Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 3, 2019
9.2
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 4300 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
4,018
Mixed:
147
Negative:
135
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
0
jaquez84Oct 6, 2019
If you are looking at this film as an extreme warning against ignoring the struggles of everyday life and of ignoring struggles of people with mental disabilities then congratulations.

As a film, as a piece of art meant to entertain, this
If you are looking at this film as an extreme warning against ignoring the struggles of everyday life and of ignoring struggles of people with mental disabilities then congratulations.

As a film, as a piece of art meant to entertain, this was a joke. Pun completely intended.

The joker some how manages to be as boring as a movie as it is twisted. Even the darkest parts of the film fall flat because of its sedated pace. Even if you are trying to make a statement, your film still has to be good. You don’t get a pass on being entertaining for the sake of having a message. I know pretentious people will claim the movie was entertaining in an attempt to be deep. The only person who could genuinely like this film is Joaquin Phoenix playing Arthur Fleck playing Arthur Fleck. I would say people struggling to find someway to like this movie is a whole lot more dangerous than monotony.

As as a score I give this a slow shot to the head full of regret. More valuable than the price of the ticket, is the time spent watching this movie and the several hours wondering why, how this could ever be made. I will never get back the time i’ve wasted back but hey “that’s life.”
Expand
11 of 45 users found this helpful1134
All this user's reviews
3
lascottlaOct 8, 2019
Joaquin Phoenix was the only good thing about this movie. Poor writing, awful directing and a god awful ending that feels like it’s written & directed by a 13 year old on his fifth Red Bull. The two clear conclusions I came to after watchingJoaquin Phoenix was the only good thing about this movie. Poor writing, awful directing and a god awful ending that feels like it’s written & directed by a 13 year old on his fifth Red Bull. The two clear conclusions I came to after watching this flick are that Joaquin Phoenix can give a solid performance in just about anything and that Todd Phillips is definitely NOT a good director. Expand
9 of 39 users found this helpful930
All this user's reviews
3
JlealOct 5, 2019
The movie is vapid in its own special way. It asks you to dissect it while you watch, and then simultaneously punishes you for looking for depth. If you want a movie about a guy going insane because of society, just watch Taxi Driver, ToddThe movie is vapid in its own special way. It asks you to dissect it while you watch, and then simultaneously punishes you for looking for depth. If you want a movie about a guy going insane because of society, just watch Taxi Driver, Todd Philips obviously did. Expand
6 of 32 users found this helpful626
All this user's reviews
3
conottOct 8, 2019
If I was the Joker, I'd want to murder the writer and director. I can't wait for all of the wannabe nerds to try to explain how deep this shallow try-hard attempt at filmmaking was by Todd Phillips, and somehow not just a complete mess of aIf I was the Joker, I'd want to murder the writer and director. I can't wait for all of the wannabe nerds to try to explain how deep this shallow try-hard attempt at filmmaking was by Todd Phillips, and somehow not just a complete mess of a movie. Joaquin Phoenix was it's only saving grace. His performance and technique were solid, but the writing was hot garbage and the direction was absolutely terrible. Just laugh-out-loud awful at times. Over-stylized, heavy-handed, and took itself WAY too seriously given the low competency of writing/directing behind this production. I feel bad for Phoenix to have been attached to a steaming pile like this. Oh well. Despite Joker being a critical failure, at least Jouquin will probably still have a big payday with comic book culture being as devoted as it is. Expand
6 of 33 users found this helpful627
All this user's reviews
0
kkletaOct 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only the part he killed his friend and let other one go is good. otherwise it is a complete trash. Expand
5 of 29 users found this helpful524
All this user's reviews
2
LamontRaymondOct 3, 2019
I have no idea what the jurors at Venice were smoking when they picked Joker for their grand prize because this sucker is a snore-fest, from beginning to end. There’s nothing exciting about it – there’s only a modicum of violence (if youI have no idea what the jurors at Venice were smoking when they picked Joker for their grand prize because this sucker is a snore-fest, from beginning to end. There’s nothing exciting about it – there’s only a modicum of violence (if you want violence in a much better movie, go see the latest Rambo). And Phoenix doesn’t hold a candle to Heath Ledger’s Joker. I mean, in that movie, there’s a palpable sense of dread throughout. You could cut the tension with a knife. This one? It’s just there. Inert. Tedious. I checked my watch maybe 4 times, which is bad. Whoever has been calling this movie “dangerous”, or a movie of its time…. Please. I’d love to see a movie in which people so fed up over political talk all day and all night go out and cause mayhem. There’s nothing remotely like that here. And let me take a moment to call out DeNiro. He’s entirely mis-cast. What’s more, he totally mailed this performance in. Maybe he saved his best (or even “good”) stuff for The Irishman. The only really good performance in this film is by the actress from Atlanta. Actually, Paperboy from Atlanta is also very good in a tiny role. I was pumped up to see this – what a letdown. Now let’s bring on the quality – The Lighthouse, Parasite, and Marriage Story. Expand
12 of 75 users found this helpful1263
All this user's reviews
1
emanresUOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start by saying that Joaquin Phoenix did an amazing job at portraying an unnerving malnourished mess. The movie even did a terrific job at transporting us to 1970s crumbling Gotham city gripped in turmoil.

However, the movie failed to portray any resemblance of Joker and seemingly attempted to justify his extremist violent behavior.

If any resemblance of the real joker were in this movie it would have been something fairly small that would have caused him to crack or perhaps he would have started killing just for the hell of it. The monster that is joker would've seeded protests, manipulated the police against the protesters, and ultimately incited chaos in some genius orchestration just to counterbalance justice...

That's not Arthur. Arthur seems to be a character on the surface that might have been plucked from Clockwork Orange, Falling Down, or Taxi Driver... but he's actually something new. you see none of those potential inspirations repeatedly make a defense or justification for the characters decent. The movie repeatedly attempts (unsuccessfully) to garner sympathy for Arthur. first off it's not his fault as he is mentally I'll die to a brain injury he sustained as an abused child. he's next repeatedly bullied throughout the movie. the state then cuts off his medical supplies due to budget cuts. he becomes delusional off his meds and starts to fall deeper through the cracks whilst accidentally inspiring class warfare that parallels the occupy movement in its adoption of a symbolic mask and anger against wealth inequality. He finally becomes "the joker" giving a speech about how general society never thinks about what the bad guy might be going through (please don't try to make me feel for the criminally insane) and how society failed him and he was only brought on the show to be bullied. he then shoots the host and the protesters turn to violent rioters.

in short the cold calculating jokers have all been replaced by a fumbling mentally ill sad victim. the movie seems to attempt justification for violent incels while villainizing the disgruntled lower class. for a hero movie it had some warped political narratives embedded.

As I said though... Phoenix was amazing.
Expand
6 of 38 users found this helpful632
All this user's reviews
0
Sam-CollinsOct 5, 2019
One word..
Pathetic.
This movie is an insult for The Joker characters and to DC Comics fans! Seriously.. Do you think that The Prince of Crime of Gotham city needs your sympathy!
7 of 45 users found this helpful738
All this user's reviews
0
shraddhapagrawaOct 4, 2019
Director failed miserably, it lacked plot. Only the acting was good of phoenix but director let down badly. It lacked logic. Its not dark
8 of 52 users found this helpful844
All this user's reviews
0
CriticnOct 17, 2019
Some scenes have no sense, the only thing that Joaquin Phoenix do is Laugh and dance, and dome parts are very Boring, I don't recommend this movie at all
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
3
ExploganOct 4, 2019
Phoenix acts his ass off and does a great job, but the film itself is pretentious garbage with nothing to say. It was like a film school major saying "LOOK HOW DEEP I AM" while shouting talking points and not following any of them up withPhoenix acts his ass off and does a great job, but the film itself is pretentious garbage with nothing to say. It was like a film school major saying "LOOK HOW DEEP I AM" while shouting talking points and not following any of them up with context. Like they throw out buzzwords about the mental health system, antipsychotics being bad, the majority vs the 1% etc and just doesn't really say anything or follow through on any of the ideas. Hope you like slow motion 'dancing' because there's a lot of it here. Expand
7 of 47 users found this helpful740
All this user's reviews
0
skaz001Oct 6, 2019
A sickening movie with a great actor. If you like disturbing, ugly, sick storylines, here's the one for you. It portrays mental illness in a way that is very sad and untrue. Sick.
5 of 35 users found this helpful530
All this user's reviews
3
ImUrHuckleBerriOct 6, 2019
One of the few movies I have been too where I felt bored but held out hope for some excitement. There a couple scenes of excitement and that is purely it. No real action or excitement. While the plot goes through his history and how he cameOne of the few movies I have been too where I felt bored but held out hope for some excitement. There a couple scenes of excitement and that is purely it. No real action or excitement. While the plot goes through his history and how he came to be. It's just utterly empty and not interesting. I think Phoenix played the character they made greatly. It's just the writing and lack of intrigue and excitement is grossly lacking. Expand
4 of 28 users found this helpful424
All this user's reviews
1
EtykutOct 8, 2019
Simply boring.

Uninspired social commentary, with half baked ideas and little to keep the audience engaged. Sadly there is little reason to see this film - the entirety of its nuances and messages (which in principle would be interesting)
Simply boring.

Uninspired social commentary, with half baked ideas and little to keep the audience engaged. Sadly there is little reason to see this film - the entirety of its nuances and messages (which in principle would be interesting) may be experienced in the trailer.
Expand
4 of 29 users found this helpful425
All this user's reviews
1
YossariansOct 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Silly, ridiculous, pretentious, trite film with great acting. It would have been better if they take it out the fact that Arthur became the Joker and just had him become a serial killer. Expand
3 of 22 users found this helpful319
All this user's reviews
0
NicoleabigailOct 14, 2019
Found the film disturbing from start to finish, felt very uncomfortable with the constant laughter from the lead actor and felt it was all very forced. Very disappointed and bored throughout.
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
0
CrimsonFlushOct 3, 2019
Remake of Taxi Driver with clown makeup, Phoenix acting can't save this hollow husk of a movie. Would have been better as an off broadway single man performance with just Phoenix on stage for 2 hours ranting an raving about how terrible lifeRemake of Taxi Driver with clown makeup, Phoenix acting can't save this hollow husk of a movie. Would have been better as an off broadway single man performance with just Phoenix on stage for 2 hours ranting an raving about how terrible life has treated him. Expand
8 of 62 users found this helpful854
All this user's reviews
0
FarnamOct 4, 2019
This is a repetitive story. It just shows violence. When you watch the movie sometimes you will be tired...
7 of 55 users found this helpful748
All this user's reviews
0
Xero2814Oct 4, 2019
Boring and uninspired. Just watch the better films that this is trying to be.
7 of 55 users found this helpful748
All this user's reviews
0
ludovica_zOct 19, 2019
Somewhat aesthetically pleasing, in a shallow way. Overall though, a boring and juvenile film with a pop-political, pop-philosophical message.
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
1
BiologistOct 10, 2019
Dissatisfied with the story
The only actor in the film is Joker
Filmography is awful
Disappointed
Nothing special about the joker
If you watched the previous joke movies, you will know what would happen
3 of 25 users found this helpful322
All this user's reviews
0
PanhalimOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Joker is boring and ruin ur day don’t watch u will leave the theather that what I have to say about this film Expand
4 of 34 users found this helpful430
All this user's reviews
0
DavidTovar29Oct 4, 2019
hope aint so bad like last ones I saw.
All the comments are positivos, 120 minutes are so boring, bye
5 of 44 users found this helpful539
All this user's reviews
0
willowpoopOct 3, 2019
This incel porn is neither provocative nor deep, but it certainly makes for good marketing via controversy.
8 of 71 users found this helpful863
All this user's reviews
0
Romono1Oct 4, 2019
This movie was so bad don’t waste your money It’s nothing like The joker that were used to seeing. The outfit looks like he fell in a bucket of peach paint the make up he looks like he’s trying to audition for a job at McDonald’s this movieThis movie was so bad don’t waste your money It’s nothing like The joker that were used to seeing. The outfit looks like he fell in a bucket of peach paint the make up he looks like he’s trying to audition for a job at McDonald’s this movie was atrocious Expand
5 of 45 users found this helpful540
All this user's reviews
0
ThereSnoGodOct 7, 2019
Movies like Joker show how a good marketing campaign can turn a bad movie into a good one.
4 of 38 users found this helpful434
All this user's reviews
0
ZimkhxnOct 3, 2019
Here’s the thing, it fails too tell the story of the Joker, and this movie has really no purpose. Phoenix performance was good, but the rest of the movie is flat.
5 of 48 users found this helpful543
All this user's reviews
2
FelicityFenwickOct 3, 2019
What a buzzkill. You could hear a pindrop (and a few snores) in my theater. Why bother putting police officers at the exits of this movie when people are yawning on the way out? And why use Pink and Blue Boy in his apartment? oddWhat a buzzkill. You could hear a pindrop (and a few snores) in my theater. Why bother putting police officers at the exits of this movie when people are yawning on the way out? And why use Pink and Blue Boy in his apartment? odd choices. JP doesn't hold a candle to Ledger or Romero.... maybe a little better than Nicholson, but that movie sucked the big one. If the Academy awards this because of the hype after having face-palmed The Dark Knight, you'll know that that event isn't worthy watching again. Expand
6 of 58 users found this helpful652
All this user's reviews
3
CityOfGeekOct 3, 2019
A longer version of this review appears on my site.
If Todd Phillip’s Joker has anything going for it, it is an attempted down-to-earth take on super-villainy in a world we know will eventually be filled with spandex and superheroes, free
A longer version of this review appears on my site.
If Todd Phillip’s Joker has anything going for it, it is an attempted down-to-earth take on super-villainy in a world we know will eventually be filled with spandex and superheroes, free from the constraints and expectations of comic book trappings. This trash-strewn Gotham City of 1981 invokes a dirty, grimier period of cinema and city. In that end, Lawrence Sher’s cinematography nails the feel of the films the movies desperately wants to emulate. It’s far away from the cheery and essentially light MCU and it’s more dour than the much maligned other DC films, none of which really connect to Joker. This is fine. This is still Batman’s world, but not any version seen previously. In case you thought this stand on its own, there are many direct connections, all forced and inspiring everything from a “really” look to my eyes rolling hard.
Joker aka Arthur Fleck has no power in life except accidentally starting a revolution with shooting three Yuppies in self-defense. Stripping away the theatricality of the Clown to attempt to present a story of that One Bad Day that made the villain is a refreshing take. But, It is rather unnecessary. It’s been said that Joker is what it would look like if Scorsese tried his hand at a comic-book movie. Joker is someone who saw Scorsese films, particularly Taxi Driver and The King of Comedy but doesn’t understand why they work. As Scorsese often does, Joker presents a villain as a hero in his own story. His heroes are often far from good people. That’s why we love to watch Travis Bickle or Jordan Belfort. We get into the head of someone we cannot truly identify with as they tell us their actions are justified. But we also know teye aren’t. They are kept an arm’s distance away, with a level of satire or social-commentary. However, Joker leaves out the satire, presenting Fleck as a direct protagonist: a man who cracks after being broken by the system. He’s had enough, and society must crumble.One feels we’re meant to follow his action as justified and ultimately the “hero” Gotham needs and deserves. There is a kernel of truth and reason mixed in. The system fails those who need it most. Fleck loses access to his medication and social worker when the social worker’s entire department is closed for budget cuts. We live in a world where people in need, whether it be from mental illness, addiction, or poverty. These people keep finding their support cut off, and society then get upset with bad things happen.
This is lost in a mishmash of undercooked and misguided ideas. Fleck is a manifesto of the angry male loner. He works an underwhelming job as a party-clown. He lives with his mother in his forties. He desires the woman down the hall, but she barely knows his name – and considers him to be a threat. He’s told he creeps people out, and not to talk to their kids. He just can’t get a break. The whole world is against him, no one listens to him Everyone but his mother is the enemy. What’s worse, his actions are blamed on mental illness, directly stated in the climax, giving more backing to presenting the mentally ill as a threat rather than regular people.
Phoenix is forced to try to make a compelling performance from this. He’s a fantastic actor who gives care to his roles. He’s saddled with a script that gives little. He surely gives an interesting performance in the same way Jack Nicholson does as Jack in The Shining. Both of these are starting at 11, already lost-causes, two seconds away from violence. There is no arc. Performance wise they can be moved around their films with no difference in how they are behaving. The character’s an empty cipher meant for the viewer to pour into. For an origin story, there is precious little true backstory. A moment of abuse, a life-time of caring for his mother, and a mention of committal. Who is Fleck, really? Phillips doesn’t care. Joker is a tone-deaf film, providing either wrong-headed commentary directly or underdone ideas it feels are grander. Through all its pomp and anger and muddled messaging, Joker doesn’t work. It’s dull and repetitive, slogging on from one scene to another, powered by an awkward and on the nose script. Any time the hammer Phillips wields hits the nail, it is purely by accident. There are moments that almost work, where a glimmer of a good film shines through and where it almost feels poignant with something to actually say. But each time this occurs it’s soon lost in the weeds.
Expand
6 of 58 users found this helpful652
All this user's reviews
0
UtrexxxOct 3, 2019
Very very bad movie
Mediocre acting
Bad directing awful script
Big buzz with a big fail
8 of 78 users found this helpful870
All this user's reviews
1
jokersucksOct 7, 2019
I want to know which movie all these users went to because this movie sucked royally. I would have rather sat in my car outside the movie theater for 2.5 hours staring at a bush. I will say that Joaquin Phoenix did a good job being a nut jobI want to know which movie all these users went to because this movie sucked royally. I would have rather sat in my car outside the movie theater for 2.5 hours staring at a bush. I will say that Joaquin Phoenix did a good job being a nut job but that's as far as this goes. I wish I could get my $75 back along with the time. I feel like a poor excuse of a father after subjecting my teenage such to such a **** factory of a flick. Damn you Rave cinema for not having 3 seats together for IT. Damn you to hell! Expand
3 of 30 users found this helpful327
All this user's reviews
3
samcritic91Oct 12, 2019
Acting wise movie is awesome but it has no any ideal story.not even any morality...gives wrong msg to society and total nonsense theme of movie....for a normal viewer movie is may be between 5 to 6...but according a critic it should be below 3....
2 of 20 users found this helpful218
All this user's reviews
3
DarthNihilusOct 14, 2019
I was cautiously optimistic when this movie was announced. The Joker has always been one of my favorite comic book characters. I've always known Joaquin Phoenix to be a phenomenal actor so I was interested to see what he could bring to theI was cautiously optimistic when this movie was announced. The Joker has always been one of my favorite comic book characters. I've always known Joaquin Phoenix to be a phenomenal actor so I was interested to see what he could bring to the character. After watching the film, I can't explain the amount of disappointment I felt. The movie itself is an incredibly slow burn that takes quite a bit of patience to endure. This movie is extremely loosely connected to the Batman mythos and that is putting it mildly. The title of the film is probably the only thing "Joker" about this movie. The film portrays itself as a deep, methodical view on mental health struggles and how society treats those that struggle from them. This would have been a better film if it was not in any way connected to the comic character. Not basing this portrayal on any story from the comics was a very bold move and one that made me worried and rigtfully so it would seem. The movie doesn't really know what kind of story it wants to tell. I wouldn't call this an origin story since Arthur Fleck is in no way the Joker that we all know and love. He is like the Party City version of the beloved character. Imagine if some fanboy tried to emulate what being the joker is like for college film project and that's what you get with this film. I felt like I had wasted two hours watching this disaster. The only bright spot in this movie would be Phoenix's acting. He did the best with what the script gave him. Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
1
emmavmmOct 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ‘Joker’ is a disturbing movie. The storyline is easy to understand but there where a lot of inappropriate jokes. These jokes where for example: he just killed someone and he tells the other person that he’s a good guy and he will not get killed. Which made everything weird about the movie, also because people really thought it was funny. I think that it brings the wrong ideas to solve that problem (the rich stay rich, the poor stay poor).
The actors and visuals are really good. That made it seems very realistic and also grose because when he killed someone I couldn’t watch it. It’s very uncomfortable to watch and afterwards the feeling haunted me. It wasn’t like an horror movie that you’re scared and people also pass away, it was just very different than that. It gave a weird feeling because there are people at the moment that think like him, which is kind of scary. I do not recommend to watch it. If you do wanna watch it, I would wait until it airs on tv, that way you don’t spend your money on it.
Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
3
ShahafOct 14, 2019
The characters isn’t there.. and it. Sad movie about white man being sad. With that being said the acting is amazing
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
2
Khalid43Oct 6, 2019
I was dissapointed, the hype for the movie was too much, i thought the film will be a great one, the only good thing is the acting, just that
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
0
PaptimusSCOct 7, 2019
It's not the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's in the same league. Imagine if this movie had no connection to Batman, but the same plot points. This movie would be not be getting any of praise were it not for the names, both fictional andIt's not the worst movie I've ever seen, but it's in the same league. Imagine if this movie had no connection to Batman, but the same plot points. This movie would be not be getting any of praise were it not for the names, both fictional and theatrical, attached to it. The movie is flat out boring and the most interesting parts are in the last 10 minutes of the film. In hindsight, this movie may have ruined the entire Joker character for me. It's one of the worst portrayals of an otherwise amazing comic book villain; one of the best villains of all time. For that reason alone, it deserves the 0. It was really a waste of time for me to watch and I regret that mindless praise will influence more comic book films to be like this one. Expand
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
3
RwolfBonerushOct 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly this is a mess of a film, extremely predictable plot and cringe worthy moments though out the film. Movie goes dark for the sake of dark without every really having a reason why. Expand
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
2
KDEngiOct 5, 2019
The movie could have been condensed to about 20 minutes but was dragged out to the two hour mark so it could be considered a "movie"
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
0
CounttkOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After sleeping well for 10 hours last night, this movie still made me sleepy the whole time. Boring is the only descriptive term that comes to my mind.... Expand
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
0
SamhajibOct 6, 2019
The movie was so bad i heard the guy next me snoring .......................................?
3 of 31 users found this helpful328
All this user's reviews
0
Sargeth06Oct 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Boring movie, and very very slow, its painfull to watch
The only good, the credits
Expand
4 of 42 users found this helpful438
All this user's reviews
0
Elroysmith8888Oct 4, 2019
Puts the JOKE in Joker. Wow, edgy..terrible movie !!!! 0/10 for sure. Yikes.
4 of 42 users found this helpful438
All this user's reviews
0
zoi1206ARCHOct 10, 2019
Offensive, disturbing, unrespectful to source material, misleading, disgusting, insulting for anyone struggling with mental health issues. Score: '0-need to get drunk before viewing so I can fall asleep during srcreening and until the end credits'
3 of 33 users found this helpful330
All this user's reviews
3
NmiltonOct 13, 2019
To say that Todd Phillip’s ‘Joker’ is a dangerous movie is to give it too much credence, but it is a deeply offensive one. Ultimately, it’s just a silly superhero origin story, but it’s presented in such a ‘realist’ style, and so forcefully,To say that Todd Phillip’s ‘Joker’ is a dangerous movie is to give it too much credence, but it is a deeply offensive one. Ultimately, it’s just a silly superhero origin story, but it’s presented in such a ‘realist’ style, and so forcefully, that people might actually take it as a serious movie. It has all the style and surface veneer of a classic 1970s movie, as has been pointed out by numerous reviewers. Visually, it can’t be faulted for its cinematography. It’s the script and characterisation that are lacking. Nobody would go into a film based on a comic book expecting a serious character study, but, by tackling the genre in the style of such a movie, that is what you are falsely enticed to expect. Unfortunately, that is not what you get. The viewer is presented with a mentally ill man, living with his disabled mother, who becomes a deranged serial killer who incites mass violence. This could have been an in-depth psychological exploration of one man’s descent into the maelstrom, that gives the viewer some insight into how a corrupt and insensitive society can push a vulnerable individual over the edge, as those well-known seventies movies did to some extent. Such a narrative requires nuance, sensitivity, compassion and tact, or risk demonising the vulnerable. The very lack of any of the aforementioned does just that – it sets back the mentally ill fifty years or more. What we have here is a series of episodic vignettes – admittedly in the style of a comic book – in which, through a series of gross oversimplifications, the put-upon protagonist slowly loses his grip on reality and descends into graphic violence. Each prior vignette is treated in such a superficial manner that they serve merely as lame justification for the gory set pieces.

Joaquin Phoenix’s performance is intense and physical, but, in the absence of any human depth, proves to be nothing more than a leering caricature. Lingering, over-stylised shots of his manic posturing does not equate to a meaningful performance, however fully the actor has thrown himself into the part. Instead, when the movie reaches its riotous denouement, rather than a criticism of the society that led to his downfall, we are presented with a film that seems to celebrate and encourage the very ills that incites his violence. Points of comparison are ‘Assassination Nation’ and, to a lesser extent, ‘Spring Breakers’. It is this very confusion, simultaneously vilifying the vulnerable and championing them as an anarchic anti-hero, undercutting the capitalist ruling class, that serves to further stigmatise the mentally ill. At the risk of sounding alarmist, younger viewers - older teenagers and those in their early twenties - the very audience that such a film is aimed at, or anyone else with a naïve lack of understanding of mental health, for that matter, could come away from this movie with less empathy for the isolated and marginalised than they went in, thinking the film is cool, when it’s far from that. For that reason, it is reckless and misjudged, but what should we expect from the director of puerile frat movie ‘Old School’ and laddy stag film ‘The Hangover’?
Expand
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
0
pablo_delReyOct 3, 2019
Súper sobrevalorado, I thought that i was looking v de venganza the same history just with the joker. Con razón el nombre Joker because this **** is a good one
4 of 47 users found this helpful443
All this user's reviews
1
Nikola87Oct 13, 2019
Boring clown no charisma! Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!
1 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
3
nateconn92Oct 13, 2019
Joker was a disappointing movie. The origin story was not interesting. I could not find myself caring at all about the Joker. I do not recommend seeing this movie.
1 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
kuhl99Oct 5, 2019
I can't believe that anyone thinks the Joker is this pathetic! How did DC say this was good enough to release? This was terrible from the announcement to the trailers to the final release! Read your favorite Joker comic, play the ArkhamI can't believe that anyone thinks the Joker is this pathetic! How did DC say this was good enough to release? This was terrible from the announcement to the trailers to the final release! Read your favorite Joker comic, play the Arkham Asylum video game and be thankful that you missed this piece of trash! Expand
4 of 49 users found this helpful445
All this user's reviews
0
ANTILORDOct 5, 2019
It's a waste. It's a rubbish and **** Most failure movie of i watch. I'm so unhappy
3 of 37 users found this helpful334
All this user's reviews
0
MatteoJeanOct 4, 2019
A trivial shallow film. It's basically a comedy that fails to become a drama, the dramatic and suspenful parts are pure trash. Bad dialogues, bad direction--I could barely understand what was happening--and lots of plot holes. Plus, as aA trivial shallow film. It's basically a comedy that fails to become a drama, the dramatic and suspenful parts are pure trash. Bad dialogues, bad direction--I could barely understand what was happening--and lots of plot holes. Plus, as a graduated person in Psychology, I have to say this film is all we are afraid of. Mental illness is a issue and I want movies to deal with this theme, but not in this shallow way Expand
6 of 78 users found this helpful672
All this user's reviews
0
JohnDaniel223Oct 8, 2019
Based on its own merits, this movie is actually very boring an cliched. If you have seen taxi driver, you have already seen a much better version of this movie.
4 of 53 users found this helpful449
All this user's reviews
0
MindSleep2Oct 7, 2019
Это либо плохой фильм по мотивам комиксов, либо плохой фильм про псих больного без учёта комиксов, со вселенной бэтмена не стыкуется, а сам по себе фильм не о чем, вообще, все поведение джокера объясняется тем что он псих. Никакого раскрытияЭто либо плохой фильм по мотивам комиксов, либо плохой фильм про псих больного без учёта комиксов, со вселенной бэтмена не стыкуется, а сам по себе фильм не о чем, вообще, все поведение джокера объясняется тем что он псих. Никакого раскрытия больше ни джокера ни его окружения более чем парой фраз. Картинка красивая, актёры играют, но что и зачем? А зачем пр думывать если джокер псих Expand
2 of 28 users found this helpful226
All this user's reviews
1
CriticbballOct 6, 2019
Фильм скучный, единственное что порадовала актерская игра Хоакинс... Фильм не возможно смотреть не держать в руках телефон, ведь этот линейный "проект" Ужасно скучный и поистине уебешный. Во время просмотра я просто хотел уйти и посмотретьФильм скучный, единственное что порадовала актерская игра Хоакинс... Фильм не возможно смотреть не держать в руках телефон, ведь этот линейный "проект" Ужасно скучный и поистине уебешный. Во время просмотра я просто хотел уйти и посмотреть дома, с промежутками в несколько дней, верните мои 270 рублей за мое потраченное время и эти муки при просмотре этого говна Expand
2 of 28 users found this helpful226
All this user's reviews
0
mega_manoyOct 5, 2019
Very boring not interesting. Every moment that I was watching was pure pain.
3 of 43 users found this helpful340
All this user's reviews
0
X-men1995FringeOct 6, 2019
Piece of **** ! Psychotic movie... about a Psychokiller, the movie tries to make you emphatize with a Psycho serial killer.
4 of 61 users found this helpful457
All this user's reviews
0
aaaaaastridOct 7, 2019
I dont get the point of making this really sick movie. This is movie is so dark and upsetting
3 of 48 users found this helpful345
All this user's reviews
2
seogyeOct 8, 2019
Есть на руси такая пословица - смех без причины - признак дурачины. В общем не понимаю что все так восхищаются этим фильмом. Джокер в вселенной ДС - это криминальный гений, который просчитывает на 10 шагов вперед. Тут этим и не пахнет, этоЕсть на руси такая пословица - смех без причины - признак дурачины. В общем не понимаю что все так восхищаются этим фильмом. Джокер в вселенной ДС - это криминальный гений, который просчитывает на 10 шагов вперед. Тут этим и не пахнет, это скорей медицинский фильм про историю болезни. Замените джокера любым другим персонажем, я имею в виду, например, на Петю, или Машу, то фильм нисколько не поменяется. Будет в кадре бегать Петя или Маша или Джокер, смысл не поменяется. Expand
1 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
0
JaaganOct 15, 2019
The Joker
1 of 17 users found this helpful116
All this user's reviews
3
ebelivetOct 8, 2019
Inutilmente manierista. Il regista ha vinto per il.solo fatto di avervi fatto vredere che sia un capolavoro cosa che non è. Insopportabile tutto questo type di fronte a qualcosa di normale.
1 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
2
AaronB232Oct 11, 2019
Not very interesting. Cant see why people say its a great movie. Dont get me wrong it was good but only at the end of the movie.
1 of 18 users found this helpful117
All this user's reviews
2
MikeskOct 10, 2019
Movie that pays too much attention to psycho. Not much of good role models, and a lot of bad models. It is promotion of bad character traits.
1 of 19 users found this helpful118
All this user's reviews
3
AvodeskormOct 9, 2019
You're straight-up lying to anyone and yourself if you say "This is my favorite movie." Either that or you haven't seen enough movies to know how unimaginative the direction, cinematography, writing, acting, etc. is. Joaquin Phoenix isYou're straight-up lying to anyone and yourself if you say "This is my favorite movie." Either that or you haven't seen enough movies to know how unimaginative the direction, cinematography, writing, acting, etc. is. Joaquin Phoenix is overrated. I'm gonna go watch Taxi Driver again, to rinse Joker from my conscious memory. Expand
1 of 20 users found this helpful119
All this user's reviews
3
ishan139Oct 7, 2019
Everyone is talking about nominating Joaquin phoenix for Oscar but he has not done anything great apart from brayying and delivering flat dialogues. No one can replace Heath ledger's performance! The story doesn't have much to surprise youEveryone is talking about nominating Joaquin phoenix for Oscar but he has not done anything great apart from brayying and delivering flat dialogues. No one can replace Heath ledger's performance! The story doesn't have much to surprise you and infact there is no story at all. It is all about narcissism, gluttony and psychofanaticism. Expand
1 of 24 users found this helpful123
All this user's reviews
0
AaronJupiterOct 11, 2019
Joker is a mirror of our society. A movie as empty and meaningless as a stupid Neo-Nazi glorifying violence. I am disgusted.
3 of 102 users found this helpful399
All this user's reviews
2
NekatorOct 15, 2019
Horrible dissapointment as a Batman or Comic movie at all... in the end it´s a mediocre, overhyped drama about a sick psycho loser.
0 of 8 users found this helpful08
All this user's reviews
0
coolunmeOct 21, 2019
Complete trash and a total downer. This movie has absolutely no redeeming qualities. Just more patriarchal hatred for women. Its a 2 hour therapy session with laughing fits. So fed up with pu**y hollywood writers and their mommy issues. F*ck off!
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
3
thabudOct 7, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Greatly shot greatly acted but the plot becomes horrid after first half, basically becomes a comicbook movie :) Expand
0 of 15 users found this helpful015
All this user's reviews
3
kirkenderOct 20, 2019
Nope. Joker is a mish-mash of all sorts of other, better, movies and themes. It's painfully unaware of it's woefully ignorant political and cultural nature. It thinks it's art masquerading as a superhero villain origin story, but it's just anNope. Joker is a mish-mash of all sorts of other, better, movies and themes. It's painfully unaware of it's woefully ignorant political and cultural nature. It thinks it's art masquerading as a superhero villain origin story, but it's just an uninformed mess. Mental health, Abuse, Violence, Bullying are all topics it fails to understand, instead relying on cliches and tired white male drama. Oh, a supervillain is created from an abusive home, some bullying, and the loss of a job? Then everyone would be a supervillain, eff off. Joaquin Phoenix is a complete mess, not able to keep his own interpretation consistent from moment to moment in the same scene. It's a painful wreck, and offensive to anyone who's ever actually dealt with mental health and/or abuse issues. In the back of my mind I feel like this was the first movie written by an AI computer program. Utter trash. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
1
Samy7Oct 7, 2019
Glorifying a SuperVillain isnt OK. DCEU is the worst. Its trying to pull strings to keep itself alive. Heath Will always be the best potryal of Joker. Withput the Obvious Glorification.
0 of 25 users found this helpful025
All this user's reviews
1
Please22Oct 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A manifest in the heroism of victimhood. The darkest and most depressing political statement i have ever seen in a theatre. Yoakim was great as was cinematography but not enough to see. Finally hollywood has no problem with gratuitous gun violence as long as it agianst white men in suits. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews