Columbia Pictures | Release Date: November 30, 1990
8.6
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 62 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
59
Mixed:
3
Negative:
0
Watch Now
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TsareenaOct 14, 2017
An amazing movie. You can feel the terror the author felt for most of the movie thanks to the beautiful score and Kathy Bate's stellar acting in this. A classic thriller that didn't need twists to keep me on the edge of my seat
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
7
SEROJJan 2, 2019
With some exceptions - i think "Misery" is a very well-made movie with good story, great acting and script. It had it all. I think i'll watch it again someday
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
hardcorekiddMay 8, 2018
After a serious car crash, novelist Paul Sheldon (James Caan) is rescued by former nurse Annie Wilkes (Kathy Bates), who claims to be his biggest fan. Annie brings him to her remote cabin to recover, where her obsession takes a dark turn whenAfter a serious car crash, novelist Paul Sheldon (James Caan) is rescued by former nurse Annie Wilkes (Kathy Bates), who claims to be his biggest fan. Annie brings him to her remote cabin to recover, where her obsession takes a dark turn when she discovers Sheldon is killing off her favorite character from his novels. As Sheldon devises plans for escape, Annie grows increasingly controlling, even violent, as she forces the author to shape his writing to suit her twisted fantasies. Elevated by standout performances from James Caan and Kathy Bates, this taut and frightening film is one of the best Stephen King adaptations to date. I'm gonna give Misery an A. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
TomtagMay 6, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Misery (1990) is a psychological horror film based on another Stephen King’s 1987 novel with same name. I don’t really call this a horror movie because it’s not scary but it’s more like a thriller, there’s drama. It was directed by Rob Reiner, who had also directed A Few Good Men (1992), Shock and Awe (2017), The Princess Bride (1987) and the screenplay was written by an author William Goldman, who had written novels like The Princess Bride in 1973, which was transferred into a movie in 1987 also directed by Rob Reiner, Which Lie Did I Tell?, … It’s about a psychotic fan who holds an author captive and forces him to write her stories. There was James Caan as the author, Paul Sheldon, who wrote romance novels about a character called Misery Chastain, when he had an accident, he was carried to someone else’s house. It was revealed that the house belonged to his number 1 fan, Annie Wilkes played by Kathy Bates, who won an Oscar for Best Actress in 1991. She acted exactly how the number 1 fan in this film should be like: psychotic, crazy, insane and sometimes can be like an a-hole. I hate her but she’s well-acted and well-developed thanks to Bates. Caan did a well job too. I was just disappointed that he wasn’t even nominated for Best Actor in 1991. Barry Sonnenfeld was really good with the cinematography. It was kinda old-school and also suitable for a 90s thriller. I also like the story though I haven’t read the book yet. I was really surprised when Sheldon read the red book filled with newspapers and found out that Wilkes was a nurse murderer and killed many patients and the only jump scare I saw was when Buster, the local sheriff was shot by Wilkes with the rifle when he found out that Paul Sheldon was locked in a room or a cellar maybe? And also it’s just a story, why did Wilkes had to scream so bad about a character’s death? That’s just annoying! The original score was okay though, Marc Shaiman was okay as well. I didn’t care about the score much in this film because I didn’t hear the music much, I just care about the screenplay and Goldman wrote it excellently. I like it even though I saw a few sentences were a bit too easy. Misery isn’t really a horror movie, it’s just a drama and thriller which had blood in there. There wasn’t much scare but it was a really good movie. Stephen King wrote the plot really well, Reiner directed excellently, the score was played okay, the cinematography was also well-shot by Sonnenfeld and more… Caan and Bates were perfect for these roles making this movie one of the greatest Stephen King’s adaptation. My Ratings: 9.15/10 Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
IsaacJMar 15, 2019
Adapted from Stephen King’s 1987 novel, Misery tells the story of bestselling author, Paul Sheldon (James Caan), rescued from the wreckage of a near fatal car crash by his “No.1 fan” the seemingly solicitous Annie Wilkes. What follows isAdapted from Stephen King’s 1987 novel, Misery tells the story of bestselling author, Paul Sheldon (James Caan), rescued from the wreckage of a near fatal car crash by his “No.1 fan” the seemingly solicitous Annie Wilkes. What follows is typical King fare, a psychological game of cat and mouse that ranges from the surprisingly droll to the disturbingly brutal.
As Stephen King adaptations go, Misery is fairly well done, a faithful if slightly pacified version of a story that naturally hooks us in. It’s really elevated by two fantastic lead performances with James Caan playing captive writer Sheldon with an understated brilliance. The real stand out, however, comes from Kathy Bates (an Oscar winner for her role), who plays the unpredictable Annie with a remarkable level of complexity and realism. A subplot involving Richard Farnsworth’s Sheriff meanders along, but the bulk of the film is a two-player game, complete with scenes of biting tension, sporadic violence and unnerving tenderness. Marc Shaiman’s score adds a chilling touch that suits the film’s slow build from the typical to the terrifying.
There are enough gems of excitement in Misery to keep us interested (even at a slightly stretched 107-minute run time), but the film lacks both the introspection and horror of its source material. There are moments of greatness (the famous ‘hobbling’ scene springs to mind), but much of the film is approached with a heavy-handedness, never as clever nor as scary as it seems to think it is. Nevertheless, the film remains pretty much consistently entertaining, with just enough surprises to keep it afloat. In the end, Misery may be rather uninspired, but it’s a loyal and well-crafted adaptation of a good story, elevated by a scintillating central performance from Kathy Bates.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Everybody-Jun 9, 2020
The most intense thriller I've ever seen, I thought I was going to have a heart attack, a masterpiece in it's genre and one of the very best films I've ever made in my opinion.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JLauSep 25, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Pulp fiction writing has a car accident and wakes up being cared for by a fan of his work but things take a strange turn when she doesn't enjoy the latest book he's working on. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews