Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date: December 19, 2018
6.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 226 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
133
Mixed:
60
Negative:
33
Watch Now
Sign up for
Stream On
Buy On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
Pedrofgh2003Dec 25, 2018
It`s an incredible movie! It brings so much joy with the songs, story and acting! Emily Blunt is amazing! A sequel that honors the original!
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
10
nateOstrikeDec 25, 2018
I completely enjoyed this movie for what it is. It is a funfilled, wholesome movie with a nice story. The acting is great and the songs too. You can take anyone of any age to this and they will enjoy it. Well done.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
9
JoshocomDec 20, 2018
My wife, my 13-year-old daughter, and I went to Mary Poppins with guarded excitement. We'd read enough reviews to be wary that this was not going to be as enchanting as the first Mary Poppins. But we were surprised -- in a very positive way.My wife, my 13-year-old daughter, and I went to Mary Poppins with guarded excitement. We'd read enough reviews to be wary that this was not going to be as enchanting as the first Mary Poppins. But we were surprised -- in a very positive way.

I'm as big a fan of the original as you'll find; it was a substantial influence on my life when it came out (I wanted to grow up to be Dick Van Dyke). So I was especially doubtful. We had purchased the soundtrack, which was released a couple of weeks before the movie, so we were already familiar with the songs -- and really found several of them to be nearly as memorable as some of the Sherman brothers' songs -- particularly "Nowhere to Go But Up" and "A Cover is Not the Book." So we already liked the music.

Well, the movie was enchanting. I sat there was a big silly grin on my face for most of it; my wife sobbed at several points, and my daughter squeezed my hand repeatedly and actually cried at the end (which is unusual for her; she tends not to lose it at emotional endings). We left singing the songs, and absolutely thrilled with Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda. I was also incredibly impressed with the kids and with Ben Wishaw...and of course it was so uplifting to see Dick Van Dyke and Angela Lansbury still in form.

If I had one criticism, it was that the plot setup seemed rush and workmanlike. I could have stood a little more character development before the heavies moved in. But that's a small quibble in what was otherwise a transporting film that I recommend wholeheartedly, especially for families and those who can abandon their cynicism temporarily and give themselves over to the fantasy.
Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
9
snafu92231Dec 21, 2018
I didn't like that gennre, but boy... this movie is full of joy, happiness with really nice production design and great costumes and good songs. I can only watched the hungarian dubbed version (even the songs were dubbed) in cinemas, but iI didn't like that gennre, but boy... this movie is full of joy, happiness with really nice production design and great costumes and good songs. I can only watched the hungarian dubbed version (even the songs were dubbed) in cinemas, but i will watch it in original language too. Blunt is superb, she will recieve that Oscar nod sure thing. I just keep smiling for 2 hours. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
farfromheaven26Dec 26, 2018
Though the wholly enchanting "Mary Poppins Returns" received mostly excellent reviews as did the film's titular star Emily Blunt, what surprised me most was the terrific score by Marc Shaiman which is anything but unmemorable. "Nowhere to GoThough the wholly enchanting "Mary Poppins Returns" received mostly excellent reviews as did the film's titular star Emily Blunt, what surprised me most was the terrific score by Marc Shaiman which is anything but unmemorable. "Nowhere to Go But Up," "A Conversation," "Trip a Little Light Fantastic," "Underneath the Lonely London Sky," "The Place Where Lost Things Go,"(the film's very best song) and "Can You Imagine That?" lead a spirited, lyrically accomplished array of songs that make this homage to one of the screen's most beloved musicals in its own right an effervescent confection that also forges its own path. Splendid cameo numbers from Dick Van Dyke, Angela Lansbury and Meryl Streep add to the unbridled merriment. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
iiiiJan 1, 2019
Wonderful! Just as magical as the original. Like in the 1960s, children of all ages was awed to silence, and adults were roaring with laughter. I plan to see it again! Mary Poppins has always been my favorite movie. This movie set 20+ yearsWonderful! Just as magical as the original. Like in the 1960s, children of all ages was awed to silence, and adults were roaring with laughter. I plan to see it again! Mary Poppins has always been my favorite movie. This movie set 20+ years later was true to the original storyline, but amazingly contemporary. (Lin-Manuel Miranda rapping Hamilton-style. And Dick Van Dyke dancing again!) Another Classic that will ensure for generations! Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
8
Brent_MarchantDec 31, 2018
In the interest of full disclosure, I was skeptical about this one and wasn't particularly looking forward to seeing it. I must admit, however, that I enjoyed it more than I was expecting, especially since remaking classics or creatingIn the interest of full disclosure, I was skeptical about this one and wasn't particularly looking forward to seeing it. I must admit, however, that I enjoyed it more than I was expecting, especially since remaking classics or creating sequels to them is very risky business (and something that often makes me cringe). This offering does justice to the original by not ruining its legacy, thanks to the excellent production values, fine performances and an enjoyable soundtrack that, unlike so many contemporary musicals, isn't totally forgettable. Emily Blunt pays perfect homage to the legendary character and is worthy of whatever acclaim that comes her way, and kudos are definitely due a fine cast of supporting players. The film is, unfortunately, somewhat episodic, using the narrative between musical numbers mostly as a bridge to link the songs to one another. Otherwise, though, this is a capably made and surprisingly delightful release. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Jan 7, 2019
This is a film that can feel incredibly cheesy for the times in which we live, both real and cinematographic but I think that also gives it a fairly big merit considering that it managed to print that old Disney magic in a story that they didThis is a film that can feel incredibly cheesy for the times in which we live, both real and cinematographic but I think that also gives it a fairly big merit considering that it managed to print that old Disney magic in a story that they did not seek to update but simply resume and it works. Not like the original without a doubt, but it definitely works.

Emily Blunt's work is amazing. She's really the best of this film. The rest of the cast pales before her work even though they don't do things badly.
Lin-Manuel Miranda's inclusion doesn't work really well and his English accent is pretty bad. I don't deny that he tries but this was not the kind of film that required his talent.

I should also mention that none of the songs are memorable so that's also a negative aspect. Good songs, functional songs but hardly remarkable.

Is it worth it? Of course. Believe me, this film will hardly become a classic but at this time and with its quality it's an indisputable option.
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
MaxPeskyJan 28, 2019
This Movie Is Just Like Original Mary Poppins But Different, The Last time I See this Movie Is I was Watching This Movie At Event Cinemas In Glendale, NSW, The Music Is Best, The Movie Was Best, And Many Things Was Best
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
savagelaDec 21, 2018
Delightful! Joyous! and so touching. Ben Wishaw is so ardent that he melts your heart. The kids are just right. Emily Blunt is Magical, Magical. Her voice is fantastic. The songs are hummable and memorable. I've been singing "Can You ImagineDelightful! Joyous! and so touching. Ben Wishaw is so ardent that he melts your heart. The kids are just right. Emily Blunt is Magical, Magical. Her voice is fantastic. The songs are hummable and memorable. I've been singing "Can You Imagine That," and "Nowhere to go but up" all week. The finale with the balloons surpasses the wonder of "fly a kite." Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
9
Megajohn85Dec 19, 2018
Nothing will top the first Mary Poppins. There’s no disputing that but the sequel is just as wholesome. Emily Blunt does as fantastic job as Mary Poppins which surprised me
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
8
moviemitch96Dec 19, 2018
Wow! What an absolute joy to watch! Of course, I love the original film, as it's such a fun and charming classic, but man, not only was this a worthy successor, but this is pretty much an instant classic in its own right as far as I'mWow! What an absolute joy to watch! Of course, I love the original film, as it's such a fun and charming classic, but man, not only was this a worthy successor, but this is pretty much an instant classic in its own right as far as I'm concerned, as it holds its own against the original effortlessly! Emily Blunt is absolutely perfect in the titular role, and without a doubt does Julie Andrews proud (she even gave Blunt her personal approval!) And for all the Hamilton fans, Lin-Manuel Miranda charms marvellously alongside Blunt. The songs are a delight, and the animation sequences that blend with the actors, much like in the first film, are all beautifully rendered. Topping all of this off are some fun little cameos in the film's final act. I will say that I was a bit disappointed that there weren't really any songs from the original (not even Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious), and I thought some renditions of at least a couple might've been fun to see. And there are some familiar and predictable tropes and moments, but when a film like this has me grinning from ear to ear for nearly the whole time, it hardly even matters! Overall, whether you've seen the original or not, you'd have to have a heart of stone not to be even remotely won over or charmed by this joy of a film, as it's an absolute delight to watch from start to finish! Simple as that! Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
8
Trineo99Dec 22, 2018
First of all, Emily Blunt's performance as Mary Poppins is excellent. She makes this famous character her own by just embodying her. She seems more like somebody who actually cares about these children. The ending shows this the best. Also inFirst of all, Emily Blunt's performance as Mary Poppins is excellent. She makes this famous character her own by just embodying her. She seems more like somebody who actually cares about these children. The ending shows this the best. Also in the song “Where the Lost Things Go” they show her caring for the children a way that the original didn’t show. I also have to applaud Lin-Manuel Miranda, who played Jack, performance in this film. You could easily tell that he was having fun with his character. I just wished we got to see his character more. I’m glad that they didn’t change the special effects in this film and kept it in the style of the 1964 one. They did put a slight modern day look to it but it was still the same style at the end of the day. Now some people say that none of the songs in this aren’t catchy and I argue over that. I would say that all but a few songs are catchy. The only non-catchy songs are the ones that are a bit slower and “Turning Turtle.” All the other songs are energetic and have great choreography to go with them. Marc Shaiman also composed the original score for this film and it’s just as magical. During the opening credits you can hear his score and in it, there are hints to the songs from the first film. The production design on each of the sets looks straight out of the first. I just wished they took a bit more care in making the house look more like the original. There are some obvious details to it that make it not look similar. For one the entryway is entirely different. They had some unique transitions between the scenes of the real world and imagination. The atmosphere in this film was excellent. In each scene, it gave off the correct type of atmosphere that you would feel in that situation. Finally, I think there were a few scenes that could have been cut out and it wouldn’t have affected the movie. Mainly because they did nothing with it later on. In the end, Mary Poppins Returns is an excellent film that is just as great as the first one. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
9
selenatorDec 21, 2018
I hate to be cliche, but it's practically perfect in every way. Emily Blunt is tremendous - one of today's finest actresses.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
9
bethanyrobbenDec 22, 2018
A lot of people have been saying they don't like this movie as much as the original, but I had a lot of fun watching this movie! Emily Blunt did an excellent job portraying Mary Poppins, & I loved the fun they put into the musical scenes!A lot of people have been saying they don't like this movie as much as the original, but I had a lot of fun watching this movie! Emily Blunt did an excellent job portraying Mary Poppins, & I loved the fun they put into the musical scenes! When I walked out of the movie, I had the "Can you Imagine That?" song stuck in my head for the rest of the night! Excellent sequel to the original! Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Davrosdaleks1Dec 23, 2018
Mary Poppins Returns, about the titular nanny returning to help the grown up Banks children, was a true experience for me that brings back the feel of the original Mary Poppins and 60's Disney in general. (It even has a nostalgicMary Poppins Returns, about the titular nanny returning to help the grown up Banks children, was a true experience for me that brings back the feel of the original Mary Poppins and 60's Disney in general. (It even has a nostalgic old-fashioned opening credits).

The entire thing looks and feels fantastic like an old-timey storybook. Includes a new 2-D animated/live-action segment, not something we've seen in a while and a welcome comeback. The story itself has a very old-fashioned and genuinely good-hearted feel to it.

Great cast. Blunt makes and an excellent Mary Poppins, and Lin Manuel Miranda is pretty likable as Jack, Bert's replacement. Ben Wishaw (the voice of Paddinton and the most recent Q from the James Bond films) does a surprisingly sympathetic job as Michael Banks mourning the loss of his wife and just trying to keep things together.

The songs, by Marc Shaiman (Hairspray and parts of the South Park movie and Team America) aren't as catchy or memorable as the first film, but that's not knocking these songs. I did like them all and they again captured an old-school feeling.

There were some weak points. A lot of the scenes set in London, were too darkly shot for their own good. I mean I understand that an intentional style choice as the bleakness of London contrasts with the brightness Mary Poppins brings, but it makes it a pain to watch at some points.

The movie is basically like The Force Awakens as it repeats many elements from the first film. (They even bring back Admiral Boom, now played by David Warner. I mean come on he was no spring chicken in the first film. He should be dead by now.) Also, the whole mother-just-died bit was done by Disney only a month ago for the Nutcracker movie, although this movie handles it a lot better if you ask me.

Lastly, the main antagonist is paper-thin and whose crookedness exceeds practicality. This is especially disappointing as the first film didn't need this sort of villain to drive the plot.

Those criticisms aside, I had so much fun with this movie that I'm still giving it a full rating. There is nothing really objectionable in this but be forewarned younger children may be bored by the more talky moments. I saw restlessness in my nephew and other young children while watching this.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
markydiscoDec 24, 2018
Absolutely delightful movie! I had a smile on my face pretty much through the whole film. The music and dance numbers are top notch as well as the performances. I grew up on the original, but, I have to say this new Mary Poppins movie isAbsolutely delightful movie! I had a smile on my face pretty much through the whole film. The music and dance numbers are top notch as well as the performances. I grew up on the original, but, I have to say this new Mary Poppins movie is definitely well done. The feel good movie of the year. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Lizza25Dec 24, 2018
Gorgeous family film and ms blunt is genius as poppins. The musical numbers including 2D are magical.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryJan 1, 2019
After 54 years, her return to the screen pretty much follows the template of the original: sweet children, withholding father, tuneful songs, eye-popping fantasies, and of course, the sassy nanny (Emily Blunt). The situations are Disney sweetAfter 54 years, her return to the screen pretty much follows the template of the original: sweet children, withholding father, tuneful songs, eye-popping fantasies, and of course, the sassy nanny (Emily Blunt). The situations are Disney sweet (even when times are down), the performers are all fine (Blunt was acceptable, but not outstanding), the flights of imagination are enjoyable and the pleasant tunes feel stylistically like the originals without being memorable. The film hits all of the right notes, just not as wonderfully as the first time. While it's not without charm and the story never lags, this follow-up doesn't possess that special magic that made the original a classic. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
MarinespetsnazMar 9, 2019
I am a fan of Emily Blunt after watching her last few movies. I am still mixed feeling on this movie, but I think it was an above average movie for sure and worth a watch. I couldn't help but yell, "I'M MARRY POPPINS Y'ALL!" in the theaterI am a fan of Emily Blunt after watching her last few movies. I am still mixed feeling on this movie, but I think it was an above average movie for sure and worth a watch. I couldn't help but yell, "I'M MARRY POPPINS Y'ALL!" in the theater before the movie started. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
LegendaryLassDec 29, 2018
When the world needed it the most, Disney and director Rob Marshall gave us a true gem: an actual movie musical. Like the recent Star Wars reboots, Mary Poppins Returns mixes nostalgia with a fresh perspective and organic growth and providesWhen the world needed it the most, Disney and director Rob Marshall gave us a true gem: an actual movie musical. Like the recent Star Wars reboots, Mary Poppins Returns mixes nostalgia with a fresh perspective and organic growth and provides some truly spectacular musical numbers. You will be humming these tunes on the way to the car and for years to come. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TamotefuMar 12, 2019
I can't believe some people. The movie was a fantastic feel good experience, which is exactly what I want from my disney movies. Does the movie have faults? Sure. Is the plot a tight knit web of threads? No. But that's not the point, not ofI can't believe some people. The movie was a fantastic feel good experience, which is exactly what I want from my disney movies. Does the movie have faults? Sure. Is the plot a tight knit web of threads? No. But that's not the point, not of this breed of disney movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
survivorfan989Jan 1, 2019
Solid sequel that has managed to capture the exact same magic that the original film did.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
GinaKJan 3, 2019
I had never seen a Mary Poppins movie, and I went mainly because there was nothing else interesting that I hadn’t seen at the local megaplex, and because of Emily Blunt and Ben Whishaw. Both actors did a great job, and the rest of the castI had never seen a Mary Poppins movie, and I went mainly because there was nothing else interesting that I hadn’t seen at the local megaplex, and because of Emily Blunt and Ben Whishaw. Both actors did a great job, and the rest of the cast was also good, especially the children. Mary Poppins Returns was not as much fun as Paddington 2 or a Wallace and Gromit film, but it was lively and moved along and was fine for the doldrums of January. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
BrianMcCriticDec 31, 2018
Disney takes on the near impossible and delivers a joyous love letter to the original. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda lead a fantastic cast and except for one small part and musical number this is near perfect. Overall a mid 9 an A.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
PandaFromHell05Feb 7, 2019
I was afraid that I was going to hate this movie, because I love Mary Poppins. However, after watching it, I absolutely loved it. First of all, Emily Blunt plays a fantastic role of Mary Poppins. I truly believe that Julie Andrews would beI was afraid that I was going to hate this movie, because I love Mary Poppins. However, after watching it, I absolutely loved it. First of all, Emily Blunt plays a fantastic role of Mary Poppins. I truly believe that Julie Andrews would be okay with this. Second of all, this is not only a sequel, but it holds true to the spirit of the original movie. If you look, the songs are very similar to Mary Poppins in the style and order of the film. Of course, Mary Poppins is better than Mary Poppins Returns. However, this movie is good too.

Please don't be afraid of change and see this movie. If you hold Mary Poppins true to your heart like I do, you'll still love it.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
infinJan 27, 2019
Mary Poppins Returns is brilliant. As a tragic fan of the original I had tears of joy streaming down my face in this movie. Some of the gas lighter scenes were cringey but forgivable. And the length isn't notice as it is always movingMary Poppins Returns is brilliant. As a tragic fan of the original I had tears of joy streaming down my face in this movie. Some of the gas lighter scenes were cringey but forgivable. And the length isn't notice as it is always moving along. Great for kids. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
avr50Dec 26, 2018
I mean, is not "practically perfect in every way" as the original, but is a strong sequel that make me smile all the time. It is not entirely based on references to the original movie, but there are more that I would like, and Emily Blunt isI mean, is not "practically perfect in every way" as the original, but is a strong sequel that make me smile all the time. It is not entirely based on references to the original movie, but there are more that I would like, and Emily Blunt is perfect as Mary Poppins, she makes the role her own. It is a worth watch, so please, go see it with all your family, because it is so much fun and enjoy in here. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jk9785Jan 9, 2019
It may be too close to the original in some ways, but Rob Marshall's "Mary Poppins Returns" is almost as full of magic and charm as its 1964 predecessor.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
MonkiReviewsJan 5, 2019
The movie is amazing, but still not as good as the original one. The acting was still good, the animation looked magical and scenes that included animation were awesome. The singing was spectacular but the songs weren’t as memorable as theThe movie is amazing, but still not as good as the original one. The acting was still good, the animation looked magical and scenes that included animation were awesome. The singing was spectacular but the songs weren’t as memorable as the originals, but the songs were fun. The beginning was very interesting, the middle was filled with fun scenes, and the was good, not great. I recommend the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
SquaredRenJan 6, 2019
I generally don't watch this type of movies, but it was pretty fun to watch. Songs and choreography were merged pretty well with the movie plot, but I felt the movie could be a lot shorter. It felt long, and some plot points were unnecessary.I generally don't watch this type of movies, but it was pretty fun to watch. Songs and choreography were merged pretty well with the movie plot, but I felt the movie could be a lot shorter. It felt long, and some plot points were unnecessary. Overall, it's fun to watch but not cinema worthy. Wait for it to launch on Netflix. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
manningn15Apr 27, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I loved Mary Poppins but I loved Mary Poppins Returns even more. This is one of my top 10 favorite musicals of all time, one of my favorite movies of 2018, one of my favorite Disney movies of all time, and one of my favorite movies of all time. The soundtrack, score, and musical numbers were terrific, one of my favorite movie soundtracks of all time. The acting was stupendous especially Emily Blunt as well as Ben Whishaw, Lin-Manuel Miranda, Joel Dawson, Emily Mortimer, Julie Walters, Pixie Davies, Nathanael Saleh, Meryl Streep, Dick Van Dyke, and Angela Lansbury. The costume designs were fantastic and gorgeous especially Emily Blunt's costumes. The visuals, visual effects, and animation were spectacular especially the bathtub scene and Royal Doulton Music Hall scene. The sets were great as well. The writing and screenplay were also great. A+. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
ethanspeedDec 28, 2018
Mary Poppins Returns is a genuinely good sequel that entertained me all the way through. Unfortunately, the most entertaining part of the original, being the music, isn't better or even on par with the original film. Emily Blunt is a goodMary Poppins Returns is a genuinely good sequel that entertained me all the way through. Unfortunately, the most entertaining part of the original, being the music, isn't better or even on par with the original film. Emily Blunt is a good stand in for Julie Andrews and is a very good Mary Poppins. The visuals are stunning and a good step up from the first film. It's certainly not as good as the original, but it's still a good film nonetheless. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
amheretojudgeDec 25, 2018
Flies Supremely Without Any Strings.

Mary Poppins Returns Marshall's version of one of the most beloved Disney character is practically advanced and not your usual overprotective confidant. Unlike the previous version, this one is less
Flies Supremely Without Any Strings.

Mary Poppins Returns

Marshall's version of one of the most beloved Disney character is practically advanced and not your usual overprotective confidant. Unlike the previous version, this one is less focused on glorifying Blunt's stardom by putting all the work in her shoulder and instead works marvelously as a teamwork. It surely is a Disney feature from head to toe. First of all, as usual Marshall's visual galore offers you an overwhelming dose of cinema with its meticulous art designing and jaw dropping production design. From choreography to performance, he squeezes out the best from each frame. The visual effects are a bit dodgy, but the animated musical sequence is a pure packet of delight. Frankly, if considered only the musical acts, it is a perfect ten.

From catchy songs to amazing choreography, the film flows smoothly without overstaying its welcome. Among many many musical bits, the one concerning the lanterns at night with Miranda at the helm is the perfect collaboration of everything; song, performance, choreography and visuals. And as far as the rest of the storytelling is concerned, unlike his few previous projects, Marshall has managed to keep it pragmatic. With fluent vocab and a persistent theme of staging each character as the protagonist of the scene, it is palpable to its happy-go-lucky nature.

The writing is quite balanced, all the actors gets their stand out moments. Whishaw as the victim has an amazing voice and sings expressively with Mortimer who might not have enough to invest but has tightly hold on to her role. The younger cast draws attention from the elder ones in musical sequences especially in the lantern musical act. Streep and Firth are merely their to raise the stakes of the table, their part concerns as an introduction to hold the audience whenever the storyline drops down.

Surprisingly, Miranda has a much bigger part to play, almost walking parallel-y to Blunt as a lead, his performance may be put on stand on drama for questioning but on musical acts, he is put upfront by the makers knowingly that he will impress. Blunt under the sheer pressure of filling in the shoes of Andrews, is confident and equally hilarious. One of the best gags of all is devouring her perfect-ness in the mirror that itself grows as a character. Marshall's maturity can be pointed out in here, where he doesn't unnecessarily offers Blunt a wider range to please the viewers, in her own contract-orial margin, she delivers unflinchingly. There is a sense of Disney-ness that saves this before falling into mediocrity lane.

The culminated sub-plots and tactics projected that hits altogether in the last act, amps up our emotions where Marshall manages to craft a live action sequence that is arguably written for an animated one. This merrily merry place does get way too sweet at times for you to swallow. And for their conflict, the very essence of Mary Poppins is it, and hence with an ironic and sarcastic note carried off effervescently by Blunt, it somehow manages to land safely; so what if with an umbrella. Mary Poppins Returns; she does, and she makes sure it matches the expectations, if not exceeds.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
clarkaddisonDec 27, 2018
A genuine fun time for the kids and fans of the original. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda do a great job being the Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke for a new generation. There are a couple songs you and the kids could hum on your way outA genuine fun time for the kids and fans of the original. Emily Blunt and Lin-Manuel Miranda do a great job being the Julie Andrews and Dick Van Dyke for a new generation. There are a couple songs you and the kids could hum on your way out and learn to sing together. All together a fun time at the cinema for the kids and you probably won`t mind it as well. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LesmisrulzDec 25, 2018
Enjoyed this movie as much as or more than the original.

Story: While paying tribute to the past, the plot stands on its own. Predictable? Possibly, but it was still engaging with a few twists, and who wouldn’t expect a happy ending from a
Enjoyed this movie as much as or more than the original.

Story: While paying tribute to the past, the plot stands on its own. Predictable? Possibly, but it was still engaging with a few twists, and who wouldn’t expect a happy ending from a Disney film like this?

Acting: Emily Blunt managed to make a believable and musical Mary Poppins, a huge task when being inevitably compared with Julie Andrews. The children’s personalities were clearly distinguished and effectively showed change, making you care about their well-being. Lamplighter Lin-Manuel Miranda was entertaining, charming, and, like chimney sweep Bert before him, possessed an innate understanding of Mary. As adults, Michael gradually rediscovers his imagination amidst the stress and Jane finds happIness beyond a job. Dick van Dyke, Angela Lansbury, and Meryl Streep all contribute to memorable and even moving sequences.

Music and choreography: I have no idea why some reviewers have called the songs forgettable. I have several happily stuck in my head after only one viewing. All were either fitting for the plot and/or advanced the storyline. “London Sky” introduces a concept that only becomes clear by story’s end. “Can You Imagine That?” sets the mood for change after Mary’s arrival. “A Cover Is Not the Book” illuminates Mary’s magical traits and the need for the children to work together to aid the family. “Trip a Little Light Fantastic” mesmerizes with its athletic dancing and the film’s ability to capture London after dark during the years of the Great Slump, furthering the children’s recognition that they are not alone in their battles. “The Place Where the Lost Things Go” and its reprise create an emotional connection with the family on the screen and with its audience. The closing scenes masterfully weave a bit of “Feed the Birds” and “Fly a Kite” to the mix while still evoking a mood of wonder with “Nowhere To Go But Up” in a splendid ensemble manner.

This film should receive a handful of Golden Globe and Academy Award nominations.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
goncalocoutoFeb 3, 2019
Embora não nos mostre nada de novo, "Mary Poppins" é uma sucessão digna do filme original. As animações são fantásticas e conseguiram agradar os mais velhos e divertir os mais novos.
7/10
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
LajaleaaJan 2, 2019
"Everything is possible. Even the impossible."
.
( 88/100 ) . Hay demasiado por lo que sonreír en este regreso de Mary Poppins. Lo siguiente será una confesión fuerte: No he visto Mary Poppins, la primera entrega de ésta saga que se presentó
"Everything is possible. Even the impossible."
.
( 88/100 )
.
Hay demasiado por lo que sonreír en este regreso de Mary Poppins. Lo siguiente será una confesión fuerte: No he visto Mary Poppins, la primera entrega de ésta saga que se presentó en 1964 para que las salas de cine no volvieran a ser lo mismo. Así que realmente no realizaré una comparativa, pero eso no evitará la extención de mi jubilo.
El regreso de Mary Poppins en manos de un nuevo elenco se siente, después de mi confesión, muy fresca, muy importe, muy impresionante: Imponente. El director es Rob Marshall, quien pinta cada escena de la película con la porción justa y adecuada de sensibilidad y espectacularidad. Desde su primera presentación en el cine con Chicago, su gusto por los musicales ha presentado sus mejores trabajos, y a pesar de que no estoy familiarizado con la totalidad de ellos, conozco un par que definitivamente me han sorprendido. Y Mary Poppins Returns, totalmente, es parte de ellos. Es muy difícil que el público no se contagie de ese gusto primigenio que nace de Rob Marshall y se instala en todo Mary Pappins Returns: Las coreografías, un magnifico y atractivo vestuario por parte de Sandy Powell, una escenografía grandiosa, colorida y gradualmente enaltecida con creatividad y dinamismo por parte de John Myhre y una deliciosa composición por parte de Marc Shaiman. Todos son amigos en Mary Poppins Returns y cada pieza del trabajo confabula para presentar una honorable visión que, al menos, sea tan imponente como su predecesora.
Y hablando de predecesoras, Dios, Emily Blunt no está fuera de las opciones más fuertes para ser nominada a un Academy Award por su personificación. Personalmente todavía tengo en un pedestal a Toni Collete por Hereditary, sin embargo Blunt es magnifica como aquella figura femenina inteligente, elocuente y llena de vida y energía que necesita toda ambientación complicada y oscurecida por los problemas que atormentan a los adultos. Por su parte, Lin-Manuel Miranda hace un gran acompañante de aventuras, tan inspirado por su previa experiencia con Mary Poppins que su sentido de aventura permite enseñarnos al público que no es difícil mantener encendida una pequeña flama de inspiración en nuestro interior al crecer, y menos aún, esparcirla. Los pequeños Pixie Davies, Nathanael Saleh y Joel Dawson y su permanente presencia en la narrativa inunda de ternura toda la aventura, y la forma en la que expresan las lecciones aprendidas también les otorga un papel sensible que le da importancia al musical. Y cuando se trata de sensibilidad, el guión, de David Magee, nos abraza con Ben Wishaw, quien sin problemas le dará una ancla a aquellos adultos presentes en la sala. Wishaw logra presentarse sensible y emotivo, presionado socialmente pero también personalmente, y entre querer ser su mejor adulto y ser su mejor niño, es él y su hermosa sonrisa la que nos enseña que no solo es más divertido, sino justo y necesario, ser nuestros mejores niños posibles. En ese último número musical, mi sonrisa no podía ser más grande y con alguna desconocida humedad en mis ojos disfruté cada fragmento de la música, de los personajes, de la historia, de las escenas y de mi mismo en esa sala. Sonará muy cursi pero, a veces permitir que la alegría ajena se impregne en uno mismo es el milagro que necesitamos. No es difícil ser bueno y no es difícil ser atento; no es difícil luchar, no es difícil encontrar la luz, no es difícil encontrar aquello que perdimos, no es difícil encontrar otras perspectivas, no es difícil explorar más allá de lo que dice la portada y no es difícil creer. Todo, en uno mismo. Por más extravagante e increíble que seamos.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
ahmedaiman1999May 1, 2020
Although perhaps more of a remake than a sequel (the musical sequences, the dance numbers, the animation style, the function itself of all of these in the story and even the structure of the story are all pretty much the same), I can't recallAlthough perhaps more of a remake than a sequel (the musical sequences, the dance numbers, the animation style, the function itself of all of these in the story and even the structure of the story are all pretty much the same), I can't recall a follow-up that captures the magic, the charm and even the essence of its predecessor in a more practically perfect way. The only two new things this one did are tackling the theme of overcoming grief and giving us an actual villain. While I found the former addition to be absolutely brilliant and it even added a dramatic touch that could be felt from the very first minutes of the movie and the message behind it could be summed up in the lovely, touching song, The Place Where Lost Things Go, I do not think the inclusion of an actual, real villain to be a good decision at all. I believe it somehow took away from the moral value of the movie a little bit, and made it more "childish", so to speak. That said, Mary Poppins Returns is almost supercalifragilisticexpialidocious as the 1964's classic.

(8/10)
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
nburroughs10Dec 20, 2018
Mary poppins looks to capture the magic of her past, in which most parts she does. While Emily Blunt, is not Julie Andrews she still did a fantastic job at portraying Mary Poppins. However, at times this Mary is a little more showy then sheMary poppins looks to capture the magic of her past, in which most parts she does. While Emily Blunt, is not Julie Andrews she still did a fantastic job at portraying Mary Poppins. However, at times this Mary is a little more showy then she was years ago. The rest of cast fulfilled their roles beautifully. However, at times this Mary is a little more showy then she was years ago. The scores were good but not great and the choreography came short of expectations. The scenes had very little set up for characters and rather focused on animations to display the songs. This took away from the human part of the experience. Overall, Mary Poppins is good but does not fully capture the magic from before. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
dejans_julesDec 31, 2018
Julie Andrews is my favorite musical actress, and my favorite movie since childhood has been "Mary Poppins", so I went to see this film with quite a skeptical eye. I had read many, many critical reviews and was prepared for completeJulie Andrews is my favorite musical actress, and my favorite movie since childhood has been "Mary Poppins", so I went to see this film with quite a skeptical eye. I had read many, many critical reviews and was prepared for complete disappointment; so much so that we almost decided not to go, but in the end we decided to give it a try. We gave a caveat to our children that they might not enjoy it, and a bare bones plot explanation, and headed to the theater. First, regarding the audience, though. There was a very broad age spectrum of viewers, and we were among the few with young children, which was a surprise. The film itself cannot, nor do I think it ever will, equal the original film by Walt Disney. However, all of us coming out at the end were actually impressed and pleased. The music is tied nicely to the first film with occasional themes sprinkled in, and the music style is also reminiscent of the original, as well as the basic structure of the story. We purchased the soundtrack immediately, and I am appreciating it more the more we listen to it. Having been exposed to the Mary Poppins book by P.L. Travers, I will say that Emily Blunt is definitely a bit more like the book character, but she retains some of the sentimentality of Andrews' Mary persona. She had such a tall order to meet in filling the role that Julie Andrews made a classic. But I rather ended up liking her version as well. Jack is a favorite in this film for me. There are a few parts of Mary Poppins Returns that seem rather slow moving, and I would have to see it again to understand why that is, but the story is good quality in my opinion. There are also a few annoying lines or interpretations of the script here and there, but they are very small. One thing I really appreciated was the aspect of the children experiencing some natural disappointment of their hopes regarding their bowl and helping their father. It is quite true to real life and is not sugar-coated fantasy, even though Mary Poppins is of course an impossibly fantastical character. There is good development of the characters in the film without it being chintzy or too forced. Quite unlike the original, however, the plot has a sort or circular, tied-in engineering. Jack is like the ribbon that holds it all together, and Mary Poppins portends the answers to the Banks' problems like a sort of clairvoyant revealing bits and pieces as the film progresses. In classic Mary Poppins fashion, though, she brings the family to discover their own answers. One note of caution to viewers with young children, there is a suspenseful scene involving the youngest Banks boy which they may find scary. It is somewhat akin to the animated 101 Dalmatians car chase with Cruella DeVille, but it does figure into the plot as a sort of linchpin (no pun intended). The original story has almost no suspense and no major villain, whereas Mary Poppins Returns does, but it is also fitting with the time period in which it is set. Overall, I disagree with critical reviewers because this film needs to stand on its own two feet, and I feel that it does, musically and in casting and acting, singing and score. I also disagree with glowing reviewers because this film is not classic and there are some noticeable gaps. But it is very good. Much better than Frozen or Tangled or other recent ("original") Disney releases, again, in my opinion, and with a much better set of take-away messages or lessons. We will most likely be purchasing it when it is released on DVD. If you expect it to be different and go with an eye to appreciate it for its own sake, then perhaps you, too, will be pleasantly surprised and enjoy Mary Poppins Returns. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
JohnTheAndroidJan 22, 2019
Movies like Mary Poppins Returns aren't made that often with this level of care for the original piece, the homages to the original can be seen all throughout the film, musical nods, lines, objects that were in the original, and the list goesMovies like Mary Poppins Returns aren't made that often with this level of care for the original piece, the homages to the original can be seen all throughout the film, musical nods, lines, objects that were in the original, and the list goes on. It's obviously not as good as the first ride, but it is surely supercalifragilisticexpialidoxious. The songs aren't memorable, the lyrics at least, but I went out of the movies humming the tunes to myself, never the less. The set pieces are truly nostagic and remarkable, from 17 Cherry Tree Lane, to the Bank's house, to the bank to a underwater land. The performances are great too, Emily Blunt as Mary Poppin is practically perfect in every way, having a diferent accent, a different attitude, a slightly more rude Poppins, beeing closer to the books written by P. L. Travers. Michael Banks, all grown up is great played by Ben Wishaw, a very talented actor.
Emily Mortimer as Jane Banks is also good and really captures the brother and sister dynamic very well. Mary Poppins Returns is a welcome treat for fans of the original, even if it is alittle forgettable.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
pjonssonMay 27, 2019
The original Mary Poppins was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid and it kind of still is. Thus I was indeed a bit worried when I sat down to watch this one with the kids yesterday. After all there is really so many ways a incompetentThe original Mary Poppins was one of my favorite movies when I was a kid and it kind of still is. Thus I was indeed a bit worried when I sat down to watch this one with the kids yesterday. After all there is really so many ways a incompetent writer could have screwed this one up. Especially one with an agenda.

Luckily this was not the case and I have to say that I quite liked this movie. Disney actually managed to keep the ambiance of the original movie and it actually felt like a Disney movie from the good old days. The days before every easily offended retard tried to make every movie into a preaching mouth piece for their personal crusade.

I think I liked the first half of the movie best. It was an explosion of song, magic and, for me, nostalgia. Apart from the hugely improved technology this movie had available to make the magic bits it actually felt like it could have been made back to back with the original. They really managed to capture the atmosphere from back then.

If I had to compare the two directly I would still go with the original as the best one. It was more imaginative and it just felt a bit better two me.

The story is a bit of a rehash of the original. They could have come up with something more original. Also, the second movie seemed to fizzle out a bit compared to the first half. I would have liked to see some more Mary Poppins coolness and magic, like we saw in the first half of the movie, instead of, mostly, conventional stuff. Also the take down of the bad guy was a bit underwhelming.

Apart from that I think sequel was not bad at all.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Ana-KnowlesJun 25, 2019
This movie was worth the wait and anticipation I loved it so much, and they couldn't have chosen a better Mary Poppins, Emily Blunt was amazing and this movie had me signing and listening to the soundtrack for weeks on end.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
PandaJackJan 1, 2020
Mary Poppins Returns is an amazing show in my video. It showed the same kind of Mary Poppins, but the original children in a different way. I love that it shows how it shows the relationship between the siblings and how Michael grew up andMary Poppins Returns is an amazing show in my video. It showed the same kind of Mary Poppins, but the original children in a different way. I love that it shows how it shows the relationship between the siblings and how Michael grew up and the struggles he goes threw which reminded me that not all shows are about someone's absolutely perfect life. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Dostoyevsky3May 13, 2020
Emily Blunt showcases a magnificent performance in a familiar yet fresh setting with a new direction of more delightful musical numbers and improved visuals while giving a wonderfully welcome cameo of Dick Van Dyke. Mary Poppins Returns willEmily Blunt showcases a magnificent performance in a familiar yet fresh setting with a new direction of more delightful musical numbers and improved visuals while giving a wonderfully welcome cameo of Dick Van Dyke. Mary Poppins Returns will bring back good old memories of its classic predecessor. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews