Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: November 9, 2012
7.5
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 786 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
595
Mixed:
128
Negative:
63
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Khunter4382Dec 3, 2012
It's hard not to give this film the highest marks. Daniel Day-Lewis is amazing and so perfect. That's no surprise. What surprised me was the fact that so many other great performers were not overshadowed. Tommy Lee Jones nearly steals theIt's hard not to give this film the highest marks. Daniel Day-Lewis is amazing and so perfect. That's no surprise. What surprised me was the fact that so many other great performers were not overshadowed. Tommy Lee Jones nearly steals the show as Thaddeus Stevens, and Sally Field commands her role as Mary Todd Lincoln. Every character gets plenty of screen-time, all the while we are served up a buffet of the greatest portrayal of a US President in the history of cinema. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
TheDRauchJan 1, 2013
A riveting portrait of the last few days of the late president, 'Lincoln' is a highly-tuned piece of historical drama that works almost the same way as a blockbuster thriller, mostly thanks to Daniel Day-Lewis (who presents us with aA riveting portrait of the last few days of the late president, 'Lincoln' is a highly-tuned piece of historical drama that works almost the same way as a blockbuster thriller, mostly thanks to Daniel Day-Lewis (who presents us with a typically masterful performance), Tony Kushners dense, historically accurate script, and Spielberg's willingness to hold off of sentiment and keep it realistic. In fact, this movie barely feels at all like a work from Steven Spielberg. It feels more like a Sidney Lumet courtroom drama, with occasional blips of Spielberg's touch feeding through. I would have to say that, thanks to this display of restraint, 'Lincoln' marks his best film since 1998's war masterpiece 'Saving Private Ryan'. The entire cast is put to great use, even those actors who might not seem like the right choice for a role that may demand a southern accent and donning a wig (James Spader I'm looking at you). While Daniel Day-Lewis captures with absolute clarity Lincoln's steady mannerisms and droll sense of humor, Tommy Lee Jones provides an antithesis as the spitfire, strongly-voiced abolitionist Stevens. Sally Field also makes a strong return to the screen as Mary Todd Lincoln, perfectly capturing the frantic melodramatic fits that the role requires, while also not submitting to a shallow interpretation of her vibrant character. The rest of the cast shines as well, giving the look of the film the sense of being thoroughly lived-in. While we may never be able to get a 100% valid look into the life of the great man, 'Lincoln' represents the most accurate and engaging exploration of his life ever transmitted to the silver screen and it stands as a hard-won tribute to his accomplishments as well. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
tropicAcesNov 21, 2012
Before you see this you have to know this isn't about Lincoln as much as it is about passing the 13th amendment. While it does drag (it's 2.5 hours) it's never boring and it's filled with plenty chuckles to carry it along. Day-Lewis ISBefore you see this you have to know this isn't about Lincoln as much as it is about passing the 13th amendment. While it does drag (it's 2.5 hours) it's never boring and it's filled with plenty chuckles to carry it along. Day-Lewis IS Lincoln and is sure to win the Oscar. Much like Ledger and the Joker, I could not imagine anyone else in the role. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
BrianMcCriticMar 31, 2013
My favorite movie of 2012. Lincoln is exceptional film making by Steven Spielberg, with brilliant performances by Daniel Day Lewis and Tommy Lee Jones.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
bsykes91Jun 20, 2013
With excellent acting by the entire cast, deep characters, and great dialogue, Spielberg and Kushner create a beautiful film that immerses the audience into the time period and reanimate these historical characters. Through my personalWith excellent acting by the entire cast, deep characters, and great dialogue, Spielberg and Kushner create a beautiful film that immerses the audience into the time period and reanimate these historical characters. Through my personal passion for history and politics, I was able to recognize and appreciate the amount of detail they put into their work. Daniel Day-Lewis once again immerses himself into a role and the result is breathtaking. My favorite film of 2012, this movie is destined to be a classic. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
StevenFSep 29, 2013
It's clear throughout 'Lincoln' that the man himself was not a man of means, he didn't come from money nor did he have much of an educational background, he learned about life through living it, rising the ranks with popularity amongst theIt's clear throughout 'Lincoln' that the man himself was not a man of means, he didn't come from money nor did he have much of an educational background, he learned about life through living it, rising the ranks with popularity amongst the people he served, Daniel Day-Lewis delivers a dazzling and powerful performance as the 16th President of the United States, a man with countless stories and a calm and collective attitude that resonates throughout the film, a film that breathes a sombre breath, yet it accomplishes an impressive feat of pivotal speeches, interesting characters and a story intertwined with the politics that surrounds Lincoln and his family. We pick up out story in the closing month of Lincoln's fruitful life and as he attempts to push through 13th Amendment with the aid of Thaddeus Stevens (Tommy Lee Jones) and William Seward (David Strathairn) amongst others. The detail and careful consideration put into each political moment of this historic amendment is quite astonishing, an ensemble cast full the shoes of various figures in the life of Lincoln as he attempts to be the driving force in the abolishment of slavery in the United States, but the opportunity to break away the financial roots of the Confederacy also played a major factor in an attempt to end civil war. The film doesn't have the typical blockbuster and big-budget effect that director Steven Spielberg creates, but instead we have gatherings of important people in dark, candlelit rooms as they argue for themselves but also what truly matters, peace, there isn't epic portions of flying flags, but instead there are intensely flawed characters, never really sure of loyalty or allegiance, equality plays a major factor in the film, not just amongst the people, but for the President himself, who is often held accountable for his past as a man not coming from a privileged life, but it also fits well with a film that wants to show the real side, as Lincoln himself uses tactics, as any politician does, to sway voters, using negotiators (James Spader, John Hawkes and Blake Nelson) to change the minds of a few Democrats. The performances are the true heart and brilliance of the film, Daniel Day-Lewis captures the mannerisms of what we perceive to be the man in the top hat, a soft spoken individual but one who seems tired and endlessly in thought, often brought back down by his passionate and forthright wife, Mary Todd Lincoln (Sally Field), and his stubborn son Robert (Joseph Gordon-Levitt).
Writer Tony Kushner has managed to make the politics enthralling by working pivotal moments into passing parables, no fireworks or streamers necessary, it feels more real and candid when it is played out in this way, which Spielberg perfectly portrays onscreen.
The film really should have ended five minutes earlier than it did, although we all know how the end of the sorry goes, many people probably still want to see, but a much better close happened a little earlier. Even so, this is quite an engrossing and dramatic piece, expert direction, writing and performances, sheer brilliance throughout.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleAug 26, 2014
Damn, what a cast. I love films like this that have these huge casts and I keep seeing all these character actors who I recognize from other films or television shows. Daniel Day-Lewis was great (though I prefer him in Gangs of New York andDamn, what a cast. I love films like this that have these huge casts and I keep seeing all these character actors who I recognize from other films or television shows. Daniel Day-Lewis was great (though I prefer him in Gangs of New York and There Will Be Blood, personally). Tommy Lee Jones, David Strathairn, and David Costabile, are also major bright spots. As a whole, this is an at times very interesting film about Lincoln himself, as well as everything he went through trying to get the 13th amendment passed. The performances, direction, and costume design, are all major pluses to this historical film. However, it felt a little long. Some of it could have been trimmed and the final product would have benefited from it. On top of that, Mary Todd Lincoln was almost exclusively portrayed as a total b****, while Robert Lincoln was almost exclusively shown as a wannabe soldier. Thus, I almost think Jospeh Gordon-Levitt's portion could be trimmed significantly, though his performance was fine. I also wish they either showed more elements of Mary Lincoln or trimmed her down and focused exclusively on Lincoln, his Cabinet, and the House. The ending is also poor, as it does not even show anything. While I am not a huge fan of gore, at least hearing a gunshot would have been an added plus. The way they did it felt as if they were purposely keeping us at a distance, which is annoying. The film can also be a little tedious at times and fails to hold your interest throughout the entire run time (largely thanks to the parts that add nothing much to the film as a whole). However, as a whole, the film is very well made and very well done from all parties and stands as a great look at history and is poignant even today, as though the issues are different, the divide between parties and the way votes work is all too similar. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
nicholasbertJan 19, 2016
Spielberg delivers a so-so biopic focusing on one particular moment in Lincoln's life. One doesn't quite understand the purpose of choosing this particular moment if then you don't follow on the social and political implications. EverybodySpielberg delivers a so-so biopic focusing on one particular moment in Lincoln's life. One doesn't quite understand the purpose of choosing this particular moment if then you don't follow on the social and political implications. Everybody already knew the history - it would have been interesting to focus on some other aspects. Daniel Day-Lewis impeccable as usual, this time the fault lies with the screenwriters and the director. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticAug 22, 2013
The real masterpiece comes from Daniel Day-Lewis' climactic performance, as well as his dead on portrayal of our greatest president. Tommy Lee Jones as the cynical Thaddeus Stevens gives us a laugh with his sardonic humor. And Sally FieldThe real masterpiece comes from Daniel Day-Lewis' climactic performance, as well as his dead on portrayal of our greatest president. Tommy Lee Jones as the cynical Thaddeus Stevens gives us a laugh with his sardonic humor. And Sally Field scores again as the emotionally traumatized Mary Todd. The story-line is brief considering their history altogether, but "Lincoln" is a gut-wrenching memoir of the 13th Amendment. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
RobertBroganOct 3, 2015
Lincoln is best viewed with modest expectations. The performance of Daniel Day Lewis lives up to the hype. It is a great performance in a great career. Unfortunately, the other elements of the film do not rise to that standard and it shows.Lincoln is best viewed with modest expectations. The performance of Daniel Day Lewis lives up to the hype. It is a great performance in a great career. Unfortunately, the other elements of the film do not rise to that standard and it shows. I'd compare Lincoln to Raging Bull. In that film we have also have a great performance by the lead but also great supporting cast, script, directing and it makes for great film. If DDL had those elements around him I could see a classic film being made, but instead it is a good movie, a high three. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Thigpen84Feb 22, 2017
The Performance given by Daniel Day is obviously brillant, but it is not enough to save this rear miss by Spielberg, this movie is just mediocre, it should of been called "the 13th Amendment" because that is really what this is about, not Lincoln
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
nauticoNov 17, 2012
Three things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciouslyThree things struck me about this excellent movie. First, at times I thought I was watching a play, not a flick. Lots of set pieces shot on sound stages. 90% dialogue, 10% action. Secondly, I found that dialogue to be self-consciously archaic, sometimes almost Shakespearian in syntax and dialect. (That always makes me wonder how close screenwriters and directors really come to the speech patterns that actually existed back in the day. Since we have no recordings from that era, movie makers must use diaries for clues and examples. That said, I suspect that a) the written word was different from the spoken and b) oratorical speech more different from conversational speech than it is today.)

Thirdly, I thought Speilberg's tone to be a bit didactic, as if he wanted to educate all of us on the mechanics of what it took Abe to get the 13th amendment passed. I found this to be neither good nor bad, just noticeable.
Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
LeonidasPeplisDec 3, 2012
Spielberg & Tony Kushner managed to to transfer us into the mind of Lincoln giving us a historical thriller that will soon become a "Classic".The film has the two "battlefields" of war and politics that keep us on the edge of our seats.As itSpielberg & Tony Kushner managed to to transfer us into the mind of Lincoln giving us a historical thriller that will soon become a "Classic".The film has the two "battlefields" of war and politics that keep us on the edge of our seats.As it goes for Daniel Day-Lewis(Lincoln) I have only one word: "Breathtaking". Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
9
KJJNov 10, 2012
First rate look at the personal side of real people written about so much as "legend" that you forget. Is Rex Reed serious about this being a "bore"? When is he going to retire and stop boring us?
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryNov 16, 2012
The latest from Spielberg examines the great president's last 4 months, when he struggled to pass the 13th Amendment to end slavery. Tony Kushner ("Angels in America") wrote the screenplay, so it's wordy and eloquent. In the title role,The latest from Spielberg examines the great president's last 4 months, when he struggled to pass the 13th Amendment to end slavery. Tony Kushner ("Angels in America") wrote the screenplay, so it's wordy and eloquent. In the title role, Daniel Day Lewis is simply amazing: creating a character who's not only imposing, but wise and down-to-earth. Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones also turn in great performances and the entire cast is outstanding. Visually, it's attractive and full of period eloquence. Don't expect this to be a big hit, the seriousness of the subject and constant conversation renders it too inaccessible. It is a solid history lesson in a beautifully made and intelligent package. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
8
gfnyNov 16, 2012
If you are looking for action pass this by. The movie is like watching a chess game. Slow thinking, planning and timing
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
scriptsmotionNov 9, 2012
I was enthralled from the start.
http://scriptsmotion.wordpress.com/2012/11/09/lincoln/

While it isn
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
10
kubr1ckNov 11, 2012
they might as well give day-lewis the oscar now. he outdoes even himself here. a truly lived-in character right from the start. and kushner's script is unbelievable. bravo
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
8
BHBarryNov 10, 2012
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
10
papaiNov 24, 2012
Lincoln is one of the greatest biopics of all time.Steven spielberg has done an incredible job.this movie is grand.the cinematography is amazing.All the performances are astonishing.daniel day lewis delivers the performance of a lifetime.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
LeftyyDec 29, 2012
A joyous bundle of history and excellence. The movie plays out in a slow and slightly reserved fashion, rewarding those who pay close attention to the details of the well-versed dialogue. The acting on all fronts in spectacular, and it notA joyous bundle of history and excellence. The movie plays out in a slow and slightly reserved fashion, rewarding those who pay close attention to the details of the well-versed dialogue. The acting on all fronts in spectacular, and it not only paints a detailed and acute description of one of the most important pieces of American history, but does well in honoring the great United States President and showing you a great depiction of his life and those around him. By the end, you'll feel your own sense of emotional accomplishment and maybe even feel smarter. Overall, a glorious film, and my personal movie of the year. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
m_eldersDec 16, 2012
This is a really solid movie. The acting is superb, the story is interesting, and the writing is good. However, it felt oddly short. There were all these interesting characters, but not enough time to develop any of them completely. ItThis is a really solid movie. The acting is superb, the story is interesting, and the writing is good. However, it felt oddly short. There were all these interesting characters, but not enough time to develop any of them completely. It felt like it should have been a TV miniseries. One other thing really stood out to me for some reason. I'm not one to let profanity affect how much I like a movie (The Wire is one of my favorite TV shows), but this had more profanity than I would have expected from a movie set in the 1800s. Even Lincoln said "sh*t" at one point. It just really caught me off guard. Other than that, this is a great movie that tells the story of Lincoln as you've probably never heard it told. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
UnclearImageJan 2, 2013
A wonderful movie, it tells the part of the story that wasn't told- the struggles Lincoln had to deal with in his fight versus the Democrats and even within his own party. It's a compelling drama, in the spirit of "The King's Speech" afterA wonderful movie, it tells the part of the story that wasn't told- the struggles Lincoln had to deal with in his fight versus the Democrats and even within his own party. It's a compelling drama, in the spirit of "The King's Speech" after watching this movie I admired Lincoln, and wished I had been around to hear one of his "stories" Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
noco71Jan 10, 2013
I can understand why on the surface alot of people may have found this movie to be boring. But when you give it a chance and look and enjoy the performances of all the leads , I found it anything but boring. Daniel Day Lewis is incredible andI can understand why on the surface alot of people may have found this movie to be boring. But when you give it a chance and look and enjoy the performances of all the leads , I found it anything but boring. Daniel Day Lewis is incredible and James Spader was surprisingly good too. I think it was a great choice not to include any real action sequences in the movie , as I feel they would have felt completely out of place and fo4ced in a movie like this. Overall I was glued from start to finish. Wonderful stuff. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
JribsNov 19, 2012
My girlfriend fell asleep during this movie, but I sure didn't. It is dialogue heavy which I'm sure everybody has heard. The screenplay is excellent though, allowing for moments of subtlety where other movies would be afraid to bore theMy girlfriend fell asleep during this movie, but I sure didn't. It is dialogue heavy which I'm sure everybody has heard. The screenplay is excellent though, allowing for moments of subtlety where other movies would be afraid to bore the audience. The acting accompanying the screenplay works perfectly as every character seemed to be cast perfectly to suite their role. Great supporting roles in this movie go even further than Tommy Lee Jones and Sally Field. James Spader is a surprisingly hilarious addition to the cast and Joseph Gordon-Levitt brought added drama to the film. See it if you are slightly educated in Civil War history, and can enjoy a well-written film. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
Makaliah18Nov 18, 2012
Interesting movie. It prompted me to read Ms. Goodwin's book. There were several actors that I absolutely loved seeing and they all did an amazing job.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
BellinoPSep 7, 2013
Lets get this Bill passed.. find someone to help pass this bill... hey bill will you help me pass this Bill.. wow what a waste of talent. actors were superb sets and direction was excellent. but give me a break the story should have focusedLets get this Bill passed.. find someone to help pass this bill... hey bill will you help me pass this Bill.. wow what a waste of talent. actors were superb sets and direction was excellent. but give me a break the story should have focused much more on personal relationships and how without that bill there lives being affected by it. that would have made a more powerful movie... Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
2
adolfGarlicApr 6, 2013
Couldn't watch it all it was so dull. Ridiculous facial prosthetics. Watch "Boy with a bike" instead. This is not, as had expected, a biopic, it just focuses on one small piece of legistlation that they're trying to pass. An episode of theCouldn't watch it all it was so dull. Ridiculous facial prosthetics. Watch "Boy with a bike" instead. This is not, as had expected, a biopic, it just focuses on one small piece of legistlation that they're trying to pass. An episode of the West Wing is more entertaining. DDL is good but the rest of the film ducks sonkey sicks. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
thom71gtApr 6, 2013
Yawn!! I can certainly appreciate the artistic talents of the writers and the actors, but when I go to see a movie, I want to be entertained. If I wanted to learn the intricate details of how Lincoln was able to pass the 13th amendment, thenYawn!! I can certainly appreciate the artistic talents of the writers and the actors, but when I go to see a movie, I want to be entertained. If I wanted to learn the intricate details of how Lincoln was able to pass the 13th amendment, then I'd watch a documentary. This movie stretched on for two and a half hours of mostly boring dialog. Yeah, I can appreciate the acting, but this was not what I was expecting. Very disappointing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
3
hgtrainer74Apr 27, 2013
This movie was like watching C-SPAN from the 1800's. It is EXTREMELY slow and stuffy. Some of the vocabulary is like listening to Shakespeare, you kind of understand what they are saying but it still would be helpful to have a translator toThis movie was like watching C-SPAN from the 1800's. It is EXTREMELY slow and stuffy. Some of the vocabulary is like listening to Shakespeare, you kind of understand what they are saying but it still would be helpful to have a translator to make sure you know what is going on. Abraham Lincoln and his rambling stories....... I wanted to shoot him myself by the end of the movie. He is like that uncle that tells you a 15 minute story that has nothing to do with anything. All that being said, there is great acting and I can see where it would be critically acclaimed. If you are looking for a true look at politics in the 19th century, this movie is for you, but if you want action or anything resembling entertainment, pick a different movie. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
Darkjoker28Nov 9, 2012
Oh, this is beautiful film-making. Spielberg takes you on a ride inside Lincoln's mind and his intimate conflicts, in such a pretty and touching way...
DDL is outstanding once again, and this will be seriously a big contender to the award
Oh, this is beautiful film-making. Spielberg takes you on a ride inside Lincoln's mind and his intimate conflicts, in such a pretty and touching way...
DDL is outstanding once again, and this will be seriously a big contender to the award season. I bet .
Expand
8 of 13 users found this helpful85
All this user's reviews
4
evancusterNov 24, 2012
I must be in the minority, but I was very disappointed with "Lincoln". I really enjoy history and biography, had read Goodwin's book and had heard almost unanimous praise for the movie. However, I thought the film was tedious, the scriptI must be in the minority, but I was very disappointed with "Lincoln". I really enjoy history and biography, had read Goodwin's book and had heard almost unanimous praise for the movie. However, I thought the film was tedious, the script very stilted, and the acting rather mundane. If this had been a movie without the hype, the well known cast and director, and the subject, I am sure more of the critics would have panned it. I kept looking at my watch and wondering when it was going to show all the great things that had been written about it. A real disappointment. Expand
13 of 25 users found this helpful1312
All this user's reviews
8
frozenpinkyNov 9, 2012
Who is this R. Kurt Osenlund of Slant Magazine that writes, "Steven Spielberg's LINCOLN film may further the heroism so associated with its subject, and favor a liberal viewpoint that leers down at the Confederates, but it's no bleeding-heartWho is this R. Kurt Osenlund of Slant Magazine that writes, "Steven Spielberg's LINCOLN film may further the heroism so associated with its subject, and favor a liberal viewpoint that leers down at the Confederates, but it's no bleeding-heart glamorization." ? Who says conservatives were in favor of the Confederates? Lincoln was a conservative Republican, and most of the Confederates were Southern Democrats. People don't seem to realize that it's Republicans who were and still are the true "liberals": those in favor of liberty, freedom, and self-determinism (the right to life, liberty, and the pursuit of happiness) for all people. The movie is good, though. Just ignore Slant Magazine. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
7
MarcDoyleNov 20, 2012
The movie is saved by outstanding performances by the supporting cast, including some moments of humor by James Spader. It's a good movie, but not the type of historical account that you'll return to like you would Schindler's List. DDL is,The movie is saved by outstanding performances by the supporting cast, including some moments of humor by James Spader. It's a good movie, but not the type of historical account that you'll return to like you would Schindler's List. DDL is, of course, excellent, but the movie as a whole is essentially solid work. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
7
BKMNov 19, 2012
Lincoln will likely appeal to political junkies above all others thanks to its complex and in-depth examination of the painstaking process of passing legislation through a gridlocked congress-which has eerie parallels to our current politicalLincoln will likely appeal to political junkies above all others thanks to its complex and in-depth examination of the painstaking process of passing legislation through a gridlocked congress-which has eerie parallels to our current political climate. But the remainder of viewers will have to be satisfied with an expertly crafted, albeit somewhat creaky, historical drama fueled by a career capping turn from Daniel Day-Lewis and an excellent supporting performance from Tommy Lee Jones. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
DQ_SlotkinsDec 19, 2012
When the lights came up after Spielberg's Lincoln the packed audience began exiting in an overly courteous and orderly manner. It was eerie. It felt like we were playing a formally dressed audience leaving an opera house after a beautifulWhen the lights came up after Spielberg's Lincoln the packed audience began exiting in an overly courteous and orderly manner. It was eerie. It felt like we were playing a formally dressed audience leaving an opera house after a beautiful ceremony. But it wasn't until I was walking up to my car that I remembered we had come for a movie. I remembered being excited about the movie. I remember 30 minutes of horrendous previews. I remember the opening credits and the low murmurings of the Chicago Symphony's brass section improvising Aaron Copland riffs. I remember Abraham Lincoln telling me to relax ... relax ... count backwards from ten ... then the feeling that I'm floating somewhere above the mid 19th Century. James Spader floats by eating crabs, and then David Strathairn in a Chinese robe. In the parking lot I have a faint feeling that I had just enjoyed myself. I think I ate a piece of hard candy Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
theofficeNov 21, 2012
A drama movie laden with history and political theater. The pacing starts off a little slow but picks up nicely at the end. I will admit it was hard to understand all the references at times but the movie does a great job of keeping youA drama movie laden with history and political theater. The pacing starts off a little slow but picks up nicely at the end. I will admit it was hard to understand all the references at times but the movie does a great job of keeping you engrossed in the time period. I highly suggest you read about the history of the 13th amendment to understand the film better as I think you'll get more enjoyment from it. I will watch this again for sure. Turned out to be pretty powerful. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TheMovieCriticDec 30, 2012
A superb movie with great acting by Daniel Day Lewis, this is a movie worth seeing. Even though at times the dialogue is pretty heavy, and seems to go on and on, the story is well told, and it's a movie you wouldn't be disappointed with.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
dante_finnNov 17, 2012
Steven Spielberg's movie made a huge impression in theators. With a blazing $85,846. The movie has such a great cast. This is what a biography film should be like.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
CBNNov 21, 2012
Day-Lewis proves once again he is the best actor of his generation. Spielberg's touch and mastery are all over the film, yet a bit hard to follow at time with the onslaught of new characters and dialogue. Overall, a wonderful movie experience.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
natmazzNov 28, 2012
Honestly one of the best movies I have seen in a long time! Spielberg did a wonderful job on this piece. The acting and the costumes to the filming locations were perfect. The chemistry between Daniel Day Lewis and Sally Fields was epic. A must see!!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Speaking247Dec 20, 2012
I braced for a poor historical account with over-direction from Spielberg and over-acting by Daniel Day-Lewis. Spielberg masterfully manages Tony Kushner's dialogue-heavy script in a thrilling way I have not seen since "All the President'sI braced for a poor historical account with over-direction from Spielberg and over-acting by Daniel Day-Lewis. Spielberg masterfully manages Tony Kushner's dialogue-heavy script in a thrilling way I have not seen since "All the President's Men." Kushner could have been preachy or melodramatic; his script is riveting. Best of all, Daniel Day-Lewis inhabits Lincoln the way Daniel Craig fits into a James Bond tux. This film is dazzling - a wonderful theater-going experience. Congrats to everyone involved with this production. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
storyhobbitJan 15, 2013
Daniel Day Lewis is a perfectly cut glittering diamond in this beautifully crafted setting. Spielberg has renewed my trust in him, since this is easily the best film he's made since Saving Private Ryan.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
natashJan 3, 2013
I like the movie. Maybe, because I am too spoiled with action movies, this one seems slow, almost like a reading book. I found the structure to be interesting, - arguments over a passing 13 amendment has almost took entire movie, buildingI like the movie. Maybe, because I am too spoiled with action movies, this one seems slow, almost like a reading book. I found the structure to be interesting, - arguments over a passing 13 amendment has almost took entire movie, building the culmination bust in the end. The characters were deep and passionate. Overall good movie. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
nirishan9Jan 10, 2013
Very, very well made, and great acting. Great movie. At some times, can seem melodramatic, but all in all, it's a great film. Daniel Day Lewis delivers Lincoln expertly.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
aldebaran937Jan 24, 2013
On some level I can relate to comments about the slow pace of the movie, especially in the beginning. I agree that the pace was slower than I expected, but it was not too slow. It was perhaps the appropriate pace to gather in the facets thatOn some level I can relate to comments about the slow pace of the movie, especially in the beginning. I agree that the pace was slower than I expected, but it was not too slow. It was perhaps the appropriate pace to gather in the facets that were needed to relate the urgency and polarization of that time. There are plenty of scenes to make the blood race, not because of battles or other action sequences, but because of the opposing views that were being spewed out with such venom. To see a president in the midst of such turmoil, apart from the battlefields of which we have all seen and read plenty of documentaries and dramatizations, was riveting. On this side of the historical time line, we can look back, knowing that the 13th Amendment was passed. Yet this movie was able to take me to a place where I experienced how impossible it seemed then, and to experience the relief, even more than triumph, that the feat was accomplished. The film's deft script and inspired acting showed what a delicate tightrope the President had to walk to make this happen and how very close it came to failing. Then the war would have ended, and the states remain united, but the slavery issue would have remained unresolved.
That Daniel Day-Lewis took the time needed to wait on the "voice" of Lincoln to grow within him and come forth from him with such an impact of authenticity is one of the things that moved and impressed me the most about LINCOLN. David Strathaim and Sally Field also gave powerful and eloquent performances, as well as several others, but my favorite supporting actor was Tommy Lee Jones. His Thaddeus Stevens lumbered about with a pronounced limp from a childhood bout with polio, providing a much needed counter-point to the congressional members who venomously opposed the passing of the 13th Amendment. Their loud, jeering racial put-downs sound shocking today but are revealed to have been perceived as reasonable and accepted to many in the North at that time. Jones' delivery of Stevens' rejoinders helped to balance out the harshness of the prejudices of that time, giving us some space to laugh with him at their narrow-minded stupidity. At the same time it is sobering to think Stevens" views would have been considered the radical ones to many of that day.
I highly recommend this film as an opportunity to connect with a moment in history and experience the people and happenings of that time come to life. I have not seen a film that has done this better.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
BreakingBradJan 24, 2013
Lincoln is an extraordinary picture that takes us into the world of politics as we have never seen it before, and Spielberg shows that he still is one of the greatest directors in the history of cinema, and that Daniel Day-Lewis is one of theLincoln is an extraordinary picture that takes us into the world of politics as we have never seen it before, and Spielberg shows that he still is one of the greatest directors in the history of cinema, and that Daniel Day-Lewis is one of the finest actors of all-time. Steven Spielberg has always been my favorite director, his films such as Schindler's List and E.T. The Extra-Terrestrial are one of the main reasons that I fell in love with movies in the first place. He has been planning to make this movie for a very long time, and now that it Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
RefinedIronFeb 2, 2013
When you leave cinema after seeing this film you will be inspired by it. Yes it's that good. Now you probably want me to explain that. Firstly "Lincoln" was directed by Steven Spielberg. Whit that said you know what to expect, and he's notWhen you leave cinema after seeing this film you will be inspired by it. Yes it's that good. Now you probably want me to explain that. Firstly "Lincoln" was directed by Steven Spielberg. Whit that said you know what to expect, and he's not the only great name among the cast. It features Daniel Day-Lewis as Lincoln, Tommy Lee Jones, Joseph Gordon-Levitt James Spader, and many more. The list is just full of experts. Script is well written, acting is top notch, and every scene fits perfectly. I especially love speeches in this movie. They are well written and define personalities of characters. The thing i loved the most is Lincoln himself. In this film he's shown as a real person with problems and emotions, and they did tat brilliantly. Some people think that "Lincoln" is too slow. And maybe some scenes are dragged out a little, but they should be. Every word and shot in this film matters. It defines characters and it's important for plot. It's a political movie so some people might be bored. You'll need too bi in the mood for watching this film. With all that sad I cant find single objective fault, well i think i saw a bald cap on Tommy Lee Jones in one scene but i'm not even shore. If you like history, drama, politics or fun you will like "Lincoln" Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
MavisGary610Apr 16, 2013
The big problem with Lincoln is that it's a performance, and not a movie. Daniel Day Lewis is excellent, as always, and looks and sounds just like the man himself, but the film is self-indulgent and pays attention too heavily to Lincoln'sThe big problem with Lincoln is that it's a performance, and not a movie. Daniel Day Lewis is excellent, as always, and looks and sounds just like the man himself, but the film is self-indulgent and pays attention too heavily to Lincoln's abolishing slavery, when there were many more interesting times in this man's life. Sally Field is wasted, in my opinion, having less than 15 minutes of screen-time. Tommy Lee Jones is great, but he too isn't given enough time to have an interesting story. I wanted to like this film more than I did. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
lukechristianscApr 11, 2014
Director/producer Steven Steilberg has great movies made everyday . his project on Lincoln is okay i guess
History is okay but its gets me tired . Stielbergs films are great but this one way 60 % enjoyable . Grade B
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
0
johnnybegudJan 18, 2015
Not being American and familiar with the story I found this incomprehensible. It does not even seem to be a particularly momentus time in history. Its not as if the Americans were the first to ban slavery !!
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
cameronmorewoodNov 20, 2012
The ingenuity of the script in impeccable. Never has a film payed such careful attention to the details of politics. Yet even through all the detail, and all the material covered, Speilberg's Lincoln is compulsively watchable. The result is aThe ingenuity of the script in impeccable. Never has a film payed such careful attention to the details of politics. Yet even through all the detail, and all the material covered, Speilberg's Lincoln is compulsively watchable. The result is a great American movie. Expand
4 of 9 users found this helpful45
All this user's reviews
3
foundationcitizNov 27, 2012
If you look at many of the good reviews, you will see the problem, in my mind, with this movie. It is a bit too slow, too monotone, and simply too stuffy. There could have been so much more color and life. I think we should have seenIf you look at many of the good reviews, you will see the problem, in my mind, with this movie. It is a bit too slow, too monotone, and simply too stuffy. There could have been so much more color and life. I think we should have seen different perspectives, such as from the angle of a simple working person and from the angle of the south. The movie leaves out Lincoln's great speeches, making only brief references. The movie leaves out the assassination, and what we know about who did it and why. The real death blow to the movie, for me, was the lack of vigor in why and what they were fighting for. After all, huge numbers of americans died. So, for me the movie was a dud. I think a lot of people are caught up in the moment. By the way, the supporting acting was GREAT, and I would give an award to Sally Fields. Expand
8 of 20 users found this helpful812
All this user's reviews
0
mrmonsterApr 23, 2013
This is Steven Spielberg's worst movie. It is boring, it has no action, it has no suspense, it has no story, it really has nothing. It was just one VERY long story of Lincoln's last few months, which are not very exciting at all. A HistoryThis is Steven Spielberg's worst movie. It is boring, it has no action, it has no suspense, it has no story, it really has nothing. It was just one VERY long story of Lincoln's last few months, which are not very exciting at all. A History Channel documentary on Lincoln would have been 10 times better. Trust me, halfway through this movie, you will want to see Lincoln assassinated. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
4
OroiaelNov 22, 2012
If you want a constant reminder of how Spielberg voted in the last election, then watch this movie. Otherwise, read a solid biography on Lincoln. Spielberg's movie making is about as subtle as a five year-old screaming for candy in your ear.If you want a constant reminder of how Spielberg voted in the last election, then watch this movie. Otherwise, read a solid biography on Lincoln. Spielberg's movie making is about as subtle as a five year-old screaming for candy in your ear. Most of the movie feels wooden and plastic, if that is even possible. On the up side, it is a movie about Lincoln, so there is a fair amount of feel-good American jingoism. Expand
2 of 5 users found this helpful23
All this user's reviews
1
BartNov 23, 2012
In this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a trainIn this movie Spielberg does to history what John Wilkes Booth did to Lincoln. Everyone knows how Spielberg voted, but just in case you were wondering, see this film. Slow and plodding at best, and for those who like history, it is a train wreck. DDL does a great performance, but Spielberg's politically motivated style kills what could have been a good film, and does a great disservice to a great man. While they got DDL spot on casting wise for Lincoln, did the casting people ever look at a picture of Mary Todd Lincoln? Pass this movie by and take the time to read a good book on Lincoln, you will be better off. Saying this movie is based on historical events is like saying Twilight is a documentary. Expand
6 of 16 users found this helpful610
All this user's reviews
2
csw12Jan 9, 2013
Lincoln is deprived of emotion, comedy, action and music that makes a film come alive. Even with a interesting time in our history the movie is a total bore with a pace unimaginably slow. It tries to come alive in the end but with a rushedLincoln is deprived of emotion, comedy, action and music that makes a film come alive. Even with a interesting time in our history the movie is a total bore with a pace unimaginably slow. It tries to come alive in the end but with a rushed ending the movie falls apart. A disgraceful film by Spielberg. Expand
3 of 9 users found this helpful36
All this user's reviews
2
ScottishSchemieJan 14, 2013
I am very surprised to see such praise for this film.It is not only too long,but its turgid pace which drags relentlessly make it it appear even longer.Spielberg appears to have thrown away the magic template.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
9
Wes_BrewerJan 20, 2013
Lincoln is unquestionably one of Hollywood's top three films of 2013; Spielberg's direction and Day-Lewis' performance are more than just noteworthy. This is an effective and fairly displayed period piece that can only be criticized for itLincoln is unquestionably one of Hollywood's top three films of 2013; Spielberg's direction and Day-Lewis' performance are more than just noteworthy. This is an effective and fairly displayed period piece that can only be criticized for it accurate display of a slower time and its artistry prevents any other negative honesty. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
4
ExKingDec 18, 2013
i don't normally criticize Steven Spielberg work but this one is actually boring.
extremely long two and a half hour filled with dark contents with noting to be excited about,
i was so bored watching this movie that i don't know if there
i don't normally criticize Steven Spielberg work but this one is actually boring.
extremely long two and a half hour filled with dark contents with noting to be excited about,
i was so bored watching this movie that i don't know if there was a solid story or not, and the entire movie is based on the main character just like "there will be blood" which means that all the secondary characters are absolutely useless which is kinda a shame given that Joseph Gordon-Levitt and Hal Holbrook starred in this movie, and i do get that this is a historical story and all but how about spice it a little, give us something to enjoy.
Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
NicozandbergJun 23, 2013
I am not an American and don't now much about their history. This was a huge disappointment. Tedious and long winding. If you don't care for the intricacies of politics, don't waste your time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
5
GreatMartinNov 16, 2012
Daniel Day-Lewis IS Abraham Lincoln in Steven Spielberg
3 of 10 users found this helpful37
All this user's reviews
4
wvmoviefanDec 5, 2012
Too political and too talkative! Stellar performances elevate this film and make it appear much better than it is. It's typical Spielberg......history as he wants us to remember it.....all the characters are literally black or white. EvenToo political and too talkative! Stellar performances elevate this film and make it appear much better than it is. It's typical Spielberg......history as he wants us to remember it.....all the characters are literally black or white. Even the "lobbyists" are good despite devious methods used because they're on the right side. Smacks of Spielberg's earlier work Amistad where he didn't acknowledge that slavery began with people being captured and sold by members of their own race. The only real moments of connection are made in scenes with Sally Field and Lincoln's interactions with his older son. The opening scene gives us a compass as to where we're headed....these "real" soldiers can remember the Gettysburg address word for word after hearing it once? reading it where? having time to memorize it when? Even those of us who were around in the Kennedy years are forturnate to remember one, maybe two lines of a famous speech. Spielberg needs to leave history alone if he's not really interested in giving us the true picture. Expand
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
2
Trev29Jan 9, 2013
No academy award winning directors or actors could save this tediously long debacle of a film. This movie seemed longer than the Civil War. It is neither engaging, entertaining, or thought provoking. Completely overrated.
2 of 8 users found this helpful26
All this user's reviews
0
MikefromAngusApr 1, 2013
I love movies, that, make you think and get you sucked into that world. This movie had none of that.
I found this movie, extermely boring. So much pointless talking, all they do is talk. total bore of a movie.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
MomonNov 26, 2012
Not so great movie.i really thought it was and awesome movie. turns out it really a shallow movie. but i must commend on the story of Abraham Lincoln. it was nice and appropriate story of putting down the axe and using the words andNot so great movie.i really thought it was and awesome movie. turns out it really a shallow movie. but i must commend on the story of Abraham Lincoln. it was nice and appropriate story of putting down the axe and using the words and politics. a lot of better movies out there. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
zedzdedJan 15, 2013
I have to say this was an incredibly dull movie. If you're not american, you'll be scratching your head in bafflement about why there was a need to create a whole movie about a bunch of senators trying to wrangle votes for a bill. The sortI have to say this was an incredibly dull movie. If you're not american, you'll be scratching your head in bafflement about why there was a need to create a whole movie about a bunch of senators trying to wrangle votes for a bill. The sort of stuff you'd avoid on TV nowadays even if you're interested in politics.

From the very first few moments of this banal platitude of a snoozefest, Lincoln is portrayed as some sort of angelic benevolent grandfather who can do no wrong. A bunch of soldiers appear at the base of his pedestal where he is bathed in a glorifying halo and recite verbatim a speech that he gave at some pivotal historical moment. The awe and respect from the soldiers is painful, one dimensional and almost insulting.

So the tone is set. Lincoln is a hero from the outset, a glorified angel, a beatific beaming wise one. Where was the man? The depressed, racist, that is the reality of who he was? There's not a glimpse of it here.

Add to that, the non stop speaking. It's incessant dialogue and not very good dialogue at that. Just because someone speaks fast doesn't make it clever or interesting or persuasive. I can't figure out why Day - Lewis would be involved in this turd. Is he desperate for an Oscar? Because everyone in this movie telegraphed from afar 'Watch this, this is my Oscar moment' I nearly gagged at Sally Field's first scene where she emoted sentimentally claiming she understood the significance of a dream claiming it was to do with a senate bill. She nearly wept. I have to say the cinematography wasn't very interesting either and the lighting was poor at some moments especially outdoor scenes where it was especially weak. And the hackneyed battle scene at the start? Forget about it, I wish I could unsee it.

Turgid, Turgid, Turgid, avoid, avoid, avoid!
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
1
bobbeeDec 21, 2012
This film is a total bore. I had to force myself to sit in my seat for the length of this almost endless movie and left the theater with a pressure on my head. Steven Spielberg just can't handle heavy drama as was proven with "Amistad," "WarThis film is a total bore. I had to force myself to sit in my seat for the length of this almost endless movie and left the theater with a pressure on my head. Steven Spielberg just can't handle heavy drama as was proven with "Amistad," "War Horse," and to some degree "Munich.". His pace is so slow in "Lincoln" that it's maddening. Even Daniel Day Lewis can't save this film. I don't believe that a docudrama has to be boring and slow in order to be a good one. It's the director's role to make his film come to life even if we know how it ends. This film is truly underwhelming. Tony Kushner's script is overpraised, as well as John Williams unimpressive score. There is so much talent in this film that just doesn't even come close to reaching its full potential. As I left the theater I said to a friend of mine, "If you ever want to torture me, force me to sit through that film again." Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
Pelen23Jul 19, 2014
The film should be retitled as " Lincoln in Darkness" since our eyes were crying out for a tiny big of light to see lincoln as Daniel Day Lewis's face was in half darkness throughout the film even though we were able to the other starsThe film should be retitled as " Lincoln in Darkness" since our eyes were crying out for a tiny big of light to see lincoln as Daniel Day Lewis's face was in half darkness throughout the film even though we were able to the other stars clearly. Day - Lewis's performance did nothing for me as he was actin in darkness to disguise his heavy make up though Sally Field has still got it. She was excellent. The film is so slow and uninteresting even the last half an hour of the film couldn't save it. We never see lincoln making a public speech in the entire film but Mr Spielberg puts a public speech scene soon after the Lincoln death scene. Give me a bucket because I will throw up. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
10
NazguleroMar 15, 2013
There is no way this movie did not win 'Best Picture' at the Academy awards. Truly fascinating It kept me glued to the screen. Congratulations to everyone involved here to make such a masterpiece. Daniel Day Lewis is truly an exceptional actor.
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
0
SHANKROIDFeb 16, 2013
If there was ever a movie that WASN'T what it said on the tin, this is it. It kicks off with yer man from My Left Foot, here with a funny hat and beard for whatever reason, sitting about drinking tea and telling stories. This goes on forIf there was ever a movie that WASN'T what it said on the tin, this is it. It kicks off with yer man from My Left Foot, here with a funny hat and beard for whatever reason, sitting about drinking tea and telling stories. This goes on for quite a bit. Dunno what he was saying. I don't think the other characters were even listening. Half an hour in and still no sign of the vampires, so I fast forwarded a bit (don't ask me how I did this in the cinema). Watched another scene. Tommy Lee Jones out of off of US Marshals pops up with a silly wig. Still no action. Fast forwarded again and the end credits were rolling. Maybe I skipped past the vampire scenes. And this is supposed to win Oscars? Pfft... Expand
2 of 16 users found this helpful214
All this user's reviews
7
TyranianSep 15, 2019
One of Spielberg's strongest recent films with good acting, writing, music and visuals.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
heyitsmegrif4Apr 2, 2013
Daniel Day-Lewis does a fantastic mjob undeniably. However, I was bored with the repetition of dialogue, the length of the film, and the consistent dark lighting. It is great on performance and technical level for the most part but when itDaniel Day-Lewis does a fantastic mjob undeniably. However, I was bored with the repetition of dialogue, the length of the film, and the consistent dark lighting. It is great on performance and technical level for the most part but when it comes to other thing sit is far from good. I give this film 48%. Spieberg disappoints two years in a row for me. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
4
EdeltraudDec 24, 2012
I fell asleep three times the tone is so monotonous.Old Honest Abe was a wily fellow and in fact Old "technically" Honest Abe. Sally Field is believable and has some life in her performance. Speillie should have developed the Tommy Lee JonesI fell asleep three times the tone is so monotonous.Old Honest Abe was a wily fellow and in fact Old "technically" Honest Abe. Sally Field is believable and has some life in her performance. Speillie should have developed the Tommy Lee Jones "surprise" story throughout the script...this would have added tension and another layer of humanity. Same with the Bobby story...there's no real insight into that relationship. So instead there's just politics is like making sausage, only more boring. There was no point in ending with the "Titanic sinking" - that was pandering to our scant knowlege and added nothing to the film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
Apemonkey666Mar 31, 2013
Daniel Day-Lewis outperforms himself again this time as Lincoln. The film focuses heavily on Amendment 13 which gets rid of slavery but serves mainly as a device to end the war. There's endless political blabbering (well written mind you)Daniel Day-Lewis outperforms himself again this time as Lincoln. The film focuses heavily on Amendment 13 which gets rid of slavery but serves mainly as a device to end the war. There's endless political blabbering (well written mind you) concerning the passing of this amendment and the behind-the-scenes mechanics of it. You'll get some insight into Lincoln's personal life but unexpectedly he's portrayed as a man who kicks ass for goodness, a veritable saint. As much as I enjoyed this well made film I couldn't help but think that this was a product of the Americans obsession with their own culture and history, and for me as a European it just doesn't seem all that important. We know all how it turned out in the end, didn't we Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
DudefromTulsaDec 25, 2012
If you are a southern apologist who lives in the delusion they were fighting for anything other than slavery, you will hate this film. It puts the historical cards on the table and shows the south's refusal to give up on a war that wasIf you are a southern apologist who lives in the delusion they were fighting for anything other than slavery, you will hate this film. It puts the historical cards on the table and shows the south's refusal to give up on a war that was already lost because they would not agree to end slavery. Plain and simple, they were fighting for that reason and no other. If you prefer anachronistic dialogue, with persons from history sounding like NYC cab drivers, you will hate this film. Kushner's script follows the best recollections of those who were present. With the forgivable exception of allowing the change of "Now he belongs to the angels." to become the far better "Now he belongs to the ages." If you want to see CGI recreations of Gettysburg and Antietam, you're in the wrong theater. This film is about Lincoln and his growing conviction that the war was never just about preserving the union. That his fate was to be the man who led this country to the end of slavery. Seen for what it is, that often the hand of God moves history with the least likely vessels, a prophet with a speech impediment, a carpenter's son born in poverty or that a man who had failed at nearly everything, whose family life was coming unhinged, should lead a reluctant, spiteful nation to end the babrbarism of slavery, this film is a triumph. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
ClayMerrittJan 26, 2013
The history in this film was such an amazing view on the world in the civil war era. It really captured the struggle it took for Lincoln to get the slavery bill passed. This will probably go down as the greatest Lincoln film to ever beThe history in this film was such an amazing view on the world in the civil war era. It really captured the struggle it took for Lincoln to get the slavery bill passed. This will probably go down as the greatest Lincoln film to ever be produced. Spielberg couldn't have picked a better Lincoln than Daniel Day Lewis. Lewis really let Lincoln consume him because he perfected the man that was Abraham Lincoln. What made me not give this movie a 9 was the ending. The ending was purely a let down. It would have been nice to see Lincoln get assassinated, and I know that sounds hateful in a way, but that is my only criticism. Many Lincoln movies have been made and they never show Lincoln getting shot in the back of the head. Capturing that part in the movie would have been pivotal in such an already great movie. Close the book! Show the assassination. I just hope this movie ends the infatuation of Abraham Lincoln. Nobody could have made this movie better than Stephen Spielberg. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Dec 16, 2012
Perfect acting, lavish dialogue, and a surprising amount of affecting images elevate "Lincoln" to the noble heights historical dramas can reach - a film that can both entertain and enlighten.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
2
KOTCBJan 19, 2013
Spielberg does C-SPAN and, all things being equal, I'll take 3 hours of Brian Lamb over this schmaltzy, simplified hagiography any day. Wonderful performance by DDL, as usual, but the script should have been dispatched in a Ford's theaterSpielberg does C-SPAN and, all things being equal, I'll take 3 hours of Brian Lamb over this schmaltzy, simplified hagiography any day. Wonderful performance by DDL, as usual, but the script should have been dispatched in a Ford's theater (where is belongs) with a very short run. What a waste of time, money and talent - sort of like the civil war - with so little to show for it. This movie was obviously created for the "low information voter" but even they deserve a better effort from the biggest director in Hollywood. Very disappointing and discouraging - I CAN NOT BELIEVE how many positive reviews this film has received. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
MovieGuysSep 16, 2013
Oh, what a movie. Spielberg is back to his old tricks to making good movies. Lincoln is a character study, as well as featuring an authentic, true performance by Daniel Day-Lewis hat seals us away and shows off his acting talents. He getsOh, what a movie. Spielberg is back to his old tricks to making good movies. Lincoln is a character study, as well as featuring an authentic, true performance by Daniel Day-Lewis hat seals us away and shows off his acting talents. He gets everything about Lincoln's disposition down to a tee, beard and all. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MrBlackTronJul 28, 2014
Tarihsel gerçekliğe lafım yok o dönemi iyi yansıtıyor oyuncu, yönetmen hatta müzikler çok iyi fakat bir filmi izlerken bu kadar sıkıldığımı az hatırlıyorum.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
MrMovieBuffMar 13, 2015
'Lincoln' is Steven Spielberg's best historical movie since 'Schindler's List' (1993) and 'Saving Private Ryan' (1998). What he has made here is a great, important and poignant drama with Daniel Day-Lewis in one of his best performances to'Lincoln' is Steven Spielberg's best historical movie since 'Schindler's List' (1993) and 'Saving Private Ryan' (1998). What he has made here is a great, important and poignant drama with Daniel Day-Lewis in one of his best performances to date, he gives us an in-depth look at a man who had to make difficult decisions to change America.

'Lincoln' may not go down as the most entertaining movie there is, but I was completely immersed and it led me to having one of the best movie-going experiences I've ever had, you forget that it's Daniel Day-Lewis and you think that's Abraham Lincoln right there. Almost as if Spielberg invented a time machine and took us back in time to see Lincoln and how he managed to abolish slavery.

Definitely worth the Oscars that it won and Sally Field and Tommy Lee Jones were also wonderful in their roles as Mary Todd Lincoln and Thaddeus Stevens.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
AngusBarbudezAug 26, 2016
"Como conseguir el oscar facilmente sin hacer mucho esfuerzo por Steven Spielberg"

1- Pones "Steven Spielberg" en la pelicula 2- Cogemos el modelo de guión -"Ganar Oscar modelo 001232"-, del archivador 3-Contratar a un reparto y que
"Como conseguir el oscar facilmente sin hacer mucho esfuerzo por Steven Spielberg"

1- Pones "Steven Spielberg" en la pelicula
2- Cogemos el modelo de guión -"Ganar Oscar modelo 001232"-, del archivador
3-Contratar a un reparto y que suelten discursos ñoños y solemnes que rocen la vergüenza ajena
4-Protagonista caracterizado casi rozando la deformación total del actor y que sobreactue y haga el subnormal lo recargue con actitudes extrañas como lo hizo en la última película que ganó con ella, el Oscar.

Esto sería resumidamente lo que es Lincoln, la última turulez infantil del señor Spielberg. Es lamentable que este señor , que precisamente no es un mindundi en el cine, haya hecho solemne acto de estupidez donde resalta quizás lo peor de él. Aun flipo que esto haya ganado 2 putos Oscars y encima a mejor actor.

¿Por donde empiezo?, la película no se si considerarla un biopic, ya que como tal no es, simplemente la película está contando un hecho crucial y critico de la historia de Estados Unidos, que fue la aprobación de la 13º enmienda, que es la abolición de la esclavitud, de la que Abraham Lincoln fue artífice y de como consigue los apoyos, mientras debe conseguir la paz tras 4 años de Guerra Civil. No cuenta tanto sobre la vida de este señor, ni como consigue ganar las elecciones, o su vida anterior como cazador de vampiro...digo de su vida como abogado.

El gran problema de la película, es que es una película de Spielberg con sus taras potenciadas a cotas que rozan la ñoñería y la mamarrachez, omites desgraciadamente la sobresaliente factura técnica y algunas escenas dirigidas de manera soberbia, (no nos olvidemos que este señor es un buen director) porque tenemos a algunos personajes que se comportan de maneras anómalas como si estuviesen actuando en una obra de Shakespeare o de Lope de Vega, donde les vemos recitando una prosa rematadamente recargada, que te hace pensar dos cosas, o que el señor Spielberg tiene demasiado mitificado a Lincoln o directamente quiere hacernos creer que Abraham Lincoln se creía el mismo que era "un personaje histórico", la escena de la discusión con la mujer es simplemente ridícula, de lo patética que le queda, con esa verborrea tan forzada (luego entrare en detalle con el protagonista y algunos del reparto, que tiene miga), después vemos como muchos actores de la película, se dedican a soltar discursos moñas, moralina de parvulario con intentos de pasar a la posteridad, por supuesto aderezada con una musiquilla acorde, para que quede mas serio y solemne y no parezca una parodia, da la sensación que Spielberg recicló diálogos o añadió diálogos desechados de "Amistad".

Algo hiriente y doloroso que tiene esta película es la manipulación histórica y moral de Spielberg para con Lincoln, todos los personajes están totalmente extremizados, es decir, o son MUY buenos o MUY malos, donde los actos de los buenos se perdonan o se justifican, y el presidente cercano, campechano, pero las cosas malas o corruptas... ¡no son para tanto hombre!, por ejemplo lo de conseguir los 20 senadores que voten si a la enmienda ¡¡¡SOBORNANDOLOS CON TRABAJOS BIEN PAGADOS!!! O ¡EL PRESIDENTE COMETIENDO PERJURIO ANTE LA CÁMARA DEL SENADO!, encima Spielberg lo vende como que lo ha hecho bien, éticamente correcto. Ya sabemos a quien no hay que venderle la historia de Bárcenas o la de los ERES de Andalucía, para que haga una película.

Retomando al personaje de Lincoln, es el mas perjudicado de todo, Daniel Day Lewis ha descubierto como conseguir el Oscar: llenarse de látex y pelucas hasta quedar irreconocible o hacer el anormal, por si acaso, el hace las 2 cosas a la vez. Lewis nos vende a un "Abuelo Cebolleta" que en los momentos mas tensos o de gravedad te cuenta una anécdota chorra, sin venir a cuento o momentos de ridículo donde vemos a un señor de 45 años haciendo a un señor de 55 años comportándose como un señor de 70 años senil y diciendo frases chorras con "profundidad", pero claro Spielberg no se queda ahí, dejándole a Lewis la libertad total de interpretar a su personaje favorito, sino que además lo vende como un señor campechano, padre que tiene ojos para su hijo menor, y sobreprotector con el primogénito, para que no muera en la guerra y su mujer se vuelva loca total.

Conclusión, vergonzosa, ridícula, ñoña, infantil, una película i
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
JPKJul 8, 2019
Absolutely Fantastic
Lincoln is a terrific depiction of the life of Abraham Lincoln.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
merijnjFeb 21, 2018
(89/100)
Steven Spielberg never dissapoints. Dialogue was sometimes like watching a theatre play but that isn't necessarily a bad thing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MahmusAug 22, 2019
A brilliantly acted period piece. Daniel Day Lweis, as usual, completely disappears into the role.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
smijatovJan 16, 2013
I do not know what it is, but "Lincoln" just did not quite do it for me. I felt bored throughout, except of the actual voting (possibly because I am not American and know very little of this history, so I was not sure whether it passed orI do not know what it is, but "Lincoln" just did not quite do it for me. I felt bored throughout, except of the actual voting (possibly because I am not American and know very little of this history, so I was not sure whether it passed or not), and kept on dozing off every once in a while. However, Lincoln is not all bad. The cast is superb, and Daniel Day-Lewis, yet again, performs his magic to quite an amazing result. Sally Field is also excellent, as are the supporting actors, led by Spader and Strathairn. Honestly, nothing bad can be said of the cast. The art design and costumes were very well done, as was the cinematography. Technically overall the film looks good. But the issue is with the script. It was just not so engaging. I am a sucker for drama, and a sucker for history (I got a degree in it!) but this was just not very entertainingly done. And mind you, I was thoroughly entertained and enjoyed "The Hours," arguably one of the most depressing films in the past decade. "Lincoln" just does not do it for me. This may be my least favourite Spielberg film, which doesn't mean it's bad. It's a good film, just a bit boring. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
LynDec 30, 2012
"Team of Rivals" was totally engrossing, but somehow this excellent production does not quite capture the complex, conflicted personalities of Lincoln's cohorts. Daniel Day-Lewis is, of course, amazing, but his wit & wisdom here often match"Team of Rivals" was totally engrossing, but somehow this excellent production does not quite capture the complex, conflicted personalities of Lincoln's cohorts. Daniel Day-Lewis is, of course, amazing, but his wit & wisdom here often match the overall preachy tone of the film. (Is DDL ever going to be sexy again, as he was in "The Unbearable Lightness of Being"???) It's fun to catch so many great character actors, though everyone in the movie has kind of a dark and gritty look -- like they just came back from working in an Appalachian coal mine. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
DMWillJul 14, 2013
I really don't think anyone really needs any kind of lengthy review of this movie at this point. You know what it's about, or at least you should.

Exceptional acting from the entire cast; a very well written script and great directing.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JacobMar 30, 2013
So overall I liked Lincoln and found it interesting. I liked the characters especially Daniel Day Lewis as Lincoln. I found the story somewhat interesting. Having said that a lot of my interest comes from my interest in history. I feel likeSo overall I liked Lincoln and found it interesting. I liked the characters especially Daniel Day Lewis as Lincoln. I found the story somewhat interesting. Having said that a lot of my interest comes from my interest in history. I feel like if you aren’t into history or politics and you really don’t like dialogue heavy movies you really aren’t going ot get into this film. And even I am going to admit that yeah this film did not really hold my interest and that if it weren’t for the critical praise I’d give this film an eh rating. But because of critical praise and my interest in history I’m seeing this movie in a somewhat positive light. If you like history, you like politics, and you like Lincoln your probably like the movie Lincoln ok but just like it ok. Not as overrated as Argo but still kind of overrated. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
gunnyartNov 26, 2012
I'd give it a ten except I am not a Lincoln scholar and can't attest to the historical accuracy. I was moved. There hasn't been a movie about a floor fight in congress since Mr. Smith Goes to Washington that is so engaging and compelling.I'd give it a ten except I am not a Lincoln scholar and can't attest to the historical accuracy. I was moved. There hasn't been a movie about a floor fight in congress since Mr. Smith Goes to Washington that is so engaging and compelling. And to top it off everyone knew how this one was going to end before they stepped into the theater and yet it was riveting. Being a political ideologue myself I left the movie feeling ashamed of myself for my personal intransigence. I have always believed political compromise was a sign of weakness. Shelby Foote in Ken Burns "Civil War" makes the statement that the "genius of the American political system was for compromise and it utterly failed." Post election 2012 we are a divided country again but this time we had better learn to compromise for the good of the country and posterity. The sky is not falling and this country has endured far darker days. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JamesLNov 29, 2012
This is the best movie I have seen so far this year. It was entertaining, thoughtful, intellectual, and informative. When I got home, I looked up so many historical issues that the film brought to my attention. I really liked the acting asThis is the best movie I have seen so far this year. It was entertaining, thoughtful, intellectual, and informative. When I got home, I looked up so many historical issues that the film brought to my attention. I really liked the acting as well and the fact that the characters were developed. It would have been so easy to have just resorted to battlefield scenes and blood to make your point. It was well timed as well since so many of the arguments were similar to what I had just heard in our election. Well worth the time and investment! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
BikerjamesDec 17, 2012
At first Daniel Day-Lewis's performance came across as a caricature, but after about 15 minutes he won me over completely. A fascinating look at the political process of the time, some of which is still relevant today. Well written andAt first Daniel Day-Lewis's performance came across as a caricature, but after about 15 minutes he won me over completely. A fascinating look at the political process of the time, some of which is still relevant today. Well written and acted with great supporting roles, it never bored me. They use some of the dialect of the time so I didn't always understand what was said, but it isn't hard to follow. Tommy Lee Jones was great as usual. I'm sure there will be lots of buzz at Oscar time. The best Spielberg movie in a long time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ScrawnyPunkApr 9, 2013
Not exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerfulNot exactly a "must-watch" on the level of Schindler's list, but Spielberg manages to bring topical relevance to a historical subject, while making it an engaging view. You can switch the topic and the characters, and it is still a powerful study of human behavior what kind of man does it take to make a difficult decision, against all practical odds, with little-to-no support, while balancing "right" against "expedience" over the long term? As with all Spielberg movies, it is well-written, well-filmed, and well-acted (with the exception of Sally Fields, whom I found to be over the top in a needless way).

This should be watched by our high school students perhaps this will bring some life to a number of subjects they find boring (e.g. government, politics, parliamentary procedure, compromise, ethics, etc.).
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
podunk411Nov 28, 2012
Reminded me of Sorkin's West Wing, except better written and set in the Lincoln White House. As others have mentioned, this is an intimate look at Lincoln's struggle (indeed, our nations struggle) to get the 13th Amendment passed. DefinitelyReminded me of Sorkin's West Wing, except better written and set in the Lincoln White House. As others have mentioned, this is an intimate look at Lincoln's struggle (indeed, our nations struggle) to get the 13th Amendment passed. Definitely a movie for political junkies and history buffs, with some stellar acting by Daniel Day Lewis and a great (and large!) cast of a supporting actors. I didn't realize how long the film was--truly enjoyed it all the way through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
TokyochuchuOct 14, 2013
Lincoln is a great historical political film from Spielberg. Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect as Lincoln (when is he not perfect?) and the acting throughout is excellent. That said, there are a few niggles. The prime one being that Lincoln'sLincoln is a great historical political film from Spielberg. Day-Lewis is absolutely perfect as Lincoln (when is he not perfect?) and the acting throughout is excellent. That said, there are a few niggles. The prime one being that Lincoln's death is not really gone into. I understand the artistic reasons for going in that direction, but it's still disappointing to be deprived of such a famous and dramatic moment in history. Otherwise, it's a great slice of film-making. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
David_HFeb 4, 2013
Fairly useful and brute force historical depiction of the civil war. it shows how even back in the 1800s, the U.S. congress was all about back room deal-making, but at least then they weren't able to make a career out of being in congress.Fairly useful and brute force historical depiction of the civil war. it shows how even back in the 1800s, the U.S. congress was all about back room deal-making, but at least then they weren't able to make a career out of being in congress. Though Steven Spielberg obviously has made some blockbusters, you still have to wonder with a topic like this; how much of the subtleties were created by the "world according to Spielberg"...? Its also a bit depressing to be so blatantly reminded that our country has not learned from history and in fact has gone backwards in terms of degrading and disrespecting the constitution. You can't walk out of Lincoln without feeling that this country used to have such promise and prosperity... and now it is so deeply bogged down with a bloated federal government, thousands of laws and taxes, and power-hungry career politicians that care only about their next election cycle... Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
moviemongerNov 25, 2012
Lincoln's kindness, quietness and generosity can translate to film in one and only one way if staying true to the man - in a slow boring way. Daniel Day Lewis did a fantastic job playing a non-flashy, quiet, almost emotionless "character".Lincoln's kindness, quietness and generosity can translate to film in one and only one way if staying true to the man - in a slow boring way. Daniel Day Lewis did a fantastic job playing a non-flashy, quiet, almost emotionless "character". I feel quite a few critics have overstated the "thriller" aspect of this film. I felt none. Day Lewis, Tommy Lee Jones and James Spader were top notch. Good acting kept this movie afloat. Like "Titanic", I knew the ending....but, unlike "Titanic" this film did not have me leaving the theater surprised or energized by what I saw. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
jluaJan 27, 2013
In my opinion, the script during the first half of this film reads like an entry in Wikipedia. And the second half lacks soul. In part, because the -much acclaimed- acting of Daniel Day-Lewis seems to me lacking in spirit; it seemed to meIn my opinion, the script during the first half of this film reads like an entry in Wikipedia. And the second half lacks soul. In part, because the -much acclaimed- acting of Daniel Day-Lewis seems to me lacking in spirit; it seemed to me that he has half asleep and bored. I think that many of the glowing opinions may have more to do with the theme, than with the film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
RedfordstoFeb 1, 2014
Movie making at its finest. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance will be how a generation pictures the character of President Lincoln. What is compelling about this story is that it takes place in a moment in time rather than attempting to cover theMovie making at its finest. Daniel Day-Lewis' performance will be how a generation pictures the character of President Lincoln. What is compelling about this story is that it takes place in a moment in time rather than attempting to cover the entirety of the President's life. Instead, Spielberg captures the spirit of the President in his attempts to having a new constitutional amendment ratified. The script is well written, the acting is inspired, and the cinematography is near perfect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews