Paramount Pictures | Release Date: November 5, 2010
7.6
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 390 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
304
Mixed:
71
Negative:
15
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
6
grandpajoe6191Sep 21, 2011
The movie is admittedly fun to watch....for the sake of the kids. All those audience critics who are experienced in watching dream works animation will be very familiar with the tedious formula of the 'bad guy becomes good guy afterThe movie is admittedly fun to watch....for the sake of the kids. All those audience critics who are experienced in watching dream works animation will be very familiar with the tedious formula of the 'bad guy becomes good guy after experiencing enlightenment' dream works ALWAYS uses. Expand
10 of 11 users found this helpful101
All this user's reviews
6
heyitsmegrif4Feb 12, 2012
Not nearly as funny as it should be mostly because of the talented voice cast, or as entertaining, but it brings laughs, originality, and dazzling animation. I give this film 61%.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
5
SmellyCatNov 14, 2010
In a year (or two) with some great animated films, Megamind is a dive back towards mediocrity. It's along the lines of the majority of other DreamWorks releases, a perfectly fine movie for kids to go see, with a good amount of chuckles butIn a year (or two) with some great animated films, Megamind is a dive back towards mediocrity. It's along the lines of the majority of other DreamWorks releases, a perfectly fine movie for kids to go see, with a good amount of chuckles but devoid of any kind of creativity or innovation when it comes to audiences over the age of 13. The animation and voice acting are pefectly okay, with Tina Fey being the only real stand out. A good movie for children, it's mildly funny and standard for anyone else. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
TonyDec 26, 2010
Completely unoffensive in its mediocrity, as it provides a few laughs with what it thinks is an atypical story but is ultimately predictable and just another generic Dreamworks animated film. I did have higher hopes for this one thoughCompletely unoffensive in its mediocrity, as it provides a few laughs with what it thinks is an atypical story but is ultimately predictable and just another generic Dreamworks animated film. I did have higher hopes for this one though because of the voice cast. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
nutterjrJan 6, 2011
A supervillain that was never really a bad guy, a super hero that is tired of being good and a dumb superhero that becomes nasty is a messy recipe. Nevertheless, it was quite enjoyable at times.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
PierFeb 21, 2011
Nothing special, very mediocre. It seems as if dreamwoks was always tryng to beat pixar and never succeeded... Even the last shreks were pretty bad. MM can be entertaining... But on a very "theres nothing left to see" way.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
l_fesoMar 7, 2011
I have to admit Mega mind was over dramatic. The whole plot kept me sleepy. I cant complain my child loved it but I didn't neither did my husband so needless to say it is not a movie that the whole family can enjoy. There were parts were theyI have to admit Mega mind was over dramatic. The whole plot kept me sleepy. I cant complain my child loved it but I didn't neither did my husband so needless to say it is not a movie that the whole family can enjoy. There were parts were they were trying to hard to be funny but they were not, i laughed at some parts and some parts tickled my humor but other then that I do recommend this movie for someone with an over active sense of humor. but each opinion is different from one another you might like it and you might not either way the choice is yours Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
4
VisserEightMar 6, 2012
A mediocre, borderline bad movie.
Before I watched it, I expect it to be another great movie like Shrek, enjoyable for children, yet entertaining even to adults too. I was very, very wrong.
Megamind is filled with overly-cliched characters
A mediocre, borderline bad movie.
Before I watched it, I expect it to be another great movie like Shrek, enjoyable for children, yet entertaining even to adults too. I was very, very wrong.
Megamind is filled with overly-cliched characters and a somewhat interesting plot, but Megamind himself is too jolly to be taken seriously as a villain, a jester or a fun-loving rule breaker maybe, but definitely not a villain. The crazy train (which I loved) insert is not helping either.

It's strange I am at a loss for words to make comment about Megamind, I can't really explicitly named the problems, something about it just makes me feel wrong.
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
5
ludd_gangNov 8, 2010
Beautiful 3-d animation, cool action sequences and decent plot oddly missing humor. There are some chuckles, but bad drama isn't fun in a kid flick.
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
6
OscarPicks2010Nov 29, 2010
With an easy blend of comedy and action, Megamind doesn't stand out as one of the animation of the year. But it does however, convince its audience that they will like it coming out of the theater. It is not as slick as The Incredibles andWith an easy blend of comedy and action, Megamind doesn't stand out as one of the animation of the year. But it does however, convince its audience that they will like it coming out of the theater. It is not as slick as The Incredibles and the 3D scenes aren't amazing as How to Train Your Dragon, but you'll enjoy it. Megamind is about a supervillain and a superhero battling since they were born. Megamind, a blue guy with a big head, spends his whole life trying to kill Metroman (Brad Pitt). While the city hates him, he's convince that when he kills Metroman, the citizens will obey him. But when he finally "killed" Metroman, he found out that his life no longer has a purpose. He has nothing else to do rather than stealing stuff from the city. At this point, I think the movie is trying to get out the message that you have to live life with a purpose, or something like that. But in the end, we know Metroman is alive and Megamind gets locked up again. (There is a whole other subplot that's I'm not going to get in.) Will Ferrell's voice as Megamind is irrepleacable but Tina Fey and Brad Pitt were just unnessecary. Jonah Hill was way better than the two combined but that was because he was one of the big character. They tried to do a lot of stuff in 3D that weren't suppose to work in 3D. But at least they tried. 3-dimensional effects isn't that hard, but I felt like it took them forever in this film and get those effects going. Megamind isn't bad, it is great to say the least. But it lies between the it's-so-bad-that-it's-good type of movie. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
FiestaBobDec 18, 2010
My brother boldly declared "Mega Mind was mega stupid!" after seeing it. I would not go as far as he did with his statement, but I did feel that it was a mediocre effort by the filmmakers. Will Ferrell is hilarious as an actor, but as aMy brother boldly declared "Mega Mind was mega stupid!" after seeing it. I would not go as far as he did with his statement, but I did feel that it was a mediocre effort by the filmmakers. Will Ferrell is hilarious as an actor, but as a cartoon voice we are left without his facial expressions and body language which always lend to his humor. The opening sequence was probably the funniest portion of the movie before we settle into another story of a bad guy who realizes he isn't so bad after all (Despicable Me?). You will get a few laughs from this movie, but do not go into it expecting to see a Shrek (the first one) or Toy Story quality story. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
TheQuietGamerMar 10, 2011
Megamind sadly does not redeem Will Farrel, it's just a mediocre movie about redemption, I give it credit for trying to teach you something and being unique, but it doesn't save it from mediocrity.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
brewcrewprideNov 11, 2010
The voice performances by Farrell, Fey, Hill, and Pitt along with the scripts witty humor makes up for a lot of this films flaws. In the end, this has got a nice childrenâ
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
MovieMachineSep 3, 2011
Don't get me wrong. This movie is great fun. But it's development is unorthodox and predictable, and it's characters felt like they were pulled out of a Happy Meal. Its one-stop, witty joke-filled script is hard to take seriously, let aloneDon't get me wrong. This movie is great fun. But it's development is unorthodox and predictable, and it's characters felt like they were pulled out of a Happy Meal. Its one-stop, witty joke-filled script is hard to take seriously, let alone hard to laugh at for more than two seconds. And its pro-con conflict isn't very convincing, either. But if your version of a good time is a silly, hectic adventure through ridiculous situations with uncommon characters, this movie will knock your socks off. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
JaakkoJun 17, 2012
This movie was more enjoyable then I thought, and a more star studded cast then I had originally expected. But my favourite voice actor in this film by far was David Cross as Minion, he has such a distinctive voice but it works so well as theThis movie was more enjoyable then I thought, and a more star studded cast then I had originally expected. But my favourite voice actor in this film by far was David Cross as Minion, he has such a distinctive voice but it works so well as the tiny fish with a oversized robot body. I thought that Metro Mans voice would of been great if done by Patrick Warburton but Brad Pitt still does an acceptional job. I give this film 6.5 out of 10. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
cameronmorewoodNov 7, 2012
Children's films can be magical and pull you into a surreal world. Megamind is nothing of the sort, just a silly film with the occasional joke slipped in for the adults.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FranzHcriticJun 15, 2014
It's sad how these movies are constantly making the money. And it's a copycat of Despicable Me, which actually is funny. The voices are well suited, but the parody in this film falls flat rather quickly. Animation has become quite stale, inIt's sad how these movies are constantly making the money. And it's a copycat of Despicable Me, which actually is funny. The voices are well suited, but the parody in this film falls flat rather quickly. Animation has become quite stale, in my opinion. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
FuturedirectorApr 9, 2016
Mega mind is very predictable, has boring some kind of boring story-telling and simple characters. This is just another film on cinema history a, with nothing special, despite the inventive plot that started it.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
6
Donnie1Nov 6, 2018
Eyerolling but amazing adventure, it is really good but really bad at the same time.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
5
TyranianFeb 18, 2020
Incredibles rip-off with some decent humour but otherwise very average. Animation is okay.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews