Warner Bros. Pictures | Release Date: July 11, 2008
5.2
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 150 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
57
Mixed:
48
Negative:
45
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
heyitsmegrif4Jan 28, 2012
Journey to the center of the Earth is funny, entertaining and visually dazzling and the chemistry between the three stars lights up the screen which helps the film be a heartfelt and surprisingly original adventure. I give this movie 79%.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
phils.Jul 26, 2008
Excellent Saturday morning fun. My 6 year old loved - and that is who it is aimed at - excellent cartoon fun.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
JayH.Oct 23, 2008
Granted, not a deep and meaningful movie, but it was a hell of a lot of fun to watch. Good special effects, imaginative, very well paced and highly entertaining. I very much enjoyed it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
ConcreteTesterJul 12, 2008
Well made. Slightly childish. Makers probably thought they needed 3D to make the story interesting. Of the course the orginal movies was better.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JamieR.Jul 10, 2008
The movie delivers what it promises... a fun ride for the whole family. Is it a perfect movie? No. Are the visual effects great? No. Is the acting riveting? No. But who cares... it entertainment.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
RichardW.Jul 20, 2008
Went with my two children and we all loved this movie. It is as advertised....fun and humorous. We found the 3-D effects to be awesome and realistic.Evidently from the startled gasps of others they agreed. At times you feel a need to move to Went with my two children and we all loved this movie. It is as advertised....fun and humorous. We found the 3-D effects to be awesome and realistic.Evidently from the startled gasps of others they agreed. At times you feel a need to move to get out of the way of what looks like objects coming right at you. Loved the story and action and amazingly in today's cinema, not one objectional word or action...hooray! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
AdrianM.Jun 30, 2008
I thought this was a great action movie. It's not a James Bond- type of action film, but it worked out well with some comedy mixed in with it. It wasn't as corny as you might expect it to be. Brendan Fraser and Anita Briem gave I thought this was a great action movie. It's not a James Bond- type of action film, but it worked out well with some comedy mixed in with it. It wasn't as corny as you might expect it to be. Brendan Fraser and Anita Briem gave good performances It's a good movie to bring the whole family to. The 3D aspect wasn't perfect but definitely made it more interesting. My advice is to sit somewhere in the middle of the theatre. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CyrusG.Jul 14, 2008
The screen writing comes across as relatively easy. Once the professor, the nephew, and the tour guide fall into the center of the earth, the movie goes into autopilot and becomes predictable. But this is not a bad thing. Here's a movie The screen writing comes across as relatively easy. Once the professor, the nephew, and the tour guide fall into the center of the earth, the movie goes into autopilot and becomes predictable. But this is not a bad thing. Here's a movie that never takes itself seriously and simply admits that it is a silly and campy adventure story. If you just sit back, turn off the brain, and relax, you will enjoy the movie. My only complaints is that the movie lacks ambition and the emotional parts feel cheesy. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
EdwardS.Jul 17, 2008
In 3D, in a theater with 1st class projection and the proper screen, this film is the most fun of any I've seen this summer - not the best, nor the most serious, nor the most worthy - just the most fun. It is what it is - a cotton-candy In 3D, in a theater with 1st class projection and the proper screen, this film is the most fun of any I've seen this summer - not the best, nor the most serious, nor the most worthy - just the most fun. It is what it is - a cotton-candy fun-house ride, and a perfectly enjoyable one. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
keikd.Jul 17, 2008
You people are weird i mean this was the best movie EVA!!!!!!! you are all stupid and listen to the critics.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DaleMJul 27, 2008
The movie never takes itself seriously. It's whole purpose is fun and it succeeds at its purpose. A real relief after some comic book movies which take themselves a bit too seriously.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
paigeJul 30, 2008
I defanitly had fun and it was enjoyable. This is mainly a movie for a younger audience. Only because there was no adult humor and such unbelievable events that happen.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ShepD.Aug 8, 2008
It was totally a kick -- but has to be viewed in 3-d.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
HyperSDec 9, 2008
An amusement park for the imagination. How can you go wrong with that? Its one outlandish stunt after another covered in eye candy. If you can turn off the brain, ignore Newton's law of gravity for a hour and a half, and take it for An amusement park for the imagination. How can you go wrong with that? Its one outlandish stunt after another covered in eye candy. If you can turn off the brain, ignore Newton's law of gravity for a hour and a half, and take it for what its worth and I guarantee the entire family will enjoy it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
LA.Jul 23, 2008
This is an OK young kids movie. But when the 3D is added it is a really fun movie for any aged person who has some love of fun in them.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
AustinM.Dec 11, 2008
I'd would give this a 6, but 3D gave it a point up. I'd say this a really good family film. Really Good. I was expecting it to be atleast okay, because I saw the Mummy movies with Brendan Fraser, and he was good in those. This I'd would give this a 6, but 3D gave it a point up. I'd say this a really good family film. Really Good. I was expecting it to be atleast okay, because I saw the Mummy movies with Brendan Fraser, and he was good in those. This movie actually beat my expectations. Watch this with a mediocre feeling, you'll like it more. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful