New Line Cinema | Release Date: September 10, 2021
6.4
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 227 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
137
Mixed:
54
Negative:
36
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Doom5layerSep 13, 2021
Come on people this was a wholly original idea and gory as all hell. Had a freaking blast with this one. The “twist” was bonkers AF never saw that coming. Definitely cool to watch as we head into Halloween. James Wan needs to make moreCome on people this was a wholly original idea and gory as all hell. Had a freaking blast with this one. The “twist” was bonkers AF never saw that coming. Definitely cool to watch as we head into Halloween. James Wan needs to make more original horror movies! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
3
mrmonsterSep 26, 2021
A genuinely bad horror movie. A big disappointment coming from the usually amazing James Wan.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
Compi24Sep 11, 2021
On the one hand, there's the consistently questionable dialogue, the spotty performance work throughout and the overall clumsiness in handling certain nuts and bolts in the narrative. On the other hand, though, there's James Wan's alwaysOn the one hand, there's the consistently questionable dialogue, the spotty performance work throughout and the overall clumsiness in handling certain nuts and bolts in the narrative. On the other hand, though, there's James Wan's always dynamic directorial bravado on display, the generally engrossing mystery at the center of things...and the absolutely batty third act that's just impossible not to enjoy. I hate to parrot the masses with this stale of a take here, but they really are correct - the final twenty minutes of this movie really do make it worth the watch. It's just always a blast to see a film and filmmaker make such a balls-to-the-wall, wacky-ass decision and have it pay off with so much raw entertainment value. Can definitely say with confidence that this is something I've never seen before and I for sure do not regret doing so. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
xplicit_03Sep 29, 2021
James Wan forgets how to SCARE... 1st act is a haunted house film - but offers literally no scares... I'm not sure how this is possible, as imo, Wan is the BEST of our generation for this... The film flip flops between, buddy cop comedy (notJames Wan forgets how to SCARE... 1st act is a haunted house film - but offers literally no scares... I'm not sure how this is possible, as imo, Wan is the BEST of our generation for this... The film flip flops between, buddy cop comedy (not funny), a weird action film and some body horror (which is actually kind of cool). I wish Wan stuck to what he does best, and if he offered MORE SCARES (ITS A HORROR MOVIE) I would have liked this film so much more... PS. I actually loved the twist! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
2
fightfireSep 12, 2021
P######ta filme ruim da porr@! Nem se iludam por ser o diretor de outros filmes aclamados. Aqui você vai encontrar um filme gore e uma história MUITA tosca! Não vale o tempo perdido.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
4
JLuis_001Sep 16, 2021
James Wan's Bogeyman, who likes to sharpen things like the red-faced monster from Insidious.

Yes, it's more gruesome when it comes to violence, but everything Wan has done before is here, especially what he did in Insidious. From the
James Wan's Bogeyman, who likes to sharpen things like the red-faced monster from Insidious.

Yes, it's more gruesome when it comes to violence, but everything Wan has done before is here, especially what he did in Insidious.

From the uninspired jump scares, always showing someone behind the character in the scene, along with the predictable formulaic music by Joseph Bishara, which leads you in every way.
To the story of the main character who repressed a sinister past, who is also forced to confront it with hypnosis.

Even the sets that involve the monster, at some points seem straight out of The Further.
You know, if it's not dark, dirty, and dilapidated, it doesn't work.

Malignant it's very long, repetitive, and painfully predictable.
Won't even talk about the lazy performances, nor the missing payoff from its conclusion.

Wan sold Warner some kind of modified rehash of his old tricks, and they bought it as a high-caliber film.
Gotta respect him for it.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
MetacriticOnurSep 11, 2021
bad
[ bad ]

adjective, worse, worst;(Slang) bad·der, bad·dest for 36.
not good in any manner or degree.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
A5TR0Sep 11, 2021
The tone of this movie skirts the line of campy really hard, but balances itself out well with moments of seriousness and good scares. The film is loaded with twists, and is a fun ride all the way to the end. The acting can come off as kindThe tone of this movie skirts the line of campy really hard, but balances itself out well with moments of seriousness and good scares. The film is loaded with twists, and is a fun ride all the way to the end. The acting can come off as kind of flat at times, but that appears to be by design rather than an oversight. A long overdue dose of escapism overall that is at least worth a watch. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
An4h0nySep 12, 2021
I heard a lot of chatter about Malignant being some kind of neo-Giallo film, but I really think that was just an attempt to distract from the true nature of this film, to protect the twist in the third act. Sure there are elements of GialloI heard a lot of chatter about Malignant being some kind of neo-Giallo film, but I really think that was just an attempt to distract from the true nature of this film, to protect the twist in the third act. Sure there are elements of Giallo here but they are just nods. The true parentage of Malignant is over-the-top violent, frenetic paced and usually at least SEMI tongue-in-cheek horror B movies from the 70's and 80's. James Wan sets the viewer up for the ride in the opening sequence with an absolutely bonkers set piece that lets you know his intentions right off the bat. It's gonna be bloody, violent and poke fun at it's own parentage. I truly believe that this is done as a way to communicate to the viewer - "Stay with us on this ride. It's going somewhere great. The 2nd act will drag a little but there is a good reason." Once you see the reveal, you understand a lot of the more puzzling elements earlier on.

Now, is this film an acting class? Nope. It is the most clever plot you'll ever see? Not even. Will you guess the twist early on? That depends on how many of these types of films you have seen before. I figured out what sub-genre this was early on but I didn't get the twist until about five seconds before it dropped in all it's glory. I only had time to get out "NO WAY." before my wife said "What?" and then we were both like - "WT actual F?!?!"

I just have to applaud James Wan for attempting something fresh and semi-original here. There is so much to like about this film. The cinematography, most of the special effects, the humor, the way it doesn't pull punches with the violence - and the fact that there is no gratuitous sexuality. This film is on a mission. If you relax, have fun with it and don't take it (or yourself) too seriously, this film is a blast and a joy to behold, for fans of bloody disgusting horror, anyway. If you don't like violence, DO NOT watch this film. There are no jump scares and no silly Deus-Ex-Machina resolutions. In the end it all makes glorious, ridiculous, bloody, violent sense.

If you dig movies like My Bloody Valentine, Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2, Basket Case, Dead Ringers, Sinister, etc... you will most likely be grinning like an idiot at the end of Malignant. Invite some friends over, order a pizza and have a blast with this one. It's definitely worth checking out.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
TheHeavenSophiaSep 13, 2021
I don't relate to people's interest in complaining about everything nowadays. Maybe if the audience had even enough talent to create anything for other people to **** on, they'd be more understanding. Akela Cooper, Ingrid Bisu and James WanI don't relate to people's interest in complaining about everything nowadays. Maybe if the audience had even enough talent to create anything for other people to **** on, they'd be more understanding. Akela Cooper, Ingrid Bisu and James Wan clearly put a lot into making a fun, almost retro, horror movie. I can't see a single thing wrong with Malignant, it's, at least, worth seeing, and that's all that really matters. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
3
IamDracarysSep 17, 2021
Alright, the best part of this movie was the animation for the memories dissolving and the choreography for a fight scene that happens late in the movie. The animation for the antagonist? Bad. The twist? Both ludicrous and bad. The acting?Alright, the best part of this movie was the animation for the memories dissolving and the choreography for a fight scene that happens late in the movie. The animation for the antagonist? Bad. The twist? Both ludicrous and bad. The acting? Cheesy when it's good, but otherwise bad. The script? Bog-standard B-quality made for TV movie stuff. Maybe this movie was supposed to be something else? A lot of other reviews state it's supposed to be a homage to 80's/90's slasher films and if it is they still did a bad job. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
panicqJan 3, 2022
Malignant is good, just in the first few minutes. Such a sin in the main: the drama and suspense. It's admirable at first, but over time they get rough.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
MisterKSSep 11, 2021
A word of warning; this movie is not for everyone. It's specifically catered to people who loves cheesy 80's/90's era slasher movies and from what it set out to do, it achieves it in spades. For those who are willing to embrace it for what itA word of warning; this movie is not for everyone. It's specifically catered to people who loves cheesy 80's/90's era slasher movies and from what it set out to do, it achieves it in spades. For those who are willing to embrace it for what it is, this is gonna be one hell of a ride. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
saucyninja007Sep 11, 2021
Not scary, creepy, or intriguing. First act is decent, second act is boring and repetitive, and the third act is goofy and off-the-rails (though not in a good way). Could have been enjoyable shlock but the tone is all over the place. TheNot scary, creepy, or intriguing. First act is decent, second act is boring and repetitive, and the third act is goofy and off-the-rails (though not in a good way). Could have been enjoyable shlock but the tone is all over the place. The characters were one dimensional and poorly acted. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
devgreSep 11, 2021
Starting with homage and evolving to outright insane fun, Malignant is a tribute to the best of 80s american and italian horror, while also becoming it's own unique beast that should not be missed by any horror fan!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
10
NovikovevgeniySep 11, 2021
The first movie since Conjuring (2013) what made me scream like a baby. Amazing job!
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
abirdedmanSep 16, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Possibly the **** movie I’ve ever seen…

My experience can only be explained this way:
I was going back to the cinema for the first time in 2 years, went with my girl, we bought some food and we were really exited for the movie to start.
At that moment James Wan arrived, pulled down his zipper, and started to pee on our feet. We didn’t really understood what the heck was happening, but we were already there, so we kept watching, hopping it will get better.
But no. James kept peeing. staring us dead in te eyes like if he was thinking “oh yeah, this is happening”
At the end, he shaked his thing, splashing everything, farted, and went away. Worst experience ever. I’m still frustrated about my money. Wouldn’t even accept to be paid to see it again .
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
gagaboy0Sep 10, 2021
I love JW but again he let me down, in other movies he is producing and its okay but now is his own fault, being bad intentionally is not an excuse is was just a bad movie in general.
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
1
NumeroRyanSep 10, 2021
Oh boy… where to start with this one. Walking out the cinema no less than four couples questioned wether or not what they had just seen was a terrible dream, or that we were on some form of reality show, with cameramen secretly recording ourOh boy… where to start with this one. Walking out the cinema no less than four couples questioned wether or not what they had just seen was a terrible dream, or that we were on some form of reality show, with cameramen secretly recording our reactions. The two people in the toilet cubicles discussing what was worse, the acting, story or premise, or the girls mentioning that they should have watched a trailer first - this was a strange experience just walking out of a film to murmurings of what we all had just witnessed (one that I could only presume had the same profound affect as cult classic ‘The Room’). The movies premise is actually a really interesting one, something very unique and unlike any horrors recently so for this I have given the film at least a 1, that’s about as good as I can give this film. Some of the character choices (not in a dumb movie type trope) just seem to be poorly written, a great example of this is the main character suffers a tragedy in Act 1, her mother does not even turn up in the film until around half way through not even questioning anything she has gone through (odd choice, bad mother). To some domestic abuse being shoehorned in which in reality sets up the movie but this could have been done in so many other less jarring ways. The acting is absolutely atrocious with some poor attempts at some jokes thrown in, basically the structure around this absolutely mental film essentially does not support its unique interesting premise, leaving it looking like a C rated horror movie where if it was available to stream for free I would want my money back. Expand
5 of 8 users found this helpful53
All this user's reviews
0
MtbbettySep 10, 2021
Highly disappointed. I was really looking forward to seeing this movie but a total let down. The first 5 minutes I thought was a bad commercial. If I would’ve known it was the movie at first I would’ve walked out. Absolutely ridiculousHighly disappointed. I was really looking forward to seeing this movie but a total let down. The first 5 minutes I thought was a bad commercial. If I would’ve known it was the movie at first I would’ve walked out. Absolutely ridiculous acting, the music was terrible, the storyline is just weird. There’s nothing about this movie that I found scary. More of a comedy or a spoof. I’m not really sure what they’re trying to do. I am a huge fan of the conjuring movies so this was a complete let down. Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
1
JaySWSep 10, 2021
If it doesn't get the Razzy, it was robbed. Honestly, this movie is so insanely bad, it is good, then bad again. It can only be assumed its intentionally bad. The acting is absolutely awful. The dialogue is very canned and stilted. TheIf it doesn't get the Razzy, it was robbed. Honestly, this movie is so insanely bad, it is good, then bad again. It can only be assumed its intentionally bad. The acting is absolutely awful. The dialogue is very canned and stilted. The actors have about as much inflection as a My Buddy Doll. Even their actions a dumb. The cops act like a bad 1970s under budget cop show. And everyone makes conclusions that aren't evident. In one scene, the lead protagonist is putting her dirty clothes in the dryer (unwashed) when she witnesses a murder. All the characters just follow along for no logical reason other than to set up the next scene. Our mid-twenties protagonist doesn't even remember her teenager traumas, without her overly bewildered mother showing her home movies that were somehow kept and forgotten up until this point. Somehow her own same-age sister doesn't even remember this. It makes no sense. Also, every character is exceedingly cliché to the point of stupidity. The intended horror scenes are so bad, that they are laughable. Seriously, you will laugh at how absurd they are. I can literally point out something wrong in every single scene. Its that overwhelmingly bad. I have seen better films on Mystery Science Theater.

Troll 2 and the Room may have new competition for worst movie.
Expand
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
BigEggsKitchenSep 10, 2021
Worst horror movie of the year so far, and one of the worst horror movies of all time. Somehow worse than The Night House and Candyman. Wow this sucked
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
0
Jp2017Sep 10, 2021
Wtf did I just watch really enjoy this director but god was that awful. Not scary not all that tense honestly terrible. Will not be watching this again do better mr. wan
4 of 7 users found this helpful43
All this user's reviews
9
badshapedSep 10, 2021
Original and very well crafted horror ride. Reminded me of original "Evil Dead".
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
1
geonoleSep 10, 2021
My wife and I couldn't stop watching this train wreck of a movie. Absolutely terrible in all aspects. We really don't know why we felt the need to see it through to the end. I gave it a 1 because it truly boggles my mind. I guess watch it?
3 of 6 users found this helpful33
All this user's reviews
3
EpicSurvivorSep 15, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The Movie is 1 hour and 50 minutes long I literally wasted 1 hour and 20 minutes on this cheaply made garbage literally for nothing! what a waste. The effects towards the end are super cheap! I've seen Netflix movies with more effort than this and that's saying A LOT!! What kept me watching that long was because I was waiting for the Plot twist but boy what a HUGE disappointment it is. What makes it so terrible is the Effects used and specially the BIG plot twist the Presentation is just so badly done, so cheap! The movie starts out very strong, keeps the viewers attention but when the plot twist is revealed everything that was good about the movie turns into a cheap B Studio movie and the effects of the creature? Wow what a ripoff. Wait when you watch the Jail scene. For a movie that starts out as a solid 7 the first hour and 20 minutes that scene is so cheap and the ones before that when the creature is revealed that it plunges into a 3. I am honestly not even going to continue watching I feel offended as a horror super fan, this is embarrassing. Its so extremely corny. This gets a 3 out of 10 from me. Expand
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
3
kman1014Sep 11, 2021
This film is the most boring cinema I’ve seen in a very long time. It only gets points for its style and cheesy appeal
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
1
Natesmith1121Sep 11, 2021
Absolutely terrible. Who greenlighted this movie? There are college/indie films with better acting and plot progression.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
9
AugureSep 11, 2021
This is one edgy pop-horror movie, James Wan style. It's starts of a bit cheasy in the dialogue (a shame) but the actual plot, unraveling, cinematography and action is stupid cool and more refreshing that a Xth spin-off of the conjuring.This is one edgy pop-horror movie, James Wan style. It's starts of a bit cheasy in the dialogue (a shame) but the actual plot, unraveling, cinematography and action is stupid cool and more refreshing that a Xth spin-off of the conjuring. People with taste and culture (especially in the particular genre that is horror) will appreciate this movie while other people may prefer more boring, classical and unoriginal one, but it was definitely a cool surprise that I didn't not expect. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
jamessSep 11, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. After dipping his toe in big budget films in the Fast And Furious franchise and the DC universe, James Wan returns to his pulpy-Leigh Whannell partnered roots with Malignant. It's more along the lines of, say, Dead Silence than Saw. I've seen reviews mention the campy aspects of the film and I'd call it pulpy instead. Like Tales From The Crypt or Amazing Stories kind of pulpy. And the title which I kept mistaking as Malicious or Malficient, makes perfect sense as the precise definition of malignant is "tending to invade normal tissue or to recur after removal". Then there's the underground Seattle location with the building atop the damaged portion of the city that remains pretty much intact. Thematically fits. It's bat turd crazy, but in a good way. I've also seen comparisons to directors like DePalma and Raimi. I would add to the list, thematically, Frank Henenlotter of Basket Case and Brain Damage fame. That should give you an idea of what type of film Wan was aiming for. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
moviemitch96Sep 11, 2021
Here's a horror flick from director James Wan that sees a young woman haunted by her past and visions of people dying all around her. She must discover the mysterious reason behind all of these occurrences before it's too late. I went intoHere's a horror flick from director James Wan that sees a young woman haunted by her past and visions of people dying all around her. She must discover the mysterious reason behind all of these occurrences before it's too late. I went into this one with moderately low expectations, having only watched the trailer once, and I gotta say that I was not at all prepared for just how cringy and flat-out bad this film would turn out to be, even with my low expectations. What starts off in the first half as a mysterious psychological horror thriller (and a surprisingly slow one at that) quickly dives headfirst into absolutely absurd supernatural slasher horror schlock, complete with terrible cgi and effects. On top of that, terrible and hammy acting is provided from practically everybody involved here, with several moments coming off as unintentionally hilarious often times due to the actors and their line delivery. The final act was really just something else, and not in a good way at all. I can't remember the last time a film jumped the shark in its final act worse than this one, and the ending, like the rest of the film, was just cheesy, predictable, and completely unsatisfying. Overall, this was not only not scary and full of cheap jump scares, gore, and forced comic relief moments, but it also just reaffirms my belief that this is why the horror genre has been slowly dying over the years. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
kirkenderSep 19, 2021
What if Basketcase were remade with a 40 million dollar budget and was also a haunted house / action movie / thriller / X-files / Giallo / copy & paste of a bunch of other genres? Are you exhausted already? Is this movie trying to be funny? IWhat if Basketcase were remade with a 40 million dollar budget and was also a haunted house / action movie / thriller / X-files / Giallo / copy & paste of a bunch of other genres? Are you exhausted already? Is this movie trying to be funny? I sure rolled my eyes the whole time. The whole thing is really predictable, despite the ridiculous premise. You can see the scares coming from a mile away. The acting and script is appalling. It's way too long, cut it down to 75 minutes and it could be legit entertaining. There's too many plot threads that don't contribute to the story and go nowhere. Big budget and horror rarely go together and this is no exception. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Rakib0301Sep 10, 2021
Great film. I really enjoyed it. People always want crappy jumpscares that are cheap but this film shows there's much more to horror than jumpscares
3 of 7 users found this helpful34
All this user's reviews
10
Dip0Sep 10, 2021
It's a good movie . James Wan is awesome .
Not only the horror, the fight sequences are also good .
3 of 8 users found this helpful35
All this user's reviews
0
benjones1976Sep 11, 2021
Laughingly bad to the point I had to stop the movie and fast forward to the end, which was cringe worthy.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
Peter20Sep 10, 2021
Insanity, ridiculousness, and a lot fun. A must watch if you're bored of the same stale horror modern tropes. A genuinely fun time. Lots of gore and lots of surprises. This movie is bonkers in the best way possible.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
10
samuraizeroSep 10, 2021
This is James best work. Like the Matrix of horror movies as far as being something that pushes the genre forward ! Great movie and a must watch. Has one of the best action sequences I ever seen a horror movie ever !!!!!
A ware horror movie
This is James best work. Like the Matrix of horror movies as far as being something that pushes the genre forward ! Great movie and a must watch. Has one of the best action sequences I ever seen a horror movie ever !!!!!
A ware horror movie that focuses on being an actually good movie instead of just jump scares !!!!!
Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
9
dharmaSep 11, 2021
Fun, bonkers horror flick courtesy of James Wan. This film will split audiences and critics with its audacity. Either you will say WT% or be hollering and cheering at its twist and turns. I found this to be an original film that cements WanFun, bonkers horror flick courtesy of James Wan. This film will split audiences and critics with its audacity. Either you will say WT% or be hollering and cheering at its twist and turns. I found this to be an original film that cements Wan as a true master of horror, The John Carpenter for our generation. All the tricks and trades that he learned, be it in the horror and the action genre are well used here. To say more would be a travesty, but this in my opinion is one of the best horror film of 2021. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
5
ScienceAdvisorSep 11, 2021
Technically this is great, however it completely fails as a horror and is a schizophrenic comedy without any apparent structure. It is not scary in the least, and it makes no sense. It was like a child with ADHD was asked to tell a storyTechnically this is great, however it completely fails as a horror and is a schizophrenic comedy without any apparent structure. It is not scary in the least, and it makes no sense. It was like a child with ADHD was asked to tell a story while they were high on Halloween candy. The downside is that the 'story' is incoherent, trying to be everything at all times with reason. This leads to dialogue and motivation that the director could not handle, and the acting appear to be poor, yet if you have seen enough bad movies, you know these actors and actresses are doing the best with the material they have. Some are comparing Malignant to Evil Dead series, but that is a superficial comparison as that classic series had an infinite amount of structure compared to this.

The real shock is that this does have a lot of fun moments, and may be worth a watch if you are into these movies. This does not change the fact that it is not a good movie. A lot of reviewers fall into the trap of thinking that if they like it, it must be at least a 7. This is quite possibly one of those movies, where it is objectively not very good based on what it wanted to accomplish, but is entertaining in unintentional ways that elevate it.
Just be prepared to have a bit of a headache, and the need to mutter WTF over and over, after the movie ends. The twist is highly predicable, but due to the pathological need to do nothing in the standard method, you will never guess how it is carried out. If there was any logic to this, then the cast could actually follow and give a more grounded performance (again this in on the director, not them). So hopefully when this gets a sequel, it will try to be a bit more coherent while acknowledging it was an accidental comedy, and leaning into that.

5/10 - Objectively
7/10 - Subjectively (which may change once my brain heals and I give it a second watch)
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
9
mariete2007_Sep 10, 2021
The movie is amazing.
The movie starts off slow but it's going to grow and the third act is impressive, and the direction and photography are amazing.
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
OwenSoundSep 10, 2021
First off I want to say that if you go into this expecting a horror movie you will probably be disappointed. This is a mystery/thriller with horror elements. Plot wise there are definitely some holes, but it's really enjoyable if you justFirst off I want to say that if you go into this expecting a horror movie you will probably be disappointed. This is a mystery/thriller with horror elements. Plot wise there are definitely some holes, but it's really enjoyable if you just hold back your expectations of it being a horror film and be curious to learn about what the movie is gonna show you. This movie does however have a lot going for it if you think of it as a mystery and go in open minded. Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
10
thedaarkbattySep 11, 2021
Best scary movie I have ever seen in my life. I love plot twist with scary face. WOuld recoomend you begin a watch..
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
9
BlackMajikMan90Sep 10, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's Deep Red meets Basket Case meets Insidious and it is glorious!

It's not for everyone but it absolutely is for me.
Expand
1 of 7 users found this helpful16
All this user's reviews
10
Lambo442Sep 18, 2021
Despite some negative reviews I was not only pleased with this film but thought it was an original masterpiece. Insidious is my favourite horror film of all time and James Wan further demonstrates his versatility here with this homage toDespite some negative reviews I was not only pleased with this film but thought it was an original masterpiece. Insidious is my favourite horror film of all time and James Wan further demonstrates his versatility here with this homage to Dario Argento and other 80s slashers. Although it's a slasher is has a somewhat supernatural element to it and certainly isn't predictable or formulaic. I love how Wan is brave enough to push the boundaries of convention and try something new. This is gonna be another love/hate movie I feel as it's so out there and bizarre. The camera work is incredible as per usual and is used creatively to add to that sense of terror. The music is top notch and trademark Wan, unsettling and discordant. Love it love it love it. Some of it is a little unbelievable and fantastical, but even there I think Wan is aware of this as at some points the film morphs into some kind of black comedy like Reanimator. James Wan you are the man! Sure the acting is bad at points and some of it just doesn't make sense, but I dare you not to enjoy it. All that stuff just adds to the intended B-movie feel Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
mrc_brnSep 27, 2021
Thoroughly enjoyed this deeply flawed, but very entertaining movie. While technically a horror movie, it's definitely not very scary. It teeters on the silly in fact. I really doesn't know what it wants to be. But there's a hard to put myThoroughly enjoyed this deeply flawed, but very entertaining movie. While technically a horror movie, it's definitely not very scary. It teeters on the silly in fact. I really doesn't know what it wants to be. But there's a hard to put my finger on energy in the story telling that kept me watching with a not small amount of pleasure. If only to yell out 'come on, that's ridiculous' more than once. Particularly all of the police who apparently all graduated from the star wars stormtroopers school of shooting. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
Brent_MarchantSep 18, 2021
Given the overlong, deadly serious nature of the story's slow-paced, dreadfully dull, cliche-ridden buildup, I soon found myself watching the clock, waiting for this one to end and wondering what additional tedium I'd be subjected to in theGiven the overlong, deadly serious nature of the story's slow-paced, dreadfully dull, cliche-ridden buildup, I soon found myself watching the clock, waiting for this one to end and wondering what additional tedium I'd be subjected to in the concluding sequence. Much to my surprise, however, the film actually gets better in its end run by turning into a gloriously campy romp that had me in stitches the rest of the way. In fact, that drastic change in tone made me wonder why director James Wan hadn't handled it as such all the way through from the beginning; it would have made for a much, much better film. However, the picture's initial attempt at being "serious drama" falls flat on its ass and only gets better when it decides to take itself far less seriously. In the interest of full disclosure, I should add that I'm not much of a horror movie fan, because I find it's an art form that's truly difficult to do well, with most contemporary offerings falling prey to material that's not especially scary or descending into gore fests aimed at seeing how high the body count can get. With some retooling, this one might have succeeded at doing something distinctly different and genuinely entertaining. But, as it stands now, this is destined to become a midnight show cult classic that's probably best watched blitzed out of one's mind. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
sabbathSep 11, 2021
Anything over a 5 rating is flat out someone selling the film. James Wan shows very little of his ability in this pretty boring horror film. The script is standard fare at best. We’ve seen similar so many times; often better executed. TheAnything over a 5 rating is flat out someone selling the film. James Wan shows very little of his ability in this pretty boring horror film. The script is standard fare at best. We’ve seen similar so many times; often better executed. The scares are cheap and tired. It gets a 4 rating only because of some nice visuals and set pieces. And for those saying it’s a homage to 80’s horror, well just go back and watch one of those. You’re wasting your time with this one. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
Stream2BigScreeSep 11, 2021
Alright, alright, alright, alright. We're back with the early Halloween season spooks with Malignant. This film is being released in theaters and on HBO Max for 30 days. If you haven't heard of this film, or not a horror fan, the trailer isAlright, alright, alright, alright. We're back with the early Halloween season spooks with Malignant. This film is being released in theaters and on HBO Max for 30 days. If you haven't heard of this film, or not a horror fan, the trailer is below. In Malignant, Madison becomes paralyzed by violence in her life and the shocking visions of gruesome murders. She is tormented by these events that turn out to be more than just visions. What's her connection and why should we watch? I'll get to that.

As you can see from the trailer, Madison is going through it with these visions/malevolent entity (Gabriel) and so are the victims. That's actually a part of the movie that succeeds. It is not just that you feel stuck in the visions or that you feel a part of the scenes, but the film does a really good job of following Gabriel. In fact, they do so well at it that I started to root for Gabriel in these scenes. Now that I think about it, that might be a negative. Ah, well. Other than the physics of Gabriel's movements, my guy is possibly the most athletic villain of all time and he really brings the pain. The problem with Gabriel and the movie is unlike The Conjuring, we have no clue where his powers come from. It's literally the most random thing in the world, unexplained and just perplexing. I mean even in the final explanation of the the story I sat there and said, "Why would they think this would work? This makes no sense." Nevertheless, we come to movies to suspend belief and that is what I had to do. That's a mixed bad and probably the only reason to watch this movie. Let's see the bad guy go wild and be confused why this is even possible while doing it.

While saying that, I do appreciate the original perspective Malignant brings on malevolent entities in the horror world. What I don't appreciate is the lack of scares in this flick. The movie starts off in one realm and we just end somewhere completely different. I think we've gone in the paranormal, ghost, demon, monster bag a bit too much recently. This gives us slasher, with a semi-demon, and psychological thriller all mashed in one. I'm not mad at what they tried to do, but the execution of continuity is just non-existent. In writing this film, the addition of a scene or two ,or even a line or two, could've fixed the holes in the understanding of Gabriel. Nothing could've fixed the physics though. But, what that tells me is there's room to grow/expand upon in the series. I'm not certain there will be a second film, but I can see how something could break through again with James Wan leading it. The Conjuring series has been so popular that they might just give Malignant a follow-up. I'd ask for the whole cast to be changed excepted for the lady cop but that might be asking too much.

Malignant is a strangely bad but pleasing early Halloween season movie. From all of the commercials and trailers, I feel a bit mislead by Malignant. Then, the title and title sequence gives away a lot more than you need to know. The story is executed in an original way which actually is quite pleasing but also quite ridiculous. Viewers have to give in to the absurdity and impractical physics of the human body for you to truly enjoy this flick. I think horror fans will be a bit disappointed in the scares in the movie but still entertained by the violence. They should grab a handful of popcorn to enjoy the spectacle. General viewers, who may just have HBO Max, this movie is only scary for about 10 minutes altogether, so if you can get past those parts, you might enjoy rolling your eyes at some bloody and ridiculous scenes and faces, under duress.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MrPajamasSep 11, 2021
The film Malignant immediately caught my attention with its opening. There is quite a long period of incomprehension afterwards, but gradually various information starts to be revealed, which makes everything start to make more sense, untilThe film Malignant immediately caught my attention with its opening. There is quite a long period of incomprehension afterwards, but gradually various information starts to be revealed, which makes everything start to make more sense, until we actually get to see some of the revelations. I think it worked. Wan's style was on full display here. At one point I felt like I was watching The Conjuring. One minute I felt like I was watching Insidious and one minute I felt like I was watching Dead Silence. At one point I was even reminded of the Saw series. I just think Malignant is such a mix, and it fit me. I'd also like to highlight the music, which was really cool. For me, it's a good movie that I can recommend. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
JLauSep 12, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Woman is having visions of the murders of a group of medical people who end up being those who surgically removed her parasitic twin when she was younger but the twin was evil, is now back and is the one committing these murders, from inside her head, literally. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
5
iCampoRamilNov 8, 2021
No sé qué le pasa a James Wan pero sus películas solo bajan y bajan de nivel. Aunque entiendo esta propuesta.
La peli es curiosa, rozando lo interesante, tiene ese toque de misterio y suspense, pero creo que se le va algo de las manos,
No sé qué le pasa a James Wan pero sus películas solo bajan y bajan de nivel. Aunque entiendo esta propuesta.
La peli es curiosa, rozando lo interesante, tiene ese toque de misterio y suspense, pero creo que se le va algo de las manos, situaciones muy surrealistas y ridículas, que te sacan de la película, es todo muy raro, aunque el concepto, lo dicho, es interesante. Además, las actuaciones no ayudan mucho a meterte en la película, para mí, un mal reparto.

· Cosas buenas: Tiene buenos momentos, el concepto es interesante, bizarro, la acción es de lo mejorcito, y los momentos de terror sabe lograrlos.
· Cosas malas: Tanto tiene momentos buenos como muy ridículos, diálogos vacíos y una historia difícil de encajar, es una peli de guilty pleasure, de ver con amigos, de risas, pero sin más.
· Conclusión: Entiendo su homenaje al cine bizarro de los 80s, pero justo en el momento en el que la vi, para mi no encajaba, y sigue sin encajar, aunque deja momentos chulos, y seguro que se va a convertir en una de esas míticas de este género bizarril, pero deja mucho que desear.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
sergiopalma02Nov 16, 2021
Give me more weird James Wan horror movies pleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeease.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TheQuietGamerSep 18, 2021
When the true greats of the genre weren't releasing the likes of Halloween or A Nightmare on Elm Street, they were making lesser known and more ridiculous works of horror that have only ever really been picked up by hardcore enthusiasts.When the true greats of the genre weren't releasing the likes of Halloween or A Nightmare on Elm Street, they were making lesser known and more ridiculous works of horror that have only ever really been picked up by hardcore enthusiasts. Despite being nowhere near as iconic or well-received as their best efforts, these films were still made with a great deal of creativity and often with same level of passion. I'm talking about titles such as Deadly Blessing or Ghosts of Mars.

That seems to be the style of movie James Wan was going for here. It's evident that the Insidious director made this one just to have some fun and is clearly having an absolute blast with his crazy premise, wild camera angles, playful soundtrack (which occasionally calls to mind Saw), and ludicrous gory action. The results are one of the most insane things I've ever seen and it is AWESOME! Which you wouldn't guess right away due to what a slow start it gets off to.

Malignant is actually kind of boring at first and had trouble maintaining my attention early on. Its characters, setup, and even worse the scares feel cliché and predictable. It doesn't take too long for things to get interesting with its mystery though, and when the reveals start coming it explodes into a delightfully unhinged rollercoaster of madness that left me gawking at the screen in disbelief and ecstasy.

Wan's willingness to fully embrace the illogical and maybe even dumb nature of the material means this will never get the same level of respect as his two Conjuring entries. Yet, it will always have a place in the hearts of the real horror devotees, likely showing up on countless lists of underappreciated gems on websites like Bloody Disgusting in the future, and further cements his legacy as the Wes Craven/John Carpenter of this generation.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
BasilZeroSep 24, 2021
Malignant is like the 80s/90s style of slasher films. Some of the character choices/acting is questionable in compared to the rest of the movie. The story overall is pretty good - the lore and the overall plot unfolding was nicely done. AMalignant is like the 80s/90s style of slasher films. Some of the character choices/acting is questionable in compared to the rest of the movie. The story overall is pretty good - the lore and the overall plot unfolding was nicely done. A lot of blood/gore in the movie , so beware of that. The movie is not groundbreaking for the genre but it is a nice addition to a large list of slasher type of films. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
mparrish2009Sep 22, 2021
Instant classic of the slasher genre. It's an homage to 80s horror with an absolutely crazy twist that makes it one of the most original and fun horror movies in recent memory.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobApr 17, 2022
A somewhat interesting idea is buried with a muddled, uninteresting plot, slow pacing, and a weak cast that does nothing to help elevate the film. This one would have benefitted from a rewrite or two to tighten up the forgettable dialogue andA somewhat interesting idea is buried with a muddled, uninteresting plot, slow pacing, and a weak cast that does nothing to help elevate the film. This one would have benefitted from a rewrite or two to tighten up the forgettable dialogue and add more depth to these shallow characters. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ozymandias79Oct 11, 2021
A solid original horror flick and the action is awesome. See it!!!!!!!!!!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
MattBrady99Sep 22, 2021
“Look at what the cancer has become!”

‘Malignant’, a movie that after some time reflecting on it, I’m still not sure what to think of it. The movie is so messy and becomes all sorts of things, but in some weird way it’s still incredibly well
“Look at what the cancer has become!”

‘Malignant’, a movie that after some time reflecting on it, I’m still not sure what to think of it. The movie is so messy and becomes all sorts of things, but in some weird way it’s still incredibly well made. This reminds me of when another horror director named Sam Raimi, who after directing three superhero movies like ‘Spider-Man’ then went on to make something like ‘Drag Me to Hell’, a campy horror comedy that nobody was ready for. While ‘Malignant’ is nowhere near as good as ‘Drag Me to Hell’, but I’m glad campy horror movies are not dead yet and I find it amusing how modern audiences, who are more exposed to jump scared horror flicks, are reacting to this.

This movie is so freaking bonkers in every sense of the word. It’s so out there that I found myself laughing at some scenes. The structure is so bizarre and there’s multiple scenes that when given some thought it doesn’t make too much sense. I can’t tell if it’s self-aware or not. It starts off like a creature feature with scientists running down a corridor talking quickly about the “thing” and how out of control it has gotten, while everyone is trying to sedate “it”. Then it turns into a James Wan Insidious/Conjuring movie with the usual build scares scares. But then it becomes a slasher movie with a killer named Gabriel on the loose. And finally, it turns into a campy experimental action movie that goes off the walls.

Either way, I enjoyed it so much that it felt like a breath of fresh air, even if before what I said sounded harsh. I haven't had this much fun with a horror movie in what feels like awhile. I miss these types of movies that we rarely get nowadays.

With this being a James Wan movie, it’s well filmed and he does some amazing things with the camera work, especially with the police station scene, an unbroken long take massacre action sequence, which was beautiful to watch. This is also James Wans most violent movie he’s made, and I freaking loved it. And yes, even more gory than ‘Saw’. A lot of blood and bone breaking.

The trailers and marketing didn't do justice for this movie. I didn't hear anything about this movie leading up to its release. The trailer itself made it look like a generic mid 2000's supernatural horror. But then again, how the hell are you supposed to market something like this.

The twist may or may not be predictable for some, but in terms of how it was executed, not predictable at all.

Overall rating: What more can I say, see it if you’re curious. It grows on you after seeing it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Rebecca31Dec 28, 2021
A unique take on the horror genre that only James Wan could deliver. Madison (Annabelle Wallis) is suffering from horrific visions of grisly murders. Things get a lot worse for Madison when she realises these supposed dreams are in factA unique take on the horror genre that only James Wan could deliver. Madison (Annabelle Wallis) is suffering from horrific visions of grisly murders. Things get a lot worse for Madison when she realises these supposed dreams are in fact terrifying realities.

I wasn’t at all sure what to expect when watching Malignant and I’d heard quite a few people singing its praises particularly the second half. I have to say when it started I wasn’t overly impressed but as it progresses and Madison’s visions becomes more vivid and gruesome I was intrigued and by the time the third act kicks in it jumped from a two star movie to a four star one. It goes absolutely mental and I loved it. There’s not much else I can say regarding the plot as Malignant definitely benefits from the less you know the better. Although one thing I couldn’t stand was the soundtrack. I personally hated it and every time the music makes its dramatic entrance it’s overpowering and intrusive, honestly it felt like a soundtrack from another movie that just didn’t fit. Every time it kicked in it just began to annoy me. Aside from that Malignant is definitely one of the best horrors of the year. I always appreciate when the horror genre tries something new and Malignant went to a whole new level of crazy.

If you can make it through the first two thirds of Malignant I promise it will be worth it in the end. So horror fans if you haven’t already seen Malignant be sure to add it to your list. Highly recommended.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
vancityboyNov 24, 2021
thank you james wan. origional scripts are rare and need to be encouraged. a big ambitious movie that pays off.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PanchogulSep 12, 2021
Es definitivamente una película de James Wan, de principio a fin, es bastante gráfica y es muy entretenida, el problema no es el ritmo ni los personajes, mucho menos la banda sonora, el problema es que hay un revoltijo de génerosEs definitivamente una película de James Wan, de principio a fin, es bastante gráfica y es muy entretenida, el problema no es el ritmo ni los personajes, mucho menos la banda sonora, el problema es que hay un revoltijo de géneros cinematográficos que nunca terminan de cuajar, empieza con suspenso, luego terror sobrenatural, luego slasher con toques de giallo y finalmente acción desenfrenada con masacre incluida. Lo giros de trama funcionan solo por cumplir pero nada del otro mundo, en general es una buena película, quizás decepcione a muchos debido a la enorme ausencia de sustos de todo tipo y un final simplón e incipido. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
manningn15Sep 14, 2021
Excellent performances from Annabelle Wallis Marina Mazepa, and Ray Chase, superb special effects makeup, outstanding visual effects, as well as its very fresh and unique twist make up for Malignant's uneven tone at time and cheesy moments.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
d0vla11Dec 14, 2021
There's an interesting story idea that is moving throughout the movie, but it is so poorly delivered that i would hardly recommend anyone to watch this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SoulWarfareJan 2, 2022
Came in for a suspenseful horror movie.

Came out seeing the best chair throwing scene in cinema history
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JeBjBoJan 6, 2022
I love this movie! Props to James Wan for having a vision and going all the way with it. I honestly don't remember the last time when a two hour horror movie entertained me that well. It never gets boring and the twist is stupidly awesome!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
RichardSayreSep 30, 2021
MALIGNANT feels like a classic, bloody, trippy as hell slasher ripped out of the '90s - right up until it's insane and wild third act tears the entire plot apart in the best way possible. It's a B-movie made by an A-list direct, and James WanMALIGNANT feels like a classic, bloody, trippy as hell slasher ripped out of the '90s - right up until it's insane and wild third act tears the entire plot apart in the best way possible. It's a B-movie made by an A-list direct, and James Wan is a sick, evil genius for giving us this one. The acting is fine throughout, but tonally the movie flirts from genre to genre and Wan handles it with the deft hand of a master. Part mystery, part crime, part slasher, mostly style over substance, but, man, that third act just **** rocks. Definitely one of the best films of the year, it was too fun not to be. James Wan has cemented his spot in the Horror Hall of Fame. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
BulgarianCriticOct 20, 2021
For me this movie was just a more zany and wacky modern version of Jekyll and Hyde. The beginning and middle parts were pretty slow making you think this was more of the serious horror but by the end it became an action packed matrix battleFor me this movie was just a more zany and wacky modern version of Jekyll and Hyde. The beginning and middle parts were pretty slow making you think this was more of the serious horror but by the end it became an action packed matrix battle movie(which for me was actually the most fun part)with an alright story but not that well of a payoff. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
theredskyOct 9, 2021
A film that I would like a lot more if it didn’t feel like it wanted to be a serious horror film. That’s my biggest issue with this. Sometimes it feels like it’s homaging the shock value horror films of the 70s and 80s and sometimes it feelsA film that I would like a lot more if it didn’t feel like it wanted to be a serious horror film. That’s my biggest issue with this. Sometimes it feels like it’s homaging the shock value horror films of the 70s and 80s and sometimes it feels like it’s trying to be a serious horror film. If it was going for that first one, then they did a terrible job at trying to present it that way. If it had just stuck with that tone, then the score for this would be much higher. James Wan’s visual style is definitely on point here. The camerawork is great and the transition of visual effects between scenes looks great. It’s the story here that is the problem. It’s incredibly nonsensical and I can’t tell if it’s trying to be like that or not. The performances are fine. No one is doing anything outstanding although you can tell that some performances are very over the top which I did like. I didn’t think there was an awful performance though. The use of gore is kind of cool sometimes but the action scenes are hilariously nonsensical. There is one Police Station action scene that is hilariously bad. The film being enjoyable is another compliment I can give it. I was definitely having a blast watching this one. The plot twist at the end is what showed me the two conflicting ideas for this. It’s hilarious and awkward and I think that’s what it’s going for but the rest of the film takes itself so seriously that I can’t tell if that’s what it was trying to do. If you want a weird, campy, and hilariously bad horror film then I would definitely recommend this but I would suggest watching it with friends like I did. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
seabassreviewsDec 23, 2021
i was gonna write this off as an okay horror movie, but that twisty switcharoonie at the end had me slack-jawed. overall this was a really interesting concept, but the almost two hour runtime kinda killed the momentum, but still a pretty good movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
BeardedYodaSep 26, 2021
If there is one thing that I can definitively say about this film, it is that it's unique. The aesthetics, cinematography, choreography, and creature design are all exceptional and are very enjoyable. However, the plot is wanting. At times itIf there is one thing that I can definitively say about this film, it is that it's unique. The aesthetics, cinematography, choreography, and creature design are all exceptional and are very enjoyable. However, the plot is wanting. At times it is hard to tell what type of story Malignant wants to tell. Does it want to be cheesy or dramatic? Who is to say. That, combined with some plot issues, brings down the film as a whole. That being said, despite my lower score, I definitely recommend watching the movie if you have an HBO Max subscription or when its cheap to rent. One action scene in particular was absolutely insane to watch and really shows that this film does have some bits of gold in it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
akshatmahajanSep 23, 2021
Malignant was entertaining to watch. The movie was combination of horror, drama and suspense. The movie starts being a horror one then turns to psychological drama but the transition is smooth.

I don't know why this movie was not promoted
Malignant was entertaining to watch. The movie was combination of horror, drama and suspense. The movie starts being a horror one then turns to psychological drama but the transition is smooth.

I don't know why this movie was not promoted properly otherwise this movie would have performed good at box office. The acting performances were good. Everyone played their parts nicely. The tone and environment setup was also good. Direction was also good, not strong. James Wan is known for horror movies and this movie is his first horror movie since 2016.

The movie is getting mixed to positive reviews but I would suggest you to watch this movie and judge for yourself. Not everyone has same taste. If you ask me, I would say it was a good entertainer.

Overall, everyone should give this movie a chance as it deserves it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SamuelGN_22Sep 14, 2021
James Wan returns to direct a horror film since The Conjuring 2 (2016). With new ideas, Malignant proves that he is one of the masters of modern horror.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
ThisGuy1Sep 13, 2021
There is enjoyment to be had in watching this film. It is campy. It is not as scary as some of Wan's previous work. However, there is an element of horror to it that is somewhat unsettling. I loved the twist. It definitely subvertedThere is enjoyment to be had in watching this film. It is campy. It is not as scary as some of Wan's previous work. However, there is an element of horror to it that is somewhat unsettling. I loved the twist. It definitely subverted expectations. And, although there are aspects that I don't understand, the twist makes sense when looking back at the rest of the movie. I wish the third act would have been a little more Alien and a little less Aliens, but it worked in a B-movie kind of way. I think most "fans" of James Wan who gave this low scores need to re-watch his previous horror films. All of them have varying degrees of "camp/cheese" to them. Malignant wasn't too far off what Wan regularly delivers. I sincerely hope Wan continues to do horror films, now that he's "in demand." He's has shown flashes of David Fincher (Saw vs Se7en), Wes Craven (Dead Silence vs A Nightmare on Elm Street), and a mix of William Friedkin and Steven Spielberg (both Insidious and Conjuring films vs The Exorcist and Poltergeist). Malignant has aspects of David Cronenberg and John Carpenter. The more I think about this film, the more I like it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
anfeherle89Feb 17, 2022
very boring story, i know this is a movie, this is fiction, this is not real, but the stories in the movies must be nice, a lot of absurd screams, bad actuations and a villian that you can not undersntad, the end is very very bad!!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
HabibiehakimSep 20, 2021
What i really like from Malignant is the cinematography, the make up, and the goryness, now if this is a Horror movie, compare to Wan's other great horror film like Insidious, The Conjuring, and The Conjuring 2, Malignant is a pretty big downWhat i really like from Malignant is the cinematography, the make up, and the goryness, now if this is a Horror movie, compare to Wan's other great horror film like Insidious, The Conjuring, and The Conjuring 2, Malignant is a pretty big down from all of that previous movie, i've always found James Wan's skills on his horror movie is in the year, the first Conjuring and The Conjuring 2 took place in the 70s and Wan's succeed to make the set and the atmosphere of the 70s so well plus a perfect terrifying story, and that making it so scary, but Malignant is set in present day and the result is for me personally, didn't really work, Insidious took place in present day too on that year, 2010, but it's not as modern as now, Malignant is more succeed in the goryness then the horrorness, am i scared? No, but that doesn't mean the whole movie was bad, Malignant still fills again like i mention in the beginning, the cinematography, the make up, the goryness, plus Annabelle Wallis and Maddie Hasson great perfor mance, you can enjoy the movie more if you watch it with friends and overall Malignant is still an ok worth watching horror film. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LumdogSep 16, 2021
It's certainly different from James Wan's other films. It has this cheesy B-grade horror slasher feel to it, which I'm sure is intentional. The acting is bad and over-the-top and there are some real wtf moments; but it works if you approachIt's certainly different from James Wan's other films. It has this cheesy B-grade horror slasher feel to it, which I'm sure is intentional. The acting is bad and over-the-top and there are some real wtf moments; but it works if you approach it with that mindset. It's not particularly scary so Conjuring & Insidious fans may be disappointed, but I enjoyed it for trying to do something different. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
bshu89Sep 27, 2021
James Wan returns to his horror roots with amazing thrill in Malignant. As a fan of Insidious, The Conjuring, and the original Saw film, I couldn’t wait to see what Wan would bring in a new, original story. And let me tell you, this story isJames Wan returns to his horror roots with amazing thrill in Malignant. As a fan of Insidious, The Conjuring, and the original Saw film, I couldn’t wait to see what Wan would bring in a new, original story. And let me tell you, this story is definitely original.

Malignant harkens back to early 2000s horror films without dumbing down the plot or characters at all. And in the end Wan delivers a very surprising ending that is wonderfully satisfying.

Do not judge this film by the trailers because it doesn’t even come close to telling you anything about this movie. If you’re yearning for something daring and new - I can’t recommend Malignant more. Not to mention this movie had a sequence that will go down as one of my favorites scenes of any movie from 2021
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
YusashiSep 11, 2021
Something new from James Wan which is cool. An Ok-ish movie fun to watch with a cool twist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
itsanopinionSep 12, 2021
By no means was this movie scary, the police station scene was ridiculous. I thought the idea for the antagonist was clever but got a little out of hand. The ending was bleak.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
edelgardvonhresSep 18, 2021
James Wan's Malignant is a narrative whodunit that shows off some impressive visuals and a twist that while could be gathered from the beginning is still a shocking and well executed turn, followed by an absolutely wild final act. And thenJames Wan's Malignant is a narrative whodunit that shows off some impressive visuals and a twist that while could be gathered from the beginning is still a shocking and well executed turn, followed by an absolutely wild final act. And then you watch it again and it all falls apart and you can pick it apart and see that all the tricks and smoke and mirrors and glossy attractions that had doctored your first viewing aren't actually as good as they once seemed. I know it is meant to evoke the schlocky 70's and 80's era of B Movies that you are supposed to find funny with their ridiculous antics, but if that was the true intention of the movie then it should have been advertised as such instead of an intense murder mystery. That's not to say that it isn't fun, of course. It is still worth the one viewing and some people may end up adoring the movie and it's unique killer and style. Overall, it's an average movie that doesn't hold up after the first viewing and becomes an almost monotonous rewatch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
PuchoxrevanSep 21, 2021
Best terror movie of 2021 like horror movies of the 80s, james wan is the goat
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
mckeeartandtoysSep 21, 2021
The story was different. It started out good, but some things were oddly annoying, like the music that played before a scene ended. What was that? I would have never anticipated the ending. It had me to wondering and second-guessing myselfThe story was different. It started out good, but some things were oddly annoying, like the music that played before a scene ended. What was that? I would have never anticipated the ending. It had me to wondering and second-guessing myself until the end. However, the twist of the story was a little silly and far-fetched for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
roselenaperaltaSep 25, 2021
Jēmuzuwan wa **** ni betsu no kō reberu no horā eiga o teikyō shimasu. Machigainaku subarashī kantokudesu.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
yellowpensorezSep 27, 2021
Хороший фильм ужасов, надеюсь, Джеймс Ван сделает продолжение в будущем.
Рекомендуется.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
doebreiOct 1, 2021
Fun to put on with an interesting twist. Nothing crazy our amazing, but an entertaining time for most of it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
victorkarevOct 5, 2021
A really enjoyable mixture of soap opera, cheesy 90's horror movies and modern cinematography and special effects. The director did a fantastic job creating unique scenes, a very enjoyable flick!
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
paltareinaNov 5, 2021
it's camp, but also very bad. but it's camp, so maybe it's not that bad, but it truly is.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
strawhashiraJan 16, 2022
A fun, action-packed thriller rollercoaster that doesn’t define horror, but delivers plenty of chills alongside a fast paced storyline. And of course a memorable twist.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Mosherman1Nov 19, 2021
This movie has great action and horror shots, but the interactions between actors seems super fake. It's like a movie like Sharknado got a massive budget for post production and realistic props, but kept the same horrible acting. Most of theThis movie has great action and horror shots, but the interactions between actors seems super fake. It's like a movie like Sharknado got a massive budget for post production and realistic props, but kept the same horrible acting. Most of the timing is predictable, the character's choices are incredibly unrealistic, and the jump scares get old super fast. Definitely a forgettable horror movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ChanekeCholoDec 13, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. James Wan knows how to play with the plot twists in this film, but he doesn't know how to give them a background. At first, I felt the film very peculiar and in someway incoherence, nevertheless, at the end Malignant achieves coherence with all previous, but like I said without a steady development.
The visual aspect isn't far for his last horror films (The Conjuring 1 & 2), that's why it gets a visual delight, the performances were half fine and the mystery about who or what is the antagonist is very interesting and astonishing.
I have a theory about that abrupt ending, everyone in that scene die and that's why Madison can controls Gabriel quickly, because she before that gets shot from the detective Kekoa and then Gabriel kills his mother and Madison's sister; or outright James Wan didn't know how to end this film, so he just cut to black without show us a precise conclusion and coherent.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JED1229Jan 1, 2022
It’s a pretty slow start, but once the twist there towards the end is revealed I ended up having a decent time with it and thought the sluggish first two acts were worth the wait. That being said, the final line of the film was a cheese fest.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
SophiatoriaFeb 18, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This movie was just pure magical horror. Funny, yes. Fantastical, definitely. The plot was like a breath of fresh air after watching Hollywood pump out factory remake after factory remake. This movie made me remember why I enjoyed going to the movies to watch movies: for the originality and emotional transcendence you feel after an amazing plot twist. I think the general consensus seems to be that they couldn't take the movie seriously because of the general "silly" atmosphere, however, not only do I disagree--and would argue that the movie is amazing despite the silliness, purely on the fact that the special effects and brutal murder scenes are incredibly well done---but I would argue that the silliness simply adds another layer of greatness to this movie. [SPOILERS AHEAD] The entire movie, Maddie is in a state of confusion and is slowly losing her sanity because she has no way of knowing what is real and what is not. The silliness and almost comic book style of the movie is completely unexpected for a horror movie, and some would probably go as far as to say that has no place in a horror movie and therefore, Malignant is not a true horror movie. Do you see where I'm going with this? Regardless of whether or not the bad acting, funny music, the effects for Gabriel, were intentional or not, this movie does an amazinh job of confusing the viewer, forcing you to question every second of the movie, even the movie itself. Was it intentional? Who is really commiting the crimes? Why is the music's timing so histerical? Am I scared or am I just confused? This confusion perfectly parallels the confusion that Maddie feels througout the movie, and it just makes the horrific plot twist hit SO much harder near the end. There are SO many other aspects of this movie that I think are great but I thought these were the most pressing to share. If you don't appreciate this movie for its originality and the special effects, then I'm sorry, but I will judge you and assume you are a boring person. To the rest of us Gabes (possible Malignant fan base name?? Sounds like babes kinda??), you guys are all sexy, fun, and I hope you never stop being your authentic selves, no matter what anyone says!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
Slasher666Feb 25, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Wan has some interesting stories to tell. Dead Silence and The Nun had secrets to reveal. This film felt like a poor recreation of Stephen King’s The Dark Half. Nice moves by George Young fending of the dastardly spirit. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews