Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 10, 2017
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 795 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
494
Mixed:
231
Negative:
70
Watch Now
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
1
ZoethApr 14, 2017
This movie is a complete mess. The characters that "live" are easily identifiable at the beginning. They have no survival skills but get through on luck alone. This is what happens when a huge studio and franchise hires an "indie" director.This movie is a complete mess. The characters that "live" are easily identifiable at the beginning. They have no survival skills but get through on luck alone. This is what happens when a huge studio and franchise hires an "indie" director. They completely used and abused this director and forced him to do what they wanted. It is easy to influence someone with no experience because they never say no to corporate. I feel like I wasted my bandwidth even pirating this movie, poor bastards who actually spent money watching this trash. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
1
dunnyoneApr 11, 2017
I simply HAVE to believe that positive user reviews on Metacritic are now mostly paid for. To give this utter tripe a glowing review is doing disservice to your own intellect. This film had no:

- Characters - plot Kong DID have: -Good
I simply HAVE to believe that positive user reviews on Metacritic are now mostly paid for. To give this utter tripe a glowing review is doing disservice to your own intellect. This film had no:

- Characters
- plot

Kong DID have:

-Good looking CG (Kong had sick abs, he clearly does crunches while waiting for people to arrive)
-John C Reilly (he had rare moments of humour)
-forced universal building that is actually WORSE than the crap seen in Batman v Superman: dawn of something something

I hated this film. It was utterly boring, predictable, tame nonsense. Please do not waste your money on it.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
3
DecTheWallsMar 17, 2017
Fails in every aspect. The only thing I didn't laugh at were the jokes. Horribly cliche, horrible writing, horrible direction, some poor acting and fake accents here and there, mostly poor CGI (although Kong's CGI was fine).

I'm baffled as
Fails in every aspect. The only thing I didn't laugh at were the jokes. Horribly cliche, horrible writing, horrible direction, some poor acting and fake accents here and there, mostly poor CGI (although Kong's CGI was fine).

I'm baffled as to how this movie is being received so well. The only saving grace is that about 10 seconds of the movie had some interesting lighting. That's it.

I don't recommend anyone even think about this movie, let alone pay money to see it.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
3
GetDaRekM8Mar 11, 2017
To sum this movie up, if you've seen the trailers you've basically seen the movie, the trailers are basically a shorter version of the movie. This movie has no character development at all to the point where they are so bland and boring youTo sum this movie up, if you've seen the trailers you've basically seen the movie, the trailers are basically a shorter version of the movie. This movie has no character development at all to the point where they are so bland and boring you really don't give a crap about them. Nearly four main characters die and you don't give a damn about them. Due to the trailers spoiling pretty much every interesting scene in the movie, you sit there bored out of your mind waiting for anything to happen. The only good thing about this movie are a couple of good action scenes with Kong destroying stuff (These scenes were also spoiled by the trailers). Expand
11 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
2
NamuriMar 17, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. An uninspired and uninteresting film that could have been much better if the writing have been compelling enough to make me care what was happening. The majority of the deaths might as well have been spray painted on the actors faces as they were introduced, because that's how unsurprising they were. The only character who really managed to catch my interest for his off beat oddness, Cole, ended up souring my investment in his survival due to the idiotic pointlessness of his death. For the others, they are mostly anticlimactic, without any sort of narrative payoff or comeuppance or ANYTHING besides a number to add to the body count. Kong's portrayal was at least interesting, but the racist portrayal of the Natives of the island was not. Tom Hiddleston was quite handsome and British and in short sleeves during the movie, but if you want to see him act that badly I would suggest rewatching him in Thor, because at least that film is good. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
GangialfMay 16, 2017
The critical and public success this movie has had is a true indictment of the British-American school system.
This movie does not have a plot, and if the CGI was taken out of it, we would observe a green screen for about 90 minutes.
The
The critical and public success this movie has had is a true indictment of the British-American school system.
This movie does not have a plot, and if the CGI was taken out of it, we would observe a green screen for about 90 minutes.
The acting is poor and the performances of Goodman and Jackson, both uninspiring, remind us once more that after all it is about money.

I was tempted to give it a 1, but 1 is the mark a poor commercial would deserve. This is worse.

p.s. Quoting great movies of the past (NO SPOILERS) does not improve anything...it just makes you realise how sxxx the film is a lot faster than it would do otherwise.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
CyranoApr 19, 2017
"...Hellicopters flying through a giant hurricane an then only 20 mts off the ground to allow a giant beast to destroy them all.." Brillant. There are clever movies, dumb movies, stupid movies and then comes "Kong"... A continuous "nonsense""...Hellicopters flying through a giant hurricane an then only 20 mts off the ground to allow a giant beast to destroy them all.." Brillant. There are clever movies, dumb movies, stupid movies and then comes "Kong"... A continuous "nonsense" from beginning to the end. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
Minh18121999Mar 19, 2018
I don't understand why this movie got positive reviews from critics.Sure,this movie has some good moments,but overall the cgi looks like cgi,the characters are bland as well as the cast,the plot is formulaic and the soundtrack didn't evenI don't understand why this movie got positive reviews from critics.Sure,this movie has some good moments,but overall the cgi looks like cgi,the characters are bland as well as the cast,the plot is formulaic and the soundtrack didn't even match with film.This film is no where near as good as the Peter Jackson version(3/10) Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
donelsonMar 17, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This abortion of a movie should never have seen the light of day. With a credits list of OVER 1,300 people, you think someone would have put their hand up and said "Umm... Wait a minute"

This is supposed to be 1974, but apparently no one bothered to check any actual history. Even the props are more modern, with an office full of DEC-VT100 display terminals from 1978 and later. Many other items in this movie are clearly more modern than they should be. Totally lazy for such an expensive project.

I guess if you cast Samuel L. Jackson into anything these days, it must pass his "cartoon silliness test" to be produced. Tarantino can get away with this with great dialog and action. The clowns producing this hairball should hide their faces in public.

You can tell from the very beginning that this is going to be bad. Even if you, as did I, go into it expecting very little. The setup of the movie is long and face-slapping cliché. The actors, whom we know to be quite skilled, are entirely wasted by bad bad bad dialogue and bad direction. The editing is not so good either.

And when we get out onto the ocean (1974 remember), we are insulted by Hollywood physics and meteorology. A huge storm doesn’t even churn up the waves near the ship *facepalm*

Of course, the dorks then fly their non-vintage helicopters into the hellstorm, with super-fake lightning all around, and get through to see the beautiful islands.

Within a few minutes, ALL of them have been knocked down by insisting on flying close enough to Kong to get bashed *facepalm* holy crap.

Things only get more clichéd from there, with the grizzly 28 year survivor (with the 20 year old son at the end), the demented Samuel Jackson staring and almost drooling as he chews the scenery.

Vietnam veterans are insulted by their blind obedience to a ranting idiot. Civilians and military alike enter "the valley of death" in spite of the writers allowing some of the characters to suggest it's a bad idea.

And then it gets really bad. "OMG bad".

And in all of this, you feel incredibly bored. It's dull, and bad, and stupid.

Oh, and the "teaser for the idiots' sequel" comes after the 1,300+ lines of credits, if you are not asleep or barfing in the toilet.

The only thing that could save this movie would be cartoon music and a laugh track. Then it would rate a 4/10.

Astoundingly bad.
Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
1
suadeshMar 13, 2017
There is no surprise all along the movie. the characters are a cliché. nice special effect, but not enough to make it a good movie. Plot is sometimes inconsistant.
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
3
bennyslenMar 13, 2017
It's funny how the "2005 version" of Kong is better in every single aspect, even in special effects. The only thing that caught a little bit my attention was the weirdness or the direction and production, but it didn't even fit well in theIt's funny how the "2005 version" of Kong is better in every single aspect, even in special effects. The only thing that caught a little bit my attention was the weirdness or the direction and production, but it didn't even fit well in the movie. If you are looking for a movie with action scenes only, it might fit for you. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
TreceApr 8, 2017
Luego de la joya de Godzilla pensé que una buena saga de monstruos vendria, pero finalmente escucharon al publico palomitero que no supo apreciar esa pelicula y aqui esta el resultado: Kong. Y muy bien que sea Kong a secas, porque este monoLuego de la joya de Godzilla pensé que una buena saga de monstruos vendria, pero finalmente escucharon al publico palomitero que no supo apreciar esa pelicula y aqui esta el resultado: Kong. Y muy bien que sea Kong a secas, porque este mono sin personalidad perdido en una pelicula que no entiende sus momentos ni sabe quien es el protagonista, no seria rey de nada. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
ZerpnosMar 20, 2017
Berbat abi bu film berbat ötesi bir şey. Daha az puan verebilme şansım olsa onu verirdim. "King Kong" denen filmi de hiç sevmemiştim ve 3 saatimi boşa harcadığımı düşünmüştüm. Şimdi de 2 saatimi boşa harcadığımı söylüyorum. İnsana kattığı birBerbat abi bu film berbat ötesi bir şey. Daha az puan verebilme şansım olsa onu verirdim. "King Kong" denen filmi de hiç sevmemiştim ve 3 saatimi boşa harcadığımı düşünmüştüm. Şimdi de 2 saatimi boşa harcadığımı söylüyorum. İnsana kattığı bir şey varsa o da can sıkıntısından nasıl patlama noktasına geldiğinizdir. Bu kadar kısmı spoilersız anlattım çünkü filme gidecek varsa, gerçekten kandırmıyorum. Berbat bir film kesinlikle gitmemenizi öneririm. Şimdi spoiler vererek, sahneleri örnekleyerek anlatıcam. Zaten filmde senaryo adına hiçbir şey yok. Spoiler: İsteyen spoiler verdiğim kısmı okuyabilir, devamı da şöyle gerçekleşiyor. Her zaman ki gibi klişeler ardı arkası kesilmeden devam ediyor ve Bir tane adamım kaldı, adadan çıkamam. O adamı bulup kurtarmalıyız gibisinden erkeklik gösterileri ve sonucunda ölen daha fazla adam tabi film size bunların sonucunda Kong ve adanın Kongdan sonra en güçlüsünün savaşını gösteriyor.(Aman tanrım mükemmel bir senaryo) Bu kadar birbirini takip etmeyen, çok kötü şeyler izledikten sonra hemen adadan kurtuluyorlar ve bitiyor. Bu kadar film işte bu, boş beleş aksiyon seven ve 2-3 tane CGI canavarı görüp "Ben buna bayılıyorum" tarzında olan bir insan gitsin ve izlesin. Böyle seyredenlerin keyif alacağından eminim. Ha bir de atladığım bir kısım var. Filmde ki kızımız ve Kong 2 dakikalık bir aşk yaşıyorlar. Kesinlikle izlemek istediğim şeylerdi bunlar. Son zamanlarda ortaya bomboş senaryosu olan ve boş beleş aksiyonlarıyla dolu filmler çıkıyor. Gerçekten bıktım ve berbatlar. İzlemenizi asla tavsiye etmiyorum arkadaşlar. Sırf paranıza ziyan olmasın ve sinirimi atabileyim diye buraya bu incelemeyi yazıyorum. UZAK DURUN BU FİLMDEN. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
OscarTurnerMar 22, 2017
Being a big fan of the 2005 King Kong movie, I was scared to be disappointed, but after seeing the second trailer, my hopes got a bit higher, making the movie appear to be artistic, and not just a simple big blockbuster movie. My firstBeing a big fan of the 2005 King Kong movie, I was scared to be disappointed, but after seeing the second trailer, my hopes got a bit higher, making the movie appear to be artistic, and not just a simple big blockbuster movie. My first impressions were right: it is a traditional blockbuster movie, with a thin plot and uncharismatic characters, and yes, I am including Kong in this. The actions scenes were alright but not great, the scenery was okay at best and there's just no attachment for any of the characters here.

This world is filled with monsters and ugly creatures, compared to the more dinosaur world in the 2005 movie. This is fine, although, Kong seems to be more a creature than a giant ape. He walks and acts way too human like, not at all ape-like, and there is no real connection between the humans and this beast. This lack of emotional context, depth and even artistic scenery makes up for a disappointing movie.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
SimcoastJun 25, 2017
Almost everything went wrong with this movie, but by far the most egregious failing is the casting and acting. Besides John C. Reilly, and maybe Samuel L. Jackson, every actor feels so ridiculously out of place and their performances soAlmost everything went wrong with this movie, but by far the most egregious failing is the casting and acting. Besides John C. Reilly, and maybe Samuel L. Jackson, every actor feels so ridiculously out of place and their performances so wooden and awkward that it is excruciating to watch. Some of the casting decisions and their acting are so astonishingly poor that they arouse deep suspicion in the competence and agenda of the production team.
Besides the aforementioned exceptions, all actors amplified a suspiciously terrible script with their almost comically poor performances, giving off a constant awkwardness that makes you want to end the film halfway through.
About 90% of the characters in the film literally contribute nothing to the film or the story and I question the need to include these characters in the first place.

This is a common theme throughout the movie however, as the editing appears to have been done in a rush, the story and rational frame of this new cinema universe is insultingly silly, and the narrative arc is predictable and derivative.

If it wasn't for the decent overall CGI, the great design and presence of Kong, and the beautiful scenery, this would without doubt be a 0 or a 1.
A true shocker.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
bkristmanMar 10, 2017
One of the worst bigger budget films i've ever seen and i'm usually a fan of creature feature/monster movies. It's a hodgepodge of cliched dialogue and badly acted scenes with long periods of nothing happening.
Kong goes missing for half an
One of the worst bigger budget films i've ever seen and i'm usually a fan of creature feature/monster movies. It's a hodgepodge of cliched dialogue and badly acted scenes with long periods of nothing happening.
Kong goes missing for half an hour at a time .
They rip off ideas from apocalypse now and moby dick and likely a dozen other films but in a cheesy way.
It was like watching a bunch of bad low budget b-movies all strung together. Tom Hiddleston is so out of place in this film it's not even funny.
He and the other actors just phone in their lines . The 3-d was practically non existent so i wish i hadn't paid extra.
Sorry i even went to this junker.
Expand
12 of 19 users found this helpful127
All this user's reviews
0
CharlemagneMay 9, 2017
Nice CGI 'cinematography', but that's it. Everything else is anti-good, not simply bad as in not good, but actively bad, deserving of negative stars. The true monstrosity is the movie itself! I am pained that this is successful and that itsNice CGI 'cinematography', but that's it. Everything else is anti-good, not simply bad as in not good, but actively bad, deserving of negative stars. The true monstrosity is the movie itself! I am pained that this is successful and that its creators aren't forced into other lines of work. Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
3
TheMetacritiqerMar 11, 2017
I wasn't expecting the cartoon tone or dumb dialogue but i did like it a little. I saw it cause of Brie Larson and she is pretty pretty:) Godzilla was better and their gonna duke it out. Oh well, Life should be good
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
0
BitashJul 23, 2017
it starts bad and it stays bad, unreal... I was looking forward to cool CG..nope ..even that was bad....the storm scene in the beginning was so poorly made.....feel like I need to save people's lives from being wasted for two hours by leavingit starts bad and it stays bad, unreal... I was looking forward to cool CG..nope ..even that was bad....the storm scene in the beginning was so poorly made.....feel like I need to save people's lives from being wasted for two hours by leaving my review. The movie was horrific...who ever gave it a good review must be paid or they juveniles being entertained by poor acting and CG......my 17 year old nephew would have written a version of King Kong like this, the writing is horrific and childish and the director..horrible directing, using music where music was not needed,many many scenes that are not believable, lots of incontinuity in the movie and the plot is predictable. Even the known actors in the movie were surprisingly bad, it's because the writing and directing was bad.
Lots of scenes that didn't make sense, were not believable at all. There absolutely NO character development so when people randomly died, you felt nothing!!!
The focus of the movie SHOULD have been King Kong however the audience is not connected with him, you don't feel bad or sad for him, you feel nothing. And let's talk about the EDITING, looks like I did the editing, rushes...glued together and no one bothered to review it. Yup, horrible editing.
It's just bad bad, guess you have to see it to believe me. The ONLY good thing about the movie is that it ended ! It was embaressingly BAD
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
James60178Jul 19, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible. Characters were not developed with Brie and Jing adding little more than shocked face shots. Both Jackson and Goodman can be really bad in the right movie. I kind of dread seeing them in any upcoming film. Kong walked and ran like a man, and made angry clenched fists with opposable thumbs. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
Codemonkey1991Dec 17, 2017
Possibly the dumbest movie I have ever watched. If you enjoy watching people constantly making the stupidest decisions imaginable and getting themselves killed, whilst unimaginably unlikely/impossible things occur every other scene then thisPossibly the dumbest movie I have ever watched. If you enjoy watching people constantly making the stupidest decisions imaginable and getting themselves killed, whilst unimaginably unlikely/impossible things occur every other scene then this movie might be for you. I found it extremely hard to watch, personally. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
1
psyberdelicJul 26, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Damn this movie's dumb. Cinematography and CGI are OK but the plot is absurd. Where did all the choppers come from? How come they all get close enough to Kong to get whacked until none were left? Hollow earth is a Edgar Rice Burroughs rip-off. Sam Jackson vs Kong? Exploding gas but no masks needed? Ugh! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
2
amheretojudgeJan 16, 2018
there'll never be more screwed up time..

Kong: Skull Island

Kong fails on so many level here; script, execution and characters, that you may come out feeling disappointed rather than angry.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
fadgFeb 3, 2018
This movie was horrible. The story was extremely bad, the characters was clichés and you did not care at all when any character died (you basically already knew which characters that would get killed).
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
1
EarlundFeb 15, 2018
Big disappointment compared to the original, amazing movie. Sure, the CGI has improved but the acting is cliche and terrible, the script is boring and the whole story is just a big let-down, meaningless and stupid. Really, really bad movie.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
salazarjSep 5, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Underwhelming, predictable, and frankly, quite stupid. I know these kind of movies focus more on the mindless wrecking of everything around the so-called monsters, but really? They could have achieved so much more. The characters were bland, there was no development or generally anyone who made any sense, which bothers me because with a cast assemble like that, you could have taken risks and made it work in a great way.

I generally don't like movies in which the humans go nose first barging into the habitat of an animal (shark, monkeys, you name it) and in typical fashion, go destroy everything to their own benefit without thinking hey, that is the home of a living, sentient creature that yes, it can be aggressive when provoked but otherwise leaves you the hell alone, and then make the animal the **** ENEMY because it's pissed off that some idiots thought they owned it in the first place. Sam L. Jackson's role was **** which enrages me because he's a good actor, but the part they gave him here, with ****ty one-liners ("I am the cavalry"? Seriously?) to make him appear like this "bad-ass" sort of villain was so incredibly disappointing I can't even think about it. He's trying to take revenge on an animal that killed his soldiers because they dumped a ****load of explosives in his habitat in the first place? Cool. No.

They tried to include a lot of wannabe "cool" moments (I don't even know if that's what they were aiming for, but that's what it appeared to me) with the rock sounds in the background, without realizing it just looked stupid, plain and simple. The secondary characters were boring AND so obviously spare that I didn't give two **** when either of them died, even when they tried to glorify their deaths (it didn't work, by the way).

Don't even get me started on the main characters. We could ignore the whole trying-to-make-them-interesting-and-mysterious-and-horribly-failing thing they had going on (the introduction of Tom Hiddleston's character was sort of interesting, but then it went completely downhill from there, making him completely bland and uninteresting and empty with a lot of "intense" stares ahead and a whole lot of nothing), and focus instead of the fact that they tried to make them have a connection with Kong by one freaking second, not even that, and then suddenly make the "heart-stopping" (note the sarcasm) last minute decision to save him from the very team they came in with in the first place. And you'd think that the guy who'd been trying to drill some sense into them for their entire stay in the island would refuse and want to get the hell out because he's been there for years, but no, let's all run head first into the giant guy we were trying to kill and then love him because he blinked at me cute. What a freaking disaster.

The only good thing I can think of is that the cgi on Kong was pretty good. The lizard things were underwhelming and lacked imagination. Oh, and I almost forgot the part when they saw a **** bird and instantly went out to SHOOT it, because that's what you do, of course. If the other birds had had them all for breakfast after that, they would have had it coming. But no, bad, bad birds. And don't even bother to stay after the credits for the completely boring and senseless teaser for a sequel, it's a waste of time. This isn't a marvel movie, even if there are a few actors from there, so just don't.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
0
ronaldomdsDec 24, 2020
Um lixo! É muito chato e cheio de cenas bobas. É uma perda de tempo ver essa coisa! História sem graça, muito ruim mesmo!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
egoBorderOct 30, 2019
Horrible, horrible movie. Too bad, because the production clearly had some effort and money thrown at it. But the story is so dumb and cliched, it's hard to get interested. And the great cast is wasted here because the characters are soHorrible, horrible movie. Too bad, because the production clearly had some effort and money thrown at it. But the story is so dumb and cliched, it's hard to get interested. And the great cast is wasted here because the characters are so paper thin they often address each other directly as movie tropes. As such, the scenes just don't have any energy, and from the start the movie feels like it's treading water. Only Kong himself and John C. Reilly inject some life into the movie, but both are introduced too late. And as for Kong, I don't get this "air of mystery" approach to monster movies. We paid to see the monster and we wanna **** see him. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews