Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 3, 2019
9.3
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 3700 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
3,466
Mixed:
121
Negative:
113
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
JortigoOct 3, 2019
Ladies and gentlemen!!! THIS IS A MASTERPIECE. It is an INCREDIBLE origin story. One of the best movies based on a comic character. Joaquin Phoenix's performance is SPECTACULAR! Thank you Todd Phillips for bringing us this shocking story.
67 of 82 users found this helpful6715
All this user's reviews
9
lenny68Oct 6, 2019
Joker is one of those rare movies that my only regret in watching it is that I can never watch it again for the first time. That being said, I'm not sure when if ever I could watch it again as it's such an exhausting experience. And I meanJoker is one of those rare movies that my only regret in watching it is that I can never watch it again for the first time. That being said, I'm not sure when if ever I could watch it again as it's such an exhausting experience. And I mean that in a good way. One of the best movies of this century so far. Expand
21 of 26 users found this helpful215
All this user's reviews
10
raccoondaddyOct 3, 2019
This wasnt a superhero film, and thank God it wasnt!!
Joker is, by far the darkest and most tragic story in all of the DC universe. Not only was it respectable to the source material, everything in the movie reflected what The Joker is, when
This wasnt a superhero film, and thank God it wasnt!!
Joker is, by far the darkest and most tragic story in all of the DC universe. Not only was it respectable to the source material, everything in the movie reflected what The Joker is, when you take Batman out of the story. Fair warning: the film is very graphic. It holds nothing back. Also dont expect a special fx show. This is a sit down and shut up flick. This is a film about madness, illness and sadness.
Expand
62 of 77 users found this helpful6215
All this user's reviews
10
WatchmojoOct 3, 2019
A must watch movie of the year especially the month (October).Joaquin Phoenix's performance was a masterpiece.Robert De Niro's acting was also mind blowing.
119 of 153 users found this helpful11934
All this user's reviews
9
LatinCritic13Oct 3, 2019
Joker is deep, immaculate, powerful, and triumphant as you witness Joaquin Phoenix giving the Oscar winning performance of his entire career as the Clown Prince of Crime in 1970’s unforgiving Gotham City. All thanks to Todd Phillips’Joker is deep, immaculate, powerful, and triumphant as you witness Joaquin Phoenix giving the Oscar winning performance of his entire career as the Clown Prince of Crime in 1970’s unforgiving Gotham City. All thanks to Todd Phillips’ inspiration from Martin Scorsese’s Taxi Driver and The King of Comedy, it is safe to say that this film is one of those films that will be talked about for a very long time. And there is no doubt that Joker can deliver a mature fish out of water story that is dark and psychologically brooding that every comic book fan needs to see. May the future of DC Black begin… Expand
51 of 66 users found this helpful5115
All this user's reviews
9
antmolly1995Oct 6, 2019
Joker is a hard film to love but an easy one to admire. As many others have commented, it is a very grim watch with only a few moments of gallows humor to lift the tension. That being said, I would urge any lover of cinema to see it. At least once.
20 of 26 users found this helpful206
All this user's reviews
10
patnianOct 6, 2019
I generally agree with Metacritic's movie score over Rotten Tomatoes but not this time. Forget the paid critics biased views of Joker and go and see one of the best movies of this century and maybe the last.
19 of 25 users found this helpful196
All this user's reviews
10
radaevavaleriaOct 3, 2019
the new “Joker” is totally worth to be considered as the best of DC’s movies now. gorgeous, breathtaking, horrifying but amazing.
37 of 50 users found this helpful3713
All this user's reviews
10
ponce777Oct 3, 2019
The film is an excellent story of origin, departs from comics, and allows you to see the psychology of the character. You can also see that it has enough similarity with the current era in some attitudes quite well reflected. It is a movie toThe film is an excellent story of origin, departs from comics, and allows you to see the psychology of the character. You can also see that it has enough similarity with the current era in some attitudes quite well reflected. It is a movie to feel and think. Expand
39 of 53 users found this helpful3914
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 3, 2019
We truly do live in a society
But in all seriousness, this movie was amazing. A dark and disturbing character piece led by an Oscar worthy performance by Joaquin Phoenix. You really do feel bad for this guy, which makes it all the more
We truly do live in a society
But in all seriousness, this movie was amazing. A dark and disturbing character piece led by an Oscar worthy performance by Joaquin Phoenix. You really do feel bad for this guy, which makes it all the more heartbreaking when he inevitably becomes the clown prince of crime we all know and love, although we've never seen him like this. We see him suffer throughout the movie to the point we're almost rooting for himk to become a mass murdering psyco clown, because that at least will make feel better; then it happens and we just wish this could have all just been avoided, because es so messed up. We feel for him and care about him. By the time he's the joker, we wish we could've helped him. There's a lot of great nods to the greater Batman universe, yet the movie is a self contained character piece. It had me shaking and disturbed for a long time after I left the cinema, and that can only be the mark of a great movie.
Expand
41 of 58 users found this helpful4117
All this user's reviews
10
Zheva26Oct 3, 2019
Joaquin Phoenix gave extraordinary acting in depth as well as Tood Philips who was able to make the Joker the person I know best through his films.
28 of 40 users found this helpful2812
All this user's reviews
10
DeependraOct 3, 2019
Joker Movie is a dark and emotional movie that hides behind the laughter of Joker . A disturbing movie but powerful performance by Joaquin Phoenix is the beginning of new era.It is one of the best example on flim making... Pure art work withJoker Movie is a dark and emotional movie that hides behind the laughter of Joker . A disturbing movie but powerful performance by Joaquin Phoenix is the beginning of new era.It is one of the best example on flim making... Pure art work with camera( Less VFX expenditure)Take a bow Todd Phillips for your excellent execution. Inspite of Todd Phillips's confirmation that Joaquin's joker won't meet Pattinson's Batman, I believe Todd and Joaquin,Both should reconsider their decision to unleash full potential performance against Robert's batman. Because joker needs batman in order to show his full potential. This movie is "the raise of the joker." Expand
21 of 30 users found this helpful219
All this user's reviews
10
vbingbongOct 3, 2019
Joaquin Phoenix shines in this dark character study about one of the most popular comic book villains. The slow but rewarding direction is accompanied by an eerie score that fits perfectly with Joaquins Oscar worthy performance and will leaveJoaquin Phoenix shines in this dark character study about one of the most popular comic book villains. The slow but rewarding direction is accompanied by an eerie score that fits perfectly with Joaquins Oscar worthy performance and will leave audiences feeling disturbed and uneasy, exactly how the joker should make one feel. Expand
32 of 46 users found this helpful3214
All this user's reviews
10
Yousefyj98Oct 3, 2019
Beautiful piece of art the acting the shots the intensity I was focused on the screen through out the whole movie
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
10
ThewholelotOct 3, 2019
This was farthest thing from what you expect from a "superhero" universe type movie. Even if this movie had a different title and stood alone it would have been just as great! The writing was absolutely amazing. The mood set for the differentThis was farthest thing from what you expect from a "superhero" universe type movie. Even if this movie had a different title and stood alone it would have been just as great! The writing was absolutely amazing. The mood set for the different scenes and the slow uptick of this movie was absolutely on point. Phoenix deserves every accolade possible for this stunning portrayal. Would reccomend for anyone tha appreciates deep writing, dialogue amd the classic sense of how a truly timeless movie is put together!!! Expand
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
10
MaodengdengOct 3, 2019
I find it somehow disturbing, yet undeniable amazing. Joaquin Phoenix did a great job in both being a normal person with bad days and the Joker, the one we are familiar with.
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
10
Rakib0301Oct 3, 2019
Lived up to the hype, loved it, don’t listen to critics, they’re idiots, they got scared of this film, hence why the rating is low
20 of 29 users found this helpful209
All this user's reviews
10
BarbraOct 3, 2019
Amazing and beautifully haunting film. Joaquin Phoenix oscar worthy performance in another level.
26 of 38 users found this helpful2612
All this user's reviews
10
TomiCCOct 3, 2019
Is a joke not everyone gets.
The critic can't decide if is good or not, so is up to you.
28 of 41 users found this helpful2813
All this user's reviews
10
TruejusticeOct 3, 2019
An amazingly well crafted masterpiece with perfect acting, great story, thrilling moments, great camera and actual deep message. Phoenix is perfect for the role and his depiction of a joker may be the best i have ever seen.
BTW: go see the
An amazingly well crafted masterpiece with perfect acting, great story, thrilling moments, great camera and actual deep message. Phoenix is perfect for the role and his depiction of a joker may be the best i have ever seen.
BTW: go see the movie dont let yourself fool by urinalist "professional" critics who started their campaign to denigrate the movie almost right after the first trailer. Remember those same people think that utter trash garbage like the last jedi or captain marvel were good movies. So go to see the Joker its the best movie about comic book character in many years
Expand
32 of 47 users found this helpful3215
All this user's reviews
10
Abi_wiseguyOct 3, 2019
Don't listen to the critics who don't know the difference between art and reality. Go and watch the movie and make your own opinion.

Joker is a masterpiece and JOAQUIN PHONEIX deserves all best actor awards of the year.
32 of 47 users found this helpful3215
All this user's reviews
10
JhonnycriticoOct 3, 2019
Uma obra de arte! Perturbador e encantador ao mesmo tempo, necessário para nosso tempo.
17 of 25 users found this helpful178
All this user's reviews
8
CommandLinerOct 3, 2019
Felt like more of an Arthur Fleck movie than a Joker movie. But in this case I think that worked in its favor. Honestly, when compared to other "gritty" and "grounded" dc comic book movies, this one actually works and is better than most.Felt like more of an Arthur Fleck movie than a Joker movie. But in this case I think that worked in its favor. Honestly, when compared to other "gritty" and "grounded" dc comic book movies, this one actually works and is better than most. But, if you are going to compare it to something like taxi driver? Well then it's just average. It has some issues but nothing glaring. Overall I think everything works well. Not blown away but impressed. Expand
17 of 25 users found this helpful178
All this user's reviews
10
AlexDoomRockOct 3, 2019
Данный фильм не рекомендуется любителем экшена, любителем комедий и прочей лабуды, фильм реально тяжелый, я был на третьем сеансе мировой премьеры, видел улыбающихся и смеющихся людей, которые заходили в зал с огромным количества еды.Я тоДанный фильм не рекомендуется любителем экшена, любителем комедий и прочей лабуды, фильм реально тяжелый, я был на третьем сеансе мировой премьеры, видел улыбающихся и смеющихся людей, которые заходили в зал с огромным количества еды.Я то знал на какой фильм пошел, а вот большинство зрителей увы нет, и моему удивлению не было предела когда на 20 минуте фильма и до самого конца, я не услышал ни одного звука в зале, люди смотрели закрыв рот, забыв про свою жратву. Теперь о фильме, повторюсь фильм тяжелый если в него вникать, а вам придется это сделать иначе вы не поймете фильм, это не Marvel, не каких глупых шуток и сисько-жопного юмора, но свой юмор все таки есть, в этом фильме всего около 15 выстрелов из револьвера. Игра Феникса на уровне, я не такой критик что бы как то дать оценку, этот Джокер хороший ответ Джокеру Хита, в гримме данный Джокер выглядит на много круче Леджера, один минус это акер дубляжа, хотел бы я посмотреть его в оригинале, и обязательно посмотрю. Моя оценка 10/10, возможно даже больше, фанатам DC фильм зайдет и тем кто попытается в него вникнуть. Expand
17 of 25 users found this helpful178
All this user's reviews
10
Heisenberg_SmnOct 3, 2019
The movie is an absolute masterpiece.
Joaquin Phoenix's performance is OSCAR worthy as well
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
10
SedanationOct 3, 2019
There’s no word describe how amazing this movie is. This man deserves an award for this role. The real Joker is back!
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
9
BritcaytonOct 3, 2019
Having just finished watching, I am stunned to say the least. Jaquines' portrayal of a sociopathic, mentally unstable man's transformation to the iconic Joker was non other than a grippingly accurate, realistic and touching rendition. AsHaving just finished watching, I am stunned to say the least. Jaquines' portrayal of a sociopathic, mentally unstable man's transformation to the iconic Joker was non other than a grippingly accurate, realistic and touching rendition. As unfortunate event after unfortunate event baraded the Joker leading to circumstantial wrong-doings, I truly felt for the character, while also being aware that his actions were wrong. Amidst the action packed superhero movies presented today (and as much as I do enjoy those as well) this movie is truly in a league of it's own. Joker takes the lore and characters we have grown to love and revere as immeasurable beings, and throws it in your face as an all too real, true to life possibility. Expand
19 of 28 users found this helpful199
All this user's reviews
10
Slicklou25Oct 3, 2019
Great movie! Sometimes I feel these so called critics do not know a good movie and good acting even if it slaps them in the face.
29 of 43 users found this helpful2914
All this user's reviews
10
SudhakarkumarOct 3, 2019
One of the best performance by Joaquin, Bold and intense storytelling makes this one terrific and influential. Cinematography and set pieces were almost great. Don't miss this one
28 of 42 users found this helpful2814
All this user's reviews
10
sprightOct 3, 2019
The most disturbing movie ever made. It is seriously a must-see and the critic reviews lie.
28 of 42 users found this helpful2814
All this user's reviews
9
Ernesto900Oct 3, 2019
Great movie, it touches the themes of mental illness well, and the necessity of escaping pain by suicide.. That some people feels, this is a different joker, who is trying to accept his cruel life.. Great movie, only bad aspect is that itGreat movie, it touches the themes of mental illness well, and the necessity of escaping pain by suicide.. That some people feels, this is a different joker, who is trying to accept his cruel life.. Great movie, only bad aspect is that it ends in a weird way. Expand
26 of 39 users found this helpful2613
All this user's reviews
10
that_movie_guyOct 3, 2019
Truly spectacular! It's been SO LONG since I've seen a movie with QUALITY, something that makes you think, something that's different and as creative as this. Honestly... just when I was starting to lose faith in the movie industry this comesTruly spectacular! It's been SO LONG since I've seen a movie with QUALITY, something that makes you think, something that's different and as creative as this. Honestly... just when I was starting to lose faith in the movie industry this comes along and blows me away, it gave me that feeling of "finally! A movie we've been desperately needing in the age of reboots and remakes and remasters and live cartoon adaptations and political correctness BS" this is the direction the movie industry has to go and keep going. It's exactly what I personally always wanted as a Joker movie, a character study analysis about a broken man. Joaquin Phoenix deserves an award for his performance he killed it and honestly crushes all the previous Joker's that came before him that we've seen on screen and that's a huge statement. That laugh will send chills of disturbances down your spine every single time. It's a mix of sadness, confusion and just downright creepy I will even dare to say it's better than Mark Hamill's laugh. Make of that what you will. Acting? Superb!! Atmosphere and tone was perfect for this style of movie very depressing. Story? I won't spoil but it is very engaging, makes you think and you definitely feel for the Arthur. You'll be asking yourself questions even after the credits roll. No post credits by the way so don't sit through it. Music is a huge plus the composer really made the perfect soundtrack for such a film, she captures the mood and mentality of Arthur with every key note played a real treat. Loved it, I don't care what anyone says this is a 10/10 to me. If you love the Joker, or just a very good thriller about a broken man - watch this you won't regret it. Also - the snowflakes crying about wanting this banned because of violence? Ha... there was hardly any. I think other movies are worse in that regard, more drama than action if anything so no it won't promote a mass shooting or anything like that if anything it helps raise awareness on helping the mentally ill. Don't believe the fake news and mass hysteria, do yourself a favor - watch it and make your own judgement.

Joaquin Phoenix man... that guy never fails to impress.
Expand
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
10
jeffvalenteOct 3, 2019
uma obra impecável e simplesmente perfeita, joaquin vc é lendário, taca um oscar nessa
lenda
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
10
Cinefilo34567Oct 3, 2019
Es una obra maestra absoluta, olvida los comentarios negativos, la pelicula no es aburrida y la actuación de Phoenix es, excepcional.
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
10
JeesuslalalallaOct 3, 2019
That's beautiful. Лучше фильма в наше время, с такой актерской игрой вы не найдете.
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
10
gMoedaOct 3, 2019
Um filme perturbador porém INCRÍVEL!!, Joaquin Phoenix fez mais do que um ótimo trabalho, o filme está impecável, sinto que o Oscar é de vocês.
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
10
Drago7166Oct 3, 2019
Gives a view of the darkest the world can be and builds up well to the worst day someone can have with that dark life, which births the Joker. Doesn’t glorify violence, (spoilers) with the main character being initially hesitant to take a gunGives a view of the darkest the world can be and builds up well to the worst day someone can have with that dark life, which births the Joker. Doesn’t glorify violence, (spoilers) with the main character being initially hesitant to take a gun from a coworker (first 10 mins of the movie) and he expected says he doesn’t have any political stance and just manages to fall into place because of the public’s reaction. Not a movie I’m planning on seeing a millions times in my life because of it being so hard to watch someone fall like the Joker does, but it’s a movie that needs an award. All the acting is great, the plot (while similar to Taxi Driver) is brilliant and the quality of the movie shows you don’t need CGI super powers to be a great villain in a Superhero movie. Expand
18 of 27 users found this helpful189
All this user's reviews
9
Geng1sOct 3, 2019
I went into this film knowing two things, the score from Icelandic composer Hildur Guðnadóttir (friend of Johann and Chernobyl musical genius) meant the tone of this film was going to be glum at best and Phoenix throwing himself into all hisI went into this film knowing two things, the score from Icelandic composer Hildur Guðnadóttir (friend of Johann and Chernobyl musical genius) meant the tone of this film was going to be glum at best and Phoenix throwing himself into all his roles would undoubtedly deliver. Both of things for me at least were spot on.

The story is desperately sad if not a little predictable, my only really gripe being the use of on screen notes to move the plot along at times, I find trying to nail which part I am meant to be reading takes the immersion out a little and I’m pretty sure It happens on at least three occasions. Acting across the board is fantastic; I can understand why Phoenix has been called out by some reviewers but for my mind the Joker is meant to be over acted and his slow descent into madness is perfectly executed.

Overall this feels like the sort of film you end up studying in English class, there is a lot to take in and you will have questions come the end. Not everyone will love this as it can plod a little at times but it’s a needed plot that adds to the overall mood of the film.
Expand
27 of 42 users found this helpful2715
All this user's reviews
9
kirsten123Oct 6, 2019
I think the word 'masterpiece'is going a bit far but Joker is an amazing film. If Joaquin Phoenix doesn't get the best actor oscar award there really is no justice; he's that good.
6 of 6 users found this helpful60
All this user's reviews
9
egoissufferingOct 6, 2019
A fantastic film that is visually and thematically well crafted. It effectively develops the idea that monsters are made, not born and asks the question, "why is anyone surprised that a society that routinely goes out of its way to antagonizeA fantastic film that is visually and thematically well crafted. It effectively develops the idea that monsters are made, not born and asks the question, "why is anyone surprised that a society that routinely goes out of its way to antagonize its undesirables helps birth monsters?" Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
PepeLobos1Oct 4, 2019
Espere mucho, y recibí el doble, la mejor película que he visto en este último tiempo, viva Chile ctm
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
YoursugabumpsOct 5, 2019
I've always had an affinity for Batman movies, even the bad ones. But, this wasn't a "Batman" movie, obviously, and I read no reviews and went in with no expectations, except one. I was postive that they picked the wrong guy for the Joker. II've always had an affinity for Batman movies, even the bad ones. But, this wasn't a "Batman" movie, obviously, and I read no reviews and went in with no expectations, except one. I was postive that they picked the wrong guy for the Joker. I was hilariously wrong. Joaquin Phoenix's performance was unmercifully perturbing and left me, for the first time, connecting with a criminally insane character, whose makeup is far more complex than that of a murderous clown. This depiction of the Joker could stand all on its own, and maybe will. But, after leaving the theater, I have a desire not to leave the transcience of this sorrowful film there. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
e1eventhXHOUROct 5, 2019
A cinema masterpiece to be passed on through the ages. Joaquin Phoenix's performance as the Joker is on par with Heath Ledger in my opinion. From the subtle expressions to the immense tension building throughout the movie, one could almostA cinema masterpiece to be passed on through the ages. Joaquin Phoenix's performance as the Joker is on par with Heath Ledger in my opinion. From the subtle expressions to the immense tension building throughout the movie, one could almost forget that this movie is set in the Batman universe. The movie is able to stand on its own expressing a tragedy through amazing story telling and character development (or rather descent). An excellent recommendation for movie goers. You get what you deserve and we all deserve this considering the modern day agendas. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Richmond95Oct 5, 2019
Joaquin's Phoenix's performance as Joker is something that should not be missed, even if you find the rest of the movie not to your liking. He has brought something really new to this iconic character and his performance deserves to beJoaquin's Phoenix's performance as Joker is something that should not be missed, even if you find the rest of the movie not to your liking. He has brought something really new to this iconic character and his performance deserves to be discussed among best portrayals of the Joker up there with Mark Hamill and Heath Ledger. The rest of the movie? Todd Phillips directs the film with talent, and grabs your attention through a slow burn movie. That is something to keep in mind, it is a very slow burn movie doesn't feature much action so keep that in mind if you're the type of person who doesn't enjoy slow burn movies. Also while the media has way overhyped the controversy to this movie yes there are plenty of uncomfortable scenes bear that in mind. All in all I think Joker is one of the best films of the year. If your the type that enjoys a slow but gripping character drama with lots to say about society, mental issues, and features a unique take on a cultural icon than I cannot recommend Joker. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Felipe7BOct 6, 2019
The best movie I have seen in the last years. Joaquin Phoenix is awesome, he deserves the Oscar. 10/10. MASTER PIECE
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
akhiljames4Oct 4, 2019
Joker is a bloody masterpiece. It's ominous yet beautiful, terrifying but satisfying with subtle easter eggs from the DC Comics. Joaquin Phoenix embodies the characters of Travis Bickle, Rupert Pupkin, Tyler Durden and Patrick Bateman to giveJoker is a bloody masterpiece. It's ominous yet beautiful, terrifying but satisfying with subtle easter eggs from the DC Comics. Joaquin Phoenix embodies the characters of Travis Bickle, Rupert Pupkin, Tyler Durden and Patrick Bateman to give a once in a lifetime performance thereby making it one of the most intense and gripping watch I've had in recent memory. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DuelbladeOct 6, 2019
Critics are triggered and wrong. This movie is phenomenal and the outrage is a PepeLaugh if you ask me.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DeathforceOct 6, 2019
If anything, the “professional critic” reviews tell a lot when they decide to dish out wonderful ratings to a film like The Last Jedi, and attempt to subdue the awesomeness of a film such as this one. Talk about douchebags throwing a turdIf anything, the “professional critic” reviews tell a lot when they decide to dish out wonderful ratings to a film like The Last Jedi, and attempt to subdue the awesomeness of a film such as this one. Talk about douchebags throwing a turd sandwich into the punchbowl.

Back to the film. Scorsese would be proud, and the acting of Phoenix was mind-blowing through it all from the cringe moments to the sadness shown deep in the eyes of the character and during the manifestation of the Joker himself. Hats off to everyone who made this film happen.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FinalRevivalOct 4, 2019
Great performance. Joaquin Phoenix is definitely one of those authentic actors who can burry themselves into the life of an intended character. In this movie, he gave life to Joker.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JPKOct 6, 2019
Mind Blowing
Joker is intense, sinister, intelligent, tremendously acted, and brilliantly written.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Cassio13Oct 4, 2019
Few movies stay with you after the credits roll, Joker is definitely one of those movies. No wonder why such a masterpiece won the Golden Lion in the Venice Film Festival this year, it's the best DC Comics film, along with the Dark Knight, isFew movies stay with you after the credits roll, Joker is definitely one of those movies. No wonder why such a masterpiece won the Golden Lion in the Venice Film Festival this year, it's the best DC Comics film, along with the Dark Knight, is really that good (don't believe the critics who are trying to ruin the movie).

The Gotham atmosphere in the 80s is just perfect, there are some flawless shots in the movie as well and the scenario of wealth dispair felt so realistic. It's such a troubled city and the movie captures all that dispair in a way no movie has ever done before, it's just an outstanding work.

Joaquin Phoenix performance as the Joker, a mentally ill character, is the best I have seen in years, his daily struggle is just fantastic, the character development, the makeup, the balance between total madness and serious moments was a joy to watch, throughout the movie the viewer can only sympathize with such a conflicted character. The way Phoenix acted in some scenes is unbelievable, I was shocked with his performance, it felt like I was inside the character's mind and to achieve that is just splendid.

Overall, Joker raised a lot of questions about society and it was such a pleasure to watch it all unfold on the big screen. Todd Phillips masterpiece achieved such a disturbed and unique feeling, few movies in the history of Cinema have achieved.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
XboxGamer89Oct 6, 2019
What's with the mixed critical opinions? This is hands down the best superhero film of the year. Yes even better than Endgame and Far From Home. It may not hold up to the awesome Dark Knight trilogy, but it is still a must see for Joker fans
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
VoodooDudeManOct 6, 2019
An amazing piece of cinema which I would recommend to everyone. Very smart reflection on Humanity and Society and a Great Joker portrayal. 10/10
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
makingscores0Oct 6, 2019
It's a good film, nothing more, nothing less. Based on all the talk about this film last month, id expected it to be really impactful, but it's not really any darker or any more shocking than what we've seen before. Joaquin Phoenix does aIt's a good film, nothing more, nothing less. Based on all the talk about this film last month, id expected it to be really impactful, but it's not really any darker or any more shocking than what we've seen before. Joaquin Phoenix does a fantastic job as the lead roll; scenes with his forced laughter are some of the best in the film. However outside of his acting, nothing about this film really stands out. - 7/10 expected more. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
NavkcalbehtOct 4, 2019
Fantastic, not an easy watch for everyone but an amazing cinematic experience. Incredible build up all the way to the ending, as well with some twists that test your mind!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rvminoOct 4, 2019
Masterpiece. A work of art. Completely blown away. Great acting. Spectacular film.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
rahman_nafeesOct 6, 2019
THIS IS A MASTERPIECE!!!!. The acting is something like INSANE. The screenplay cinematography is damn high level quality. Todd used colors so smartly and beautifully. Last time I saw this kind of work with colors in La La Land. Surely OSCARTHIS IS A MASTERPIECE!!!!. The acting is something like INSANE. The screenplay cinematography is damn high level quality. Todd used colors so smartly and beautifully. Last time I saw this kind of work with colors in La La Land. Surely OSCAR WORTHY n multiple category. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ALCAN-BROS29Oct 6, 2019
Without a doubt the best movie of 2019. Great movie with some very, very good acting.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Joss3ekOct 6, 2019
A crude social criticism, which shows us the result of an insensitive and violent society that does not care for the less favored, we see the acts, justified in the sick head of the Arthur Fleck, the descent of a person with mental disordersA crude social criticism, which shows us the result of an insensitive and violent society that does not care for the less favored, we see the acts, justified in the sick head of the Arthur Fleck, the descent of a person with mental disorders to whom No one pays attention to trying, the rawness, it is necessary we cannot put warm sticks to a situation that happens daily, it is necessary to see the real consequences, to the limits that some people can reach when the root problem is not cut. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
ArsenachosOct 7, 2019
Coming from the dude who made the hangover films (which I dont think highly of) I was surprised to see joker, not watching any trailers I was surprised with the final product. Acting was amazing. Cinematography was phenomenal. However theComing from the dude who made the hangover films (which I dont think highly of) I was surprised to see joker, not watching any trailers I was surprised with the final product. Acting was amazing. Cinematography was phenomenal. However the major flaw to this film is the pacing. It jumped alot and there were moments where I asked myself why this part was important. Lots of slow mo wide shots pan the film tine to reach over the 2 hour mark. Its action is intense which is brilliant. Watch it Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
JanusCatharsisOct 9, 2019
The movie is just a peace of art. Don’t believe the website score, they do it on purpose. .
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
Butterbean1Oct 7, 2019
It almost seems pointless leaving a review as it's going to be lost in the sea of 10's and 9's. As almost everyone else has commented, Joker is a remarkable movie. It is derivative yes, with obvious comparisons being Scorsese's Taxi DriverIt almost seems pointless leaving a review as it's going to be lost in the sea of 10's and 9's. As almost everyone else has commented, Joker is a remarkable movie. It is derivative yes, with obvious comparisons being Scorsese's Taxi Driver and King Of Comedy, but it stands alone as a brilliant homage to the Golden Era of cinema, the seventies, with a truly modern spin. Do not miss. Expand
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
10
Lexijones93Oct 5, 2019
Believe the hype. The Joker is a masterpiece!!! Joaquin Phoenix is absolutely incredible!!!
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
lennycliff123Oct 10, 2019
What an amazing, lovingly crafted movie. It should be up for many awards come The Oscars {not least for Pheonix's extraordinary performance, but sadly I think it will be {conveniently} overlooked.
10 of 12 users found this helpful102
All this user's reviews
10
ghos7bearOct 5, 2019
Not a fan of comics. Went to the movie with friends expecting nothing, ended up loving the movie. No superheros, no magic, no **** just grim and violent alternative reality. I can't even come up with much criticism for this movie, it justNot a fan of comics. Went to the movie with friends expecting nothing, ended up loving the movie. No superheros, no magic, no **** just grim and violent alternative reality. I can't even come up with much criticism for this movie, it just worked from start to finish. I give full recommendation to watch it to pretty much anyone interested in thrillers and drama movies. TRUE 10/10 MOVIE! Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
JrtlaktalkOct 10, 2019
The critic score is not representative, and it is actually quite inappropriate for "professionals" to allow their cultural and or political bias to influence their score so heavily.

I watched this, and I don't see the "danger". The movie
The critic score is not representative, and it is actually quite inappropriate for "professionals" to allow their cultural and or political bias to influence their score so heavily.

I watched this, and I don't see the "danger". The movie was excellent, and it was an interesting take on the character's origin.

The acting is also actually quite excellent and not "try-hard" as aforesaid reviewers may want you to believe.

Should DC continue to build a universe on the back off of this, they would finally have something.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
KoolfadyOct 6, 2019
Awesome... Must watch. The acting was amazing this is a master piece don't miss it
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
wildinstictOct 11, 2019
EXCELLENT ANALOGY OF HUMAN NATURE, thought provoking and amazing acting. movie of the year
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Beniamin21Oct 5, 2019
The perfect combination between Scorsese's "Taxi Driver" and "King of comedy", however "Joker" is a unique and original masterpiece! About Joaquin's interpretation, i can't say it is the best interpretation i have ever seen, because thatThe perfect combination between Scorsese's "Taxi Driver" and "King of comedy", however "Joker" is a unique and original masterpiece! About Joaquin's interpretation, i can't say it is the best interpretation i have ever seen, because that would mean to compare it to other interpretations, and that would be an insult for Joaquin Phoenix! What he did in this film is absolutely uncomparable! No award can express the real value of his interpretation! Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
GustavoAzkOct 5, 2019
Joker is a movie that penetrates you, period. You don't feel like something is missing in the plot, its just the opposite! The movie gives content to understand and feel the story of The Joker in ways that a common movie viewer cant rememberJoker is a movie that penetrates you, period. You don't feel like something is missing in the plot, its just the opposite! The movie gives content to understand and feel the story of The Joker in ways that a common movie viewer cant remember to have demanded in other movie experiences. Its so piercing that you will actually have a new discovered sense of understanding about movies. I loved the movie, but I don't know if I can say that I was happy watching it. That was my new discovered sense of understanding and feeling movies. I just loved the story that was being told. For me, it wasn't a movie.
IT WAS KNOWLEDGE BEING ACQUIRED! PS: Phoenix? Perfect.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
PicastroOct 6, 2019
The movie is a masterpiece. From the dialogue to the walk to the tone. The cinematography was great.
The songs gave to and enhaced the scenes.
It made me live the journey, understand the struggle ,and feel sorry for him. It gave no why and
The movie is a masterpiece. From the dialogue to the walk to the tone. The cinematography was great.
The songs gave to and enhaced the scenes.
It made me live the journey, understand the struggle ,and feel sorry for him.
It gave no why and how's at least to me.
Following the psychotic mind of Arthurand actually y following up with his corrupted logic. It's the perfect chaos...
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Feliperp97Oct 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The movie is so so excited, the story tells a facet of the joker. A story never counted in this universe.
The introduction of joker’s crazy way it’s very detailed and the new way that the story takes I talk about the relationship between Thomas Wayne and Joker in the film universe is very interesting.
The only thing I can say is that DC has a new opportunity in the market.
Good job, Congratulations
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
IceehawkOct 6, 2019
Reminder: the only difference between a troll and a critic is that a critic gets paid to write garbage.

Now. This movie is one of the best movies I've seen in my life and I can't wait to see it again next week. Joaquin phoenix drives deeper
Reminder: the only difference between a troll and a critic is that a critic gets paid to write garbage.

Now. This movie is one of the best movies I've seen in my life and I can't wait to see it again next week. Joaquin phoenix drives deeper into insanity as society kicks him when hes already down, and he laughs because of his nervous ticks. You feel bad for him while you also know what hes doing is wrong as he becomes the joker. Go see the movie, you won't regret it.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
Gokugod117Oct 10, 2019
Best **** Joker since Heath Ledger
Best **** Joker since Heath Ledger
Best **** Joker since Heath Ledger
Best **** Joker since Heath Ledger
Best **** Joker since Heath Ledger
Best **** Joker since Heath Ledger
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
BulzokavlosOct 10, 2019
Stunning performance from phoenix,the film was so dark but so good ,the colors and the musiccome to saw you how a masterpiece must be
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
10
El112119Oct 5, 2019
This might be my favorite and best DC Film since Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" , Joaquin Phoenix Performance as a Joker is so Spot On, that ever scene that he's in is haunting and that makes this film a stand out to me, and the MusicThis might be my favorite and best DC Film since Christopher Nolan's "The Dark Knight" , Joaquin Phoenix Performance as a Joker is so Spot On, that ever scene that he's in is haunting and that makes this film a stand out to me, and the Music Score is just so Fitting to the Film.

Don't let the critics fool you with their low scores on this film cause of a damn controversy.

I Recommend this film to any DC Fans, Joker Fans, or Joaquin Phoenix Himself, cause you are doing yourself a treat by watching this MASTERPIECE!!!
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
JokerDaegoOct 5, 2019
"Joker" descenso a la locura (crítica sin spoilers)

Ayer pude ver Joker en una función "XD 2D" y sin duda alguna puedo decir que es una de las películas mas honestas de este último año, tiene un grado de cuidado bastante enfermizo, todo,
"Joker" descenso a la locura (crítica sin spoilers)

Ayer pude ver Joker en una función "XD 2D" y sin duda alguna puedo decir que es una de las películas mas honestas de este último año, tiene un grado de cuidado bastante enfermizo, todo, absolutamente todo me ha encantado.
El soundtrack te envuelve en cada momento para ponerte en constante tensión ya que a pesar de que muchas canciones son alegres o animadas, combinadas de tal forma con las escenas de esta genial película siempre te deja un sabor de alerta.
La fotografía es alucinante, pocas películas tienen tan buena fotografía como esta, grandes planos que podrías hacerlos pinturas y colgarlas en la pared.
Para actuaciones tenemos al que realmente es la estrella de la película Joaquin Phoenix que interpreta no solo al payaso trastornado de ciudad gótica de manera genial, sino también al hombre común antes de transformarse en el Joker, en ambos papeles se desenvuelve de manera tan genial que llegas a empatizar de manera tóxica con este personaje, Robert de Niro también hace muy bien su papel junto a Zazie Bets, pero realmente la actuación de Phoenix opaca por completo el resto de interpretaciones, tanto es así que en lo único que pensaras después de ver esta película sera en el Joker de Phoenix, yo por ejemplo ni hable de Robert de Niro en todo el camino de vuelta a casa con mi enamorada.
El guión que es de las cosas obviamente más importantes de cualquier película, es sin dudas muy interesante aunque no muy complicado, creo yo que esta película no desea abarcar una trama muy compleja, sí, toca temas políticos, sociales, algunos trastornos e injusticia pero lo hace de una manera bastante simple, como un ejemplo : "el rico solo se preocupa por él y su círculo, o la sociedad de hoy en día es indiferente" son temas que no son muy complejos y la película sabe que los entenderás sin abarcar en exceso en ellos, a pesar de eso la película esta muy bien construida y parece que algunos creen que es algo lenta pero para mí la actuación de Phoenix hace la película muy llevadera y te deja con ganas de más.
En cuanto adaptación, me parece que la película cumple perfectamente con llevar la total esencia del Joker a la pantalla grande, el narcisismo de este como en los cómics, los movimientos, el trastorno, la risa y la frialdad para cometer crímenes son lo que encamina perfectamente lo que un fan puede pensar cuando hablan del Joker.
El director o guionista sin duda solo con la película se nota que son fans de Batman y de su archienemigo Joker ya que al menos para mí esta bastante inspirada en "The killing Joke" de Alan Moore, hay muchas referencias al mundo DC que se te vienen a la cabeza como el Joker de "Batman el caballero de la noche regresa parte 2 (cómic y película animada)" e incluso la serie Gotham parecen inspirar este fantástico trabajo de Todd Phillips.
Sin embargo a pesar de todas estas cosas buenas técnicamente hablando, si es recomendable tener creo que fuerza para verla, ya que sin duda es una tragedia que deberás ver sabiendo justamente eso, es muy depresiva, incluso abarca el terror en varios momentos, bastante cruda y la clasificación "R" no lo tiene solo para atraer a más público, realmente hace un buen uso de esta categoría.
Sin duda Joker es una película que es difícil de ver pero que todos deberían verla y una muy fuerte candidata para los oscars en todos los aspectos posibles, que esperas, ve al cine y juzga tu mismo/a.
Calificación: 10/10 (seré honesto no estoy nominando todos los aspectos de esta película a los oscars sin pensar que ha acertado al máximo en cada punto)
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
Maya12Oct 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This was one of the bedt comic inspierd movies I've seen since the dark knight more Dc and marvel movies need to be dark gritty and violent like this phoenix anf the movie deserves awards Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
PrembahadurOct 4, 2019
One of the best movies I have watched so far this year. Brilliant acting by Joaquin phoenix. And great cinematography.!
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
ODALYvOct 4, 2019
Fenomenal, cambia la perspectiva del cine y los superhéroes, la considero una película de culto
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
Christian47Oct 3, 2019
Just got back from seeing The Joker and felt compelled to make an account just to review this movie. When Heath Ledger died shortly after playing the role of Joker in the Dark Knight I was devastated. I never thought we would see anotherJust got back from seeing The Joker and felt compelled to make an account just to review this movie. When Heath Ledger died shortly after playing the role of Joker in the Dark Knight I was devastated. I never thought we would see another Joker who could fill his shoes.

Thank goodness for Joaquin Phoenix and his suburb acting skills. The way he fleshed out the Joker and really made you feel the mental illness was jaw dropping. This movie was a rollercoaster of emotions that peaked at the very end of the film. I knew this film would be good but I had no idea it would be this good.

I cannot believe (actually I can) how the critics have rated this film. They have allowed their political views to pollute a movie that hasn’t the hint of politics in it. They shouldn’t be allowed to review any movie. If you are a Joker fan then you owe it to yourself to see this movie. I will warn you it is certainly more graphic (violent) than the Dark Knight, but not for cheap thrills. It feels very balanced with the progression of his character throughout the film. Stop reading this now and go see this movie. Forget what those “critics” are saying. They are lying to you.
Expand
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
10
Qweko12Oct 4, 2019
Best movie of the year. The soundtrack is incredible. The cinematography is incredible. This is not a super-hero movie. This is a Joker movie.
12 of 16 users found this helpful124
All this user's reviews
10
JcobOct 4, 2019
Brilliant film. The critics are obviously butt hurt! Checks pretty much every box.

9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
10
blazebolt7Oct 6, 2019
The movie is stunning, beautiful each frame can be stopped and it will be enough to take what it want's to show and its approach on mental illness the execution of the said, by Joaquin Phoenix. This movie is something which everyone has toThe movie is stunning, beautiful each frame can be stopped and it will be enough to take what it want's to show and its approach on mental illness the execution of the said, by Joaquin Phoenix. This movie is something which everyone has to see it once in their lifetime.

The 80's settings brings a darker filter to it, It also borrows heavily from movies of that era, including "The King of Comedy" and especially "Taxi Driver", in some scenes almost to the point of being a rip-off, which works wonders for it. It feels less like a Superhero/Villain Movie but more of a study.

The movie does not praise violence and it's far from being about making the Joker a "hero" or him starting a movement. Violence is what happens in between and labeling the movie as such is a misinterpretation of the picture.

Finally I think if you change the name of movie and the characters portrayed in it and the integrity of the movie and what they are trying to tell you remains the same then that movie deserves it's praise. Which can not be said about a lot of Superhero movies these days.
Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
9
CanisrahOct 10, 2019
A magnificent achievement. Phenomenal performance, nuanced story, thought provoking narrative. All beautifully shot in a compelling film the likes of which Hollywood has all but forgotten how to make these days.

A rare gem. See it.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
N8George94Oct 10, 2019
Joaquin's performance is Oscar worthy, the cinematography is superb, and the film score is brilliant. This movie is dark, gritty and depressing in the best ways imaginable. Masterpiece.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
mace8704Oct 7, 2019
Phoenix gives a captivating performance. It very well may be the best mental breakdown ever captured on film. The violence is rare, but hits with a really hard and brutal punch.

The class warfare aspect of the film feels a bit heavy handed,
Phoenix gives a captivating performance. It very well may be the best mental breakdown ever captured on film. The violence is rare, but hits with a really hard and brutal punch.

The class warfare aspect of the film feels a bit heavy handed, and portrays the rich as villains in an almost cartoonish way. This is not a fun film to watch, but is a great character piece. Strongly recommend
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Sergei_CulickowOct 6, 2019
Фильм очень атмосферный и арт хаусный, качественная работа оператора и прекрасная актёрская игра Хоакина Феникса и Роберта Де Ниро . Бегите на фильм пока не поздно!!! Это картина точно удостоена внимания, нежели жвачка от Marvel .Фильм очень атмосферный и арт хаусный, качественная работа оператора и прекрасная актёрская игра Хоакина Феникса и Роберта Де Ниро . Бегите на фильм пока не поздно!!! Это картина точно удостоена внимания, нежели жвачка от Marvel .
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
YiannosOct 11, 2019
I saw this last Friday and I still can't get it out of my head. For that fact alone, I think it's very special.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
The_Man_XXOct 7, 2019
Now I’m not gonna say that Joker was a psychological masterpiece and that it showcased the true art of cinema or some crap like that. For me Joker was great because it was different, it took its time to make you understand the character ofNow I’m not gonna say that Joker was a psychological masterpiece and that it showcased the true art of cinema or some crap like that. For me Joker was great because it was different, it took its time to make you understand the character of Arthur Fleck and the plot was well written.

First off to get it out of the way let me address the so called “controversy” of this film in my opinion. To me for the most part I never really saw any controversy, I knew going in that Joker was a villain and I expected the movie to show me the violent acts of the Joker character and yes some of the violence is brutal but was never glorified or overblown like in some R-rated movies(lookin at you Hellboy, no cap) but the purpose of the movie was to show you how someone can go from being a normal person and be broken by life and turn into a psychopath.

Okay now let’s move on to the performances, I’m sure you’ve heard it somewhere and I’m gonna say it again Joaquin Phoenix was dope playing the role of Arthur Fleck/Joker. I usually don’t care for the oscars but I would like this man to win one. Joaquin made me feel sympathy for Arthur throughout the movie and potrayed Arthur’s mental health issues perfectly and when he turned into the Joker...I enjoyed his performance man. Robert Deniro as Murray Franklin (a talk show host) was good, Frances Conroy as Penny Fleck (Arthur’s mother) also gave a convincing performance as well. Brett Cullen as Thomas Wayne was also interesting as the movie gave a very different version of Thomas Wayne from other Batman related movies. The character of Thomas Wayne was almost cruel and colder than any other versions from the comic or movies and I appreciated that a lot.

Zazie Beetz as Sophie was meh I mean she didn’t give a bad performance by any means it’s just that she was used for a certain plot point and twist that I saw coming from a mile away and I felt that her arc or character even was unneeded and her contribution to Arthur’s story would have been fine without her character.

One thing I was worried about was that people in the movie were going to be unrealistically cruel to Arthur, however that wasn’t the case the movie handled that part pretty well and again I appreciated that. The story of Arthur becoming Joker took its time and didn’t rush his transformation, the movie really made you understand Arthur’s life, his dreams, mental state, relationships with certain people and his interactions before everything turns upside down and starts doing Joker ish. Arthur’s downfall was heartbreaking to watch and you felt the consequences of being cruel to other people.

However although I really liked that the movie took its time with the story and was really patient....I don’t really like the slow burn feel to this movie , its it’s not that i require an action sequence every 15 minutes it’s just that some movies take unnecessary time and energy trying to deepen the story or character motivations and the pace of the movie can become very slow and drag on. Joker was never 100% boring to me but there were times that the movie almost became a drag to watch. The third act alone is a solid 10/10 you not only get to see the Joker character in full force but the themes that the movie was trying to convey come full circle, it became brutal, almost heartbreaking, tense and wild. Especially with its themes about people being unnecessarily cruel to one another. The key theme about how someone can turn evil after a series of bad things happening to someone, being an outcast in society basically how the world can be a cruel place and how some people will break under that pressure.

Also what I really really liked that the movie never preaches about these themes but mostly uses the show don’t tell method almost the entire movie except very few instances whereby the movie tells you it’s themes through characters. Without saying too much my favorite scene of the movie was the interaction between Joker and Murray.

The movie had a dark tone to it and worked really well, the movie wasn’t dark for the sake of being dark and there were some funny moments, not a lot since it was a very serious but had funny moments mostly dark humor I mean it’s a Joker movie so there are. A few nitpicks are that you don’t get to see the Joker character for long until the last act of the movie I get it’s an origin story but I wished there could have been a little more Joker scenes but it’s not a negative point but a wish really. Not many characters were really as interesting as Arthur Fleck or Murray and maybe Penny.

Joker was great, one of the best DC and comic book movies of all time, had funny some scenes The Arthur Fleck character was amazing, the story was well written,when Arthur became Joker it was really awesome. The movie had really great themes but the movie is slow at times and had some uninteresting characters but what really matters, Joker put a smile on my face.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
BernyMoonOct 11, 2019
The best movie of the year and one of the best movies in history. Joaquin Phoenix delivers the best joker ever seen and he deserves the oscar. GO WATCH IT NOW if you haven't.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
MurdochellaOct 5, 2019
I am not a professional film critic, but this movie is a complete work of art. The soundtrack really adds tension to the scenes, and Phoenix's laugh is torturous (he deserves an oscar, and I'm not exaggerating). I felt sorry for Arthur FleckI am not a professional film critic, but this movie is a complete work of art. The soundtrack really adds tension to the scenes, and Phoenix's laugh is torturous (he deserves an oscar, and I'm not exaggerating). I felt sorry for Arthur Fleck for most of the movie, but in the end he became the scary and inhuman Joker. I didn't find this movie violent, in fact the violent scenes are raw and well filmed. I feel sick for ideological critics who see politics in everything and think this movie can have a bad influence. **** Art is not intended to moralize anyone.
  Although I don't like comic books, it's a realistic movie and I liked this style! I hope to watch again to capture all the details.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
TOFU_BNGOct 11, 2019
I normally don't write movie reviews but I believe if you are a fan of media that challenges the way you think then Joker is a must see.
Phoenix presents us a character that is complex and stands as a main character that whilst morally
I normally don't write movie reviews but I believe if you are a fan of media that challenges the way you think then Joker is a must see.
Phoenix presents us a character that is complex and stands as a main character that whilst morally challenged we still root for their ideals in the end. Every actor in this film showed clear passion to the art they was presenting and that is extremely surprising especially looking at DC's previous track record. In all honesty Joker is the best depiction of the character I have ever seen Heath Ledger would be proud of the work Phoenix has done and I would love to see more of his portrayal of this beloved character.
Joker is not only the best film to be released this year but one of the best films of past 10 years.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
7
RentawilOct 11, 2019
It took just a few inferences that "Joker" is a prequel to the earliest Batman comics and movies, let alone only the Batman character. As opposed to typical fluff and cartoonish action scenes, however, this film doesn't horse around withIt took just a few inferences that "Joker" is a prequel to the earliest Batman comics and movies, let alone only the Batman character. As opposed to typical fluff and cartoonish action scenes, however, this film doesn't horse around with pale expectations from the supervillain-following crowd. "Joker" takes itself entirely seriously and unapologetically in it's many-faceted presentation of the main character, played by former renegade actor Joachin Phoenix, with the apparent attempt to dissect this guy's psyche' within the framework of a totally serious explanation of humour vs. tragedy and evil vs. good. To the surprise of few, these analytics go only so far, leaving the audience to stitch the elements together for themselves. The effort was noble, successful in a limited sort of way given how hampered this film is by some rather intrusive flaws. First and foremost to my eye -- or more precisely, to my ear -- is miscasting Phoenix as a clown who doesn't quite get the clown-laugh down convincingly; then again, perhaps this was an intentional
faux pax (either by Direction or good Acting) in conveying Arthur Fleck's (Joker's) strain and frustration in playing the part of a professional funny man, when his personal life is in ruins. Personally, I found the rendition more ear-hurting and off-color than convincing, but who can say ?

The other quite noticeable bug-a-boo in this deeply disturbing tale is how, once in a while, random elements of older films are deliberately inserted into the action, not so much to enhance the story line but to throw in talking points among viewers. The most recognizable was the choice of Robert Di Nero as TV variety show host Murray Franklin in, for those who can recall, a blatant re-seating of the same star as wannabe show host Rupert Pupkin in 1982's black comedy "The King of Comedy", easily a better and more enthralling flick. Tho it may be a facsimile of "Joker"'s intent to date it relative to its setting and scenes' demands, Franklin's jokes and one-liners were awfully lite and minimally funny -- once again a probable counter-play to Fleck's ironic humorous twists, given that he is by this point in the picture revealed as a murderer.

Another example of surreal connection to an earlier cinematic work was when rioting clowns protesting the mayoral campaign of Tom Wayne -- that's right, the father of future crime-fighter Batman -- began chanting something along the lines of "We're mad as hell and won't take it anymore !!" a la 1975's landmark movie "Network" starring Peter Finch and Faye Dunaway. Perhaps this critic is too dense to pick up on some deep significance of this "borrowed" mass quotation, yet all I know is its use was so distracting that it only served as a mild giggle, tending to take away from the built-up drama of the story.

It is understandable the upset many have over the release of this subject matter in a time of firearm mayhem, but what really bothers me is the timing vis-a-vis Halloween. Here's hoping sanity and security prevail, so as not to end up with a Thursday-Bloody-Thursday . . .
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Joseafc1Oct 5, 2019
Masterpiece. the most exiting movie of 2019. Best actor, director, music al is perfect.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
HiagoSouzaOct 4, 2019
É muito bom o filme é incrível, valeu cada centavo, vai levar o Oscar. Esses "críticos especializados" são uns merdas deram nota baixa so porque não foram chamados pro filme.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ceyhuntekinOct 3, 2019
Although Joker is an origin story, Phillips has said this was meant as a stand-alone film, and it functions as one.

Rather than being an obvious base for a franchise, he wanted to make a film inspired by a different time in American
Although Joker is an origin story, Phillips has said this was meant as a stand-alone film, and it functions as one.

Rather than being an obvious base for a franchise, he wanted to make a film inspired by a different time in American filmmaking and was particularly inspired by two of Martin Scorsese’s movies, Taxi Driver and King of Comedy. And that he’s accomplished, for better and for worse. One of the criticisms of the film is that it’s a bit too much “Taxi Driver Goes to Gotham.” Joker is in many ways an homage to those films. At the same time, Phillips hasn’t simply made a replica. By setting this in the past, before Bruce Wayne has become Batman, Phillips has kept Gotham’s cartoonish bad guys out of this. Instead, we have a much more complex story, of a man who’s genuinely motivated to be as good as he knows how to be, and has that eroded in ways that we can see and understand.

It’s easy enough to see him as a psychopath. But Fleck is a person who descends into his madness for reasons we can see and perhaps even understand. There’s another stream to this film. Fleck commits his act of savage violence while wearing his clown make-up. That oddity is interpreted as an act of rebellion by Gotham’s disenfranchised to wear clown masks in solidarity, and then commit acts increasingly violent civil disobedience.

We are, of course in Gotham, not the real world. Gotham is a city that is a dystopian version of New York, and a version of humanity working at a heightened-reality level of antagonism and violence.

And yet, in a time in our history where people feel deep divisions, the movie is perhaps a little too close to home for comfort.

At the centre of the movie is Joaquin Phoenix, who won Best Actor at the Venice Film Festival for this role. Phoenix is simply one of the best actors in contemporary film, with a staggering range. He’s an un-showy actor who does a deep dive into his characters, and unlike many Hollywood stars, he’s willing to take on roles that repulse. In Joker, he disappears into Fleck and takes him from a dutiful son, to a confused man, to the psychopathic Joker character in a seamless arc. When he finally becomes Joker, Phoenix does a dance down a staircase, as if all burdens of the world have been lifted off of him. He has been released, and is embracing himself with a kind of joy that belongs to the damned. It’s a glorious performance and a terrifying moment in a film that revels in its dark heart.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ujjwalaOct 3, 2019
What a masterclass movie it was. Such delutional yet beautiful. The rise of supervillain will lead you to some other world. Best performance by Joaquin.. Great music and great Cinematography. Thanks to the whole crew of Joker, for this greatWhat a masterclass movie it was. Such delutional yet beautiful. The rise of supervillain will lead you to some other world. Best performance by Joaquin.. Great music and great Cinematography. Thanks to the whole crew of Joker, for this great movie.
The best of 2019,undoubtedly.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
AbdielSerranoOct 3, 2019
La película es simplemente oscura, épica... Una gran forma de introducir al Joker y una explicación al origen de la lealtad de sus seguidores.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
ShivnivasseOct 4, 2019
A wonderful masterpiece by Todd Phillips And a great artistic acting by Joaquin Phoenix Excellent movie
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews