Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 16, 2010
8.8
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 4533 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,105
Mixed:
227
Negative:
201
Watch Now
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
SimonBradleyAug 28, 2010
I'd like to keep my review rather to the point.

Pros: 1. its theme - dream is a fascinating topic to say the least. There are a lot of unknowns in the dreamworld. 2. its plot - there are several sweet twists and unpredictable turns. 3. its
I'd like to keep my review rather to the point.

Pros:
1. its theme - dream is a fascinating topic to say the least. There are a lot of unknowns in the dreamworld.
2. its plot - there are several sweet twists and unpredictable turns.
3. its edgy drive - although you know what's coming next but still you feel jumpy about it.
4. its fast storyline - the story moves fast from one scene to another, making the viewers feel like on a roller coaster ride. At times, it's hard to keep up, even at the second viewing.
5. its sophistication - there is a lot of information to remember and digest. This is the very thing the modern moviegoers are after, I believe.
6. its realism - okay, pun intended. The movie explains (or at least tries to) the ins and outs of what dream is about and how it functions, some of which are very familiar with and dear to us.

Cons:
1. its poor character development - although the acting was convincing enough there was not enough of character development. I wonder how many people really felt connected to the main character(s) after watching the movie. Yes, the movie talks about emotional struggles but it was more of an action film, if you ask me.
2. too many distractions - I found that the movie had more than enough characters than necessary. They may play some roles in the plot but they seemed more of distraction than anything else. I wish the movie was more focused.
3. a bit preachy - I noticed the characters would explain things about the dreamworld and then the exact things happen later in the movie. I'm afraid, Inception overused this trick.

In conclusion, its theme is fascinating but its delivery is not without room for improvement.

I highly recommend you to go and read Somewhere carnal over 40 winks, if you dig this kind of flicks.

Cheers!
Expand
50 of 58 users found this helpful508
All this user's reviews
8
ReviewCriticFeb 24, 2012
Inception is a daring original, and mind-provoking film. One of 2010's best.
16 of 22 users found this helpful166
All this user's reviews
10
RedzuanM.Jul 16, 2010
What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture What makes Inception so special is that it's not your typical straight forward summer blockbuster. Nolan gives you bits and pieces of information, and as the movie plays out the viewer begins to put the pieces together and the picture gradually becomes clearer. Chris Nolan doesn't dumb down the movie for the audience like most Hollywood movies do these days, he expects us to keep up with him. And when we do, the reward is extremely gratifying. And the visuals were amazing. Expand
59 of 82 users found this helpful
4
JaneCJul 18, 2010
I was hoping to give it a better score. I'll need to see it on Blu Ray later. It's one of those films that if you don't like it people think you're not cool. I'm not thick but I kept losing the plot.. Charactors had I was hoping to give it a better score. I'll need to see it on Blu Ray later. It's one of those films that if you don't like it people think you're not cool. I'm not thick but I kept losing the plot.. Charactors had no depth. Film too long. Music too loud [although good] and you could only hear about 20% of the dialogue, so it was easy to lose your way. You couldn't hear ONE word that the Japanese chap said! Looked good with good actors but to be honest it left me cold. It became a' nightmare'. I will give it another go because Michael Cane was in it and Leonardo, two greats. By the way I thought Dark Knight was crap. Nolan seems to be a pretentious, self indulgent, up his own dark place, kind of person. Bring back the good old psycological 'Hitchcockian' thriller. I've just realized I'm overful of 'special effects'. This is just bilge dressed up, isn't it? Dissolusioned, yet again. Expand
15 of 35 users found this helpful
1
AlexN.Jul 16, 2010
Funny how people think complex equals smart and intellectual. This movie was a big bag of hot wind. Matrix was better.
15 of 43 users found this helpful
5
JamesD.Jul 26, 2010
Not very good really. I've heard the word visionary thrown Nolan's way, but this film was the work of a rather sterile imagination. Yes, it had many layers of narrative cleverly interweaved with eachother, but there was little to Not very good really. I've heard the word visionary thrown Nolan's way, but this film was the work of a rather sterile imagination. Yes, it had many layers of narrative cleverly interweaved with eachother, but there was little to compel me at its core. The root cause of Cobb's state of mind just didn't grab me - partly as this relationship was never given the chance to develop to a tangible level. The elements of subconscious displayed were tame and the approach to the dreamworld rather banal - focusing as it did mainly on bland designs, bendy gimmicks and exploding things. There was little edge to Nolan's vision, he seemed quite happy to drown us in relentless exposition and unimaginative slow-mo shots. Scenes were very quick and at no point approached the atmosphere and interest of a real dream. A shame, because at their best, this is what films can do - engineer the quality of a waking dream. Compare Inception to the more intriguing work of Lynch, where scenes seduce with the perfect balance of the real and surreal, and whose images tend to linger in the mind. On top of this, Nolan is simply not a very good director of action; he is quite loose with the camera, and I yearned for more flair and invention in these scenes. Instead, he relied on an incredibly insistent score to give the action some punch. For a film about dreams and the subconscious, it was curiously impersonal and mechanical. Certainly, the real danger and sexuality of the subconscious might scare off mainstream audiences, but Nolan was given free reign to do what he wanted - so why not do something more interesting? Freud and Jung would find little to interest them here, as the film is less concerned with psychology and more with the narrative possibilities afforded by a convoluted dreamworld fiction. Perhaps Nolan does dream of corporate worlds and Bond fortresses. Unfortunately, such things don't interest me. Expand
19 of 59 users found this helpful
2
fantasyAug 17, 2010
I thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hardI thought this movie was not as good as people are saying. Because we knew it was dreams inside dreams the over the top fight scenes had no bearing. Who cared? As a result the movie became boring and repetitious. I would be very hard pressed to recommend this movie to anyone. Stay away. Expand
18 of 62 users found this helpful1844
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Nov 12, 2017
One of the greatest achievements of Christopher Nolan; slumberland experience that excels The Matrix due a masterly camera job and efficent use of special effects. One of best roles of Leonardo Di Caprio.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
TomC.Jul 18, 2010
The special effects are the best part of this movie. The movie is basically taking naps with other people and joining their dream. that's goofy.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
JamesL.Jul 18, 2010
Where are the ratings of 10 coming from? Special effects were awsome. The plot was absurd and boring at times. It's no Matrix more along the lines of Total Recall. Leonardo DeCaprio's tortured soul characters are getting old. I Where are the ratings of 10 coming from? Special effects were awsome. The plot was absurd and boring at times. It's no Matrix more along the lines of Total Recall. Leonardo DeCaprio's tortured soul characters are getting old. I must have dreamed this was going to be a better movie. Apparently a lot of the reviewers are still dreaming as well. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
SusanJ.Jul 16, 2010
A mind-bending roller coaster of a movie. I was on the edge of my seat the entire time. Cast was inspired, ensemble acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
KevinD.Jul 16, 2010
Fantastic movie. No, it isn't a truly original concept, but nothing is. I don't see how anyone could think this was boring, as there was action throughout most of the movie and the stakes were higher than death. So glad Hollywood Fantastic movie. No, it isn't a truly original concept, but nothing is. I don't see how anyone could think this was boring, as there was action throughout most of the movie and the stakes were higher than death. So glad Hollywood made a movie that's not a sequel. You have to be paying attention and thinking about what's going on at all levels of the dreams to really understand what's going on, which might put off some people, but it really enhances the film. I love non-linear storytelling, though, so I might be biased. Great acting as well. Glad to see Ellen Page and Joseph Gordon-Levitt (aka chick from Juno and dude from (500) Days of Summer/Third Rock from the Sun) do some action roles to show they have chops outside pseudo-indie hipster movies. Worth seeing again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
4
BMWJul 17, 2010
This movie had promise, the story was awesome, and the special effects were great. But, it was so long, boring, and confusing. That I wanted to leave the whole time, and get my $9.50 back. I don't know what these people are on who give This movie had promise, the story was awesome, and the special effects were great. But, it was so long, boring, and confusing. That I wanted to leave the whole time, and get my $9.50 back. I don't know what these people are on who give this movie 9's and 10's. Don't get me wrong, i love a psychological thriller here and there, but this movie was just plain headache inducing. So many people walked out of the theatre with a migraine after that 2 and a half hour piece of garbage. Oh yeah, the acting was good. Yet not good enough to save this matrix wannabe. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful
6
NF123Aug 23, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved the film but at the end of the day a dream sequence is a dream sequence and I detest dream sequences. Otherwise a really good film but still it can't completely redeem itself Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
sr_81Aug 31, 2010
After the Dark Knight I was expecting something as impressive if not more. Alas it's not to be. Not the hugest DiCaprio fan in the world for a start. He seems to play the same character in every film he's in nowadays. My main problem withAfter the Dark Knight I was expecting something as impressive if not more. Alas it's not to be. Not the hugest DiCaprio fan in the world for a start. He seems to play the same character in every film he's in nowadays. My main problem with the film itself is that its just too overly complicated to be truly entertaining. There are some clever ideas such as the dream within a dream concept and how this can affect the physics of that dream world. You really have to pay close attention though. The sub plot involving Marion Cotillard's character is more intriguing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
WeyesSep 10, 2010
This film was completely monotonous, and far too long. The characters had no depth at all. When you think about what 'plot' means, you would be able to see that the plot of Inception was so plain and thoughtless that it insults every viewerThis film was completely monotonous, and far too long. The characters had no depth at all. When you think about what 'plot' means, you would be able to see that the plot of Inception was so plain and thoughtless that it insults every viewer it hands out its complimentary rose shades to. Inception may have amounted to something of substance if it had spent more time thinking about what it was lacking and less time running around in zero gravity squealing 'Yay! Look at what I can do!' Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
MadMonkSep 12, 2010
It's started out very well but the rest of the movie is merely set pieces for the actions before returning to the main storyline of a man trying to get home to his children. For a movie dealing with dreams, the logic is too logical after aIt's started out very well but the rest of the movie is merely set pieces for the actions before returning to the main storyline of a man trying to get home to his children. For a movie dealing with dreams, the logic is too logical after a while and all the wonderful ability in dreams is no longer explored. Like one of the character said, "why not dream bigger?" Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SlickestJan 20, 2011
This film does not need any more reviews, but I wanted a vote. It's awesome, clean, polished, intelligent, exciting, Deserves film of the year. Best film in last 3 years,
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
FrankKryzakNov 16, 2010
Nolan had a good idea to work with here but it fell far short of such high expectations. He never lets DiCaprio act and he never lets any true emotion seep into the film to give it any lasting value. People will and have commended thisNolan had a good idea to work with here but it fell far short of such high expectations. He never lets DiCaprio act and he never lets any true emotion seep into the film to give it any lasting value. People will and have commended this movie for being such an original and risky film released in the middle of the summer. But, that aside, will it really hold its own as a seminal piece of film making in even a year? Probably not because it is too self indulgent on Nolan's part, it almost seems like a rough outline of a movie that had the potential to be way better. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
wxwaxNov 24, 2010
Inception a bladderful of a movie. It's long. As befits a film written and directed by the guy who made Batman cool again, it's heavy on the action and visual arts. As befits a film written and directed by the guy behind Memento, it has aInception a bladderful of a movie. It's long. As befits a film written and directed by the guy who made Batman cool again, it's heavy on the action and visual arts. As befits a film written and directed by the guy behind Memento, it has a mind-bending plot. What's the movie about? The most basic of questions: what is reality? It plays with us by sending its characters into ever-deeper layers of dream states in search of a MacGuffin. And while the film ostensibly delivers the obvious enigmatic ending, it's scattered with hints that suggest a further hidden layer. How clever. By the time my bladder had insistently declared its presence, I was bored with the spectacle. For the film is indeed a spectacular, the sort of thing Hollywood does well. It's also an example of what Hollywood spectaculars often don't do well; it fails to connect with the emotions, with our sense of empathy. This, despite a plot in which the love interest is a central device. Ellen Page is terrific as the spunky, wisecracking, rule-breaking girl who gets pregan.... wait, let me start over; Ellen Page is terrific as the spunky, wisecracking, rule-breaking sidekick. She's also at risk of getting typecast as a spunky, wise.. well, you get the idea. Leonardo DiCaprio is excellent as the thinking man's tortured action hero. He looks great. Everyone else is a cipher, including the aforementioned love interest. I'm sure that Inception is a visually stunning, intellectually intriguing movie. I'm not sure it earned the right to test my bladder's breaking point. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
immerkeineahnunDec 14, 2010
really great for all the technicians aspects of the movie...
...(obviously) impressive...(with such names in the crew)...
but about the screenplay...check south park!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MichaelDSep 1, 2011
One thing for sure the movie will mess with your head. But it was slow and a bit dull for my likings. But it's definitely worth a watch just to see if you can figure out what the hell is going on.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
The_orudJan 8, 2011
Dreams layered on top of dreams makes this a difficult movie to follow. The great action is inhibited by the confusing layers of dreams. Let the confusion be your friend and enjoy the action.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
L0stR3negadeJan 23, 2011
Best movie of 2010... Great story and cast with 5 star graphics and the action and suspence non stop and a movie that will get you thinking movie well worth getting on DVD
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mickeymovfreakJan 22, 2011
Inception...... a dream within a dream..... a new concept... a new idea... much more intriguing than actually any other movie in 2010 which was either based on comics, d internet... an others with weak storylines and fake plots...dis isInception...... a dream within a dream..... a new concept... a new idea... much more intriguing than actually any other movie in 2010 which was either based on comics, d internet... an others with weak storylines and fake plots...dis is reall...puttin an idea into someone's head wen in ur own dream...brilliant i give dis a 10.99999999999 christopher nolan also loved the drama created in dark knight ...epic!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MrC3030Jan 31, 2011
In an industry filled with sequels and remakes Inception dare to be original, and for the most part it delivered!!! The only problem that I had with this movie is that it was way to long, and the ending was a little far fetched even in aIn an industry filled with sequels and remakes Inception dare to be original, and for the most part it delivered!!! The only problem that I had with this movie is that it was way to long, and the ending was a little far fetched even in a fantasy world. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
chanduttMar 23, 2011
This movie draws an 84 score? No way. Plot is too complicated and goofy to be followed by anyone who wants some context with reality. Ellen Page is annoying as the new talent brought into the IM force as the last minute and turns out to beThis movie draws an 84 score? No way. Plot is too complicated and goofy to be followed by anyone who wants some context with reality. Ellen Page is annoying as the new talent brought into the IM force as the last minute and turns out to be the smartest one of the bunch while playing a game she didn't even know about a few days earlier. Best way to watch this move, if you must, is with the CC on so you can follow the thin plot somewhat. For my money, watch "12 Monkeys" again. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
AlienSpaceBatsJul 30, 2011
Inception should have opened to Mark Twain's famous quote; "other people's dreams are dreadfully wearisome". Thanks to the media machine surrounding Inception, it became impossible for me to approach without wanting to cast aspersions on theInception should have opened to Mark Twain's famous quote; "other people's dreams are dreadfully wearisome". Thanks to the media machine surrounding Inception, it became impossible for me to approach without wanting to cast aspersions on the whole film. Yes, it's more intricate than the majority of run-of-the-mill action films that are released year after year, but that isn't saying much. It's an OK film, if a little boring and with its head firmly up its own arse, but throughout I was reminded of examples where the subject matter was tackled far more effectively. It's sort of like The Matrix of its time; here's a dream, a world of complete imagination! Now, let's solve our problems with automatic weapons. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ReviewhunterMay 2, 2012
"Inception" Is the ideal movie to watch on 1080p bluray for an extreme-kindly-logic adventure to the three layers of inception to two man's mind, and each one of them is full with secrets that have long wait to be revealed.
After two hours of
"Inception" Is the ideal movie to watch on 1080p bluray for an extreme-kindly-logic adventure to the three layers of inception to two man's mind, and each one of them is full with secrets that have long wait to be revealed.
After two hours of the movie, I was sure it went only 1 minute from my life, and I believe in some point, that the movie has managed to plant the seed deep in my mind, truly a great idea for the perfect movie.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Critic2012Apr 16, 2012
INCEPTION is a brilliant and entirely original film from the director of MEMENTO and THE DARK KNIGHT. It explores the fantastic world of dreams and what lies between in an elegant and complex crime caper that will capture your attention andINCEPTION is a brilliant and entirely original film from the director of MEMENTO and THE DARK KNIGHT. It explores the fantastic world of dreams and what lies between in an elegant and complex crime caper that will capture your attention and imagination several times over. Nominated for 8 Academy Awards. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
OblivionJun 1, 2012
Well i know this movie has been out a while now but i saw some of the reviews on here and really can't believe it. For one what is so difficult to understand? They tell you everything you need to know in the movie. The only thing you shouldWell i know this movie has been out a while now but i saw some of the reviews on here and really can't believe it. For one what is so difficult to understand? They tell you everything you need to know in the movie. The only thing you should be questioning is the ending as far if he is in a dream or in reality. Other than that I don't see how many movies could deserve a 0....especially one with such high production values as this. This movie is an enjoyable journey, well acted, especially the scene stealing Tom Hardy. I honestly do feel bad if you don't enjoy this movie because I believe it to be one of the better of recent history. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
DodgerApr 29, 2012
Kind of enjoyed this movie. The concept behind the movie was good but i felt the execution of it wasn't. The story was average and i didn't really like any of the characters.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
RolentoAug 31, 2014
Meh. A good cast and a good premise wasted. I went and watched this expecting cool action with some psychological twist, what I got was arbitrary mechanics not too far from The Matrix and a movie that doesn't even manage to respect its ownMeh. A good cast and a good premise wasted. I went and watched this expecting cool action with some psychological twist, what I got was arbitrary mechanics not too far from The Matrix and a movie that doesn't even manage to respect its own set of rules. Once again, Nolan is acclaimed for doing something incredibly average and adorning it with its dark film colors and serious acting to make it look like it's something more than what it is.

Also, open endings really grind my gears, to me they shout "we want to keep the public guessing so that they'll talk about the movie, even though we didn't put thought at all into this scene, but whatever they'll just think it's intentional and deep and that it stimulates critical thinking!".
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TeddyDJun 6, 2012
Inception can be summed up in one word, brilliant. The way in which the storyline is structured is very impressive and the casting has been carefully thought through which is something most blockbuster films have failed to accomplish inInception can be summed up in one word, brilliant. The way in which the storyline is structured is very impressive and the casting has been carefully thought through which is something most blockbuster films have failed to accomplish in recent years. Page's performance as Ariadne is debatable but nothing worth 'over-ranting' about. The CGI in the movie is magnificent but isn't over done, making it very appropriate and entertaining when used. One thing is for certain and that is that Nolan has definitely brought the best out of the actors in Inception, particular Tom Hardy who plays the role of Eames near enough pitch perfect. With a combination of stars, effects, performances, action, strong narrative & superb direction, it's hard to pick out any major faults with Inception. A must, must see. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
JPWenzelJul 8, 2012
The movie is great, easy to understand, after the beginning at least, and very well acted and directed. I recommend this movie to people who doubt. the concept of the movie was amazing, and the story was genius.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
dev92Aug 25, 2012
I thoroughly enjoyed myself on this rollercoaster of a blockbuster which has to be one of the films of this decade. It has everything you could possibly want and to be honest, it was not very difficult to follow. The only thing stopping meI thoroughly enjoyed myself on this rollercoaster of a blockbuster which has to be one of the films of this decade. It has everything you could possibly want and to be honest, it was not very difficult to follow. The only thing stopping me from giving a ten is just that the idea is a tiny bit far-fetched. Upon first viewing I would have given it a ten but now I think a nine will suffice. The Dark Knight is still, in my opinion, Nolan's masterpiece. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
DanOSullivanSep 9, 2012
'Inception' is one of the most unique films I have ever seen. The concept is complex, well thought out and engaging. The visuals are brilliant and really do display HD at it's greatest. The acting is superb, as is the cast. 'Inception', I'Inception' is one of the most unique films I have ever seen. The concept is complex, well thought out and engaging. The visuals are brilliant and really do display HD at it's greatest. The acting is superb, as is the cast. 'Inception', I think, deserves to be called a masterpeice.
The ending also has you asking yourself "Was it a dream?" and that is the greatest part about this film, it provides so much backstory and depth to the characters but still has you questioning the entire thing, allowing the audience to create their own interpretation and conclusion.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
oblique15Sep 22, 2013
Have you ever had a dream that you woke up from than found out you was still dreaming? In the movie
"Inception," they get real deep inside the dreams. This movie is worth watching for the imagination, and all the crazy things you see, but I
Have you ever had a dream that you woke up from than found out you was still dreaming? In the movie
"Inception," they get real deep inside the dreams. This movie is worth watching for the imagination, and all the crazy things you see, but I found myself wishing it would just end. I just did not care what happened to the characters.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
MeritCobaAug 11, 2015
Inception is a movie that collapsed under its own weight. Not only because it is unnecessary complicated to begin with, but ultimately because the spectacular action scenes ride roughshod over any deeper concepts.
The idea that one can enter
Inception is a movie that collapsed under its own weight. Not only because it is unnecessary complicated to begin with, but ultimately because the spectacular action scenes ride roughshod over any deeper concepts.
The idea that one can enter another's dream and manipulate it is not new. Nor is the confused blending of what is 'real' or 'unreal'. Nor is the choice for living in a make belief paradise, however fake this paradise is. It is not whether you belief it that matters, but how much you belief in it.
This what the movie is about. The idea that one can implant an idea in someone's consciousness that is so strong that it steers him(or her) towards a desired behavior. In this case to prevent a company from gaining total control over the world's energy sources. It has to be big of course, we want nothing less.
The hero, Cobb, is thus hired by by the business suit Saito to implant an idea into the head of the son of his big competitor, the latter who is a dying man. Cobb has his own reasons for taking the job and so a deal is made.
Now that must have sounded a bit too straight forward.
So to make it more complex, we are served a superfluous first part, that has nothing to do with the main story, other in that it introduces Cobb and Saito to us and some concepts. It is a waste of time which should have gone to the main story.
The center story requires that Cobb kidnap his target and induces him to sleep, and also to enter his dream and then a dream in that dream and then a dream in that dream and even a dream in that dream to pull of the job. Cobb needs a team to do that job as he can't do it all on his own. And that team swells from an original four to six people in all. Not counting the captured son.
Why?
It isn't that, amidst the explosions and the gunfights, there is enough time for some meaningful personal interactions to develop. Indeed, whatever interaction there is, is between Cobb and his wife Mal, yet another figure introduced into the movie, and between Cobb and Ariadne, the other woman in the movie, who, of course, tries to unearth what Cobb is struggling with because the story wants her to(And because she is that other woman?)
Cobb gets cleansed in the end by facing his deeper inner demon Mal on dream layer 4, prodded by necessity and Ariadne. It sounds cool, but it is mostly confusing.
And as if reaching dream layer 4 wasn't deemed to be unbelievably dangerous and impossible to do, -level 3 required a special medicine -, Cobb simply goes into dream layer 5 on a whim. By now the movie has been completely uprooted.
We have been told before that time slows down with each subsequent layer. Hence, at dream level 1 every 5 real time minutes are an hour, at level 2 it is a week, and at level three it is 10 years or something like that. So what is it at level 5? It must be a 1000 years. And to get out of the dream, one needs a kick. So what kick is there at level 5? And if the team can conjure up weapons as happens in one scene, why do they not conjure up a robot army to help them out? And then apparently the team has superhuman fighting skills, for they fight off waves of attackers who are luckily so inadequate that they even miss their targets from ten feet away firing automatic rifles, while getting shot by mere handguns.
Perhaps though, the most disappointing were the mundane dreams. It immediately qualifies the director. Instead of capturing the surrealism and strangeness of dreams, he prefers to deal in explosions.
In the end the movie is dominated by the word too. Too much complexity, too much people, too much explosions. With a smaller cast, a simpler story that centers around the tragedy in Cobb's life it would have been a stronger movie altogether. Now it is just hubris.
A final note: Thumbs up for Ellen Page and Ken Watanabe. Both of them fine actors.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
TrilobiteGJan 10, 2016
Perhaps what I liked the most about Inception, is that from a film making standpoint it is an absolute marvel, directorial wet dream. However, from a story standpoint Inception has a habit of delving (or to be audacious, dreaming) to far intoPerhaps what I liked the most about Inception, is that from a film making standpoint it is an absolute marvel, directorial wet dream. However, from a story standpoint Inception has a habit of delving (or to be audacious, dreaming) to far into it's concept as well as con-skewing itself to Dom Cobb without any massaging to why we have a relationship or a care for his character apart from that he's a father. Don't get me wrong, I like the balls it had to go so far into such a complex idea, the execution is just disappointingly masking pretentious slop. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
LuccaSSCAug 15, 2017
This is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Christopher Nolan doesn't seem to know how to explain something without expository dialog, and it gets really boring once you hear the same thing for a dozen times. This is a movie thatThis is probably the most overrated movie of all time. Christopher Nolan doesn't seem to know how to explain something without expository dialog, and it gets really boring once you hear the same thing for a dozen times. This is a movie that tries to be intelligent but doesn't want to lose the appeal to the masses, and tries to fix that by making sure that everyone understands exactly what is happening, and it made me feel as though I was in a kindergarten class. While it's a gorgeous film with incredible actors, the looks don't make up for the lack of script quality. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ZlayaJul 30, 2013
I tried to watch this movie hew times, and it just doesn't work! Part about dreams is really incredible, but I was immediately turned off after first fifteen minutes of pointless lies about dreams and dreaming. Film is so boring for me andI tried to watch this movie hew times, and it just doesn't work! Part about dreams is really incredible, but I was immediately turned off after first fifteen minutes of pointless lies about dreams and dreaming. Film is so boring for me and has no magic to keep my eyes and mind concentrated. Respect for Nolan, but this one and The Dark Knight are greatly overrated movies, and I leave no chance to tell everyone about it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FreedomFightersNov 26, 2016
I don't need one of my typical intros here, let's just cut to the chase, "Inception" is brilliant. It's interesting, it's beautifully-filmed, well-acted, complex, and it shows that Christopher Nolan is not afraid to be risky by taking aI don't need one of my typical intros here, let's just cut to the chase, "Inception" is brilliant. It's interesting, it's beautifully-filmed, well-acted, complex, and it shows that Christopher Nolan is not afraid to be risky by taking a nonlinear approach to storytelling. It's certainly not for everybody, and there are bound to be a number of people that completely hate it, but all in all, "Inception" is a fantastic film that you should definitely see at least once. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
Titanicfan91Jan 2, 2014
Inception one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen; complete and utter garbage. Apart from the good acting and my crush on both Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this film was terrible. I only brought this film becauseInception one of the most overrated movies I have ever seen; complete and utter garbage. Apart from the good acting and my crush on both Leonardo DiCaprio and Joseph Gordon-Levitt, this film was terrible. I only brought this film because everyone kept raving about how good it was, but I should know better. The films that tend to be overrated are the films I hate the most, such as Skyfall and Avatar. I found Inception confusing to follow and there was too much going on at once and too many characters kept on being introduced. I just found this film boring and there was too much action to much up for the crap storyline. I am really disappointed in this film.

Grade: D-
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
RickyReviewsJun 23, 2016
This film receives very high ratings among users and critics, but here is my honest opinion. The film is just okay and generally bland. The twists are uncalled for. I would have preferred this movie to be 90-110 minutes, instead of 150. It isThis film receives very high ratings among users and critics, but here is my honest opinion. The film is just okay and generally bland. The twists are uncalled for. I would have preferred this movie to be 90-110 minutes, instead of 150. It is too long, and gets boring easily. Characters had absolutely no depth. This film is easily a 5/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
jHanMay 3, 2017
Inception deserves a lot better score than this. I wonder why some people who are even not able to understand the story give such negative reviews. Even though Inception is not that kind or straightforward movie, but being complex is not aInception deserves a lot better score than this. I wonder why some people who are even not able to understand the story give such negative reviews. Even though Inception is not that kind or straightforward movie, but being complex is not a fair reason to get 1 or 2. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Godfather_32Dec 20, 2018
Though there is a lot to see in Inception, there is nothing that counts as genuine vision. Mr. Nolan’s idea of the mind is too literal, too logical, too rule-bound to allow the full measure of madness -- the risk of real confusion, ofThough there is a lot to see in Inception, there is nothing that counts as genuine vision. Mr. Nolan’s idea of the mind is too literal, too logical, too rule-bound to allow the full measure of madness -- the risk of real confusion, of delirium, of ineffable ambiguity -- that this subject requires Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
ArcanaThe4thMay 29, 2019
Despite being visually stunning, Inception does not delve as deep into the themes it presents as I would like, leaving me unable to really sink down in it. Though, for all effects, I was still entertained all through the movie and enjoyed it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
PeterParker2479Jan 3, 2020
I understand why some may adore it, but I just don’t love it. I admire Nolan’s efforts and the cast’s dedication, but overall, it doesn’t sit with me. The premise is great, the directing is solid, the acting is tight, but the film itselfI understand why some may adore it, but I just don’t love it. I admire Nolan’s efforts and the cast’s dedication, but overall, it doesn’t sit with me. The premise is great, the directing is solid, the acting is tight, but the film itself doesn’t hold up to its high points. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
VelhelmNov 26, 2014
Over rated, over hyped, dull, boring, over the top, ridiculous, confusing, stupid, dumbfounded, silly, special effects, and melodramatic, these are all the words that I would use to describe inception. I can't recommend it.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
Le__XenomorphDec 22, 2014
Using Director Christopher Nolan's slight of hand, he distracts viewers from a convoluted and boring plot with plenty of awesome actions scenes and special effects and Leonardo DiCaprio gives one of his dullest performances of all time. 6/10 (OK)
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
vikesh2206Nov 9, 2014
Christopher Nolan directs what must be his magnum opus with the complex Inception, a beautifully realized, tightly plotted surreal experience bolstered by a magnetic score by Hans Zimmer, great acting by the cast and thrilling set pieces.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
ChrisOJul 20, 2010
It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my It seems that those who rate this movie low are the ones who cannot comprehend what its all about, nor can they interpret anything from the movie, be it from the pro critics, or just customers like me. I just saw this movie tonight with my friends and throughout the movie I just couldnt help but be bewildered at times at the complexity of the movie at times. The ending was one of the best and open endings Ive seen in a movie and can be interpreted so many ways. The movie is just fantastic, and has left my mind blown like many others. It is a must see this summer. Expand
13 of 17 users found this helpful
10
SamKJul 16, 2010
INCEPTION: Nolan has re-ivented the art of film making. The BEST film I have seen in 15 YEARS!!!
12 of 16 users found this helpful
10
CMJul 16, 2010
Movies can be educational, moving, or simply an escape. This is the latter, and time flies as you watch it - not unlike in a good dream. Forget the actors, ignore the script, and divorce reality. Immerse yourself in it and enjoy what a good Movies can be educational, moving, or simply an escape. This is the latter, and time flies as you watch it - not unlike in a good dream. Forget the actors, ignore the script, and divorce reality. Immerse yourself in it and enjoy what a good movie can do... Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful
10
eagleeyevikingNov 28, 2013
Inception is a spider's web woven with such intricacy that only when focused, you can find a way out. With brilliant material for the brilliant cast to work on, Inception delivers a complex masterpiece at an intellectual as well as visceralInception is a spider's web woven with such intricacy that only when focused, you can find a way out. With brilliant material for the brilliant cast to work on, Inception delivers a complex masterpiece at an intellectual as well as visceral level. Top-notch directing, acting, cinematography, editing and Hans Zimmer's brilliant soundtrack only cements this as a modern classic. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
6
tonyGreenAug 28, 2010
Original conceit and great special effects. Invites comparisons to The Matrix, but falls short in mty opinion. My main problem is with the pacing - at nearly 2 1/2 hours in length I started to suffer stimulation overload in the second halfOriginal conceit and great special effects. Invites comparisons to The Matrix, but falls short in mty opinion. My main problem is with the pacing - at nearly 2 1/2 hours in length I started to suffer stimulation overload in the second half which never stops to catch it's breath Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
DylanJul 16, 2010
Absolutely incredible! There has never been a movie completely like it and neither will there be again. Why do we dream? I think that is what Nolan is really exploring here. Any critic who doesn't like this movie should be sentenced to Absolutely incredible! There has never been a movie completely like it and neither will there be again. Why do we dream? I think that is what Nolan is really exploring here. Any critic who doesn't like this movie should be sentenced to having to watch Grown Ups in their dreams for the rest of their existence. ;) Expand
10 of 14 users found this helpful
10
ShockwaveSep 1, 2010
An amazing film. If you love puzzles and are not offendend at that fact that you may not understand everything that you see (the first viewing); then this film is for you.
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
5
Jim-BeamJan 5, 2012
A pretty good thriller that steps into tedium a few too many times. What is quite remarkable about this film is that it has gained a reputation for treating its audience like intelligent, thoughtful people. This view was illustrated byA pretty good thriller that steps into tedium a few too many times. What is quite remarkable about this film is that it has gained a reputation for treating its audience like intelligent, thoughtful people. This view was illustrated by British film critic Mark Kermode when he used it as a primary reason to place Inception at the top of his best of 2010 list. I am quite surprised as I really didn't find this film to be much more demanding or hard to follow than most films. This is due largely because of the over expository dialogue. There were entire reams of it that were so laden with explanation that I cringed at times. I'm surprised that they didn't just wheel on Basil Exposition to explain the next part of the plan. In contrast to many reviewers I felt patronised by the script and that it didn't trust the audience quite enough with the various complexities of the plot. Leonardo is currently stuck in a 'I'm a bit edgy, little bit mad' mode - differences between his role in this and Shutter Island are inscrutable. Tom Hardy? Not sure about him yet. Caine was certainly my favourite thing about this. The final set-piece was brilliantly executed but I feel that the entire first part of the film served as little more than groundwork for it. Sorry for fractured and unplanned review just had to get it out, thanks.

Love you byeeeee.
Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
SergeyV.Jul 22, 2010
Its the most real Nolan from
9 of 13 users found this helpful
10
TylerS.Jul 16, 2010
The film was flat out amazing. The story was engaging, the characters riveting and the concept was intriguing.
9 of 13 users found this helpful
10
TheGorillaNov 23, 2010
for me, the best movie this year so far.....10 out of 10...i really loved the plot..it was kinda confusing but it was well done..a well written script and a great director...A+
11 of 16 users found this helpful115
All this user's reviews
10
SamJul 16, 2010
Look at those contrarian hater critics at the bottom. Get real. This is the best movie to come out of the Hollywood crap factory in a long, long time. Brilliant.
8 of 12 users found this helpful
10
ArjunSJul 23, 2010
Amazing Movie, I have to say this is one of the best movie in recent years, Possibly best in this year, Everything is Perfect.
6 of 9 users found this helpful
10
AlanizJul 16, 2010
Think chess not checkers and you will enjoy it
6 of 9 users found this helpful
10
MPVahalikSep 4, 2010
Easiest 10 I've ever given. Unique story that really wrinkles the brain. Leo was great, Ellen Page was great. Saw it a second time to answer some questions I had but ended up leaving the theatre with a few more. In my opinion that's a greatEasiest 10 I've ever given. Unique story that really wrinkles the brain. Leo was great, Ellen Page was great. Saw it a second time to answer some questions I had but ended up leaving the theatre with a few more. In my opinion that's a great movie. Christopher Nolan does it again. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
attikonsinefilSep 5, 2010
watched it twice and loved the mental challenge induced, the great visuals, the performances! one of the best films of any genre for 2010! hope we see some Oscar noms for it soon!
I loved the way Marion Cotillard gave so much depth to her
watched it twice and loved the mental challenge induced, the great visuals, the performances! one of the best films of any genre for 2010! hope we see some Oscar noms for it soon!
I loved the way Marion Cotillard gave so much depth to her haunting Mal and the understated yet key performance of Michael Caine's Miles.
One of the best film opening scenes I have seen at least for this year if not longer. And an imposing yet 'enveloping' music score.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
JustinSmithSep 26, 2010
The best piece of advice I can give you is to stop reading this review and go see Inception immediately, because the less you know going into it, the more rewarding your movie going experience will be, however, if blind faith is not your cupThe best piece of advice I can give you is to stop reading this review and go see Inception immediately, because the less you know going into it, the more rewarding your movie going experience will be, however, if blind faith is not your cup of tea (and since you're reading this, it probably isn't), read on, as I share a few words about one of the greatest summer blockbusters in recent years.
The easiest way to describe Inception is to say that it deals with dreams, and people who enter other's dreams to find, or implant, information. As we soon learn, gaining information from dreams is difficult enough, but to implant information (a process called, you guessed it, inception), is a different story entirely. If you must know the plot, Cobb (Leonardo DiCaprio) and Arthur (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) are hired by Saito (Ken Watanabe) to perform inception on Robert Fischer, Jr. (Cillian Murphy) in an effort to convince him to divide his father's (Maurice Fischer [Pete Postlethwaite]) company (this, as Alfred **** would say, is the MacGuffin). After consulting his old teacher, Miles (Michael Caine), Cobb picks up Ariadne (Ellen Page), Eames (Tom Hardy), and Yusuf (Dileep Rao), to assist him and Arthur on their mission of inception. There is also a side story involving Cobb's wife, Mal (Marion Cotillard), and their two children. My plot synopsis ends here, as saying more would detract from the amazing moments you'll witness on-screen.
Those who have seen director Christopher Nolan's 2000 effort, Memento, will not be surprised by Inception's requirement of the viewer to take each scene as it comes. Viewers and critics have called the film confusing. It's not confusing, it's complex. The film itself is explained in detail, and without the usual boring dialog that screams "Did everybody get that?". There's even well-timed comedic moments that serve to break the tension. The difficult complexities of the film come from what is not seen, the bigger picture, happening outside the parameters of the movie. This is why Inception has been the subject of debate on forums, blogs, and even around dinner tables. It's as though Nolan puts the viewer in the middle of his maze, gives them the map, then turns them loose; but, there's a catch, the edges of the map are burned and faded.
The technical side of the film is near perfect. I can't recall another film where the special effects and cinematography were better matched to create a visual buffet that simultaneously feeds our hungry eyes and mind. Nolan's long-time cinematographer, Wally Pfister, has done a great work here that tells the story as well as the actors and their dialog. All the while, Hans Zimmer's score flows throughout the film, taking us where we need to go. While Nolan and his crew juggle the technical side of the film, Leonardo DiCaprio, and his cohorts, are in full-form as we journey alongside them through dreams inside of dreams.
Inception is that rare treat that comes down the line when a studio (in this case Warner Bros.) is smart, and brave, enough, to take a chance on something great and original. If you see one film in the theater this summer, make it Inception.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
supercherrybroFeb 19, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. When I first watched the film, I didn't see why it deserved so much praise. I saw that the acting was awesome, the plot, cinematography and score was great but something just didn't click. However, I decided to watch it again and find out a little bit more about the film. That is when I found out it was perfection and unique. No one really knows what the ending is supposed to mean and whether he's still in a dream and what is and isn't a dream. That's the beauty of it. You decide. There are so many different concept and every time you watch the film you can think of a new one. No film has ever left such a lasting impression on me. Many people love it but many people hate it because it is too complex for them or they didn't understand a concept. It is interesting and I was talking about it for weeks. Masterpiece. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
KewldogSep 3, 2010
BRILLIANT.... simply BRILLIANT!
Very hard to understand at first (much like MATRX), however, it all came together by the end.
Acting, special effects, story-line, direction, and creative ideas SUPERB!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
JoeyKSep 10, 2010
Really great movie. It was impeccably structured, visually fantastic, and generally perfectly executed. It was creative, ambitious, and intelligent, which are qualities that make it stand out from typical hollywood fare on their own. PeopleReally great movie. It was impeccably structured, visually fantastic, and generally perfectly executed. It was creative, ambitious, and intelligent, which are qualities that make it stand out from typical hollywood fare on their own. People call it a mindf**k, but don't confuse that for trippiness or a convoluted JJ Abrams mess, it made a great deal of sense. It is certainly a movie that wants you to think about after watching it. I think some people are trying to view this movie as an action movie, or an exploration of psychology and dreams, but it's neither of those. Those are all great things, but this is a heist movie. This is the kind of movie that Ocean's 11 would be if Ocean's 11 was far more original, intelligent, and had a greater respect for its audience. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
clkarnaNov 10, 2011
Absolutely amazing film. Amazing soundtrack, special effects and writing. Would watch it again at least a 100 times. Should have won more awards in my opinion.
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
AzasinnerDec 5, 2011
I seriously don't understand how people are giving this move anything lower than seven, strong dialog, innovative action scenes, and the deep characters all make this an B+, A- movie. But what really distinguishes this movie as one of myI seriously don't understand how people are giving this move anything lower than seven, strong dialog, innovative action scenes, and the deep characters all make this an B+, A- movie. But what really distinguishes this movie as one of my favorites is the conflict with Cobb's lost love and the final kick sequence (this being one of the best scenes in the history of film making) forces my hand on to give it a 10. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
RNHFeb 2, 2013
This is one movie that will make your head hurt, in a good way, this is Nolan's best film yet, and this is the guy who directed The Dark Knight, the complexity of the movie is what makes it so good, the ending is quite a cliffhanger too. AndThis is one movie that will make your head hurt, in a good way, this is Nolan's best film yet, and this is the guy who directed The Dark Knight, the complexity of the movie is what makes it so good, the ending is quite a cliffhanger too. And the visual effects are amazing. This is my favorite movie. Period. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
DuckNationMay 25, 2014
Inception is amazing simple as that it's amazing how Christopher Nolan can have so many Masterpieces pretty much everything the guy does it brilliant. Everything about the movie was great it has an all star cast, amazing visuals and top notchInception is amazing simple as that it's amazing how Christopher Nolan can have so many Masterpieces pretty much everything the guy does it brilliant. Everything about the movie was great it has an all star cast, amazing visuals and top notch story telling that was easy to understand even back when I first watched the film. I will say that I have seen better of Leonardo DiCaprio even though he still did a great job in this movie. I love Joseph Gordon-Levitt so this is just another reason to love him. Also this is the movie that made me start to like Ellen Page she always seemed annoying to me but not after this. Oh yeah and it's another great score from Hans Zimmer.

Overall i give it a 10
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
JhanzaibMay 23, 2014
First time I watched it in cinema, I was a little bit baffled or misoriented. However after getting the DVD I watch it once a week I think. I just can`t get over this flick! Where do I start - maybe from the best. First off, performance worthFirst time I watched it in cinema, I was a little bit baffled or misoriented. However after getting the DVD I watch it once a week I think. I just can`t get over this flick! Where do I start - maybe from the best. First off, performance worth of an Oscar by Leonardo DiCaprio, excellent acting by Marion Cotillard and Ken Watanabe, above average by all the rest, especially Joseph Gordon-Levitt, Tom Hardy and Cillian Murphy. All of the characters without exceptions are engaging in their own way Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
6
SusanJul 17, 2010
Fight scene was great, otherwise this movie was disappointing. The plot was just absurd--scifi should make SOME attempt to connect with reality...
2 of 3 users found this helpful
6
SueJul 17, 2010
Great effects, good performance by DiCaprio. But the plot is so lame...a dream within a dream within a dream within...Please!
2 of 3 users found this helpful
0
MikeV.Jul 18, 2010
I honestly can't even begin to fathom how this "film" is getting the positive reviews that it seems to be getting. With such a rich set of tools to work with, a film in which literally ANYTHING can happen since it is set in a dream, I honestly can't even begin to fathom how this "film" is getting the positive reviews that it seems to be getting. With such a rich set of tools to work with, a film in which literally ANYTHING can happen since it is set in a dream, you'd figure Nolan could have came up with something better than some folding streets and 3 or 4 9boring) storylines, Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
5
wisaakaAug 19, 2010
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Inception... where do I begin? Well, perhaps my expectations were a bit high after one of my film snob friends called it "the first truly important film of the century." It's moderately entertaining, but calling it anything more than a decent movie is a bit of a stretch. People call it original, but it's like a dreamworld version of the Matrix (which used ideas that had already been around a while, but at least made it exciting). However, a dreamworld should be so much more than just a sterile, realistic environment. My thoughts about how bland the dreams are here was magnified after watching the Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus. That's a movie that showed true imagination and creativity.

I do enjoy other Nolan films (i.e. Memento, TDK), but I felt no thrills here. Part of the problem is that there is no real consequence of failure. Sure, you may be stuck in "limbo", but it's just another level of dream and you may not be able to escape, but at least you aren't dead.

The snow level was particularly irritating as it just seemed like it was pulled straight out of a modern shooter game. It was very reminiscent of a level of Call of Duty: MW2.

It's also amusing to me that the antagonist is named Mal, which means "bad". Really, we couldn't have come up with a better name to call our villain than "bad"? It was by no means horrible, but really, I don't see why it's called original, or amazing when it's merely entertaining. It's an average movie with an above average effects budget.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
battleTerrorMay 9, 2015
Pure B-movie concept with an A movie veneer and budget. An utterly tedious 2 hours of pretentious non-sense and posing actors relentlessly espousing pseudo philosophical ideas. Not fun, not smart, not a good movie.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
EdorkJul 29, 2014
Yawn!
Two and a half hours of personality deprived people talking about dreams while an obnoxious Hans Zimmer horn blares in the background is not my idea of a fun action thriller. 80% of the dialogue is nothing but exposition, so the
Yawn!
Two and a half hours of personality deprived people talking about dreams while an obnoxious Hans Zimmer horn blares in the background is not my idea of a fun action thriller. 80% of the dialogue is nothing but exposition, so the characters just come off really boring and I end up not caring about them.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
MDawgDec 17, 2012
Chris Nolan is hands down one of my favourite directors of recent times, however Inception fall short of the standards he has set so incredibly high. It pains me to say that the story was needlessly convoluted (but not confusing) andChris Nolan is hands down one of my favourite directors of recent times, however Inception fall short of the standards he has set so incredibly high. It pains me to say that the story was needlessly convoluted (but not confusing) and relatively uninteresting. It was unable to grip me even though his use of music and cinematic devices were as per usual of high quality. Di Caprio gave a sense of unease in the role he played but it seemed similar to that of Shutter Island and several other roles he has played in the past. He is capable of so much more but I felt it was not the refined performance he was aiming for. It was a brilliant idea for a film but alas Nolan seemed to be caught up in the idea of "Inception" and thus lost his direction. All in all a good film but personally I won't be watching it again any time soon. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
demolisher7778Sep 30, 2014
One of the most overrated movies of all time. It tries to be a modernized Matrix. But the action was exhilarating and the effects were spectacular which is why Inception gets a 6/10 (decent).
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
diogomendesDec 14, 2014
This was such a letdown, really. "Inception" is the rare film that I don't quite agree with the critics. It's got some impressive special effects and an appealing cast, but really that's about it, everything else is way too complex. ProbablyThis was such a letdown, really. "Inception" is the rare film that I don't quite agree with the critics. It's got some impressive special effects and an appealing cast, but really that's about it, everything else is way too complex. Probably have to watch more times to fully understand it, but man... wow, what disappointment.

Pros:

+ Well-chosen cast
+ Good special effects
+ Gorgeous cinematography

Cons:

- Convoluted narrative
- Expository dialogue
- Uninteresting premise

What a shame.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
MadMaxFuryRoadJul 22, 2015
Inception is a very hard to understand film and so confusing at times. I do however think Christopher Nolan is an amazing director and it is still watchable. A bit overlong, but a very strong cast.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
MitchellV.Jul 16, 2010
Excellent movie. Chris Nolan at his best. I was in need of a good mindf**k.
9 of 14 users found this helpful
10
JamesT.Jul 16, 2010
Christopher Nolan, has probably incepted my mind cause this movie is all i can think about
9 of 14 users found this helpful
10
DamonA.Jul 16, 2010
I could sit here all night telling you why this movie is probably the best movie I have ever seen, but that would be unnecessary. Simply put, go see this movie!
9 of 14 users found this helpful
10
JayS.Jul 16, 2010
The best movie i have ever seen since the dark knight. nolan is no doubt the next stanley kubrick.
7 of 11 users found this helpful
9
mgyukeriJul 11, 2012
Yeah, Incepiton is complex. Is that a bad thing? No. If you look past the craziness the first time through, and the fact that Ellen Paige's character is only there to be an "exposition shovel", the movie has a lot of treats for people whoYeah, Incepiton is complex. Is that a bad thing? No. If you look past the craziness the first time through, and the fact that Ellen Paige's character is only there to be an "exposition shovel", the movie has a lot of treats for people who go to see it more than once. Also, there's a twist ending. Watch it. Expand
7 of 11 users found this helpful74
All this user's reviews
9
JustinS.Jul 18, 2010
Liked the depth of the main character. Want to see it again, but will watch it on Blu-Ray.
12 of 19 users found this helpful
10
threestainAug 18, 2010
Fantastic movie. DiCaprio goes from strength to strength. A wonderful blend of sci-fi and mind-bending physic with a simple driving core message. Love. Blended perfectly. Well worth the effort to understand.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
funsizekidSep 22, 2010
i loved this movie!!! the graphics were trippy, all throughout the movie i was on edge then BAM! a cafe is obliterated and they all wake up back in reality. I love how at times its vague story line keeps you thinking with their fast facedi loved this movie!!! the graphics were trippy, all throughout the movie i was on edge then BAM! a cafe is obliterated and they all wake up back in reality. I love how at times its vague story line keeps you thinking with their fast faced action. christopher nolan obviously had a hell of a lot of time on his hands as his imagination ran wild! Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
dgrSep 26, 2010
A Great Achievement - The Effects are brilliant and there are strong performances especially from Marion Cotillard - The Dark Knight is better but it has competition with this film.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
SamD.Jul 16, 2010
Wow. A masterpiece! how could some people dislike this?? it guess its like blade runner or 2001, which some people disliked. but wow, this was the best movie of the year, if not the decade.
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
MikeW.Jul 16, 2010
The exponentially smart and puzzling "Inception" did a number on my brain. It's hard to describe a movie like this, you just have to see it for yourself!
8 of 13 users found this helpful
10
HerbleB.Jul 16, 2010
The mindblower of all films.
8 of 13 users found this helpful
9
NedRyerson1Feb 22, 2012
Inception is a movie from a genre that has appeared in this century and since that date is becoming more strong a popular. I am talking about films that mess with our minds, that make you think and make you doubt between what it is really andInception is a movie from a genre that has appeared in this century and since that date is becoming more strong a popular. I am talking about films that mess with our minds, that make you think and make you doubt between what it is really and what is not. These movies are like a subconscious tornado or a complete paradox. Some of those pictures are Inception, Memento, Black Swan, Alice in Wonderland and Rabbit Hole.
Inception treats a dark and interesting topic, the dreams and the power of the subconscious; and because of that the plot is so tangled, complex and even timeless. The barrier between reality and fiction is broken; so who can tell which thing is which? Or what is the difference between those? Even if you discover the true reality, can you be sure? There is only one or there are more realities? No one can tell for sure. This film also has some enjoyable concepts: Carpe Diem, the Leap of Faith, the bad remember dream and the unconditional love. The quotes that represent these concepts the most are: -An old man fill with regret waiting to die alone- and -You are waiting for a train...
Besides the amazing topic, the screenplay, direction and performances are very good. But the most outstanding thing of Inception is the visual effects: the explosions in the cafe, the bend of the city, the free fall of the van, the fight in the hotel and all the things that happen in the limbo. What better way than a cliffhanger ending.
Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews