Columbia Pictures | Release Date: October 20, 2006
5.7
USER SCORE
Mixed or average reviews based on 349 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
190
Mixed:
38
Negative:
121
Watch Now
Buy On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
RobertI.Apr 7, 2007
Visually ravishing, the film captures the imperial grandeur of 18th century France, animated by the shallow, exquisite creatures of fashion. What dresses! What shoes! Captures excess without cloying or beating us over the heads, Visually ravishing, the film captures the imperial grandeur of 18th century France, animated by the shallow, exquisite creatures of fashion. What dresses! What shoes! Captures excess without cloying or beating us over the heads, Coppola's fresh interpretation remains underrated and misunderstood. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful
10
30laAug 14, 2013
Love this movie, one of my favorites, love everything: Kirsten, the dresses, the acting, ESPECIALLY love Coppola for making my favorite movie. Why is that people don't like it? its perfect. Gorgeous. Delighting. I 've re watched it soooo many times
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
8
NickR.Oct 21, 2006
While this movie is not the epitome of narrative or good direction, it does force the audience to consider whether or not what they learned in school about Marie Antoinette rings true. In appreciating this film, I believe, we are forced to While this movie is not the epitome of narrative or good direction, it does force the audience to consider whether or not what they learned in school about Marie Antoinette rings true. In appreciating this film, I believe, we are forced to give way to the recognition as Marie Antoinette as a girl (she's only 20 or so after all) who enjoyed luxury and perhaps indulged in that vice a little too much. Yes it is frivilous, yes it is historically inaccurate in many ways, but it also instills in us the much needed question "but what if the opposite were true." Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DavidP.Nov 3, 2006
I didn't at all find myself anxious for the end of the movie. In fact, I thought the time passed perfectly fine. The camera was obviously a bit taken up by all of the pretty and the sugary sweet and lavishness, but that's the I didn't at all find myself anxious for the end of the movie. In fact, I thought the time passed perfectly fine. The camera was obviously a bit taken up by all of the pretty and the sugary sweet and lavishness, but that's the point. And it's done in plenty enough interesting ways that I wasn't at all bored; it was interesting. I think it's a pretty human look back on those events, however accurate or not they're displayed, to show Marie thrown into the stoic France and told to make her family proud (or humilate them, otherwise) no matter what it takes. I'm not often a fan of the lavish, but this movie puts it into perfect context. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MichaelC.Nov 4, 2006
Brilliant, from Kirsten Dunst and Jason Schwarzman's performances to the music, and the beautiful costumes to the wondrous setting and art direction. This movie is one of the best fims I have seen. Period.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
ZatannaZ.Oct 20, 2006
A visual feast! - and a fine performance by Kirsten Dunst. Definitely a mood piece and not to everyone's cup of tea (stretches of little or no dialogue) - but lI loved it! Lots of verve and attitude!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JohnMOct 18, 2006
Coppola stuns us with glamour and decadence. A fascinating film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ArielleOct 21, 2006
Sofia Coppola did a superb job with this movie and should be praised by all as a great work of historical fiction! Although most perceive this as a fake portrayal of the real story, that was the point! it was historical fiction..... mostly Sofia Coppola did a superb job with this movie and should be praised by all as a great work of historical fiction! Although most perceive this as a fake portrayal of the real story, that was the point! it was historical fiction..... mostly facts but with a story twist. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
willyatesOct 20, 2006
A great movie, highly entertaining.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DebbieY.Oct 20, 2006
Beautifully drawn out, A must see movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ElliottM.Oct 20, 2006
Wonderful. I can't believe all the compliants about the ending -- it was perfect!!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CliveC.Oct 22, 2006
Incredible! Dunst HAS to be nominated for an oscar, she's just excelent in the film, the best performance i have seen this year so far.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SharyS.Oct 22, 2006
A beautiful, beautiful film. Mesmerizing with its delicate pace, contemporary and oddly fitting sound track and stunning, lyric photography, the film is also a plausible biography of this teenage queen. Dunst is perfect.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChristinaH.Oct 20, 2006
So wonderfully captures the hermetically sealed culture of Versailles, its obsession with visual delights... and frankly, its vapid apoliticalness. The movie is worth it alone, just for the imagery of the palace with the nobility and without So wonderfully captures the hermetically sealed culture of Versailles, its obsession with visual delights... and frankly, its vapid apoliticalness. The movie is worth it alone, just for the imagery of the palace with the nobility and without the tourists. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
ThewisekingOct 23, 2006
A Stunningly beautiful film. The cinematography and costumes are certainly oscar caliber. The lack of left-wing, self righteous anger at the royal lifestyle pissed off most film critics and the french, which is probably a good thing. The A Stunningly beautiful film. The cinematography and costumes are certainly oscar caliber. The lack of left-wing, self righteous anger at the royal lifestyle pissed off most film critics and the french, which is probably a good thing. The only critique; I am not sure the no-wave and post-punk off of Sofias iPod works all that well. She should have done it Kubrick style; painstakingly providing period music which would have worked better. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
StaciaM.Oct 30, 2006
Nice eye candy, but too little dialogue. Glad it was filmed at Versailles. The controversial Converse seem to throw a lot of people under the 6 pt threshold.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
EliseGOct 20, 2007
This movie was amazing. I liked that it wasn't a historical piece, but a kind-of colorful bibliography. I found myself researching M.A after, and thinking how unfair her life was. I think the soundtrack is genius, and it works. It was This movie was amazing. I liked that it wasn't a historical piece, but a kind-of colorful bibliography. I found myself researching M.A after, and thinking how unfair her life was. I think the soundtrack is genius, and it works. It was so bold. Especially the "I want candy" scene. My fave! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MicahelP.Feb 2, 2007
The style, direction, and acting all make for a captivating view of one of the most famous Queens of France.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
RGJul 4, 2007
Not the best movie, but def one of the boldest of last year. juxtaposing one of the biggest icons of French history and one of the biggest outsiders to become part of French history, against pop songs. And why not Coppola perfectly captures Not the best movie, but def one of the boldest of last year. juxtaposing one of the biggest icons of French history and one of the biggest outsiders to become part of French history, against pop songs. And why not Coppola perfectly captures the glamor and the snobbery of the French high society. although something s are hit and miss like the last shot of the destroyed bedroom at the end, and the way the mob that stormed Versailles is reduced to pack of people with flames. i think the movie could have been edited better with some things left out in the first 1/3. Dunst was perfect and the subdued performance of Jason Schwartzmen is great. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
BarbaraA.May 8, 2008
It appears only certain people see the extraordinary intelligence and nuances of this movie. It is one of my favorites.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
DTSNov 1, 2006
Marie Antoinette is a difficult film to review. To start off, though, I will say that it's certainly not better than Lost in Translation, which very well could end up being Coppola's masterpiece. But then again, Marie Antoinette is Marie Antoinette is a difficult film to review. To start off, though, I will say that it's certainly not better than Lost in Translation, which very well could end up being Coppola's masterpiece. But then again, Marie Antoinette is a change for Coppola on multiple levels - here she proves her artistic versatility and sometimes that's more reassuring to fans than another brilliant film on par with Lost in Translation. What sets Marie Antoinette apart from the majority of its contemporaries is its sheer bravery. I mean, one scene featured Marie running away from a gathering with The Strokes blasting in the background! Indeed, artistic bravery is admirable, yet here it is far more than admirable because one of thing: it succeeds. The film also hosts a powerhouse performance by Dunst, who, like Holly Hunter in The Piano, does not rely upon verbal forms of communication Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
SyzygyNov 4, 2006
Sofia Coppolla's tender portrait of the eternally young queen whose tragic innocence led to her unfortunate end. Coppolla wants us to sympathize with Marie by focusing on her mundane world of pleasure as a counterbalance against the Sofia Coppolla's tender portrait of the eternally young queen whose tragic innocence led to her unfortunate end. Coppolla wants us to sympathize with Marie by focusing on her mundane world of pleasure as a counterbalance against the objectification she suffers as a political pawn. While the original Marie may have been of two-minds about this, Sofia Coppolla pushes aside any mixed feelings and pushes into the fore Marie Antionette's everday concerns and basic humanity. She was not a vile person, just misperceived and understandably naive; a victim of political manipulation and hundreds of years of institutional neglect. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
D.B.Oct 21, 2006
The comments of the users and critics only reinforce my previous inclinations that audiences often have their heads shoved up their you-know-whats. This movie is pure magic, of such a beautiful and wistful kind it takes the form of a 14 year The comments of the users and critics only reinforce my previous inclinations that audiences often have their heads shoved up their you-know-whats. This movie is pure magic, of such a beautiful and wistful kind it takes the form of a 14 year old girl itself; emotional, passionate, colourful, and energetic. It is a pleasure to spend time within this movie's spell; it is so good, that frankly, I think Sofia Coppola has made a film too good for the ignorant masses who will go to watch a historical adaptation of some textbook or to see a cookie cutter film that fits perfectly in a dumb multiplex. It should cost more to see this film; maybe some of the idiots would stay away. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
TimP.Oct 21, 2006
Delightful acting, story, costumes, music. I was a bit put off by the use of blur, however. Otherwise an ace -- but I have a soft spot for the 18th Century.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JimM.Oct 22, 2006
Just amaizing...I do not know why people cannot humblly acknowldge this fantastic cinema... After all, it is juts a movie!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ClaudeZ.Oct 22, 2006
A movie fit for a queen. Refreshing, bold, and simply brilliant.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
SusieS.Oct 22, 2006
it was a gorgeous film that was a lot deeper than it initially seemed.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BillySOct 23, 2006
First of all, to all those critics who are tearing this movie apart for all its historical inaccuracies and creative licenses, I would just like to remind them that they were at the movies, not a French history lecture at Harvard! And as First of all, to all those critics who are tearing this movie apart for all its historical inaccuracies and creative licenses, I would just like to remind them that they were at the movies, not a French history lecture at Harvard! And as someone who knew I was going to the movies, I was completely in awe of the images in front of me. Not since Kubrick Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
JoãoP.Oct 23, 2006
I think that the ones that hate this movie don´t have any kind of sensibility. Sofia´s aproach to Marie Antoinette story, and specially the characters, is exactly the same that she took on "Virgin Suicides" and "Lost in I think that the ones that hate this movie don´t have any kind of sensibility. Sofia´s aproach to Marie Antoinette story, and specially the characters, is exactly the same that she took on "Virgin Suicides" and "Lost in Translation, only the story is placed on XVIII century, France. And also is the most fresh, and one of the most beautifully shot movies of the year. This movie, definitly deserves and 10/10. P.S: The soundtrack is absolutely magnificent. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
SammyS.Oct 23, 2006
Great costumes and settings but not much dialogue. You have to sort of know what's going on historically to "get it." Sometimes the modern music just does not "fit" the scene and can be distracting to some people.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
OmarCOct 26, 2006
I love this movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
SusanSOct 26, 2006
Wow, I really liked this movie. And I'm usually kind of reluctant on historical movies, due to the normal gross inaccuracies, etc. But the trailer for this intrigued me, and I really like Sophia Coppola. This movie is not meant to be Wow, I really liked this movie. And I'm usually kind of reluctant on historical movies, due to the normal gross inaccuracies, etc. But the trailer for this intrigued me, and I really like Sophia Coppola. This movie is not meant to be "informative." It's not an educational movie in the sense that we usually think of them. It is a striking, strange, awkward, slow portrayal of, what it seems like Marie Antoinette's life at Versailles must have truly been. I mean, how many times can you watch a PBS doc or go see an exhibit at a museum (not to knock either of those), to really understand what life was then? The film has a documentary, rough feel to it (there's even several shots where the microphone is visible overhead), and I loved it. I don't think she's played dim-witted, she's merely living as she only can figure out as she goes along. What I appreciated most was the intense feelings of isolation. We get one "les miserable" scene when the people storm the castle, but that's it. And that's what Marie's life was. Isolation. Parties. Fashion. Why else would she have not tried to use her queenly influence to remedy the problems of the country? As much as we hate to see it, this movie really gets at the emotional, although not necessarily historical, core of France just before the Revolution. Also, I loved Jason Schwartzman as the King; he silently every scene for me. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
StevenFOct 26, 2006
Despite its flaws, it's one of the most enjoyable films I've seen. It was the one film I wanted to see among everything in 2006. It lived up to my expectations and Sofia Coppola remains to be a great, daring filmmaker.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
EricMOct 27, 2006
I thought it was fantastic and is my favorite of Coppola's three films. I don't get why some people are so down this movie. Anyone should be able to tell by the trailers that this is a stylized and modernized take on Marie I thought it was fantastic and is my favorite of Coppola's three films. I don't get why some people are so down this movie. Anyone should be able to tell by the trailers that this is a stylized and modernized take on Marie Antoinette's life and was clearly not intended to be a historically accurate biopic. Sofia Coppola creates movies that function as mood pieces, not busy predictable plot-driven films. If you go see this expecting a conventional period piece and walk out disappointed it's your own fault. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
RandyBOct 30, 2006
A visual marvel, MARIE ANTOINETTE recreates the look of the period flawlessly and sets it to a divine soundtrack of mostly 80's gems. I enjoyed it, but it is definitely not for everyone (for the most part if you consider yourself a A visual marvel, MARIE ANTOINETTE recreates the look of the period flawlessly and sets it to a divine soundtrack of mostly 80's gems. I enjoyed it, but it is definitely not for everyone (for the most part if you consider yourself a manly man who watches ESPN and the like, you will hate this film). I appreciate it more looking back on it than I did when I was sitting in the theatre. There were many moments where I was saying "Hurry it up already! Enough pretty redundancy!" Yet looking back later I realized that those redundant moments were what Marie's life was about, and that it sets up for the brilliantly executed ending. I was looking forward to seeing Kirsten Dunst (as Marie of course) get decapitated, but the way Sofia Coppola bypasses that grim scenario and the audience's morbid enthusiasm is incredible. I personally would've rather seen someone like Reese Witherspoon cast, but Dunst wasn't too bad in the role. It's not that she couldn't act the part, just that she doesn't look the era. It's like casting Winona Ryder in THE CRUCIBLE and expecting me to believe that she comes from the 17th century. The commentary heard echoed throughout many reviews is that it wasn't historically accurate, but if they paid attention they'd realize that the film wasn't supposed to be. It's based on a work of fiction, not on history. Taken as it is MARIE ANTOINETTE is a pretty good, ultimately touching film, it's just not entirely as perfect as it seemed to be. But then again neither was that world. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
BrandonJ.Feb 25, 2007
Wow. I wasn't the biggest fan of Lost in Translation (though I did still find many redeeming values in it), so I really didn't see this film as something I would like. I was dead wrong! One of my 10 best of 2006. Kirsten Dunst is Wow. I wasn't the biggest fan of Lost in Translation (though I did still find many redeeming values in it), so I really didn't see this film as something I would like. I was dead wrong! One of my 10 best of 2006. Kirsten Dunst is perfectly cast- as is Schwartzman. Make your own judgment on this one before writing it off. It really is an amazing piece of cinema. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MargieS.Mar 18, 2007
This was by far one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It expresses how completly isolated those were who were royal. Marie Antoinette had no idea what was going on outside the French castle walls, so we the viewers never saw it. This was by far one of the best movies I have seen in a long time. It expresses how completly isolated those were who were royal. Marie Antoinette had no idea what was going on outside the French castle walls, so we the viewers never saw it. It was brilliantly directed. Along with amazing costumes, and beautiful locations. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
LouisK.May 1, 2007
I thought it was a great film. No there is not a lot of "visible" action in there, but you need to pay attention to every little detail. The film really immerges you into the life of marie antoinette. Some scenes are really beautiful....a I thought it was a great film. No there is not a lot of "visible" action in there, but you need to pay attention to every little detail. The film really immerges you into the life of marie antoinette. Some scenes are really beautiful....a must for fans of Coppola's work. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
cynsJul 21, 2007
Wow! This movie is nearly perfect. The direction, acting, screenplay and cinematography were brilliant!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
CaseyP.Mar 16, 2008
I loved this film. if you are into art, and history this is a great film to see. it captures the life of Antoinette and how young she was and was prosecuted for not being able to run a country when she was too young to even know who she was.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
JohnR.Nov 13, 2006
An fresh view on an old story, cast and acted well, a lovely addition to film's capacity to investigate history through an inclusion of considerations of human nature.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
IgnatzOct 16, 2006
Sumptuous, both personal and superficial, great soundtrack. Lags slightly as it comes to the end, but a delight nevertheless.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
DanB.Nov 7, 2006
My score might have been higher had I not sat right in front of 4 ~13 year old girls, who kept on whispering about the movie being boring and asking when the heads would be chopped off. That said: this film is light on plot, light on My score might have been higher had I not sat right in front of 4 ~13 year old girls, who kept on whispering about the movie being boring and asking when the heads would be chopped off. That said: this film is light on plot, light on dialogue, is slow and contemplative -- if that sounds good to you, then you'll probably find it worthwhile, even if you do not think it's the greatest film. I think Coppolla tried to make a very hard kind of movie, to give a kind of impression, a feeling, rather than a story -- and that's pretty hard. She gets an A for effort, at least. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MarkB.Dec 11, 2006
The apple really doesn't fall far from the tree. Sofia Coppola's films feature all the visual richness and splendor that her dad's are acclaimed for, but thus far in her career she's managed to nimbly avoid the The apple really doesn't fall far from the tree. Sofia Coppola's films feature all the visual richness and splendor that her dad's are acclaimed for, but thus far in her career she's managed to nimbly avoid the eye-candy-for-candy's-sake tendencies of Francis Ford's more pointlessly indulgent efforts (Bram Stoker's Dracula, One From The Heart). Her Lost In Translation very effectively used the bigness of modern-day commercial Japan as both backdrop and agent to American visitor Bill Murray's loneliness and disorientation (which is why viewers who waited for the DVD didn't "get it", were invariably disappointed and essentially cheated themselves by not seeing it on a movie screen). It's a given, then, that Marie Antoinette is going to be a visual feast, with every frame more ravishing than the last, but those familiar with Ms. Coppola's work should also already know going in how much more there is to it than just a succession of gorgeous pictures: the director is, without precisely apologizing for the Queen of France's historic notoriety, endeavoring to place it in context by presenting her as anything but in control of anything except the most superficial aspects of her environment. Like Pu Yi in Bernardo Bertolucci's masterpiece The Last Emperor, Marie is totally and impenetrably insulated from the people she's supposed to be ruling. Every detail of her life is as stringently regulated and supervised as Winston Smith in Orwell's 1984; Ms. Coppola brings this home in scene after scene, none more poignant than the ones in which the queen, intensely vulnerable and noticeably freezing, is undressed before the court. If Hollywood stars think (usually accurately) that OUR tabloid culture denies them any semblance of privacy, they ain't seen nothing yet! (And if Marie's honeymoon with new husband Louis XVI are accurately depicted, with everyone except Howard Cosell monitoring the royal bed, then no wonder the poor guy couldn't perform. I doubt that, under the circumstances, 1970s Warren Beatty could've either.) All of Ms. Coppola's seemingly oddball directorial choices (traditional classical music vying with 1980s New Wave pop hits on the soundtrack, casting of extremely American actors like Molly Shannon, Jason Schwartzman and especially Rip Torn) work beautifully to communicate her vision of Marie as a VERY typical teenage girl thrust into situations that she's completely ill-equipped to handle, and dealing with them no better or worse than most other teenage girls would. (OK, maybe Joan of Arc would be an exception, but that's another story.) Casting Bring It On's feckless head cheerleader in the title role is therefore a no-brainer, but Kirsten Dunst, in a wonderful example of an actor completely trusting the director, comes through with a winningly natural, relaxed performance that makes Marie's tragedy even more devastating; in one of history's ultimate examples of The Peter Principle gone berserk, here's a sweet kid promoted far beyond her level of competence. MGM's expensive 1938 epic take on this story starring Norma Shearer as Marie (and featuring a terrific, justifiably acclaimed supporting turn by Robert Morley as Louis) has just been released to DVD; it's extremely enjoyable but tries a little too hard to justify Marie's seeming callousness toward the poor--maybe that's why it was listed a few years ago in National Review magazine's list of the 100 greatest conservative movies of all time. It's understandable that in Ms. Coppola's version of Marie's life we mostly don't SEE the poor (although check out the extremely dirty look a peasant doing her gardening shoots at her in a seeming throwaway scene!) because Marie not only apparently didn't see them either, but seemed not to have even been taught that they existed. The French revisionists who condemned Ms. Coppola's film at early screenings completely missed her point: she's not at all justifying Marie's reign but is presenting it with deep insight and compassion as the tragedy of a tiny, delicate crystal figurine inadvertently caught in a hailstorm. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
G.R.C.Oct 21, 2006
A very enjoyable film with a soundtrack that keeps your feet a tappin' and gives a good glipse at the girlish character of the former Queen of France. Tasteful and well executed. Kirsten Dunst and Rip Torn give memorable performances.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
ChloeL.Oct 21, 2006
Fantastic, decadent, chic, very Sophia. I can't get the mood out of my head. When they watch the sunrise, its magic.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MartinN.Oct 21, 2006
This movie's a classic. Far superior to what the marketing suggests. Check it out. Outstanding.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
DanielROct 22, 2006
While slow paced and methodical, it is studded with beautiful imagery and even more gorgeous direction and acting.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
KyleOct 22, 2006
It's not strong on narrative because you know the story going into the movie. the movie is subtex, an inside look into the life of a teenage queen. it's two hours of sparse dialogue, stunning camera work, and careful, deliberateIt's not strong on narrative because you know the story going into the movie. the movie is subtex, an inside look into the life of a teenage queen. it's two hours of sparse dialogue, stunning camera work, and careful, deliberate direction. different from all her other films yet keeping with her distintive style. the film is more art in terms of acting and directing than it is a hollywood blockbuster, so i'm not at all surprised by the mixed reviews. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
MichaelH.Oct 22, 2006
Lovely trifle of a film. Great use of a mostly early 1980s pop non-hits in a period film set in the 1700s. Amazing costumes. Engaging Actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
MikeH.Oct 22, 2006
Not your daddy's biopic, with the usual rise, fall and redemption arc, and with no attempt at psychological depth, historical analysis or tightly structured plot. Instead, you get a gutsy re-imagining of a tired genre. Coppola gives Not your daddy's biopic, with the usual rise, fall and redemption arc, and with no attempt at psychological depth, historical analysis or tightly structured plot. Instead, you get a gutsy re-imagining of a tired genre. Coppola gives viewers a gorgeous, hypnotic tone poem of dislocation, amplified by the anachronistic music and cast accents. Definitely not to everyone's taste, but I had a great time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
7
CurtisJOct 24, 2006
Gorgeous. Best in it's first half, and a bit flawed, but ultimately captures the rarified world of the court of Versailles through the eyes of the young-not-ready-for-its-intrigues girl queen. Ultimately sympathetic but clear on the Gorgeous. Best in it's first half, and a bit flawed, but ultimately captures the rarified world of the court of Versailles through the eyes of the young-not-ready-for-its-intrigues girl queen. Ultimately sympathetic but clear on the title characters disconnect from reality and 18th century politics. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
S.J.DOct 25, 2006
That was an amazing film. Alone, the imagery could have carried it, but Sofia Coppola wouldn
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
DianaP.Oct 31, 2006
My eyes threw up from pretty. Off kilter. Adequate performances by the actors.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
9
MintonM.Feb 23, 2007
I simply don't get the carping over this film. It's IMPRESSIONISTIC, folks...something the French, and one young director present at the fall of her own family's dynasty, understand quite well. The film lets you into the mind I simply don't get the carping over this film. It's IMPRESSIONISTIC, folks...something the French, and one young director present at the fall of her own family's dynasty, understand quite well. The film lets you into the mind of a teen torn from her family and homeland and forced to marry into a very rich, very disfunctional family. She grows, if not up, at least into the role, does all that is required of her...and then is trashed by a country from which she was isolated and never allowed to understand. It's about how shallow ideas lead to shallow values...and has many lessons for our times--including major instruction on the virtues of empathy. Don't criticize the film for what it was never intended to be; appreciate it for what it IS, a far better work than this growing director's previous work and a sadness-tinged joy to watch. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AndyH.Apr 12, 2007
This is a masterpiece. It's a beautiful coming of age story, directed with panache by a gifted young director. The 80s indie soundtrack is a touch of genius, being used to convey with immediacy the emotions of a teenager in their This is a masterpiece. It's a beautiful coming of age story, directed with panache by a gifted young director. The 80s indie soundtrack is a touch of genius, being used to convey with immediacy the emotions of a teenager in their transitional years before adulthood. Anybody with a love of cinema should see this film, it's set to become a classic in the years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful
8
JohnMarkFJul 11, 2007
Very original and was interesting to view her life from her perspective.
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
AlisonD.Sep 12, 2007
This is the best movie eva!!! I absolutely love it...it's soooooo amazing. You really do feel sorry for Marie Antoinette!
0 of 0 users found this helpful
10
francescoSep 25, 2012
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. There is such a misconception about the so called flop of Marie Antoinette. Although the movie divided critics ,the major critic reviews were favorable if not very good or even enthusiastic.I am among the enthusiastic ones. First because I know very well the story of M.A. and how it is difficult to interpret her story without being wrong. What Coppola did was to portray a sympathetic portrait of a woman forced to be queen without any help by her mother, husband or courtesans.Coppola brilliantly succeeds to evoke the real situation of that 14 years old girl,who was all alone. Poltics is left out but we are in the world of M.A. I appreciate very much that Coppola didn't want to film the revolution period because if you want to understand the point of view of M.A. you have to forget that she was executed. Coppola is more interested to examine the woman rather than the Queen and her personal feelings towards the entire situation. Besides, we have to remember that this is a movie,not an historical account. The movie is loosely inspired by the book of Antonia Fraser. I believe that Coppola is a very outstanding director. Kirsten Dunst was simply perfect and,in my opinion,deserved more recognition than what she had. She gave a very honest and moving performance.She was fantastic as the naive,spoiled,sensitive,frivolous and unaware Queen. But this is only one of the many sides of that woman. Coppola didn't show us the other aspects of the Queen because she has other purpose that is humanizing the despised and misunderstood Queen of France. There is not her political side , her faults and her disadvantages .It's the private side that only few people knew and not her public side. The supporting cast is appropriate as well. To me the movie was very snubbed by the Academy since I believe that it should have been nominated for best director and best actress.The movie was never meant to be an in depth biography.It could not be a substitute of a book .Coppola portrayed the elements of her story that fit to her trilogy of films(Lost in translation and The virgin suicides). But I think that the main problem is that someone doesn't like Coppola style.A very underrated great director. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
SpangleJan 5, 2017
A tale of decadence and elegance, Marie Antoinette is not your run-of-the-mill biopic period film. Instead, director Sofia Coppola opts to show how to properly light up the night in 18th century France. Complementing the constant party andA tale of decadence and elegance, Marie Antoinette is not your run-of-the-mill biopic period film. Instead, director Sofia Coppola opts to show how to properly light up the night in 18th century France. Complementing the constant party and gossip is modern pop rock that infuses the film with a modern take that matches the extravagant unconventionality of Marie Antoinette. Right down to this music, this film is about the life of Marie Antoinette. Guillotined as part of the French Revolution, Coppola's film ends before this and includes no addendum at the end of the film revealing the fate of its characters. While the film itself is hardly historically accurate, this move is deliberate and underscores what Coppola's film is about: her life, not Marie Antoinette's death or reality. She merely takes moments of her life, exaggerates them, or creates them in order to paint a picture of who Marie Antoinette was, both the good and the bad.

Decried by French critics for not criticizing Marie Antoinette's (Kirsten Dunst) life of luxury, it only feels fair that the film does not do this. Criticized endlessly in her life for her expensive taste, inability to consummate her marriage (not her fault), and being an Austrian in France, it is about time somebody not overtly criticize the woman. Whether she was nice or not, she certainly had her positive elements and, in the film, was dedicated to her people and her children. She never acted within hostility towards others and did not partake in the catty gossip that permeated the palace. Now, of course, the film does show her decadence, vapidness, and affair, which cast a shadow on her. While it does not chastise these actions, their inclusion shows that the film is fair and balanced when it comes to its main character.

Of course, the film is not completely fair when it comes to the people of France. But, honestly, who cares? Marie Antoinette is a film about flair and party. Sofia Coppola embraces this by ignoring history and focusing upon the style of the film and the lavish costume design. Decked head to toe in diamonds, this is a film about excess. Described as a satire or a comedy, the film embraces this with its tongue placed firmly along its cheek when critiquing palace life throughout. For example, a scene where Kirsten Dunst stands naked awaiting somebody to dress her, but she must be dressed by the highest ranking person in the room. Unfortunately, this keeps changing as more and more people walk into the room. Incredibly comical, this scene underscores the comedic tone of the film, which is subtle but ever present. At all times, Coppola eschews the serious tone of many historical films in favor of a light take on a serious subject. Often times, this will fail, but it somehow finds a way to work in this film. Thus, by embracing the decadence of the royal family, Coppola finds absurdity through the parallel created by their extravagance and the poverty of the French people and the debt situation.

Visually, Marie Antoinette is stunning. With breathtaking cinematography that made me physically angry with how beautiful it was, the film's visuals are tremendous. Repeated shots of the stairs leading up to the palace, long shots from and of the palace, and shots of men riding horses from a distance, this film is incredibly gorgeous. Of course, what helps this is the lavish color scheme. Blending a variety of colors, the colors in the film are largely introduced by the costumes. With elegantly crafted costumes that burst with flair and color, Marie Antoinette is a gorgeously dressed film that visually defines the wealth and power of the French royal family at the time. By the end, when the French people revolt, it is not hard to see how they could find issue with the family's display of wealth.

One of the more compelling elements of this film, however, is the gossip. With Marie Antoinette constantly surrounded by the catty gossip of the palace. The impact of this is a claustrophobic environment that shows the shallowness of the courtroom. As she and other women of the court are constantly under examination and inspection with absurd expectations abounding, the film finds even more entertainment. With the gossip feeling oddly modern and akin to a high school clique, this is where Coppola turns the film almost into a historical Mean Girls. Those surrounding Marie Antoinette are more cruel and judgmental towards her and others than the people who eventually would have her beheaded in the revolution. Of course, there is also comedy in these high expectations as the King (Rip Torn) has a mistress and she is forced upon the women of the court. The women are appalled by her and her conduct, even though they themselves have sex and there is a constant obsession with getting Marie Antoinette to consummate her marriage with Louis XVI (Jason Schwartzman). Coppola does not shy away from showing this absurdity of expectation with Louis being the one afraid to have sex
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
liontigerbearJul 23, 2012
Marie Antoinette is a gorgeously stunning film, less about Marie Antoinette than about a lonely girl trying to deal with situation. The costumes, cinematography and sets are all beautiful, as are the characters, with a subdued and heartfeltMarie Antoinette is a gorgeously stunning film, less about Marie Antoinette than about a lonely girl trying to deal with situation. The costumes, cinematography and sets are all beautiful, as are the characters, with a subdued and heartfelt performance by Dunst. The plot may have some weaknesses but it's execution is superb and ultimately saddening. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
pinkriotlettuceNov 15, 2012
Everything about this movie screams a full rated revolution to a modern outlook on Marie, music, and France. The tone, the structure, and a strong lead provide an exquisite film.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
kat267Aug 7, 2015
This is a great costume and fashion movie! From what we learn, Marie Antoinette was addicted to luxuries and this movie realistically shows that with all the gorgeous designs. Not very educational, but it's meant for the drama and glamour.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ahmedaiman1999Apr 30, 2019
The all-style-no-substance approach Sofia Coppola took worked impressively, and enticingly, well up till half of its runtime. The lack of a developed script then begins to hamper my enjoyment of the movie, as it gradually becomes monotonous.The all-style-no-substance approach Sofia Coppola took worked impressively, and enticingly, well up till half of its runtime. The lack of a developed script then begins to hamper my enjoyment of the movie, as it gradually becomes monotonous. And at its third act, Marie Antoinette falls .... flat! But at least the third act showcases the movie's relentless eye candy through some of the most dazzling colorful landscapes and costumes my eyes have ever had the pleasure to witness!

(7/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews