Columbia Pictures | Release Date: September 20, 2002
8.7
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 320 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
282
Mixed:
21
Negative:
17
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
pgmarkDec 17, 2010
One of the greatest movies of all time.. a true epic! Rarely do you find such a beautifully done movie. *highlight for me* Anthony Q performance, Alex G, and Omar Sharif but many others as well ... almost too many to list... Must see movie!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Lloy2Feb 4, 2012
In short, they don't make 'em like this one anymore. Viewing it is like taking a time machine to a movie age that was more naive than our own in some ways, more sophisticated and ambitious in others. It's perhaps only because it can't be seenIn short, they don't make 'em like this one anymore. Viewing it is like taking a time machine to a movie age that was more naive than our own in some ways, more sophisticated and ambitious in others. It's perhaps only because it can't be seen in its full glory on television that "Lawrence" isn't ranked more highly on some recent all-time "best film" lists. But it belongs near the very top. It's an astonishing, unrepeatable epic. What a bold, mad act of genius it was, to make Lawrence of Arabia, or even think that it could be made. It's hard to even imagine the struggles that went into the making of this masterpiece. Peter O' Toole not only gives his best performance of all-time, but one of the greatest performances of all-time. Cons? The landscape, the story meant nothing, the acting was stiff, too long , too melodramatic. But not much else! Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
Serrao_BrochadoJun 27, 2012
A dark , perverse and disturbing movie. A masterpiece that brings us to think about what is moral and how far men can go. Required!
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
JosephH.Sep 29, 2006
Perhaps at time overly grand in spectacular-ism and edited to feature the cinematography, it is probably the most memorable film over my 77 years. The history lesson should be used in classrooms and political training for all governmental Perhaps at time overly grand in spectacular-ism and edited to feature the cinematography, it is probably the most memorable film over my 77 years. The history lesson should be used in classrooms and political training for all governmental agencies. To defy the creed of killing and tribalism without cultural cleansing will perpetuate wars forever. The military industrial complex was exposed by one of our most forgotten presidents. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
jusyJan 19, 2007
A masterpiece that touches the soul--this movie is brilliant in every way. I think it is the best movie ever made, with haunting photography and incredible performances, especially by O'Toole and Sharif. It is an experience, especially A masterpiece that touches the soul--this movie is brilliant in every way. I think it is the best movie ever made, with haunting photography and incredible performances, especially by O'Toole and Sharif. It is an experience, especially on the wide screen. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful
10
kevwayFeb 16, 2013
While I am not surprised that a few movie buffs demur over the length and depth of Lawrence of Arabia, for example, those who find Enter the Dragon or Rambo the epitome of high art. Those of us who adore it are not part of some mindless herdWhile I am not surprised that a few movie buffs demur over the length and depth of Lawrence of Arabia, for example, those who find Enter the Dragon or Rambo the epitome of high art. Those of us who adore it are not part of some mindless herd on stampede, there's been plenty of time for our opinions to change. I saw the movie 50 years ago, and I was enthralled by intermission. It has never been anything less than my favorite film for half a century. The American Film Institute has well respected movie ratings. No other film can approach this: AFI Best All-Time performance by an actor (Peter O'Toole). Best all-time cinematography, ever. Fifth greatest film all-time. Best Epic, All-Time. Third greatest All-time Music Score. Yes, the second half has a few slow parts; all the better to absorb this peerless work of art. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
PreviousSep 30, 2010
A truly stunning epic, David Lean directs one of the greatest films of all time that can't be missed by anybody with bold acting and epic events that can only be done once, Lawrence of Arabia shines over all epic films.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFJun 7, 2013
Whether it is the stunning visual landscape that enthrals the entire film, the literary genius of the writing or the larger than life and superior acting of the cast involved, Lawrence of Arabia can stand among the rest as one of the greatestWhether it is the stunning visual landscape that enthrals the entire film, the literary genius of the writing or the larger than life and superior acting of the cast involved, Lawrence of Arabia can stand among the rest as one of the greatest films, art or whatever else, to ever be created.
Peter O'Toole puts in not only the finest performance of his career to date, but one of the finest and emotionally driven of any performance seen in cinema, portraying T.E. Lawrence in his debut is no menial task, but captured through his calm and collective speech, his arrogance for command and his undying will to succeed where most believed impossible is achieved impeccably on numerous occasions from O'Toole.
Lawrence, a British Army Lieutenant and very much out of place in his position, is assigned to assess the intentions of Prince Faisal (Alec Guinness) in his struggle against the Turks. Upon eventually meeting the Prince, Lawrence's constant interruptions of his General intrigues the Prince, who then lets Lawrence carry out his own mission of a sneak attack on Aqaba, a Turk-fortified city.
As Lawrence earns the respect amongst his combatants, he soon finds himself as a sort of God amongst men, they would kill for him and also die for him.
The score from start to finish immediately solidifies what this film is doing, creating and building an epic story, character driven and thoughtful masterpiece to cement a legacy not only for the man it follows, but for its own reputation as a film, and a film it is. A more beautiful and stunning film is rare to see without countless special effects, yet Lawrence of Arabia uses something that is seen as nothing, the desert, and completely obliterates any of the concerned.
When films like this are viewed on an imaginative and respected level, its difficult not feel very different than you were before watching them, much like Apocalypse Now and others, Lawrence of Arabia gives you something that you may not have ever witnessed before, and probably won't witness again, the effort of the film, the stunning visuals and the literary brilliance of the writing, especially for the wonderful Peter O'Toole, along with Omar Sharif, many moments of screen time are given to O'Toole, and with his piercing blue eyes its hard to look away for whatever reason.
Take it from a fan, you will never see another film quite like this, best films lists or not, this is what a masterful film is all about, big and bold on every scale, never holding back its potential and delivering a powerhouse feature that lives on fifty years later, you owe it as a film fan to watch and be amazed.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
CSANTASSep 27, 2012
I watched when it came out, taught it many times and wrote a whole section of a book about it.est movie ever made. Peter O'Toole: best acting job ever.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Annoymous1May 6, 2013
One of my favorite re-release movies is this. 50 years ago might be long ago, but a fresher installment helps that this film has become a success and grew firm with delight for all ages.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
KristianBKAug 13, 2014
Perfectly executed, flawless O'Toole's performance, not a minute to long and an epic soundtrack lift this movie above all other movies. Epic, genius, real, and many other words try to describe this movie, but the dictionary can't provide usPerfectly executed, flawless O'Toole's performance, not a minute to long and an epic soundtrack lift this movie above all other movies. Epic, genius, real, and many other words try to describe this movie, but the dictionary can't provide us the words to really describe the movie. It's not flawless, but one of the best screenplays ever in movies, epic soundtrack, excellent directing and realistic portrayals of characters make this movie the best movie ever made in the film industry. It's pure art. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
AkashVijayJan 22, 2015
It is a bit too long and the pacing goes off in the middle of the 2nd Act but the film holds together because of its exception screenplay that's filled with thought provoking ideas. A must-watch.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
SteveT.Jul 21, 2007
The greatest movie ever made.
1 of 1 users found this helpful
10
txrangersfan72Feb 19, 2012
Epic filmmaking perfection. Such a story filmed at this grand scale demands respect, especially in the early 60s. The scope of Lawrence of Arabia is matched or exceeded only by the likes of Cleopatra, Gone with the Wind and Spartacus.Epic filmmaking perfection. Such a story filmed at this grand scale demands respect, especially in the early 60s. The scope of Lawrence of Arabia is matched or exceeded only by the likes of Cleopatra, Gone with the Wind and Spartacus. Peter O'Toole's flawless, emotional portrayal of T.E. Lawrence, and in his first major role on film, is awe-inspiring. Independent of historical flaws and tremendous length, Lawrence of Arabia is what the art of filmmaking is all about. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
The_DirtyRabbitOct 2, 2010
Its movies like this that we are taken on a journey we come back from changed. Only through the astonishing performance of Peter O'Toole and the subconscious thoughts of it's real life occurrence can such a powerful and epic movie be broughtIts movies like this that we are taken on a journey we come back from changed. Only through the astonishing performance of Peter O'Toole and the subconscious thoughts of it's real life occurrence can such a powerful and epic movie be brought into our hearts.

This movie should be no doubt considered when we discuss the best movies of all time.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
lasttimeisawJul 24, 2012
A first-time viewing of this David Lean
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
QuietConstanceFeb 2, 2012
Looking forward to June 2012, when 50th anniversary release of Lawrence will be available! I've also learned more about the actual history of the real T.E. and WWI events which I think will make seeing the film even more interesting. There'sLooking forward to June 2012, when 50th anniversary release of Lawrence will be available! I've also learned more about the actual history of the real T.E. and WWI events which I think will make seeing the film even more interesting. There's a lot of info online: T. E. Lawrence Studies, T. E. Lawrence Society, and Clio Visualizing History (short video and tons of photos here) are good resources. It's almost scary how much Mr. O'Toole resembles the real T.E.! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
DickydanDec 14, 2014
Now here is a movie worth watching again and again..... the camera direction and photography are second to none. Admittedly the locations steal the show more often than not, but David Leans ability to capture the majesty of those locations isNow here is a movie worth watching again and again..... the camera direction and photography are second to none. Admittedly the locations steal the show more often than not, but David Leans ability to capture the majesty of those locations is unquestionable.
The truthfulness of the story line I am sure has been questioned elsewhere, but the character portrayal by the leading roles is just brilliant. Star studded cast with Peter O'Toole the icing on the top.
If you haven't seen this before, watch it now and realize that this what modern Hollywood aspires to.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
tjman09Oct 22, 2015
Lawrence of Arabia is a classicist Epic directed by David Lean, and starring Peter O’Toole as the titular character T.E. Lawrence. In many ways Lawrence of Arabia exemplifies an Epic, but what may be most impressive about the film is it’s useLawrence of Arabia is a classicist Epic directed by David Lean, and starring Peter O’Toole as the titular character T.E. Lawrence. In many ways Lawrence of Arabia exemplifies an Epic, but what may be most impressive about the film is it’s use of character development and themes. Lawrence of Arabia may be the best epic of all time, because it is grand in scope, long but never boring, and beautiful to look at. It truly is a masterpiece.
When one thinks of what defines an epic, they could point to Lawrence of Arabia as a perfect example, it literally sets the standard. For example Lawrence of Arabia contains many Extreme Wide Shots of a vast panoramic landscape, this is one of the most recognizable elements of a epic, reinforcing how large in scope the story is. Most epics deal with stories that have a sense of spectacle, and therefore use these huge landscapes to show that, Lawrence of Arabia does that as well as any other film.
Set against the Arabic dessert, which lends itself to large panoramic landscape shots, the audience is treated to seeing a beautiful picture, and in the middle we see these characters trying to navigate their way through it all. The film liked to use mostly wide shots, so much so that when they use a close up, it truly feels like it has meaning. On top of that Lawrence of Arabia contains some of the most luxurious set designs, and costumes of the time. High production values is of course is another common element of an epic, but the most impressive thing about Lawrence of Arabia is the pacing and the character development.
At almost four hours it’s hard to imagine a film that wouldn’t feel long, but somehow Lawrence of Arabia manages not to. This is most likely because the themes and characters are both relatable, but also larger than life in some ways. Seeing a normal man navigate his way through massive desserts, and through foreign cultures may make him seem larger than life, but to his core the film keeps Lawrence human, so the audience never feels detached from him.
The film deals with age old themes such as the “fish out of water” theme, which is used quite often, but arguably never better than in this film. As with most of the best films, the story and character development is mostly visual. In the beginning we quickly see how out of place Lawrence is, as we see his Arab escort shot for stealing water, Lawrence is outraged, as to him killing is taboo, and water is a common commodity, yet to the arab culture, Water is so precious it’s worth killing for. As the film goes on Lawrence learns the cultural difference, and learns not to treat other cultures as barbaric, because to them he is the barbarian.
Utilizing beautiful grandeur Lawrence of Arabia still stands as one of, the best epics of all time, and a true masterpiece of cinema. Embodying all of the characteristics of a classic epic film Lawrence of Arabia is truly impressive because of it’s masterful pacing and character development. It truly is an epic experience.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
CineFilesApr 29, 2015
The historical epic has been a staple of the motion picture industry since the silent era. Over the years, it has evolved to mesh with the times and meet audiences' expectations. Viewers in the 1910s got D.W. Griffith's racist Birth of aThe historical epic has been a staple of the motion picture industry since the silent era. Over the years, it has evolved to mesh with the times and meet audiences' expectations. Viewers in the 1910s got D.W. Griffith's racist Birth of a Nation, while movie-goers in the 2000s were poleaxed by the trite but visually impressive Pearl Harbor. In between lie the best of the epics, and, while it's impossible to single out one as being at the inarguable top of the heap, David Lean's Lawrence of Arabia is certainly a contender for the position. Riveting from beginning to end, featuring stellar performances, amazing cinematography, and a story without a trace of fat, the film does everything an epic is supposed to do - and more.

Lawrence of Arabia recounts the larger-than-life exploits of T.E. Lawrence (Peter O'Toole), an officer in the British army serving in the Middle East during World War I, who, according to one observer, "was a poet, a scholar, and a mighty warrior. He was also the most shameless exhibitionist since Barnum & Bailey." The film opens in 1935, with a prologue that shows Lawrence's death as a result of a motorcycle accident, followed by his funeral. The time frame then shifts back more than 20 years to Cairo, where Lawrence is about to begin the greatest adventure of his career. His commanding officer orders him to enter the desert and make contact with the Bedouin Prince Feisel (Alec Guiness), who is a British ally in the fight against the Turks. What follows is not only an account of how Lawrence became a pivotal figure in the Arab revolt against the Turks, but of the nearly-Shakespearean rise and fall of his character.

The director's cut runs a little over 3 1/2 hours, and every moment seems necessary. The pacing is tight - there's plenty of action and adventure interspersed with character development, plot exposition, and majestic visuals. Therefore, it's hard to believe that a theatrical version exists in which more than 30 minutes of material was excised. Indeed, most people who saw this film during the 1960s and 1970s weren't getting the entire picture (although Lean was involved in the trimming done to create the 3 1/4 hour print widely seen in U.S. theaters and the 3-hour version shown on television). Fortunately, in the late-80s, the original edition of Lawrence of Arabia was painstakingly restored (with the participation of David Lean and the surviving actors). The restoration was handled so expertly that, watching the new print, it's virtually impossible to see the shifts in visual acuity that often mark the inclusion of previously-eliminated scenes.

The most compelling aspect of Lawrence of Arabia is the way in which it dissects the fluid, often-contradictory personality of the title character. Like many of the best classic "war" movies (such as Patton), this one uses the battles as a backdrop for a character study. The combat sequences in Lawrence of Arabia are perfunctory, with few of the details shown. This allows us to focus on the individual at the epicenter of the storm. When we first meet him, Lawrence is an oddball craving a mission in the desert (calling it "fun"), something that his fellows shun. After spending some time with the Arabs and being asked why he likes the desert, he has a simple answer: "It's clean". The movie explores Lawrence's friendship with Sherif Ali, and shows how the Arabs willingly adopt him as their leader, even though he has white skin. But Lawrence's psyche suffers a severe blow after his torture at the hands of the Turks. Initially, he is unwilling to return to the desert, but, when commanded to do so, he comes back driven by a newfound lust for killing and a desire for revenge. His final mission - the capture of Damascus - shows Lawrence's dark side.

There is one visual oddity associated with the manner in which Lawrence of Arabia was filmed. Because it was not possible to shoot the night scenes at night, they were lensed during the day using light-damping filters. So, while it looks like night, the camels and horses cast noticeable shadows. Today, computers would be used to digitally erase these anomalies (then again, today, the filming could be done after dark), but their existence in Lawrence of Arabia adds a certain otherworldliness to those scenes in which the "night-shadows" appear.

For David Lean, widely regarded as one of the masters of epic filmmaking, Lawrence of Arabia represented the most ambitious undertaking of a fruitful career. Restored to its full length in 1989, the version available today shows the story as Lean intended it to be seen - provided the viewer is able to see it projected, not compressed onto a TV screen. While it's true that Lawrence of Arabia still works on the small screen, it is robbed of one of the most important aspect of any motion picture spectacle - the awe factor. When that is present, this becomes an event - something that even the most restless viewer will become lost in.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
RalfbergsFeb 2, 2018
This is really a movie epic. While maybe the story telling is slow at some points, the acting is great and the movie throughout has many interesting plot points. I don't understand how this movie can have negative ratings.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
smiyamotNov 29, 2015
A masterpiece. An idealistic young officer goes out into the desert to change the world. Sound familiar? Of course, there is the underlying politics of the British Empire. Lawrence (O'Toole) thinks he can bind together the various ArabA masterpiece. An idealistic young officer goes out into the desert to change the world. Sound familiar? Of course, there is the underlying politics of the British Empire. Lawrence (O'Toole) thinks he can bind together the various Arab factions to defeat the Turks and form their own government/country. But people are people and once the enemy is defeated, they turn on each other. The Empire is safe. The real attraction of the movie is what happens out in the desert. Men coming together to first defeat Mother Nature, then a superior modern army. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FuturedirectorSep 21, 2017
Lawrence of Arabia may lose its epic essence by the years (a consequence of the inevitable modernity's advance), but no one can deny its exciting, emotional, and unpredictable storytelling.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MetaflixAug 24, 2017
There are many great films that are considered part of the 'epic' sub-genre of movies. 'Spartacus,' 'Ben Hur,' and 'Seven Samurai' are just a few that readily come to mind. Yet, 'Lawrence of Arabia' stands alone as the greatest of themThere are many great films that are considered part of the 'epic' sub-genre of movies. 'Spartacus,' 'Ben Hur,' and 'Seven Samurai' are just a few that readily come to mind. Yet, 'Lawrence of Arabia' stands alone as the greatest of them all.

As if all the sweeping vistas, perfectly captured sunrises and sunsets, and grandiose battle scenes aren't enough, the writing, acting, and directing are all perfect or damn near close to it.

Every film production is rife with difficulties, from logistics to locations to the physical demands of shooting for weeks and months on end. But the thought of doing so in the desert, while creating a 4-hour masterpiece, simply boggles this reviewer's mind.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
GabrielHU3ttdz6Jul 28, 2017
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. My favorite movie and one of the best ever made. The greatest epic of all time with Ben-Hur. It takes your breath away. The pictures are just amazing. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
FilipeNetoMar 18, 2018
This film tells an important part of T. E. Lawrence's life. A curious and highly intelligent man, joined the British Army during First World War and had a decisive role in the Arab Revolt of 1916 against the Turks. Directed by David Lean andThis film tells an important part of T. E. Lawrence's life. A curious and highly intelligent man, joined the British Army during First World War and had a decisive role in the Arab Revolt of 1916 against the Turks. Directed by David Lean and scripted by Robert Bolt, it has the participation of Peter O'Toole, Anthony Quinn and Omar Sharif.

T. E. Lawrence is one of the most interesting characters of the First World War. It wasn't a brilliant general or military, but got a huge part along the Arab tribes, disunited and often rivals, making them a highly effective troop (despite being composed of irregular militias). The film shows us how he got it and the price he paid (the scenes of violence when he was imprisoned by the Turks, although softened, can still suggest the alleged anal rape that he have suffered, among other tortures).

The film is full of stunning scenes of the desert and is visually appealing, perhaps one of the epic films that gave greater attention to the use of natural landscapes to impress the public. The harshness of living conditions (or rather, survival) of the local tribes is also depicted with objectivity, as well as the importance given to water and control of wells. The action scenes were well thought out and show how the struggle was unequal, apparently doomed to failure (the Arabs battled with archaic methods and weapons, when compared to those used by Turks).

The performance of the actors is something exceptional. The film is full of great players who have been at their best. Peter O'Toole, Anthony Quinn and Omar Sharif stand out naturally by the exceptional quality of their work, in a film that has become largely responsible for their consecration. The costumes are also excellent and, at least to me, seem consistent with the kind of clothes and uniforms depicted in photographs of the time, a sign of a good historical consulting work. The same can be said of military equipment shown. The soundtrack, an essential part of a good epic, is one of the best that has been done by Hollywood, having the signature of Maurice Jarre.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
starmario123May 3, 2011
This film is perfect in every possible way. It's hard to even imagine the struggles that went into the making of this masterpiece. Peter O' Toole not only gives his best performance of all-time, but one of the greatest performances of all-time.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
10
DanJan 26, 2009
Cinematic perfection, no less.
14 of 17 users found this helpful
10
fistofan0077Dec 15, 2010
I am a huge fan of David Lean, and this is by far his greatest film. Beautifully filmed, marvelously acted, just all around brilliant film, one of the best of all time in my opinion. The emotional impact of Lawrence of Arabia is large andI am a huge fan of David Lean, and this is by far his greatest film. Beautifully filmed, marvelously acted, just all around brilliant film, one of the best of all time in my opinion. The emotional impact of Lawrence of Arabia is large and long lasting, a classic movie that is not only entertaining, but moving in ways that most stone faced classics seem to not achieve. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
AdamD.Dec 2, 2007
One of the best movies ever made. Peter O'Toole's performance is a masterpiece.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
TinaW.Sep 4, 2008
This movie does not just deserve a mere 100, it deserves a 101! This is the most intelligent film that the Creator has ever put on this planet.
1 of 2 users found this helpful
10
30CentsJul 26, 2015
Whenever the word "desert" comes to mind, most people think of it as, hot, boring, sandy. All terms that are true in the desert and is one place you never want to be. "Lawrence of Arabia" proves to be a historical masterpiece in cinema, thatWhenever the word "desert" comes to mind, most people think of it as, hot, boring, sandy. All terms that are true in the desert and is one place you never want to be. "Lawrence of Arabia" proves to be a historical masterpiece in cinema, that won seven oscars including best motion picture of 1962.

History is a big part of "Lawrence of Arabia", as it follows the controversial leader known as T.E Lawrence (played by Peter O'Toole). The film is very much accurate following the Brits and Arabs fighting against the Turks in the early 20th century. Very well portrayed and executed, the film has everything you would expect from a historical movie, being entertaining to watch every minute.

The film starts out with one of the most beautiful musical scores ever composed. We are introduced to the movie hearing an original musical score for six minutes until the movie fully begins. The score is epic, funny, and enjoyable as you wait for the movie to begin. We then see a man riding on a motorcycle, he is not in the desert, but in England. The scene then transitions to a historical sight in another part of England remembering the battle of Arabia.

T.E Lawrence sets out to find the prince (played by Alec Guinness) to help him fight the Turks during the World War I era in the early 20th century. He is set out by the Brits to go and find him, many new characters are introduced along the way, such as Sharif Ali (played by Omar Sharif), and Auda Abu (played by Anthony Quinn). The best thing about the characters, they all have something to do with the plot, not just to be thrown in there to be extras.

The setting is like no other, taken place in the Arabian desert, the setting makes the adaptation of the film unique. The award winning cinematography made the film as great as it is and beautiful to look at. The costumes fit with the story of the film as all the Arabs look like the way they the used to look like.

Overall, "Lawremce of Arabia" is a classic masterpiece. The film truly deserved the best picture award, and without a doubt, this is my favorite movie of all time. There is no other film I have seen that could top this one. Simply memorable by all the performances and classic scenes, this one os worth a go.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
EpicLadySpongeApr 3, 2016
If only it was re-released on its 50th anniversary back in 2012, that would've been a LOT better for Lawrence of Arabia as of its 40th anniversary was great and its original release was good.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
virtualPresenceOct 7, 2016
I found out one very interesting fact about this film users review is "CONSISTENCY" ... all the negative critics users written are very very similar like:
- film too long (3.50h)
- film too boring - film has poor story The users which
I found out one very interesting fact about this film users review is "CONSISTENCY" ... all the negative critics users written are very very similar like:
- film too long (3.50h)
- film too boring
- film has poor story

The users which gave negative critics also pointed out some positive thing found in the film similar like:
- film has great photography (desert scenes/animal scenes camels, horses...)
- film has some great acting performances (but boring story and very long scenes spoiled my interest)

MY CONCLUSION:
Like the most of the negative user critics I had very similar experience. I was actually very disappointed because I've read so many good critics from users before I watched this film all saying it is EPIC film but as I watched it -> partially/fully overrated... It deserves only three stars and no more. I shoul next time read aso the negative critics before reading positive to see the difference. But likely the critics which are many places consistent and repetitive are likely "genuine critics" or real personal experience. Im not sure if all this positive critics found on board are "truly genuine critics" because film making is big money today much bigger then before we are talking of billions of $$$...so what to think... I learn every time something new... one has to seems read also the negative comments/ratings and if there is consistency there is great chance of genuine viewers experience it means I may also not like this film.... chances are 50-70%....
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
2
massimobFeb 22, 2009
Ok, some visually stunning scene, but it was the landscape, the story meant nothing the acting was stiff, maybe I'm an idiot, too long , too melodramatic, I can't imagine this to be a great film, don't believe the hype, try Ok, some visually stunning scene, but it was the landscape, the story meant nothing the acting was stiff, maybe I'm an idiot, too long , too melodramatic, I can't imagine this to be a great film, don't believe the hype, try watching it more than once, you can't or you're deluding yourself. Expand
5 of 30 users found this helpful
3
Batman30512Jun 23, 2011
I watched this movie with no doubt that it would be as good as it was made out to be. It was in the top 10 of the AFI top 100 movies of all time, and it had received many 4 star reviews. About an hour into the film, I fell asleep. Now, fansI watched this movie with no doubt that it would be as good as it was made out to be. It was in the top 10 of the AFI top 100 movies of all time, and it had received many 4 star reviews. About an hour into the film, I fell asleep. Now, fans of the film would say, "Oh, you can't handle the impact of a long epic film. You have a short attention span." Well, with me, that is not the case. But, on the subject of length, this film is almost four hours long. For the content displayed in this film, the running time was way too long. If Titanic can cram all the hefty things it needed in a matter of 3 hours, then this is no excuse. Nothing was happening. I mean, literally nothing. The screenplay needs a real doctor, because it has so much unneeded dialogue. It just procrastinated its way through, I think because it really had nothing more interesting. Director David lean is probably one of the best directors of all time, but in this film, you can tell that his and the producer's mind frame was "I wonder how many academy awards I can get through this film?" It wasn't made naturally, it was gargantuan for this point. I about turned off the movie when I saw a thirty second look at the desert landscape for about the millionth time. Yes, it does take place in the desert, but this movie was called "Lawrence of Arabia," not "The Arabian Desert." Which brings me to my next point: Peter O' Toole. I have seen him in many marvelous performances. I'm surprised he hasn't received an Oscar yet. But, his interpretation of Lawrence was so vague. You only saw the exterior, you never saw the interior. He gets a rush out of killing, yet we don't know why. i partially blame it on the script writers, but I also partially blame it on him. When you are an actor, you have to convey to the audience who you are, no matter how good or bad the script is. he is playing the character that embodies the whole movie. It is solely about him, and he doesn't sell that. Now, I'm not going to bash everything just because I don't like the film, but i will compliment Alec Guinness for his outstanding but short performance as Prince Feisal, Maurice Jarre for the superb score, and the editing. Sorry to burst the bubble of the "Lawrence of Arabia" fans, but I really think this film is overrated, and that it is not as good as it is made out to be. That is my opinion on "Lawrence of Arabia." Expand
2 of 17 users found this helpful215
All this user's reviews
1
financialwarJan 20, 2017
three hours and 40 minutes of boredom. Do don't trust general review. these people are sheeps.

action scene are fake as ****, the blood is fake as, acting is fake, everything is fake.
0 of 5 users found this helpful05
All this user's reviews
5
HiddenAceSep 20, 2017
A 'movie' I recommend, but notice I give it only 5/10. You should not expect an adventure story as many sites list it, instead you will find the rest are true; a Biography War Drama. A perfect comparison to this story is the movie: 'The TenA 'movie' I recommend, but notice I give it only 5/10. You should not expect an adventure story as many sites list it, instead you will find the rest are true; a Biography War Drama. A perfect comparison to this story is the movie: 'The Ten Commandments'. An extremely long look at a piece of history. This film fails as a solely entertaining experience. If you do not want to know this piece of (biased)history then don't watch this movie. I watched this because it was voted top Adventure movie in many places, but I would not call this an adventure, more a biography as stated before. There is no structure to make this an interesting and exciting story, just a historical retelling with only its events as pacing, making it slow and unsuspenseful.
It certainly didn't need the extra hour and a half it took, but lacking any structure they decided to show everything they had and cut nothing.

Overall I liked the movie despite the score, but it certainly is no adventure movie or anything worth 3 and a half hours unless you're into movies like the ten commandments. Look to other movies for entertainment, especially in the adventure category.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
NickC.Dec 5, 2005
An amazing film!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndrewH.Jun 15, 2006
It takes your breath away.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OrrinL.Jul 27, 2006
This movie is just to good to be criticzied. It is almost like the movie was not done by a human. This treasure does prove that David Lean is the master of span and vastness in directing. This is the greatest movie of all time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
gOct 8, 2016
It's hard to pick which real story of famous people to be adapted to get a fantastic and positive thanks. Lawrence of Arabia deserves an over 10/10 from me. David Lean literally puts a lot of great effort and Peter O'Toole's performance to meIt's hard to pick which real story of famous people to be adapted to get a fantastic and positive thanks. Lawrence of Arabia deserves an over 10/10 from me. David Lean literally puts a lot of great effort and Peter O'Toole's performance to me is outstanding and very serious when he is in a war service. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeMay 4, 2018
did you know him well..

Lawrence Of Arabia The writers' affection towards the protagonist is crystal clear in here and also the soul reason that helps one survive this overlong feature running for more than 200 minutes. Michael Wilson and
did you know him well..

Lawrence Of Arabia

The writers' affection towards the protagonist is crystal clear in here and also the soul reason that helps one survive this overlong feature running for more than 200 minutes. Michael Wilson and Robert Bolt; the screen writer has done a decent job but the adaptation isn't as smart as they think. David Lean; the director, is the savior here that executes this character driven feature and is not only supported but celebrated by a beautiful cinematography (not often one encounters a horse riding on the land that looks like water). Peter O'Toole is convincing as T.E. Lawrence and is supported well enough by Alec Guinness among other supporting actors. Lawrence Of Arabia is a brilliant attempt to pull it off on such a large scale which works here for the most part of it but the rest of it, does raise question here and there.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MartyMcFlyOct 2, 2018
My score 95
Metascore / User score 100 / 87
Tomatometer / Audience score 98 / 93
IMDB 83
(92.7)
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
ahmedaiman1999Feb 21, 2019
000First and foremost, this movie has way more humor than I ever thought it would have. From its very beginning, I was quite surprised by the amount of humor I found, not only because I didn't expect so, but also because it often works pretty000First and foremost, this movie has way more humor than I ever thought it would have. From its very beginning, I was quite surprised by the amount of humor I found, not only because I didn't expect so, but also because it often works pretty well!

Another great surprise I had watching this movie is that I didn't find it boring at all despite its nearly four-hours runtime. A long runtime alone doesn't make a movie bad or weak, but it certainly doesn't help. But I really think there is almost no second that David Lean has wasted in this textbook example of epic cinema. It's quite entertaining for plenty of reasons; two of them are the fascinating cinematography that treated my eyes with some of the most jaw-dropping images I've ever seen been captured on film, and the mind-bogglingly masterful editing that is easily also one of the best I've ever seen in film.

Lawrence of Arabia is also surprisingly very simple despite its fiendishly complex portrait of the titular character. Actually it may be sometimes too simple for its own good, for I think the movie became superficial and shallow at the beginning of its second half for the sake of nothing but developing the character of Lawrence. There are some key events that should have been more focused on, but ended up being demonstrated comparatively quite fast and superficially. That made the second half a bit muddled, unlike the unbelievably perfect first half, but this wasn't much of an issue for me; because David Lean really make up for this simplicity by delivering a disturbing, terrifying, opulent, astute and utterly unique psychological profile of a heroic, yet flawed historical figure that is the protagonist, Lawrence. As for Peter O'Toole's performance, the only thing I could say is that I was quite mad for about the first half of the movie because how inaccurately serious-looking he appeared on the poster of the movie despite the fact he was rather good-natured, and looked quite charming. Of course, I realized that I was embarrassingly wrong when O'Toole gradually changed 100 percent to a very serious, and even seemingly mad man who struggles to find a balance in his life,nay, to discover his identity.

I also want to say that I'm so so proud of Omar Sharif, who brought one of the most iconic secondary characters in the history of cinema! Alec Guinness was also terrific as Prince Faisal, although I still think he delivered his best performance in The Bridge on the River Kwai, another epic from Lean. Auda Abu Tayi is one of the most blatantly greedy characters I've seen in film, and it could have never been portrayed so convincingly by other than the great actor, Anthony Quinn.

If there is only one film deserves to be described as Epic, it's Lawrence of Arabia!

(9/10)
Collapse
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews