Roadside Attractions | Release Date: June 5, 2015
8.1
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
120
Mixed:
13
Negative:
5
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
irmdogJun 21, 2015
This movie has Oscar written all over it, I have been singing Beach Boy songs nonstop since watching this movie. I cried at least 5 times during this movie, extremely well done, I highly recommend it.
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
8
hotfromcauldronJun 7, 2015
God only knows what makes man turn nothing into something. A Ford Model T. An IPhone. A song.
And God only knows what one person will have that life altering effect on our journey - be it a guardian angel or a blood sucking leech. One
God only knows what makes man turn nothing into something. A Ford Model T. An IPhone. A song.
And God only knows what one person will have that life altering effect on our journey - be it a guardian angel or a blood sucking leech. One thing I know, Pohlar does a remarkable job bringing Love and Mercy to the screen. Cusack and Dano are both fragile and frank. Banks is a force to be reckoned with. A soundtrack of our lives, a cautionary tale, a love story, a glimpse into the mind of someone suffering from mental illness - a life. Brian Wilson- thank you for sharing your gift and your pain. Twenty five years ago - at the Breeders Cup - at Santa Anita race track - because of the crowds - I shared a table with a shell of a man and an overly protective caretaker. When the caretaker left to relieve himself - the man softened, smiled and told me I’m a Beach boy. Now I finally understand.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
9
beingryanjudeJun 6, 2015
Not only do John Cusack and Paul Dano embody Brian Wilson, the film embodies the character, the mind and the music of this incredible life. The honesty behind the film's portrayals and the creative process is remarkable. No matter how darkNot only do John Cusack and Paul Dano embody Brian Wilson, the film embodies the character, the mind and the music of this incredible life. The honesty behind the film's portrayals and the creative process is remarkable. No matter how dark Love & Mercy becomes, the reflection is well-worth your time. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
svenerikJun 11, 2015
Dano and Cusack both need Oscars. For those of us who are familiar with Wilson's tics and mannerisms, their performances were uncanny and demand accolades and awards. I was floored. The whole film was a feast for the eyes and ears.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
10
ClydePrimmJun 7, 2015
This movie is an Oscar caliber film in every regard. Stellar acting. Incredible camera and sound work. A great script, amazing editing and direction. I can't encourage you enough to see this film. It captures the joy and pain of creatingThis movie is an Oscar caliber film in every regard. Stellar acting. Incredible camera and sound work. A great script, amazing editing and direction. I can't encourage you enough to see this film. It captures the joy and pain of creating art and conquering pain through love. Put this movie on your list and without question see it. Brian Wilson's story is one you should experience through this wonderful film, which is a tribute to the spirit of his creativity and an insight into the tender soul of a truly great artist. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
LamontRaymondJun 12, 2015
If you're a fan of "Pet Sounds", as I am, this movie is an absolute must-see. Paul Dano and John Cusack are both incredible, but the subtle backbone of the film is Elizabeth Banks for plays her role in an understated but incredibly feeling fashion.
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
netflicJun 28, 2015
This is a biopic movie about Beach Boys founder Brian Wilson. He is played by two excellent actors
(Paul Dano and John Cusack) at two different times in his life. I am not crazy about the music Beach Boys
produced but the movie impressed me
This is a biopic movie about Beach Boys founder Brian Wilson. He is played by two excellent actors
(Paul Dano and John Cusack) at two different times in his life. I am not crazy about the music Beach Boys
produced but the movie impressed me with class and honesty. Camera takes you back and force in time but
you do not notice that Wilson is played by two actors, that's how good they are. Some would argue that it is not too difficult for a good actor to play a mentally troubled person. Maybe that is true but
the output of the whole crew (director, actors, camera men, sound) is an outstanding, authentic movie about
present and recent past.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
amboyJun 30, 2015
This film lives up to the acclaim it has received. I was not a Beach Boys fan, but this story of Brian Wilson's trying to walk the line between pop and serious music, slipping into mental illness, and finally healing with the help of aThis film lives up to the acclaim it has received. I was not a Beach Boys fan, but this story of Brian Wilson's trying to walk the line between pop and serious music, slipping into mental illness, and finally healing with the help of a courageous woman is compelling and moving. The direction is sure handed, the camera work inventive, and the performances by Dano, Cusack, and Ms. Banks are superb. She is a revelation. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
Brent_MarchantJun 6, 2015
A thoroughly engaging, emotionally moving biopic about Beach Boys founder Brian Wilson at two particularly trying points in his life, expertly portrayed by Paul Dano and John Cusack. The picture's fine supporting cast, excellent period pieceA thoroughly engaging, emotionally moving biopic about Beach Boys founder Brian Wilson at two particularly trying points in his life, expertly portrayed by Paul Dano and John Cusack. The picture's fine supporting cast, excellent period piece production values and sound quality effectively augment the film's well-crafted narrative. Easily the best picture of the year so far. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
rohnjayJun 6, 2015
Brilliant film about Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys that blows up the usual "great man" biopic formula and instead focuses on two amazing periods in Wilson's life--the 1960s when he transitioned from writing pseudo-surf music to the epicBrilliant film about Brian Wilson of The Beach Boys that blows up the usual "great man" biopic formula and instead focuses on two amazing periods in Wilson's life--the 1960s when he transitioned from writing pseudo-surf music to the epic album ":Pet Sounds," and the 1980s when an obese, drug-addled Wilson was seduced by a phony psychologist only to be saved by a female car salesperson. To accomplish this feat the director Bill Pohlad (sp?) hired two actors---Paul Dano plays the doughy 1960s boy genius Brian Wilson and John Cusack plays the 1980s battered, broken Brian Wilson. The trick works magically. Unlike most music biopics this one takes you deep into the creative process using what I think are the original recordings. It would have been easy to make a lush, conventional music biopic given the gorgeous Beach Boys soundtrack. To the filmmaker's credit, he pushed beyond conventions and found real truth--a bit like Brian Wilson himself. Don't miss it. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
TVJerryJun 9, 2015
This is not the standard musician biopic, but a fascinating and immensely absorbing examination of the artistic, emotional and mental struggles of Brian Wilson (the creative powerhouse behind the Beach Boys). The timeline alternates betweenThis is not the standard musician biopic, but a fascinating and immensely absorbing examination of the artistic, emotional and mental struggles of Brian Wilson (the creative powerhouse behind the Beach Boys). The timeline alternates between his peak years, when he was starting to experiment with their sound (played by Paul Dano) and the period after his breakdown (played by John Cusak), when therapist Dr. Eugene Landy dominated his existence. Both actors are mesmerizing, brilliantly capturing Wilson's complexity and charisma. As the woman who saves him, the usually outsize Elizabeth Banks is a quiet revelation. Producer-turned-director Bill Pohlad has crafted a compellingly complex examination into the creative process and one of the most effective studies of mental illness ever on screen. Although the musician's oppressive struggles keep the film in a continual dark place (with a sometimes slow pace), the film's quiet power and artistic mastery create an enthralling cinematic exploration. NOTE: The real Wilson performs the title song on camera during the credits. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
moviecritic68Jul 1, 2015
True stories usually tend not to wet my appetite but this real life success & tragedy story was well worth my time. I never knew the life story of Brian Wilson even though I grew up on listening to the Beach Boys. Just assumed they were justTrue stories usually tend not to wet my appetite but this real life success & tragedy story was well worth my time. I never knew the life story of Brian Wilson even though I grew up on listening to the Beach Boys. Just assumed they were just some lucky musical surfer dudes who came on the scene at the right time. This movie informed me differently. John Cusack played a marvelous role. 2 thumbs up indeed Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
KeyboardistAug 9, 2015
Absolutely brilliant, sensitively enacted and created with deep sympathy and insight. It's good to know this was made with the blessing of Brian Wilson and his wife Melinda. Speaking as a musician / producer, the studio scenes (which mostAbsolutely brilliant, sensitively enacted and created with deep sympathy and insight. It's good to know this was made with the blessing of Brian Wilson and his wife Melinda. Speaking as a musician / producer, the studio scenes (which most films get horribly wrong) are incredibly realistic and allow us to follow the extraordinary methods (involving a fair bit of creative trial and error :) by which Wilson created his sublime pop masterpieces. Highly recommended. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
LynNov 27, 2015
I wondered what this movie could offer that I hadn't learned from documentaries about Brian Wilson -- his musical genius and his personal struggles. But I found it really interesting and moving. It might take a while to buy into the "twoI wondered what this movie could offer that I hadn't learned from documentaries about Brian Wilson -- his musical genius and his personal struggles. But I found it really interesting and moving. It might take a while to buy into the "two different actors who don't really look like him" approach -- even with two excellent actors. But they're great at portraying BW's vulnerability, especially Paul Dano. And hearing all that Beach Boys music is a treat. The usually avuncular Paul Giamatti is so subtly evil I could hardly stand to watch him! I felt that the other Beach Boys could have been sketched in better as characters. And at times I wanted more details about Brian's family and concerns in addition to music. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
shpostalJun 21, 2015
I was armed with a lot of biographical knowledge of the great Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys going in to see this movie, and hence was on the lookout for historical inaccuracies that tend to ruin so many biopics. To my relief andI was armed with a lot of biographical knowledge of the great Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys going in to see this movie, and hence was on the lookout for historical inaccuracies that tend to ruin so many biopics. To my relief and appreciation, "Love and Mercy" is very nearly perfect in its details, with little or no aberration from a story that needs none.
So, this movie is indeed an Oscar worthy film, especially for Paul Dano, who plays the young Brian brilliantly. Not to degrade John Cusack, who does a fine horribly mentally ill and abused late '80s Wilson and his struggle with Eugene Landy, a psychologist ultimately more sick than his patient, whom, the movie doesn't point out, tried to steal Wilson's composing royalties, altered his will and was bleeding Brian dry.
Like their song "Heroes and Villains" from the legendary "Smile", now happily out in all its majestic glory, the cast was indeed a polarizing one. Villains: Murray Wilson, the incredibly abusive father who hit Brian so hard on the side of the head that he (Brian) was very nearly deaf in his right ear, and preferred mono recordings because of it, Mike Love, one of the true clueless dicks in all rock music, and Landy himself.
"Pet Sounds", one of the greatest albums ever made in any genre in musical history, was typically panned by Love, who wanted to stay as a lame surfer, while the Beatles were taking music into new territory that would and did render such music worthless for decades before nostalgia rescued the best surf music. He was equally wrong about "Smile", only sang, never wrote a song or played an instrument, abused his wife, and was basically a leech on the back of his cousin. His one solo album sank like a rock. And lately after the remaining Beach Boys reunited to a successful tour and album, Love and his buddy Bruce Johnston pulled out. No great loss.
The other heroes were Carl Wilson, who always looked after his brother lovingly, and Wilson's wife, the former Melinda Ledbetter, who helped pull Brian away from the psychotic Landy with Carl's help.
The result was astonishing. Brian started recording again, touring like crazy, and released "Smile", first with his new band, a couple solo efforts, and then the original "Smile" that he had shelved on the eve of its release.
That he has recovered is a victory worth celebrating. He contributed a video live recording of "Love and Mercy" at films' end, and other music. He has a new album "No Pier Pressure" that is a wonderful optimistic piece of music in a mad world, and thanks to the stellar script and performances of "Love and Mercy" the movie, we see firsthand what a beautiful person we have in Brian Wilson, and rejoice that he has made such an amazing comeback. I also recommend his biography, "Catch A Wave", which goes into more detail. And for God's sake, if you don't own at least "Pet Sounds" and "Smile", go out right now and get them. They belong right next your Beatles albums, they're that good.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Movi3R3vi3werJun 26, 2015
Love & Mercy is the best movie of the year so far. This film has a magnificent cast including Elizabeth Banks gives the performance of her career, Paul Giamatti giving a usual compelling performance. But John Cusack and Paul Dano give AcademyLove & Mercy is the best movie of the year so far. This film has a magnificent cast including Elizabeth Banks gives the performance of her career, Paul Giamatti giving a usual compelling performance. But John Cusack and Paul Dano give Academy Award worthy performances playing the current and past Brian Wilson. Love & Mercy is a smart, heartbreaking look at the genius that was and is, Brian Wilson. Do not miss out on this one! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
SMRamseyJun 21, 2015
An accurate and moving depiction of the personal and professional struggles of Brian Wilson distilled into the length of a movie. This one should be Oscar bound! A must see if you are a musical child of the '60's (or any other decade).An accurate and moving depiction of the personal and professional struggles of Brian Wilson distilled into the length of a movie. This one should be Oscar bound! A must see if you are a musical child of the '60's (or any other decade). Maybe like me, you'll be listening to Pet Sounds the rest of the summer. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
foxgroveJul 16, 2015
A refreshingly unfamiliar bio-pic which isn’t one of those conventional rags to riches stories so beloved of the genre, but which artistically are more often than not seen it all before pedestrian. This is a riveting, astoundingly well-actedA refreshingly unfamiliar bio-pic which isn’t one of those conventional rags to riches stories so beloved of the genre, but which artistically are more often than not seen it all before pedestrian. This is a riveting, astoundingly well-acted drama concerning the mental illness afflicting The Beach Boys’ singer composer Brian Wilson, a story of which I knew absolutely nothing.
The original screenplay splits its running time between the younger Brian, struggling with group responsibilities as his grip on reality loosens, and the older one who is now a physical and emotional wreck in the care of people who really don’t care about him at all.
Director Bill Pohlad’s direction is lean and imaginative and through his actors unfolds a compelling story. As the girl who falls for and reaches out to Brian, Elizabeth Banks does some beautifully subtle and understated work conveying much without saying a word, particularly in her powerful scenes with Paul Giamatti as Brian’s unscrupulous therapist. Giamatti himself at first glance seems to be saddled with a clichéd cypher of a role, but the actor’s proven talent brings to the fore a true monster. Dano who is great at playing edgy or slightly off centre characters is in his element here as the younger Brian starting to lose control, but, amazingly, the real revelation is John Cusack as the older incarnation of the troubled singer/ composer. Cusack has often been an actor whose performances have tended to lack colour and shading, journeyman at best. Here, however, he is so much more. In a touching and compelling bit of acting he holds you spellbound whenever he is on screen.
The Beach Boys music permeates the film, but the story does not serve as its slave. Also, unusually, there are not any substantial concert scenes of which to speak. These are often perfunctorily thrown in when dealing with singers or groups and it is to the credit of the story that this gimmicky device was not deemed necessary in this particular instance. Period detail, most notably the costumes worn by Banks, is excellent and the sound is great. One of the best films of the year, thankfully, comes out in a summer when the season thus far has proved to be depressingly sillier than usual.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
9
GinaKJun 7, 2015
I admired and was moved by this film even though I barely know who The Beach Boys are and don’t particularly care for Brian Wilson’s music. Paul Dano and John Cusack were both wonderful, especially in the way they mirrored each other andI admired and was moved by this film even though I barely know who The Beach Boys are and don’t particularly care for Brian Wilson’s music. Paul Dano and John Cusack were both wonderful, especially in the way they mirrored each other and became one person, which was almost miraculous. But great as everyone was, I thought Elizabeth Banks was best of all because she always seemed so believable and genuine, even when she was obviously getting involved with someone who had serious problems. Wilson’s luck finally turned with her. The only problem I had was with Paul Giamatti who sadly seemed more “over the top” and cartoonish than the sinister figure he was portraying. Although this film told an old story – about a gifted "suffering" artist – it was not hackneyed but instead fresh and always interesting, even if perhaps a bit too long. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
6
GreatMartinJun 12, 2015
I had a hard time getting into, letting alone understanding, “Love and Mercy” and more than once during the first hour I wanted to bolt the theatre but I stayed and finally figured it all out!

While the bulk of the film is carried by John
I had a hard time getting into, letting alone understanding, “Love and Mercy” and more than once during the first hour I wanted to bolt the theatre but I stayed and finally figured it all out!

While the bulk of the film is carried by John Cusack and Paul Dano, both as Brian Wilson, it is the performance by Elizabeth Banks that holds it all together. Dano is Brian during the late 60s and we see how he wrote the music that would become a thread in so many lives while Cusack plays Brian in the 1980s who came under the control of a manipulative shyster, Dr. Eugene Landy, played by Paul Giamatti, who just oozes evil, who was given all legal control of the musician’s life, though how is not really explained. Banks is Melinda Ledbetter who meets the latter Brian and sees the man he really is, who helps him get away from Landy and would eventually marry him.

This is not a play by the numbers Hollywood biography though there are many elements from the abused children angle to the real possibility of a man being easily dominated by another father figure. Yes there are the drugs, the high living, the ‘mad’ genius aspect but this is more of getting into the head of a songwriter and how and where the music comes from and into his descent into an unexplainable diagnosis as a paranoid schizophrenia with hearing voices and LSD which doesn’t help him.

There is no resemblance between Dano and Cusack nor do they ever move or talk the same but both are believable as being the same man. Many of Wilson’s hit songs are heard but not as in a concert but how they sprang from the man’s mind. One example is how much the difference of the sound between a father slapping his son so hard that the latter loses most of his hearing in that ear and a spanking can bring different tones to a song. Another prime example of what made Wilson such a perfect musician was his search for the exact sound of the cellists in “Good Vibrations”.

There is not a false movement by any of the cast and the direction by Bill Pohlad, with the screenplay by Oren Moverman and Michael Alan Lerner, take this far away from ‘just another musical Hollywood biography‘. The sound editing by Atticus Ross and the sound mixing by Edward Tise are works of perfection.

This is not an easy film to watch, get into and/or understand but it is worth the 2 hours of your life to watch it--and how many movies can you say that about?
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
2
swingJun 16, 2015
This is a well-made movie with good acting, but it wasn;t what I wanted to see. It;s really about mental illness and the downward spiral of the creative force of the Beach Boys. I wanted it to be more upbeat, at least in some parts, but itThis is a well-made movie with good acting, but it wasn;t what I wanted to see. It;s really about mental illness and the downward spiral of the creative force of the Beach Boys. I wanted it to be more upbeat, at least in some parts, but it wan't. I wanted more music, but there wasn't. I wanted to be entertained and leave the theater smiling, but I couldn't. Expand
1 of 14 users found this helpful113
All this user's reviews
9
csw12Feb 1, 2016
Paul Dano, Elizabeth Banks ,Paul Giamatti and Jon Cusack give great performances with Cusack and Banks having excellent chemistry. The acting and music is what guides this film all the way through.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
BrianMcCriticSep 16, 2015
Loved hearing all that great Beach Boys music and the film wasn't shabby either. While it wasn't the top 10 film I wanted it to be this biopic on two different times in the life of Brian Wilson was solid. A-
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
LowbrowCinemaJul 3, 2015
Paul Dano totally captures Brian Wilson. John Cusack captures a very disturbed but sweet man. Ostensibly they are both playing Wilson, though you'd never really know it. We learn a bit of the truth about Wilson but LOVE AND MERCY is too fullPaul Dano totally captures Brian Wilson. John Cusack captures a very disturbed but sweet man. Ostensibly they are both playing Wilson, though you'd never really know it. We learn a bit of the truth about Wilson but LOVE AND MERCY is too full of music and entertainment industry cliches to have any impact. And then the fantastical sequences are too sloppy to work in any way. But there is one major standout--Elizabeth Banks who is simply translucent while being totally grounded. Really cool. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
kman5473Jan 12, 2017
Best film of 2015. The fact that this received no award season attention is such a misstep for all organizations that give awards for films. Paul Dano is one of the greatest actors of our time, and he is barely being recognized for it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
jgzegerDec 19, 2015
A mildly entertaining film. The story of Brian Wilson is an interesting one. However, it could have been presented with more artistry. I'm glad that I had Elizabeth Banks to look at for two hours, otherwise I would have scored the movie lower.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Trev29Jan 24, 2016
As a cast, this is one of the best acted movies of the year. Everyone was fantastic and worthy of attention. The story and drama is great, and the music only elevates the film even more.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SpangleJul 29, 2015
This biography of Brian Wilson is quite good, largely thanks to the acting. As the young Brian Wilson, Paul Dano brilliantly portrays his slowly emerging madness, while as the older version, John Cusack is perfect as the sick and abusedThis biography of Brian Wilson is quite good, largely thanks to the acting. As the young Brian Wilson, Paul Dano brilliantly portrays his slowly emerging madness, while as the older version, John Cusack is perfect as the sick and abused Wilson. Paul Giammati and Elisabeth Banks are also very, very strong in this one. As with all music biographies, the music winds up being one of the highlights. Getting to see classic songs being made is a really cool experience, even if it is just a reenactment. The way the old scenes of them in the studio are shot is really well done, as it looks like old footage you would see on a music documentary. This one is pretty well written, though I did not feel it was overly inventive with the music biography genre, as many reviews state it was. While not entirely conventional, I did not think it differed too much from that formula, even though I really do enjoy the formula. As a whole, Love & Mercy is a good film that will likely get lost in the shuffle of 2015, which is too bad since Dano and Cusack deserve some kind of recognition for their performances. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
FranzHcriticDec 25, 2015
One note of this film is the accuracy of it, which shows the respect the writers and the director have for the Brian Wilson, a musical genius. The dual performances are a triumph for both Paul Dano, who flawlessly portrays Wilson's slowlyOne note of this film is the accuracy of it, which shows the respect the writers and the director have for the Brian Wilson, a musical genius. The dual performances are a triumph for both Paul Dano, who flawlessly portrays Wilson's slowly becoming overwhelmed and his psyche crumbling, and John Cusack, who is every bit a fragmented and lost Wilson. Elizabeth Banks and Paul Giamatti compliment to the cast greatly as friend and foe of Brian Wilson. It shows us the life and torment of a man who made great music. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
jake_gibbsJun 11, 2016
Disappointing. Acting was very good, especially Paul Giamatti, but film often dragged for long stretches of time and the depressing elements trumped the interesting elements.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ydnar4Sep 6, 2015
I had very little insight on Brian Wilson before watching this film. I was aware of some of the significant Beach Boys songs but other than that I had no information on his life or his struggles. The first thing this film does right is breakI had very little insight on Brian Wilson before watching this film. I was aware of some of the significant Beach Boys songs but other than that I had no information on his life or his struggles. The first thing this film does right is break the film into two parallel storylines and casts two actors for the same man. I think it is cool that we can see wo actors play Wilson because Brian Wilson was a completely different man after being put under the supervision of Dr. Eugene Landy. Paul Dano, who is so good at playing characters the audience is forced to hate in movies like 12 Years a Slave and Prisoners, but Dano is a likeable actor in this movie and he does an excellent job and I would say that he outplayed John Cusack although his performance is no slouch either.

The real noteworthy performance in this film actually comes from Paul Giamatti who has been an excellent supporting cast member in several great films already this year. This is the best performance I have seen from him. I could buy the wig he wore and he plays the greedy and downright awful person Eugene Landy so well that its impossible not to notice.

The one big complaint I have about this movie is that it assumes that you know too much. This movie is for Beach Boy fans if you ask me. I felt that a lot was left to my imagination rather than displaying it in the film and if that meant the film needed to be extended I would be fine with that. The other small problem I have is there is not quite enough Beach Boys music in the film but other than I recommend Love & Mercy and the real Brian Wilson who had very little involvement felt that the film was a good depiction
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
WJSFeb 26, 2016
This is a great movie, with stand out performances from Paul Dano, Elizabeth Banks and John Cusack, just to name a few. There is a certain sense of sadness that runs through the narrative that's carefully navigated by director Bill Pohlad. AsThis is a great movie, with stand out performances from Paul Dano, Elizabeth Banks and John Cusack, just to name a few. There is a certain sense of sadness that runs through the narrative that's carefully navigated by director Bill Pohlad. As Brian Wilson slides in and out of various degrees of madness, so does the movie, which proves to be a real rollercoaster of emotions. It also has an amazing sound track of the incredible music library that Wilson has produced over the years. Where was this movie come Oscar time? Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
jesseurbancsikDec 2, 2015
Accolades for Banks and Dano are a must! This is an unusual biographical film, but it works and it will let you gain access to the backstory of Pet Sounds and Brian Wilson.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
RalfbergsMar 1, 2017
I guess I thought this movie will be something a bit better, but it really wasn't for me. I mean I would have preferred it as a documentary then as the only good thing it does it makes you feel for Brian and how he had all his problems etc.I guess I thought this movie will be something a bit better, but it really wasn't for me. I mean I would have preferred it as a documentary then as the only good thing it does it makes you feel for Brian and how he had all his problems etc. But other than that I think it's nothing that impressive. Great acting though Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
billfoltynSep 16, 2015
Amazing acting, amazing story, amazing biopic. And it is an excellent film in its own right. I mostly pass on movies these days with their predictable themes. I have not enjoyed a movie this much in a long time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
smiyamotNov 21, 2015
As a teenager, I loved the Beach Boys songs. You never realize what terrible lives they might be living to be so creative. This movie showed Brian Wilson with all his troubles, weaknesses, problem personal life, right on screen for all toAs a teenager, I loved the Beach Boys songs. You never realize what terrible lives they might be living to be so creative. This movie showed Brian Wilson with all his troubles, weaknesses, problem personal life, right on screen for all to see. What guts that must have taken for him to agree to this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
hoodbutchDec 27, 2015
Very entertaining and very well done in every aspect. A great insight into their recording process. A must watch if you're a Beach Boys fan and even if you're not.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BITESCREENJun 22, 2017
Love & Mercy ist nicht die Geschichte der Beach Boys, sondern die von Frontmann Brian Wilson – und somit keine über Sonne, Strand und Surfen, sondern eine von Angst, Krankheit und dem ewigen Kampf zwischen Kunst und Kommerz. Regisseur BillLove & Mercy ist nicht die Geschichte der Beach Boys, sondern die von Frontmann Brian Wilson – und somit keine über Sonne, Strand und Surfen, sondern eine von Angst, Krankheit und dem ewigen Kampf zwischen Kunst und Kommerz. Regisseur Bill Pohlad nutzt die Entstehungsgeschichte vom Über-Album Pet Sounds als Sprungbrett ins Innere von Brian Wilson – einem empfindsamen wie genialen jungen Mann (fantastisch gespielt von Paul Dano), der lieber im Stillen komponiert, als im Rampenlicht zu stehen. Schwer machen das ein tyrannischer Vater, verständnislose Bandkollegen und eine latente paranoide Schizophrenie. So ist Love & Mercy mehr knallhartes Drama als beschwingter Musikfilm, das durch regelmäßige Sprünge zum erwachsenen Wilson (John Cusack) in den Fängen eines manipulativen Hausarztes (widerlich: Paul Giamatti) zusätzliche Tiefe erhält. Auch technisch überzeugt das bisher beste Kino-Porträt des Jahres durch einen authentisch-unprätentiösen Look, emotional ergänzt durch den einlullenden Sound der Beach Boys. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
JLuis_001Sep 7, 2017
A biopic not so different from the usual but more perceptive and pleasant, it is worth to understand that perhaps audiences will not have no idea who is Brian Wilson, even if they sound the name of the Beach Boys, but if you do not know thisA biopic not so different from the usual but more perceptive and pleasant, it is worth to understand that perhaps audiences will not have no idea who is Brian Wilson, even if they sound the name of the Beach Boys, but if you do not know this movie Is a good approach. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
AtomicjackMay 16, 2018
This is film is my favorite film ever made...EVER. The acting is top notch with Paul Dano’s best performance, John Cusack pulls in a great performance, Elizabeth Banks knocks it out of the park and Paul Giamatti is great villain. theThis is film is my favorite film ever made...EVER. The acting is top notch with Paul Dano’s best performance, John Cusack pulls in a great performance, Elizabeth Banks knocks it out of the park and Paul Giamatti is great villain. the direction is on point, the cinematography is beautiful, and the sound design and editing is the stand out in this film. the marketing is a little off putting as it advertises this as a upbeat film when it is really a very dark film about Mental Illness but that doesn't lower the quality of this film at all. The only bad part it that is was SNUBBED. No Oscar nominations at all which is tragic. this is an amazing film and everyone needs to see it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews