Saban Films | Release Date: October 15, 2019
5.3
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 44 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
9
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
imthenoobJan 19, 2020
This movie very much is a love letter to the fans that carried him throughout the years. Kevin brings back a lot of familiar moments (hence the reboot title) and faces to the screen and for the most part, It pays off. It was an enjoyableThis movie very much is a love letter to the fans that carried him throughout the years. Kevin brings back a lot of familiar moments (hence the reboot title) and faces to the screen and for the most part, It pays off. It was an enjoyable movie, a few funny moments throughout. The only negative I would say is that I think the third act kind of falls apart. Aside from that, It's more than worth watching. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Dec 16, 2019
As I said about Woody Allen and it's not that there's a comparison point between the two, Kevin Smith is also a director who's long run out of ideas and the talent for saying something contemporary or valuable.

I'm very surprised that he's
As I said about Woody Allen and it's not that there's a comparison point between the two, Kevin Smith is also a director who's long run out of ideas and the talent for saying something contemporary or valuable.

I'm very surprised that he's still getting financing.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
FartdoucheJan 11, 2020
This movie is even sadder than the dumb and dumber reboot. It is painfully unfunny and i cannot fathom how so many people in this site gave this high scores. The humour is so awkward and pathetic and jason mewes is hard to look at becauseThis movie is even sadder than the dumb and dumber reboot. It is painfully unfunny and i cannot fathom how so many people in this site gave this high scores. The humour is so awkward and pathetic and jason mewes is hard to look at because he's apparently gotten plastic surgery and looks like a mongo now. Don't waste your time with this Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
MattWickedJan 9, 2020
This movie is nothing but a poor attempt at cashing in on nostalgic 40-something ex-stoners who never outgrew peepee jokes. Most of the movie is a rehash of old "Strike back" scenes, and every little bit that's new feels tacked on forThis movie is nothing but a poor attempt at cashing in on nostalgic 40-something ex-stoners who never outgrew peepee jokes. Most of the movie is a rehash of old "Strike back" scenes, and every little bit that's new feels tacked on for padding. Friends of HQ Smith's character are a weak bland addition in order to "diversify" the cast, who weren't given any depth and felt as unnecessary as the whole movie. Almost every actor delivers subpar performance diluted by some good cameos. Rosario Dawson's appearance was a breath of fresh air which made it heartbreakingly dull to keep watching "Reboot" after returning to Mewes and Smith's characters. During one scene, heroes visit a half-abandoned mall with Jason Lee working there as a comic book shop manager which feels like a metaphor for Jay and Silent Bob: Reboot. The only things you'll find here is unfunny nerdy jokes made by fifty year old dudes trying their best to prove they're still cool. So best heed to the warning Smith thought he so cleverly referenced and KEEP OUT! DEAD INSIDE. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
screwthisguyJan 8, 2020
Kevin Smith, eternally a cuck, cant wait literally 2 minutes into the movie to make a racist anti white joke. Go screw yourself Kevin.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Musicman101Oct 15, 2019
It is a love letter to all kevin smith films including zach and miri make a porno. It's a love for pop culture he knows his stuff.
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
0
ThwompthingJan 10, 2020
WOW, I have no idea how anyone can give this a 10, much less a 5 even. The jokes in this movie are as bad as Dumb and Dumber To, Scary Movie 5, Grandma's Boy, and every other CRAPPY comedy that tries way too hard. I didn't laugh evenWOW, I have no idea how anyone can give this a 10, much less a 5 even. The jokes in this movie are as bad as Dumb and Dumber To, Scary Movie 5, Grandma's Boy, and every other CRAPPY comedy that tries way too hard. I didn't laugh even remotely close one time because the jokes in this film were just awful. The script is HORRID.

Listen to me very carefully. Do NOT believe anything these people say who gave it a 10, especailly those people. "if you love kevin smith movies, you'll love this one." YEA RIGHT, LOL that's the biggest joke I've ever heard in my life. Chasing Amy, Dogma, Clerks, etc. are all great films. This movie is a complete disgrace compared to anything KS has ever done. Avoid this pile of crap at all costs. If you have a good sense of humor, then you will hate this movie, because there is no humor here at all.
Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
9
chookalanaOct 16, 2019
If you love Kevin Smith movies, you'll love this one. Admittedly, this might be his least funny of the Askewuniverse, but it's still very good. The movie gets lost in the third act, but recovers with some amazing scenes with come greatIf you love Kevin Smith movies, you'll love this one. Admittedly, this might be his least funny of the Askewuniverse, but it's still very good. The movie gets lost in the third act, but recovers with some amazing scenes with come great cameos. Very nostalgic and too many Easter Eggs to count for fans. I cannot wait for Mallrats 2 and Clerks 3! Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
7
Phatpat42Oct 16, 2019
Pretty good. Didn’t have super high expectations. Yoga hosted was god awful!! Mewes has definitely matured as an actor. He has come a long way from “smootchie bootchies”. Any fan of the view askewniverse would enjoy this film.
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
Tripp76Oct 15, 2019
Absolutely loved the movie. It definitely has that Kevin Smith feel to it and was familiar in a great way. Was funny as hell and just brought a time machine smile to my face. I can't wait for clerks 3.
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
Joe_FridayOct 15, 2019
This movie is literally the Endgame of the View Askewniverse. If you're a Kevin Smith fan, this movie will definitely be a 10 for you. Non-fans and casuals will miss half the references and inside jokes. But even my non-fan companion enjoyed it.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
7
TurbodowgJan 13, 2020
Jay and Silent Bob Reboot isn't Kevin Smiths finest work, but it's far from terrible as reviews will suggest. The film is very funny if you get the many references and in jokes.

As many other fans have said, it's made for the long term
Jay and Silent Bob Reboot isn't Kevin Smiths finest work, but it's far from terrible as reviews will suggest. The film is very funny if you get the many references and in jokes.

As many other fans have said, it's made for the long term fans, so I can see why a new viewer would not find it appealing. There's history going back to 1994, and if you aren't aware of the view Askewniverse it won't make a lot of sense, but to those who have lived through the films this is an emotional goodbye. Not just to the movies but the culture that once existed in the 90's and early 2000's that is no longer relevant in the modern age. It's kind of sad that the rebellious spirit of the 90's and early 2000's is pretty much gone along with renting movies from the video store!
Jay and Silent Bob Reboot in a way represents the acceptance that our generation isn't the youthful pioneers of culture anymore, instead we're oldies mocked by the youth for not understanding their more sensitive culture. But we had to grow up at some point and put the comics down and instead focus on this younger generation made up of our own kids. Kevin Smith handles this shift perfectly writing an emotional catharsis that may have the long term fans in tears.

I enjoyed the film and I'm happy that Kevin Smith made this film. Hopefully we'll get the hinted at Clerks 3 in the end scene and don't have to say goodbye just yet.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JumpCut_OnlineDec 4, 2019
Smith’s super-meta approach to the whole thing plays in the film’s favour. and even allow him to poke fun at himself in the process. Whilst most of his films have never been made to be taken too seriously anyway, this one just takes itsSmith’s super-meta approach to the whole thing plays in the film’s favour. and even allow him to poke fun at himself in the process. Whilst most of his films have never been made to be taken too seriously anyway, this one just takes its silliness and runs with it. If you watch this with no prior-knowledge to Smith’s little cinematic universe then I would put money on the fact you’re not going to enjoy this film in the slightest. It’s essentially Kevin Smith writing a love letter to his own films, revisiting characters we most likely won’t see again and giving them a nice send-off, and introducing new ones that have every chance of taking centre stage in his next films. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
JameswhiteNov 9, 2019
Hilariously funny and self deprecating - bad reviews simply don’t get the references or the idea this movie was made to make fun of itself.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
XhcXkidJan 21, 2020
Still lovable yrs later it does a great job of mocking it’s audience and pointing out to them that life’s gone on perhaps you’ve grown up perhaps you have grown ups of your own doing the same dumb things you were doing when the mainStill lovable yrs later it does a great job of mocking it’s audience and pointing out to them that life’s gone on perhaps you’ve grown up perhaps you have grown ups of your own doing the same dumb things you were doing when the main characters stole your heart as strange anti hero’s. Roughly 25yrs since clerks hit the screen they’ve become the elder statesmen of the stoner comedy world, it’s scary. However with the constant dogma references it makes me wonder why this film Is still not available digitally. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
UncleWillardJan 25, 2020
So disappointing. If you like Kevin Smith movies, you usually know what you're getting into; super crude humor in the View Askew Universe. And this reboot starts out exactly how you'd think. And i was fine with it. I expected it. However,So disappointing. If you like Kevin Smith movies, you usually know what you're getting into; super crude humor in the View Askew Universe. And this reboot starts out exactly how you'd think. And i was fine with it. I expected it. However, upon the appearance of his shrill daughter and her dour sjw crew, it becomes unwatchable. I get where he was going, replacing the thieves from the previous JSBSB, but man what aterrible version. Truly disappointing and unfunny. Its like the crude movie I expected is punishing me for having fun watching it. No thanks. I know he wants to include his wife and daughter in his projects, but what a misstep. Sorry Kev, but go back and write your own movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Bulletsponge69Feb 7, 2020
Absolutely a terrible terrible terrible terrible terrible movie. Other than celebrity cameos , this movie has squat to offer Jason Mewes(Jay) looks like they peeled him of a bus station bathroom floor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
MaDMaN_Feb 9, 2020
I sat down for some Childish jokes and some memories and while it has some of that... Even made me laugh a couple times. It's the amount of preaching I got on WOKE economics that was just overwhelming and took the slight breeze out of theI sat down for some Childish jokes and some memories and while it has some of that... Even made me laugh a couple times. It's the amount of preaching I got on WOKE economics that was just overwhelming and took the slight breeze out of the sails of this movie. I thought they we're going to make fun of wokeness... But I think they actually wanted to have some moral undertone or lessons . It makes the movie almost unwatchable and definitely something you'll never want to sit through twice. What the **** Kevin, who in the **** was this for besides you and your friends? What a shame. Also Harley, if she is a good actor, needs to get a character not written by her dad... Or she is a bad actress. You can decide. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews