Warner Bros. | Release Date: October 3, 2019
9.0
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 6827 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
6,245
Mixed:
311
Negative:
271
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
2
SimplereviewsMay 17, 2020
Not so good. poopy m. fans never watch anything but action movies and super hero films. When they see a film like joker break the mold they think it’s a god tier movie. In reality it’s a bear bones take on an indie movie. That has simpleNot so good. poopy m. fans never watch anything but action movies and super hero films. When they see a film like joker break the mold they think it’s a god tier movie. In reality it’s a bear bones take on an indie movie. That has simple themes that people think “big brain” too much joker 7/10 Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
TheFrogMay 18, 2020
What a huge disappointment, I was expecting so much more!
The movie sets out to sell me a point that's already sold, namely that a society that forgets and marginalizes have-nots is a bad idea, even leaving ethics alone. People robbed of all
What a huge disappointment, I was expecting so much more!
The movie sets out to sell me a point that's already sold, namely that a society that forgets and marginalizes have-nots is a bad idea, even leaving ethics alone. People robbed of all hope and with nothing to lose, will not play by the rules, it's something Dickens made crystal clear in "A Tale of Two Cities" almost two centuries ago.
And yet the protagonist almost manages to sway me towards the despicable Thomas Wayne's selfish, paternalistic plutocracy. Fortuna may be Imperatrix Mundi, but you are rarely completely powerless in the face of events. Arthur is unlucky, but not as much as he thinks. Just like you are not fit to be an angel for Victoria's Secret if you are an obese, ugly, middle-aged man, you are not fit to be a stand-up comedian if you are a tragically unfunny guy, with a condition that makes you break up in laughter at the worst possible moment. Wanna make one of those schmaltzy, inspirational movies about pursuing a dream in the face of adversity? Well, the people in those, WORK HARD to fulfil their dream. Arthur does absolutely nothing but wallow in excessive self-pity, while smoking one cigarette after the other after the other after the other after the other... does he accept any job to make ends meet, while perfecting his act? Oh noes, that would be sooo below him. He's "made to spread joy onto the world", so he should be handed his dream on a plate. And hey, he's too busy pitying himself to get a new job, after he lost the one he had because of *his* incredible stupidity. But no, it's not his fault, right? It's society's, and mainly rich people's, so he's perfectly right in spending his days crying and smoking and laughing maniacally.
Really, I'm so angry that a perfectly valid message gets wasted this way! If you really are interested in some good and lucid social analysis, I suggest you watch something by Ken Loach, it's a world apart in quality.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
FanDeMike13Jun 14, 2020
The only thing salvageable is Phoenix's performance. The rest is great disappointment
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
dallas82288Jul 19, 2020
So sitting through this movie in theaters was horrible I checked my watch several times hoping this would end, kept waiting for it to get better, then FINALLY the credits rolled. To call this a movie is ridiculous I have seen straight toSo sitting through this movie in theaters was horrible I checked my watch several times hoping this would end, kept waiting for it to get better, then FINALLY the credits rolled. To call this a movie is ridiculous I have seen straight to DVDs better than this steaming pile of garbage nothing redeeming about it at all. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
KenRAug 6, 2020
How easily pleased have people become? When a ‘major’ movie is this simplistic and obviously just another copy of many other overrated downers – it leaves someone needing to explain how this nonsense then goes on to rate a ridiculous 11 OscarHow easily pleased have people become? When a ‘major’ movie is this simplistic and obviously just another copy of many other overrated downers – it leaves someone needing to explain how this nonsense then goes on to rate a ridiculous 11 Oscar nominations? Who can truly take the Oscars seriously any longer? Joker is a typical super-ugly, comic book R Rated serial killer story - which grinds its endless way through non-stop, grotesque situations of the most maudlin kind. We’ve already seen this character (somewhat over-played by Phoenix) far too many times in the past. Even the dark, sleazy settings don’t invite interest, and has left many viewers wanting it all to end quickly but no, it drags on for over two hours, feeling painfully more like three. Then there’s the casting of an over-used De Niro, intended to help capitalise on some of those ‘gangster- obsessed’ Scorsese offerings. Many paid to see this over-hyped lowbrow tosh, expecting to experience a masterpiece - only to wish they could get back their time and money for better use. If uninspired morbidity is your thing, you’ll get a bellyful – otherwise, stay well away and watch this junk fade into the obscurity it deserves, hopefully, along with the copycat movie makers. The final images this movie creates of carnage on the streets of America, looks more like the sorry, robotic BLM mayhem that’s reducing the USA to a decaying mess. Just what the CCP and others would be quite happy to see – Civil War. Such a pitiful shame and a sick joke. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
DanielpveAug 20, 2020
Dumb movie for dumb people. There's nothing about this thing that is actually interesting or "deep", and the worst thing is that it's not even entertaining
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
jaredwallace91Feb 9, 2020
Even from an art standpoint this movie doesn't hold up much. It has nothing new to say for commentary on society and adds nothing new to the Joker story.
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
BRJacobsFeb 10, 2020
I am sick and tired of people praising this garbage film. It's just Taxi Driver and Kings of Comedy frankensteined together. This is the Joker, we should not feel bad for the Joker, this was a chance for DC to make a real villain focusedI am sick and tired of people praising this garbage film. It's just Taxi Driver and Kings of Comedy frankensteined together. This is the Joker, we should not feel bad for the Joker, this was a chance for DC to make a real villain focused movie where we truly see a mans fall to madness. This guy is a whiny loser who doesn't like people being mean to him. The score is not good, it's obnoxious. The dance scenes are so on the nose with its oscar baiting that it's embarrassing. How about make Phoenix do some real blood curdling acting to win an oscar, but nope, we need dance sequences. Todd Philips made a mediocre, boring film that only succeeded because it had the greatest comic villains name on it. Shame on people for calling this quality when all it is, is recycled stories from great filmmakers who had to actually work for their classics. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
Movie_FreakMay 17, 2020
Should have won the razzie award for worst picture. Pointless, lame, and just a time-wasting film
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
0
Alucard--------Jun 19, 2020
I went into this film expecting an all-time classic based on the reviews I had read & what I ended up watching was just a decent film overall. Phoenix is outstanding...so he definitely did his part. But I feel like if you've seen the trailersI went into this film expecting an all-time classic based on the reviews I had read & what I ended up watching was just a decent film overall. Phoenix is outstanding...so he definitely did his part. But I feel like if you've seen the trailers you've seen the movie because the best way I can describe this film is it feels like a 2 hour version of the trailer. At 2 hours it's a relatively common runtime, but it felt a lot longer...which isn't good. I'd say this is much more of a rental than a theater movie. Kinda just....eh. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
0
ShadownixJun 26, 2020
Very bad movie, the movie doesn't make sense, everything happens in favor of the protagonist. Also it has nothing to do with the joker
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
2
Hawk321Apr 10, 2020
Not a good movie YET !
Perhaps the movie will become good if I can watch all (potential) successors of it once.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
CTACekMay 8, 2020
одни сопли со всех щелей,как и все последние фильмы.Вот Хит Леджер был шикарный джокер,про его историю и надо было снимать,а не это
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
Willcz1Sep 15, 2020
I watched this when it first came out. It sucked then but I never reviewed it. This isn't a review just my opinion. Joker stunk note Phoenix's performance salvages this movie. Boring! I want to know how this made a billion dollars and so manyI watched this when it first came out. It sucked then but I never reviewed it. This isn't a review just my opinion. Joker stunk note Phoenix's performance salvages this movie. Boring! I want to know how this made a billion dollars and so many good reviews? I typically love most comic book movies but not Joker. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
GuizinFeb 8, 2020
Except for Phoenix's actuation and the responsibility of DC and Warner Bros. to bring us a good movie (cinematographic quality), this is garbage. I totally agree with the review of The New York Times: it's incoherence and violence for free.
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
0
Abydos6Dec 6, 2019
Saw this in theatres. You could switch the name of this movie to Arthur and it wouldn’t change anything about how lacking this movie was of anything to do with DC’s Joker villain. It was a story about a villain who excelled at one thing andSaw this in theatres. You could switch the name of this movie to Arthur and it wouldn’t change anything about how lacking this movie was of anything to do with DC’s Joker villain. It was a story about a villain who excelled at one thing and that was to COMPLAIN. The character was absent of the ingenuity and dark cunning that are the fundamental characteristics that make its famous anti-hero the Joker. The characters story is all nearly encased in the typical socialist narrative to appeal to modern popular ideology. I don’t know what this movie was but if you are looking to enjoy the cunning genius shared by the greats like Heath Ledger and Mark Hamill you won’t find it in this movie. Just an empty prettied up nobody with flashy dance moves and a running mouth. Expand
4 of 10 users found this helpful46
All this user's reviews
0
DanielSigFeb 11, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A waste of my time. I expected a movie about a supervillain with warped ideas about society that loves trolling everyone, you know, something more akin to the actual Joker. Instead I got a movie about an insane beta-male nobody that has no existential purpose and therefore has nothing to lose when he decides to level up and become a homicidal insane beta-male nobody. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
foss1kNov 24, 2019
havent seen worst joker then this one. The creators neglected his cleverness, dangerous and other things. I hoped to see how a guy will become the most dangerous criminal in Gotham. but what i've seen. Some guy with laugh disorder kills fewhavent seen worst joker then this one. The creators neglected his cleverness, dangerous and other things. I hoped to see how a guy will become the most dangerous criminal in Gotham. but what i've seen. Some guy with laugh disorder kills few people and gets to madhouse beacause of because of resentment of surrounding world. Just weak guy. yeah there's a story but you've forgotten who joker is!!! I'd prefer 10th time rewatch Dark Knight instead of this long story of nothing which make me feel sorry for main charachter... This is not Joker. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
3
JakeHyleJan 4, 2020
This takes the idea of darker, gritter, 'more realistic' version of DC characters that we saw with the with the Christopher Nolan Batman movies to a pointless extreme. "Joker" strips everything away from what makes this character the Joker,This takes the idea of darker, gritter, 'more realistic' version of DC characters that we saw with the with the Christopher Nolan Batman movies to a pointless extreme. "Joker" strips everything away from what makes this character the Joker, and leaves nothing but a mentally unstable and angry person from which to make a movie about. If this move wasn't titled Joker you would never even know it's about Batman's nemesis. Boring, Over indulgent, pretentious. A single actor cant save this movie. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
tdebugJan 7, 2020
This is one rare case when I mostly agree with critics. Unfortunately I found this movie quite dull and artificial. Sure Batman movies are all fairy-tail type of stories, but we know that and that what it makes the story special. Joker isThis is one rare case when I mostly agree with critics. Unfortunately I found this movie quite dull and artificial. Sure Batman movies are all fairy-tail type of stories, but we know that and that what it makes the story special. Joker is pretending to be real story which is dark and unpleasant to see most of the time. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
3
Alex79ukNov 29, 2019
The Joker is my favorite cartoon character, but this movie doesn't do him justice. It doesn't feel like it's about the actual Joker, it's more like it was made by people who don't understand Joker and never read the actual comics. They wantedThe Joker is my favorite cartoon character, but this movie doesn't do him justice. It doesn't feel like it's about the actual Joker, it's more like it was made by people who don't understand Joker and never read the actual comics. They wanted to make something for a mainstream audience. So they cast some old actor who was terrible for the role and tried to make the Joker something he never was. They should have cast Jared Leto, who had already proven himsef as the perfect Joker. But Leto probably read the script and noped out. Can't really blame him.. Expand
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
1
gothicm3rcyNov 26, 2019
The film, in a nutshell, shows what people are as a society. Its a cheap trick. Phoenix's ridiculous overacting lets people see depth that doesnt exist. People watch the film thinking iits about some madman dancing to music created byThe film, in a nutshell, shows what people are as a society. Its a cheap trick. Phoenix's ridiculous overacting lets people see depth that doesnt exist. People watch the film thinking iits about some madman dancing to music created by pedophile gary glitter.... its simply a cash grab. Looking for depth of a character with a ridiculous laugh..... and attempting to call iself "deep".
This is definately a movie for 2019......where so many sheep exist.... but for some reason, see themselves as "individual thinkers"... This is absolutely a terrible film..... Its a shame so many people fell for its indoctrination
Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
0
JordiRomijn1234Feb 14, 2020
This is a very bad movie, i don't like it. e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e e
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
3
SarahWillaimsonNov 5, 2019
This movie is not as original as people are claiming, there have been a number of films like it which are much better most notably Taxi Driver and the King of Comedy. I'm assuming most of the people claiming this to be the best film ever haveThis movie is not as original as people are claiming, there have been a number of films like it which are much better most notably Taxi Driver and the King of Comedy. I'm assuming most of the people claiming this to be the best film ever have seen little more than comic book superhero movies and big-budget popular film series, therefore I understand why this film may seem different but hopefully, this allows these people to see more films and realize how good the art of filmmaking can be . Expand
3 of 12 users found this helpful39
All this user's reviews
0
MetaMetalDec 17, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This film is a malignant tumor on the collective psyche of society. I left the film feeling violated and disgusted. The only message this film sends is that the world is cold, cruel and uncaring and everyone in it is TERRIBLE. The plot is poorly constructed, the characters (ALL without exception) are flat, two dimensional and amoral. The rich are all insensitive pigs, and the poor are filthy, violent anarchists. No one has to take responsibility for their actions, because everyone else is to blame. The mental illness is poorly developed, he's supposed to be a vulnerable narcissist with some variation of tourette's, but instead he portrays as a schizophrenic with flat effect. Joaquin in this film has none of the Joker's infamous charisma or confidence. Instead he's portrayed as pathetic, grotesque and detestable. Furthermore, in this film the Joker is mentally, developmentally challenged, none of the Joker's ingenuity or wit. The whole film translates as a sob story told by a creatively challenged man. Maybe this whole film was supposed to be a sob story told to the psychiatrist, that would make it slightly less awful than it is. But not by a lot. This film is emotionally, narratively and cinematically flat. Expand
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
3
SootballJan 12, 2020
Joaquin Phoenix did a stellar job conveying crazy, but the weak & predictable writing disabled my ability to suspend disbelief as the movie slogged through the same formula ad nauseam. A series of unfortunate events and the resulting heavyJoaquin Phoenix did a stellar job conveying crazy, but the weak & predictable writing disabled my ability to suspend disbelief as the movie slogged through the same formula ad nauseam. A series of unfortunate events and the resulting heavy handed depiction of "crazy" got dull fast, leading up to an ending that made little sense in the context of the first half of this film. Would not watch again. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
pjonssonFeb 19, 2020
This is going to be one of those posts where I go against the mainstream but my reaction when I watched this movie was: You got to be f… kidding me?

The only resemblance to the REAL joker in this movie is the name. As far as I am concerned
This is going to be one of those posts where I go against the mainstream but my reaction when I watched this movie was: You got to be f… kidding me?

The only resemblance to the REAL joker in this movie is the name. As far as I am concerned this movie is an insult to the fans of Batman and the REAL Joker.

The “Joker” in this move is a unintelligent deranged nutcase. There is a sob story in the background about how he became that way which is totally uninteresting.

The REAL joker is a intelligent criminal mastermind. I was waiting for this nutcase to actually become that for the entire movie. Spoiler alert, it never happened! This guy starts as a useless sobbing nutcase and he ends the movie as the same useless sobbing nutcase.

The movie has NOTHING to do with the real Joker. It is a blatant attempt to garner support for a unrelated psychopathic thriller by using the Joker name. If it would have been advertised as such I probably would have, if not liked it, so at least appreciated it for it’s qualities. It is indeed a well done movie technically and the main character is indeed excellently performed.

However, even if I try to distance myself from the deceitful Joker label, I find it overall boring, too long and really a movie about a psychopath probably made by someone with mental issues himself. But then that’s Hollywood today.

That the politically biased and elitist so called “critics” on sites like Rotten Tomatoes like it is not really surprising but I have to confess that I am somewhat surprised at the rave ratings by real viewers on some other sites.

Honestly, I was expecting to be disappointing by this movie. Then I am always cautious about movies getting rave reviews, especially from the previously mentioned totally useless and crappy “review” site. I did not expect this level of disappointment though. Epic fail as far as I am concerned.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
KitobSep 29, 2020
This movie had a plot that drags, I saw this movie in the theater and was very disappointed Joaquins laugh was cringeworthy, this was a boring character study that amounted to nothing, there was no point to any of this and it’s disrespectfulThis movie had a plot that drags, I saw this movie in the theater and was very disappointed Joaquins laugh was cringeworthy, this was a boring character study that amounted to nothing, there was no point to any of this and it’s disrespectful to even compare this Joker to Heath Ledger. The people saying this was a good movie must have never seen any of the classics Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
2
Maziyar_1366Nov 28, 2019
A miss understood of batman world. Welcome joker to real world!!! He is a modrate director with money hungry. If he was making a film, it would be so...
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
2
MarcoV246Dec 6, 2019
It’s not that good, wish it was better. Script was weak and dialogue was cliche
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
0
jaquez84Oct 6, 2019
If you are looking at this film as an extreme warning against ignoring the struggles of everyday life and of ignoring struggles of people with mental disabilities then congratulations.

As a film, as a piece of art meant to entertain, this
If you are looking at this film as an extreme warning against ignoring the struggles of everyday life and of ignoring struggles of people with mental disabilities then congratulations.

As a film, as a piece of art meant to entertain, this was a joke. Pun completely intended.

The joker some how manages to be as boring as a movie as it is twisted. Even the darkest parts of the film fall flat because of its sedated pace. Even if you are trying to make a statement, your film still has to be good. You don’t get a pass on being entertaining for the sake of having a message. I know pretentious people will claim the movie was entertaining in an attempt to be deep. The only person who could genuinely like this film is Joaquin Phoenix playing Arthur Fleck playing Arthur Fleck. I would say people struggling to find someway to like this movie is a whole lot more dangerous than monotony.

As as a score I give this a slow shot to the head full of regret. More valuable than the price of the ticket, is the time spent watching this movie and the several hours wondering why, how this could ever be made. I will never get back the time i’ve wasted back but hey “that’s life.”
Expand
13 of 66 users found this helpful1353
All this user's reviews
3
lascottlaOct 8, 2019
Joaquin Phoenix was the only good thing about this movie. Poor writing, awful directing and a god awful ending that feels like it’s written & directed by a 13 year old on his fifth Red Bull. The two clear conclusions I came to after watchingJoaquin Phoenix was the only good thing about this movie. Poor writing, awful directing and a god awful ending that feels like it’s written & directed by a 13 year old on his fifth Red Bull. The two clear conclusions I came to after watching this flick are that Joaquin Phoenix can give a solid performance in just about anything and that Todd Phillips is definitely NOT a good director. Expand
10 of 59 users found this helpful1049
All this user's reviews
0
sendaniDec 3, 2019
i donot love nolan movies , but after see the joker movie , now i am nolan fan ,joker its so bad. todd philips just normal director in hangover genre
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
alisasDec 16, 2019
superestimado, desenvolvimento lento, cenas desnecessárias, um completo nada cheio de críticas vazias e superficiais
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
3
conottOct 8, 2019
If I was the Joker, I'd want to murder the writer and director. I can't wait for all of the wannabe nerds to try to explain how deep this shallow try-hard attempt at filmmaking was by Todd Phillips, and somehow not just a complete mess of aIf I was the Joker, I'd want to murder the writer and director. I can't wait for all of the wannabe nerds to try to explain how deep this shallow try-hard attempt at filmmaking was by Todd Phillips, and somehow not just a complete mess of a movie. Joaquin Phoenix was it's only saving grace. His performance and technique were solid, but the writing was hot garbage and the direction was absolutely terrible. Just laugh-out-loud awful at times. Over-stylized, heavy-handed, and took itself WAY too seriously given the low competency of writing/directing behind this production. I feel bad for Phoenix to have been attached to a steaming pile like this. Oh well. Despite Joker being a critical failure, at least Jouquin will probably still have a big payday with comic book culture being as devoted as it is. Expand
8 of 49 users found this helpful841
All this user's reviews
3
JlealOct 5, 2019
The movie is vapid in its own special way. It asks you to dissect it while you watch, and then simultaneously punishes you for looking for depth. If you want a movie about a guy going insane because of society, just watch Taxi Driver, ToddThe movie is vapid in its own special way. It asks you to dissect it while you watch, and then simultaneously punishes you for looking for depth. If you want a movie about a guy going insane because of society, just watch Taxi Driver, Todd Philips obviously did. Expand
7 of 45 users found this helpful738
All this user's reviews
0
KubatheLostOct 31, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The music, cinematography, and the lead actor were incredible! The plot, pacing, and the idea that this was so supposed to be the Joker is the real joke here. Practically nothing was portrayed correctly in this movie from the comics or even other films or cartoons, and all that could be forgiven if they at least captured the essence of the character however they did not. He was never really funny (even though comedy is subjective as Arthur states himself) he isn't really a criminal he just kind of stumbles and fumbles through every situation, and most importantly he wasn't smart or conniving. This is supposed to the legendary, the infamous, the iconic villain of Batman in the future? A weak, pathetic, mentally ill clown that can't even keep a job or take care of his mother. Everything is handed to this character through plot driven circumstances. Oh the crowd just happens to get riled up just in time so he can slip through and meet Thomas Wayne. He didn't rile up the crowd, or plan a diversion how did he get a service outfit to blend in? Oh it was just laying around in a service closet just his size. The real Joker is smart and that is what allows him to go to to toe with the greatest detective of all time. He doesn't just get the luckiest circumstances in the world and just happens to beat Batman. He plans and schemes and puts on a show and actually knows how to be funny if he wants to be. The only reason I think this has good reviews is because my generation doesn't know the characters, and joaquin phoenix is an amazing artist bringing the role he was told to play to life. If this was a random movie about a random clown with mental illness and tragic story it would be a decent movie. As a movie supposedly portraying the Joker it was the worst movie DC has made so far. It was a movie made is if they don't understand their own character or why he is even so iconic or infamous in the first place. Sincerely a huge Joker fan Expand
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
0
batuuOct 31, 2019
This movie is so boring and not innovative. people gets hype that is all. There is nothing about with Joker's origin. Joker has mental illness. Not a 'like we all know' criminal mastermind.
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
1
LucasMoltoOct 22, 2019
Awful movie. Just misery porn 4 upper class airheads. Absolutamente torpe, abyecto y carente de sentido del humor.
3 of 20 users found this helpful317
All this user's reviews
0
CrimsonFlushOct 3, 2019
Remake of Taxi Driver with clown makeup, Phoenix acting can't save this hollow husk of a movie. Would have been better as an off broadway single man performance with just Phoenix on stage for 2 hours ranting an raving about how terrible lifeRemake of Taxi Driver with clown makeup, Phoenix acting can't save this hollow husk of a movie. Would have been better as an off broadway single man performance with just Phoenix on stage for 2 hours ranting an raving about how terrible life has treated him. Expand
11 of 75 users found this helpful1164
All this user's reviews
0
Sam-CollinsOct 5, 2019
One word..
Pathetic.
This movie is an insult for The Joker characters and to DC Comics fans! Seriously.. Do you think that The Prince of Crime of Gotham city needs your sympathy!
9 of 63 users found this helpful954
All this user's reviews
1
emanresUOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Let me start by saying that Joaquin Phoenix did an amazing job at portraying an unnerving malnourished mess. The movie even did a terrific job at transporting us to 1970s crumbling Gotham city gripped in turmoil.

However, the movie failed to portray any resemblance of Joker and seemingly attempted to justify his extremist violent behavior.

If any resemblance of the real joker were in this movie it would have been something fairly small that would have caused him to crack or perhaps he would have started killing just for the hell of it. The monster that is joker would've seeded protests, manipulated the police against the protesters, and ultimately incited chaos in some genius orchestration just to counterbalance justice...

That's not Arthur. Arthur seems to be a character on the surface that might have been plucked from Clockwork Orange, Falling Down, or Taxi Driver... but he's actually something new. you see none of those potential inspirations repeatedly make a defense or justification for the characters decent. The movie repeatedly attempts (unsuccessfully) to garner sympathy for Arthur. first off it's not his fault as he is mentally I'll die to a brain injury he sustained as an abused child. he's next repeatedly bullied throughout the movie. the state then cuts off his medical supplies due to budget cuts. he becomes delusional off his meds and starts to fall deeper through the cracks whilst accidentally inspiring class warfare that parallels the occupy movement in its adoption of a symbolic mask and anger against wealth inequality. He finally becomes "the joker" giving a speech about how general society never thinks about what the bad guy might be going through (please don't try to make me feel for the criminally insane) and how society failed him and he was only brought on the show to be bullied. he then shoots the host and the protesters turn to violent rioters.

in short the cold calculating jokers have all been replaced by a fumbling mentally ill sad victim. the movie seems to attempt justification for violent incels while villainizing the disgruntled lower class. for a hero movie it had some warped political narratives embedded.

As I said though... Phoenix was amazing.
Expand
7 of 49 users found this helpful742
All this user's reviews
3
kirkenderOct 20, 2019
Nope. Joker is a mish-mash of all sorts of other, better, movies and themes. It's painfully unaware of it's woefully ignorant political and cultural nature. It thinks it's art masquerading as a superhero villain origin story, but it's just anNope. Joker is a mish-mash of all sorts of other, better, movies and themes. It's painfully unaware of it's woefully ignorant political and cultural nature. It thinks it's art masquerading as a superhero villain origin story, but it's just an uninformed mess. Mental health, Abuse, Violence, Bullying are all topics it fails to understand, instead relying on cliches and tired white male drama. Oh, a supervillain is created from an abusive home, some bullying, and the loss of a job? Then everyone would be a supervillain, eff off. Joaquin Phoenix is a complete mess, not able to keep his own interpretation consistent from moment to moment in the same scene. It's a painful wreck, and offensive to anyone who's ever actually dealt with mental health and/or abuse issues. In the back of my mind I feel like this was the first movie written by an AI computer program. Utter trash. Expand
3 of 21 users found this helpful318
All this user's reviews
1
Cevans1855Nov 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. People keep saying this is a phenomenal portrayal of people with mental health problems. It’s not it’s damaging and not like any people I’ve come across. The vast majority of people who have been hurt in childhood and suffered trauma do not hurt anyone. The only person they hurt are themselves because they struggle to deal with the trauma they have and they are often not getting the support they need. To suggest trauma means you can go crazy and commit horrific crimes is rare and unfair to people with mental health issues. The film is also boring. Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
2
LamontRaymondOct 3, 2019
I have no idea what the jurors at Venice were smoking when they picked Joker for their grand prize because this sucker is a snore-fest, from beginning to end. There’s nothing exciting about it – there’s only a modicum of violence (if youI have no idea what the jurors at Venice were smoking when they picked Joker for their grand prize because this sucker is a snore-fest, from beginning to end. There’s nothing exciting about it – there’s only a modicum of violence (if you want violence in a much better movie, go see the latest Rambo). And Phoenix doesn’t hold a candle to Heath Ledger’s Joker. I mean, in that movie, there’s a palpable sense of dread throughout. You could cut the tension with a knife. This one? It’s just there. Inert. Tedious. I checked my watch maybe 4 times, which is bad. Whoever has been calling this movie “dangerous”, or a movie of its time…. Please. I’d love to see a movie in which people so fed up over political talk all day and all night go out and cause mayhem. There’s nothing remotely like that here. And let me take a moment to call out DeNiro. He’s entirely mis-cast. What’s more, he totally mailed this performance in. Maybe he saved his best (or even “good”) stuff for The Irishman. The only really good performance in this film is by the actress from Atlanta. Actually, Paperboy from Atlanta is also very good in a tiny role. I was pumped up to see this – what a letdown. Now let’s bring on the quality – The Lighthouse, Parasite, and Marriage Story. Expand
12 of 89 users found this helpful1277
All this user's reviews
3
ExploganOct 4, 2019
Phoenix acts his ass off and does a great job, but the film itself is pretentious garbage with nothing to say. It was like a film school major saying "LOOK HOW DEEP I AM" while shouting talking points and not following any of them up withPhoenix acts his ass off and does a great job, but the film itself is pretentious garbage with nothing to say. It was like a film school major saying "LOOK HOW DEEP I AM" while shouting talking points and not following any of them up with context. Like they throw out buzzwords about the mental health system, antipsychotics being bad, the majority vs the 1% etc and just doesn't really say anything or follow through on any of the ideas. Hope you like slow motion 'dancing' because there's a lot of it here. Expand
8 of 60 users found this helpful852
All this user's reviews
0
kmlthrNov 2, 2019
I can't understand all the fuss made about this movie, it didn't go to my expectations, it's more of a drama than a comedy, it's trying so hard to make sense, but it just cant, i didn't like the two personalities switching : Joker must onlyI can't understand all the fuss made about this movie, it didn't go to my expectations, it's more of a drama than a comedy, it's trying so hard to make sense, but it just cant, i didn't like the two personalities switching : Joker must only be Joker, not some crazy who doesn't know how to speak, joker can play with people's minds, he is a player, not some crazy criminal killing people just like that for no reason Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
0
BroyaxFeb 23, 2020
Ce type-là, ce clochard, ce pauvre hère lamentable, ce simple maniaco-dépressif est censé... être... le fameux, l'illustre Joker ?! les bras m'en tombent ! mais de toute façon, c'est quoi ce film social à la mords-moi-le-noeud où il ne seCe type-là, ce clochard, ce pauvre hère lamentable, ce simple maniaco-dépressif est censé... être... le fameux, l'illustre Joker ?! les bras m'en tombent ! mais de toute façon, c'est quoi ce film social à la mords-moi-le-noeud où il ne se passe strictement... rien ? à part une sorte de soubresaut au bout d'une heure et demi... et encore !

C'est quoi ce misérabilisme à deux balles ? franchement, ça fait pitié, le Joker fait pitié, tout le film fait pitié... et c'est carrément insultant pour le personnage lui-même qui n'avait jamais demandé pareil traitement... Non, le Joker, c'est Nicholson dans Batman : frappadingue, taré, excentrique, drôle, cinglé, très dangereux et le genre de type qui a du charisme à revendre dans sa folie psychotique...

Ce n'est pas cette larve qu'on constate et voit et méprise dans ce pseudo-film psychodramatique qui se regarde le nombril à dormir debout pendant deux heures ! non seulement, c'est chiant mais c'est surtout carrément insultant pour l'un des meilleurs méchants de la culture populaire.

Ce film, cet ersatz de film n'a absolument aucun intérêt et le gars Phoenix s'est avili et ridiculisé là-dedans comme un pauvre tocard. Totale perte de temps.
Expand
2 of 15 users found this helpful213
All this user's reviews
1
jokersucksOct 7, 2019
I want to know which movie all these users went to because this movie sucked royally. I would have rather sat in my car outside the movie theater for 2.5 hours staring at a bush. I will say that Joaquin Phoenix did a good job being a nut jobI want to know which movie all these users went to because this movie sucked royally. I would have rather sat in my car outside the movie theater for 2.5 hours staring at a bush. I will say that Joaquin Phoenix did a good job being a nut job but that's as far as this goes. I wish I could get my $75 back along with the time. I feel like a poor excuse of a father after subjecting my teenage such to such a **** factory of a flick. Damn you Rave cinema for not having 3 seats together for IT. Damn you to hell! Expand
5 of 38 users found this helpful533
All this user's reviews
1
EtykutOct 8, 2019
Simply boring.

Uninspired social commentary, with half baked ideas and little to keep the audience engaged. Sadly there is little reason to see this film - the entirety of its nuances and messages (which in principle would be interesting)
Simply boring.

Uninspired social commentary, with half baked ideas and little to keep the audience engaged. Sadly there is little reason to see this film - the entirety of its nuances and messages (which in principle would be interesting) may be experienced in the trailer.
Expand
5 of 39 users found this helpful534
All this user's reviews
0
Archer6065Oct 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie sucked was a wasted of time. Save your money and eat more chicken Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
3
UrikaiOct 30, 2019
How it's possible that a mental disorder ends in a brilliant, creative and funny criminal mind?
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
3
blacksunNov 11, 2019
Yes, Joaquin Phoenix is a great actor. Also, the direction and cinematography in this films is very good. But what's the takeaway here? The Joker is crazy. Yeah, we know. We knew that already. Joaquin Phoenix is a good actor? Yeah we knewYes, Joaquin Phoenix is a great actor. Also, the direction and cinematography in this films is very good. But what's the takeaway here? The Joker is crazy. Yeah, we know. We knew that already. Joaquin Phoenix is a good actor? Yeah we knew that also. If anything, it's an essay on mental illness. At a time when we need more compassion and resources towards mental illness, the film shocks the viewer in to out-right fearing it. Sure, maybe that's not the intention, but that's the result. Or maybe it's just a movie about a comic book character and I shouldn't take it so literally. Either way, it's not something I'd recommend to people, and I won't watch it again. In the end, it's just not fun. Go watch one of the many other (superior) Joaquin Phoenix films instead. Expand
1 of 8 users found this helpful17
All this user's reviews
0
shraddhapagrawaOct 4, 2019
Director failed miserably, it lacked plot. Only the acting was good of phoenix but director let down badly. It lacked logic. Its not dark
8 of 65 users found this helpful857
All this user's reviews
0
PanhalimOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Joker is boring and ruin ur day don’t watch u will leave the theather that what I have to say about this film Expand
5 of 41 users found this helpful536
All this user's reviews
0
kkletaOct 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. only the part he killed his friend and let other one go is good. otherwise it is a complete trash. Expand
5 of 41 users found this helpful536
All this user's reviews
0
Xero2814Oct 4, 2019
Boring and uninspired. Just watch the better films that this is trying to be.
8 of 66 users found this helpful858
All this user's reviews
1
YossariansOct 11, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Silly, ridiculous, pretentious, trite film with great acting. It would have been better if they take it out the fact that Arthur became the Joker and just had him become a serial killer. Expand
4 of 33 users found this helpful429
All this user's reviews
0
willowpoopOct 3, 2019
This incel porn is neither provocative nor deep, but it certainly makes for good marketing via controversy.
10 of 84 users found this helpful1074
All this user's reviews
0
ZimkhxnOct 3, 2019
Here’s the thing, it fails too tell the story of the Joker, and this movie has really no purpose. Phoenix performance was good, but the rest of the movie is flat.
7 of 59 users found this helpful752
All this user's reviews
3
ImUrHuckleBerriOct 6, 2019
One of the few movies I have been too where I felt bored but held out hope for some excitement. There a couple scenes of excitement and that is purely it. No real action or excitement. While the plot goes through his history and how he cameOne of the few movies I have been too where I felt bored but held out hope for some excitement. There a couple scenes of excitement and that is purely it. No real action or excitement. While the plot goes through his history and how he came to be. It's just utterly empty and not interesting. I think Phoenix played the character they made greatly. It's just the writing and lack of intrigue and excitement is grossly lacking. Expand
4 of 36 users found this helpful432
All this user's reviews
2
Khalid43Oct 6, 2019
I was dissapointed, the hype for the movie was too much, i thought the film will be a great one, the only good thing is the acting, just that
4 of 36 users found this helpful432
All this user's reviews
0
BlancobuffaloJan 9, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Far and away the most overrated film of our time. The writing is terrible and pretentious. Joaquin Phoenix is my favorite actor and this is by far his worst performance ever. It's just one long joke at the expense of anyone who paid to see this. Expand
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
0
CarlosSrFeb 1, 2020
Worst garbage movie I have ever seen.
I don't understand the good reviews. Probably paid reviewers.
One and a half hours into the movie and it is dragging and dragging. So boring ans senseless it is not even funny.
1 of 9 users found this helpful18
All this user's reviews
3
CityOfGeekOct 3, 2019
A longer version of this review appears on my site.
If Todd Phillip’s Joker has anything going for it, it is an attempted down-to-earth take on super-villainy in a world we know will eventually be filled with spandex and superheroes, free
A longer version of this review appears on my site.
If Todd Phillip’s Joker has anything going for it, it is an attempted down-to-earth take on super-villainy in a world we know will eventually be filled with spandex and superheroes, free from the constraints and expectations of comic book trappings. This trash-strewn Gotham City of 1981 invokes a dirty, grimier period of cinema and city. In that end, Lawrence Sher’s cinematography nails the feel of the films the movies desperately wants to emulate. It’s far away from the cheery and essentially light MCU and it’s more dour than the much maligned other DC films, none of which really connect to Joker. This is fine. This is still Batman’s world, but not any version seen previously. In case you thought this stand on its own, there are many direct connections, all forced and inspiring everything from a “really” look to my eyes rolling hard.
Joker aka Arthur Fleck has no power in life except accidentally starting a revolution with shooting three Yuppies in self-defense. Stripping away the theatricality of the Clown to attempt to present a story of that One Bad Day that made the villain is a refreshing take. But, It is rather unnecessary. It’s been said that Joker is what it would look like if Scorsese tried his hand at a comic-book movie. Joker is someone who saw Scorsese films, particularly Taxi Driver and The King of Comedy but doesn’t understand why they work. As Scorsese often does, Joker presents a villain as a hero in his own story. His heroes are often far from good people. That’s why we love to watch Travis Bickle or Jordan Belfort. We get into the head of someone we cannot truly identify with as they tell us their actions are justified. But we also know teye aren’t. They are kept an arm’s distance away, with a level of satire or social-commentary. However, Joker leaves out the satire, presenting Fleck as a direct protagonist: a man who cracks after being broken by the system. He’s had enough, and society must crumble.One feels we’re meant to follow his action as justified and ultimately the “hero” Gotham needs and deserves. There is a kernel of truth and reason mixed in. The system fails those who need it most. Fleck loses access to his medication and social worker when the social worker’s entire department is closed for budget cuts. We live in a world where people in need, whether it be from mental illness, addiction, or poverty. These people keep finding their support cut off, and society then get upset with bad things happen.
This is lost in a mishmash of undercooked and misguided ideas. Fleck is a manifesto of the angry male loner. He works an underwhelming job as a party-clown. He lives with his mother in his forties. He desires the woman down the hall, but she barely knows his name – and considers him to be a threat. He’s told he creeps people out, and not to talk to their kids. He just can’t get a break. The whole world is against him, no one listens to him Everyone but his mother is the enemy. What’s worse, his actions are blamed on mental illness, directly stated in the climax, giving more backing to presenting the mentally ill as a threat rather than regular people.
Phoenix is forced to try to make a compelling performance from this. He’s a fantastic actor who gives care to his roles. He’s saddled with a script that gives little. He surely gives an interesting performance in the same way Jack Nicholson does as Jack in The Shining. Both of these are starting at 11, already lost-causes, two seconds away from violence. There is no arc. Performance wise they can be moved around their films with no difference in how they are behaving. The character’s an empty cipher meant for the viewer to pour into. For an origin story, there is precious little true backstory. A moment of abuse, a life-time of caring for his mother, and a mention of committal. Who is Fleck, really? Phillips doesn’t care. Joker is a tone-deaf film, providing either wrong-headed commentary directly or underdone ideas it feels are grander. Through all its pomp and anger and muddled messaging, Joker doesn’t work. It’s dull and repetitive, slogging on from one scene to another, powered by an awkward and on the nose script. Any time the hammer Phillips wields hits the nail, it is purely by accident. There are moments that almost work, where a glimmer of a good film shines through and where it almost feels poignant with something to actually say. But each time this occurs it’s soon lost in the weeds.
Expand
7 of 64 users found this helpful757
All this user's reviews
0
FarnamOct 4, 2019
This is a repetitive story. It just shows violence. When you watch the movie sometimes you will be tired...
7 of 64 users found this helpful757
All this user's reviews
0
skaz001Oct 6, 2019
A sickening movie with a great actor. If you like disturbing, ugly, sick storylines, here's the one for you. It portrays mental illness in a way that is very sad and untrue. Sick.
5 of 46 users found this helpful541
All this user's reviews
3
AvodeskormOct 9, 2019
You're straight-up lying to anyone and yourself if you say "This is my favorite movie." Either that or you haven't seen enough movies to know how unimaginative the direction, cinematography, writing, acting, etc. is. Joaquin Phoenix isYou're straight-up lying to anyone and yourself if you say "This is my favorite movie." Either that or you haven't seen enough movies to know how unimaginative the direction, cinematography, writing, acting, etc. is. Joaquin Phoenix is overrated. I'm gonna go watch Taxi Driver again, to rinse Joker from my conscious memory. Expand
3 of 28 users found this helpful325
All this user's reviews
3
NmiltonOct 13, 2019
To say that Todd Phillip’s ‘Joker’ is a dangerous movie is to give it too much credence, but it is a deeply offensive one. Ultimately, it’s just a silly superhero origin story, but it’s presented in such a ‘realist’ style, and so forcefully,To say that Todd Phillip’s ‘Joker’ is a dangerous movie is to give it too much credence, but it is a deeply offensive one. Ultimately, it’s just a silly superhero origin story, but it’s presented in such a ‘realist’ style, and so forcefully, that people might actually take it as a serious movie. It has all the style and surface veneer of a classic 1970s movie, as has been pointed out by numerous reviewers. Visually, it can’t be faulted for its cinematography. It’s the script and characterisation that are lacking. Nobody would go into a film based on a comic book expecting a serious character study, but, by tackling the genre in the style of such a movie, that is what you are falsely enticed to expect. Unfortunately, that is not what you get. The viewer is presented with a mentally ill man, living with his disabled mother, who becomes a deranged serial killer who incites mass violence. This could have been an in-depth psychological exploration of one man’s descent into the maelstrom, that gives the viewer some insight into how a corrupt and insensitive society can push a vulnerable individual over the edge, as those well-known seventies movies did to some extent. Such a narrative requires nuance, sensitivity, compassion and tact, or risk demonising the vulnerable. The very lack of any of the aforementioned does just that – it sets back the mentally ill fifty years or more. What we have here is a series of episodic vignettes – admittedly in the style of a comic book – in which, through a series of gross oversimplifications, the put-upon protagonist slowly loses his grip on reality and descends into graphic violence. Each prior vignette is treated in such a superficial manner that they serve merely as lame justification for the gory set pieces.

Joaquin Phoenix’s performance is intense and physical, but, in the absence of any human depth, proves to be nothing more than a leering caricature. Lingering, over-stylised shots of his manic posturing does not equate to a meaningful performance, however fully the actor has thrown himself into the part. Instead, when the movie reaches its riotous denouement, rather than a criticism of the society that led to his downfall, we are presented with a film that seems to celebrate and encourage the very ills that incites his violence. Points of comparison are ‘Assassination Nation’ and, to a lesser extent, ‘Spring Breakers’. It is this very confusion, simultaneously vilifying the vulnerable and championing them as an anarchic anti-hero, undercutting the capitalist ruling class, that serves to further stigmatise the mentally ill. At the risk of sounding alarmist, younger viewers - older teenagers and those in their early twenties - the very audience that such a film is aimed at, or anyone else with a naïve lack of understanding of mental health, for that matter, could come away from this movie with less empathy for the isolated and marginalised than they went in, thinking the film is cool, when it’s far from that. For that reason, it is reckless and misjudged, but what should we expect from the director of puerile frat movie ‘Old School’ and laddy stag film ‘The Hangover’?
Expand
2 of 19 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
1
emmavmmOct 13, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The ‘Joker’ is a disturbing movie. The storyline is easy to understand but there where a lot of inappropriate jokes. These jokes where for example: he just killed someone and he tells the other person that he’s a good guy and he will not get killed. Which made everything weird about the movie, also because people really thought it was funny. I think that it brings the wrong ideas to solve that problem (the rich stay rich, the poor stay poor).
The actors and visuals are really good. That made it seems very realistic and also grose because when he killed someone I couldn’t watch it. It’s very uncomfortable to watch and afterwards the feeling haunted me. It wasn’t like an horror movie that you’re scared and people also pass away, it was just very different than that. It gave a weird feeling because there are people at the moment that think like him, which is kind of scary. I do not recommend to watch it. If you do wanna watch it, I would wait until it airs on tv, that way you don’t spend your money on it.
Expand
2 of 20 users found this helpful218
All this user's reviews
0
zoi1206ARCHOct 10, 2019
Offensive, disturbing, unrespectful to source material, misleading, disgusting, insulting for anyone struggling with mental health issues. Score: '0-need to get drunk before viewing so I can fall asleep during srcreening and until the end credits'
4 of 41 users found this helpful437
All this user's reviews
0
pablo_delReyOct 3, 2019
Súper sobrevalorado, I thought that i was looking v de venganza the same history just with the joker. Con razón el nombre Joker because this **** is a good one
5 of 52 users found this helpful547
All this user's reviews
2
FelicityFenwickOct 3, 2019
What a buzzkill. You could hear a pindrop (and a few snores) in my theater. Why bother putting police officers at the exits of this movie when people are yawning on the way out? And why use Pink and Blue Boy in his apartment? oddWhat a buzzkill. You could hear a pindrop (and a few snores) in my theater. Why bother putting police officers at the exits of this movie when people are yawning on the way out? And why use Pink and Blue Boy in his apartment? odd choices. JP doesn't hold a candle to Ledger or Romero.... maybe a little better than Nicholson, but that movie sucked the big one. If the Academy awards this because of the hype after having face-palmed The Dark Knight, you'll know that that event isn't worthy watching again. Expand
6 of 63 users found this helpful657
All this user's reviews
3
DarthNihilusOct 14, 2019
I was cautiously optimistic when this movie was announced. The Joker has always been one of my favorite comic book characters. I've always known Joaquin Phoenix to be a phenomenal actor so I was interested to see what he could bring to theI was cautiously optimistic when this movie was announced. The Joker has always been one of my favorite comic book characters. I've always known Joaquin Phoenix to be a phenomenal actor so I was interested to see what he could bring to the character. After watching the film, I can't explain the amount of disappointment I felt. The movie itself is an incredibly slow burn that takes quite a bit of patience to endure. This movie is extremely loosely connected to the Batman mythos and that is putting it mildly. The title of the film is probably the only thing "Joker" about this movie. The film portrays itself as a deep, methodical view on mental health struggles and how society treats those that struggle from them. This would have been a better film if it was not in any way connected to the comic character. Not basing this portrayal on any story from the comics was a very bold move and one that made me worried and rigtfully so it would seem. The movie doesn't really know what kind of story it wants to tell. I wouldn't call this an origin story since Arthur Fleck is in no way the Joker that we all know and love. He is like the Party City version of the beloved character. Imagine if some fanboy tried to emulate what being the joker is like for college film project and that's what you get with this film. I felt like I had wasted two hours watching this disaster. The only bright spot in this movie would be Phoenix's acting. He did the best with what the script gave him. Expand
2 of 21 users found this helpful219
All this user's reviews
0
Romono1Oct 4, 2019
This movie was so bad don’t waste your money It’s nothing like The joker that were used to seeing. The outfit looks like he fell in a bucket of peach paint the make up he looks like he’s trying to audition for a job at McDonald’s this movieThis movie was so bad don’t waste your money It’s nothing like The joker that were used to seeing. The outfit looks like he fell in a bucket of peach paint the make up he looks like he’s trying to audition for a job at McDonald’s this movie was atrocious Expand
5 of 53 users found this helpful548
All this user's reviews
0
BartljaOct 26, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only part of the entire film that makes sense is the credits. The storyline and script are horrendous. The acting is distasteful at best. Pheonix does try with the script but still he is very contradicting. It shows proof he has this illness, then he acts like he doesn’t, back and forth over the entire film. It’s awful, forgetful, and doesn’t make any attempt of continuing the story from previous installments besides attempting to show his Batman’s parents death which still directly contradicts what has been told since the beginning. Expand
3 of 32 users found this helpful329
All this user's reviews
0
UtrexxxOct 3, 2019
Very very bad movie
Mediocre acting
Bad directing awful script
Big buzz with a big fail
8 of 86 users found this helpful878
All this user's reviews
1
BiologistOct 10, 2019
Dissatisfied with the story
The only actor in the film is Joker
Filmography is awful
Disappointed
Nothing special about the joker
If you watched the previous joke movies, you will know what would happen
3 of 33 users found this helpful330
All this user's reviews
0
CriticnOct 17, 2019
Some scenes have no sense, the only thing that Joaquin Phoenix do is Laugh and dance, and dome parts are very Boring, I don't recommend this movie at all
2 of 22 users found this helpful220
All this user's reviews
0
ludovica_zOct 19, 2019
Somewhat aesthetically pleasing, in a shallow way. Overall though, a boring and juvenile film with a pop-political, pop-philosophical message.
2 of 22 users found this helpful220
All this user's reviews
0
ultramandynaDec 21, 2019
Come film a se potrebbe andare ma come joker e inesistente, ogni cosa che fa del personaggio il suo punto di forza e azzerato, il regista in maniera incompetente fa capire che nemmeno sa di chi sta parlando, un insulto
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
0
kuhl99Oct 5, 2019
I can't believe that anyone thinks the Joker is this pathetic! How did DC say this was good enough to release? This was terrible from the announcement to the trailers to the final release! Read your favorite Joker comic, play the ArkhamI can't believe that anyone thinks the Joker is this pathetic! How did DC say this was good enough to release? This was terrible from the announcement to the trailers to the final release! Read your favorite Joker comic, play the Arkham Asylum video game and be thankful that you missed this piece of trash! Expand
5 of 57 users found this helpful552
All this user's reviews
0
Sargeth06Oct 4, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Boring movie, and very very slow, its painfull to watch
The only good, the credits
Expand
4 of 46 users found this helpful442
All this user's reviews
1
Nikola87Oct 13, 2019
Boring clown no charisma! Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!Boring clown no charisma!
2 of 23 users found this helpful221
All this user's reviews
2
KDEngiOct 5, 2019
The movie could have been condensed to about 20 minutes but was dragged out to the two hour mark so it could be considered a "movie"
3 of 35 users found this helpful332
All this user's reviews
0
CounttkOct 5, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After sleeping well for 10 hours last night, this movie still made me sleepy the whole time. Boring is the only descriptive term that comes to my mind.... Expand
3 of 35 users found this helpful332
All this user's reviews
3
RwolfBonerushOct 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Honestly this is a mess of a film, extremely predictable plot and cringe worthy moments though out the film. Movie goes dark for the sake of dark without every really having a reason why. Expand
3 of 35 users found this helpful332
All this user's reviews
0
SamhajibOct 6, 2019
The movie was so bad i heard the guy next me snoring .......................................?
3 of 35 users found this helpful332
All this user's reviews
0
MatteoJeanOct 4, 2019
A trivial shallow film. It's basically a comedy that fails to become a drama, the dramatic and suspenful parts are pure trash. Bad dialogues, bad direction--I could barely understand what was happening--and lots of plot holes. Plus, as aA trivial shallow film. It's basically a comedy that fails to become a drama, the dramatic and suspenful parts are pure trash. Bad dialogues, bad direction--I could barely understand what was happening--and lots of plot holes. Plus, as a graduated person in Psychology, I have to say this film is all we are afraid of. Mental illness is a issue and I want movies to deal with this theme, but not in this shallow way Expand
7 of 82 users found this helpful775
All this user's reviews
0
Elroysmith8888Oct 4, 2019
Puts the JOKE in Joker. Wow, edgy..terrible movie !!!! 0/10 for sure. Yikes.
4 of 47 users found this helpful443
All this user's reviews
0
JohnDaniel223Oct 8, 2019
Based on its own merits, this movie is actually very boring an cliched. If you have seen taxi driver, you have already seen a much better version of this movie.
5 of 60 users found this helpful555
All this user's reviews
3
ebelivetOct 8, 2019
Inutilmente manierista. Il regista ha vinto per il.solo fatto di avervi fatto vredere che sia un capolavoro cosa che non è. Insopportabile tutto questo type di fronte a qualcosa di normale.
2 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
2
AaronB232Oct 11, 2019
Not very interesting. Cant see why people say its a great movie. Dont get me wrong it was good but only at the end of the movie.
2 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
0
NicoleabigailOct 14, 2019
Found the film disturbing from start to finish, felt very uncomfortable with the constant laughter from the lead actor and felt it was all very forced. Very disappointed and bored throughout.
2 of 24 users found this helpful222
All this user's reviews
3
samcritic91Oct 12, 2019
Acting wise movie is awesome but it has no any ideal story.not even any morality...gives wrong msg to society and total nonsense theme of movie....for a normal viewer movie is may be between 5 to 6...but according a critic it should be below 3....
2 of 26 users found this helpful224
All this user's reviews
0
ANTILORDOct 5, 2019
It's a waste. It's a rubbish and **** Most failure movie of i watch. I'm so unhappy
3 of 44 users found this helpful341
All this user's reviews
0
Cfabe2Nov 6, 2019
Could not even sit through it, it was the most depressing movie I have ever seen.
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
1
CriticbballOct 6, 2019
Фильм скучный, единственное что порадовала актерская игра Хоакинс... Фильм не возможно смотреть не держать в руках телефон, ведь этот линейный "проект" Ужасно скучный и поистине уебешный. Во время просмотра я просто хотел уйти и посмотретьФильм скучный, единственное что порадовала актерская игра Хоакинс... Фильм не возможно смотреть не держать в руках телефон, ведь этот линейный "проект" Ужасно скучный и поистине уебешный. Во время просмотра я просто хотел уйти и посмотреть дома, с промежутками в несколько дней, верните мои 270 рублей за мое потраченное время и эти муки при просмотре этого говна Expand
2 of 32 users found this helpful230
All this user's reviews
0
X-men1995FringeOct 6, 2019
Piece of **** ! Psychotic movie... about a Psychokiller, the movie tries to make you emphatize with a Psycho serial killer.
4 of 68 users found this helpful464
All this user's reviews
0
mega_manoyOct 5, 2019
Very boring not interesting. Every moment that I was watching was pure pain.
3 of 51 users found this helpful348
All this user's reviews