Ma

Universal Pictures | Release Date: May 31, 2019
5.5
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 54 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
20
Mixed:
21
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
5
Compi24Jun 4, 2019
Try as she might, not even the likes of Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer can save this thriller from the doldrums of mundanity. See, for me, it's the approach that's all wrong with this one, with the film's deceptive marketing campaignTry as she might, not even the likes of Academy Award winner Octavia Spencer can save this thriller from the doldrums of mundanity. See, for me, it's the approach that's all wrong with this one, with the film's deceptive marketing campaign offering up a far more campy and fun ride than the one you end up getting. "Ma" is awkward, sporadically thrilling and lacking in any characters you care about, ultimately rendering the overall experience feeling empty and bare. Even the appropriately committed performance from Spencer as the titular character is undone by the mere fact that the script and direction isn't anywhere near as enthusiastic as she is about all of this. In short, "Ma" is a tremendous waste of potential on almost all fronts, but a moderately watchable one at that. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Jun 4, 2019
Perhaps on paper the story might have sounded a lot much interesting but its execution is merely mediocre.
Most of the teen characters are disposable to the maximum while Octavia Spencer can do little with what the story offers. I will not
Perhaps on paper the story might have sounded a lot much interesting but its execution is merely mediocre.
Most of the teen characters are disposable to the maximum while Octavia Spencer can do little with what the story offers. I will not deny that she tries to make the character more disturbing, but she can only take the work alone to a certain stretch.

Disappointing not because of my expectations, because I didn't have any but because its offer doesn't compensate for the time invested.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
5
TVJerryJun 8, 2019
Oscar winner Octavia Spencer must have looked forward to having a chance to be evil, but even her acting skills can't elevate this mediocre suspense film. She plays a lonely woman with issues, who invites a group of high schoolers to comeOscar winner Octavia Spencer must have looked forward to having a chance to be evil, but even her acting skills can't elevate this mediocre suspense film. She plays a lonely woman with issues, who invites a group of high schoolers to come over and party in her basement. Obviously, things turn dark before it's over, but it takes too long and the payoff isn't worth the wait. None of the cast was bad and Spencer does her best to reflect the ghosts from her past, but the script or direction aren't strong enuff to carry the load. Interestingly, another Oscar winner (Allison Janney) has a smallish role. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
GinaKJun 5, 2019
I had such high hopes for this movie because Octavia Spencer and Juliette Lewis were in the cast, but sadly this film turned out to be incredibly bad when it wasn’t incredibly boring. So many decent young actors trapped in an awful movie withI had such high hopes for this movie because Octavia Spencer and Juliette Lewis were in the cast, but sadly this film turned out to be incredibly bad when it wasn’t incredibly boring. So many decent young actors trapped in an awful movie with an awful script. I guess it was supposed to be a slasher flick, but it turned out to be the bad kind that makes little or no sense and is just an excuse to test new techniques for making the actors seem to bleed. My advice is to go to something you enjoyed a second time and stay away from this one. I’m going to beat the heat by seeing “Godzilla” again this week – this time in IMAX. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Rebecca31Jun 10, 2019
I haven’t lost my marbles, I know Ma is terrible but it’s also a little bit hilarious and it’s got Octavia Spencer as the severely unhinged Ma so you could do worse. We’re in a bit of a lull period at the moment and sure you can go see thisI haven’t lost my marbles, I know Ma is terrible but it’s also a little bit hilarious and it’s got Octavia Spencer as the severely unhinged Ma so you could do worse. We’re in a bit of a lull period at the moment and sure you can go see this month’s mediocre blockbusters Godzilla 2 or Dark Phoenix or see a mediocre horror/thriller/doesn’t really know what genre it wants to be and see Ma instead.

Sue Ann (Octavia Spencer) is a bit of a loner, a little bit strange but when asked by a group of teenagers to buy them alcohol not only does she help them but she gives them a chance to drink in the “safety” of her basement. This quickly becomes the new hotspot for all the local teenagers to party and drink and Ma is loving the attention and new friends, and that’s right around the time her behaviour starts to become a tad bit obsessive and erratic which then starts to descend into psychotic, **** crazy and roll credits. I would expect nothing less of Octavia Spencer, she brings her A game to a film with a generic and predictable plot and I can’t say the same for anyone else. Ma is only mildly better than your average painfully annoying teenager horror flick (Truth or Dare & Unfriended immediately spring to mind) and honestly that’s only down to Spencer’s performance. She single-handedly carries this movie into watchable territory so at least I came out of Ma not feeling like I wasted the last hour and a half. Another bonus is Luke Evans and Allison Janney, in what is essentially a cameo role, I’m not sure why they’re even in this film to be honest but hey I’m not complaining. The film itself does not offer anything new into the horror/thriller genre. It’s painfully dull at times but for some of you it should give you a few laughs for all the wrong reasons. Recommended for the horror fans who have nothing else to see at the moment.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
5
Trineo99Jun 2, 2019
First of all, Octavia Spencer is great as Ma. She easily switched from being that nice old lady who lives next door to that psycho killer next door in a matter of seconds. She was probably the only good thing in this movie. All of the otherFirst of all, Octavia Spencer is great as Ma. She easily switched from being that nice old lady who lives next door to that psycho killer next door in a matter of seconds. She was probably the only good thing in this movie. All of the other actors you could tell were trying their best with what they were given but it just ended up being really boring to watch. Diana Silvers was probably the best one out of all of them. Now, I’m not going to put all the blame on the actors for this because even though this movie is one hour and thirty-nine minutes long it feels like a two-hour long movie. The film feels really slow throughout the entire first act and doesn’t pick up speed until the last little bit. This wouldn’t be a problem if there was something interesting going on but there wasn’t. The characters were either at Ma’s house or doing something in their everyday lives and this isn’t a spoiler because it’s in the trailer. I feel like this film would have been better as a short film than a full feature-length film. A lot of the scenes in this movie also just awkwardly ended with no purpose. One thing I do want to mention is that if you are interested in watching this movie do not watch the trailer because the trailer spoils pretty much everything in the movie. I will not say what scene from the trailer it is, even though if you watch it you can easily figure it out, gives away the entire ending to this movie. In the end, this movie really isn’t worth a watch because the trailer spoils it and it’s only worth watching for the last 10 to 15 minutes. I give Ma a 5.5/10. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
tropicAcesMay 31, 2019
Just one of those films that didn’t work for me. Nothing against Spencer, she seems to be having a ball, but the pacing and reveals are so sluggish that by the time things get interesting you’ve already checked out; this movie is 99 minutesJust one of those films that didn’t work for me. Nothing against Spencer, she seems to be having a ball, but the pacing and reveals are so sluggish that by the time things get interesting you’ve already checked out; this movie is 99 minutes but feels like over two hours. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
StevenslabaughMay 31, 2019
The most fun I've had at the movies this year and that's all I'm gonna say.
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
6
onehonestcriticJun 2, 2019
Ma is well-written and superbly acted. While the elements of horror are on full display, the story is believable. It is not a great film, however. There are some issues with pacing and suspense. The movie could have been better if it delved aMa is well-written and superbly acted. While the elements of horror are on full display, the story is believable. It is not a great film, however. There are some issues with pacing and suspense. The movie could have been better if it delved a little more into the backstory, spent a little more time on character development, and allowed the story to unfold unhurriedly. Nonetheless, if you are on fence, I would recommend seeing it. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
10
godisawomanMay 31, 2019
love this movie so much stop the servation.. hello this movie is serve of the decade
2 of 7 users found this helpful25
All this user's reviews
7
LamontRaymondJun 4, 2019
Wow, this is MUCH better than I thought it would be. Why in the world did I see that crapfest Rocketman before this last weekend? It's fun, it's creative, the writing is interesting, and Octavia Spencer is a BLAST. Juliette Lewis is alsoWow, this is MUCH better than I thought it would be. Why in the world did I see that crapfest Rocketman before this last weekend? It's fun, it's creative, the writing is interesting, and Octavia Spencer is a BLAST. Juliette Lewis is also amazing in this. Yes, it does get a little GROSS in the finest traditions of horror flicks and torture porn, but hey, you get what you pay for. I'd certainly recommend this! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
10
Tovar29Jun 1, 2019
OK guys, its a horror movie, so loved since it started, so proud of all them
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
4
theredskyJun 17, 2019
This is another mixed bag for me. There a lot of problems but the positives slightly outweigh the negatives. Here are the negatives. The teenage actors did not do a good job. All 5 of them had no emotion in their performances and deliveredThis is another mixed bag for me. There a lot of problems but the positives slightly outweigh the negatives. Here are the negatives. The teenage actors did not do a good job. All 5 of them had no emotion in their performances and delivered their lines as boring as possible and their characters are uninteresting. Although the concept for the film is good, the film has a problem like Brightburn. The story feels very basic and the film doesn’t do anything interesting with its concept. Some aspects of the story can feel dumb at times and the first 15 minutes are boring. The film does have a pacing issue also. Sometimes the film is slow while other times, it moves quickly. Other than these major flaws, the film is decent. The adult actors do a good job. Luke Evans does a great job and Octavia Spencer steals the spotlight in every scene she is in. Her performance is by far the best thing about this movie. Her performance is worth seeing the movie. This film along with Brightburn knows how to build tension very well. You always feel this overwhelming sense of dread until the film comes to a head at the climax. There isn’t a lot of gore in this film but when it is used, it is used effectively and makes you feel uncomfortable which is what the film is going for. There are some genuinely funny moments in this film even if that wasn’t what the scene was going for. The cinematography is good in some areas and the tone does remain consistent throughout the film. The score for Ma is also pretty good too. The film also has a nice anti bullying message that is very evident by the end of the film. Overall, Ma provides some good acting from the adults and a nice message but fails to provide something more than its concept. I give Ma a 4/10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
DanielsMaruJun 13, 2019
MA es una película sin propósito, un guion flojo y una dirección tan básica que sorprende el hecho de haber llegado a cines, aun teniendo a tantos talentos delante y detrás de las cámaras, lo que hace mas decepcionante el que parezca unaMA es una película sin propósito, un guion flojo y una dirección tan básica que sorprende el hecho de haber llegado a cines, aun teniendo a tantos talentos delante y detrás de las cámaras, lo que hace mas decepcionante el que parezca una película que saldría directamente en DVD o como relleno en algun sitio de Streaming. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MarlieteMay 31, 2019
I love you este movie demais top melhor filme do mundóoooooo recomendo muito vcs assistirem
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews