RKO Radio Pictures | Release Date: January 7, 1947
8.9
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 146 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
135
Mixed:
6
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
thelolAug 17, 2017
This is one of the best films of all time, without a doubt. I challenge anyone to watch this film and not be touched, if you can, you have no heart!

James Stewart is one of my favourite actors, and in this film he acts so naturally you even
This is one of the best films of all time, without a doubt. I challenge anyone to watch this film and not be touched, if you can, you have no heart!

James Stewart is one of my favourite actors, and in this film he acts so naturally you even forget he's an actor playing a part, you really believe his story. You're pulled on a roller coaster of emotions throughout this film, and by no means is this a light hearted look at life, as many believe. This is not a rose tinted look at the wonderful life we have, this is a dark, downtrodden start to a film where the lead character is about to commit suicide.

However, it is a beautiful film, and is one of the few that you can watch again and again and walk away with the same glowing feeling as you did when you first watched it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsDec 29, 2017
It's A Wonderful Life is the most timeless Christmas story to grace humanity since Charles Dickens wrote "A Christmas Carol." 70 years after it's release, it will still touch your heart. The cast is incredible, and this is arguably the bestIt's A Wonderful Life is the most timeless Christmas story to grace humanity since Charles Dickens wrote "A Christmas Carol." 70 years after it's release, it will still touch your heart. The cast is incredible, and this is arguably the best work James Stewart ever did as an actor. The script and story are insanely good, and the cinematography is so full of life, love, hope, and even despair. This is a must-watch movie. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
alejandro970Dec 24, 2017
Undoubtely, one of "shall to see before you die" movie. It´s one of best performances of James Stewart in the shoes of a philantropist who learns his real, useful place in the world with the help on an angel who loks for his est of wings. ForUndoubtely, one of "shall to see before you die" movie. It´s one of best performances of James Stewart in the shoes of a philantropist who learns his real, useful place in the world with the help on an angel who loks for his est of wings. For watch it in Christmas time or whenever. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
hg6789Nov 14, 2017
When I started watching the movie, despite liking the character, I was feeling the movie was going too slow. But the way it ended, it was one of those films that reward patience. By the end of it, I had no complaints from the film, even byWhen I started watching the movie, despite liking the character, I was feeling the movie was going too slow. But the way it ended, it was one of those films that reward patience. By the end of it, I had no complaints from the film, even by today's standards. The film is a bit too religious for my tastes, but I believe 70 years must change things a bit and we can certainly leave room for that in that long time. Loved it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
sharathegde1995Dec 23, 2017
It's a Wonderful Life can be best described as a morality lesson rather than a film. James Stewart is flawless and effective .Quite an emotional tale AND Happy Christmas to all.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
totallytyguyDec 25, 2020
Probably one of the best, if not the best, Christmas movies of all time. The heartwarming story of George Bailey and his selfless, Wonderful Life is a timeless, emotional-rollercoaster of a tale and a true American classic. It displaysProbably one of the best, if not the best, Christmas movies of all time. The heartwarming story of George Bailey and his selfless, Wonderful Life is a timeless, emotional-rollercoaster of a tale and a true American classic. It displays friendship better than any other movie I’ve ever seen, throughout a humorous, eventful, and lovely plot. Every character is incredibly human, and when George wishes to never be born, only to be placed in a reality by his guardian angel where he really wasn’t born, is genius stuff and is an unforgettable part of this story. Tears of joy will come to almost any human with emotions who watches this movie all the way through. The true spirit of Christmas, joy, is truly captured in this story, and I will love this movie when I’m old even more than when I’m young. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Dostoyevsky3May 5, 2020
The most wonderful film of all time. It's a Wonderful Life showcases outstanding cinematography, important themes, and beautiful messages in a love story which is done justice through a superbly acted film portrayed through heart and humorThe most wonderful film of all time. It's a Wonderful Life showcases outstanding cinematography, important themes, and beautiful messages in a love story which is done justice through a superbly acted film portrayed through heart and humor that mark it as the clear definition of a holiday classic. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
MattBrady99Dec 25, 2017
Took me three years to watch this, but each time I fail to get around to it. Now I finally do and feel like I want to cry for hours. A film that's so depressing and yet jolly. Showing how everyone is relevant in the darkness of times.

Also,
Took me three years to watch this, but each time I fail to get around to it. Now I finally do and feel like I want to cry for hours. A film that's so depressing and yet jolly. Showing how everyone is relevant in the darkness of times.

Also, James Stewart is one handsome son of a ****

Merry Christmas everyone!
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
TyranianFeb 25, 2020
Doesn't get proper interesting till the angel shows up but certainly makes up for it then.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
marcmyworksDec 21, 2020
Probably the most celebrated and greatest Christmas film of all time. Try watching this movie and not crying. I can tell you it's a hard thing to do.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
CodyZamboniJun 29, 2019
After all these years, still so much fun, so charming, so endearing. A timeless movie, with stellar performances, especially by James Stewart, an everyman who needs a little Twilight Zone style reminder about what is truly important in life
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
KelvinSelimorDec 28, 2020
It's a Wonderful Life. Appreciate what you have! This is a wonderful and amazing film that teaches you to always be kind and fair. What difficulties would not be in life, loving family and friends will always help to overcome them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahmedaiman1999Dec 27, 2018
Holy Mackerel!

With its timeless inspirational message, groundbreaking techniques, unequalled storytelling, extremely clever and subtle use of imagery, unbelievably fluid shifting between contradictory continuously-changing tones,
Holy Mackerel!

With its timeless inspirational message, groundbreaking techniques, unequalled storytelling, extremely clever and subtle use of imagery, unbelievably fluid shifting between contradictory continuously-changing tones, outstanding performances from the entire cast, and joyful and optimistic spirit, this "Wonderful" piece of cinema will always be the most charming, valuable and daring kid-friendly Christmas film ever!

I'm sooooooooooo glad I finally watched this classic at the perfect time.
Merry Christmas, Y'all!
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MikeWazowski2Apr 3, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It’s a Wonderful Life is one of the best Christmas movies of all time and is simply one of the best films ever made, although it was a commercial flop back when it came out. Frank Capra is truly a master of the craft. There is also great acting from Jimmy Stewart, Donna Reed, and Lionel Barrymore. This is my personal favorite movie of all time and it might very well be yours too. Deserves a 100 on my book. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
clem666Nov 10, 2020
We directly surpass the old style of the movie to get into the story it tells. We start our journey by analyzing the biggest moments of the character's childhood and adolescence. Identification with him is effortless and satisfying. We thenWe directly surpass the old style of the movie to get into the story it tells. We start our journey by analyzing the biggest moments of the character's childhood and adolescence. Identification with him is effortless and satisfying. We then arrive to his adult life and see its ups and downs. The main plot takes a lot of time to germinate. Some parts of the movie are quite long and seem superficial but (no spoiler) the end is definitively worth it.
I found the guardian angel (who is the character that makes the plot go forward) kind of selfish (because he only accomplishes his mission) and dull.
Acting, and especially James Stewart, is awesome. Each characters has his own face and mood.
The main flaw I have to address to this movie is that it is way too much american. Starting from the fact that it clearly is a Christmas movie in which everyone love each other, it compiles the standards of the perfect american life (taking back the job of your father, going to college, meeting the most beautiful girl in here and dance all night, going to university, getting rich and married and having a lovely family with a lot of children).
In the end this movie isn't unpleasant and the morality is really cool.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shadow123578Nov 12, 2020
The film is simply sublime, the performances, the message it gives without a doubt is and will be the best Christmas film
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
shumatMay 19, 2021
amazing film, really old but still you can enjoy it
, can recommed it for all familly
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews