trio? u can be sure it is!it end me up in tears and I was awed all the way how good made it was(animatcly)and how real everything seemed! water, sand, hair and science...pretty amazing and awesome made
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Star20Apr 26, 2019
Beautiful ending and conclusion to an very enjoying franchise. I think that this film is even better than the first two and it definently did not disappoint.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Bonnie76May 18, 2019
An emotionally satisfying end to one of the best trilogies of all time. I would recommend it if your a fan of the other two movies.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ArashafroozMay 24, 2019
When i was watching this movie i wasn't so exited and i didn't have emotion this is because of two things
One because of a bad villain and why this villain didn't show up after two chapters and 200 episode of series?
But the romances and
When i was watching this movie i wasn't so exited and i didn't have emotion this is because of two things
One because of a bad villain and why this villain didn't show up after two chapters and 200 episode of series?
But the romances and scenes that make you cry like when toothless came after hiccup saved the movie
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Ghazman2019Jun 6, 2019
This movies is amazing, the animation, the story, the visuals makes for a fantastic feral to a beloved movie trilogy. And the fact that I got to see it on my Birthday added to the excitement of seeing the movie that I've been waiting for since 2014.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews