RADiUS-TWC | Release Date: March 13, 2015
7.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 1339 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
1,052
Mixed:
152
Negative:
135
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
foxgroveMar 13, 2015
Even though it is not quite as scary as word of mouth would have us believe this is still a superb psychological thriller rather than an out and out horror movie. Low on bloody gore but high on atmosphere, most of which is wonderfullyEven though it is not quite as scary as word of mouth would have us believe this is still a superb psychological thriller rather than an out and out horror movie. Low on bloody gore but high on atmosphere, most of which is wonderfully generated by simple shots such as roads, trees a gate or a swimming pool. These and many other ordinary compositions have been lit and captured in a way that gives the film its eerie sense of menace and dread. In the main the film owes its success to these simple details masterfully directed by David Robert Mitchell. Maika Monroe, looking very much like Chloe Sevigny, registers strongly as the young victim of events, and the nerve jangling score is another great contributor. It is also good to be able to report that the film does not rely on gimmicky shock tactics to raise the hairs on your neck. In fact, there are surprisingly few jumps to be had. Still, this doesn't prevent the film from holding you mesmerised in the palm of its hand for almost its entire running time or, at least, until an unsatisfactory ending somewhat disappoints. Expand
24 of 31 users found this helpful247
All this user's reviews
9
MarcDoyleJan 16, 2015
This movie MUST get a wide distribution this spring. There are so many meager horror movies released nation-wide every year (picture a 20-something "possessed" female with arms bending back and milky eyes), and there are a few gems (TheThis movie MUST get a wide distribution this spring. There are so many meager horror movies released nation-wide every year (picture a 20-something "possessed" female with arms bending back and milky eyes), and there are a few gems (The Guest, You're Next, A Terrible Way to Die) that cut through the morass. This is one of those gems. It's a beautifully shot, spare horror thriller with an amazing retro-analog synth score that keeps you tense and engaged throughout. The basic premise and "rules" simple-yet-brilliant and lead to some highly fresh and fun terror sequences. Maika Monroe, fresh off her solid role in The Guest, raises her game with a stellar performance. And every one of the supporting actors, the setting, and the "It" are all so authentically drawn, you leave the theater with a smile on your face. It might feel a touch long as the scenes before the finale are drawn out a bit, but that's my only real criticism. It's a must for horror fans and anyone looking for a genuine thrill. Expand
42 of 57 users found this helpful4215
All this user's reviews
9
stewpacApr 10, 2015
A sense of uneasiness looms over the whole movie. Throughout the whole movie, you can't place when it is taking place. There is a lack of people outside of the main characters for the majority of scenes. Due to all this you can't quite getA sense of uneasiness looms over the whole movie. Throughout the whole movie, you can't place when it is taking place. There is a lack of people outside of the main characters for the majority of scenes. Due to all this you can't quite get comfortable with the movie which I believe is the very intention. The filmmaker said that was inspired by dreams (or I should say nightmares) that he had and just like many other reviewers I believe this movie has a very dream like quality.

It is a must see.
Expand
24 of 34 users found this helpful2410
All this user's reviews
0
debbielMar 28, 2015
This has got to be one of the worse movies that I have ever seen. After watching 40 minutes of it, we had to leave. If you like to watch little teenagers having sex, then maybe you would like it. If you like very slow half naked women movingThis has got to be one of the worse movies that I have ever seen. After watching 40 minutes of it, we had to leave. If you like to watch little teenagers having sex, then maybe you would like it. If you like very slow half naked women moving toward the characters, you might like it. It wasn't for me!! Expand
17 of 27 users found this helpful1710
All this user's reviews
8
jlplattenMar 16, 2015
Slow at times, but the scary parts really do pay off. This film has a very simple concept when it comes to the monster, however it really does a great job in building the tension. This film takes a lot of elements from A Nightmare on ElmSlow at times, but the scary parts really do pay off. This film has a very simple concept when it comes to the monster, however it really does a great job in building the tension. This film takes a lot of elements from A Nightmare on Elm Street. For example, you'll see a female lead struggling to sleep through fear, you'll see skin bruises caused by an invisible monster, you'll see a group of teenagers dealing with the monster, while none of the parents appear to be involved, also they take a scene straight out of the movie when the female lead tries to call her friend (who happens to look a little like Johnny Depp) across the street through her bedroom window at nighttime to warn him about the monster before he dies in his bedroom... There are still a ton of original ideas in this film, but this just stood out while I watched the film. Really good film, but I wouldn't consider it a masterpiece. Still way better than all the other crap horror films that come out annually. Expand
16 of 26 users found this helpful1610
All this user's reviews
0
ZOD72Mar 29, 2015
It STUNK. Just awful. This movie was so bad, I literally registered here just to take this rating down a peg. What in the world are people seeing in this movie that is worth praising?? Honestly...I nearly walked out. Boring, predictable,It STUNK. Just awful. This movie was so bad, I literally registered here just to take this rating down a peg. What in the world are people seeing in this movie that is worth praising?? Honestly...I nearly walked out. Boring, predictable, cheesy, uninteresting, zero suspense, zero scare factor, not even creepy...just straight up terrible on top of awful on top of BAD with some deplorable and some unforgivable mixed in. Please, save your money, or just roll down the window of your car and throw it into the wind, but do NOT go spend money on this piece of garbage. Expand
23 of 39 users found this helpful2316
All this user's reviews
3
Jake9041Mar 29, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After reading the reviews, my brother and I decided to go check this out earlier today and were both extremely disappointed. The movie just drags on for what seems like forever after an admittedly intriguing opening, only to devolve into shots that go on for way, WAY too long that focus on nothing of real significance, little is explained as to what "it" is, why "it" follows, why "it" is at times unable to open a door, which "it" then resorts to breaking windows, then is able to hurl large electronics into a swimming pool and take on a completely different level of physicality that makes you question what the hell it's actually capable of. That's how a lot of the movie is: something is vaguely eluded to and you think you know the 'rules', because as an audience, we're being told a story and we want to feel like we have a personal stake in the film, feel a little immersion, etcetera. But little to nothing is ever explained. Characters are just not interesting. Jay's sister seems to be there to be a shoulder to cry on in close ups when things "get crazy" and doesn't really have an arc to her story at all. There's another girl with glasses and a "shell phone" in the group that provides almost nothing other than famous quotes delivered in a monotonous, pretentious tone of voice during low points, just to keep it's floundering head above water in hopes that the audience will put up with just a little more punishment.

There is some good here, though. The lead actress, Maika Monroe, is genuinely great. She's convincing when she needs to be and most importantly, does a fantastic job acting terrified, confused and worn down. The cinematography is beautiful, showcasing the various suburbs, beaches, vacant buildings, worn down houses and schools with some artistic flair, wide shots that are awesome to look at and the sound design is great as well.

The score is alright, but songs are repeated to the point of ad nauseum and I think he's trying too hard to be John Carpenter. But to wrap this all up and to maybe paint a better picture of what I'm trying to say, let's talk about Halloween, a film I've seen some reviewers compare this to. You have the character of Michael Myers, who for the most part is a mute, slow-moving stalker of teens, much like the "it" of this film. The reason Michael works and this doesn't is because everything about him is laid out by Dr. Loomis. You have exposition to explain what he is, what makes him tick, he had a legitimate purpose and goal. Jason of the Friday the 13th movies is the same: we the audience know his motivation. Those movies aren't about the teens, they're about the monsters. But it's a monster we identify with. "It Follows" is like this: we like the 1980s, let's get some old televisions with classic monster movies on them, older cars for this never fully defined time period because what the hell, that's pretty cool. Get some teens having sex in here because that's what Craven and Carpenter and Romero would have done, right? But get this...what if I was so original as to come up with the idea that our "Michael Myers" is transmitted from kid to kid like an STD?! Except it isn't always the same guy and nobody can see him unless you have it. Oh, and nobody ever knows what it is and I'll never say because it's better for the audience to just come to their own conclusions about the scraps of information I've fed them, sparsely, over a 2 hour time span. I mean, Kubrick never had to explain "The Shining", right? I can be Kubrick.

Guys..?
Expand
17 of 31 users found this helpful1714
All this user's reviews
3
dullurdMar 15, 2015
After seeing its sky-high metascore, I eagerly grabbed a ticket for this, and it was quite a letdown.

Pros: Dialogue and acting were decent, and the aethetics were often very beautiful. Cons: Wasn't scared a single time. No nifty
After seeing its sky-high metascore, I eagerly grabbed a ticket for this, and it was quite a letdown.

Pros: Dialogue and acting were decent, and the aethetics were often very beautiful.

Cons: Wasn't scared a single time. No nifty twists, too much filler, didn't care about the characters.
Expand
19 of 35 users found this helpful1916
All this user's reviews
10
dave89791Mar 14, 2015
Wow

This really should get a wide distribution (which, sadly, The Guest, with the same lead actress, did not get) - this is a modern classic of a horror movie. Not so much a horror movie (though a few scenes were indeed quite chilling) but
Wow

This really should get a wide distribution (which, sadly, The Guest, with the same lead actress, did not get) - this is a modern classic of a horror movie. Not so much a horror movie (though a few scenes were indeed quite chilling) but more psychological thriller
Expand
51 of 105 users found this helpful5154
All this user's reviews
2
sandpeopleMar 28, 2015
Story was clearly not a priority here. I gave it a 2 in recognition of a few fun moments and artful nods to some classic 80s horror staples.

Scariest part: shameless propogation/use of the myth that sex kills. I have no idea why so many
Story was clearly not a priority here. I gave it a 2 in recognition of a few fun moments and artful nods to some classic 80s horror staples.

Scariest part: shameless propogation/use of the myth that sex kills.

I have no idea why so many critics have gone on record saying this film is haunting, chilling, terrifying, etc. Their opinions about the film are much more haunting to me than anything in the film (except maybe all that stuff about evil, scary, deadly sex.)

But dinner before the movie was great. Really good mac and cheese! And my husband and I had a fun date. So all was not lost. Still, here's hoping for a movie with a real story for our next movie date!
Expand
17 of 35 users found this helpful1718
All this user's reviews
9
FallenStarJul 25, 2019
It Follows is a well-executed horror movie that takes you back to a more classical world of horror. It eliminates a lot of predictability often seen in other horror movies and builds its own story along with the viewer's attention. TheIt Follows is a well-executed horror movie that takes you back to a more classical world of horror. It eliminates a lot of predictability often seen in other horror movies and builds its own story along with the viewer's attention. The setting of the movie is really enjoyable with somewhat relatable characters and a mysterious/terrifying force that keeps coming at you throughout the movie always keeping the main character and the viewer on edge.

One thing that I personally liked is those modern movies nowadays always have to "google" or go to a "library" in order to find out what that "thing" is. This movie leaves that open to interpretation which was quite good and instead focuses on its intense moments and the stress the characters have to go through in order for them to succeed in getting rid of it.

I also enjoyed some inducing horror aspects of the creature itself where you end up looking at the screen thinking of where or if that's the thing that is coming. A really chilling experience.

+ Well acted
+ No jump scares
+ The atmosphere is well built as well as the setting
+ The creature itself is interesting and new, well-executed
+ No shakey cam
+ Feels like a throwback to classic movies in all the right ways
+ A chilly experience
+ Better to view with someone else

- It plays it safe sometimes
- The ending could've been slightly better
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
BladeLover2049Aug 22, 2018
An unusual allegory to the danger of pleasure, but also a dominant realization that shows us the conformism of modern life. The film takes us to where the postmodern existential crisis and the daily conformism begin. All concealed in anAn unusual allegory to the danger of pleasure, but also a dominant realization that shows us the conformism of modern life. The film takes us to where the postmodern existential crisis and the daily conformism begin. All concealed in an intelligent entity, which follows us and continues to die .. as well as everything mentioned above. Spectacular. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
ImissMYdinosaurAug 7, 2018
Wow!
This film tapped into a psychological fear of unseen, unrelenting horror.
Best horror film of the decade!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
davidalogangeJul 25, 2019
This movie is SO good, there is a true ambiance, Maika Monroe is very good.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
8
SnowDayJun 3, 2015
A brilliantly filmed horror movie. The suspense, music, acting, and plot all come together well to create a spooky visual and emotional experience. If you are a fan of horror films, this is not one to be missed.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Jes1310Jan 18, 2019
good movie and a nice creepy setting. Good job by the relatively unknown actors. Not quite as good as A Quiet Place but still a cool Little film.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
mmweissAug 3, 2015
Writer-Director David Robert Mitchell makes a powerful film, managing to pay homage to 1980s John Carpenter cinema while creating his own urban legend.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
marcmyworksNov 15, 2015
It Follows is a very Carpenter-esque film, with enough slowness and ambiguity to keep you guessing as to what will happen next. The draw back is the use of the (limited) special effects, which takeaway from the spooky/real nature of the film.It Follows is a very Carpenter-esque film, with enough slowness and ambiguity to keep you guessing as to what will happen next. The draw back is the use of the (limited) special effects, which takeaway from the spooky/real nature of the film. Overall though an intriguing film. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
diogomendesAug 22, 2015
Very suspenseful movie, and by far the best one I've seen from this year (yes, slightly better than "Ex Machina"). This movie had something that was lacking in horror films: originality. Not only that, but the performances were pretty solidVery suspenseful movie, and by far the best one I've seen from this year (yes, slightly better than "Ex Machina"). This movie had something that was lacking in horror films: originality. Not only that, but the performances were pretty solid and the musical score was fittingly phenomenal. Not a masterpiece, but an impressive movie nonetheless. I just love how genius is the premise. It's simply original.

Final Score: 8.5/10.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
thegadfly44Aug 11, 2015
This movie is absolutely a must see for anyone who loves horror. It was excellent in ALMOST every way. The ONLY problem I had with it is that it's kind of obvious the writers didn't know how to end it and so it's one of those Lord of theThis movie is absolutely a must see for anyone who loves horror. It was excellent in ALMOST every way. The ONLY problem I had with it is that it's kind of obvious the writers didn't know how to end it and so it's one of those Lord of the Rings thing where you think it's going to end but then it continues, this sort of makes the film lose momentum towards the end, but overall it was an awesome movie and you should definitely see it. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
driejustAug 3, 2015
I loved the whole throwback feel to this movie. The acting was believable and the music/sound FX were a real treat. FINALLY a new horror movie that's GOOD!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
UniqueUsernameSep 5, 2015
This movie is not a 10/10 masterpiece imo, but it is a very good and original movie. The basic concept of a "thing" walking towards you, that others cannot see, and will never stop until you're dead or you've "passed it on" is both simple andThis movie is not a 10/10 masterpiece imo, but it is a very good and original movie. The basic concept of a "thing" walking towards you, that others cannot see, and will never stop until you're dead or you've "passed it on" is both simple and very unnerving. The acting is good for the most part. The lead (Maika Monroe) is great in the movie. The best part of this movie is the atmosphere it creates. The unnerving electronic music and the beautiful and eerie wide-shots create a great atmosphere, which causes you to constantly feel slightly on edge throughout the movie, nervously searching the screen for "It". The pacing is good overall, but the movie starts to drag a bit in the middle. The pool scene had a few plot holes (as well as some of the decisions the characters made), but was quite intense nonetheless. An issue I had with this movie is the rules of "It". It is described to only walk slowly towards the person who has "it". Yet at times, "It" can crush windows, open doors, swim, jump, stand still, and other stuff. This movie gets the good score it gets for the acting by the lead, the cinematography, music and score, and as well the story. It does not quite reach the "masterpiece" level for the inconsistencies of "it", the draggy middle and a few plot holes. This movie is flawed, but overall very good and has great atmosphere. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BeestingOuchSep 4, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The pace of the movie makes the movie great. Some places you don't know what is going on or what happened. I liked that you didn't know. I couldn't help, but love this movie. If you couldn't see the connection to Elm street then you should watch it again. Elm street was my first real scary movie. Her looking out her window with the old phone just like Elm street. So cool! They really took their time making this movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SuaveWerewolfSep 29, 2016
This movie is strange but awesome! The reviewers that gave bad reviews must have taken this movie differently then it actually was. It has a mysterious cyber-punk feel to it and it is so different then many other movies. the horror andThis movie is strange but awesome! The reviewers that gave bad reviews must have taken this movie differently then it actually was. It has a mysterious cyber-punk feel to it and it is so different then many other movies. the horror and thrilling aspects are cool as heck. very good watch. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
jaasieljuniorFeb 4, 2018
Um dos filmes mais tensos e mais falados de 2015. Alguns odeiam,outros amam. It Follows tem uma bela ambientação e fotografia,além de um incrível roteiro.As atuações são medianas,mas o filme te deixa tenso do primeiro ao último minuto. OUm dos filmes mais tensos e mais falados de 2015. Alguns odeiam,outros amam. It Follows tem uma bela ambientação e fotografia,além de um incrível roteiro.As atuações são medianas,mas o filme te deixa tenso do primeiro ao último minuto. O enquadramento de vídeo é maravilhoso. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
BITESCREENJun 22, 2017
Spätestens seit Wes Cravens Scream weiß jeder: Im Horrorfilm ist nichts gefährlicher als Sex. Das erfährt auch die hübsche Jay in David Robert Mitchells It follows am eigenen Leibe. Nach einem Date mit abschließendem GeschlechtsverkehrSpätestens seit Wes Cravens Scream weiß jeder: Im Horrorfilm ist nichts gefährlicher als Sex. Das erfährt auch die hübsche Jay in David Robert Mitchells It follows am eigenen Leibe. Nach einem Date mit abschließendem Geschlechtsverkehr verfolgen sie stumme Unbekannte in Küche, Wald und Wohnzimmer, bei Kontakt winkt ein furchtbarer Abgang. Warum, weiß weder sie noch der Zuschauer. Und so erlernt er wie Jay mit holprigen Schritten das bösartige Regelwerk hinter den Attacken der nackten, glotzenden, manchmal inkontinenten Besucher. Denn der Fluch hat System – ganz wie in The Ring – und es gibt kein Entkommen. Das ist unangenehm, in seinen spannendsten Momenten sogar purer Terror. Der Plot entwickelt sich zwar kaum, der Film endet fast, wie er begann – das stört aber nicht. Denn mithilfe von Mitchells interpretationsoffener Erzählweise und des pluckernden Synthie-Scores von Disasterpeace wagt It follows die Experimente eines Indiefilms – ist dabei aber unterhaltsam wie ein Blockbuster. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Sep 7, 2017
It Follows is by far one of the best films of the genre that I have seen in years, I certainly recommend it, although I clarify that this film will not please the people who want the simplistic scare and do not want to dig a little more, IfIt Follows is by far one of the best films of the genre that I have seen in years, I certainly recommend it, although I clarify that this film will not please the people who want the simplistic scare and do not want to dig a little more, If they are the kind of public that is educated by films as laughable and tedious as Saw and Hostal and therefore only want torture, blood and violence, this is not a movie for you, this is a fine, slow, tense and atmospheric work, loaded with suspense. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
SolariumJan 12, 2020
B+ *************************************************************************
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
TsukibluemoonMar 29, 2020
Mi película de terror favorita. Misteriosa, grotesca y extraña. La banda sonora es canela en rama.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
lelefoxx00Jul 24, 2015
Let me start by saying I LOVE all things horror. It has been a while since I have found a horror movie (real horror without relying on jump scares) that has satisfied me. I have to say that this movie delivers in all horror aspects. It'sLet me start by saying I LOVE all things horror. It has been a while since I have found a horror movie (real horror without relying on jump scares) that has satisfied me. I have to say that this movie delivers in all horror aspects. It's creepy, it keeps you on edge and has you DREADING any possible jump scares, and it does all of this plus have an original idea. It was fantastic finding a horror movie that strays away from your basic ghosts, demon possessions, and aliens. Not saying anything is wrong with any of that but it truly is nice to get away from that from time to time. The only reason I am giving this an 8 is because I wasn't too crazy about the very ending of the movie. I am a writer and, to me, the ending is extremely important and I would have just added a few extra things to it to give the viewer a little bit more closure. Overall though, it is a fantastic horror movie and it left me creeped out and disturbed as a good horror film should. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
viniciussawateApr 20, 2021
The absence of old adult characters suggests a world of failed relationships between parents and children, as well as the bare thread that conveys the bond between young adults and their caregivers. In short, an interesting radiograph ofThe absence of old adult characters suggests a world of failed relationships between parents and children, as well as the bare thread that conveys the bond between young adults and their caregivers. In short, an interesting radiograph of contemporary relations. The a entity can be seen as a metaphor for selfishness, especially in a large part of American society, usually involved in hegemonic conflicts with other nations of the world. This question even takes us to a group of people who carry the HIV virus and transmit it on purpose to other people, as a form of "revenge" for having acquired what's considered one of the greatest evils of humanity. Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
8
LeZeeNov 4, 2015
An innovative horror-drama with a simplicity.

It was not too long ago I saw the director's other film, his first one and liked it instantly. I did not expect him to go all the way from a beautiful teen drama to a creepy horror flick. But I
An innovative horror-drama with a simplicity.

It was not too long ago I saw the director's other film, his first one and liked it instantly. I did not expect him to go all the way from a beautiful teen drama to a creepy horror flick. But I liked this movie as well, thus that prove he's not a fluke. After seeing his both the films, I can detect the style of presentation that marks his trademark. That is very realistic, dull, but a natural societal atmosphere with a mere background score.

I have said many times that these days horror flicks are heavily leaning on the scary noise/sounds. But this film brings the tone that's really happening around us. The story was like a straight flowing river, no twists or turns like the Amazon river. Even it did not try to hide the existence of the evil spirit. Not only from us, but among the characters in the story. That means it is a very simple tale with the compelling scenes.

It does not look like a cheap horror, this 2 million movie can stand up to any fancy horror flicks. The writer/director's interpretation was very interesting too. Like he said IT could board a plane to follow who he's after. The theme was also very innovative. Quite similar types have made out, but this one was way better. Yep, many movie goers overwhelmed by the unexpected, even the filmmakers for the response.

Now I pray for if there is going to be a sequel, it must be made by the same writer/director. My worry is the B category filmmakers going to spoil the original in the name of follow-up. I highly recommend this movie, especially for adults due to the plot that develops on the sexual intercourse. Though there's no strong nudity. I also suggest you to watch at night, if possible alone. I won't guarantee that it would scare out of you, but that's the best way to watch any horror flick.

8/10
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
AkumaJackAug 8, 2017
One of the best Horror Movies of the last years. Great original score by disasterpiece, decent acting and an intriguing premise. An invisible force will hunt you down if you have sex with its victim. So you can choice to keep running away orOne of the best Horror Movies of the last years. Great original score by disasterpiece, decent acting and an intriguing premise. An invisible force will hunt you down if you have sex with its victim. So you can choice to keep running away or try and pass it to someone else. some kind of moral dilemma. It embraces the cliches of old horrors (Like sex being the cause of every evil, using teenagers as the main characters and playing more around the idea of the killing rather than the gore of the act). Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
egoBorderNov 2, 2019
This one got its hooks into me pretty easily, and even after a second viewing I found the movie thought-provoking and enjoyable. The ending might seem like a cop-out to some, but I don't think many will regret watching this. Warning, it mayThis one got its hooks into me pretty easily, and even after a second viewing I found the movie thought-provoking and enjoyable. The ending might seem like a cop-out to some, but I don't think many will regret watching this. Warning, it may not be a good date movie. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
J_G2021Mar 12, 2021
It's a very different type of horror, which completely relies on originality and not any cheap schlock cliches. The score is **** excellent and reminded me of John Carpenter's Halloween score. Although the ending could have used a little thump.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
llagrokMay 14, 2015
It follows sets up an interesting premise and it is mostly this, together with the great soundtrack, that carries us through the movie. The movie will keep you and your friends discussing hours after its end, trying to think of how "youIt follows sets up an interesting premise and it is mostly this, together with the great soundtrack, that carries us through the movie. The movie will keep you and your friends discussing hours after its end, trying to think of how "you would've done it". Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
blanks09Jul 16, 2015
Original, smart, and terrifying. It Follows is a real breath of fresh air for true horror fans. The only thing I regret is having to wait for it to arrive on Blu-Ray to be able to see it. Highly recommended!
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
WJSJul 15, 2015
This is one of the better of the modern horror flicks. Directed in a style that consistently evokes a feeling of dread without being too violent or gory, it’s well acted by a group of relatively unknowns, which only adds to its feeling ofThis is one of the better of the modern horror flicks. Directed in a style that consistently evokes a feeling of dread without being too violent or gory, it’s well acted by a group of relatively unknowns, which only adds to its feeling of being real. It has a few "boo scare" moments which help add to the general feeling of unrest. It's quite entertaining. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
GentM2015Jun 9, 2015
It Follows is a very good movie,which it doesn't rely on jump scares or other things that most horror movies this days are relying on and naturally are failing.This pays so much tribute to older horror movies and does it great.The acting isIt Follows is a very good movie,which it doesn't rely on jump scares or other things that most horror movies this days are relying on and naturally are failing.This pays so much tribute to older horror movies and does it great.The acting is good especially the main girl does a great job,the editing is great and the camera moves in a perfect style.The cinematography is awesome especially considering that is has such a low-budget.This really should have gotten a wide release everywhere because it's worthy.
Unfortunately it's not what most people have said it is the scariest movie ever,that's not true,I mean it's scary at times but that's not what the overall movie is,it mostly has big tension build up perfectly and that's what makes the movie for me.I'm so glad it's rated R so we can enjoy a good and masterfully done 2015 horror movie.
In the end I'll just say that this movie succeeded at what is was going for and that's more than enough to love this movie.
Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
9
boogieman976Jul 15, 2015
Truly original horror films are a rare treat nowadays, but "It Follows" delivers a slow-burning psychological ride that will have you looking over your shoulders. The film is reminiscent of old-school Carpenter, with its use of visceralTruly original horror films are a rare treat nowadays, but "It Follows" delivers a slow-burning psychological ride that will have you looking over your shoulders. The film is reminiscent of old-school Carpenter, with its use of visceral ambiance taking precedent over slash and splatter. It's slow burn approach to psychological horror makes the scares unique and effective. "It Follows" bends the mind like no other recent films have managed to do. Needless to say, I highly recommend it. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
CMoviesFeb 17, 2016
Wow, one of my favorite horror films of all time. The thought of an STD taking the form of anybody around you, making them attempt to murder you is scary enough..... but imagine watching that. It keeps cheap jumpscares to a minimum, so itWow, one of my favorite horror films of all time. The thought of an STD taking the form of anybody around you, making them attempt to murder you is scary enough..... but imagine watching that. It keeps cheap jumpscares to a minimum, so it finds other ways to scare you. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
xdlonix13xMay 14, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I really, really do not understand why this movie keeps getting good reviews. One of my best friends and I went to see it while he was in town for a day because it not only looked like the best of what was out, but rotten tomatoes praised it. With very few parts that were even remotely on the scary side,(being a horror fan) that was pretty disappointing. By, the end of the movie it was one of the first times I've ever wanted a refund (not that I would ever ask) and somebody from the upper part of the theater behind me yelled out in disappointment as well and also mentioned rotten tomatoes. It is slow paced and as with most horror movies had many just plain stupid and easily avoidable situations. The characters just seemed cliched(not such a surprise, as many movies borrow from others) as far as I.Q.s under 100 and casually not believing anything that was transpiring. The only plus was that the idea of the movie was somewhat original. I do stress somewhat. Then, in the blink of an eye, it ended in the type of way you ask yourself "Seriously? What the hell did I just watch?" Expand
13 of 20 users found this helpful137
All this user's reviews
9
LouVelvetAug 8, 2015
So in case everyone hasn't noticed yet, the users (or should I say, tools) who give the lowest scores don't have any intelligent or insightful reasons for having their negative views of the movie, they just spout baseless vitriol much like aSo in case everyone hasn't noticed yet, the users (or should I say, tools) who give the lowest scores don't have any intelligent or insightful reasons for having their negative views of the movie, they just spout baseless vitriol much like a middle schooler complaining about his worst subject -- "It's just stupid and the teacher sucks, I hate it!" -- People who give their opinion in this way (especially when they write it in the context of "reviewing" a work of film literature or art) are either small-minded, or simply have poor taste coupled with a poor vocabulary.

So if you are in open-minded individual, do yourself a favor and ignore the little brains and see this unique and chilling throwback horror film that ingeniously combines a blend of classic horror cinematography with an undeniably modern and original style of its own, which is fueled by one of the most eerily intense, master crafted soundtracks in horror cinema history. Put on top of all this a script of refreshingly honest adolescent dialogue that never sounds campy, and which gives way to some of the best performances in the horror genre by a small cast of young actors who deliver subtle and often surprisingly introspective portrayals of the growing teenage dispassion for their modern day lives. So to sum up -- if you are a person who is interested in something other than the trending Torture-Porn which constantly seeks to exploit the growing visual desensitization of horror fanatics at the cost of any original subtext or substance, then you'll be grateful for the existence of this intelligent and dread-inducing piece of art.
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
9
thabudJun 1, 2015
Easily best horror film of the decade imo. I liked VHS 1 and 2 alot but this def took the cake. The soundtrack and the atmosphere are just fuc*ing incredible, sh*t is literally jaw dropping. There isn't alot of overused pop up scares, itsEasily best horror film of the decade imo. I liked VHS 1 and 2 alot but this def took the cake. The soundtrack and the atmosphere are just fuc*ing incredible, sh*t is literally jaw dropping. There isn't alot of overused pop up scares, its more of visual scare. Great film def should go and watch. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticApr 10, 2015
This is a really cool retro feeling horror film. Though it's not the scariest movie it may be one of the most well made. The score adds to the tension and I love the way the film has you guessing. A-
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
youlouzOct 2, 2015
This movie had some great acting, and a brilliant concept. The movie was very low budget and had a disappointing ending comparing to how good this movie was.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
UrbanlistenerNov 22, 2015
Pretty great movie, awesome tribute to 80s horror films. Some scary moments here and there, but it is mostly an obvious message about HIV and how easy it is to get it. On that optic it is very well done, because at the same time it is notPretty great movie, awesome tribute to 80s horror films. Some scary moments here and there, but it is mostly an obvious message about HIV and how easy it is to get it. On that optic it is very well done, because at the same time it is not only a propaganda message, it is at it's core a well crafted film, with good acting and an unforgettable soundtrack. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
Jarhead335Jul 21, 2015
It Follows was, for me, an amazing contribution and homage to the work of the likes of John Carpenter, and a stellar counter to the modern landscape of horror. With most movies opting for the found-footage, exorcism/possession or vampireIt Follows was, for me, an amazing contribution and homage to the work of the likes of John Carpenter, and a stellar counter to the modern landscape of horror. With most movies opting for the found-footage, exorcism/possession or vampire vibes, It Follows offers a refreshing blend of incredible cinematography, chilling atmosphere, and one of the best soundtracks in recent memory hearkening back to Halloween. A must-see for any true horror buff. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
annapatrixSep 16, 2015
One of the best and very creepy movies I've seen so far. Must watch!

Watch it online, for free: https://www.primewire.ag/watch-2763622-It-Follows-online-free
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
DoughBoiiMar 30, 2016
It Follows, all you need there is in the title, this was a great addition to the horror movie genre, really causing a change in the establishment, this movie is not like other horror movies whom of which rely entirely on cheap jump scares.It Follows, all you need there is in the title, this was a great addition to the horror movie genre, really causing a change in the establishment, this movie is not like other horror movies whom of which rely entirely on cheap jump scares.
It Follows really is more of a psychological horror really placing the viewer into a constant state of paranoia, having to always wonder where "It" is, while still trying to piece together how this all started, maybe even thinking how can our protagonist pass this thing on and even then still have to wonder if the next person will survive.
This movie is really a low-budget masterpiece adding great visuals and of course the amazing music which only added to the constant tension going on.
Would have given 10/10 but some scenes were left unanswered or rather pointless like the ball hitting the window scene.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
2
annbdJul 22, 2018
The lack of real explanation or a single light in the tunnel of the screenplay, in which case we can make at least theories, made the film a failure. Points I give for some good jump scares and for the try at all. I would describe 'ItThe lack of real explanation or a single light in the tunnel of the screenplay, in which case we can make at least theories, made the film a failure. Points I give for some good jump scares and for the try at all. I would describe 'It follows' as unfinished, not really figured out, BUT with interesting idea behind it. This movie confused me and in my opinion should be improved, because of it's potential. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
CowlickOct 13, 2015
I feel like trolls are creating bot programs to create accounts on Metacritic and Rotten Tomatoes just for the sole purpose of giving It Follows good reviews. Why would I say this? BECAUSE THAT MOVIE WAS GOD AWFUL IN EVERY WAY!!!! The actingI feel like trolls are creating bot programs to create accounts on Metacritic and Rotten Tomatoes just for the sole purpose of giving It Follows good reviews. Why would I say this? BECAUSE THAT MOVIE WAS GOD AWFUL IN EVERY WAY!!!! The acting was atrocious especially by the lead, the characters were absolutely droll, the plot was like a 5 y/o scribbling on a map and had more holes than a wiffle ball, and the scare factor was nonexistent or at the very least INSANELY predictable. It wasn't even a good homage to old slasher movies. That and the underlying theme of "sex kills" is just disgusting, but I guess it's something the youth pastors can use... All in all this felt more like a "serious spoof", if there could be such a thing, and I only finished because I enjoyed laughing at it's horrid existence. Expand
7 of 12 users found this helpful75
All this user's reviews
9
JodethJul 24, 2015
It Follows is a masterpiece in horror. Horror isn't about jump scares and tons of gore, it's about the concept getting under your skin; making you feel uneasy. It Follows has similarities to Halloween, The Thing, and The Horribly SlowIt Follows is a masterpiece in horror. Horror isn't about jump scares and tons of gore, it's about the concept getting under your skin; making you feel uneasy. It Follows has similarities to Halloween, The Thing, and The Horribly Slow Murderer with the Extremely Inefficient Weapon, but has its own original ideas that easily make it a classic. Any fan of thrillers should check it out asap. I took off a point because I thought the ending could've been better. I understand why it's like that, but I would've made the ending differently. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
5
SEROJJul 19, 2018
A demon that is slower than a snail wants to kill an certain chain of people who had sex with each other starting from the most recent one - for no obvious reason or explanation WHY and what exactly is the curse?! I wanted more pre-historyA demon that is slower than a snail wants to kill an certain chain of people who had sex with each other starting from the most recent one - for no obvious reason or explanation WHY and what exactly is the curse?! I wanted more pre-history and information about it because even though its fun making theories and interpretating the plot - there must be at least some evidence to rely on. From a literal perspective - this movie was just bad. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
HaisekiJul 1, 2015
It does so little yet it scares me so much. That is the only way to explain this movie, which is quite refreshing for the horror genre right now. A must watch for any horror or minimalist horror fan.
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
1
CoMovie99Apr 25, 2015
By far one of the stupidest movies ever conceived. The characters are not believable, the acting is amateurish (at best) and the plot is just downright stupid. It is a waste of time and money to see this film in my opinion. I did likeBy far one of the stupidest movies ever conceived. The characters are not believable, the acting is amateurish (at best) and the plot is just downright stupid. It is a waste of time and money to see this film in my opinion. I did like seeing my old stomping grounds in Detroit so I gave it a 1 for that. Expand
9 of 16 users found this helpful97
All this user's reviews
3
cJEThomasApr 4, 2015
I went into this knowing almost nothing, so I had no expectations. This is a movie that fails by its own internal logic; the movie even explains its failings midway through. It could have literally been fifteen minutes long if any of theI went into this knowing almost nothing, so I had no expectations. This is a movie that fails by its own internal logic; the movie even explains its failings midway through. It could have literally been fifteen minutes long if any of the characters showed a shred of intelligence. Throw in sub-par performances by most of the cast (the lead and her lovelorn friend do fine), a gratingly annoying score, and uninspired cinematography and it all adds up to a film that is more unintentionally silly than scary. I get what the filmmakers were going for, but they didn't achieve it. Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
1
ErwinBApr 18, 2015
How can It be that people are liking this movie? Were they sleeping during It? I've been a horror fan for about 25 years now , but this...this movie...is the worst "horror" movie I have ever seen. All negative things that can be said aboutHow can It be that people are liking this movie? Were they sleeping during It? I've been a horror fan for about 25 years now , but this...this movie...is the worst "horror" movie I have ever seen. All negative things that can be said about this movie are already said in other commends. Long story short: this was just plain bad! Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
0
ScareFanJun 9, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It Follows does not deserve such a high rating. You know when you're watching a movie and you keep telling yourself it'll get better (it will, it will, it must!) and then it just doesn't.... Well that's this one all over. It started out ok, I was slightly intrigued after the first death, but then I found myself screaming internally just get on with it! I've heard this film compared positively to Halloween, which I find insane. Michael Myers is, and will always be, an iconic slasher. What even is this thing that follows these teens around, other than completely forgettable? We're given nothing to go on, no background or interesting info at all other than the guy she sleeps with telling her to have sex asap and pass it on like a disease. YAWN! What's worse is that the thing takes the form of an old woman first, and they are really not very scary (apart from the old woman in the cafe in Legion... I did NOT like her.) and it moves at a pace of about 2 miles per hour, which is only ok if you're the big Mikey M and are carrying a bloody big knife. Seriously, if you're after something scary give this one a miss. It's not even remotely creepy, and the music, which actually did put me in mind of Halloween, just grated on my nerves, which were already stretched thin. It's definitely the sign of a bad movie when you wish the characters would just hurry up and die already. Expand
10 of 18 users found this helpful108
All this user's reviews
9
NerdConsultantMar 13, 2015
This one is one the best written and most suspenseful horror films i have seen in a long time. the charters are likeable and smart enough to want them to come out alive and the monster is a really terrifying concept and made better by theThis one is one the best written and most suspenseful horror films i have seen in a long time. the charters are likeable and smart enough to want them to come out alive and the monster is a really terrifying concept and made better by the fact that it's almost impossible to get rid of or deceive. plus the play on horror tropes are excellent and the story raises some interesting questions in regard to what we would do in that situation. Maika Monroe gives a brilliant performance and the soundtrack is really heartpownding. between this, Sinister and The Babadook it looks like Horror films are being to be great again. Expand
12 of 22 users found this helpful1210
All this user's reviews
1
shahdanSep 23, 2015
Never have I come across a flimsy and terribly written movie so obscenely glorified as this one. The plot of a relentless manifestation of a curse (in this case a paranormal, sexually transmitted disease - I really kid you not) has been doneNever have I come across a flimsy and terribly written movie so obscenely glorified as this one. The plot of a relentless manifestation of a curse (in this case a paranormal, sexually transmitted disease - I really kid you not) has been done with proper pacing and a decent framework in many movies such as Ju-on and Ring.

This one? Hey, it tries to be very very different. Nothing is working? Fear not. Throw in gratuitous amount of sex and slime (quite literally), lumbering naked prostitutes with thighs streaming with fresh urine and a generous display of nudity, more nudity ... and then some more doses of it, all in the name of a slow-paced remains of a sad train-wreck that made no sense when it started and ended on an even more convoluted note.

I would love to know the sensibilities of critics that consider this a terrifying movie, as the only thing I was terrified of was to not shame myself in front of my friends by controlling my violently churning stomach at the death scene of the protagonist's friend, and incidentally, one-time playmate. But alas, it is so different and so cool that it obviously deserves the skyrocketing score, nevermind the lack of pacing, direction or the actual narrative. Who cares? It's different, folks. It's different!

All in all, It Follows follows a lot of banal plot devices, it just fails to follow anything meaningful.
Expand
6 of 11 users found this helpful65
All this user's reviews
0
themaninredMar 29, 2015
What is with these high reviews I really disliked this movie, the story, cinematography, acting were horrible. I like some of the music...damn so disapointed
13 of 24 users found this helpful1311
All this user's reviews
0
NRNSWJul 19, 2015
Are these reviews for real - this is quite possibly the worst movie I have seen in many years. The performances were weak, the direction was non-existent and the whole thing went on for way too long (needed a much better edit). Bewildered byAre these reviews for real - this is quite possibly the worst movie I have seen in many years. The performances were weak, the direction was non-existent and the whole thing went on for way too long (needed a much better edit). Bewildered by the reviews this is getting. Expand
7 of 13 users found this helpful76
All this user's reviews
0
SugaKJApr 13, 2015
Terrible! Had high expectations of this movie and was greatly disappointed! Poor acting and even worse music score! Being an "Indie" film it should have been held to higher standards!
9 of 17 users found this helpful98
All this user's reviews
10
BrushedRedApr 3, 2015
I don't know what you people are on. This movie is an instant classic. It's easily one of my favorite horror movies. If you enjoy the old horror of Halloween, you will love this movie. Horror these days has people so insensitive to realI don't know what you people are on. This movie is an instant classic. It's easily one of my favorite horror movies. If you enjoy the old horror of Halloween, you will love this movie. Horror these days has people so insensitive to real horror. Horror isn't about blood and guts; it's about messing with your mind and getting under your skin. This movie does both really well. I've seen it in theaters 3 times already and going back again tonight! Expand
10 of 19 users found this helpful109
All this user's reviews
0
TheOshawanApr 24, 2015
What Follows "It Follows" is the stench of "what the hell did I just watch?"
Horrible logic
First time actors
Bad production value
Lead female was ok..
Great student film.
Avoid it at all costs!
10 of 19 users found this helpful109
All this user's reviews
3
AxeTMar 24, 2015
Effective horror filmmaking wasted on a story with the rampant typical problem plaguing the genre these days: silly unexplained over-the-top supernatural ****
It just doesn't fly, at least for anyone with an IQ over 100 let's say?
Effective horror filmmaking wasted on a story with the rampant typical problem plaguing the genre these days: silly unexplained over-the-top supernatural ****
It just doesn't fly, at least for anyone with an IQ over 100 let's say? Obviously this movie is in a way an homage to such modern classics as "Halloween" and "Friday The 13th", except
those movies worked so well at the time because they were based in reality while still being about as scary as you could get. Homicidal maniacs exist, and however over-the-top those characters became in the sequels, at least originally the scenarios were possible.
The story here is the typical half-baked script that would use as its argument that it is all metaphor and that it's really about the underlying themes. Sorry, that's never enough. First comes a good involving story that can stand on its own, then comes the hidden symbolism and the themes which should be left to interpretation by the viewer.
Take "The Shining", a great Stephen King story first and foremost, then amplified by Kubrick's cinematic genius and open to myriad interpretations. Supernatural, but on one level you could look at it simply as a man with cabin fever.
"It Follows" suffers from a murky not fully realized premise to begin with leaving the experience an empty, unbelievable exercise in technique. Also to note, it is one of the few major theatrical releases in about the last ten years whose image was obviously shot on video. With almost all movies now you cannot tell the difference.
Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
1
thebear64Mar 28, 2015
It Follows is an awful movie. Review after review proclaim this movie as the best horror film in years. I viewed this movie with my teenage son and we were both underwhelmed to say the least. Nothing even close to being scary in this movieIt Follows is an awful movie. Review after review proclaim this movie as the best horror film in years. I viewed this movie with my teenage son and we were both underwhelmed to say the least. Nothing even close to being scary in this movie from beginning to end. I read all of the reviews and fell hook,line,and sinker. I HAD to see this movie. It Follows was the"gamechanger", an experience that would haunt you for days after. What a joke. The only thing I'm haunted by is wasting 25 dollars and 2 hours of my time on this crappy movie. Should have went straight to dvd. Expand
12 of 24 users found this helpful1212
All this user's reviews
10
skadosmenApr 6, 2015
OMG!! Totally! this is the best horror movie of the decade!!!! it blows my mind, is not the typical cliché... is just full of tense, old-fashioned scares and an awesome soundtrack!!! all night i've been with paranoia. very good movie! 10/10
7 of 14 users found this helpful77
All this user's reviews
1
M4U93Jun 1, 2015
This is the worst ''horror'' movie a have ever seen. Is super boring. I saw this one with the girl that I am dating, and both of us were like almost sleeping. There are not really horror parts. The only feature that more or less accomplishThis is the worst ''horror'' movie a have ever seen. Is super boring. I saw this one with the girl that I am dating, and both of us were like almost sleeping. There are not really horror parts. The only feature that more or less accomplish some points is the background music. Really disappointed. Expand
6 of 12 users found this helpful66
All this user's reviews
10
JoshFriesenApr 13, 2015
While mainstream American Horror continues to disappoint in many of the same ways it has been for decades, the last couple of years we have begun to see what looks like a promising new wave of Horror directors emerging from the New Zealand,While mainstream American Horror continues to disappoint in many of the same ways it has been for decades, the last couple of years we have begun to see what looks like a promising new wave of Horror directors emerging from the New Zealand, Australian, UK and American Indie Movements. Adam Wingard (You’re Next, The Guest) and Gerard Johnstone (Housebound) have put their knowledge of modern horror to use, creating genre-inverting horror comedies that manage the tricky task of being funny without diminishing the scares. Even more promising is the work of Jennifer Kent (The Babadook) and Ben Wheatley (Kill List, A Field in England) who draw on the history of film to move the medium forward. Both groups are similar in that they are film literate but the distinction of where they are pulling references from is important. We have seen a few films in the first group enter the mainstream consciousness (Scream, Cabin in the Woods) but none that I can think of from the latter (maybe studio’s think they are doing this by remaking classic horrors?). It Follows, the sophomore effort from writer/director David Robert Mitchell falls decidedly in the latter group. Harking back to the films of John Carpenter without feeling derivative, It Follows is a statement of how far Horror has come, and the promising future it might have.

Maika Monroe (The Guest) plays Jay, a long legged blond from the suburbs, who, after sleeping for the first time with her seemingly nice boyfriend, is drugged and passes out. She wakes us tied to a wheelchair where a frightened Hugh (her boyfriend) informers her that she will now be followed by… something. He doesn’t know what it is but he knows it will follow her, never faster than walking speed. He got it by having sex with a girl who had it, and now he has passed it on to her. “It could look like someone you know or it could be a stranger in a crowd. Whatever helps it get close to you.” You can travel to buy yourself sometime, but it will always be slowly following. He advocates passing it on to someone new, which will be easy, he reminds her, because she is a girl.

There has been a fair amount of conversation regarding what It Follows is actually about. Clearly it is commenting on sex, and because of the nature of the curse, many have been quick to conclude it is a film about STD’s. While a Cronenbergian reading is interesting, I think this is ultimately wrong. This reading doesn’t even work plot wise; what STD is cured by having sex with a new victim? Viewing the film as an STD metaphor is also to ignore the multitude of ways sex is explored in the film. Sex is not just seen as a potentially dangerous activity, it is also portrayed as a weapon, as comfort when afraid and as a way to express one’s inner feelings. While I can’t claim to know exactly what It Follows is about, I do not think it can be reduced to just one thing. The film explores a complexity of ideas, many of them not reducible to a single over-arching reading.

Putting aside the high-concept plot of the film, It Follows works incredibly well on a surface-level viewing. The film will suck you into its dreamlike reality and make you care about its sympathetic and well-rounded characters. It Follows moves at a relatively easy pace, but the haunting atmosphere and pounding electronic score will leave you twitching in fear and anticipation. The dread of the unstoppable and unrelenting force pursuing them is never lost on the audience. Rather than settling for cheap scares, the film creates a building tension which it maintains for almost the entirety of the running time. Rarely is there time to breath, this is not a film for those who like their horror films at an ironic distance. It Follows is remarkably terrifying, a horror that will follow you home and leave you shaken for days.
Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
10
brookadamMay 9, 2015
Great movie with a rad way of paying homage to both 80's horror and teen flicks alike. People seem to need an explanation for everything these days, completely ignoring the fact that this is pure fiction, creating scenarios for suspense notGreat movie with a rad way of paying homage to both 80's horror and teen flicks alike. People seem to need an explanation for everything these days, completely ignoring the fact that this is pure fiction, creating scenarios for suspense not reality. It's actually a superb piece of film especially in this genre. I suspect people that completely missed the point of this film and gave it a 0, uh?... Just don't get it. Which is fine as those that do, will instantly understand what it's doing. Great film loved it. THOSE GIVING LOW SCORES, how bout giving us your definition of a great horror? Expand
5 of 10 users found this helpful55
All this user's reviews
8
teaguewdApr 7, 2015
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was an interesting film, and I definitely has a lot of fun watching it. Without any foreknowledge other than a few tv spots I had seen late at night(we went to see it on a whim after seeing that it was playing) I was exciting to see the poster outside of the small art cinema was a paint-style homage to late 70s/early 80s slasher films. It was no surprise that this was only the tip of the iceberg of these references in the film, which above all creates and maintains an atmosphere that felt like a low-fi, incandescent version of the visual mood of the era’s films, even incorporating an element of timeless mise-en-scene that intensifies its creepiness. In fact, theres very little mention of time(or even temporal continuity editing throughout the film), all the while slowly revealing that the reason for much of this midwestern mise-en-cene is that the film is set in suburban Detroit in the late Summer(something that with my regional prejudices seemed to be a horrific revelation in and of itself) .
The premise is interesting and unique rather than profoundly innovative; it succeeds in creating a running-length-long sense of dread because of the foreboding visual contingency it involves(the premise is revealed very early on to maximize this dread), yet still is subject to the typical implausibilities of these types of movies, which at times creates a feel akin to something like a college-aged version of the Goonies. Either way, we can perhaps be assured of the film’s plausibility relative to other recent fare, at least within the confines of a fully-self ware horror cinema, due to the premise’s particularly intimate relationship with sex.
As with all slasher films (and horror films in general) It Follows involves a formulaic premise, but here it cuts-to-the-chase with regard to our teenaged victims being punished for their promiscuity, having the killer-entity engaged in pursuit as a direct result as coitus, quite literally such that its wrath is transmitted from person to person via sex, like an unavoidable STI. Because of this, we are able to focus less on what the killer is(it morphs amongst various human facades), and far more on how it operates in space. This departure from the typical slasher formula serves to bend the suspense it delivers, from something that dwells on the unknown to something that guarantees conflict, the suspense coming from just how the next encounter will occur(a slight but refreshing twist on the formula).
All things considered, the film’s premise allows for some terribly haunting conceptualizations derived from its choking of the diegetic spatial plane. We are not only given a heightened pretense for scanning the image for a threat (in literally every shot, the way this is filmed), but we assimilate to the character’s three-dimensional world, reinforcing the suspense that keep's the viewer engaged. At times overly simple and conventional camerawork ease up the tense feeling, but moments of brilliance quickly re-instill the horror for a pretty high-paced flick.
In essence, this is an exciting film(certainly worth seeing) that feels a bit like Halloween, though not quite as scary, nor near as gory, The Ring with more color, and an almost art film-esque “frantic wandering” in place of the investigative plot. It helps that the female stars are attractive new faces, who bring a pretty naturalistic(although sometimes lacking in emotional range- this may be due to lackluster writing in places) feel to their scenes together. Either way, the overall style is unique and along with an unusual tonally-motivated soundtrack, its translates the horror-film-mood at the confluence of a mushroom trip and a torture chamber, which is actually pretty cool.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
impertinenthawkApr 13, 2015
A stimulating break from a dying genre, It Follows has brought something new and refreshing to the stereotypical, teen horror genre.

It Follows' showcase, is it's brilliance in detail. From lighting, to color, to specific camera shots, to
A stimulating break from a dying genre, It Follows has brought something new and refreshing to the stereotypical, teen horror genre.

It Follows' showcase, is it's brilliance in detail. From lighting, to color, to specific camera shots, to the soundtrack (with it's David Lynch-like feel), this film is more an art piece than a jumpy thriller. Anybody looking to critique and pick apart the scenes in this film will find it difficult to find much wrong. In all reality, there's nothing here to really pick on.

The chills won't lick your spine while you're sitting at the theater; however, thinking back on the plot the night after will play with you. I found the concept more disturbing the days following my actual viewing of the movie. It wore on me and still, two weeks later, I'm stuck on /how/ clever Mitchell's directing was. Truly and utterly evil. This isn't outwardly scary more than it is a psychological treat.

It Follows is an obvious must see and I would recommend it to anybody with taste. Even movie-goers who are looking for simple blockbuster amusement will find this film compelling.

And as far as endings go, nothing is more beautiful than leaving the conclusion ambiguous.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
KungFu_ProdigyApr 25, 2015
Wasn't necessarily scary but it was definitely a great refresher from all these cliché horror movies that are out today. If you love the horror movies of the 70's and 80's this movie is for you. excellent soundtrack, definitely has that JohnWasn't necessarily scary but it was definitely a great refresher from all these cliché horror movies that are out today. If you love the horror movies of the 70's and 80's this movie is for you. excellent soundtrack, definitely has that John carpenter vibe going for it. It was honestly one of my favorite things about the movie. This movie does a great job at making things intense with the unique camera work and that creepy music that gets under your skin. More so called "horror" movies today lack in creepy soundtracks. Hopefully it follows will be an inspirational movie for future horror films. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
5
meldrewMay 6, 2015
I must be missing something when critics I respect go crazy over a film that, for me, is only nudging an above average. I've ended up going 5.

Maybe it was over-anticipation that caused my disappointment, but there was nothing noteworthy
I must be missing something when critics I respect go crazy over a film that, for me, is only nudging an above average. I've ended up going 5.

Maybe it was over-anticipation that caused my disappointment, but there was nothing noteworthy about It Follows. It had a decent idea but failed to build on it, and it was suspense-free from my seat. The immediate threat to whoever 'it' was following at the time seemed lacklustre, although the overwhelming weight of the knowledge that something is after you was well conveyed by Maika Monroe.

It looked good and the acting was fine. I wish I had got a bit more out of it.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
10
NShep53Aug 9, 2015
No this is not your traditional horror movie, because this movie actually has a great story, an amazing concept and strong performances by the actors. Maika Monroe is an absolute star in this film and is starting her career off with a bangNo this is not your traditional horror movie, because this movie actually has a great story, an amazing concept and strong performances by the actors. Maika Monroe is an absolute star in this film and is starting her career off with a bang (expect to see her in big budget blockbusters). There aren't too many "scares", but the feeling of dread and uneasiness really pay off well. As of right now, this film is in my Top 5 of the year. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
LINUSSPACEHEADNov 28, 2015
This is a great movie.
It's original.
Beautiful. Fantastically scored scenes. The acting is excellent. It's strange and scary. Many scenes have multiple layers of symbolic meanings. In response to some out there who didn't like it
This is a great movie.
It's original.
Beautiful.
Fantastically scored scenes.
The acting is excellent.
It's strange and scary.
Many scenes have multiple layers of symbolic meanings.

In response to some out there who didn't like it and say.....why this or why that? Another great thing about this movie is it doesn't bore us with lengthy explantions about why this happened or why "it" could do this in that scene.
Nobody knows and that's ok.

It's a modern horror cinematic masterpiece.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
dedobuhoJun 24, 2015
muy buena pelicula, diferente alas clasicas peliculas donde te dan un susto despues de medio minuto de silencio predecible. ojo, es una pelicula diferente, va generando tension y miedo un poco mas psicologico, no ala forma tradicional de vermuy buena pelicula, diferente alas clasicas peliculas donde te dan un susto despues de medio minuto de silencio predecible. ojo, es una pelicula diferente, va generando tension y miedo un poco mas psicologico, no ala forma tradicional de ver las peliculas de terror, si eres de las personas ansiosas por sustos instantaneos y brincos de tu asiento, esta pelicula no te va a gustar, pero si eres de los adentrados en trama y nada te despega de la concentracion disfrutaras mucho esta pelicula. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
MattBrady99May 6, 2015
You ejaculate it follows, if you seen the movie you would understand that.

The story is about a 19-year-old, should be spending Autumn worrying about school, boys and spending week-ends at the lake. But after a seemingly innocent sexual
You ejaculate it follows, if you seen the movie you would understand that.

The story is about a 19-year-old, should be spending Autumn worrying about school, boys and spending week-ends at the lake. But after a seemingly innocent sexual experience she finds herself unable to shake the feeling that something is stalking her. As strange visions begin to plague her, she turns to her friends to help escape this horror - if she can.

It Follows was a horror movie that I've been waiting for a while now. As I'm speaking right now this movie is rated 96% on Rotten Tomatoes and critics have been calling this "The scariest movie of all time", says some movie magazine. The movie was getting hyped up and I wanted to see what was all the fuss about and after seeing the movie I can say that It Follows isn't the scariest movie of all time, but it's still a great horror movie with a lot to like from it (even the soundtrack).

The director of this movie David Robert Mitchell is unknown directed to me as I haven't seen any of his Previous movies and It Follows is basically the first movie I've seen from him and a great one. David Robert Mitchell directed the movie unsettling and beautiful at the same time adding the art house look and feel to a horror movie which made the tone of the movie creepy and haunting with a throw back of classic horror nostalgic. I will be keeping my eye out for his next movie because David did a excellent job directing and crafting a horror nostalgia, work one David Robert Mitchell.

I remembered seeing Maika Monroe in last year's movie The Guest and now she's in It Follows and she delivered a great and stunning performance. In my opinion I think this is the movie that she really stands out from being good to outstanding. Now this isn't a spoiler to the movie but the scene I'm about to talk about involves Maika Monroe acting and why she was brilliant in this movie and that's when she first encounters the first follower and it's a old creepy looking women that start's walking towards her and the scene itself is very terrifying, Maika Monroe looked like she was scared and confused of what's going on and to be honest that's the face I will pull if so one started following me with that creepy look on their faces. Maika Monroe was pure outstanding in this movie and I can't wait to see more of her talent in the late future.

The soundtrack to this movie is hands down some of the best horror soundtrack of the year, it's right up there with The Guest and other movies like Drive and Under The Skin. It's got a nostalgia of horror to it and a big tribute to John Carpenter's movies. I listened to the soundtrack more times then I excepted, that's how amazing this masterpiece of horror music should be done.

The movie's tone is what made the movie more effective to me as the movie doesn't have loud stupid jump scars or any cliche annoying characters to bring the movie down, no the movie allows on it's setting, it's atmosphere and the performances to make the movie effective or you like to call it frighting. Don't go into this movie expecting a popcorn horror flick with all the cliches you can check off the list in your head, the movie isn't like that has it's different then most horror movies.

Now for the problems: I already talked about how amazing Maika Monroe acting was in the movie but the other actors who played her friends wasn't all that good I mean if you have to compare it to Maika Monroe performance to these they didn't do so great. These a scene in the movie were one of them get's shot in the leg by accident and oh my god they reaction to getting shot was freaking dreadful and such bad acting it took me out of the movie a little bit, but luckily Maika Monroe was on screen most of the time in that scene so she pretty much saved it.

Don't worry I won't spoil the ending for you but let just say that the movie doesn't end on a good note, it just kind of ends just like that. It was like the season finale to The Sopranos it just ends like that and I'm there all like "Was that it?".

Overall It Follows is a great horror movie and I like how different and original it is. Is the movie over hyped? well yeah since critics are false advertising it saying it's the best thing that every happened and people are excepting to be scared out of their minds over this movie and leaving disappointed, well the movie didn't scary me but it left me thinking and it did have it's chilling and creepy moments that got under my skin a lot of times. If you haven't seen the movie yet go check it out but please don't go in thinking it's going to be scariest movie every made, just expect a good horror movie that's clever and unsettling.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
KirstieMay 16, 2015
I like to rate films based on whether I'll watch it again and this film though low budget wise was worth another look as the details hidden inside the sounds & backgrounds made me want to analyze it thoroughly.

There were several "nods" to
I like to rate films based on whether I'll watch it again and this film though low budget wise was worth another look as the details hidden inside the sounds & backgrounds made me want to analyze it thoroughly.

There were several "nods" to other directors that were obvious to a lot of people; One specifically being John Carpenter's music & pacing. Brian De Palma's long camera pans & patient scenario build-ups were much appreciated, especially in the scene first showing the "Tall Man". And a George Romero tactic provided for the audiences pleasure, when in certain scenes we're allowed to see the "It" in the distance before the characters even know or often never realize "It" at all.

'It Follows' is a genuine attempt to tell a story that I want from the movies I frequent. A slower pace that takes time to develop characters and leaves enough room for the next fright. 'It Follows' borrows from the classical story-telling I grew up with in the 70's & 80's; Unrolling the plot as it progresses & leaving more for your own interpretations & wonders. I liked this movie. I'll collect it along with the other horror genres on my shelf and hope there's a decent sequel. It stole my curiosity and there was so much more left to be told.

Take my advice ... You must see this film.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerJan 21, 2017
It Follows is essentially the story of a girl who gets an STD. Only in this case STD stands for sexually transmitted demon. Both a throwback to the horror classics of the 70s and 80s, and a great example of how a simple concept can be used toIt Follows is essentially the story of a girl who gets an STD. Only in this case STD stands for sexually transmitted demon. Both a throwback to the horror classics of the 70s and 80s, and a great example of how a simple concept can be used to create a compelling movie, It Follows might be a modern horror classic. It certainly is, at the very least, one of the more interesting things the genre has spawned onto the silver screen.

It's bare bones in a lot of ways. Something that actually works in it's favor. Trying to go to big with the concept simply wouldn't have worked. It's already not scary as it is, but without the minimalist style it would lose it's atmosphere and sense of mystery.

It Follows arrives at the near perfect time as it seems to have a lot to say about sex today. There's a thoughtful core running throughout the whole movie that is likely to peak the curiosity of many viewers, opening the door to a variety of interpretations.

Even without all of that it's a great return in style to the horror movies of yesteryear. Calling to mind the likes of Wes Craven and John Carpenter. What it lacks in scares it makes up for in style(that soundtrack does take a bit of getting used to). The original concept is also fascinating.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
WatchMyShortzSep 5, 2016
A truly masterful psychological horror film. I haven't stopped thinking about it since I watched it a few days ago. Though there were two scenes that I felt were unnecessary and slightly confusing (where 'it' attacks Jay at the beach and whenA truly masterful psychological horror film. I haven't stopped thinking about it since I watched it a few days ago. Though there were two scenes that I felt were unnecessary and slightly confusing (where 'it' attacks Jay at the beach and when it appears on the roof of her house), the majority of the film is both shot and written ingeniously. I loved how it didn't completely rely on jumpscares, and the scariest scenes in the film were definitely the ones that were built up for a while and gave a sense of dread, rather than a sudden instrumental thud. I thought the cinematography was very impressive, but the thing that stood out the most to me was the writing. Unlike a lot of mainstream hollywood horror films that like to show all of the gory details, a lot of the events in It Follows are implied. A lot of the time you're left to notice subtle visual cues that indicate what just happened off screen. This clever type of storytelling is precisely what we need more of, not just in horror films, but all types of films right now. Other aspects of the film that we aren't shown have been left to interpretation. After watching many YouTube videos analysing the film, there are loads of valid ideas as to what the film may be a metaphor for and what the ending means. In my opinion, the way significant parts of this film are left to interpretation rather than spelled out for the audience is part of what makes it so brilliant, and as a result It Follows has crawled under my skin as I've spent days coming up with my own explanation for the film's dark meaning. In conclusion, easily the best horror film I've seen in years. I'm very impressed that a horror film in recent years has managed to genuinely scare me. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
heathermApr 26, 2015
I'm not generally a scary movie person, but I absolutely loved this movie. It was suspenseful and terrifying and really hard to watch, and a week or two later I still get the heebie-jeebies when I think about some of the film's events. ItI'm not generally a scary movie person, but I absolutely loved this movie. It was suspenseful and terrifying and really hard to watch, and a week or two later I still get the heebie-jeebies when I think about some of the film's events. It was incredibly well acted, and so many of the shots were beautiful--just the camera panning slowly across a quiet suburban street. I found it really interesting that they managed to anonymize the time period to such a degree--I've spoken to people who think it took place in the future (because of the clam shell ereader), and ones who think it took place in the past because all the other electronics look so old and dated. I think the overall effect is to set it in any time period, which is also perhaps why it was so hard to tell where it was taking place until near the end. The premise was so simple and startling and the result is an excellent movie. I'm so glad that it received wide distribution and that I got to see it, and be scared by it. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
T-ManMoviezMay 8, 2015
'It Follows' is an american horrorfilm by director David Robert Mitchell. The movie was released on March 13th, 2015.

The plot of the movie evolves around the teenage girl Jay (Maika Monroe). One night, Jay and 21 year old Hugh (Jake
'It Follows' is an american horrorfilm by director David Robert Mitchell. The movie was released on March 13th, 2015.

The plot of the movie evolves around the teenage girl Jay (Maika Monroe). One night, Jay and 21 year old Hugh (Jake Weary) go out on a date to the movie theatre. It becomes apparent that something is not right when Hugh, within a game the two of them are playing, refers to girl in a yellow jacket, who only he seems to be able to see. Startled, he takes Jay out of the movie theatre with him.
After Jay tells her sister Kelly (Lili Sepe) about the odd incident, she goes on another date with Hugh. They drink beer and eventually have sex. After the act, Hugh sedates Jay with Chloroform.
Jay awakes in an empty building, still in underwear and tied to a chair. Hugh explains to Jay that he passed 'it' on to her and that he did not mean to harm her. He tells Jay that it will follow her and that it may change it's appearance to whatever it helps it, get closer to her. The only way for Jay is to pass it on to someone else, by sleeping with that person. Hugh subsequently pushes Jay in the chair to the ledge of the building for her to see what appears to be a woman, walking towards her. Hugh explains that it will always walk, slow 'but not dumb'. The woman enters the building and Hugh lets her get closer to Jay, before taking her with him and dropping her off at her home, essentially buying Jay some time.

The first thing you will notice about 'It Follows' is the atmosphere. This is due to the mixture of retro technology and the more modern world. Almost exclusively every piece of technology is dated, TV's show movies from the 1950s and the ambient music is provided by synthesizers. These elements give the movie a certain, very delibrate and vibrant atmosphere, that is somewhat dark but also very mysterious. Mysterious is the right word here, since a lot about the movie is in fact mysterious. You do not know where the monster comes from, what it is,where it all started and not even exactly what it looks like.
Time felt kind of 'off' in this movie. I found it quite hard to find an overseeable structure, the movie feels a bit chaotic and trying to say exactly where act two transitions into act three was like playing a guessing game to me. Nevertheless, with the mysterious ambiance and atmosphere, this makes a lot of sense and is very fitting to the movie.
The intersections between chases or appearances are used for character development and to establish realtionships between Jay and her friends, who try to help her. This is, however, not a filler. Said intersections feel like they could have been taken from a teenage movie of a somewhat different kind, but it feels fitting without taking away from the genre or tone of the movie.
The movie has a certain sexual tension to it, since Jay has two male friends, one of which is in love with her and she can only be saved by having sex with another person and passing it on to them. This aspect of danger to sex and sexual attractions adds to the atmosphere in that it makes you feel a certain fascination. You just emerge into the situation even more.
The horror of this movie does not come in the form of sudden jump scared around every 90 degree angle, like it does so frequently in horrorfilms these days. That is a good thing. It is a horror that has you invested because it actually scares you and does not have to rely on cheap punches and blindsides.

What can we conclude?
'It Follows' starts off as an above average horrorfilm that utilizes maybe not essentially a new kind, but a different kind of horror. The movie builds up tension and an excellent ambiance and a beautifully composed mysterious atmosphere. I felt like the trailer emphasized the horror aspect almost exclusively and while this is definitely present, the movie has way more to offer.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TheDude-Jul 29, 2015
It Follows is a pretty damn good movie with a good cast and characters not to mention the film is very good at creating tension but despite the glowing reviews it follows has its flaws for example I think the characters in this film are veryIt Follows is a pretty damn good movie with a good cast and characters not to mention the film is very good at creating tension but despite the glowing reviews it follows has its flaws for example I think the characters in this film are very dumb and near the end of the film the whole "it is here run to the next location" formula got a bit stale all in all I liked it follows but didn't think it broke any grounds in the genre like most critics are saying it is.
7.5/10
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
itsrobertsfamMar 7, 2017
It's about time someone brought something new and original to the horror genre. Filled with fear and suspense, and a unique cast and plot, "It Follows" is a film you won't want to miss, and one that definitely earns a spot in the horror hall of fame.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Luka1998010May 5, 2020
A Metacritic must see xD As soon as i saw the short description about the movie on Google, i had to check this out This is literally a STD demon movie, i still cannot believe that someone actually came up with this concept xD
They should make
A Metacritic must see xD As soon as i saw the short description about the movie on Google, i had to check this out This is literally a STD demon movie, i still cannot believe that someone actually came up with this concept xD
They should make a part 2 with the Hodgetwins "Demon got me...sucking me off"
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
SynysterSlayerMar 28, 2015
The scary part of this movie is that it actually has positive reviews. Other than some random cheap jump moments this movie is nothing more than forget able. I'll remember the 8 people that walked out about halfway through the movie thanThe scary part of this movie is that it actually has positive reviews. Other than some random cheap jump moments this movie is nothing more than forget able. I'll remember the 8 people that walked out about halfway through the movie than remembering the movie itself. It's worst failure is that it is 2 hours long. Half of that could have been cut down if every single scene didn't have some extended pointless camera span.

I've given it a 4 because the concept isn't bad, it was executed extremely poorly in this movie. If anything this film should be used to scare teenagers about STD's in school. That sounds weird but that is the concept of this movie. You might sleep with someone and catch something you can't get rid of.

Don't expect to be scared in this movie. Don't expect any kind of logical conclusion. Don't expect any closure. Enjoy the actually 30 minutes of real horror in this 2 hour snooze fest.
Expand
9 of 19 users found this helpful910
All this user's reviews
0
Texas_Movie_FanApr 12, 2015
I trusted you MetaCritic and you failed me horribly. If I could figure out how to give this movie a negative rating I would, if only to save some people from spending a minute of their lives on this film. The best thing about this movie was leaving.
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
4
brieflyApr 19, 2015
Truly disappointing. You wait for a good horror movie, then, finally, reviews of one are great. So, you go, and it sucks. This movie doesn't suck, but it's forgettable. Strong start and nothing more. I really wanted to like it.
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
1
ZehnodaMar 28, 2015
The abstinence only videos I had to watch back in high school were scarier than this movie. No plot and a bunch of empty tropes. Made me laugh a few times so there was that. Dumb kids doing dumb **** Give them credit for not being afraid ofThe abstinence only videos I had to watch back in high school were scarier than this movie. No plot and a bunch of empty tropes. Made me laugh a few times so there was that. Dumb kids doing dumb **** Give them credit for not being afraid of pubic hair. Expand
7 of 15 users found this helpful78
All this user's reviews
1
mkbakerMar 30, 2015
I opened this account (and one on Rotten Tomatoes) just to give this movie a bad review. It was not original, it was not scary, it was not creepy; all it did was make me angry that we paid $18 to see it. I stayed thinking it would getI opened this account (and one on Rotten Tomatoes) just to give this movie a bad review. It was not original, it was not scary, it was not creepy; all it did was make me angry that we paid $18 to see it. I stayed thinking it would get better, but wish I had left after the first hour. The lack of continuity about the era drove me crazy(was this the 80's, cause I lived then and I think not - those pools and power strips weren't around then) as did the complete lack of explanation about what "it" was. The idiot characters in the movie never even tried to find out what "it" was or how to defeat it. The whole idea of passing "it" on to someone else to get rid of "it" was ludicrous. As soon as that person is killed "it" comes back to you - what would the point be in giving "it" to someone else???? Now "it" is going to come back to you sometime in the future so you live in a constant state of anxiety waiting for "it". Just let "it" kill you already and put us all out of your misery. Expand
9 of 20 users found this helpful911
All this user's reviews
0
jrodfilmsMar 30, 2015
by the time the film is over, youd wish youd end up like the first victim. do not watch this. its hipster crap. watch the orignal chainsaw massacre for a good scare.
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
10
1000Jun 10, 2015
As a long time horror fanatic, when I heard about the buzz IT FOLLOWS was generating I got very interested. After reading the plot summary I was far less excited.... to me the plot sounded corny and dull. But I could not have been more wrong.As a long time horror fanatic, when I heard about the buzz IT FOLLOWS was generating I got very interested. After reading the plot summary I was far less excited.... to me the plot sounded corny and dull. But I could not have been more wrong. This is one of the finest horror films I have seen in many years - it deserves all the praise it has gotten and should go down as an essential "classic" horror film. It can proudly stand along horror classics such as Halloween. I can't remember the last time I felt so unsettled watching a horror film - the atmosphere was incredible. The whole film permeated with a palpable sense of dread that so many horror films attempt but so few actually achieve even in part.

I'm really looking forward to what the director is going to do next - a very interesting film maker.
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
ProsmoothMay 9, 2015
Imagine a particularly creepy and innovative episode of Buffy the Vampire Slayer without the humor, mixed with John Carpenter's Halloween. Skillfully directed, acted, and scored. Great little indie horror film.
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
9
tjman09Mar 30, 2015
This film is like if slender man were an STD, and it's terrifying. The music helps feed this tone, and the film has a way of always making you feel uneasy right up to the final scene. Despite undeveloped characters and a slight lack of humorThis film is like if slender man were an STD, and it's terrifying. The music helps feed this tone, and the film has a way of always making you feel uneasy right up to the final scene. Despite undeveloped characters and a slight lack of humor the film completely delivers. Hopefully filmmakers use this and the Babadook to save the genre. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
WalabieApr 14, 2015
Eerie to an extent i've rarely seen, this movie is exactly what a real horror movie should be. Some say "we don't know nothing about why or how all of this is happening!" Well, it's perfect that way. Being in the dark and an entity shroudedEerie to an extent i've rarely seen, this movie is exactly what a real horror movie should be. Some say "we don't know nothing about why or how all of this is happening!" Well, it's perfect that way. Being in the dark and an entity shrouded in mystery is EXACTLY what horror is all about

Knowing about the "monster" or whatever it is that's supposed to scare you is half the battle lost. Once you know, you're not as scared. Anyway, a must see!
Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
10
SolInvictaJun 1, 2015
The best horror film of the past decade. It Follows is a rarity among modern horror - it's unique and spells out very little for the audience by focusing entirely on eerie atmosphere and constant suspense. The brilliant musical score elevatesThe best horror film of the past decade. It Follows is a rarity among modern horror - it's unique and spells out very little for the audience by focusing entirely on eerie atmosphere and constant suspense. The brilliant musical score elevates the film and provides a retro feel similar to John Carpenter's Halloween. That comparison alone speaks volumes about newcomer director David Robert Mitchell who, along with Jennifer Kent (The Babadook), are breathing fresh life into a struggling genre. They are directors to keep your eyes on in the upcoming years. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
0
killingspreeJun 23, 2015
Listen to me. The critics were all paid off to give this movie high reviews. Don't listen to them. Listen to me. This movie is garbage. It's trash. Don't waste your money or time seeing it. If you know what's good for you avoid it all costs.Listen to me. The critics were all paid off to give this movie high reviews. Don't listen to them. Listen to me. This movie is garbage. It's trash. Don't waste your money or time seeing it. If you know what's good for you avoid it all costs. Terrible acting, bad music/sound effects, bad story. Worst movie literally ever. Expand
11 of 25 users found this helpful1114
All this user's reviews