Universal Pictures | Release Date: December 22, 1999
7.0
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 90 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
63
Mixed:
16
Negative:
11
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
ErickCOct 5, 2005
Hats off to jim carrey he really is andy in this movie amazing, breathtaking! a must see!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MithrasFeb 16, 2008
A hilarious movie, regardless of its capture of Kaufman's life. I have never even heard of Kaufman before this film, and while accuracy to historical events / people in any film does add a lot to someone who knows the history, or A hilarious movie, regardless of its capture of Kaufman's life. I have never even heard of Kaufman before this film, and while accuracy to historical events / people in any film does add a lot to someone who knows the history, or someone seeking a resource from which to learn about the history, I personally do not believe accuracy should factor in one's opinion of a movie; this is of course to the extent that it does not disgust through blaspheming the character to the point that it could be seen as bad taste. So from a completely separate from previous experience viewpoint, this movie was hilarious and enjoyable through and through. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MaximI.Aug 8, 2008
I'me not a touchy guy, we Russians have lived thru so much thru our history that crying is the last thing we do. But after this movie, i cried. I remember when i first saw it, i was 14. Jim is a genious. He's an amazing comedy I'me not a touchy guy, we Russians have lived thru so much thru our history that crying is the last thing we do. But after this movie, i cried. I remember when i first saw it, i was 14. Jim is a genious. He's an amazing comedy player, the greatest the American continent ever new. And as we have seen, he's an amazing drama player. When he combines it, it's cruel. People cant take it. Nothing makes you want to cry more then laugh thru tears, and shurely in the true way he does it. If you want robots with iron heads (empty inside, like those who watch it), dont visit this. Really. The sad end, the amaizing person he played, how cruel a world can be to a man. Great movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
TokyochuchuJun 3, 2012
I had no interest or connection with Andy Kaufman besides liking R.E.M and pro wrestling, but Man on the Moon proved an entertaining and enlightening biopic. The movie is well made and has a truly excellent central performance by Jim Carrey.I had no interest or connection with Andy Kaufman besides liking R.E.M and pro wrestling, but Man on the Moon proved an entertaining and enlightening biopic. The movie is well made and has a truly excellent central performance by Jim Carrey. It doesn't really inspire me to check out Kaufman's body of work but it was definitely worth watching. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
jp992751Jan 18, 2011
watching it you deeply desire to know more about the person the movie is about. Man on the Moon did this for me. It gave me a deep desire to learn more about Andy Kaufman and a want to have witnessed the man before his demise (or is he stillwatching it you deeply desire to know more about the person the movie is about. Man on the Moon did this for me. It gave me a deep desire to learn more about Andy Kaufman and a want to have witnessed the man before his demise (or is he still around somewhere still pulling pranks? ;) Whatever the reality is Carrey gave a performance of the life time, I can't say he portrayed Kaufman perfectly as I never really witnessed anything Andy had ever done, but if he was as Jim Carrey portrayed him than I am sure he was brilliant. Bravo to Jim and bravo Man on the Moon a movie for anyone who appreciates good drama, comedy, and a person who was so revolutionary in both that he was never was appreciated for what he did but now we can appreciate it. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
lasttimeisawJan 26, 2015
I enter the film while being literally oblivious of who is Andy Kaufman, as far as I know, the film is mostly famed because it hitherto has been Jim Carrey’s most Oscar-worthy performance, yet being blatantly snubbed again after his dramaI enter the film while being literally oblivious of who is Andy Kaufman, as far as I know, the film is mostly famed because it hitherto has been Jim Carrey’s most Oscar-worthy performance, yet being blatantly snubbed again after his drama venture in Peter Weir’s THE TRUMAN SHOW (1998, 8/10).

So in my case, the film is a dedicative portrait of an eccentric entertainer whose ideology of performance is all about entertaining himself and treat his audience as a receptacle of his sensational idiosyncrasy and excruciatingly manipulative fabrications disguised as parody or mockery. Yet, during his short life-span (Andy passed away in 1984 at the age of 35), this methodology makes him a unique figure in the canvas of American comedians (although he would never condescend himself as a “comedian”).

keep reading my review on my blog, google: cinema omnivore, thanks
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SpangleDec 16, 2013
Ok movie right here. Jim Carrey kills it, however, the rest of movie feels as though it's missing something, like something feels a little off (which I guess is appropriate).
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
LEOvsMAOApr 21, 2020
Beautiful film, but as I see not for everyone. Kaufman would smile that fact. Rest In Peace - genius.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
FranzHcriticMay 27, 2014
While as a whole, Miloš Forman created an almost mawkish depiction of the enigmatic Andy Kaufman, with all the cliché's of a biographical film. Jim Carreys almost uncannily identical portrayal of Kaufman, is not even an adaptation of theWhile as a whole, Miloš Forman created an almost mawkish depiction of the enigmatic Andy Kaufman, with all the cliché's of a biographical film. Jim Carreys almost uncannily identical portrayal of Kaufman, is not even an adaptation of the person, but a translation, something that' s seldom seen from palatable or even capable biographicals. It is his magnum opus, and the Academy Awards I think failed to recognize his comedic talent. Though the Golden Globes didn't, as they are more fair. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Meth-dudeOct 19, 2017
It was a pretty interesting biopic. Jim Carrey portrayed Andy Kaufman very well and the movie had a couple of good moments, unfortunately, it was also a little bit boring and we didn't learn anything new. You should watch it if you likeIt was a pretty interesting biopic. Jim Carrey portrayed Andy Kaufman very well and the movie had a couple of good moments, unfortunately, it was also a little bit boring and we didn't learn anything new. You should watch it if you like Kaufman or Carrey, but if not, you can find better biopics out there. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
beeanadouAug 1, 2019
Not entertaining at all. Don't think most of jokes are interesting at all, perhaps the whole story is mocking the Hollywood Comedy industry, but something's missing to make all of this work, anyway the whole thing is too fake to even judge.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
Toasty87Jul 16, 2020
A very respectful tribute but feels rushed and rushed from start to finish.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
HabibiehakimOct 19, 2021
90% of the film i see Andy Kaufman, and not Jim Carrey, the way he move, the look, and the best is the way he talk, that's how incredible Jim Carrey is playing the late great Andy Kaufman's, Man On The Moon tells a story about a life of Andy90% of the film i see Andy Kaufman, and not Jim Carrey, the way he move, the look, and the best is the way he talk, that's how incredible Jim Carrey is playing the late great Andy Kaufman's, Man On The Moon tells a story about a life of Andy Kaufman, a very unique person, and he is truly one in a billion, and so do the movie, you are not gonna see a biopic movie about a guy that's funny then he showed his skill to the world then he succeed to become a great comedian, Andy Kaufman is a guy that is funny but he is anti-comedy, he describe himself as more of a entertainer and that's what people always see and think him wrong, and all of that was translated very well in the film and i hope everybody can really understand the real Andy Kaufman from Man On The Moon because this is such a great movie, i highly recommended. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews