Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: December 19, 2018
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 125 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
81
Mixed:
24
Negative:
20
Watch Now
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
snafu92231Dec 21, 2018
I didn't like that gennre, but boy... this movie is full of joy, happiness with really nice production design and great costumes and good songs. I can only watched the hungarian dubbed version (even the songs were dubbed) in cinemas, but iI didn't like that gennre, but boy... this movie is full of joy, happiness with really nice production design and great costumes and good songs. I can only watched the hungarian dubbed version (even the songs were dubbed) in cinemas, but i will watch it in original language too. Blunt is superb, she will recieve that Oscar nod sure thing. I just keep smiling for 2 hours. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
JoshocomDec 20, 2018
My wife, my 13-year-old daughter, and I went to Mary Poppins with guarded excitement. We'd read enough reviews to be wary that this was not going to be as enchanting as the first Mary Poppins. But we were surprised -- in a very positive way.My wife, my 13-year-old daughter, and I went to Mary Poppins with guarded excitement. We'd read enough reviews to be wary that this was not going to be as enchanting as the first Mary Poppins. But we were surprised -- in a very positive way.

I'm as big a fan of the original as you'll find; it was a substantial influence on my life when it came out (I wanted to grow up to be Dick Van Dyke). So I was especially doubtful. We had purchased the soundtrack, which was released a couple of weeks before the movie, so we were already familiar with the songs -- and really found several of them to be nearly as memorable as some of the Sherman brothers' songs -- particularly "Nowhere to Go But Up" and "A Cover is Not the Book." So we already liked the music.

Well, the movie was enchanting. I sat there was a big silly grin on my face for most of it; my wife sobbed at several points, and my daughter squeezed my hand repeatedly and actually cried at the end (which is unusual for her; she tends not to lose it at emotional endings). We left singing the songs, and absolutely thrilled with Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda. I was also incredibly impressed with the kids and with Ben Wishaw...and of course it was so uplifting to see Dick Van Dyke and Angela Lansbury still in form.

If I had one criticism, it was that the plot setup seemed rush and workmanlike. I could have stood a little more character development before the heavies moved in. But that's a small quibble in what was otherwise a transporting film that I recommend wholeheartedly, especially for families and those who can abandon their cynicism temporarily and give themselves over to the fantasy.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
WiscoJoeDec 22, 2018
A shovelful of Splenda makes the mediocrity go down, whether you like it or not. 'Mary Poppins Returns' is practically perfunctory in every way. Like 'The Force Awakens' and other recent products fresh off the Disney assembly line, thisA shovelful of Splenda makes the mediocrity go down, whether you like it or not. 'Mary Poppins Returns' is practically perfunctory in every way. Like 'The Force Awakens' and other recent products fresh off the Disney assembly line, this retread slavishly recreates all of the familiar parts you loved from the original, without bothering to add in the innovation, sense of wonder, and complex shades that made the original worth watching in the first place. The Disney faithful will love it as it not only preaches but panders incessantly to the choir (this time singing forgettable songs that sound like b-sides from Marc Shaiman's better, though still largely pedestrian, back catalog). For everyone else, it might be worth seeing just for the costumes and some of the choreography, otherwise just watch the first one. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
SSH83Dec 25, 2018
Serviceable musical and "old school" visuals, but overall brainless betrayal of the original that mimics the look and sound but failed to replicate the heart and mind.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
nateOstrikeDec 25, 2018
I completely enjoyed this movie for what it is. It is a funfilled, wholesome movie with a nice story. The acting is great and the songs too. You can take anyone of any age to this and they will enjoy it. Well done.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
Pedrofgh2003Dec 25, 2018
It`s an incredible movie! It brings so much joy with the songs, story and acting! Emily Blunt is amazing! A sequel that honors the original!
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
farfromheaven26Dec 26, 2018
Though the wholly enchanting "Mary Poppins Returns" received mostly excellent reviews as did the film's titular star Emily Blunt, what surprised me most was the terrific score by Marc Shaiman which is anything but unmemorable. "Nowhere to GoThough the wholly enchanting "Mary Poppins Returns" received mostly excellent reviews as did the film's titular star Emily Blunt, what surprised me most was the terrific score by Marc Shaiman which is anything but unmemorable. "Nowhere to Go But Up," "A Conversation," "Trip a Little Light Fantastic," "Underneath the Lonely London Sky," "The Place Where Lost Things Go,"(the film's very best song) and "Can You Imagine That?" lead a spirited, lyrically accomplished array of songs that make this homage to one of the screen's most beloved musicals in its own right an effervescent confection that also forges its own path. Splendid cameo numbers from Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury and Meryl Streep add to the unbridled merriment. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
BeeceeDec 27, 2018
Emily Blunt does a good job of portraying Mary Poppins, and Lin-Manuel Miranda is charming. There are perhaps around three good songs. And it is a treat to see Dick Van Dyke and Angela Lansbury. However, the plot is a mess. Both the deathEmily Blunt does a good job of portraying Mary Poppins, and Lin-Manuel Miranda is charming. There are perhaps around three good songs. And it is a treat to see Dick Van Dyke and Angela Lansbury. However, the plot is a mess. Both the death of the mother and the impending home foreclosure are too much darkness to deal with. They could totally do without the foreclosure subplot, including the absurd effort to change the time on Big Ben. Colin Firth is saddled with playing a one dimensional villain. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
6
MattBrady99Dec 31, 2018
“One thing you should know about Mary Poppins: she never explains anything”.

This movie had a lot to live up with it being a sequel to a beloved classic. While I’ve seen the original movie on repeat as a child - it never had that massive
“One thing you should know about Mary Poppins: she never explains anything”.

This movie had a lot to live up with it being a sequel to a beloved classic. While I’ve seen the original movie on repeat as a child - it never had that massive impact on me like everyone else, but with each re-watch I found more enjoyment and appreciation for everything that went into it.

So this being a sequel made me curious and wary; I went into this expecting nothing to avoid any disappointment. I sat down, arms crossed and waited patiently for the trailers to be over. When it started, the first 10 or 20 minutes was fine, but I was still critical. After the first musical number “Can You Imagine That?”, I started to warm up a bit and relax more.

However, halfway through the movie I noticed something about myself - there was tears streaming down my cheeks, and for a rare moment, I breathed a sigh of relief and enjoyed the ride. This is the first time in awhile I would call my experience escapism.

Emily Blunt was an absolute delight as Mary Poppins. Blunt never imitations Julie Andrews portrayal and makes the role her own. I honestly couldn’t think of anyone else to fill in the shoes of the character than Blunt. Her sassy and deadpan wit makes this super nanny pure magic.

The other cast members were also solid: Lin-Manuel Miranda delivers a theatrical performance that elevates the films charm and brought a smile to my face. Ben Whishaw, on the other hand, was so heartbreaking as the grieving Michael Banks. You can feel the pain and stress in his voice. Emily Mortimer is good as Jane Banks , but felt under-use and didn’t offer anything to the story.

Also Dick Van Dyke dance scene, while short, was unbelievable. He’s got more energy than any wanna be dancer, and he’s 93 years old.

Rob Marshall gives the movie a Broadway-like touch similar to his previous work. The musical sequences with songs like “Nowhere to Go But Up” and "Can You Imagine That?" being colorful and a blast to watch, which adds to the escapism. The production design and choreography - mwah. He also tackles the more serious elements where the emotions from the characters are expressed through songs and the performances.

For issues: The songs themselves while fun, yet not super memorable and doesn't hold a candle to the 1965 film. After the movie was over, the songs didn't stick with me as I hoped. This might change over time.

The main villain played by Colin Firth is so cliched and cartoonist. I started to question why a movie like this needs a bad-guy - although I guess the climax needed to be more intense. He's even got a twirling mustache. When the character first appears on screen, I knew straight away there was something unpleasant about him and the foreshadowing involving an animated sequence was so painfully obvious. His character could have be great if it was written better.

Meryl Streep short appearance is so pointless and could've easily been cut out from the final daft. I wasn't sure what accent she was going for.

Overall rating: It's not flawless, yet it wasn't an abomination like some expected it to be. I would go as far to call it a satisfying sequel.

Perhaps we've learned when day is done, some stuff and nonsense could be fun.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantDec 31, 2018
In the interest of full disclosure, I was skeptical about this one and wasn't particularly looking forward to seeing it. I must admit, however, that I enjoyed it more than I was expecting, especially since remaking classics or creatingIn the interest of full disclosure, I was skeptical about this one and wasn't particularly looking forward to seeing it. I must admit, however, that I enjoyed it more than I was expecting, especially since remaking classics or creating sequels to them is very risky business (and something that often makes me cringe). This offering does justice to the original by not ruining its legacy, thanks to the excellent production values, fine performances and an enjoyable soundtrack that, unlike so many contemporary musicals, isn't totally forgettable. Emily Blunt pays perfect homage to the legendary character and is worthy of whatever acclaim that comes her way, and kudos are definitely due a fine cast of supporting players. The film is, unfortunately, somewhat episodic, using the narrative between musical numbers mostly as a bridge to link the songs to one another. Otherwise, though, this is a capably made and surprisingly delightful release. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
savagelaDec 21, 2018
Delightful! Joyous! and so touching. Ben Wishaw is so ardent that he melts your heart. The kids are just right. Emily Blunt is Magical, Magical. Her voice is fantastic. The songs are hummable and memorable. I've been singing "Can You ImagineDelightful! Joyous! and so touching. Ben Wishaw is so ardent that he melts your heart. The kids are just right. Emily Blunt is Magical, Magical. Her voice is fantastic. The songs are hummable and memorable. I've been singing "Can You Imagine That," and "Nowhere to go but up" all week. The finale with the balloons surpasses the wonder of "fly a kite." Expand
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
9
Megajohn85Dec 19, 2018
Nothing will top the first Mary Poppins. There’s no disputing that but the sequel is just as wholesome. Emily Blunt does as fantastic job as Mary Poppins which surprised me
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Dec 19, 2018
Wow! What an absolute joy to watch! Of course, I love the original film, as it's such a fun and charming classic, but man, not only was this a worthy successor, but this is pretty much an instant classic in its own right as far as I'mWow! What an absolute joy to watch! Of course, I love the original film, as it's such a fun and charming classic, but man, not only was this a worthy successor, but this is pretty much an instant classic in its own right as far as I'm concerned, as it holds its own against the original effortlessly! Emily Blunt is absolutely perfect in the titular role, and without a doubt does Julie Andrews proud (she even gave Blunt her personal approval!) And for all the Hamilton fans, Lin-Manuel Miranda charms marvellously alongside Blunt. The songs are a delight, and the animation sequences that blend with the actors, much like in the first film, are all beautifully rendered. Topping all of this off are some fun little cameos in the film's final act. I will say that I was a bit disappointed that there weren't really any songs from the original (not even Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious), and I thought some renditions of at least a couple might've been fun to see. And there are some familiar and predictable tropes and moments, but when a film like this has me grinning from ear to ear for nearly the whole time, it hardly even matters! Overall, whether you've seen the original or not, you'd have to have a heart of stone not to be even remotely won over or charmed by this joy of a film, as it's an absolute delight to watch from start to finish! Simple as that! Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Dec 22, 2018
First of all, Emily Blunt's performance as Mary Poppins is excellent. She makes this famous character her own by just embodying her. She seems more like somebody who actually cares about these children. The ending shows this the best. Also inFirst of all, Emily Blunt's performance as Mary Poppins is excellent. She makes this famous character her own by just embodying her. She seems more like somebody who actually cares about these children. The ending shows this the best. Also in the song “Where the Lost Things Go” they show her caring for the children a way that the original didn’t show. I also have to applaud Lin-Manuel Miranda, who played Jack, performance in this film. You could easily tell that he was having fun with his character. I just wished we got to see his character more. I’m glad that they didn’t change the special effects in this film and kept it in the style of the 1964 one. They did put a slight modern day look to it but it was still the same style at the end of the day. Now some people say that none of the songs in this aren’t catchy and I argue over that. I would say that all but a few songs are catchy. The only non-catchy songs are the ones that are a bit slower and “Turning Turtle.” All the other songs are energetic and have great choreography to go with them. Marc Shaiman also composed the original score for this film and it’s just as magical. During the opening credits you can hear his score and in it, there are hints to the songs from the first film. The production design on each of the sets looks straight out of the first. I just wished they took a bit more care in making the house look more like the original. There are some obvious details to it that make it not look similar. For one the entryway is entirely different. They had some unique transitions between the scenes of the real world and imagination. The atmosphere in this film was excellent. In each scene, it gave off the correct type of atmosphere that you would feel in that situation. Finally, I think there were a few scenes that could have been cut out and it wouldn’t have affected the movie. Mainly because they did nothing with it later on. In the end, Mary Poppins Returns is an excellent film that is just as great as the first one. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
selenatorDec 21, 2018
I hate to be cliche, but it's practically perfect in every way. Emily Blunt is tremendous - one of today's finest actresses.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
3
RayNewnanDec 24, 2018
MP was a tough one to seat through, 3 hours at the theater,
every song sucked and adults and kids restless.
2 of 4 users found this helpful22
All this user's reviews
5
MattyiceDec 19, 2018
There's no doubt that I had high expectations going into this movie, considering the original Mary Poppins is one of my favorite Disney movies. While I give credit to the acting and vocals (especially by Blunt as the new Mary Poppins), asThere's no doubt that I had high expectations going into this movie, considering the original Mary Poppins is one of my favorite Disney movies. While I give credit to the acting and vocals (especially by Blunt as the new Mary Poppins), as well as art design, the film overall is a very mediocre followup. Director Rob Marshall makes what should be an awe-inspiring experience a boring one with lackluster cinematography, a retreading story, and good but forgettable songs that seem to try too hard to emulate many of the classics in the original rather than break any new ground. Overall, this is mediocre followup to a classic film and I am rather disappointed. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
bethanyrobbenDec 22, 2018
A lot of people have been saying they don't like this movie as much as the original, but I had a lot of fun watching this movie! Emily Blunt did an excellent job portraying Mary Poppins, & I loved the fun they put into the musical scenes!A lot of people have been saying they don't like this movie as much as the original, but I had a lot of fun watching this movie! Emily Blunt did an excellent job portraying Mary Poppins, & I loved the fun they put into the musical scenes! When I walked out of the movie, I had the "Can you Imagine That?" song stuck in my head for the rest of the night! Excellent sequel to the original! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Davrosdaleks1Dec 23, 2018
Mary Poppins Returns, about the titular nanny returning to help the grown up Banks children, was a true experience for me that brings back the feel of the original Mary Poppins and 60's Disney in general. (It even has a nostalgicMary Poppins Returns, about the titular nanny returning to help the grown up Banks children, was a true experience for me that brings back the feel of the original Mary Poppins and 60's Disney in general. (It even has a nostalgic old-fashioned opening credits).

The entire thing looks and feels fantastic like an old-timey storybook. Includes a new 2-D animated/live-action segment, not something we've seen in a while and a welcome comeback. The story itself has a very old-fashioned and genuinely good-hearted feel to it.

Great cast. Blunt makes and an excellent Mary Poppins, and Lin Manuel Miranda is pretty likable as Jack, Bert's replacement. Ben Wishaw (the voice of Paddinton and the most recent Q from the James Bond films) does a surprisingly sympathetic job as Michael Banks mourning the loss of his wife and just trying to keep things together.

The songs, by Marc Shaiman (Hairspray and parts of the South Park movie and Team America) aren't as catchy or memorable as the first film, but that's not knocking these songs. I did like them all and they again captured an old-school feeling.

There were some weak points. A lot of the scenes set in London, were too darkly shot for their own good. I mean I understand that an intentional style choice as the bleakness of London contrasts with the brightness Mary Poppins brings, but it makes it a pain to watch at some points.

The movie is basically like The Force Awakens as it repeats many elements from the first film. (They even bring back Admiral Boom, now played by David Warner. I mean come on he was no spring chicken in the first film. He should be dead by now.) Also, the whole mother-just-died bit was done by Disney only a month ago for the Nutcracker movie, although this movie handles it a lot better if you ask me.

Lastly, the main antagonist is paper-thin and whose crookedness exceeds practicality. This is especially disappointing as the first film didn't need this sort of villain to drive the plot.

Those criticisms aside, I had so much fun with this movie that I'm still giving it a full rating. There is nothing really objectionable in this but be forewarned younger children may be bored by the more talky moments. I saw restlessness in my nephew and other young children while watching this.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Lizza25Dec 24, 2018
Gorgeous family film and ms blunt is genius as poppins. The musical numbers including 2D are magical.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
markydiscoDec 24, 2018
Absolutely delightful movie! I had a smile on my face pretty much through the whole film. The music and dance numbers are top notch as well as the performances. I grew up on the original, but, I have to say this new Mary Poppins movie isAbsolutely delightful movie! I had a smile on my face pretty much through the whole film. The music and dance numbers are top notch as well as the performances. I grew up on the original, but, I have to say this new Mary Poppins movie is definitely well done. The feel good movie of the year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
Faisal5417Dec 22, 2018
This film just does not live up to what the critics have been saying. Disappointing.
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
1
LCRDec 22, 2018
Rather than bringing this classic Disney movie sequel to the here and now, the movie is an excruciating, unimaginative, dated rehash with a mess of a screenplay, forgettable, stitched together musical dance numbers and songs that don’tRather than bringing this classic Disney movie sequel to the here and now, the movie is an excruciating, unimaginative, dated rehash with a mess of a screenplay, forgettable, stitched together musical dance numbers and songs that don’t advance the story. Despite the admirable performance of Emily Blunt the movie is simply unbearable!!!! Expand
2 of 6 users found this helpful24
All this user's reviews
2
GreatMartinDec 28, 2018
A bad sign watching a movie is thinking mostly negative thoughts and after an hour I was thinking: 1) This really isn't a movie for kids as it is too dark and somber 2) This really isn't a movie for adults as it doesn't capture what made theA bad sign watching a movie is thinking mostly negative thoughts and after an hour I was thinking: 1) This really isn't a movie for kids as it is too dark and somber 2) This really isn't a movie for adults as it doesn't capture what made the first film memorable 3) Emily Blunt has talent but she isn't a Julie Andrews or a Mary Poppins 4) Emily Mortimer has that certain smile and would make a better Mary Poppins 5) Will this film get any better? and 6) The songs are pretty lame.

There was one positive thought and that was Lin-Manual Miranda was continuing his place on the top of the hill after "In The Heights", "Hamilton", his score for "Moana", being honored on The Kennedy Center Honors this week, plus winning an Emmy Award, A Tony Award, Grammy Awards, the Pulitzer Prize, about to reprise his role as Hamilton opening the show in Puerto Rico and now doing a good job as Jack, the man who lights and shuts off the street lamps in the streets of London during the Great Slump of the 1930s. Up to the hour and a half point--no pun intended--he is the only bright light.

Julie Walker, as the housekeeper, is almost an afterthought while Colin Firth should have been given a mustache to twirl as the villain to do something with the role. As the Banks children Pixie Davies, Nathanael Saleh and Joel Dawson they are given little more than they are expected to while Emily Mortimer, as their aunt, lights up the screen here and there and Ben Whishaw, as their father, really is wooden up to and in the last half hour of the film when he really comes through in a moving scene. Oh, yes, the less said about Meryl Streep, her song and her time on the screen the better.

The last half hour in no way makes up for the first 90-95 minutes but the screen does come alive with a song and dance by 93 year-old Dick Van Dyke up on a desk, with movie magic or not, reprising "Tripping The Light Fantastic" done earlier in the film by Miranda, along with 93 year-old Angela Lansbury as the Balloon Lady singing one of the better songs from the movie, "Nowhere To Go but Up" starting a full cast number.

Lin-Manuel Miranda always talks about watching the old song and dance movies and in "Mary Poppins Returns" he has two numbers, the first being "Tripping The Light Fantastic" and the second, "Race To Big Ben", that fulfill any dreams he might have had and brings back the magic of "Mary Poppins".

"Mary Poppins Returns" offers 30 minutes of entertainment in a film that is 130 minutes long and can probably watch Lin-Manuel Miranda, Dick Van Dyke and Angela Lansbury in their show shopping numbers on youtube!
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
ohsiyoDec 28, 2018
Saw the movie with my family who liked it, but was an endurance test for me. "Mary Poppins Returns" was completely derivative of the classic, but failed in almost every regard. Couldn't they have developed an original idea or story? The songsSaw the movie with my family who liked it, but was an endurance test for me. "Mary Poppins Returns" was completely derivative of the classic, but failed in almost every regard. Couldn't they have developed an original idea or story? The songs were out of your typical modern Broadway musical, bland and forgettable--nothing like the original. Emily Blunt is a good actress, but too "hard" as Mary Poppins for my taste. I think Lin-Manuel Miranda and Ben Whishaw were just miscast. Miranda tries too hard to be Dick Van Dyke and Whishaw as Michael Banks is an unsympathetic nebbish. I gave the movie 3 stars for the production values, but otherwise found the movie to be a pathetic imitation of the original classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJan 1, 2019
After 54 years, her return to the screen pretty much follows the template of the original: sweet children, withholding father, tuneful songs, eye-popping fantasies, and of course, the sassy nanny (Emily Blunt). The situations are Disney sweetAfter 54 years, her return to the screen pretty much follows the template of the original: sweet children, withholding father, tuneful songs, eye-popping fantasies, and of course, the sassy nanny (Emily Blunt). The situations are Disney sweet (even when times are down), the performers are all fine (Blunt was acceptable, but not outstanding), the flights of imagination are enjoyable and the pleasant tunes feel stylistically like the originals without being memorable. The film hits all of the right notes, just not as wonderfully as the first time. While it's not without charm and the story never lags, this follow-up doesn't possess that special magic that made the original a classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
nburroughs10Dec 20, 2018
Mary poppins looks to capture the magic of her past, in which most parts she does. While Emily Blunt, is not Julie Andrews she still did a fantastic job at portraying Mary Poppins. However, at times this Mary is a little more showy then sheMary poppins looks to capture the magic of her past, in which most parts she does. While Emily Blunt, is not Julie Andrews she still did a fantastic job at portraying Mary Poppins. However, at times this Mary is a little more showy then she was years ago. The rest of cast fulfilled their roles beautifully. However, at times this Mary is a little more showy then she was years ago. The scores were good but not great and the choreography came short of expectations. The scenes had very little set up for characters and rather focused on animations to display the songs. This took away from the human part of the experience. Overall, Mary Poppins is good but does not fully capture the magic from before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LesmisrulzDec 25, 2018
Enjoyed this movie as much as or more than the original.

Story: While paying tribute to the past, the plot stands on its own. Predictable? Possibly, but it was still engaging with a few twists, and who wouldn’t expect a happy ending from a
Enjoyed this movie as much as or more than the original.

Story: While paying tribute to the past, the plot stands on its own. Predictable? Possibly, but it was still engaging with a few twists, and who wouldn’t expect a happy ending from a Disney film like this?

Acting: Emily Blunt managed to make a believable and musical Mary Poppins, a huge task when being inevitably compared with Julie Andrews. The children’s personalities were clearly distinguished and effectively showed change, making you care about their well-being. Lamplighter Lin-Manuel Miranda was entertaining, charming, and, like chimney sweep Bert before him, possessed an innate understanding of Mary. As adults, Michael gradually rediscovers his imagination amidst the stress and Jane finds happIness beyond a job. Dick van Dyke, Angela Lansbury, and Meryl Streep all contribute to memorable and even moving sequences.

Music and choreography: I have no idea why some reviewers have called the songs forgettable. I have several happily stuck in my head after only one viewing. All were either fitting for the plot and/or advanced the storyline. “London Sky” introduces a concept that only becomes clear by story’s end. “Can You Imagine That?” sets the mood for change after Mary’s arrival. “A Cover Is Not the Book” illuminates Mary’s magical traits and the need for the children to work together to aid the family. “Trip a Little Light Fantastic” mesmerizes with its athletic dancing and the film’s ability to capture London after dark during the years of the Great Slump, furthering the children’s recognition that they are not alone in their battles. “The Place Where the Lost Things Go” and its reprise create an emotional connection with the family on the screen and with its audience. The closing scenes masterfully weave a bit of “Feed the Birds” and “Fly a Kite” to the mix while still evoking a mood of wonder with “Nowhere To Go But Up” in a splendid ensemble manner.

This film should receive a handful of Golden Globe and Academy Award nominations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeDec 25, 2018
Flies Supremely Without Any Strings.

Mary Poppins Returns Marshall's version of one of the most beloved Disney character is practically advanced and not your usual overprotective confidant. Unlike the previous version, this one is less
Flies Supremely Without Any Strings.

Mary Poppins Returns

Marshall's version of one of the most beloved Disney character is practically advanced and not your usual overprotective confidant. Unlike the previous version, this one is less focused on glorifying Blunt's stardom by putting all the work in her shoulder and instead works marvelously as a teamwork. It surely is a Disney feature from head to toe. First of all, as usual Marshall's visual galore offers you an overwhelming dose of cinema with its meticulous art designing and jaw dropping production design. From choreography to performance, he squeezes out the best from each frame. The visual effects are a bit dodgy, but the animated musical sequence is a pure packet of delight. Frankly, if considered only the musical acts, it is a perfect ten.

From catchy songs to amazing choreography, the film flows smoothly without overstaying its welcome. Among many many musical bits, the one concerning the lanterns at night with Miranda at the helm is the perfect collaboration of everything; song, performance, choreography and visuals. And as far as the rest of the storytelling is concerned, unlike his few previous projects, Marshall has managed to keep it pragmatic. With fluent vocab and a persistent theme of staging each character as the protagonist of the scene, it is palpable to its happy-go-lucky nature.

The writing is quite balanced, all the actors gets their stand out moments. Whishaw as the victim has an amazing voice and sings expressively with Mortimer who might not have enough to invest but has tightly hold on to her role. The younger cast draws attention from the elder ones in musical sequences especially in the lantern musical act. Streep and Firth are merely their to raise the stakes of the table, their part concerns as an introduction to hold the audience whenever the storyline drops down.

Surprisingly, Miranda has a much bigger part to play, almost walking parallel-y to Blunt as a lead, his performance may be put on stand on drama for questioning but on musical acts, he is put upfront by the makers knowingly that he will impress. Blunt under the sheer pressure of filling in the shoes of Andrews, is confident and equally hilarious. One of the best gags of all is devouring her perfect-ness in the mirror that itself grows as a character. Marshall's maturity can be pointed out in here, where he doesn't unnecessarily offers Blunt a wider range to please the viewers, in her own contract-orial margin, she delivers unflinchingly. There is a sense of Disney-ness that saves this before falling into mediocrity lane.

The culminated sub-plots and tactics projected that hits altogether in the last act, amps up our emotions where Marshall manages to craft a live action sequence that is arguably written for an animated one. This merrily merry place does get way too sweet at times for you to swallow. And for their conflict, the very essence of Mary Poppins is it, and hence with an ironic and sarcastic note carried off effervescently by Blunt, it somehow manages to land safely; so what if with an umbrella. Mary Poppins Returns; she does, and she makes sure it matches the expectations, if not exceeds.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avr50Dec 26, 2018
I mean, is not "practically perfect in every way" as the original, but is a strong sequel that make me smile all the time. It is not entirely based on references to the original movie, but there are more that I would like, and Emily Blunt isI mean, is not "practically perfect in every way" as the original, but is a strong sequel that make me smile all the time. It is not entirely based on references to the original movie, but there are more that I would like, and Emily Blunt is perfect as Mary Poppins, she makes the role her own. It is a worth watch, so please, go see it with all your family, because it is so much fun and enjoy in here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
clarkaddisonDec 27, 2018
A genuine fun time for the kids and fans of the original. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda do a great job being the Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke for a new generation. There are a couple songs you and the kids could hum on your way outA genuine fun time for the kids and fans of the original. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda do a great job being the Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke for a new generation. There are a couple songs you and the kids could hum on your way out and learn to sing together. All together a fun time at the cinema for the kids and you probably won`t mind it as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ethanspeedDec 28, 2018
Mary Poppins Returns is a genuinely good sequel that entertained me all the way through. Unfortunately, the most entertaining part of the original, being the music, isn't better or even on par with the original film. Emily Blunt is a goodMary Poppins Returns is a genuinely good sequel that entertained me all the way through. Unfortunately, the most entertaining part of the original, being the music, isn't better or even on par with the original film. Emily Blunt is a good stand in for Julie Andrews and is a very good Mary Poppins. The visuals are stunning and a good step up from the first film. It's certainly not as good as the original, but it's still a good film nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MarkHReviewsDec 28, 2018
“Mary Poppins Returns,” as a show, is less than the sum of its parts. But some of those parts are magnificent. First, there is the respectful homage to actors of a prior generation. Dick Van Dyke, who played Bert the Chimney Sweep in the“Mary Poppins Returns,” as a show, is less than the sum of its parts. But some of those parts are magnificent. First, there is the respectful homage to actors of a prior generation. Dick Van Dyke, who played Bert the Chimney Sweep in the original “Mary Poppins” (1964), returns in this film, even singing and dancing in a final scene, no small accomplishment at age 93. Karen Dotrice, the original Jane, has a brief cameo. Angela Lansbury, also 93, who had no association with the original film, is amazingly spry in her brief appearance as a strong-voiced Balloon Lady.

Emily Blunt, who showed off her musical theater chops as the Baker’s Wife in “Into the Woods” (2014), is luminous as Mary – the perfect blend of regal bearing, mischievousness and warmth. When Mary Poppins is in charge, this film is on strong footing. On the other hand, when Lin Manuel-Miranda (Jack the Lamplighter) is on the screen, the audience does not “look around at how lucky we are to be alive right now.” His efforts need considerably more work, work.

Director Rob Marshall previously has been quite effective in bringing Broadway musicals to the screen. “Chicago” won six Academy Awards in 2003, including Best Picture, the first musical since 1968 to win the top award. His versions of “Nine” (2009) and 2014’s “Into the Woods” also are worthy of note.

Here, Marshall receives another credit as one of three story writers. One wonders why, since the plot is almost incidental. Widower Michael Banks (Ben Whishaw, so excellent in Amazon Prime’s “A Very English Scandal” this year) has fallen on hard times. He and his family are about to be evicted from their ancestral home. If only the family can find their Certificate of Shares in the bank that holds their mortgage, all will be saved. Six-year-olds across the world have a clear sense of how this will all end. The show lurches happily along from one song opportunity to the next, sometimes with no plot development. One interesting quirk: this may be the only Disney film in history where the animated sequences are by far the least effective elements of the film.

The score by Marc Shaiman, with lyrics by Shaiman and Scott Wittman, the team behind the excellent “Hairspray” (2007), is entirely serviceable. However, it suffers in comparison to the score of the original film. “Mary Poppins” offered a series of songs known by generations - “A Spoonful of Sugar,” “Chim Chim Cheree” and “Let’s Go Fly a Kite.” In this film, the score is super-cali-fragil-never-mind. There are no soaring ballads here that you simply can’t get out of your head. In fact, given the non-existent plot, many seem entirely interchangeable.

If you need a diversion to minimize the time you have to spend during the holidays talking with family members you’ve avoided all year, this may be the show for you. Medical warning: do not take a spoonful of you-know-what before viewing. It would just be redundant.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LegendaryLassDec 29, 2018
When the world needed it the most, Disney and director Rob Marshall gave us a true gem: an actual movie musical. Like the recent Star Wars reboots, Mary Poppins Returns mixes nostalgia with a fresh perspective and organic growth and providesWhen the world needed it the most, Disney and director Rob Marshall gave us a true gem: an actual movie musical. Like the recent Star Wars reboots, Mary Poppins Returns mixes nostalgia with a fresh perspective and organic growth and provides some truly spectacular musical numbers. You will be humming these tunes on the way to the car and for years to come. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
rlindauDec 29, 2018
Blah. It was mildly entertaining, but the plot, songs, and dances are all quite forgettable.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
AxeTDec 30, 2018
Technically well done, good casting of a fine Emily Blunt and a competent but entirely interchangeable Lin-Manuel Miranda it's nothing new, nothing special and nothing riveting to behold unlike the groundbreaking Disney classic from theTechnically well done, good casting of a fine Emily Blunt and a competent but entirely interchangeable Lin-Manuel Miranda it's nothing new, nothing special and nothing riveting to behold unlike the groundbreaking Disney classic from the sixties was at the time. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
SquiggsDec 31, 2018
Good movie, nice attempt at following up on an all time classic. Big big shoes to fill. Not bad on all fronts
But my problem is a big one, it's with Mary Poppins. Emily Blunt makes Mary her own with enough nods to the original, but this Mary
Good movie, nice attempt at following up on an all time classic. Big big shoes to fill. Not bad on all fronts
But my problem is a big one, it's with Mary Poppins. Emily Blunt makes Mary her own with enough nods to the original, but this Mary Poppins is a cold version that lacks the warmth of the original. The motherly warm touch that made us all fall in love with the movie is missing. Mary lacked personality, other than being prim and proper. I mean, please crack a genuine smile and show some bloody empathy once in a while. If you make a "returns" movie, you should have a continuation of the beloved character traits in the original. Otherwise, don't do it at all. Lin-Manuel Miranda shines as the star in this one, he's the most memorable character and whether that's a good or bad thing, I'll let you decide. But not a bad movie! Great singing, dancing and choreography. Worth the watch and a genuine attempt from all cast members.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticDec 31, 2018
Disney takes on the near impossible and delivers a joyous love letter to the original. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda lead a fantastic cast and except for one small part and musical number this is near perfect. Overall a mid 9 an A.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JeffB4125Dec 31, 2018
They aren't reinventing the wheel here, but if you liked the original and wished it could be updated with today's technology, here you go
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
brach311Dec 31, 2018
Emily Blunt is a credible MP and visually the movie is reminiscent of the original, but it ends there. The songs are neither cute nor fun to listen to. The dancinging is OK but neither Fred nor Gene would be singing their praises. TheEmily Blunt is a credible MP and visually the movie is reminiscent of the original, but it ends there. The songs are neither cute nor fun to listen to. The dancinging is OK but neither Fred nor Gene would be singing their praises. The story is hackneyed and transparent. So what's left? The kids in the audience tell that part of this story. During the interminable trailers before the movie there were laughs and giggles from the children during a few. There were none during MPR. Afterwards the five of us who saw the show together looked at each other and wondered why we'd bothered. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dejans_julesDec 31, 2018
Julie Andrews is my favorite musical actress, and my favorite movie since childhood has been "Mary Poppins", so I went to see this film with quite a skeptical eye. I had read many, many critical reviews and was prepared for completeJulie Andrews is my favorite musical actress, and my favorite movie since childhood has been "Mary Poppins", so I went to see this film with quite a skeptical eye. I had read many, many critical reviews and was prepared for complete disappointment; so much so that we almost decided not to go, but in the end we decided to give it a try. We gave a caveat to our children that they might not enjoy it, and a bare bones plot explanation, and headed to the theater. First, regarding the audience, though. There was a very broad age spectrum of viewers, and we were among the few with young children, which was a surprise. The film itself cannot, nor do I think it ever will, equal the original film by Walt Disney. However, all of us coming out at the end were actually impressed and pleased. The music is tied nicely to the first film with occasional themes sprinkled in, and the music style is also reminiscent of the original, as well as the basic structure of the story. We purchased the soundtrack immediately, and I am appreciating it more the more we listen to it. Having been exposed to the Mary Poppins book by P.L. Travers, I will say that Emily Blunt is definitely a bit more like the book character, but she retains some of the sentimentality of Andrews' Mary persona. She had such a tall order to meet in filling the role that Julie Andrews made a classic. But I rather ended up liking her version as well. Jack is a favorite in this film for me. There are a few parts of Mary Poppins Returns that seem rather slow moving, and I would have to see it again to understand why that is, but the story is good quality in my opinion. There are also a few annoying lines or interpretations of the script here and there, but they are very small. One thing I really appreciated was the aspect of the children experiencing some natural disappointment of their hopes regarding their bowl and helping their father. It is quite true to real life and is not sugar-coated fantasy, even though Mary Poppins is of course an impossibly fantastical character. There is good development of the characters in the film without it being chintzy or too forced. Quite unlike the original, however, the plot has a sort or circular, tied-in engineering. Jack is like the ribbon that holds it all together, and Mary Poppins portends the answers to the Banks' problems like a sort of clairvoyant revealing bits and pieces as the film progresses. In classic Mary Poppins fashion, though, she brings the family to discover their own answers. One note of caution to viewers with young children, there is a suspenseful scene involving the youngest Banks boy which they may find scary. It is somewhat akin to the animated 101 Dalmatians car chase with Cruella DeVille, but it does figure into the plot as a sort of linchpin (no pun intended). The original story has almost no suspense and no major villain, whereas Mary Poppins Returns does, but it is also fitting with the time period in which it is set. Overall, I disagree with critical reviewers because this film needs to stand on its own two feet, and I feel that it does, musically and in casting and acting, singing and score. I also disagree with glowing reviewers because this film is not classic and there are some noticeable gaps. But it is very good. Much better than Frozen or Tangled or other recent ("original") Disney releases, again, in my opinion, and with a much better set of take-away messages or lessons. We will most likely be purchasing it when it is released on DVD. If you expect it to be different and go with an eye to appreciate it for its own sake, then perhaps you, too, will be pleasantly surprised and enjoy Mary Poppins Returns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Jan 1, 2019
Solid sequel that has managed to capture the exact same magic that the original film did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
iiiiJan 1, 2019
Wonderful! Just as magical as the original. Like in the 1960s, children of all ages was awed to silence, and adults were roaring with laughter. I plan to see it again! Mary Poppins has always been my favorite movie. This movie set 20+ yearsWonderful! Just as magical as the original. Like in the 1960s, children of all ages was awed to silence, and adults were roaring with laughter. I plan to see it again! Mary Poppins has always been my favorite movie. This movie set 20+ years later was true to the original storyline, but amazingly contemporary. (Lin-Manuel Miranda rapping Hamilton-style. And Dick Van Dyke dancing again!) Another Classic that will ensure for generations! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LajaleaaJan 2, 2019
"Everything is possible. Even the impossible."
.
( 88/100 ) . Hay demasiado por lo que sonreír en este regreso de Mary Poppins. Lo siguiente será una confesión fuerte: No he visto Mary Poppins, la primera entrega de ésta saga que se presentó
"Everything is possible. Even the impossible."
.
( 88/100 )
.
Hay demasiado por lo que sonreír en este regreso de Mary Poppins. Lo siguiente será una confesión fuerte: No he visto Mary Poppins, la primera entrega de ésta saga que se presentó en 1964 para que las salas de cine no volvieran a ser lo mismo. Así que realmente no realizaré una comparativa, pero eso no evitará la extención de mi jubilo.
El regreso de Mary Poppins en manos de un nuevo elenco se siente, después de mi confesión, muy fresca, muy importe, muy impresionante: Imponente. El director es Rob Marshall, quien pinta cada escena de la película con la porción justa y adecuada de sensibilidad y espectacularidad. Desde su primera presentación en el cine con Chicago, su gusto por los musicales ha presentado sus mejores trabajos, y a pesar de que no estoy familiarizado con la totalidad de ellos, conozco un par que definitivamente me han sorprendido. Y Mary Poppins Returns, totalmente, es parte de ellos. Es muy difícil que el público no se contagie de ese gusto primigenio que nace de Rob Marshall y se instala en todo Mary Pappins Returns: Las coreografías, un magnifico y atractivo vestuario por parte de Sandy Powell, una escenografía grandiosa, colorida y gradualmente enaltecida con creatividad y dinamismo por parte de John Myhre y una deliciosa composición por parte de Marc Shaiman. Todos son amigos en Mary Poppins Returns y cada pieza del trabajo confabula para presentar una honorable visión que, al menos, sea tan imponente como su predecesora.
Y hablando de predecesoras, Dios, Emily Blunt no está fuera de las opciones más fuertes para ser nominada a un Academy Award por su personificación. Personalmente todavía tengo en un pedestal a Toni Collete por Hereditary, sin embargo Blunt es magnifica como aquella figura femenina inteligente, elocuente y llena de vida y energía que necesita toda ambientación complicada y oscurecida por los problemas que atormentan a los adultos. Por su parte, Lin-Manuel Miranda hace un gran acompañante de aventuras, tan inspirado por su previa experiencia con Mary Poppins que su sentido de aventura permite enseñarnos al público que no es difícil mantener encendida una pequeña flama de inspiración en nuestro interior al crecer, y menos aún, esparcirla. Los pequeños Pixie Davies, Nathanael Saleh y Joel Dawson y su permanente presencia en la narrativa inunda de ternura toda la aventura, y la forma en la que expresan las lecciones aprendidas también les otorga un papel sensible que le da importancia al musical. Y cuando se trata de sensibilidad, el guión, de David Magee, nos abraza con Ben Wishaw, quien sin problemas le dará una ancla a aquellos adultos presentes en la sala. Wishaw logra presentarse sensible y emotivo, presionado socialmente pero también personalmente, y entre querer ser su mejor adulto y ser su mejor niño, es él y su hermosa sonrisa la que nos enseña que no solo es más divertido, sino justo y necesario, ser nuestros mejores niños posibles. En ese último número musical, mi sonrisa no podía ser más grande y con alguna desconocida humedad en mis ojos disfruté cada fragmento de la música, de los personajes, de la historia, de las escenas y de mi mismo en esa sala. Sonará muy cursi pero, a veces permitir que la alegría ajena se impregne en uno mismo es el milagro que necesitamos. No es difícil ser bueno y no es difícil ser atento; no es difícil luchar, no es difícil encontrar la luz, no es difícil encontrar aquello que perdimos, no es difícil encontrar otras perspectivas, no es difícil explorar más allá de lo que dice la portada y no es difícil creer. Todo, en uno mismo. Por más extravagante e increíble que seamos.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
thegirlwhoknowsJan 2, 2019
Although this movie contains a couple special moments, over all it is nothing but lazy writing and unimaginative storyline. Disney of late seems to use the same scheme of throwing as many popular actors into a movie as possible and let itAlthough this movie contains a couple special moments, over all it is nothing but lazy writing and unimaginative storyline. Disney of late seems to use the same scheme of throwing as many popular actors into a movie as possible and let it come together in a mad jumble. Magic takes a lot more careful work. Shame on them for riding on the backs of the genius of P.L. Travers and Walt Disney and his team. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJan 3, 2019
I had never seen a Mary Poppins movie, and I went mainly because there was nothing else interesting that I hadn’t seen at the local megaplex, and because of Emily Blunt and Ben Whishaw. Both actors did a great job, and the rest of the castI had never seen a Mary Poppins movie, and I went mainly because there was nothing else interesting that I hadn’t seen at the local megaplex, and because of Emily Blunt and Ben Whishaw. Both actors did a great job, and the rest of the cast was also good, especially the children. Mary Poppins Returns was not as much fun as Paddington 2 or a Wallace and Gromit film, but it was lively and moved along and was fine for the doldrums of January. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
3
doc2beJan 4, 2019
Aside from a likeable Emily Blunt, this movie was horrible. The last quarter was good and watchable and fun. Music was dull and not catchy. Movie lacked depth and definitely the feeling of the original. Jacks character made me squirm. SoAside from a likeable Emily Blunt, this movie was horrible. The last quarter was good and watchable and fun. Music was dull and not catchy. Movie lacked depth and definitely the feeling of the original. Jacks character made me squirm. So disappointed. Loved the scenery hovering over a London. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsJan 5, 2019
The movie is amazing, but still not as good as the original one. The acting was still good, the animation looked magical and scenes that included animation were awesome. The singing was spectacular but the songs weren’t as memorable as theThe movie is amazing, but still not as good as the original one. The acting was still good, the animation looked magical and scenes that included animation were awesome. The singing was spectacular but the songs weren’t as memorable as the originals, but the songs were fun. The beginning was very interesting, the middle was filled with fun scenes, and the was good, not great. I recommend the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SquaredRenJan 6, 2019
I generally don't watch this type of movies, but it was pretty fun to watch. Songs and choreography were merged pretty well with the movie plot, but I felt the movie could be a lot shorter. It felt long, and some plot points were unnecessary.I generally don't watch this type of movies, but it was pretty fun to watch. Songs and choreography were merged pretty well with the movie plot, but I felt the movie could be a lot shorter. It felt long, and some plot points were unnecessary. Overall, it's fun to watch but not cinema worthy. Wait for it to launch on Netflix. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
VirgonoShakaJan 7, 2019
I wasn't sure what to expect from this. On one hand, I love the original, on the other, Sequels (especially decade long afterwards) can be pretty bad, but I went with an open mind and knowing I am weak towards musicals. The end result is...I wasn't sure what to expect from this. On one hand, I love the original, on the other, Sequels (especially decade long afterwards) can be pretty bad, but I went with an open mind and knowing I am weak towards musicals. The end result is... OK. Practically a rehash of the original, and too much of a safe movie, I can say that at least the production is good and the music (at least for the most part) is nice and catchy with Lin Manuel Miranda doing a bang up job. But other than that, it is nothing that special. Unless taking your children or a big fan, I would not be able to recommend. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Jan 7, 2019
This is a film that can feel incredibly cheesy for the times in which we live, both real and cinematographic but I think that also gives it a fairly big merit considering that it managed to print that old Disney magic in a story that they didThis is a film that can feel incredibly cheesy for the times in which we live, both real and cinematographic but I think that also gives it a fairly big merit considering that it managed to print that old Disney magic in a story that they did not seek to update but simply resume and it works. Not like the original without a doubt, but it definitely works.

Emily Blunt's work is amazing. She's really the best of this film. The rest of the cast pales before her work even though they don't do things badly.
Lin-Manuel Miranda's inclusion doesn't work really well and his English accent is pretty bad. I don't deny that he tries but this was not the kind of film that required his talent.

I should also mention that none of the songs are memorable so that's also a negative aspect. Good songs, functional songs but hardly remarkable.

Is it worth it? Of course. Believe me, this film will hardly become a classic but at this time and with its quality it's an indisputable option.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Compi24Jan 8, 2019
Acclaimed musical director Rob Marshall employs his "Into The Woods" collaborator Emily Blunt to revisit a classic. Somehow the resulting product, "Mary Poppins Returns," ends up simultaneously being one of the most unnecessary and uninspiredAcclaimed musical director Rob Marshall employs his "Into The Woods" collaborator Emily Blunt to revisit a classic. Somehow the resulting product, "Mary Poppins Returns," ends up simultaneously being one of the most unnecessary and uninspired sequels I've ever seen, yet still a watchable one. A film where its circumstances and central conceits are ultimately more dire than its predecessor's, there's almost nothing about its musical aspects that's worthy of screentime. The musical numbers only serve to distract the main characters from the central conflict of the film. Mary Poppins as a character is borderline inconsequential to the course of events and the songs themselves are almost entirely unremarkable. Still, as someone who's not necessarily a "Poppins" purist, it doesn't bother me all that much. It's just a harmless, silly, disposable junk food film. Don't expect much more than that. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jk9785Jan 9, 2019
It may be too close to the original in some ways, but Rob Marshall's "Mary Poppins Returns" is almost as full of magic and charm as its 1964 predecessor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NETMUSICJan 11, 2019
Emily Blunt is clearly the best thing in this movie, which itself is a fun ride for families with younger children. However, Lin-Manuel Miranda is not very good and brings the movie down the entire time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
NolanLundgaardJan 16, 2019
Anyone who knows me knows that I love the original Mary Poppins movie from 58 years ago. As this is the case, anyone can guess how excited I was to see this sequel for the first, which I totally was. It started off with an original musicAnyone who knows me knows that I love the original Mary Poppins movie from 58 years ago. As this is the case, anyone can guess how excited I was to see this sequel for the first, which I totally was. It started off with an original music number, which made me super excited for the rest of the film. Unfortunately, however, as the film progressed, the more disappointed I became. The special effects were exactly what I expected for a Mary Poppins movie with roughly 60 years of improved technology: nothing short of amazing. There were two scenes that were the pinnacle of the disappointment. The main offense was the “cover is not the book” scene. The song was not what I expected from a Mary Poppins film (although the Hamilton-style Lin Manuel Miranda solo was awesome) and it felt like they were making fun of the animated penguins (which were one of my favorite things about the original). On the other hand, I enjoyed the old-school-style animation of that scene. The other misfire was the Topsy number. It felt out of place and you can’t ruin any character, let alone Mary Poppins, by telling everyone that that character has such a creepo for a cousin. That being said, the bank taking property is, in my opinion, an overused conflict, however I liked how the banker was actually evil, along with the Dick Van Dyke cameo. This brings me to my next point: Lin-Manuel Miranda, though I love his Hamilton and In the Heights productions, was no Bert-substitute. And the Michael actor didn’t look like the kid in the original, but besides that, the casting was well done. Though Mary Poppins Returns was a bit underwhelming, it was still an enjoyable experience—at the times that didn’t fall flat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
2
TrevorsViewJan 19, 2019
In light of new year’s resolutions, we together should go back to when the impossible became possible, way back when Jesus walked earth (ahem, water) to prove himself as God’s son by breaking the laws of physics and the Pentateuch. As anIn light of new year’s resolutions, we together should go back to when the impossible became possible, way back when Jesus walked earth (ahem, water) to prove himself as God’s son by breaking the laws of physics and the Pentateuch. As an attempt of recreating that, for temporary entertainment, Disney revisits P.L. Travers’ Jesus figure she brought to humanity. The big Mouse House still hasn’t quite mastered how to produce live action feature films, meaning Mary Poppins Returns deserves no spot inside anyone’s wine cellar due to its absence of a story in order to showcase bad lip syncing, as well as other horrors of cinematic musicals.

The elements of this reality center around Michael, now a grown up widower with three children, who must pay off a loan or else lose his father’s home. It’s not at all worth caring for, since this potential homeless life leaves the three children unphased; I doubt they’d even run in fear from the Return to Oz wheelers—they’re that dull. That reality tries to combine with the whimsy too grounded in smelly parts of below to be funny, particularly when it comes to the bits with Admiral Boom. Then after two hours of hearing Lin-Manuel Miranda’s fake accent that sounds worse than Dick’s, the end takes on a thriller vibe driven by Colin Firth, an evil villain with a Cruella Deville cackle.

That’s why Mary Poppins returns, to help the family through something they easily could solve on their own. Rather, her only purpose is to teach kids dangerous games in a bathtub that for sure would cause death by drowning from toddlers who watch that scene and want to imitate it. The three offspring of Michael are in fact the ones who save the day for the grown-ups, something that would make parents watching roll their eyes; for any youngster that smart may as well crank their heads a full three-sixty then vomit pea soup. Except you won’t hear yourself shout, “the power of Christ compels you,” since the stereo blasts much louder than your own thoughts! While my mom and I were watching this, she had to cover her ears, and I wanted to, not just to block out the painful stereo, but because Michael sings worse than the witches of Hocus Pocus, making every one of his scenes that much more painful!

Although the good tunes try their best to remedy the pain, right from the exciting overture heard behind a series of rough London paintings. Marc Shaiman (The American President) heals the senses as his melody generates the spectacular tune of everyone fitting on a single bike, or even when the home of Mary’s cousin Topsy turns upside down. While many songs are bland, “Trip a Little Light Fantastic” manages to reach improbable levels of fun, relative to the rest of the film that is, although not like the legendary tunes of the original. Although not as strong, Emily Blunt does her best to capture the pacing of Julie Andrews’ iconic role by continually denying the adventures she has with the kids.

Those details leave relatively miniscule scars—all else penetrates pretty deep. Mary succumbs dancers less organized than the hysterical housemaid of the original movie, and with a sense of chaos that feels like life flashing before the eyes. A vertigo camera effect used at one brief point in the horrific climax means Cherry Tree Lane looking better than before matters none; the attempts to spark nostalgia fail from certain abuse of modern filming techniques.

Another huge reason for that disloyalty to the source material comes from the casting: Meryl Streep’s obnoxious accent literally seems unsure about which side of fantasy to express, she resorts to the anti-fantasy of a surfaced trout‘s blub-blub-blub. But the biggest reason for the disloyalty lands on the screenplay; nothing that ever happens, not even a china bowl adventure where a wolf steals one of the boys‘ stuffed giraffe, inflicts change on anybody or anything. After all the chaos happens, a deus ex machina renders everything throughout the entire film pointless… and just to make room for a High School Musical type of ending that teaches young innocent minds to stay self-indulgent on their dreams.

Really, what’s the point of these excessive musical numbers if they’re just going to be as obnoxious as a Cheetah Girl concert? There’s even a cabaret number to divert the familiar old Mary Poppins essence, hence why the people responsible behind this sequel forgot why the original became a classic. Highly doubtful they even care about the earliest memories of so many who grew up with Mary Poppins.

I as one came to love the original Mary Poppins over time due to its profound themes of a family’s interpersonal distance. Ignore the way Mary Poppins Returns has made P.L. Travers roll over in her grave. Look instead toward a man who walked on the sea, died, came back, and flew to heaven; that gives rewards beyond diving into a soapy tub.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnTheAndroidJan 22, 2019
Movies like Mary Poppins Returns aren't made that often with this level of care for the original piece, the homages to the original can be seen all throughout the film, musical nods, lines, objects that were in the original, and the list goesMovies like Mary Poppins Returns aren't made that often with this level of care for the original piece, the homages to the original can be seen all throughout the film, musical nods, lines, objects that were in the original, and the list goes on. It's obviously not as good as the first ride, but it is surely supercalifragilisticexpialidoxious. The songs aren't memorable, the lyrics at least, but I went out of the movies humming the tunes to myself, never the less. The set pieces are truly nostagic and remarkable, from 17 Cherry Tree Lane, to the Bank's house, to the bank to a underwater land. The performances are great too, Emily Blunt as Mary Poppin is practically perfect in every way, having a diferent accent, a different attitude, a slightly more rude Poppins, beeing closer to the books written by P. L. Travers. Michael Banks, all grown up is great played by Ben Wishaw, a very talented actor.
Emily Mortimer as Jane Banks is also good and really captures the brother and sister dynamic very well. Mary Poppins Returns is a welcome treat for fans of the original, even if it is alittle forgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews