A24 | Release Date: November 3, 2017
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 804 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
630
Mixed:
96
Negative:
78
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
kevinarnoldNov 4, 2017
As far as indie dramedies go, this is one of the best I've seen. Greta Gerwig's writing and direction are very natural, creating funny characters you actually care about and a unique point of view. Everything works in the movie and wasAs far as indie dramedies go, this is one of the best I've seen. Greta Gerwig's writing and direction are very natural, creating funny characters you actually care about and a unique point of view. Everything works in the movie and was clearly thought out, made with love and intelligence. Highly recommended. Expand
20 of 24 users found this helpful204
All this user's reviews
7
annbdMar 10, 2018
If I have to be honest, the movie was not particularly interesting. Personally, I appreciate, that it is related to real life, maybe not only related, but also it represents the picture of most people's lives - not knowing who you are,If I have to be honest, the movie was not particularly interesting. Personally, I appreciate, that it is related to real life, maybe not only related, but also it represents the picture of most people's lives - not knowing who you are, strange relationships and everyday struggle with family members and friends, problems in school and in finding university and intimate life. So, I appreciate the focus on that. It's teen drama though. It says the movie is drama and comedy, didn't rally feel the comedy there. "Yes, I gave that name to myself. It is given to me by me" - that was fun haha! Anyway, I am used to teen comedies and I didn't get that movie as comedy. Somehow, soundtracks weren't enough and the script wasn't something special. Overall, it was a bit chaotic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
UncleWillardMar 14, 2019
All four stars go to Saiorse Ronan on this one. It's a great performance, but the story is lacking. Nothing really happens, which isn't always the worst thing that can happen. I'm all for atmosphere and light on story if it's done right, butAll four stars go to Saiorse Ronan on this one. It's a great performance, but the story is lacking. Nothing really happens, which isn't always the worst thing that can happen. I'm all for atmosphere and light on story if it's done right, but this comes off as a knock-off piece of Boyhood to me. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Feb 27, 2018
Lady Bird probably isn't winning any Oscars but it's a great coming of age story. Written and directed by Greta Gerwig and starring Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Lucas Hedges and Timothée Chalamet. I've never been a massive Saoirse Ronan fanLady Bird probably isn't winning any Oscars but it's a great coming of age story. Written and directed by Greta Gerwig and starring Saoirse Ronan, Laurie Metcalf, Lucas Hedges and Timothée Chalamet. I've never been a massive Saoirse Ronan fan but she played this part perfectly. Timothée Chalamet is so insignificant I almost forgot he was in the movie, Lucas Hedges gives another great performance but for me it's Laurie Metcalf as Lady Birds' mother who stands out above the rest.

Christine "Lady Bird" McPherson is in her final year of school in Sacramento, California. Longing to move away from her home and to where "culture is" the story follows her and the every day problems facing a seventeen year old girl. Lady Bird is a very emotional movie not only because it deals with issues many of us can relate to but it's one of those films were the acting gradually disappears and you feel like you're watching real people with real problems. Lady Bird's relationship with her mother played by Laurie Metcalf for example is perhaps the strongest element in the movie. An onscreen relationship that from the very opening scene feels remarkably genuine. Laurie Metcalf gives a brilliant performance, and will definitely hit you with all the feels. There were a couple of ideas brought into the story that were dropped and had no follow up and for me the ending was a little dissatisfying. I found this quite frustrating but Lady Bird is a great coming of age movie that you're sure to enjoy. Highly recommended.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
Tony1984Mar 6, 2018
This is a sweet coming of age movie . The quality of the acting is excellent. Saoirse Ronan really shows off her acting ability. In fact the whole cast does.
But coming of age movies are nothing new. They were the bread and butter of the
This is a sweet coming of age movie . The quality of the acting is excellent. Saoirse Ronan really shows off her acting ability. In fact the whole cast does.
But coming of age movies are nothing new. They were the bread and butter of the 80's. 'The Breakfast Club' or 'Pretty in Pink' were wonderful movies and ‘Lady Bird isn't in the same class as either of these two. It’s the narrative of 'Lady Bird' where the fault lines lie. The dysfunctional self indulgent self pitying family is a cliche and its obsession with money repellent. The family including lady bird herself isn't terribly attractive or virtuous. The political correctness isn't too bad in this movie, no more than usual but it’s a bit odd going into debt sending children to a fee paying catholic school whilst mocking nuns and their philosophy. A little bit of hypocrisy but it can be forgiven for the nice ending.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
MasterRileyAug 6, 2018
Lady Bird is a pretty good coming of age movie. I don't know that its worth all the praise its getting. Its got really good acting and performances, the story and themes are well written and presented, but it doesn't really do anything newLady Bird is a pretty good coming of age movie. I don't know that its worth all the praise its getting. Its got really good acting and performances, the story and themes are well written and presented, but it doesn't really do anything new with the coming of age genre. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
joaodeazevedoaJul 10, 2018
this movie should have earned at least 1 Oscar, but **** it. The fact that it was nominated is already good enough.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
AkumaJackMay 10, 2018
Greta Gerwig could be a very good director soon, but i doubt she will be a good screenwriter in the close future. The plot of the movie is full of cliches about teenagers badly executed. So we have the popular mean girl, the fatty loser, theGreta Gerwig could be a very good director soon, but i doubt she will be a good screenwriter in the close future. The plot of the movie is full of cliches about teenagers badly executed. So we have the popular mean girl, the fatty loser, the gay dude with intrest in theater, the edgy anti capitalistic kid and so on. Everything seems fake. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
KamilmanzurFeb 19, 2018
The movie is so realistic. The dialogues are excelent, and the acting gives them a plus. Sometimes the characters are fighting and 5 seconds later they are laughing, just as real life.
The direction is good. I had some issues with the script,
The movie is so realistic. The dialogues are excelent, and the acting gives them a plus. Sometimes the characters are fighting and 5 seconds later they are laughing, just as real life.
The direction is good. I had some issues with the script, making characters appear at the half and some sub-stories have not a end. Is not the most original movie i've ever seen but neither the less. I think that if it was a serie, it could have been better.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
chapel_dwellerMar 27, 2018
This movie just kinda got teenage emotion in the bag, it made me feel nostalgic over anything and I would definitely watch it again.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
CodyNewlonAug 6, 2018
Lady Bird was just eh, good. It was okay. The actors were great and I was fully interested in what they were doing, until the movie decided to not be creative and in cliche. Sorry, I don't care for another high school story, where the mainLady Bird was just eh, good. It was okay. The actors were great and I was fully interested in what they were doing, until the movie decided to not be creative and in cliche. Sorry, I don't care for another high school story, where the main character ditches her best friend just because she wants to hangout with the cool kids (SNORE). The cinematography wasn't bad, but it was pretty repetitive and bland as the film progressed. The directing the pretty standard and the writing just felt mediocre. In the end the actors helped lead the story in a non destructive way, so it kept me interested. If you're looking for a simple and funny coming of age high school film, then I would recommend this to you. If you're looking for something more creative and visually pleasing to look at, then I don't think this movie is for you. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
ericdeltacoMay 3, 2018
Greta Gerwig manages to take cliches from a typical coming of age story, and turns it into so much more. Each character, no matter how insignificant, is well developed, and very relatable. Saoirse Ronan and Laurie Metcalf's performances willGreta Gerwig manages to take cliches from a typical coming of age story, and turns it into so much more. Each character, no matter how insignificant, is well developed, and very relatable. Saoirse Ronan and Laurie Metcalf's performances will make you emotional and reminiscent of your teen years. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
YungKangJun 20, 2018
Moving behind the lens this time around, Gerwig's vision of the indie drama-comedy is a fully realized sketch of 21st century coming-of-age narratives. Simultaneously courageous, witty, and frustrating, the performances and script make this aMoving behind the lens this time around, Gerwig's vision of the indie drama-comedy is a fully realized sketch of 21st century coming-of-age narratives. Simultaneously courageous, witty, and frustrating, the performances and script make this a charming film bursting with talent every step of the way. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
rafathefelixJul 8, 2018
Christine McPherson (Saoirse Ronan) está no último ano do ensino médio e o que mais deseja é ir fazer faculdade longe de Sacramento, Califórnia, ideia firmemente rejeitada por sua mãe (Laurie Metcalf). Lady Bird, como a garota de forteChristine McPherson (Saoirse Ronan) está no último ano do ensino médio e o que mais deseja é ir fazer faculdade longe de Sacramento, Califórnia, ideia firmemente rejeitada por sua mãe (Laurie Metcalf). Lady Bird, como a garota de forte personalidade exige ser chamada, não se dá por vencida e leva o plano de ir embora adiante mesmo assim. Enquanto sua hora não chega, no entanto, ela se divide entre as obrigações estudantis no colégio católico, o primeiro namoro, típicos rituais de passagem para a vida adulta e inúmeros desentendimentos com a progenitora. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
natedeugJul 25, 2018
A beautiful bildungsroman wonderfully performed by the lead actress Saoirse Ronan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
EgeBerkAug 5, 2018
I watched all the Academy nominees' films and I need to win this award for me. I enjoyed every minute of it was a wonderful film, a great screenplay, excellent acting all very good players in the future. The film was quite realistic and itI watched all the Academy nominees' films and I need to win this award for me. I enjoyed every minute of it was a wonderful film, a great screenplay, excellent acting all very good players in the future. The film was quite realistic and it should be in a movie as if it was a real life I felt like I was living in a young girl I was fully aware of the years of puberty. If I were a member who voted in the academy, I gave it to the best movie award for the lady bird. I would like to thank everyone who has passed the test in this film I enjoyed it very much Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
In_a_senseAug 13, 2018
Hands down, one of the best films of the year. Lady bird is a fearless, original, bittersweet, and intricate coming of age story between a girl and her mother. Slammed to the brim with meaningful moments, heartfelt emotion, and absolutelyHands down, one of the best films of the year. Lady bird is a fearless, original, bittersweet, and intricate coming of age story between a girl and her mother. Slammed to the brim with meaningful moments, heartfelt emotion, and absolutely breathtaking acting, "Lady Bird", is a flawless film, and absolutely astonishing first film from talented actor-director Greta Gerwig. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Slovenly_MuseAug 31, 2018
Brilliantly captures that beautiful bubble of transition between dramatic teenage years and adult maturity, combined with a realistic and wrenching portrayal of complicated familial love.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
gerry6992Nov 18, 2017
Lady Bird is a funny witty and intelligent movie. I loved every minute of it. Greta Gerwig wrote a heartfelt and profound movie that describes this special mother-and-daughter relationship. It feels authentic. I loved it!
Go and see Lady
Lady Bird is a funny witty and intelligent movie. I loved every minute of it. Greta Gerwig wrote a heartfelt and profound movie that describes this special mother-and-daughter relationship. It feels authentic. I loved it!
Go and see Lady Bird! Way to go Greta Gerwig
Expand
9 of 11 users found this helpful92
All this user's reviews
10
ProteusNov 20, 2017
Hollywood should be embarrassed when they see a lovely low budget movie like this with sincerity humor and purely entertaining characters from real life.

This is called art. Its called heart. Its what is missing in so many movies now. A
Hollywood should be embarrassed when they see a lovely low budget movie like this with sincerity humor and purely entertaining characters from real life.

This is called art. Its called heart. Its what is missing in so many movies now. A clear voice expertly directed and acted and presented to the viewer with ease. Bravo.
Expand
11 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
10
j1trainNov 7, 2017
Just about perfect. Will surely land Saoirse Ronan her third Oscar nomination, and better land Laurie Metcalf her first (how could that be correct?) and Greta Gerwig a directing nom for this stunning debut. Gerwig, a fine actress, somehowJust about perfect. Will surely land Saoirse Ronan her third Oscar nomination, and better land Laurie Metcalf her first (how could that be correct?) and Greta Gerwig a directing nom for this stunning debut. Gerwig, a fine actress, somehow transcends the cliches of the coming-of-age story and makes Lady Bird feel like something entirely fresh. Hits every note perfectly. Expand
10 of 13 users found this helpful103
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Nov 17, 2017
This was without a doubt a charming and wonderfully acted, albeit a bit been there, done that, by the numbers coming-of-age dramedy from indie darling Greta Gerwig (an impressive directorial debut). Saoirse Ronan shines like usual as theThis was without a doubt a charming and wonderfully acted, albeit a bit been there, done that, by the numbers coming-of-age dramedy from indie darling Greta Gerwig (an impressive directorial debut). Saoirse Ronan shines like usual as the titular nicknamed character, along with honest and often times heartfelt performances from her parents played by Laurie Metcalf and Tracy Letts. The writing and direction from Gerwig was witty and spot on quite often. However, like I said, it didn't really transcend or bring too much new to the table in terms of high school/coming-of-age comedies. Despite this however, the film contained a lot of heart and undeniable charm and humor throughout overall. Definitely worth seeking out. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
7
WhiskeyStoriesDec 28, 2017
Lady Bird gives an admirably honest look at adolescence, family, relationships and the importance of being yourself, while managing to stay surprisingly grounded and authentic. The acting overall is pretty great with some real stand-outLady Bird gives an admirably honest look at adolescence, family, relationships and the importance of being yourself, while managing to stay surprisingly grounded and authentic. The acting overall is pretty great with some real stand-out performances by Laurie Matcalf and Saoirse Ronan. Unfortunately the story lacks the originality to transcend its genre, but as a coming of age movie Lady Bird is really good, probably the best of its kind since Juno. Even though I absolutely loved Greta Gerwig's writing and humor, overall I kinda felt like Lady Bird was just not really for me. Still I'd wholeheartedly recommend it. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
JLuis_001Dec 28, 2017
One more case in which I must row against the current and discover something that a person who had already seen this movie told me, apparently you cannot give a negative opinion about this film and considering what I have seen now that I haveOne more case in which I must row against the current and discover something that a person who had already seen this movie told me, apparently you cannot give a negative opinion about this film and considering what I have seen now that I have finished it, I will undoubtedly be crucified by many, but being quite honest for everything they mentioned about it and the huge avalanche of positive reviews it received, in my personal opinion, Lady Bird is one of the biggest disappointments of the year and yes, is perhaps the most overrated movie of the year along with Get Out.

Lady Bird tells the story of Christine "Lady Bird" McPherson, a young woman who lives in Sacramento in 2002, regardless of certain narrative resources that the movie does not need to use, like social networks and smartphones, the time frame in which the film takes place it couldn't have been more irrelevant.
My biggest problem has to do with the main character and when something like that happens, you know it's serious, personally my adolescence flew away many years ago, but for me now as then it would be quite clear to expose Christine as a spoiled, selfish and narcissist brat that at all times and in all situations, she only thinks about herself. Everyone is wrong except her. She also lives complaining about the life she has while doing nothing to change her environment beyond the fact the she's trying to enter an out of state college just to leave the place where she feels locked up, not caring at all that her parents are facing financial problems and have made it clear that supporting her financially is not an option, but she doesn't care because like in many other coming of age films, the ''teenagers'' believe they are being repressed in their place of origin and so their talents are not properly exploited. Cliché and repetitive.

The true strength of the film and the story in general lies in everything that surrounds her, that's the best reason to see Lady Bird because most of those characters have more serious problems and forge what she does regardless of whether she believes that's not the case, starting with her mother and her father, it's true that her mother presses too much, but come on, you have to be honest, it's not like Lady Bird leaves her with so many options with her childish tantrums.
Her father is unemployed and struggling with depression trying to provide for her family and yet Lady Bird's concerns lie in what she will do, avoiding helping in any way.
Her boyfriend, her best friend, the guy with whom she loses her virginity, her momentary and popular friend, her adopted brother and her girlfriend, all form a protective halo in a narrative mode because it's the conflicts of those characters what sustain this movie, otherwise Lady Bird wouldn't have been more than just a movie of another teenager incapable of deciding what she hopes to do with her life and that situation has is been seen already too many times in both cinema and real life

The film gets recomposed in its final section where the character absorbs a bit of maturity and enters a new stage of her life, the ending makes it clear but until that point we can only infer what will be of her in the future and perhaps she will become a better person and certainly then she could have been a better character, but it wasn't the case and for me that diminished my enjoyment and enthusiasm for the film in a big way.

I admit that Saoirse Ronan does a good job, but on front of such script, unfortunately the character doesn't stop being annoying. She manages to give it a little more strength for being a great actress, otherwise I think that the character would have been lost miserably.

Greta Gerwing delivers a film that looks good, that has an uneven but sustained rhythm. She manages to take her first film to a safe harbor but if she really wants to continue making films as a filmmaker, she needs stronger scripts.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
4
AlexHacheJan 11, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don't quite understand the hype. I found the movie pretty boring, clichéd, and immature.
The new boyfriend is gay... how original, how shocking. The fat, poor friend is kind and loyal, while the pretty, rich friend is a jerk...
For about half an hour, I expected the movie to really 'start'; then I realized it would never 'start', and I just waited for it to end.
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
9
moonman1994Nov 24, 2017
Lady Bird is a compelling and very funny female coming of age story. Every joke hits and the performances by the actors are great. The film follow's "lady bird's" progression during her senior year of high school through the beginning ofLady Bird is a compelling and very funny female coming of age story. Every joke hits and the performances by the actors are great. The film follow's "lady bird's" progression during her senior year of high school through the beginning of college. The acting is superb and the film does a great job broaching subjects such as poverty, friendships and even a small coming out story in the middle of it without being preachy in any way. The fact that this was a writing and directorial debut makes me very excited to see what Gerwig does next! Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
Kate22Dec 12, 2017
Absolutely loved LADY BIRD. It was refreshing to watch a film that has zero violence or CGI. Saoirse gives another fantastic performance along with Laurie. The supporting cast are all fantastic too. Gerwig wrote a robust script along with herAbsolutely loved LADY BIRD. It was refreshing to watch a film that has zero violence or CGI. Saoirse gives another fantastic performance along with Laurie. The supporting cast are all fantastic too. Gerwig wrote a robust script along with her solo debut as a director. I hope she directs & writes more because these are were her strengths are in my opinion. It was nice to see the working/middle classes depicted with such realness too. 10/10 Expand
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
10
JackbritboyNov 5, 2017
Lady Bird is a beautifully told coming-of-age drama filled with genuine comedic moments and emotional, thought-provoking conversations.Tightly edited, the movie feels balanced and honest; and at the end, it makes you want to linger a littleLady Bird is a beautifully told coming-of-age drama filled with genuine comedic moments and emotional, thought-provoking conversations.Tightly edited, the movie feels balanced and honest; and at the end, it makes you want to linger a little longer with the characters after the credit rolls. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
6
TheWaffleDec 29, 2017
Enjoyable but unoriginal. Lady Bird is a well made coming-of-age story, but it doesn't bring much new to the table. Set in 2002, it feels like a nostalgic teenage movie, as though it's 15 years to late for the Gen Xers, and it doesn't adaptEnjoyable but unoriginal. Lady Bird is a well made coming-of-age story, but it doesn't bring much new to the table. Set in 2002, it feels like a nostalgic teenage movie, as though it's 15 years to late for the Gen Xers, and it doesn't adapt the genre to deal with more modern teenage issues. There are no glaring weaknesses, except perhaps the father character who is played completely one-note throughout the film. It was never boring, but I don't expect Lady Bird will stick in my mind like other similar films. Expand
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
zorraDec 12, 2017
One of the best films of the year for me! Gerwig's depiction of a mother-daughter relationship is so spot-on. Strong performances from Saoirse, Laurie & supporting cast. An enjoyable tale of family,friendship and home!
6 of 9 users found this helpful63
All this user's reviews
10
The3AcademySinsNov 22, 2017
Lady Bird is an incredibly fresh coming of age story, a love letter to growing up in Sacramento and an incredible directorial debut by Greta Gerwig. The story of Lady Bird is so simple and ordinary, and yet the stakes are so high. We areLady Bird is an incredibly fresh coming of age story, a love letter to growing up in Sacramento and an incredible directorial debut by Greta Gerwig. The story of Lady Bird is so simple and ordinary, and yet the stakes are so high. We are given a small glimpse into a girl's life during her senior year of high school. The strengths of Lady Bird are a very strong script and very strong characters. The characters all felt like real people I had encountered in high school, and I found myself feeling very connected to Lady Bird's character and I strongly identified with her high school struggles. Millenials will really love this one! The silent scenes in the film almost speak louder than the dialogue heavy scenes, which is quite a feat as the dialogue is so natural! I will say that Lady Bird didn't quite hook me right away like some of the other Oscar offerings this year, but once the slow build finished, I was with the movie every step of the way. This is going to be one to remember. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
kate28Dec 15, 2017
One of my favorites of the year! Greta Gerwig's direction felt very natural; she created amazing characters. The scenes are very fast-paced so no scene drags. Saoirse & Laurie are remarkable and definitely awards worthy. The supporting castOne of my favorites of the year! Greta Gerwig's direction felt very natural; she created amazing characters. The scenes are very fast-paced so no scene drags. Saoirse & Laurie are remarkable and definitely awards worthy. The supporting cast are fantastic too. Jon Brion's score is beautiful. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
DiannLCharlesNov 18, 2017
I Know Why "Lady Bird" Sings.....

Greta Gerwig's "Lady Bird" is a captivating tale of love, life and coming of age. Christine McPherson (Saoirse Ronan), a 17 year old self proclaimed 'lady bird' feels caged in her small community hometown of
I Know Why "Lady Bird" Sings.....

Greta Gerwig's "Lady Bird" is a captivating tale of love, life and coming of age. Christine McPherson (Saoirse Ronan), a 17 year old self proclaimed 'lady bird' feels caged in her small community hometown of Sacramento, California.

New York City street lights, glossy magazine inspired beauty, the illusive enchantment of fairy tale love and an irrepressible penchant for sophisticated affluence beckon Lady Bird to spread her wings and soar into horizons of no dreams deferred and the undisguised voyage of life.

A beautiful, kaleidoscopic journey of chasing personal passions, conquering defeat and rising to the challenge, "Lady Bird" is a must see.

#ILoveLadyBird
Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
10
JozeroffNov 28, 2017
Finally a movie that is Really Real. America is giving a big Middle finger to all the predators and rapists pumping that the pipeline of brainwashing sewage out of Tinseltown. Burn Hollywood Burn.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
3
mikerayJan 11, 2018
Note that I am neither a Californian nor an American. Nor am I a female for that matter. I watched this movie expecting so much, especially after numerous critics named it as their favorite movie of the year. But I must say that I feltNote that I am neither a Californian nor an American. Nor am I a female for that matter. I watched this movie expecting so much, especially after numerous critics named it as their favorite movie of the year. But I must say that I felt nothing from it. I didn't find it moving, funny nor insightful. The movie was competently made as I never felt it was the work of a first time director. But other than that, I found that there was nothing original about the movie. The acting was well done, but nothing that would blow me away. I even tried watching it for a second time in case I'm missing something, but even after the second try I still felt nothing. I'm guessing all the adoring reviews were written by people who can relate to the experience told in Lady Bird. If not that, I absolutely fail to understand how this movie could a 94 critic score on metacritic (or even the 6.9 user score for that matter). Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
9
StevieGJDDec 9, 2017
This is a great film. The acting, writing and directing are superb. This is a character and place study. There is no real action or dramatic arc. But, there are a number of really interesting and relevant experiences of the mainThis is a great film. The acting, writing and directing are superb. This is a character and place study. There is no real action or dramatic arc. But, there are a number of really interesting and relevant experiences of the main character, her reaction to, and her growth from, those experiences is the narrative. The relationship between Lady Bird and her mother is the most poignant part of this lovely film. Expand
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticNov 24, 2017
Lady Bird is a smart satisfying treasure that puts Writer Director Greta Gerwig on the map. The film plays almost as a real life story between a mother played by Laurie Metcalf and her daughter played by Saoirse Ronan. Both are fabulous andLady Bird is a smart satisfying treasure that puts Writer Director Greta Gerwig on the map. The film plays almost as a real life story between a mother played by Laurie Metcalf and her daughter played by Saoirse Ronan. Both are fabulous and there are even supporting performances by Lucas Hedges and Tracy Letts that create this feeling of a real life teenagers life. This is a dynamite film. A Expand
5 of 9 users found this helpful54
All this user's reviews
3
natanfkFeb 1, 2018
Sincerely, what is this crap doing in the oscars? Not only because the films is REALLY bad (30 minutes through and I was begging it to end), but it doesn't have an "oscar vibe", it's just another stupid school movie + "american family" movieSincerely, what is this crap doing in the oscars? Not only because the films is REALLY bad (30 minutes through and I was begging it to end), but it doesn't have an "oscar vibe", it's just another stupid school movie + "american family" movie like so many others out there. It didn't deserve even ONE of the nominations, except maybe for best supporting actress (being nominated for best movie, best screenplay and best direction is absolutely bizarre)

Full of empty, shallow dialogues, useless scenes, subplots that are immediately abandoned (it reminded me of The Room), and a lot of boring, stupid characters that are completely unlikable (except for the father). The screenplay and edit are TERRIBLE.

I had already not liked Brooklyn, and didn't find Saoirse Ronan's acting so great then (that movie also sucks), but her nomination for best actress is another thing I can't understand. Not only her acting is just "meh", she is totally unconvincing as a teenager school girl.
Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
10
FursanSDec 10, 2017
A coming to age story that seemed so familiar, felt so original in Greta Gerwig’s debut film as a solo screenwriter-director. This film has blown me away and might be the best film I have seen all year. It is full of sincerity and wit thatA coming to age story that seemed so familiar, felt so original in Greta Gerwig’s debut film as a solo screenwriter-director. This film has blown me away and might be the best film I have seen all year. It is full of sincerity and wit that kept me laughing the whole way. Greta Gerwig has created characters that have never felt more real on the screen. The film’s focus is on the struggle between its two lead female roles, effortlessly acted by Saorise rose, who plays a 17 year old adolescent eagerly trying to escape her hometown of Sacramento, which she referred to in the film as “the Midwest of California”, and her strong willed mother Marian Mcpherson, played by Laurie Metcalf, a psychiatric nurse struggling to make ends meet amid economic hardships of the early 2000’s and after her husband, Larry Mcpherson, played by Tracy Letts, loses his job. During her senior year at a private catholic high school, Soarise Rose’s character, Christine McPherson, who prefers to be called “Lady Bird”, yearns for new experiences as she continues to form new relationships and friendships throughout the film. Her venturesome personality has overcome Christine’s will to find common ground with her mother, who is more of a realist and wants Christine to understand the poor financial situation her family is in and the obstacles present that prevent Christine from traveling away for college. Her mother coldly pushes this mentality on her daughter, but fails to demoralize Christine from wanting more, and fighting, though not fully driven academically, to gain admission and financial aid to attend an east coast university, where she might “find more culture”, through the assistance of her clinically depressed father who is more sympathetic of Christine’s ambitions. Soarise Rose’s character is a great depiction of the compulsive and pleasure-chasing mind of an adolescent that will have you feeling nostalgic and emotionally attached. Nothing about these characters are cliche. Their dynamic personalities, perfectly portrayed on screen, will have you anxiously wanting to continue following the rest of their stories. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
9
DayZ_TabloidsDec 15, 2017
You've seen these 200X coming of age stories before. This one is just done pretty f*in well. Heart. Quirk. Slice of life dished out over time with characters that feel like they belong.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
9
PyledwNov 18, 2017
This movie seemed very similar to last years "Edge of 17". And to be honest it is VERY similar in the concept, but the execution is VERY different. This film takes itself much more seriously than the aforementioned Edge of 17. This movieThis movie seemed very similar to last years "Edge of 17". And to be honest it is VERY similar in the concept, but the execution is VERY different. This film takes itself much more seriously than the aforementioned Edge of 17. This movie follows Christine "Lady Bird" as she tries to navigate her last year of high school. I would highly recommend this movie as it really portrays the "Average" high school experience for confused teens in our day.

This movie will not be for everyone, BUT from a pure film aspect it is brilliantly shot, the acting is excellent, and the dialog is eloquent and keeps your attention well.
Expand
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantNov 12, 2017
A mildly amusing, sometimes-surprising, occasionally observant coming of age story that entertains for the most part but that actually seems more preoccupied with its own sense of rampant quirkiness than telling a cohesive, cogent story, asA mildly amusing, sometimes-surprising, occasionally observant coming of age story that entertains for the most part but that actually seems more preoccupied with its own sense of rampant quirkiness than telling a cohesive, cogent story, as is the case with virtually every Greta Gerwig project (even though she's doing her work behind the camera this time). Enjoy the fine performances by Laurie Metcalf and Saorise Ronan (even though she seems a bit old to be playing a teenager), and laugh at the offbeat, unexpected humor, but don't expect groundbreaking cinema from this somewhat-overhyped offering. One can only watch these kinds of movies so many times before the formula really starts to get stale. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
AcaciaDec 16, 2017
This is a good movie, but for some reason, it left me a little cold. I do not know if it is because I don’t have a daughter or if I just didn’t care enough for the characters. It could also have been because my expectations were so highThis is a good movie, but for some reason, it left me a little cold. I do not know if it is because I don’t have a daughter or if I just didn’t care enough for the characters. It could also have been because my expectations were so high based upon all the reviews. Anyway, I enjoyed it and wasn’t bored and that is good. But, other than that, it was just okay for me. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
8
MetaflixNov 18, 2017
Nobody escapes adolescence unscathed. For those who wish to re-live the experience, nobody does a better job at capturing those puerile years full of emotional yearning and social dread than America's indie princess, Greta Gerwig.

Gerwig's
Nobody escapes adolescence unscathed. For those who wish to re-live the experience, nobody does a better job at capturing those puerile years full of emotional yearning and social dread than America's indie princess, Greta Gerwig.

Gerwig's writing is invariably grounded and concise--she's the Hemingway of film. It complements the small yet densely textured worlds that she creates and explores, reminiscent of those artists who paint miniature landscapes that need to be admired through a magnifying glass.

'Lady Bird' is more than just the continuation of Gerwig's impressive filmography. It's her quintessential film. The dialogue is crisp, Saoirse Ronan's performance is sublime, and the story hews to the inextricable mix of tedium and drama that encapsulate one's senior year of high school. Even if the movie doesn't garner much attention come awards season, it'll at least serve to further elevate Gerwig's status as America's preeminent indie darling.
Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
LynJan 15, 2018
Saoirse Ronan gives one beautifully transparent performance after another -- whether playing a confused/conniving younger sister or a trained assassin. So I like what she brings to this, and there's a "real" feel to the other acting, as well.Saoirse Ronan gives one beautifully transparent performance after another -- whether playing a confused/conniving younger sister or a trained assassin. So I like what she brings to this, and there's a "real" feel to the other acting, as well. However, it brings nothing new to the coming-of-age genre. I also feel there's been too little mention of the downright abusive nature of the mother's (Laurie Metcalf) behavior. You HOPE the girl will get away! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
dc127Mar 28, 2018
I went into Lady Bird after all of the hype. The movie is interesting. I would say that all of the actors and actresses do a really nice job playing the roles they have been given. The hard part is that some of the characters are quiteI went into Lady Bird after all of the hype. The movie is interesting. I would say that all of the actors and actresses do a really nice job playing the roles they have been given. The hard part is that some of the characters are quite unlikeable. Lady Bird is just all over the place. She is self entitled, selfish, and just straight up weird. Saoirse Ronan is a great actress, but I often was taken out of scenes because she is clearly so much older than the role she is playing. I know 20 year olds routinely play high school kids, but something about her appearance makes her look even older. The movie also doesn't really have a plot. It is a good snapshot of what it is like to be Lady Bird. The movie just doesn't deserve the 9 and 10's critics have been giving it. I chalk that up to a couple factors. One is that Lady Bird is obsessed with New York and moving to where there is more "culture." This feeds into the elitist mindset of many critics. The other is that the main character and the director are women. Again, most reviewers have a liberal bias and this will buy the movie a couple extra good will points. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
meyers76Feb 7, 2018
It is very reminiscent of the innumerable amount of "coming of age tales" that have been instrumental in the sphere of popular movies. It is dissimilar enough from the legions of others to the point where it becomes an exceptional film. ItIt is very reminiscent of the innumerable amount of "coming of age tales" that have been instrumental in the sphere of popular movies. It is dissimilar enough from the legions of others to the point where it becomes an exceptional film. It uses classic Oscar bait tactics like humor to build a strong relationship between that of the titular "Christine" and the viewer. Although a cheap way of doing, so the humor is never dry and most of the jokes hit as intended. The film is also a lovely diorama of the teenage experience; bringing up problems and insecurities that almost every teenager has experienced at some point. It is noticeably geared toward a female viewer, however; as a guy I could still draw parallels between shared experiences with the characters. Overall, this film is a sentimental and human journey through the senior year of a young girl. It may not have the exceptional grasp of realistic dialogue of a Baumbach film, and it may not have the cinematography of a Paul Thomas Anderson film, but it carries the same emotional punch as films such as the royal tanenbaums (without the sense of closure -- mild spoiler) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
WarriorlilyDec 6, 2017
A sweet, but rootless, meandering, unremarkable movie that seemed like it was lacking a vital life energy. All the good bits are in the trailer. Best thing about this was the brilliant Laurie Metcalf. You've got the usual teenage fare:A sweet, but rootless, meandering, unremarkable movie that seemed like it was lacking a vital life energy. All the good bits are in the trailer. Best thing about this was the brilliant Laurie Metcalf. You've got the usual teenage fare: concerns about college applications, sex, and friends but nothing wholly original. I know I am bucking the trend by saying these things, but I just don't get what all the critics are excited about. I am shocked that Rotten Tomatoes gave it 100%. Did Birdman get 100%? What is up with that? If you really want to see a brilliant movie, go see The Florida Project. That lives up to the hype. This movie was tepid, lackluster and forgettable. Expand
8 of 18 users found this helpful810
All this user's reviews
2
DOUGKNov 24, 2017
Professionally made but not worth seeing. I don't understand all of the rave reviews, nothing about this story is either interesting or captivating. Or believable. The characters are not likable, the story isn't funny, nothing about the filmProfessionally made but not worth seeing. I don't understand all of the rave reviews, nothing about this story is either interesting or captivating. Or believable. The characters are not likable, the story isn't funny, nothing about the film makes you care what will happen next. Odd what critics like. Expand
12 of 30 users found this helpful1218
All this user's reviews
7
BHBarryNov 5, 2017
“Lady Bird’ is the first writing/directing effort by actor Greta Gerwig as she casts and directs Saoirse Ronanas in the role of a young and rebellious Catholic teenager with Laurie Metcalf and Tracy Letts as her parents. This is a quality“Lady Bird’ is the first writing/directing effort by actor Greta Gerwig as she casts and directs Saoirse Ronanas in the role of a young and rebellious Catholic teenager with Laurie Metcalf and Tracy Letts as her parents. This is a quality coming of age film with Ms. Ronan (who won an Oscar nomination for her role In “Brooklyn”) portraying the daughter of a caring and sometimes dominating mother (Laurie Metcalf). The acting is outstanding and must in some way be attributable to the directing talents of Ms. Gerwig. The title of the film might make one tend to think it was about Mrs. LBJ but it’s simply the name this rebellious teenager wants to use in her quest for freedom and liberation from her Sacramento environment. Set in 2002 the movie delves into the relationships of teenagers with their peers, their parents and their teachers and, in its own charming way, helps us, as adults, to perhaps understand them better. I give the film an 8 and suggest that both young and old alike will enjoy it. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
9
marymaebennettDec 3, 2017
I go back and forth between a 93% to a 97% but I'm feeling generous! If you know how Rotten Tomatoes works, then I think it completely makes sense that it has that 100% because it's a very likable film with a lot of heart. I went with myI go back and forth between a 93% to a 97% but I'm feeling generous! If you know how Rotten Tomatoes works, then I think it completely makes sense that it has that 100% because it's a very likable film with a lot of heart. I went with my mother, father, and one of my sisters and we all really enjoyed it which is certainly not always the case.

I think that both the characterization and the acting were superb in making real characters. Nobody felt like a plot device and or straightforward. I can't even tell you who I think the best actor was because I truly think they all did a great job at capturing emotions in a realistic and captivating manner. The humor was not all that inventive, and most of the jokes have been done on sitcoms, but I laughed out loud. There are moments I will find something hilarious and I'll either try to make myself laugh or stay silent. That was not the case in Lady Bird. I was genuinely laughing and the rest of the audience was too.

I think tonally, it's like The Way, Way Back but I admit I only saw a chunk of that movie on an airplane. So, if I'm totally off, I apologize. But, I found it to be a very realistic coming of age movie with very very real desires and actions of Lady Bird. I admit, this being marketed as Oscar Bait was what got me in the theatres but I do wonder if that is the way they should've gone with this movie because if more teens were exposed to this movie, I think they would love it. Then again, I genuinely think anyone would at least like this movie. Does it have Oscar potential? I think as of now it definitely deserves at least a screen play nomination if not the award but I think it might be too plain for a best picture. Even though I think the acting is spectacular, I'm not sure there were any roles that were unique enough to get the nomination.
Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
0
IlReverendoFeb 25, 2018
This was embarassing. When I came to metacritic and saw it had 94 I was in complete shock. Really unoriginal, cliched dialogues. A teenager who talks like a teenager... whoooo, edgy, she said **** to her mom. If anyone had adviced me to watchThis was embarassing. When I came to metacritic and saw it had 94 I was in complete shock. Really unoriginal, cliched dialogues. A teenager who talks like a teenager... whoooo, edgy, she said **** to her mom. If anyone had adviced me to watch it, I would knee them in the ****ing balls. Expand
4 of 11 users found this helpful47
All this user's reviews
0
realist980Dec 26, 2017
Why is this sort of behavior so pushed these days?Like we have to be astounded by idiotic renegade behavior.Like we need more fkups on this planet.Female character is represented as someone who will probably be a horrible person once sheWhy is this sort of behavior so pushed these days?Like we have to be astounded by idiotic renegade behavior.Like we need more fkups on this planet.Female character is represented as someone who will probably be a horrible person once she grows up (she is terrible now).I don't know how this is interesting to anyone,why is it cute or why would anyone perceive this girl as a great character.The story of no discipline could be an alternate title.. Expand
5 of 14 users found this helpful59
All this user's reviews
2
Grsgls3Dec 15, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's so predictable......guess that's what the current crop of critics love. Even an uneducated person can guess what will happen when she gets waitlisted at that out--of-town college, when her father shows clearly he's her hero to the rescue, and when her mother learns to accept the reality of her daughter's life. A great movie IF you like to watch grass grow or love golf on TV. BORING!!! Expand
6 of 17 users found this helpful611
All this user's reviews
0
OldNavyJan 1, 2018
Worse movie I have seen in years. My wife and I go to about 3 movies a month I am retired watch Hulu, Netflex and Amazon Prime, the critics have no clue.
6 of 18 users found this helpful612
All this user's reviews
6
TVJerryNov 24, 2017
This is yet another quirky character study. Saoirse Ronan plays a renegade high school student (is there any other kind?), whose awkward relationships with boys and other friends is compounded by her need to feel special. Mix in aThis is yet another quirky character study. Saoirse Ronan plays a renegade high school student (is there any other kind?), whose awkward relationships with boys and other friends is compounded by her need to feel special. Mix in a strong-willed, unhappy mother (Laurie Metcalf) to make that family dynamic more dysfunctional. With any film like this, it's important to care for the people. Ronan's performance is fine, but her character is just another unhappy teen without much to make her endearing. Metcalf's mother provides a complex and touching portrayal. Overall, it's another coming of age flick with some effective moments and mildly interesting characters. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
10
BurnerBoyDec 23, 2017
It's a coming of age scrapbook, that somehow after flipping through it, adds up to wonderfully fleshed out and impactful experience. The last scene wraps up this movie in such a bleak and perfect manner, summarizing the film with theIt's a coming of age scrapbook, that somehow after flipping through it, adds up to wonderfully fleshed out and impactful experience. The last scene wraps up this movie in such a bleak and perfect manner, summarizing the film with the protagonist's sudden realization that the adulthood she has so desperately craved is officially upon her, and it's not as liberating as she had imagined. It recalls The 400 Blows, and it's famous and also perfect ending. Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
StrawberryGirlFeb 23, 2018
I didn't really care to see this movie but my friend wanted to see it and when I saw a score of 94 on metacritic I thought WOW!!!, what could possibly go wrong!!!??? Well, how about for the first time ever, metacritic has let me down. Can II didn't really care to see this movie but my friend wanted to see it and when I saw a score of 94 on metacritic I thought WOW!!!, what could possibly go wrong!!!??? Well, how about for the first time ever, metacritic has let me down. Can I ask them for a refund? Lol! For those of you who are interested in my opinion, I just found the movie boring. It's basically snapshots of a girls life and they just weren't that interesting or compelling. I found myself checking the time, shifting in my seat, eating too much popcorn to try and stave off the boredom. It just wasn't for me.

Christine (oh squeeze me, "Lady Bird"), was everything her mother said she was. Selfish, ungrateful, argumentative and a bit of a user. As the lead character, she wasn't a very nice person. Her mother was mean, a bully, controlling and miserable. Welcome to the 2 lead characters! On the plus side, the supporting characters were mostly delightful! Christine's best friend Jules was so lovely, I want her for my best friend. The father was just a gorgeous, supportive person and even her belligerent brother and his strange girlfriend were more interesting and more open to criticism than "Lady Bird" herself. If this is autobiographical in any way, I don't think Greta Gerwig was a very nice teenager! (That's right, I said it, come at me!!!) In short, I found the movie stale. Nothing new or interesting here. How the hell it got a 94 is still beyond me. That's a bloody high score!!! At least the user score has it lower down the totem pole, with Phantom Thread, The Greatest Showman and Paddington 2 rating higher. I think I'll have to pay more attention to the userscore and less to the metascore in the future. Maybe, if it had a score of 60/70, I wouldn't be so scathing but I feel royally ripped off and I'm never gonna get those 90 mins back. Honestly, I could have stayed home in my sweats, watching re-runs of My Name is Earl. Cheers all!!!
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
NBFCJan 11, 2018
Gerwig’s directorial debut is an extremely confident and poignant tale of a teenage girl as she navigates through one year of her life as a Catholic school student in Sacramento, California.

Stylistically this independent feature is very
Gerwig’s directorial debut is an extremely confident and poignant tale of a teenage girl as she navigates through one year of her life as a Catholic school student in Sacramento, California.

Stylistically this independent feature is very reminiscent of the understated documentary vibe of Richard Linklator’s Boyhood with it’s impressionistic editing and willingness to just…..well…show a life (Ex. teenagers hanging out, practicing for a lame school play, first dates, being away from home at college).

So I guess an alternative title for this would be Girlhood?

Actually, I think LB manages to surpass Boyhood because it makes it’s points regarding life and growing pains in a more efficient and energetic way in it’s ninety minute runtime than Boyhood in nearly three hours thanks to it’s disciplined editing and sharp dialogue.

But by far the highlight of the film is the tumultuous dynamic between Christine and her mother (Metcalf), especially one particularly uncomfortable but funny sequence involving something as timeless as shopping for a prom dress. The acting by both Ronan and Metcalf is more than deserving of the accolades. Anybody who has ever had a difficult relationship with their mother will find a lot of moments in this movie that will hit close to home.

Even though there is plenty of drama to go around, there are also a lot of laugh-out-loud moments, especially between Christine and her friend Julie (Beanie Feldstein). Probably my favorite little moment was a scene in which Christine and Julie are goofing around in a church that exhibits some very cute bonding moments presented in a hilariously unconventional manner. It all feels very down-to-earth, personal and…well….real.

That is almost the key word here: real.

Everything about this movie feels true to life. There are no big moral speeches, no over-the-top melodrama, no sense of self-importance, or calculated soundtrack inserts.

If I had any complaint about this film it’s regarding Father Leviatch, Christine’s theater instructor played by Stephen McKinley Henderson. There is a certain reveal regarding his character about halfway through that never really ends up having a pay-off. I know the movie is called LB, so in the end it is about Christine journey but I wouldn’t be surprised if something significant got left in the editing room because Leviatch just kinda disappears after a while.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
WalterTSolleyFeb 2, 2018
A perfect film. “Lady Bird” is destined to become an American classic; with superb performances by an ideal cast, gifted with a most perceptively beautiful screenplay and equally fine direction. You owe it to yourself to see this film.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
JonathanKuoDec 27, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is a fantastic movie that really gives me a wonderful piece of experience that I will never forget, and I wish this film can be elected the best drama. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
OudayYehyaJan 6, 2018
This might as well be my favorite movie of the year. It basically sums up every middle class adolescent girl's transition from childhood to adulthood. The emotion in this movie is so stirring. The direction, writing, and acting makes thisThis might as well be my favorite movie of the year. It basically sums up every middle class adolescent girl's transition from childhood to adulthood. The emotion in this movie is so stirring. The direction, writing, and acting makes this movie what it is today. Gerwig hits a homerun with her directorial debut. Saoirse's acting makes it look like a piece of cake to portray someone like Christine. Laurie stuns in every way possible. Overall, this movie is an instant classic!


Give this review a thumbs up if you found it helpful and don't forget to check out my other reviews!
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
3
IanHunterDec 3, 2017
Constant Bickering does not make a great movie!

All the "experts" gave this flick rave reviews. They must really enjoy constant mother-daughter, daughter-sibling bickering. This movie does not live up to its hype. Smoking, pot use, alcohol
Constant Bickering does not make a great movie!

All the "experts" gave this flick rave reviews. They must really enjoy constant mother-daughter, daughter-sibling bickering. This movie does not live up to its hype. Smoking, pot use, alcohol use, teen sex, moderate use of foul language, frequent mention of body parts, betrayal of close friends, gay kissing, lying , shoplifting, Catholic stereotyping ... all combine to make this nothing more than another teen angst movie. Another movie that vividly illustrates our society's race to the bottom.
Expand
8 of 26 users found this helpful818
All this user's reviews
1
jhepDec 11, 2017
NO SCRIPT just an accumulation of coy “moments” that go nowhere and leave both viewer and film-maker high-and-dry…...Far too much cutesy sweetness that overstays its welcome !!......I could not BELIEVE how long this film went on !!!……and theNO SCRIPT just an accumulation of coy “moments” that go nowhere and leave both viewer and film-maker high-and-dry…...Far too much cutesy sweetness that overstays its welcome !!......I could not BELIEVE how long this film went on !!!……and the shrill and repetitive mother-daughter confrontations became a kind of unrelenting psychodrama and an ordeal to sit though……. My hunch is that many critics like this movie because (given our embattled world these days) they hunger for lightweight reassuring fluff and - poor schmucks- could not see that this is “faux” lightweight reassuring fluff ! Even Laurie Metcalf’s potentially very interesting performance as Lady Bird’s mother gets wasted and has nowhere to go given the triteness of the story that she is given to work with. Expand
8 of 27 users found this helpful819
All this user's reviews
2
bennetNov 26, 2017
I like Greta Gerwig and Saoirse Ronan, but this movie never grabbed me. I lost interest in the character and the plot and walked out with 15 minutes to go since I found it so tedious.
8 of 29 users found this helpful821
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinNov 17, 2017
I base whether I like a movie or not on: 1) if I would like to see it again 2) the acting 3) if the story gets me involved with the characters and 4) if I get emotionally involved to the point of tears and/or laughter.

“Lady Bird” is not a
I base whether I like a movie or not on: 1) if I would like to see it again 2) the acting 3) if the story gets me involved with the characters and 4) if I get emotionally involved to the point of tears and/or laughter.

“Lady Bird” is not a movie I would want to see again yet the acting was topnotch. On the other hand there were only moments of the 1 hour and 33 minutes of the movie that I was emotionally involved except for being bored through most of it.

I didn’t identify with what all the teenagers went through because I lived a completely different teenage life than they do. I don’t remember if I went to a prom or when/how I lost my virginity, having special friends at school, etc., so I sort of kept thinking, “Come on—let’s get on with the story!” A lot of what the self named Lady Bird was foreign to me or I just don’t remember feeling a lot of what she or the rest of the kids felt.

I became aware of Saorise Ronan, who at 23 plays the 17, 18 year old Lady Bird, when 2 years ago she was in “Brooklyn” getting the best actress nomination. She had made some ‘noise’ in a couple of other movies but I don’t remember her or them. This movie makes a bona fide A list actress of her. Laurie Metcalf was primarily known for her work as Roseanne’s sister on the television show of the same name receiving 10 Emmy nominations winning 3 for that role and currently as Sheldon’s mother on “The Big Ban” and also winning 2 Tony awards for her theatre work. There is no doubt that she will get an Oscar nomination for this mother as the mother you want to hate but won’t.

Tracy Letts, as the father, is mainly known for winning the 2008 Pulitzer prize and a Tony award for writing “August: Osage County” and for his performance on “Homeland”. He won a Tony award for acting and has recently done more acting in television and movies. The relationship between him and Lady Bird is the sweetest part of the film and his fight against depression is affecting.

The rest of the supporting cast from Lucas Hedges and Timothee Chalamet as boyfriends, Beanie Feldstein and Odeya Rush as girl friends along with Lois Smith as a nun at the Catholic school Christine, Lady Bird’s given name, and Jordon Rodrigues as Lady Bird’s older, adopted brother plus others give solid support.

The movie was written and directed by Greta Gerwig who does a better job directing than the writing.

“Lady Bird” is not a movie I want to see again and though I got involved now and then with the characters, at times shedding a tear or two, there is no faulting the acting and will probably see their names nominated for awards.
Expand
3 of 11 users found this helpful38
All this user's reviews
9
Compi24Dec 19, 2017
As far as directorial debuts go, "Lady Bird" is about as close to as good as it can possibly get for writer/director Greta Gerwig. This quaint, little dramedy has an incredibly unique voice in the form of a supremely well-written screenplayAs far as directorial debuts go, "Lady Bird" is about as close to as good as it can possibly get for writer/director Greta Gerwig. This quaint, little dramedy has an incredibly unique voice in the form of a supremely well-written screenplay and an unquestionably gifted cast. And the slice-of-life style of storytelling really adds to the down-to-earth, character-driven feel emanated by the film from scene to scene. Gerwig's semi-autobiographical take on the classic coming-of-age formula is both so incredibly relatable and game-changingly fresh at the same time that I wouldn't be surprised if the film is already influencing young filmmakers right now. This is tremendously strong filmmaking here and I can't wait to see Gerwig's follow-up. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
markopolousDec 21, 2017
Such a lovely movie, I’m so glad this exists. Really a landmark moment in cinematic history, I think. We so rarely get such assured, unique directing, especially from a debut filmmaker. As a female director, Greta Gerwig brings such a specialSuch a lovely movie, I’m so glad this exists. Really a landmark moment in cinematic history, I think. We so rarely get such assured, unique directing, especially from a debut filmmaker. As a female director, Greta Gerwig brings such a special perspective, humanizing nearly every character with just a few small lines or moments, so that even in a movie centered squarely on one person, all of the characters come alive. Some standout moments in particular: Lucas Hedges’ character sobbing in Lady Bird’s arms, Lady Bird reconnecting with her best friend, nearly every moment between her mother and her, and the small details like her reclaiming her given name, finding comfort in church, and thinking of her mom the first time she drove alone. Great soundtrack by the way. It’s a little unfortunate that in a movie that so masterfully brings humanity to nearly every character, doesn’t really have any POC in the film to speak of. Except for Lady Bird’s adopted brother who barely even gets that moment. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
Willyam_CarrDec 17, 2017
Greta Gerwig has had one of the greatest directorial debuts since Ryan Coogler's Fruitvale Station (2013). This is a tender story about the relationship between an girl and her home. The performances are top-notch; Saorise Ronan and LaurieGreta Gerwig has had one of the greatest directorial debuts since Ryan Coogler's Fruitvale Station (2013). This is a tender story about the relationship between an girl and her home. The performances are top-notch; Saorise Ronan and Laurie Metcalf shine like true stars. The writing is crisp, witty, and insightful. This is easily one of the best films of 2017. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
SirBladesJrDec 12, 2017
Movie was good. Wish it was longer. Main character is hot. She obviously needs a real man in her life, she was messing with too many "boys" if you know what I mean. Other than that the movie was an accurate depiction of high school life andMovie was good. Wish it was longer. Main character is hot. She obviously needs a real man in her life, she was messing with too many "boys" if you know what I mean. Other than that the movie was an accurate depiction of high school life and the drama that it entails. Expand
2 of 9 users found this helpful27
All this user's reviews
0
evensteven23Feb 4, 2018
Horrible movie, this movie is NOT original at all. The movie seems to be too similar to the America Ferrera movie, Real Women Have Curves (2002). The only difference is instead of allow income hispanic young lady, it has an emo caucasian girl.
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
0
HonokaKousakaDec 22, 2017
The worst movie in existence. Literally can't even write a review so bad. BAD BAD BAD BAD
6 of 51 users found this helpful645
All this user's reviews
7
netflicJan 29, 2018
My kids are out of adolescence age but I still can relate to this movie.
Very good directing and acting helps a lot for this film to feel realistic and authentic.
Greta Gerwig is both a writer and director of this film, this movie is her
My kids are out of adolescence age but I still can relate to this movie.
Very good directing and acting helps a lot for this film to feel realistic and authentic.
Greta Gerwig is both a writer and director of this film, this movie is her debut as a director.
Impressive! She made this film warm and funny.
Nominated for several Oscar awards including best picture, best director, best actress and best supporting actress.
I often disagree with critics. In my opinion, this is just another "coming of age" film, made very well but the one that is a bit short of being a "great movie". Good entertainment but not memorable.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
s053714Mar 9, 2018
Metacritic really let me down on this one. I don't understand the wonderful reviews. The only interesting character is the mother. The main character isn't very appealing and at times is a real jerk. The whole production seems amateurish.Metacritic really let me down on this one. I don't understand the wonderful reviews. The only interesting character is the mother. The main character isn't very appealing and at times is a real jerk. The whole production seems amateurish. And the entire storyline gets dull real fast. It's only about 90 minutes long but seems longer because it is rather boring. I think the director was saddled with a not-so-good script that ends very abruptly. Basically, this was a coming-of-age drama that should have been so much better. It reminded me of a straight-to-video production - definitely not Oscar worthy. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
jgzegerJan 12, 2018
A very good film. However, it worked better for me as a comedy and it got too serious in the last forty minutes. An outstanding performance by Saoirse Ronan.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
katezoeDec 17, 2017
One of the top ten movies of 2017. Oscar nominations for Best Film, Director, Actress, Supporting Actress. Greta Gerwig directorial debut is amazing! Wonderful coming of age film, what senior year was like and getting into college.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
WaelDec 28, 2017
Depicting teenage rage and the relatable burning need to get out of your small town life after school in a truly fashionable manner, “Lady Bird” is the most heartwarming and eclectic coming-of-age drama I have seen in a while. Among otherDepicting teenage rage and the relatable burning need to get out of your small town life after school in a truly fashionable manner, “Lady Bird” is the most heartwarming and eclectic coming-of-age drama I have seen in a while. Among other fascinating factors such as the direction, the simple photography, and the plotline, Saoirse Ronan’s performance is undeniably outstanding and shameless, and a nod at this year's Oscars wouldn’t be a surprise at this point. It is a slick and smart film, with moments that generate giggles, and others that send the tears jerking. “Lady Bird” has something for everyone, and is easily one of the best movies of the year without even trying. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
foxgroveFeb 25, 2018
Sharply written and genuinely funny, dramatic and human by turn, this is a lot better than the rather cheap looking trailer implies. The cast are superb and Saoirse Ronan is fast becoming in danger of taking up the 'It Girl' mantle. ISharply written and genuinely funny, dramatic and human by turn, this is a lot better than the rather cheap looking trailer implies. The cast are superb and Saoirse Ronan is fast becoming in danger of taking up the 'It Girl' mantle. I sincerely hope she doesn't because then all we can look forward to is the kind of disposable output that we often get from Roberts, Bullock, and now Lawrence. Greta Gerwig has made a film of real substance which is also accessible and delightfully entertaining. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
chumahanOct 21, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Loserish but charming Sax-town girl has troubled relationship with her workaholic mother but awesome relationship with sad-sack father. This movie was serviceable but something was missing. At times it felt episodic. Nice moments of harmless teenage terrors and some of interaction with mom. However, neither two stories every really came together or did I get enough of each one to feel complete. I also don't believe she would throw herself out of a moving car just because her mom is nagging. That was super extreme right off the bat. Good but not great. Nice moments. But, do I care? Maybe I wanted to understand a little more between the daughter and mother, to make the moment of the end where the daughter finally confesses her love to be more meaningful. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
JosueAndradeFeb 23, 2018
1 hour and a half of endless uncomfortable moments without a worth payback expect for the cliche of ''you don't know what you got till it's gone.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
marcmyworksDec 29, 2017
A film that reminds me about my relationship with my friends and Mother while I was in school. Though its sad and wonderful to watch, it also reminds me that though we may only see the World through our eyes, there is far more going on weA film that reminds me about my relationship with my friends and Mother while I was in school. Though its sad and wonderful to watch, it also reminds me that though we may only see the World through our eyes, there is far more going on we can't appreciate. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
bfoore90Aug 8, 2018
Caught this movie for free on Prime Video and upon seeing the accolades it recieved, I thought I would give it a whirl. Now I’m not gonna go out and say this is the best movie of the year, it's not but as far as coming of age drama's go.Caught this movie for free on Prime Video and upon seeing the accolades it recieved, I thought I would give it a whirl. Now I’m not gonna go out and say this is the best movie of the year, it's not but as far as coming of age drama's go. It's still pretty darn good. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
temptershellJan 1, 2018
A bit tiring story of a teenager who tries to break out of a sleepy town, a Catholic school and a depressive family. A very thoughtful script with very well written characters. Sometimes tedious but worth to watch.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
BeeceeDec 4, 2017
The coming of age movie has been done many times, so does this movie have anything new to tell us? One thing is that neither Lady Bird nor her mother are terribly sympathetic characters - but they do seem real, based on the good acting. TheyThe coming of age movie has been done many times, so does this movie have anything new to tell us? One thing is that neither Lady Bird nor her mother are terribly sympathetic characters - but they do seem real, based on the good acting. They are a pretty solidly middle-class family - father is a computer programmer, mother is a nurse - but the heroine still needs to lie about where she lives, due to the very wealthy families who send their children to her school - even though she has no problem being assertive around boys. Some of the individual scenes work - such as the one where the father needs to compete against his adopted son for a programming job. One of the funny scenes - where the sports coach takes over the theater program - actually doesn't seem realistic in accordance with the mood of the film. Tracy Letts' character was the most sympathetic, and I'm still not clear where the mother's endless bickering is coming from Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
LeonardoAmatoJan 7, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Dear Lemon Lima" meets "Juno" in this colorful and lively masterpiece that deals with difficult themes with delicacy and humor that characterize Ladybird as a pure, genuine character and as punky as little bird. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
AxeTDec 2, 2017
When the writer/director credit came on I immediately became highly suspect and after sitting through 30 minutes or so asked myself what the hell am I doing here (the reviews were very good not that that means a damn thing anymore)?When the writer/director credit came on I immediately became highly suspect and after sitting through 30 minutes or so asked myself what the hell am I doing here (the reviews were very good not that that means a damn thing anymore)? Ultimately it got me though with its in all likelihood autobiographical coming of age story that touches because it connects even if you're not the chick flick type. Expand
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
6
section20mi6Mar 11, 2018
A coming of age story that looks awfully like a Noah Baumbach film, Lady Bird is actually directed by Greta Gerwig, making it looks like a replica of Baumbach's style from story lines to directions. Although the film has some realisticA coming of age story that looks awfully like a Noah Baumbach film, Lady Bird is actually directed by Greta Gerwig, making it looks like a replica of Baumbach's style from story lines to directions. Although the film has some realistic dialogues and excellent performance, it fails to live up as an original. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Matin032Jan 28, 2018
Many films claim to be "emotional journey"but this really is,favored with religious elements which is rare today...the cast is dedicated
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
9
CineAutoctonoJan 27, 2018
"Lady Bird" was an amazing movie. Saoirse Ronan gave his all to achieve another of his best performances of his career. The story was excellent, and the message it conveys is inspiring and millennial.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
yosemiteDec 6, 2017
Well made but definitely for the females. They will relate to the oft problematical mother-daughter relationship that lies at the heart of the story. The characters are likable and the actors portraying them do excellent work. Ronan is aWell made but definitely for the females. They will relate to the oft problematical mother-daughter relationship that lies at the heart of the story. The characters are likable and the actors portraying them do excellent work. Ronan is a fresh new talent and was well cast. Her mother,father, friends and teachers all play their parts well. Its character driven but any semblance of a plot is weakly presented. A pretty good film that may have missed it mark Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
Donovan84Mar 2, 2018
This is a good movie, but I don't think it lives up to the massive hype, which is too bad. If you go in and see the movie with tempered expectations, I bet you'll enjoy it more. I do really appreciate the way the movie treats religion in aThis is a good movie, but I don't think it lives up to the massive hype, which is too bad. If you go in and see the movie with tempered expectations, I bet you'll enjoy it more. I do really appreciate the way the movie treats religion in a surprising respectful way. Unlike most Hollywood disdain for folks of faith, this movie does a great job. As others have said, the acting is really well done. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
isjoaoJan 15, 2018
Too cliché, I think I've seen hundreds of movies like this, not to mention the amount of stereotype in the characters, but still cute.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
AproxxAug 18, 2018
Its inconsequential. Like. A more "realistic" version of a Disney movie?

The plot beats are the same than the ones of any Disney picture only on a realistic setting/context. This story was told a gazillion times before and this movie
Its inconsequential. Like. A more "realistic" version of a Disney movie?

The plot beats are the same than the ones of any Disney picture only on a realistic setting/context.

This story was told a gazillion times before and this movie doesn't give any reason to be considered special.

I literally already forgot about this movie, and watched it not long ago.

The three is for the sex scene, which is something I hadn't seen before (at least in this type of movies), and because the acting is really good, only again... inconsequential.

If this is an Oscar movie, then the Oscars aren't that great.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
FlawlessasurnotFeb 8, 2018
This film shows the American families' reality. So strong and feeling. It deserves its Oscar nomination, so that I may name it as 'Film of the Year', I guess. Highly recommended.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
BobaGabeMay 20, 2018
This is a wonderful film. It was well acted and directed. Lady Bird was touching and quite funny.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TrevorsViewNov 17, 2017
We each have nicknames given to us by loved ones. My dad always called my sister “boop” (for reasons unknown), and he called me “TFF” for “Trevor-fo-fevor;” one friend of mine went by his middle name “Xavier,” and another calls his daughterWe each have nicknames given to us by loved ones. My dad always called my sister “boop” (for reasons unknown), and he called me “TFF” for “Trevor-fo-fevor;” one friend of mine went by his middle name “Xavier,” and another calls his daughter “goose.” Nicknames always become so personal because they say practically everything about the bond between the name’s owner and the name’s caller.

So what could be told about a girl who gave herself the nickname Lady Bird? One, she has high self-dependency. Two, she seeks image confidence. Three, she feels too distanced from mom and dad to accept their nicknames. Indeed, you learn even more about Lady Bird as her graduation impends- class of 2003.

Lady Bird just wants to fly away from dull old Sacramento for college on the East Coast; her disrespect upon the confused adults seems understandable enough, since 9/11 still dawdles fresh in the nation’s memory. However, Lady Bird only knows Sacramento’s restrictive side. Director/writer Greta Gerwig, along with the small production crew, pays off their united vision in a humble, down to earth fashion similar to an early 2000’s comedy. Gerwig’s often slow/often fast approach documents Lady Bird’s problems under the awkward pressure of growing up into the unknown: awareness about weight gain, knowing who her real friends are, uncertainty about sexuality, plus more you survived in your youth.

Lady Bird’s oppressive school adds but an extra layer of confusion. The familiar details of a religious institution restrict every teen’s need for self-discovery: dancers keep ten inches apart for the Holy Spirit, skirts below knee level, etc. Lady Bird expresses her attitude about the rules by the way she casually eats the communion wafers as if they were goldfish crackers.

Yet the girl’s shaky maternal bond most allows the coming of age story’s real heart to bloom. Right away the two argue in the car about college, a disagreement she ends by opening the door to the pavement. Now a pink cast on her forearm, a profanity written on toward the one she accuses as responsible, explains their whole relationship. Contrary to Lady Bird’s assumptions, mother truly loves her, as expressed through a clear balance between disciplined silence and a compassionate ear to keep Lady Bird’s head on straight. You may even notice a subtle role reversal, proving Lady Bird’s invisible likenesses to her family. So I wholeheartedly recommend Lady Bird for any mother-daughter night out.

While the script’s more personal than usual, it still comes off one-sided, mainly against Lady Bird’s overly oppressive Catholic school experience. Both inside and outside the school, Lady Bird’s rebellious actions, such as shoplifting, play either for cheap laughs or to cast a stark shadow over religion. Her two older adoptive siblings also contribute little plot importance besides forgettable reactions about her attitude. These two piercing studded emos of ethnic color should have been more down-to-earth voices of reason, ones different from the parents or teachers, but this opportunity is missed.

Gerwig’s approach predominantly passed the opportunity of true love for Sacramento as a location. Remember that song about West Virginia? A love letter about the state’s old life: older than the trees and younger than the mountains? No comparable love for the city of Sacramento resolves Lady Bird’s matters in a satisfying fashion by the end.

An added complaint goes to the crew’s decision to cast 23-year-old Saoirse Ronan to play a teenager, even though she looks too old to play someone underaged. A couple of the other actors halt the enjoyment, particularly Lucas Hedges’ (Manchester by the Sea), clumsy performance as Lady Bird’s little turtle-dove.

Although many other strong performances keep the production’s awards thirst hydrated, especially Oscar-bound Laurie Metcalf, who vigorously plays Mrs. Lady Bird. Stephen Henderson, the underrated thespian from Fences, satisfies as well as the school’s cheerful old drama coach.

So, if I had a nickname for Lady Bird, it would still embrace the initials LB, for “Loving Believability,” as you believe the low points and love the high points. Everyone itches at some desire to leave home, so we each could use a comforting soul like Lady Bird by our side.
Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
10
CamdenRendellJan 29, 2018
I loved this thing. Such a cute, heartwarming and comedic, yet dramatic movie. A great movie.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
5
rumpiditoDec 12, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I liked the movie to a point. Lots of questions like what was the priest seeing her mom the psych nurse for? Where was she at the end, in New York or Sacramento? Kind of lame plot, ended abruptly and we all kind of turned and looked at each other. Cannot recommend. Expand
0 of 6 users found this helpful06
All this user's reviews
8
KaustavJan 7, 2018
Lady Bird is something different. I can't tell if that's good, great or pretentious. You should immerse yourself for a personal experience.
It preaches nothing and weirdly, doesn't even teach you nothing. It is based on the premises of
Lady Bird is something different. I can't tell if that's good, great or pretentious. You should immerse yourself for a personal experience.
It preaches nothing and weirdly, doesn't even teach you nothing. It is based on the premises of coming-of-age teenage story-line in a small town but it is isn't really about that; the fact the movie almost fleets by those moments so nonchalantly made me feel that way. What it really is about is that nostalgia and 'fish-in-water' aspect of being at home or remembering what it means to be at the ease of being at yours. It is also about a mother and daughter being so much of the same and never being able to express that mutual love without moments of personal crisis - something almost everyone goes through, not even finding the right words to articulate our emotions.
Lady Bird, much the name given to Christine by herself, is a story in quotes. You see the acts coming up as you expect but it just never fits in place. Perhaps that is how it wants to be.
Kudos to Greta Gerwig for the story and to Ronan and Metcalfe for bringing the silent turbulence of suburban world of Sacramento, "the Midwest of California", to life.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
Jesus15IzturisJan 4, 2018
One of the best indie movies of the decade, with Oscar-worthy direction by Greta Gerwig in her solo debut and a great performance by Saoirse Ronan, ¨Lady Bird¨ bring to the big screen some of the most common issues like: mom and daughterOne of the best indie movies of the decade, with Oscar-worthy direction by Greta Gerwig in her solo debut and a great performance by Saoirse Ronan, ¨Lady Bird¨ bring to the big screen some of the most common issues like: mom and daughter issues, financial issues, and lack of appreciation on the sacrifices that parents do Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews