Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 3, 2019
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 6794 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
6,216
Mixed:
310
Negative:
268
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
kirsten123Oct 6, 2019
I think the word 'masterpiece'is going a bit far but Joker is an amazing film. If Joaquin Phoenix doesn't get the best actor oscar award there really is no justice; he's that good.
23 of 27 users found this helpful234
All this user's reviews
10
JortigoOct 3, 2019
Ladies and gentlemen!!! THIS IS A MASTERPIECE. It is an INCREDIBLE origin story. One of the best movies based on a comic character. Joaquin Phoenix's performance is SPECTACULAR! Thank you Todd Phillips for bringing us this shocking story.
148 of 187 users found this helpful14839
All this user's reviews
10
WatchmojoOct 3, 2019
A must watch movie of the year especially the month (October).Joaquin Phoenix's performance was a masterpiece.Robert De Niro's acting was also mind blowing.
158 of 203 users found this helpful15845
All this user's reviews
10
raccoondaddyOct 3, 2019
This wasnt a superhero film, and thank God it wasnt!!
Joker is, by far the darkest and most tragic story in all of the DC universe. Not only was it respectable to the source material, everything in the movie reflected what The Joker is, when
This wasnt a superhero film, and thank God it wasnt!!
Joker is, by far the darkest and most tragic story in all of the DC universe. Not only was it respectable to the source material, everything in the movie reflected what The Joker is, when you take Batman out of the story. Fair warning: the film is very graphic. It holds nothing back. Also dont expect a special fx show. This is a sit down and shut up flick. This is a film about madness, illness and sadness.
Expand
83 of 107 users found this helpful8324
All this user's reviews
8
CommandLinerOct 3, 2019
Felt like more of an Arthur Fleck movie than a Joker movie. But in this case I think that worked in its favor. Honestly, when compared to other "gritty" and "grounded" dc comic book movies, this one actually works and is better than most.Felt like more of an Arthur Fleck movie than a Joker movie. But in this case I think that worked in its favor. Honestly, when compared to other "gritty" and "grounded" dc comic book movies, this one actually works and is better than most. But, if you are going to compare it to something like taxi driver? Well then it's just average. It has some issues but nothing glaring. Overall I think everything works well. Not blown away but impressed. Expand
30 of 39 users found this helpful309
All this user's reviews
9
lenny68Oct 6, 2019
Joker is one of those rare movies that my only regret in watching it is that I can never watch it again for the first time. That being said, I'm not sure when if ever I could watch it again as it's such an exhausting experience. And I meanJoker is one of those rare movies that my only regret in watching it is that I can never watch it again for the first time. That being said, I'm not sure when if ever I could watch it again as it's such an exhausting experience. And I mean that in a good way. One of the best movies of this century so far. Expand
43 of 56 users found this helpful4313
All this user's reviews
10
patnianOct 6, 2019
I generally agree with Metacritic's movie score over Rotten Tomatoes but not this time. Forget the paid critics biased views of Joker and go and see one of the best movies of this century and maybe the last.
42 of 55 users found this helpful4213
All this user's reviews
9
antmolly1995Oct 6, 2019
Joker is a hard film to love but an easy one to admire. As many others have commented, it is a very grim watch with only a few moments of gallows humor to lift the tension. That being said, I would urge any lover of cinema to see it. At least once.
35 of 46 users found this helpful3511
All this user's reviews
9
LatinCritic13Oct 3, 2019
Joker is deep, immaculate, powerful, and triumphant as you witness Joaquin Phoenix giving the Oscar winning performance of his entire career as the Clown Prince of Crime in 1970’s unforgiving Gotham City. All thanks to Todd Phillips’Joker is deep, immaculate, powerful, and triumphant as you witness Joaquin Phoenix giving the Oscar winning performance of his entire career as the Clown Prince of Crime in 1970’s unforgiving Gotham City. All thanks to Todd Phillips’ inspiration from Martin Scorsese’s Taxi Driver and The King of Comedy, it is safe to say that this film is one of those films that will be talked about for a very long time. And there is no doubt that Joker can deliver a mature fish out of water story that is dark and psychologically brooding that every comic book fan needs to see. May the future of DC Black begin… Expand
65 of 86 users found this helpful6521
All this user's reviews
10
radaevavaleriaOct 3, 2019
the new “Joker” is totally worth to be considered as the best of DC’s movies now. gorgeous, breathtaking, horrifying but amazing.
51 of 69 users found this helpful5118
All this user's reviews
10
ponce777Oct 3, 2019
The film is an excellent story of origin, departs from comics, and allows you to see the psychology of the character. You can also see that it has enough similarity with the current era in some attitudes quite well reflected. It is a movie toThe film is an excellent story of origin, departs from comics, and allows you to see the psychology of the character. You can also see that it has enough similarity with the current era in some attitudes quite well reflected. It is a movie to feel and think. Expand
50 of 68 users found this helpful5018
All this user's reviews
9
allisonjane65Oct 6, 2019
Unrelentingly bleak but absolutely captivating. There's really nothing more that I can add to the praise it's already garnered. Go see.
22 of 30 users found this helpful228
All this user's reviews
9
Geng1sOct 3, 2019
I went into this film knowing two things, the score from Icelandic composer Hildur Guðnadóttir (friend of Johann and Chernobyl musical genius) meant the tone of this film was going to be glum at best and Phoenix throwing himself into all hisI went into this film knowing two things, the score from Icelandic composer Hildur Guðnadóttir (friend of Johann and Chernobyl musical genius) meant the tone of this film was going to be glum at best and Phoenix throwing himself into all his roles would undoubtedly deliver. Both of things for me at least were spot on.

The story is desperately sad if not a little predictable, my only really gripe being the use of on screen notes to move the plot along at times, I find trying to nail which part I am meant to be reading takes the immersion out a little and I’m pretty sure It happens on at least three occasions. Acting across the board is fantastic; I can understand why Phoenix has been called out by some reviewers but for my mind the Joker is meant to be over acted and his slow descent into madness is perfectly executed.

Overall this feels like the sort of film you end up studying in English class, there is a lot to take in and you will have questions come the end. Not everyone will love this as it can plod a little at times but it’s a needed plot that adds to the overall mood of the film.
Expand
40 of 55 users found this helpful4015
All this user's reviews
10
SedanationOct 3, 2019
There’s no word describe how amazing this movie is. This man deserves an award for this role. The real Joker is back!
29 of 40 users found this helpful2911
All this user's reviews
10
MahmusOct 3, 2019
We truly do live in a society
But in all seriousness, this movie was amazing. A dark and disturbing character piece led by an Oscar worthy performance by Joaquin Phoenix. You really do feel bad for this guy, which makes it all the more
We truly do live in a society
But in all seriousness, this movie was amazing. A dark and disturbing character piece led by an Oscar worthy performance by Joaquin Phoenix. You really do feel bad for this guy, which makes it all the more heartbreaking when he inevitably becomes the clown prince of crime we all know and love, although we've never seen him like this. We see him suffer throughout the movie to the point we're almost rooting for himk to become a mass murdering psyco clown, because that at least will make feel better; then it happens and we just wish this could have all just been avoided, because es so messed up. We feel for him and care about him. By the time he's the joker, we wish we could've helped him. There's a lot of great nods to the greater Batman universe, yet the movie is a self contained character piece. It had me shaking and disturbed for a long time after I left the cinema, and that can only be the mark of a great movie.
Expand
52 of 72 users found this helpful5220
All this user's reviews
10
Drago7166Oct 3, 2019
Gives a view of the darkest the world can be and builds up well to the worst day someone can have with that dark life, which births the Joker. Doesn’t glorify violence, (spoilers) with the main character being initially hesitant to take a gunGives a view of the darkest the world can be and builds up well to the worst day someone can have with that dark life, which births the Joker. Doesn’t glorify violence, (spoilers) with the main character being initially hesitant to take a gun from a coworker (first 10 mins of the movie) and he expected says he doesn’t have any political stance and just manages to fall into place because of the public’s reaction. Not a movie I’m planning on seeing a millions times in my life because of it being so hard to watch someone fall like the Joker does, but it’s a movie that needs an award. All the acting is great, the plot (while similar to Taxi Driver) is brilliant and the quality of the movie shows you don’t need CGI super powers to be a great villain in a Superhero movie. Expand
28 of 39 users found this helpful2811
All this user's reviews
9
BritcaytonOct 3, 2019
Having just finished watching, I am stunned to say the least. Jaquines' portrayal of a sociopathic, mentally unstable man's transformation to the iconic Joker was non other than a grippingly accurate, realistic and touching rendition. AsHaving just finished watching, I am stunned to say the least. Jaquines' portrayal of a sociopathic, mentally unstable man's transformation to the iconic Joker was non other than a grippingly accurate, realistic and touching rendition. As unfortunate event after unfortunate event baraded the Joker leading to circumstantial wrong-doings, I truly felt for the character, while also being aware that his actions were wrong. Amidst the action packed superhero movies presented today (and as much as I do enjoy those as well) this movie is truly in a league of it's own. Joker takes the lore and characters we have grown to love and revere as immeasurable beings, and throws it in your face as an all too real, true to life possibility. Expand
28 of 39 users found this helpful2811
All this user's reviews
10
SudhakarkumarOct 3, 2019
One of the best performance by Joaquin, Bold and intense storytelling makes this one terrific and influential. Cinematography and set pieces were almost great. Don't miss this one
38 of 53 users found this helpful3815
All this user's reviews
10
vbingbongOct 3, 2019
Joaquin Phoenix shines in this dark character study about one of the most popular comic book villains. The slow but rewarding direction is accompanied by an eerie score that fits perfectly with Joaquins Oscar worthy performance and will leaveJoaquin Phoenix shines in this dark character study about one of the most popular comic book villains. The slow but rewarding direction is accompanied by an eerie score that fits perfectly with Joaquins Oscar worthy performance and will leave audiences feeling disturbed and uneasy, exactly how the joker should make one feel. Expand
43 of 60 users found this helpful4317
All this user's reviews
10
TomiCCOct 3, 2019
Is a joke not everyone gets.
The critic can't decide if is good or not, so is up to you.
40 of 56 users found this helpful4016
All this user's reviews
10
sprightOct 3, 2019
The most disturbing movie ever made. It is seriously a must-see and the critic reviews lie.
40 of 56 users found this helpful4016
All this user's reviews
10
Cinefilo34567Oct 3, 2019
Es una obra maestra absoluta, olvida los comentarios negativos, la pelicula no es aburrida y la actuación de Phoenix es, excepcional.
27 of 38 users found this helpful2711
All this user's reviews
10
Abi_wiseguyOct 3, 2019
Don't listen to the critics who don't know the difference between art and reality. Go and watch the movie and make your own opinion.

Joker is a masterpiece and JOAQUIN PHONEIX deserves all best actor awards of the year.
44 of 62 users found this helpful4418
All this user's reviews
8
XieneusJongIlOct 3, 2019
Gorgeous film, haunting score and a pretty incredible performance from Joaquin Phoenix. It's a slow burn, and I can definitely see where the film will turn a lot of people off, but I really liked it. 
17 of 24 users found this helpful177
All this user's reviews
10
Yousefyj98Oct 3, 2019
Beautiful piece of art the acting the shots the intensity I was focused on the screen through out the whole movie
29 of 41 users found this helpful2912
All this user's reviews
9
Ernesto900Oct 3, 2019
Great movie, it touches the themes of mental illness well, and the necessity of escaping pain by suicide.. That some people feels, this is a different joker, who is trying to accept his cruel life.. Great movie, only bad aspect is that itGreat movie, it touches the themes of mental illness well, and the necessity of escaping pain by suicide.. That some people feels, this is a different joker, who is trying to accept his cruel life.. Great movie, only bad aspect is that it ends in a weird way. Expand
41 of 58 users found this helpful4117
All this user's reviews
10
ThewholelotOct 3, 2019
This was farthest thing from what you expect from a "superhero" universe type movie. Even if this movie had a different title and stood alone it would have been just as great! The writing was absolutely amazing. The mood set for the differentThis was farthest thing from what you expect from a "superhero" universe type movie. Even if this movie had a different title and stood alone it would have been just as great! The writing was absolutely amazing. The mood set for the different scenes and the slow uptick of this movie was absolutely on point. Phoenix deserves every accolade possible for this stunning portrayal. Would reccomend for anyone tha appreciates deep writing, dialogue amd the classic sense of how a truly timeless movie is put together!!! Expand
31 of 44 users found this helpful3113
All this user's reviews
10
DeependraOct 3, 2019
Joker Movie is a dark and emotional movie that hides behind the laughter of Joker . A disturbing movie but powerful performance by Joaquin Phoenix is the beginning of new era.It is one of the best example on flim making... Pure art work withJoker Movie is a dark and emotional movie that hides behind the laughter of Joker . A disturbing movie but powerful performance by Joaquin Phoenix is the beginning of new era.It is one of the best example on flim making... Pure art work with camera( Less VFX expenditure)Take a bow Todd Phillips for your excellent execution. Inspite of Todd Phillips's confirmation that Joaquin's joker won't meet Pattinson's Batman, I believe Todd and Joaquin,Both should reconsider their decision to unleash full potential performance against Robert's batman. Because joker needs batman in order to show his full potential. This movie is "the raise of the joker." Expand
31 of 44 users found this helpful3113
All this user's reviews
10
MaodengdengOct 3, 2019
I find it somehow disturbing, yet undeniable amazing. Joaquin Phoenix did a great job in both being a normal person with bad days and the Joker, the one we are familiar with.
31 of 44 users found this helpful3113
All this user's reviews
10
BarbraOct 3, 2019
Amazing and beautifully haunting film. Joaquin Phoenix oscar worthy performance in another level.
38 of 54 users found this helpful3816
All this user's reviews
10
jeffvalenteOct 3, 2019
uma obra impecável e simplesmente perfeita, joaquin vc é lendário, taca um oscar nessa
lenda
26 of 37 users found this helpful2611
All this user's reviews
10
JhonnycriticoOct 3, 2019
Uma obra de arte! Perturbador e encantador ao mesmo tempo, necessário para nosso tempo.
26 of 37 users found this helpful2611
All this user's reviews
10
AlexDoomRockOct 3, 2019
Данный фильм не рекомендуется любителем экшена, любителем комедий и прочей лабуды, фильм реально тяжелый, я был на третьем сеансе мировой премьеры, видел улыбающихся и смеющихся людей, которые заходили в зал с огромным количества еды.Я тоДанный фильм не рекомендуется любителем экшена, любителем комедий и прочей лабуды, фильм реально тяжелый, я был на третьем сеансе мировой премьеры, видел улыбающихся и смеющихся людей, которые заходили в зал с огромным количества еды.Я то знал на какой фильм пошел, а вот большинство зрителей увы нет, и моему удивлению не было предела когда на 20 минуте фильма и до самого конца, я не услышал ни одного звука в зале, люди смотрели закрыв рот, забыв про свою жратву. Теперь о фильме, повторюсь фильм тяжелый если в него вникать, а вам придется это сделать иначе вы не поймете фильм, это не Marvel, не каких глупых шуток и сисько-жопного юмора, но свой юмор все таки есть, в этом фильме всего около 15 выстрелов из револьвера. Игра Феникса на уровне, я не такой критик что бы как то дать оценку, этот Джокер хороший ответ Джокеру Хита, в гримме данный Джокер выглядит на много круче Леджера, один минус это акер дубляжа, хотел бы я посмотреть его в оригинале, и обязательно посмотрю. Моя оценка 10/10, возможно даже больше, фанатам DC фильм зайдет и тем кто попытается в него вникнуть. Expand
26 of 37 users found this helpful2611
All this user's reviews
10
Zheva26Oct 3, 2019
Joaquin Phoenix gave extraordinary acting in depth as well as Tood Philips who was able to make the Joker the person I know best through his films.
40 of 57 users found this helpful4017
All this user's reviews
10
Heisenberg_SmnOct 3, 2019
The movie is an absolute masterpiece.
Joaquin Phoenix's performance is OSCAR worthy as well
30 of 43 users found this helpful3013
All this user's reviews
10
Rakib0301Oct 3, 2019
Lived up to the hype, loved it, don’t listen to critics, they’re idiots, they got scared of this film, hence why the rating is low
30 of 43 users found this helpful3013
All this user's reviews
10
that_movie_guyOct 3, 2019
Truly spectacular! It's been SO LONG since I've seen a movie with QUALITY, something that makes you think, something that's different and as creative as this. Honestly... just when I was starting to lose faith in the movie industry this comesTruly spectacular! It's been SO LONG since I've seen a movie with QUALITY, something that makes you think, something that's different and as creative as this. Honestly... just when I was starting to lose faith in the movie industry this comes along and blows me away, it gave me that feeling of "finally! A movie we've been desperately needing in the age of reboots and remakes and remasters and live cartoon adaptations and political correctness BS" this is the direction the movie industry has to go and keep going. It's exactly what I personally always wanted as a Joker movie, a character study analysis about a broken man. Joaquin Phoenix deserves an award for his performance he killed it and honestly crushes all the previous Joker's that came before him that we've seen on screen and that's a huge statement. That laugh will send chills of disturbances down your spine every single time. It's a mix of sadness, confusion and just downright creepy I will even dare to say it's better than Mark Hamill's laugh. Make of that what you will. Acting? Superb!! Atmosphere and tone was perfect for this style of movie very depressing. Story? I won't spoil but it is very engaging, makes you think and you definitely feel for the Arthur. You'll be asking yourself questions even after the credits roll. No post credits by the way so don't sit through it. Music is a huge plus the composer really made the perfect soundtrack for such a film, she captures the mood and mentality of Arthur with every key note played a real treat. Loved it, I don't care what anyone says this is a 10/10 to me. If you love the Joker, or just a very good thriller about a broken man - watch this you won't regret it. Also - the snowflakes crying about wanting this banned because of violence? Ha... there was hardly any. I think other movies are worse in that regard, more drama than action if anything so no it won't promote a mass shooting or anything like that if anything it helps raise awareness on helping the mentally ill. Don't believe the fake news and mass hysteria, do yourself a favor - watch it and make your own judgement.

Joaquin Phoenix man... that guy never fails to impress.
Expand
27 of 39 users found this helpful2712
All this user's reviews
10
Slicklou25Oct 3, 2019
Great movie! Sometimes I feel these so called critics do not know a good movie and good acting even if it slaps them in the face.
38 of 55 users found this helpful3817
All this user's reviews
10
JeesuslalalallaOct 3, 2019
That's beautiful. Лучше фильма в наше время, с такой актерской игрой вы не найдете.
24 of 35 users found this helpful2411
All this user's reviews
10
gMoedaOct 3, 2019
Um filme perturbador porém INCRÍVEL!!, Joaquin Phoenix fez mais do que um ótimo trabalho, o filme está impecável, sinto que o Oscar é de vocês.
26 of 38 users found this helpful2612
All this user's reviews
10
TruejusticeOct 3, 2019
An amazingly well crafted masterpiece with perfect acting, great story, thrilling moments, great camera and actual deep message. Phoenix is perfect for the role and his depiction of a joker may be the best i have ever seen.
BTW: go see the
An amazingly well crafted masterpiece with perfect acting, great story, thrilling moments, great camera and actual deep message. Phoenix is perfect for the role and his depiction of a joker may be the best i have ever seen.
BTW: go see the movie dont let yourself fool by urinalist "professional" critics who started their campaign to denigrate the movie almost right after the first trailer. Remember those same people think that utter trash garbage like the last jedi or captain marvel were good movies. So go to see the Joker its the best movie about comic book character in many years
Expand
41 of 60 users found this helpful4119
All this user's reviews
7
hello_worldOct 24, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Joker is an entertaining movie and its depiction of the titular character was compelling from begging to end. Joaquin Phoenix's performance was outstanding and will be remembered as on of the better Joker performances. Unfortunately, the movie falls flat when it comes to its themes and what it wants to say.

It seems like it wants us to be on the side of the working class. After all, the joker is a working class man who's issues are exacerbated by the upperclass. The government cut funding to mental health services, leaving him without his therapist and medication. Thomas Wayne seems uncaring and critical of the poor and even his celebrity hero made jokes at his expense. Following the Joker's actions, you can see how the class divide came to a head with the working class finally having enough of the oppression of the upper class and want social change.

However, this falls apart when you consider the actions of the Joker and rioters. The Joker, while more sympathetic in this iteration, is still a psychopathic killer and he is propped up as the hero of the working class. The working class started rioting and one even murders the Waynes in the alley as a form of revenge on the upper class. If the film wants us to take the side of the working class as the ones being taken advantage of, it failed. The upperclass were **** but the working class are dangerous criminals. This isn't helped by the fact that the movie showed the murder of the Waynes. We all know what will become of young Bruce. He becomes the hero of Gotham. He is also the top 1% Billionaire playboy. So eventually the hero of Gotham will be a rich man saving Gotham from people like his parent's murderer, who happens to be a poor and angry at the rich.

Even if the movie wanted to try to take a 'both sides' argument, it fails because the actions of the working class were way worse than the actions of the upperclass. The upperclass are the ones getting murdered in the streets. The working class are the ones idolising a killer clown. It seems very one sided.
Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
7
ArsenachosOct 7, 2019
Coming from the dude who made the hangover films (which I dont think highly of) I was surprised to see joker, not watching any trailers I was surprised with the final product. Acting was amazing. Cinematography was phenomenal. However theComing from the dude who made the hangover films (which I dont think highly of) I was surprised to see joker, not watching any trailers I was surprised with the final product. Acting was amazing. Cinematography was phenomenal. However the major flaw to this film is the pacing. It jumped alot and there were moments where I asked myself why this part was important. Lots of slow mo wide shots pan the film tine to reach over the 2 hour mark. Its action is intense which is brilliant. Watch it Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
AbduloffOct 7, 2019
Probably the best origin story I've ever seen in my entire life. Astonishing acting, incredible visuals, gorgeous OST. Absolutely must watch!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
MoldmanOct 7, 2019
Фильм года а главному актёру должны вручить Оскар. Журнал TIME поставил оценку 20 а последниму фильм Форсаж Чоббс и Шоу 50, но там ляпы каждую минуту а тексты актёров наверное в детском садике деть на каленки написали.Фильм года а главному актёру должны вручить Оскар. Журнал TIME поставил оценку 20 а последниму фильм Форсаж Чоббс и Шоу 50, но там ляпы каждую минуту а тексты актёров наверное в детском садике деть на каленки написали.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BrunoHDOct 7, 2019
Se o Oscar de atuação não for pro Joaquin, é roubo! Botou o Jared pra mamar!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
OlstankteddyOct 7, 2019
I was really blown away. Joaquin was incredible. I don't recommend movies because there are a lot of great movies/shows to watch, but I'm telling everyone they have to see this if they like anything dark.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Shiroyasha9Oct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was phenomenal. It was soo good i watched it three times. For those who thinks this movie promotes violence then they should also talk about jhon wick too. To people who believes this movie is bad for kids, it is. It is rated R for some reason. Also dont blame movie for gun violence. Its not like there was no mass shooting before the movie was released Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
VitaminiOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Gripping, disturbing, dark, intense and still twinges with sympathy for the Joker, it's a phenomenal film that lingers in your mind unlike no other. The acting is as cliche as it sounds, Oscar worthy, Joaquim Phoenix encompassed the role as Joker entirely and deserves the credit he deserves. th The cinematography is gorgeous and Philips did just amazing with it. Ost to overall movie, has to be a 10/10 from me. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
CarlosOstriaOct 7, 2019
the movie of the year, not for the super hero movie fan tough.
La mejor película del año, sin embargo no es para los fans de las películas de superhéroes que generalmente esperan ver a este tipo de villanos caricariturisados.
es un personaje
the movie of the year, not for the super hero movie fan tough.
La mejor película del año, sin embargo no es para los fans de las películas de superhéroes que generalmente esperan ver a este tipo de villanos caricariturisados.
es un personaje profundo y bien pensado, el guión es magnífico y las actuaciones dignas del Oscar para Joaquín, reflejando desesperación, desesperanza, hace que empaticemos con el personaje desde el primer momento.
fanta
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
PsykoklaptorskeOct 7, 2019
Easily Oscar material. Joaquin takes us on a tour de force into the insanity of a psychotic derange criminal from a beginning of a begnin man who struggles with mental illness and poor social circumstances. I absolutely loved the movie and IEasily Oscar material. Joaquin takes us on a tour de force into the insanity of a psychotic derange criminal from a beginning of a begnin man who struggles with mental illness and poor social circumstances. I absolutely loved the movie and I WILL watch it a second time in a Cinema, which is something I do not do ever.

The storytelling, the in setting logic, the lore of the Joker, all was respected and all fitted. Well worth your money.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Hashbrown121Oct 7, 2019
REALLY **** GOOD! Joaquin Phoenix's performance is incredible, the cinematography is beautiful, the music is haunting.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BlocheadOct 7, 2019
This is a perfectly crafted film that stands alone for Hollywood in these times. It’s bold. A beautiful character study of a broken man in a broken society, and the product that can emerge in this particular instance. This is an importantThis is a perfectly crafted film that stands alone for Hollywood in these times. It’s bold. A beautiful character study of a broken man in a broken society, and the product that can emerge in this particular instance. This is an important film and probably my best of the year Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
LostclubbOct 7, 2019
A thrilling dive into the human psyche of a man pushed too far by society. Slowly builds itself up to the final 20 minute crescendo that is a masterpiece of cinematography. The soundtrack fits perfectly as an eerie and slow tune that fitsA thrilling dive into the human psyche of a man pushed too far by society. Slowly builds itself up to the final 20 minute crescendo that is a masterpiece of cinematography. The soundtrack fits perfectly as an eerie and slow tune that fits perfectly with the scenes it’s associated with. Pheonix deserves all the praise in the world for his portrayal of Joker/Arthur in this film. Also to the media that’s been freaking out over this movie, rather than banning this film for being to relatable to “bad people”, we should start asking where have we as a society gone wrong that so many young men find themselves relating to this film. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
antoniomitOct 7, 2019
La pelicula me ha encantado! Creo que es la mejor que he visto en mucho tiempo. La recomiendo 100%
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
SaveSlot1Oct 7, 2019
Totally the best Joker ever, especially the pain that was coming through the laugh, it was so psychedelic and scaring....
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
MrCrowleyOct 7, 2019
Wow, I have to say I left the theater not knowing what to think, and I mean that in the best way possible. Never have I seen a film blend both fantasy and reality together so well since Pink Floyd The Wall. Excellent work to the filmmakersWow, I have to say I left the theater not knowing what to think, and I mean that in the best way possible. Never have I seen a film blend both fantasy and reality together so well since Pink Floyd The Wall. Excellent work to the filmmakers and the amazing actors. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
starsi360Oct 7, 2019
Absolutely amazing, thought provoking movie that is more to do with mental health, modern society and culture than anything else. Much better than mindless fantasy drivel; for although this has roots in fantasy storytelling, it paints aAbsolutely amazing, thought provoking movie that is more to do with mental health, modern society and culture than anything else. Much better than mindless fantasy drivel; for although this has roots in fantasy storytelling, it paints a picture that is well within the bounds of reality and that will resonate with people of all ages and backgrounds. 10/10, magnificent. Oh, and that Phoenix guy does and OK job, too. :-) Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
BradMorganOct 7, 2019
In one word phenomenal. This film is an extraordinarily special portrait of an extremely sad but frightening psychopath who, through extreme violence, finally sees a way to be seen. Joaquin Phoenix has literally not been able to do betterIn one word phenomenal. This film is an extraordinarily special portrait of an extremely sad but frightening psychopath who, through extreme violence, finally sees a way to be seen. Joaquin Phoenix has literally not been able to do better and is a worthy and characteristic joker who already produces iconic images. The character development is the strongest point of his finely polished way of acting. The shots are beautiful, the atmosphere is appropriate and the sound design is excellent. A real masterpiece! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
whosbadOct 7, 2019
The best film of the year and the best film of DC all time
Joaquin deserved an Oscar
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Brianscott13Oct 7, 2019
The movie is amazingly cool! After Heath Ledger, I had little hope of such an epic performance and Joaquin was able to bring us that! Two different jokers, but both will be stored in memory!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
GameloreOct 7, 2019
Wow, relatively uncontrived drama from a big Hollywood movie. When was the last time? This movie surely slipped under the studio's radar. Almost like they knew it was a gamble and green-lit total creative freedom. Fantastic! TheWow, relatively uncontrived drama from a big Hollywood movie. When was the last time? This movie surely slipped under the studio's radar. Almost like they knew it was a gamble and green-lit total creative freedom. Fantastic! The soundtrack, both original and licensed, the setting, the pacing, the scene composition, the dialog and the story were all excellent. I'm not sure the actor was the best fit for Joker, but he did a great job regardless. He hit the somber lows really well, and the lows were necessary fuel for the Joker's highs that he performed satisfactorily. There was still slight room for improvement, but not enough to push it out of the 10/10 slot: the movie could have ended 5 minutes earlier and been more subtle in a few places, almost like the director is asking "Did you get it? Let me explain it for some of you", but overall, this goes well beyond expectations for a comic book movie.

Now give Watchmen the same treatment!
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
MoonlightErickOct 7, 2019
An absolute masterpiece. A movie that wasn't afraid to take risks, and one that perfectly depicts the mental struggle and downfall of Joker. Joaquin Phoenix was nothing short of amazing in portraying the Joker. A heartbreaking and gutAn absolute masterpiece. A movie that wasn't afraid to take risks, and one that perfectly depicts the mental struggle and downfall of Joker. Joaquin Phoenix was nothing short of amazing in portraying the Joker. A heartbreaking and gut wrenching film. 10/10 Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Xblue3Oct 14, 2019
The joker was beautiful made I suggest everyone to go see it .it's a must see movie
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
KasaethaNOct 15, 2019
Psychiatrists will call you "crazy" and prescribe you drugs. Hypocritical people will tell you "I care about you" when they kick you in the ass. Whenever someone dares to speak about it, is beaten up. But the Joker puts some paint on all thatPsychiatrists will call you "crazy" and prescribe you drugs. Hypocritical people will tell you "I care about you" when they kick you in the ass. Whenever someone dares to speak about it, is beaten up. But the Joker puts some paint on all that and really stands out. He does care about things, although in a way that will hurt, just because most people are unable to face the ugly truth. Masterpiece. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Rocky5489Oct 26, 2019
Let me begin by stating that I'm not a superhero movie "fanboy" and came into the theater with an open mind about this movie, not feeling either way about the genre in general. I left feeling like this was one of the top 5 movie's I've everLet me begin by stating that I'm not a superhero movie "fanboy" and came into the theater with an open mind about this movie, not feeling either way about the genre in general. I left feeling like this was one of the top 5 movie's I've ever seen in my life.

This movie feels "raw" and does not make any attempt to please the audience. You truly get the impression that each piece of the film has a purpose. This is refreshing compared to most films which seek only to please the viewer. How refreshing! This may seem obvious to some when it comes to crime based movies with an anti-hero lead. But there is something different about this film, I haven't experienced anything like it in this regard. The editing is also fantastic. They did an amazing job with both the visuals and audio cut. It is 100% worth going to see in theaters if you can for this reason alone. Phoenix's acting was absolutely stunning as well. His performance truly blew me away. The way he delivers each line forces the viewer to empathize with his character. I was not expecting this from this film, but gave me one of those moments where I said: "Very few people could ever act on this caliber, he is gifted". Beyond this, his physical performance was also spectacular. There are several scenes where he contorts his body in ways that could only be possible from a legitimate actor.

In summary, this is a must watch or even buy in my opinion. I myself am usually quite cynical when it comes to most films for the reason that they tend to spew out unrealistic pleasantries to make the viewer feel good. I am usually screaming internally when this happens as it's usually pretty obvious. If you feel the same way, you will adore this movie. If you are the "feel good" type, you may not enjoy this film quite as much, but it is still worth watching solely for Phoenix's performance.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
7
ckeppnerOct 27, 2019
Joker is a compelling drama that is surprisingly sad. It's certainly not as graphic as the critics have suggested. However, the whole film is a pretty dreary look at mental health treatment in America. Overall, it's a really entertainingJoker is a compelling drama that is surprisingly sad. It's certainly not as graphic as the critics have suggested. However, the whole film is a pretty dreary look at mental health treatment in America. Overall, it's a really entertaining movie with great acting and well worth the watch. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
JsingzNov 13, 2019
Masterpiece. Joaquin deserves an Oscar. Tightly shot; Culturally relevant; Eminently relatable; Cruelly comedic.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
kettlevOct 5, 2019
Joker is a thrilling twist on the classic character’s origin. Joaquin Phoenix’s outstanding performance as Arthur had me glued to the screen for the entire runtime.
Unlike most ‘comic-book movies’, Joker tells a story of a mentally ill man,
Joker is a thrilling twist on the classic character’s origin. Joaquin Phoenix’s outstanding performance as Arthur had me glued to the screen for the entire runtime.
Unlike most ‘comic-book movies’, Joker tells a story of a mentally ill man, and how society failed him.
It’s drawn out pacing is perfect as it doesn’t feel too long or too short.

A truly amazing experience,
Amazing soundtrack
Amazing performances
Just go see the film.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
pilotjonesmusicOct 5, 2019
An epic achievement in film. Phoenix is picture perfect, everyone involved went above & beyond. I was mesmerized for the entire duration. Can not recommend higher. Joker is an absolutely beautiful future classic. Well done Mr. Phillips!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Zeiod98Oct 6, 2019
A successful dc movie finally..the depth into the joker story touches everybody..
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
stanm18Oct 6, 2019
Es una joya! La actuación es soberbia, una caracterización perfecta, fotografía hermosa y llena de simbolismos.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
keezyreezOct 7, 2019
pure genuine concept. must see movies. i think Joaquin will get an oscar for this outstanding movie. best part is the bloody smile
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BathSaltZombiiOct 7, 2019
A deep character film with a huge payoff. This is what cinema needed. Something that made you feel and think about it. Easily my favorite film this year and one of the best films this decade.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Takeru88Oct 7, 2019
Una obra de arte de calidad. Una magnífica interpretación de Phoenix en una película desmarcada del género de superhéroes y villanos. Quizás por eso logra destacarse. Es la mejor adaptación de un personaje de cómic que se ha hecho.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
njeiOct 7, 2019
Film ini sangat luar biasa, mampu membuat penonton merasa simpati terhadap supervilain seperti joket. Dan film ini memberikan pesan yg sangat mendalam bagi setiap orang agar selalu memperhatikan orang-orang disekitar dengan tulus
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
LastPadawanOct 7, 2019
Crítico politizado que vai assistir a esse filme, deveria se abster de dar opinião, já que estamos falando de cinema, não eleição.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DannyStoyOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The most extraordinary portrait of Joker so far!! Phoenix is amazing and his acting just gets better with each movie he stars in. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
HeshoOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. يظهر تأثر المخرج بكثير من الافلام وذلك لمرجعية ودراسة عل سبيل المثال الفيلم قريبًا جدًا من Taxi driver إبداع خواكين لا يختلف عليه أثنين، الصعب كان سهلاً وكافي ليجعل منك مختل في ثوان. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
alexanderbechOct 7, 2019
It's not often a movie makes an impact on me. In fact it's close to rare. "Joker" is a unique masterpiece in so many ways. I am absolutely blown away by the acting, music, cinematography, script, makeup, and the whole feel this movie has.It's not often a movie makes an impact on me. In fact it's close to rare. "Joker" is a unique masterpiece in so many ways. I am absolutely blown away by the acting, music, cinematography, script, makeup, and the whole feel this movie has. It's dark, sad and very realistic. It does a great job at showing the viewer, a story of a troubled mind, and answers the question "What if the joker lived in our world. How would he have gotten there. What could push a person so far out, and hate society so much".
The scary thing is, you can really relate to his journey.
Wonderful job everyone on the team of this movie.
And kudos to DC Comics for daring to make this movie.
Thank you.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
MurenOct 7, 2019
A exceptionally fantastic movie that was an absolute pleasure/pain to watch. It left me drained and lost for words, I hope to come back and edit this review after watching it again in a few weeks and letting it stew for a while. Go watchA exceptionally fantastic movie that was an absolute pleasure/pain to watch. It left me drained and lost for words, I hope to come back and edit this review after watching it again in a few weeks and letting it stew for a while. Go watch this movie, you won't regret it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
jcjOct 7, 2019
This movie is one of my favourites of the year. Filled with tension and a remarkable performance from Joaquin Phoenix. This movie will be in my head throughout awards season. 10/10
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
thomazmuzziOct 7, 2019
Inebriating awesome! What a perfomance by Joaquin Phoenix! The film hits you somehow that takes sometime after to make sense of everything
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
WizerdOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I'm not that qualified to review this, but who cares. Joker is a goddamn masterpiece and will probably be considered of the movies to define 2019. Knock Knock. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
willschOct 7, 2019
Amazing film. Everything I wanted. Oscar-worthy performance by Joaquin Phoenix!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Abreu-AbreuOct 7, 2019
Esse filme é um dos melhores filmes de super-heróis, nesse caso, super vilão de todos os tempos. Atuação impecável de Joaquin, demonstrando gigante profissionalismo. Oscar vindo aí.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ViniBRMetaOct 7, 2019
Joker is a brilliant character study that seeks to expose the pettiest and most intolerant side of society and its aftermath. It's a fantastic movie, an instant classic backed by a brutal and true story, Phoenix's transcendental acting,Joker is a brilliant character study that seeks to expose the pettiest and most intolerant side of society and its aftermath. It's a fantastic movie, an instant classic backed by a brutal and true story, Phoenix's transcendental acting, consistent soundtrack, and wonderfully beautiful and dirty cinematography. It can come with open arms Oscar, this one deserves recognition and respect!! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
RloOct 7, 2019
Filme fenomenal, com brilhante atuação de Phoenix, trazendo a origem de toda a loucura do Coringa.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
DjspartanOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Although this movie include too much violence but it takes you into the movie deeper and it becomes darker till the last. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
ParandaOct 7, 2019
Una obra maestra! Lo mejor actuación que he visto en años Phoenix magistral
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
BMANGILOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Good movie very informative on mental and an overall great character study on the effects of loneliness Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
likenicotineeOct 7, 2019
Um filme muito bom, incrivel em tudo e tem uma fotografia e cenário maravilhosos
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
SweetKillaBunnyOct 7, 2019
Beautifully made movie. Emotional rollercoaster that hits a chord in your heart.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
gargouille29Oct 7, 2019
I loved everything about this movie! Joaquin Phoenix is amazing as the Joker!
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Supernova23Oct 7, 2019
Nasty and thrilling
Better joker than Jared Leto. Cant wait for the ne xt movie.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
Richie14Oct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is a masterpiece. When I went to the cinema, even the first scene was... Wow.
Joker is unbelievable masterpiece with a lot of plot twists. Like these: Joker is imagining whole date, He killed his mother, His father is Thomas Wayne but when you get further in film: You will find out, that he is adopted and he don't know his father, not even his mom. I rate this movie 10/10. Hope it gets an oscar. Joaquin Phoenix is really a good actor and deserve your attention and of course... An oscar.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
AlejandroBOct 14, 2019
Great R- rated movie.
Wanna Look this movie 10 x
Awesome.
Great Story, nice twist, nice entertainment.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
dafragstaOct 14, 2019
The critics have never been more wrong. There are so many ways this could've been a disaster but it was pulled off really well. It has a lot of the melancholy origin Joker from A Killing Joke with a legitimately good story about someone onThe critics have never been more wrong. There are so many ways this could've been a disaster but it was pulled off really well. It has a lot of the melancholy origin Joker from A Killing Joke with a legitimately good story about someone on the bubble of being a functional adult with major mental health problems in a world that throws people away. It has some of it's own subplots that are unique to this telling of the Joker's origin. It's a far better origin story than the old "vat of chemicals" routine and it's made with the pacing of a serious movie. It's not a non-stop sizzle reel. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
sigurkarmOct 14, 2019
I can't think of many films that follow a character through their descent into madness so well. The film really is daring and courageous to centre itself on such a perspective without wincing away.

Phoenix deserves to be hailed as one of the
I can't think of many films that follow a character through their descent into madness so well. The film really is daring and courageous to centre itself on such a perspective without wincing away.

Phoenix deserves to be hailed as one of the best on screen actors of his generation. He is so convincing and uses every cell in his body to portray the mental state of Arthur, and is so precise and distinct with his reactions to the environment that surrounds him, as well as his unveiling past. The thing I like a lot about this film is that it's not disturbing for the sake of it. It's disturbing as a result of the story - where a lot of films sacrifice story for the sake of being disturbing.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
CriticalPlus83Oct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Je vais rarement au cinéma et en avant première encore moins mais j'ai absolument pas regretté ma place... Un petit chef d'œuvre cinématographique loin des films niant niant de super héros... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews