Universal Pictures | Release Date: June 20, 2003
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 343 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
111
Mixed:
140
Negative:
92
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
NolanLundgaardApr 23, 2018
Not the best MARVEL movie. Half the people I was watching it with were asleep by the end of the film. The plot wasn’t terrible, with unexpected twists and turns. On the other hand, the Hulk didn’t appear enough in the picture to beNot the best MARVEL movie. Half the people I was watching it with were asleep by the end of the film. The plot wasn’t terrible, with unexpected twists and turns. On the other hand, the Hulk didn’t appear enough in the picture to be “green-worthy”. What’s more, the special affects were by MARVEL standards, awful. Still, Hulk was entertaining, even though it didn’t blow me away. Not a must-see, but not absolutely terrible either. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
cameronmorewoodNov 12, 2012
Ang Lee's Hulk doesn't work. It tries to be more than it is, and fails. What it is, is loud, disjointed action sequences separated by boring stretches that try to provoke thoughts and don't.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
ThegodfathersonNov 3, 2013
Ang Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some goodAng Lee's version of the Hulk is very long and fuelled with over the top action. Eric Bana stars as Bruce Banner and the Hulk. First of all, this is the most average superhero movies that I have ever seen. It's corny and long with some good action scenes. The atmosphere is tense and great but the story and dialogue also the acting is corny and bad. Ang Lee makes Hulk take great leaps and awesome helicopter takedowns but the acting, direction and story is very dumb. Lee makes a very well action sequenced but corny film that should only be watched by hardcore Hulk or action, blowing, Eric Bana, more blowing up and even more blowing up fans. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
JmsbppJul 15, 2013
Holk realmente no se muestra como es hasta el increíble Hulk en 2008 creo, sin embargo no es una descepcion...........................................
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
JerryT.Jun 20, 2003
Um yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically superUm yea i dont know why anyone would give this a 10 cause its not that good. the movie was wayyyyyyyyyyy too long. if any movie makes me have to go pee twice and i do leave the movie both times it is not a good movie. he was basically super man he might as well have been called green super man. it wasnt a terrible movie but it wasnt all that good either. the characters were all well developed and the hulk made me think that was an actual hulk. the story just dragged on forever. my advice is to wait for it to come on dvd and watch it at home cause then u can pause and use the toliet. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JacobMay 11, 2015
The Hulk is entertaining when it actually focuses on the Hulk especially in the last third. If the film was condensed and made the last third the focus it could’ve been a decent film. Ang Lee instead chooses to focus on uninterestingThe Hulk is entertaining when it actually focuses on the Hulk especially in the last third. If the film was condensed and made the last third the focus it could’ve been a decent film. Ang Lee instead chooses to focus on uninteresting characters and keep the Hulk out of the film for the majority of the story. While Ang Lee may be good at making stylish action movies the comic book genre is not his place. Thankfully five years from this film’s release a better Hulk movie would come out that would spotlight the last third of the film. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
gm101Sep 30, 2011
Visually, the movie looks like a well done Hulk adaptation. The plot, however, was completely laughable, abandoning many aspects of the Hulk comic books, and just plain forgettable. Thank God for the much, much better "Incredible Hulk" movie in 2008.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
TheQuietGamerDec 31, 2017
Ang Lee has always had a knack for visual creativity. That is very easily seen here. The goal of the movie was to show a deeper side of the Marvel character. Perhaps capturing some of the melancholy of the 1978 show. This is partlyAng Lee has always had a knack for visual creativity. That is very easily seen here. The goal of the movie was to show a deeper side of the Marvel character. Perhaps capturing some of the melancholy of the 1978 show. This is partly successful. The Hulk himself has some truly good moments that portray him as a tragic character. Unfortunately these only apply to Hulk and not his human counterpart Bruce Banner, who gets almost all of the screen-time. Don't expect to see much of the big, green smashing machine. The problem here is that none of what's happening is terribly interesting at all. The actors are trying, but there's no emotional resonance. Their performances feel sterile. Some of the stuff they have Eric Bana say and do made me laugh. I just couldn't help it when he was growling or imitating the Hulk's huge heartbeat. Nick Nolte is the only person onscreen of any note and even he doesn't compare to Hulk's remarkably suggestive facial expressions.

I give the movie credit for trying to deliver on what really made the character popular over the years, as opposed to just focusing on mindless action. People love Hulk because he's easy to sympathize with. You really aren't able to see that here though, as he's in this movie only a small portion of the time. When he is onscreen, despite a few moments that really do show there's a heart and a brain to the monster, we mostly just get to watch him destroy. Somehow Ang Lee managed to make that dull as well. The majority of the movie is dedicated to Banner and his struggles with his past and the conspiracies of his father. Quite frankly, all of that stuff is just boring. A nice effort. A respectable one at that. Unfortunately, the final product shows that most of what's going on here just doesn't work in the way it was intended to.
Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
ImUnavailableMar 2, 2012
Ang Lee's Hulk is messy, disjointed and very odd. An original take on a superhero movie is always welcome but this movie misses the mark. The plot makes little sense and is poorly executed. The action scenes never fully satisfy as watchingAng Lee's Hulk is messy, disjointed and very odd. An original take on a superhero movie is always welcome but this movie misses the mark. The plot makes little sense and is poorly executed. The action scenes never fully satisfy as watching the Hulk destroy things isn't as fun as it should be. Some visual effects are pretty cool and the movie should be commended for placing an emphasis on character over relentless action. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
KadeemluvmusicNov 17, 2013
I really love Ang Lee's performance in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," but what he did just turned Hulk into a block of green glob all over. In my personal point of view, the 2003 version of Hulk was a catastrophe. Dusted into thin air, whyI really love Ang Lee's performance in "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon," but what he did just turned Hulk into a block of green glob all over. In my personal point of view, the 2003 version of Hulk was a catastrophe. Dusted into thin air, why would I want to see this Marvel movie if it was a good movie? I mean, I'm a huge fan of The Incredible Hulk since I was growing up reading every single cliffhangers on what would happen next. Hulk (2003), on the other hand, is beyond disappointing. The acting is bad, the story is ridiculous, and somehow I love the action sequences a little bit, but it wasted for like 2 1/2 hours. Fans really hated this movie. So bad you might even need a barf bag or throw it in the bargain bin just like terrible Marvel sociallites like Daredevil and The Punisher. But finally, my wish for a reboot came true because the 2008 version is slightly the best reboot (before Amazing Spider-Man) better than any superhero movie ever. Because I would hope if they've learned something right from making bad choices from the Ang Lee version. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
J-ShapAug 28, 2011
I could hardly believe myself when I told a colleague of mine that the movie about a brilliant scientist who is transformed into a gamma ray-powered green monster that fights the military who intend to destroy him was the dullest experienceI could hardly believe myself when I told a colleague of mine that the movie about a brilliant scientist who is transformed into a gamma ray-powered green monster that fights the military who intend to destroy him was the dullest experience of the year. But it was. Hulk is a clunky drama that moves at a glacial pace, which is never a desirable trait in a movie about a giant green monster. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
MegWhiteleyMar 7, 2012
The only good in this film is the poster. Is atractive. But the film that is the most important is a biggest disaster, the performance of Eric Bana like Hulk is terrible, and this poor intent to do that Hulk looks like a bad and violent guy,The only good in this film is the poster. Is atractive. But the film that is the most important is a biggest disaster, the performance of Eric Bana like Hulk is terrible, and this poor intent to do that Hulk looks like a bad and violent guy, really? because is like a Barney's friend. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
SuperheroMoviesAug 5, 2013
Though it contains decent Hulk smashing action in it, it's overlong with too much dialogue choked up into it that by the time the action comes around you feel too deprived of quality entertainment.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
MovieGuysApr 3, 2014
Every director has one bad movie out of many great ones, and this is Ang Lee's example of this. The Hulk is not at all what one would expect from Lee; it is superficial, over-exaggerated, and cliché-heavy. If you want a good Hulk movie, tryEvery director has one bad movie out of many great ones, and this is Ang Lee's example of this. The Hulk is not at all what one would expect from Lee; it is superficial, over-exaggerated, and cliché-heavy. If you want a good Hulk movie, try "The Incredible Hulk". It is much better than this average fare. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
marcmyworksJan 2, 2014
A surprisingly boring film despite the amount of effects and action sequences. The characters lack chemistry and the comic book panelling between sequences is amateurish at its best.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
diogomendesFeb 1, 2015
Magnificently directed and well acted, but dramatically inert and partly dull, "Hulk" is, along with Daredevil and Ghost Rider movies, one of the weakest entries in the super-hero genre and in Marvel's track record.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
EpicLadySpongeJan 22, 2016
Nothing but the poorest Hulk film you could ever get before the Incredible Hulk came out. We could watch it for days and days! Weeks and weeks! Months and months! Years and years! Even better.... seconds and seconds!
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
gameguardian21Mar 20, 2016
Hulk smash this hunk of garbage. Hulk angry, hulk destroy.

You said it hulk. You got a long, boring, terrible effects, storytelling movie of the hulk that we have been waiting to get.
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
5
CoreGamer1408Dec 14, 2018
They tried and failed to give the vibe of a comic book in a live action movie. Passable, ok, watchable I suppose?
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
lori007101Aug 20, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Green Giant is awakening!
As a little baby, the Offspring Bruce Banner Genmanipulativ is changed. Later, as a young man, he is a scientist himself and is employed with gamma radiation. He wants to try to reach scar tissue and injuries, using the radiations, a healing method. Through an accident with the radiation, banners mutate when he has a tantrum, to a Green Giant: the Hulk!
Eric Bana plays the shy and vulnerable Bruce banner. Although he does not really trust the role, he mastered the insecurity in person, sovereign. Jennifer Connelly plays Betty Ross. Connelly embodies Betty cool and sober. It is only when she experiences how banners mutate that she shares a helping emotion.
Josh Lucas plays Glen Talbot. Talbot is fully fixated on his career and is a smug Sesselfurzer. He wants to develop the invention of banners for the military and thus create super soldiers. He has every means right for that. Lucas was arranged as a little villain. Unfortunately, he doesn't necessarily come across like that.
The military commander Ross, is portrayed by Sam Elliott. Elliott plays his character cool and iron. He really wants to protect his country. That is why he acts defending and patriotic for his country. Although Nick Nolte has at least playtime, he plays his role most deeply. The few minutes of presence, is a pleasure of acting. The visual language of the director Ang Lee is very special. His idea of using certain settings as a split screen is also closer to the Marvel Comics. So that you really also realize the Hulk is a comic book template. The effects from the year 2003 are good, but you can already notice certain Unperfektheiten.
The animations are still kitschy. Which seems a bit ridiculous, too. The story leaves a lot to miss. On the one part, because Hulk belongs in the MCU, here the humor and sarcasm is very rare to see. The colourful and colourful MCU can not be classified here. The story is portrayed here rather as a fantasy drama. Which then looks rather dull for a comic book template. In the last third, it is right to the point and it is going to be quite an effect thunderstorm. It's really a pity that you have to wait more or less until the end until the Hulk drops off steam. Conclusion: A down-to-earth stand of the character hulk of Marvel Comics. Unfortunately, it diminishes the story through seriousness and dramaturgy that happens!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Marc.D.Oct 7, 2007
Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical Is the movie good? No, not really. Is it as bad as most reviewers would have you believe? Again, no. The Hulk as a film is as confused about its identity as the titular character. It clearly has no idea if it wishes to be a whimsical psychological journey into a fractures human being...or bash things to pieces. The result is a convulated piece of work by Ang Lee which seems to shoot for, and miss, all it's goals. Beyond the confusing and out there plot is a technical misfire which no one can avoid. The visual effects simple do not possess the polish required for the audience to abandon all disbelief that a monstrous green behemoth is leaping about on the screen. It fails on the most basic visceral level. For all it's faults...Hulk is not a walking ton of waste. It simply offers too many subplots...and far too little of the angry green man himself. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
5
RobwinzJun 28, 2020
The story is pretty good about how Bruce Banner turns into the Hulk but I'd have to say there's not a lot of the Hulk throughout this movie and it's pretty disappointing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
MrPajamasSep 9, 2020
Hulk ... One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The story is horrible, the effects terrible and the soundtrack horrible. This film has more or less almost nothing good, and with the exception of a few action scenes, which are also behind theHulk ... One of the worst movies I've ever seen. The story is horrible, the effects terrible and the soundtrack horrible. This film has more or less almost nothing good, and with the exception of a few action scenes, which are also behind the old slippers, it is an average film that I don't even recommend to Marvel fans. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews