Universal Pictures | Release Date: March 10, 2017
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 795 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
494
Mixed:
231
Negative:
70
Watch Now
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
MattBrady99Dec 12, 2017
"Kong: Skull Island" has it's moments of fun and being epic, but can somehow feel so small. Peter Jackson's "King Kong" was far superior than this and felt more grand in it's scale. The whole experience was kinda hollow.

Besides the
"Kong: Skull Island" has it's moments of fun and being epic, but can somehow feel so small. Peter Jackson's "King Kong" was far superior than this and felt more grand in it's scale. The whole experience was kinda hollow.

Besides the characters being really one note; John C. Reilly was the best part of this movie. A real show stealer. I rather see a movie with Reilly's character being stuck on the island with Kong. I mean, nothing against the other actors, as they did the best for what's been written for them. I just couldn't care less when characters bite the dust.

The influences of "Apocalypse Now" and Spielberg movies, mostly "Jurassic Park", is an interesting mix. The director, Jordan Vogt-Roberts has a vision and when you hear him talk in interviews, he knows what he's talking about. To be fair, he handle the action scenes very well. The visual queues of classic cinema are there and can be harsh when it comes to criticism of his own work. Everything else was more of a miss than a hit.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
yosemiteMar 15, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Movie started off great. Nice pacing, good background music and casting seemed good. The movie weakened after the helicopters went down. Turned "we've seen this before" about 1/2 way into the film. Stolen themes from other movies. Samuel Jackson as Captain Ahab. Brie Larson as the love interest in Mighty Joe Young. Killer animals from Jurassic Park. A moderately entertaining film on a winter's afternoon Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
6
tibzoidApr 8, 2017
Conventional, uninteresting, basic genre picture. People have forgotten how good movies used to be. Ignore this film and rent Peter Jackson's version or even the 1978 De Laurentiis film.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
EdeltraudMar 11, 2017
CGI (or whatever techniques used to make beasts) & locations are great. Enjoyed the movie as I watched it, but later it left me flat. So much more could have been done with the characters' stories, the photographer & scientists got shortCGI (or whatever techniques used to make beasts) & locations are great. Enjoyed the movie as I watched it, but later it left me flat. So much more could have been done with the characters' stories, the photographer & scientists got short shrift. The natives were especially meh, no cool rituals or any action vis a vis Kong there. Overall, way too glossy, never felt the fear. Would like to see a grittier treatment, I mean, Kong had his best parts airbrushed -- come on! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
VeldkampPhilipMar 20, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie is just a random mashup of scenes and different tones. The editing is incredibly poor and creates a movie that feels like on big trailer. Furthermore the characters are just so bland. Nobody cares about them and they are just there to act as things for monsters to kill. Even the main characters with the exception of Samuel L Jackson's just say the stupidest things. The photographer girl is just there to be pretty and does not contribute to the story in any way. Some instances, characters just speak and it has no impact on anything around them. I remember the photographer just saying some stuff about mass graves at one point which just doesn't make sense and is just inconsequential. Furthermore the guys wearing the blue jackets are just so incredibly stupid and say such stupid stuff until they die in a brutal way. Additionally, nobody reacts in a human-like way when people die. They just look at it with a confused expression and continue. Ultimately, sometimes the movie is sad, then the next scene is a like a rock montage of stuff and the tone just feels like its all over the place. the only reason this is a 5/10 is because the monster scenes look really cool and the final fight between Kong and the Lizard-thing is awesome. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
DjacobUnchainedMar 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Watching King Kong beat stuff up was awesome, Samuel L Jackson, as usual, is very likable and entertaining. The rest of the cast gave good performances, however the script gave no effort in showing who any of the characters were the movie was really boring in a lot of place were Kong was not present as the characters were poorly developed and we had no reason to care for theme. Also a lot of stupid concepts, like a man who lived on skull island whose character was badly introduced. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
ethansreviewsMar 29, 2017
This film is very mediocre its entertaining enough but not interesting enough to rewatch. the action was great but the characters were so boring that i cant give it beyond a five.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
EduBJun 8, 2017
Movie without identity; From the soundtrack that stays different every time; The script that in the beginning already runs; The characters are played in presentation, the performances are very bad; And even the purpose of the characters areMovie without identity; From the soundtrack that stays different every time; The script that in the beginning already runs; The characters are played in presentation, the performances are very bad; And even the purpose of the characters are without the greatest nexus; The film does not have a certain standard, everything is played there and it's just that; I expected much more from the film; King Kong is only there to say that the movie is his but it is not; Honestly you do not have to make such a movie! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
chrisjee1234Jun 25, 2017
Kong is good. The character, I mean. Not the movie. This film tries to be an entertaining monster flick, but forgets to be a good movie in the process.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
kamgeforceApr 14, 2017
Not exactly sure how did this movie get away with being ok or even good. Its bland pile of mediocrity. People were hating on Jackson´s King Kong but that movie blows this **** out of the water in every aspect. Whether its acting, action,Not exactly sure how did this movie get away with being ok or even good. Its bland pile of mediocrity. People were hating on Jackson´s King Kong but that movie blows this **** out of the water in every aspect. Whether its acting, action, characters, soundtrack, hell even the so called bad cgi in King Kong was more enjoyable to watch than this. The only reason this movie exists is to set up the duel with godzilla, but both movies were horrid so what can we expect from it... Some good actors wasted their time and good name on this ****e and some ****e actors got opportunity to show of their suckage like the lead female, quite possibly the most useless and generic "character" in a while. Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
4
Rebecca31Mar 10, 2017
My gut instinct told me this would not be a good movie, however upon hearing the positive reviews I thought I should set aside my prejudgements and give it a try. And you know what? I should have listened to my gut. I’ve been told by multipleMy gut instinct told me this would not be a good movie, however upon hearing the positive reviews I thought I should set aside my prejudgements and give it a try. And you know what? I should have listened to my gut. I’ve been told by multiple people that this is better than Peter Jackson’s version, and yes his version isn’t amazing and no it hasn’t aged well but it’s a hell of a lot better than this mess. Simply put, ‘Kong: Skull Island’ does not hold up against the motion capture by Andy Serkis in ‘King Kong’ 2005. There isn’t enough effort put into this remake so I was left disappointed.
One dimensional characters embark on an adventure to an uncharted island blah, blah, blah. Enter Kong, John C. Reilly and skull crushers. Yeah I know stupid name to call them but don’t worry John C. Reilly takes a moment to acknowledge their ridiculous name and we all laugh… Don’t get me wrong, I did in fact laugh at times yet I don’t think I was supposed to laugh quite as much. Sometimes a script is so bad all you can do is laugh and cringe. Also featuring Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larson and Samuel L. Jackson. Now if I had known this was going to turn into Samuel Vs Kong then I honestly wouldn’t have bothered. The countless amount of other great movies referenced in this one was crazy, jumping on the shoulders of other monster movies in the desperate hope of creating something decent out of it was simply a giant fail. Considering King Kong is an iconic movie monster this does not do him any justice whatsoever. That just leaves one question. Was I entertained? Well yes and no. It had its moments were it reeled me in but moments later it lost me again. No I wouldn’t recommend it but all you monster movie fans will probably see it anyway so don’t say I didn’t warn you.
Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
5
llamayarmybarJul 13, 2017
An embarrassing wet fart of a film. Absolutely boring monster designs, seriously a bipedal lizard? That's all you could come up with? It ends up trying to connect itself to "Pacific Rim" or something with the whole "Hollow Earth" theoryAn embarrassing wet fart of a film. Absolutely boring monster designs, seriously a bipedal lizard? That's all you could come up with? It ends up trying to connect itself to "Pacific Rim" or something with the whole "Hollow Earth" theory they introduce one quarter of the way into the plot. Speaking of which, what is even happening in this movie? Everything goes wrong because of the humans arriving, Kong is never captured, just yelled at by Samuel L. Jackson for the entire breadth of the movie. Other acting talent is totally wasted here including Jon Goodman, who granted is a heck of a lot better than say, Jack Black, but isn't well developed. I found Kong himself to be fairly boring, especially when compared to 2005's Peter Jackson's "Kong" film, he was just on the island as was John C. Reilly as I suppose comedic support in a movie that didn't need it. I suppose I ought to chalk most of the lack-there-of of charm was mostly due to the period, the 70's just doesn't work here, and it paints the military as these stereotypical grunts that are apparently all Vietnam vets too. Everyone in this movie is a veteran too! How about that? How inclusive of Hollywood. The only real highlight here, is some average performances, a bizarre giant spider battle, more-so with a focus on giant spider "legs" and a couple interesting entirely computer animated Kong fighting a lizard-thing battles. I suppose if that's all you wanted, and don't care about any people in this movie, then you can join me in being utterly confused as to why we even spend so much time with once again, totally wooden, boring, poorly developed characters. Its been done a billion times, we see this in every monster movie, why do they keep writing characters like this? At least, the Peter Jackson contribution had a focus, not an amazing one, not a stupendous one, but it at least showed very human performances, especially between the big ape himself and his beautiful self-imposed damsel in distress, Naomi Watts. You can argue that they're both not amazing films, but I could always go back and find something "fun" or engaging in 2005's rendition over this burning dog turd of a film. As it stands, the very original King Kong is still a great film and I'd still watch that before going to see another terrible attempt at a re-boot or a remake or whatever Hollywood wants to call this poor excuse for a film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
coltonjamesMar 15, 2017
Being over 80-years-old and with seven films under his belt, King Kong needed to change up the formula with his eighth outing. Rather than the usual route of ape meets woman, ape falls for woman, ape dies; Kong: Skull Island attempts to beBeing over 80-years-old and with seven films under his belt, King Kong needed to change up the formula with his eighth outing. Rather than the usual route of ape meets woman, ape falls for woman, ape dies; Kong: Skull Island attempts to be fresh by venturing into new territory with an Apocalypse Now inspired theme and bold foray into the studio coveted “shared universe” approach with a planned Godzilla vs. King Kong in 2020. Does the film succeed in this regard? Short answer: kinda. The film nails presentation, action and Kong himself, but is a disappointment in every other aspect. The giant gorilla based adventure is set in the Vietnam War era, with a group of scientists and their military escorts attempting escape from an ancient island, inhabited with terrifying monsters and godlike behemoths. An all-star cast consisting of Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larson, John Goodman, Samuel L. Jackson and John C. Reilly try their best to save the film from its formulaic approach, but ultimately fail. The actors are given clunky dialogue and poor motivations. The human characters are clichéd and given nothing to do in the entire film other than stare in awe at Kong, and Kong is to be marveled at. The best compliment I can give this film is that Kong’s depiction makes him feel like a true God compared to other King Kong films. The mythology of the island and monsters, although delivered through tedious exposition dumps, is thought out and tantalizing leaving you wanting to know more about this world. Kong is not the only inhabitant of the island and many other fascinating creatures are given cool set pieces. Kong’s effects are beautifully done and the action is easy to follow. Helicopters are thrashed, giant “skull-crawlers” are punched and humans flee in terror in glorious spectacle throughout the film. Unfortunately, the moments in-between the action don’t deliver. Many scenes feel very familiar and were done better in other movies. The tone of the film is wildly inconsistent. It appears director Jordan Vogt-Roberts didn’t know if he wanted it to be a hard-edged Vietnam war flick or a light-hearted action comedy. There are far too many attempts at humor with only lines by standout John C. Reilly landing. Kong: Skull Island is a passable action film, but it also is a great monster flick. If character progression and in-depth storytelling are what you’re looking for, don’t look to this film. More likely however, you’re looking for a movie about a giant gorilla smashing things and you can’t do much better than Kong: Skull Island. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
5
BITESCREENJun 21, 2017
Die ersten Bilder von Kong – Skull Island implizierten eine ungewöhnliche Mischung aus Creature Feature und Antikriegsfilm. Daraus ist leider nichts geworden: Jordan Vogt-Roberts Beitrag zum King Kong-Universum ist ein größtenteilsDie ersten Bilder von Kong – Skull Island implizierten eine ungewöhnliche Mischung aus Creature Feature und Antikriegsfilm. Daraus ist leider nichts geworden: Jordan Vogt-Roberts Beitrag zum King Kong-Universum ist ein größtenteils unterhaltsamer, aber ultraflacher Blockbuster, der die Prämisse von Peter Jacksons gleichnamigem Monster-Thriller mehr schlecht als recht kopiert: Zum Ende des Vietnamkrieges wagt sich eine bunte Truppe aus Soldaten und Zivilisten auf die Heimatinsel des Riesenaffen. Bevor man sich versieht, rennt man schreiend um sein Leben – vor den CGI-Pranken Kongs und zig anderen nervigen Viechern. Die sind zwar schick animiert, dafür aber langweilig gestaltet und tauchen viel zu kurz auf. Außerdem verschießt Kong – Skull Island viel zu schnell sein Spannungspulver und überlässt so gut wie nichts der Fantasie, während sonst starke Schauspieler wie Tom Hiddleston oder John Goodman mit ihren blassen Figuren kämpfen. Einzig John C. Reilly als schratiger Bruchpilot bringt etwas Witz in das ansonsten uninspirierte Krawallfest. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
6
Jack97Mar 16, 2017
You go to a King Kong movie for the spectacle of Kong himself, and when the ape shows up in Kong: Skull Island it's a sight to behold. The CGI is well realized and when he throws down with these skull crawlers it is VERY fun! The climaxYou go to a King Kong movie for the spectacle of Kong himself, and when the ape shows up in Kong: Skull Island it's a sight to behold. The CGI is well realized and when he throws down with these skull crawlers it is VERY fun! The climax especially was amazing big screen eye candy. The human characters are bland and uninterestiing, which is more of a bummer considering the cast assembled, but if you just want to see Kong in all of his glory then you'll be satisfied with Kong: Skull Island. Good escapist blockbuster entertainment. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
FlexedacornApr 20, 2017
The second movie in the Monster movie cinematic universe (Godzilla being the first). Where as Godzilla kept teasing you with brief appearances, Kong was not camera shy in the least. From the very beginning of the movie you get put rightThe second movie in the Monster movie cinematic universe (Godzilla being the first). Where as Godzilla kept teasing you with brief appearances, Kong was not camera shy in the least. From the very beginning of the movie you get put right into the action. The movie takes place right after the Vietnam War and uses a lot of the music from the time period. A little too much music at times, but defiantly helps to set the overall tone.

Kong: Skull Island benefits from the star cast of Tom Hiddleston, Bri Larson, Sam Jackson, and John Goodman to name a few. The best in my opinion is John C. Reilly who really steals every scene he is in with his sense humor. In the end it’s a Giant Monster (Kaiju) movie, so if you like the genre you will not be disappointed.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
6
russiangamerMar 23, 2017
Ну сценарий мягко говоря средний получился, режиссура хорошая вместе с операторской работой, эффекты тоже неплохи.
Простой блокбастер на разок, который не нагружает мозг.
Ну сценарий мягко говоря средний получился, режиссура хорошая вместе с операторской работой, эффекты тоже неплохи.
Простой блокбастер на разок, который не нагружает мозг.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
6
CoreGamer1408Oct 8, 2018
Put the feet up grab a bucket pop corn and leave the brain at the door and enjoy Kong: Skull Island is for what it is. A fun no brainer monster movie action flick.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
AxeTMar 12, 2017
As advertised this is pure 100% B movie, whereas the previous two remakes were A class pictures. It is a huge production of course like the other two, but much smaller in scope. However this is not a pure remake but a fusion reboot not onlyAs advertised this is pure 100% B movie, whereas the previous two remakes were A class pictures. It is a huge production of course like the other two, but much smaller in scope. However this is not a pure remake but a fusion reboot not only of the original classic but more so of the schlocky spinoff sequel Kongs. And as expected it is scenario by committee no doubt. What is a surprise is how much it apes (just can't help the pun) both the enormously under-valued 1976 and over-rated bloated 2005 film cherry picking aspects from each, not to mention a strong influence from "Apocalypse Now", which it throws all together into a big convoluted mess of a story with too many characters and one of the weakest most underused lead protagonists ever in a formula Hollywood blockbuster. As if the thinly scripted character wasn't problem enough, the actor Tom Hiddleston is awful. He's a non-personality no presence disaster of a leading man. All he has going for him is a stalwart stance and prissy Brit accent, actually a big minus in his case! (If the rumors are true he's on the short list to play Bond then that franchise is in alarming trouble.) The rest of the cast is fine with the exception of the couple token minority scientist characters.

The director (or whoever) here infuses the picture with a bold audacious comic book style with some stunning visuals (especially in IMAX 3D and the best use of I've seen in quite a while) and a forward propelled story that holds your attention initially, but only for a short time before the usual Act II bottoming out. The science fiction conceit concocted is only glossed over which is too bad. More exposition on that would have been good. They seem more interested in cramming overplayed to death retro pop rock songs into the soundtrack than in creating a mood and telling a good story all the way through.

What this fusion entry is most noticeably missing is the Kong (now about 100 feet tall instead of around 25 or 48 which is purely for one reason...) we not only fear (and maybe Sam Jackson is the more frightening one in this), but root and cry for which the original 1933 classic gave us in a beautiful original enduring tale for the screen. Zero tragedy here. No the tragedy here is how reduced the storytelling and genuine emotion has become in today's blockbusters in favor of pure calculated beat by beat formulaic non-stop action. It's boring. Once upon a time Hollywood had balance and could deliver it like no other.

The best part of the presentation by far was the special custom 3D IMAX snipe designed just for Kong playing before the feature. By far, oh but that wasn't part of the actual feature.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
TrevorsViewMar 10, 2017
Were you disappointed by the amount of screen time by the giant lizard in Godzilla? I have good news for you: the big ape of Kong: Skull Island hits the screen immediately before the opening credits in all his grandness, and appearsWere you disappointed by the amount of screen time by the giant lizard in Godzilla? I have good news for you: the big ape of Kong: Skull Island hits the screen immediately before the opening credits in all his grandness, and appears constantly throughout the film with constant action and explosions in the mix. Yet even without the ape on screen all the time, the amount of swords, flames, helicopters, bombs, and Skullcrushers satisfactorily draw out everything moment by moment in an approach comparative to various scenes in Apocalypse Now.

So whether if you’re a millennial or a baby boomer, the action should satisfy. Standard to the tradition of Skull Island, other behemoths are accompanied to confront both Kong and the humans in search for him. These camouflaged beasts include a swamp ox, a log insect, a giant spider amongst a bamboo forest, reptilian birds, and a kraken who becomes Kong’s dinner. Other colorful sights on this god forsaken island range from the mesmerizing northern lights to the horrific pale-tinted mass grave of great ape skeletons, creating a believable look to a testing world against man’s successes.

Would such an experience keep you talking in the long run? Will you get pumped for Kong’s eventual confrontation against Godzilla?

Well, let’s rewind the clock to answer that question, shall we?

As the movie starts, a World War II soldier crash lands on a deserted island in 1944, only to come face to sword against a Japanese warrior. Compared to past King Kong movies, this slightly different period setting receives a rather poor treatment; I mean, when the first five minutes persuades us to cheer on a US soldier fighting against one of the Pearl Harbor bombers, has racism really changed at all by 2017 standards?

Then the opening credits shows historical footage of man’s scientific progress up until 1973. Then we see a researcher intent on proposing a government-funded trip to an unexplored destination named “Skull Island,” the one island God did not finish creating. They compare it to the Bermuda Triangle, as nobody has ever come back alive. So right at the Vietnam War’s end, a team of US soldiers, investigators, and a photographer set out to explore. Eventually they find the same soldier who crash landed in 1944, and introduce the old soldier to the worlds’ robust change since he left humanity, and team up with him to head back home. Although could man really be king here? Especially when the castaway tribe worships a 200 foot tall ape?

Kong may be an epic time for all you men out there, but you ladies may be napping once or twice, as your only mode of connection is Oscar winner Brie Larson (Room, Short Term 12), who exists here purely to play THAT kind of female lead. You know, the one who exists just so women have a celebrity name to gush over. The one who gets wet while wearing a skimpy gray tank top. If you’re still not underwhelmed, what if I told you about her romantic subplot, one that meets absolutely no resolution?

You may not even notice any predictable romantic subplot anyway, as there are so many millimeter thick cardboard cutout characters, none of which have a proper introduction to tell you who they are as human beings. Some of them are even there purely for comic relief’s sake. The large cast’s screen time balance of screen time has so little attention, you don’t feel any hint of tension or sorrow whenever one of them gets killed or mauled.

Now one question still remains: how will it be when Kong has to fight Godzilla in 2020? I can absolutely presume the fight will be epic. I mean, if Kong can deliver the nonstop action and cinematic grandness we asked for, while also learning its lessons from 2014’s Godzilla, then it should turn out entertaining enough.

On the other hand, if you prefer a much deeper story featuring characters who are worth cheering on, then you’d probably be better off watching Peter Jackson’s version as opposed to investing in future films similar to Kong: Skull Island. It may not be a particularly good movie, nor was it trying to be, but it’s still a pretty sweet thrill ride!
Expand
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
6
LeZeeNov 4, 2017
A new dawn. The King has arrived.

Seems I'm the only one who did not know it was not a sequel to the 2005 film. The Kong was over a 100 feet tall in this, compared to 25 feet from a decade ago. Being a big fan of that film and Peter Jackson,
A new dawn. The King has arrived.

Seems I'm the only one who did not know it was not a sequel to the 2005 film. The Kong was over a 100 feet tall in this, compared to 25 feet from a decade ago. Being a big fan of that film and Peter Jackson, I hated this idea, especially for totally a fresh cast and crew. So I was not expecting it. Only while watching it, I came to know it was a new version. With a new cinematic, a new set of actors, timeline, completely a different kind of tone for a King Kong film that I have ever seen.

They wanted it to be a badass action film than a value added storyline. That does not mean I loved it. It was average. I only enjoyed the nice action-adventures. But the visuals were a more commercialised. I even confused whether did I watched a Hollywood film or an Rajamouli film. You know those terrible methods used for stunt sequences.

The most boring part of this film was the same old formula, which is a set of people enter in a dangerous enclosure and only a few come back alive. A couple of scientist escorted by a military to a mystery island hidden in the mists of the South Pacific to do some scientific research. Soon they come to realise they are in a dangerous place where giant monsters live. After losing some of the soldiers, now it becomes a survival game. But the general is obsessed with a revenge. How the rest of the story folds were told with a battle of the film.

Basically, this film was created to merge two franchises, the rebooted 'Godzilla' with this one. The post end-credit scene gave some important hint about the future of the franchise. But I thought it was too similar to the comedy flick, 'Journey 2: The Mysterious Island'. Usually spoof films were made out of greatest hit films. But it looks like here a reverse case. Though all the actors were good. Nice direction, visuals, music, particularly the sound effects. This film is simply enjoyable and forgettable.

There are many things I did not like. The Peter Jackson film was so artistic. Every frame was like a classic painting. In this, the Kong standing on his two feet, walking around like a man, totally turned me off. The giant ape did not behave like a real ape. Many sequences were also borrowed from many other films, only replaced with different creatures and recreated with a fresh setting. This is a perfect time pass film to have on a weekend. Particularly, if you are a graphile (graphic+phile), you would have a nice time.

5.5/10
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
iCronicAug 7, 2017
The first 25 minutes are cancer. As soon as they get on the island it's pretty entertaining. I like the creature design for the most part, the spider scene is great. Really random slow mo effects throughout the film. Almost all actors areThe first 25 minutes are cancer. As soon as they get on the island it's pretty entertaining. I like the creature design for the most part, the spider scene is great. Really random slow mo effects throughout the film. Almost all actors are terrible but I'm here for The monster fights and they are good Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
PeterAlexanderApr 12, 2017
Kong: Skull Island is monstrously entertaining, follows a simple plot that works, but fails to deliver in terms of characterisation. The film has some of the best action sequences you'll see all year, but also some of the worst. It also hasKong: Skull Island is monstrously entertaining, follows a simple plot that works, but fails to deliver in terms of characterisation. The film has some of the best action sequences you'll see all year, but also some of the worst. It also has some great acting performances, including John Goodman and Samuel L. Jackson, and some less than stellar performances. Overall I have very mixed feelings about this film. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
MetzaeMar 11, 2017
This was as far from good as you can be without being bad. Great cast, great acting, big budget special effects...all gone to waste. The pure schlock of it wasn't obvious until halfway in, then a monster puked up the skull of the deus exThis was as far from good as you can be without being bad. Great cast, great acting, big budget special effects...all gone to waste. The pure schlock of it wasn't obvious until halfway in, then a monster puked up the skull of the deus ex machina (still wearing dog tags) at the feet of our deus ex machina, which led to a deus ex...position, fire, death, hero shot, end credits. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
6
EpicLadySpongeMar 10, 2017
Kong: Skull Island builds up many improvements and marks it as the next generation of King Kong. If the next generation was ever on a track where it keeps losing itself after great moments, I'd believe that the driver on that road wouldKong: Skull Island builds up many improvements and marks it as the next generation of King Kong. If the next generation was ever on a track where it keeps losing itself after great moments, I'd believe that the driver on that road would specifically be Kong: Skull Island. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
6
TyranianApr 11, 2019
Pretty good Kong film with good visuals and cast though lacking in the writing department.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
moonman1994Nov 25, 2017
Bad CGI bad cinematography and bad writing mar Kong: Skull Island beyond repair. The movie relies heavily on CGI to set the atmosphere of the island but unfortunately it comes off as a phony and grotesque use of color saturation. The writingBad CGI bad cinematography and bad writing mar Kong: Skull Island beyond repair. The movie relies heavily on CGI to set the atmosphere of the island but unfortunately it comes off as a phony and grotesque use of color saturation. The writing is poor on two levels: first by the poor quality dialogue and secondly by the laziness of how characters are able to survive in certain situations for example the film can't seem to decide just how flammable sulfur is or just how toxic "toxic gas" is. This all being said the acting is all decent and on pure mindless entertainment value it's ok. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
deckApr 8, 2017
Its like a Marvel Movie. Lot of cgi and more cgi with a soft story everyone can understand. Well acting Jackson and Goodmann. King Kong of 2005 is way more worked out.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
LordMasterFeb 3, 2021
Visual effects are dope, the product placement is trash. . . . . . . . Visual effects are dope, the product placement is trash. . . . . . . . Visual effects are dope, the product placement is trash. . . . . . . .
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
moviecritic68Apr 8, 2017
Wasn't all that impressed with the imaginary screenplay. A bit too far-fetched overall. I gave credit to the creations used which boosted my rating. Not a big fan of Samuel L. Jackson's acting nor some of the other cast rmembers. Overall aWasn't all that impressed with the imaginary screenplay. A bit too far-fetched overall. I gave credit to the creations used which boosted my rating. Not a big fan of Samuel L. Jackson's acting nor some of the other cast rmembers. Overall a passable grade but barely. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
Astor_May 25, 2018
This movie doesn't feels good right from the start. Intense action without a strong plot. This continues right til the end. Mindless actions, monsters fighting monsters, men fighting monsters. The characters are dull and stereotypical. I doThis movie doesn't feels good right from the start. Intense action without a strong plot. This continues right til the end. Mindless actions, monsters fighting monsters, men fighting monsters. The characters are dull and stereotypical. I do not recommend watching this. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
royledesma90Mar 11, 2017
Fong did an amazing job, everything else has a regular level, on the other hand, sometimes the rhythm of the film becomes too slow and the action scenes are not at all epic.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
Ashwin36905Jun 4, 2017
Visually brilliant, but suffers from the typical blockbuster fever - bland characters, bland plot, bland pacing and super bland writing. Kong is cool though and thats what the film sets out to do, so overall - 6.4/10
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
NShep53Mar 19, 2017
Kong: Skull Island is honestly just meh. Characters are meh, story is meh and the writing is very meh. Kong looks great though and the action is fun to watch, but a Kong movie should be more than just a popcorn blockbuster.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
marcmyworksJun 27, 2017
Kong: Skull Island is an interesting take on the original horror classic, unfortunately it falls into the pit of typical action tropes, with a cast too large to care about and monsters too computer generated to root for.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
DudeFromIcelandFeb 5, 2018
This film has some stunning visual effects and some excellent action throughout, but what lets it down slightly is the story and the characters around it. It's a good cast all round but the characters aren't really fleshed out enough for myThis film has some stunning visual effects and some excellent action throughout, but what lets it down slightly is the story and the characters around it. It's a good cast all round but the characters aren't really fleshed out enough for my liking bar John C. Reilly's character who I thought was the standout.

It's a decent flick, not bad but not outstanding.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
AcaciaMar 18, 2017
I was very disappointed in this remake of the King Kong saga. While some aspects of the movie were enjoyable, its emphasis on war and war-like behavior by Samuel L. Jackson's character were too much of a departure from the adventure of beingI was very disappointed in this remake of the King Kong saga. While some aspects of the movie were enjoyable, its emphasis on war and war-like behavior by Samuel L. Jackson's character were too much of a departure from the adventure of being on Kong Island. I did not enjoy seeing areas of jungle being blown up constantly and, for me, this detracted greatly from the whole movie. Visiting Kong Island should have been about the adventure and the idea of seeing things you haven't seen before. Even if they are scary. It seemed a bit mean-spirited and although some of the other parts of the story were fun to watch, it basically took over the movie for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
LoveeLandMar 29, 2017
Don't go into this movie expecting a great story, great acting, or really anything great other than the effects. It is fun to go and see in 3D, but to me it is another below average film pumped out by Hollywood. If you are looking for a greatDon't go into this movie expecting a great story, great acting, or really anything great other than the effects. It is fun to go and see in 3D, but to me it is another below average film pumped out by Hollywood. If you are looking for a great Kong film, I would definitely recommend the Peter Jackson version, as the creatures, acting, and story are all superior to this new version. I'd only recommend you see it if you do so in 3D or IMAX. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JoeWilliamsMay 9, 2017
Kong:Skull Island is generic fun. If you come here to see the giant Kong, you'll be satisfied but for the characters,just no, the script is so lazy to give enough time to connect with characters that their death is meh and funny cause againKong:Skull Island is generic fun. If you come here to see the giant Kong, you'll be satisfied but for the characters,just no, the script is so lazy to give enough time to connect with characters that their death is meh and funny cause again no connection even if they were playd greatly by the actors. Plot is formulaic and predictable. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SavageYetiMar 22, 2017
kong skull island is a entertaining movie but has many downfalls that turn what could have been a good or even great movie into an average forgettable one. this movie has amazingly talented actors but somehow has some of the worst actedkong skull island is a entertaining movie but has many downfalls that turn what could have been a good or even great movie into an average forgettable one. this movie has amazingly talented actors but somehow has some of the worst acted scenes i have scene in a film of this caliber sadly do to the writing, and the character i thought would be the worst (hank marlow/john c. reilly) was actually in my opinion the only good character in the entire movie. sadly for me this movie will be forgotten quickly and doesnt make me excited for godzilla vs kong because this is an 0/2 for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
red_ninja_9Apr 19, 2017
This movie is average at best, not as good as the one by Peter Jackson. There arent enough creatures, the scenery is bland and repetitive, characters are forgettable (except John C Riley, he's good). The movie has a lot of potential but fellThis movie is average at best, not as good as the one by Peter Jackson. There arent enough creatures, the scenery is bland and repetitive, characters are forgettable (except John C Riley, he's good). The movie has a lot of potential but fell short, like it was rushed. Some actors in there has no purpose and completely forgetable that throws a one-liner here and there. There's no chemistry among the actors. So the movie was okay, don't expect to be blown away, you wont. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JorgeLestreMar 11, 2017
'Kong: Skull Island' stays behind Peter Jackson's bold approach back in 2005. It is entertaining sometimes but it feels that Hiddleston and Larson are only there to make name for the cast. Sam Jackson is the only one working here.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
KaptenVideoMar 20, 2017
Yet another "useful" reboot, also promoted as origin story... because movie buffs haven't surely seen enough of those, yeah? It doesn't even make much sense to create an origin story for Kong because his movies have always explained theYet another "useful" reboot, also promoted as origin story... because movie buffs haven't surely seen enough of those, yeah? It doesn't even make much sense to create an origin story for Kong because his movies have always explained the origins... but they did it anyway. For the bigger purpose to add the king ape into the newest Godzilla reboot. You do remember 2014's mediocre "Godzilla", starring Bryan Cranston, Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Ken Watanabe et al? You don’t? Hopefully you will still like to see the sequel „Godzilla: King of Monsters“ coming in 2019 March, where G and Kong will meet finally (again). Anyway, about the experience at hand. „Skull Island“ reaches wide cinema release this weekend. It’s probably partially an experiment, to see how early in the year the masses are ready to shell out their hard-earned for run-of-the-mill epics usually more suitable for summer season.

The movie cost 190 million dollars and I am glad to report that the producers have put this for good use. Everything looks amazing and for a big dumb adventure like this, there’s unusually big and varied line of actresses/ actors. Casting team has done a fine job indeed. We have: * some always super-solid supporting star players (John Goodman, Samuel L. Jackson), * an acclaimed indie actress offering some feminine beauty (Brie Larson), * also always-reliable surprise player who can do both drama and comedy (John C. Reilly), * and a bunch of good likable actors that you are sure you know from somewhere, even if you can’t recall the names (such as Tom Hiddleston – Loki from „Thor“, Corey Hawkins, John Ortiz, Toby Kebbell – doubling as a motion capture actor for Kong, Shea Whigham et al).

The only odd choice is to criminally underuse China’s rising star actress Tian Jing. She’s here but can’t do much. She’s not used to add beauty, she’s not gonna offer some kick-ass action scenes as in „The Great Wall“ alongside Matt Damon. Why cast her at all if you have no need for her?

What’s surprising is that actors are not here just to hold our attention between grand action setpieces. Their performances have heart and persuasiveness which is something of an achievement, considering that much of their acting time was probably spent in front of the empty green canvas. John C. Reilly is the main man here actually, he has the meatiest character and also the side-mission to act as a comic relief without turning into a joke. As usual, I love him and what he does with the material. Just the perfect balance between obscure, funny and crazy.

The monsters look awesome as well and meeting them is worth your time and ticket money. I watched „Kong: Skull Island“ in IMAX and 3D, and both have actually been put to good use here. But I am sure everything looks good in „standard“ 2D as well. "Skull Island" sure is a looker, not only monsters and fighting but the locations as well which make everything look truly epic. Filmed in Hawaii, Vietnam and Australia by the way.

The only reason I am not willing to give the result a higher score is the screenplay. It’s just a bunch of old tired cliches and, to add insult to the injury, the story has been left to sit uncomfortably between two different chairs in at least two important aspects. Firstly, the story’s is too cliched and unoriginal to really grab any adult viewer BUT there’s too much violence to gladly recommend it as a family thing. Secondly, the plot moves constantly between being very serious and just light-hearted which makes it uneven and sometimes hard to take.

In my mind, they should have modernized soldier characters, right now it feels like anachronism – something from old Kong movies. The army marches in and just tries to destroy everything which feels pretty disgusting in the „enlightened“ times of 21st century. If it wasn't all so serious, at least it could be taken as social commentary or black comedy or something. Even Jurassic's and Godzilla's latest outings have fresh-er approach to monster movies which involves more than senseless killing.

So you will get an odd combo where mindless destruction alternates with light-hearted adventure. Is it really proper approach for PG-13 family movie? Am I too sensitive here?
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Thatonenerd2187Mar 11, 2017
King Kong Is one of those monster movies where it focuses more on the action than the actual story, but I'm pretty sure that's what most people expect. The story itself I'd not only rushed, but it's actually trying to get itself to KongKing Kong Is one of those monster movies where it focuses more on the action than the actual story, but I'm pretty sure that's what most people expect. The story itself I'd not only rushed, but it's actually trying to get itself to Kong island as fast as possible, which surprised me because I was expecting it to take at least fourty five minutes to get there. The characters have no development, but they are entertaining to watch at times. The film I'd shot well, it looks nice, and the action scenes are entertaining to watch. Overall, if you just want action with giant monsters, you'll get it here. But if your expecting an Oscar worthy story, you better watch something else. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BroyaxAug 16, 2017
Ma foi, voici un film surprenant sur le roi Kong, une véritable biographie pleine de révélations étonnantes sur sa vie, ses origines et son engagement pour l'écologie et la préservation. Protecteur et défenseur des faibles et des opprimés, leMa foi, voici un film surprenant sur le roi Kong, une véritable biographie pleine de révélations étonnantes sur sa vie, ses origines et son engagement pour l'écologie et la préservation. Protecteur et défenseur des faibles et des opprimés, le roi Kong n'a eu de cesse de lutter avec détermination contre toutes les menaces à même de mettre en péril son royaume.

Ainsi, il a été décidé de lui accorder à l'unanimité le prix Nobel de la paix 2017 qu'il n'a pas voulu venir chercher, car selon ses propres termes -paraît-il- s'il se décidait à venir, "il ferait un malheur". Certes un peu soupe au lait, le roi Kong est en vérité une bonne pâte mais il n'aime pas qu'on lui marche sur les pieds, c'est dit.

Alors, le film n'est pas désagréable et bénéficie d'effets spéciaux de grande qualité et d'une réalisation très présentable : on a son lot d'explosions et de bagarres dantesques mais également pas mal de longueurs qui viennent souvent scier l'élan initial. Clairement trop long (presque 2h !) KSI peine à donner cette impression de danger malgré toutes les monstruosités qui peuplent l'île.

Jackson et Goodman (qui a maigri ?!) sont surtout là pour la gamelle et donner le change pendant que les autres branques de cette équipée de guignols se font bouffer les uns après les autres. Je note soit dit en passant la présence remarquée de cette charmante nana avec son débardeur gris (on dirait tombe raideur) qui nous jouerait presque l'impromptue fiancée du macaque géant (cette perverse quand même).

Certainement spectaculaire, KSI n'en reste pas moins bête, limité et superficiel, voire idiot avec son message écolo grossièrement martelé ; il est néanmoins fort divertissant avec un environnement sur mesure inattendu et très bien étudié pour célébrer le plus célèbre des gorilles.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
FromKangaJun 30, 2017
Kong: Skull island is one of the most undewhelming movies I've seen in a while.
I can appreciate some of the action scenes and monster design, but I found this movie to be really weak in story-telling and characters.
The story was boring,
Kong: Skull island is one of the most undewhelming movies I've seen in a while.
I can appreciate some of the action scenes and monster design, but I found this movie to be really weak in story-telling and characters.

The story was boring, people say that it's supposed to be a b-movie and I shouldn't take it seriously but it doesn't change the fact that it has a very forgettable and boring story and telling me it's a b-movie just feels like a sorry excuse, a b-movie can have a fun or at least a ridiculous story to make it entertaining but this film wasn't fun or entertaining.

The characters were either boring or really over the top, Tom Hiddleston and Brie Larson had no developpement, they had little to no chemistry and I didn't care about them or anyone in this movie.
Samuel L Jackson was way too over the top but his motivation was stupid and delusional, John Goodman's motivation as well was dumb and nonsensical and the other characters were boring and useless.

The special effects in this movie were fine, I liked some of the creatures design like some we see in the forest but the problem is that the main monsters were really dull looking, they had nothing unique about them and I was really dissapointed.
The action scenes were good, nothing spectacular but I liked that the movie was brutal at some points in the movie, people get torn apart, eaten alive and blown up... It's cool to watch and I won't deny that.
I would like to point out that the soundtrack in the movie was horrendous in my opinion, the music wasn't terrible but it felt so out of place in the movie so it was really distracting and it took me out of the movie.

I don't hate Kong: Skull island, it had it's moments and I wasn't angry at the end of the movie, but the lack of good characters and a good story made this film boring and forgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ATXHippieMar 12, 2017
Lots of excellent special effects, although there were a few non-sequiturs that made you go, What??? At times I felt like I was watching a Star Trek movie wherein there seemed to be an inexplicably endless supply of the doomed guys in the redLots of excellent special effects, although there were a few non-sequiturs that made you go, What??? At times I felt like I was watching a Star Trek movie wherein there seemed to be an inexplicably endless supply of the doomed guys in the red shirts. John C. Reilly was hilarious. I liked Hiddleston's performance. About 50% of the time Tom Hiddleston & Brie Larson seemed to be in two different movies. To be fair, Brie's part did not have a lot of meat to it. Smiling, crying, looking tough & determined, taking photographs. There was an English 101 superficial smattering of references to Joseph Conrad's great novel, "Heart of Darkness." The military leader played by Samuel L. Jackson had a lot of Kurtz, or even Captain Ahab, in him. The character was way over to top. Multiple movie genres were mashed together: Vietnam pullout movie, Kong movie, Jurassic Park, Apocalypse Now, & so on. You must watch all the way through the credits and beyond to see the sequel hints: Mothra & the Hydra may be on the horizon. So the Japanese and the Greek mythology are pulled in at the end. The actors playing the military guys were fun to watch. So this movie was fun, but had too many random elements and dumb, illogical plot drivers. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
d0vla11Jul 31, 2018
Even though the movie has impressive action scenes and song choices, it lacks fine storytelling and has lame-developed characters.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SoulWarfareApr 1, 2021
In anticipation of Godzilla vs Kong, I've decided to rewatch all the previous Monsterverse movies. I was curious about how they were going to reboot Kong and bring him to the Godzilla universe since King Kong the original was a prettyIn anticipation of Godzilla vs Kong, I've decided to rewatch all the previous Monsterverse movies. I was curious about how they were going to reboot Kong and bring him to the Godzilla universe since King Kong the original was a pretty conclusive story. The premise is "Scientists, soldiers and adventurers unite to explore a mythical, uncharted island in the Pacific Ocean. Cut off from everything they know, they venture into the domain of the mighty Kong, igniting the ultimate battle between man and nature. As their mission of discovery soon becomes one of survival, they must fight to escape from a primal world where humanity does not belong". So is Kong a great reboot or a piece of banana peel?

Firstly, the visuals and cinematography by Larry Fong are gorgeous. Some stunning shots are proper eye candy. Due to the location of where they filmed, we also got some interesting environments to look at as well compared to the grey dull city from Godzilla (2014). The cinematographer and director perfectly capture the Vietnam War-style and incorporates it into a monster movie. It sounds like it shouldn't work but it does mesh well. Additionally, there is a very talented cast in this movie including Tom Hiddleston, Brie Larson, Samuel L Jackson, John Goodman, John C. Reilly and more. All of them give great performances with props to Samuel L Jackson for striking the right craziness that fits the movie.

I also really enjoyed the design of Skull Island which looks beautiful but lies a lot of scary stuff. The monster designs all look brilliant from the giant Spider to the giant Moose and the scary Skull crawlers. I also really enjoyed the action scenes including the ones that are just the humans. They are all fun to watch but the Kong scenes are the most exhilarating. Kong: Skull Island also goes in a drastically different tone compared to Godzilla (2014) by being way more over the top and comedic. It's fine and there are some funny moments in there.

However, there are too many characters in this movie. It's obvious most of them are expendable but the movie spends a fair amount of time on these expendables characters which feel like padding for time. It also feels like it is taking screen time from the leading main characters. Furthermore, it doesn't even take the time to fully delve into our leading characters, James Conrad (Tom Hiddleston) and Mason Weaver (Brie Larson), motives or backstories. There is a later part where these characters make what is an important decision but you don't get why they decide to do it or the weight behind the decision because we the audience barely know anything about them. On top of that, all the supporting characters are very one-dimensional so there ain't any interesting characters whatsoever. Loads of characters die and the movie tries to portray this in a serious and meaningful, but it comes off as ironically funny. For example, one character chooses to delay the monster with other characters screaming for them to not do it but he then dies hilariously. The movie also goes at an incredibly fast pace and never really takes a moment to breathe some life into Kong and the human characters. It just goes from point A to B and then it's over. This can be fine if the things that occurred had good dialogue but it doesn't. There is a lot of dialogue that adds nothing to the plot and just feels like more padding to get the runtime closer to 2 hours. For example, some characters give real cryptic statements like "Sometimes the enemy doesn’t exist until you go looking for them". Yeah, that sounds cool and all but what does that have to do with Kong punching a giant lizard? It's just wasteful dialogue.

Overall, Kong Skull Island is silly but very entertaining. It's nowhere near as good as the original King Kong but it certainly works as a serviceable popcorn movie. If Kong ever gets another solo outing then hopefully they utilize Kong's connection with humans more as that is an advantage he has over Godzilla for a more compelling story.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
PhilipBlakeSep 7, 2019
The original movie is better, the Peter Jackson 2005 version is better, the Dino DeLaurentiis 1976 version starring Jeff Bridges is better, it only surpassed the awful sequel King Kong Lives! But this stupid oversized Kong version, even ifThe original movie is better, the Peter Jackson 2005 version is better, the Dino DeLaurentiis 1976 version starring Jeff Bridges is better, it only surpassed the awful sequel King Kong Lives! But this stupid oversized Kong version, even if it's just a poor excuse to introduce yourself to the upcoming Godzilla vs Kong movie, isn't as horrible as I've expected. Sure this is all about Marvel's Loki, Nick Fury and Captain Marvel dealing with a huge chimpanzee, and the screenplay looks like a weird Jurassic Park set in the Apocalypse Now era... But for some reason I still found it enjoyable in some point. The cast and the average CGI for sure helped a lot. That's not a good movie at all, but it's a funny popcorn summer blockbuster and was in my humble opinion not as terrible as Godzilla was at least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
TheGwillNov 1, 2019
Decent to watch in the most part but the incessant artsy fartsy camera stuff did my nut in.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
yungmuvMar 30, 2021
For the enthusiast, don't watch it if you don't have much free time. I have difficulty understanding the positive comments this movie gets. Nevertheless, I am giving 5 for Tom Hiddleston and Samuel L. Jackson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews