Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures | Release Date (Streaming): September 4, 2020
2.8
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 1068 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
209
Mixed:
104
Negative:
755
Watch Now
Sign up for
Buy On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
3
JrystalSep 4, 2020
I'd rate the movie higher if it wasn't so expensive. If it ever gets added to just basic Disney Plus then I'd consider upping it to a 4 or maybe a 5. Otherwise it's a pretty bland film with underwhelming action, dead eyed performances and theI'd rate the movie higher if it wasn't so expensive. If it ever gets added to just basic Disney Plus then I'd consider upping it to a 4 or maybe a 5. Otherwise it's a pretty bland film with underwhelming action, dead eyed performances and the worst training montage I've ever seen. Doesn't hold up to the original film or the countless other film adaptations of the legend of Hua Mulan. Expand
35 of 43 users found this helpful358
All this user's reviews
0
halfbloodprinceSep 4, 2020
Critics really missed the mark on this one. No mushu, no songs, just a watered down and boring Mulan sprinkled with familiar superhero tropes.
30 of 37 users found this helpful307
All this user's reviews
0
Arb3320Sep 4, 2020
A completely joyless remake with no songs, character development, or improvements over the original. Save your $30.
39 of 49 users found this helpful3910
All this user's reviews
0
tactanonSep 4, 2020
Looked interesting enough to watch, but my kids got bored and I started to fall asleep. Seemed like "Rise of the Skywalker" mixed with old Mulan in they tried to hard to show shades of the old to mix with the new, but falls very short. PlusLooked interesting enough to watch, but my kids got bored and I started to fall asleep. Seemed like "Rise of the Skywalker" mixed with old Mulan in they tried to hard to show shades of the old to mix with the new, but falls very short. Plus no songs or Mushu. Save yourself the time and $30. Expand
35 of 44 users found this helpful359
All this user's reviews
1
AneDeLeonSep 4, 2020
A fantasy that has become boring.

a film that gives a new face but that face is totally tiring, the new face leaves this film as something good to watch before going to sleep, so you close your eyes and don’t watch it.
38 of 48 users found this helpful3810
All this user's reviews
0
coolcat88Sep 4, 2020
As usual, skip the live action remake, it's just a lazy cash grab. Terrible acting and missing any joy of the original.
34 of 43 users found this helpful349
All this user's reviews
1
Apan86Sep 4, 2020
The original animated movie is much better, it also missed the plot. Art & Costume is pretty. Mulan great feature was her mind/brain, with quick adaptations to the situations to cunning plans and ideas, all coming together so that she canThe original animated movie is much better, it also missed the plot. Art & Costume is pretty. Mulan great feature was her mind/brain, with quick adaptations to the situations to cunning plans and ideas, all coming together so that she can defeat her enemies but in this movie Mulan has always been special since even as a little girl. She doesn't need the 'time' to earn her strength since she's always had it, thus when the scene comes where she starts kicking butts it doesn't feel earned. Expand
41 of 52 users found this helpful4111
All this user's reviews
2
DieRotenSep 4, 2020
$200 M for this? Bravo! Mulan is a great character, but this is just awful.
25 of 32 users found this helpful257
All this user's reviews
1
ReizigSep 4, 2020
wow ... im shocked how BAD this movie is.
they clearly tried to appease to the chinese marked and completely butchered this beloved Classic !
you are better of watching the animated Original !!!
28 of 36 users found this helpful288
All this user's reviews
0
EllisdeaganSep 4, 2020
I loved the orginal Mulan, but the changes made to the live action are stripping everything that made the orginal lovable. The characters in the movie are flat and without resolution towards each other. Everything feels disconnected - aI loved the orginal Mulan, but the changes made to the live action are stripping everything that made the orginal lovable. The characters in the movie are flat and without resolution towards each other. Everything feels disconnected - a missed opportunity, especially if compared to the adaptation of Aladdin, which was excellent Expand
21 of 27 users found this helpful216
All this user's reviews
0
CunexttuesdaySep 4, 2020
No blood! CGI is horrible. Very boring. No dragon. Disney makes films for china now.
24 of 31 users found this helpful247
All this user's reviews
0
PALInMETACRITICSep 4, 2020
The worst Disney's movie ever, Don't waste your money on this one. That cartoon version is much better imo
47 of 61 users found this helpful4714
All this user's reviews
0
GeraltDaWitcherSep 4, 2020
I can’t believe I just paid $30 for this. I should be grateful that I didn’t go see this in the theatre and waste extra money on food and popcorn but still, this movie was so boring
23 of 30 users found this helpful237
All this user's reviews
0
BillCooper2049Sep 4, 2020
This live action version of Mulan is pure propaganda for the CCP. It lacks the heart and energy of the cartoon. It sends the wrong message to girls. I am glad I did not watch this in the theater. Avoid this trash!
23 of 30 users found this helpful237
All this user's reviews
0
ApollusSep 4, 2020
Lazy, generic, silly... do your kids a favor and show them the superior animated version. This is another bad Disney remake. Don’t fall for it
29 of 38 users found this helpful299
All this user's reviews
1
WarriorfaceSep 4, 2020
Not worth the $30. Hopefully this business model dies. My friend paid for the film and I still feel ripped off.
19 of 25 users found this helpful196
All this user's reviews
0
PantheonAsiaSep 4, 2020
Nam quốc sơn hà Nam đế cư
Tiệt nhiên phận định tại thiên thư
Như hà nghịch lỗ lai xâm phạm
Nhữ đẳng hành khan thủ bại hư.
22 of 29 users found this helpful227
All this user's reviews
0
whimsicalcynicSep 4, 2020
theres no mushu? or music? this seems whack to me i cant wrap my head around the decision to take away fan favorite characters. who was this even made for? who enjoys movies like this?
22 of 29 users found this helpful227
All this user's reviews
0
jojokaizerSep 4, 2020
lifeless and hollow remake. basically mulan turns in to a super hero and saves china. good job disney.
21 of 28 users found this helpful217
All this user's reviews
3
tinka10Sep 4, 2020
A visual feast, but otherwise bland and lifeless. Poor characters, no humour, and no heart.
18 of 24 users found this helpful186
All this user's reviews
0
CyroneSep 4, 2020
Nobody with a soul would even waste their time (much less their money) on a horrid "event" like this film. Have some respect for yourself and your ideal and spend your money elsewhere.
17 of 23 users found this helpful176
All this user's reviews
0
AxskuIISep 4, 2020
Disney at it again ruining another beloved classic. Jeez what's that price point despicable.
16 of 22 users found this helpful166
All this user's reviews
0
DavidPA17Sep 4, 2020
No sale Mushu, encima no la hechan en el cine, tienes que pagar 30€ para ver una película, penoso.
16 of 22 users found this helpful166
All this user's reviews
0
Lionel13Sep 4, 2020
Awful casting, Liu Yifei and Donnie Yen aren’t the heroes I was hoping for. Terrible movie.
27 of 38 users found this helpful2711
All this user's reviews
0
DAZZE1105Sep 4, 2020
This film is very boring, i swear this is the worst movie of Disney i ever seen in my life , unbelieve it
22 of 31 users found this helpful229
All this user's reviews
0
spidey171201Sep 4, 2020
The worst Disney's movie ever, the acting is bad (especially Liu Ximeizi), the story has no creative,it has no emotion,... Don't waste time and money on that film.
28 of 40 users found this helpful2812
All this user's reviews
3
QpidoSep 4, 2020
Nothing like the trailer was making it out to be. Had some emotional moments, but this came over more like a cheesy cheap remake of an old tale rather than living up to the opportunity that Mulan could have provided to girls like it did forNothing like the trailer was making it out to be. Had some emotional moments, but this came over more like a cheesy cheap remake of an old tale rather than living up to the opportunity that Mulan could have provided to girls like it did for so many in the 90s kicking off the girl power movement.

The acting was terrible all around and horribly edited. If you want to sum up the movie in one scene, watch the emperor scene right after he gets saved and the ropes get undone by Mulan (close to the end).

So much potential, a real shame. I’ll stick with the classics.
Expand
16 of 23 users found this helpful167
All this user's reviews
10
Noe_GintingSep 4, 2020
This is a good movie, and you must watch this movie, good for watch with your family.
26 of 170 users found this helpful26144
All this user's reviews
3
guilhermefdiasSep 6, 2020
Again Disney trying to cash in a already beloved story. But making everything worse compared to the animation. Congratulation Disney, once again, you're doing it very wrong.
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
Zephyr711Sep 6, 2020
Inferior to the original animated movie in basically every aspect. Less entertaining, exciting, funny, emotionally investing. Weaker story telling and pacing and bad character development. Disney gives us a Mary Sue again instead of realInferior to the original animated movie in basically every aspect. Less entertaining, exciting, funny, emotionally investing. Weaker story telling and pacing and bad character development. Disney gives us a Mary Sue again instead of real struggling. Every little bit that made the original one great is missing in this one. After the umpteenth bad remake of a good original the question remains: Why? Sadly the answer seems obvious. Not only is Disney creativity bankrupt but not even capable of recreatIng moments of former glory adequately. Not worth any money. Maybe not even worth the time watching it. Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
3
NjmzSep 8, 2020
Not interesting plot, overused green screen and uninspired fighting sequence
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
4
kader91Sep 8, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Remember that story where someone through effort, cunning and commitment became better than their male counterparts. None of that is in this movie. She’s just born with mystic powers. The Mongolian invasion no longer exists. They’re just 7 dudes riding horses on a personal vendetta against the whole Chinese Empire. Mushu is gone, the 3 funny soldiers? gone. The Emperor goes from not accepting Mulan to naming her general in a span of 30 seconds!! It gets better in the final act, but does not live to what is already been build. A big pile of CHI! Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
shadowfreak99Sep 7, 2020
Pretty casting but lack of character development, colorful scenes but poor choreograph and screenwriting leaving awkward moment for some scenes. 2 hours of movie, nothing surprising as each moment is predictable and "knew what its going toPretty casting but lack of character development, colorful scenes but poor choreograph and screenwriting leaving awkward moment for some scenes. 2 hours of movie, nothing surprising as each moment is predictable and "knew what its going to be" with the animated version, still strongly prefer the animated version. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
4
pizzatoppings88Sep 6, 2020
Not a good movie. The pacing was horrible and nothing felt believable. The characters felt like they were forced to speak exposition instead of have actual conversations. There were tons of nonsensical scenes for a movie that tries to beNot a good movie. The pacing was horrible and nothing felt believable. The characters felt like they were forced to speak exposition instead of have actual conversations. There were tons of nonsensical scenes for a movie that tries to be serious. This seriously felt like a B Chinese movie with a bigger budget. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
1
JigglejoeySep 11, 2020
Why no Mushu Mushu is the only good part of mulan why no Mushu agsgdhhdhsjdhdhdhhshshdgehrhrhrhrgrhrhrhdhdjd
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
10
R6exNov 14, 2020
Amazing movie!!!
Beautiful story
Beautiful scenery. Vibrant colors. Worthy characters tugging at our heartstrings. The Chinese speaks English surprisingly well. Liu Yifei is 33, but still looks like a pretty teen. She did well, but isn't
Amazing movie!!!
Beautiful story
Beautiful scenery.
Vibrant colors.
Worthy characters tugging at our heartstrings.
The Chinese speaks English surprisingly well.
Liu Yifei is 33, but still looks like a pretty teen.
She did well, but isn't really suitable for the role as she's too dainty, soft-spoken and unable to reach the lofty heights of a true pugilist.
Love her spinning spear kick though!
Great CGI.
Powers and skills are too fantasy-like for movie to have a realistic feel. LOL
A pity I watched this great movie on my tiny budget 27 inch monitor. ;p
Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
Sparki26Nov 4, 2020
I Literally cried watching this movie. I know it has brought up controversy, but try to move past that, watch it as a stand alone movie with some reference to the original. Most people giving it a 0 haven't even watched it. Give it a chance,I Literally cried watching this movie. I know it has brought up controversy, but try to move past that, watch it as a stand alone movie with some reference to the original. Most people giving it a 0 haven't even watched it. Give it a chance, I personally loved it. And the acting in the movie is actually pretty good. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
0
kakuzu281281Sep 5, 2020
Typical "woke" bull. No one says women can't beat up men, but when you purposely force all the men out of a movie to make it 100% women who 100% can do anything their hearts believe, its pandering crap. The only good is the effects, whichTypical "woke" bull. No one says women can't beat up men, but when you purposely force all the men out of a movie to make it 100% women who 100% can do anything their hearts believe, its pandering crap. The only good is the effects, which lets be real. Special effect have been good for 15 years so. Expand
11 of 12 users found this helpful111
All this user's reviews
0
terenceSep 6, 2020
As a life-long Disney fan and Chinese American, I find this movie shockingly bad and downright offensive. Is this what Disney thinks of Chinese culture? What a joke. Disney's entire batch of remakes of the classic animated movies has been aAs a life-long Disney fan and Chinese American, I find this movie shockingly bad and downright offensive. Is this what Disney thinks of Chinese culture? What a joke. Disney's entire batch of remakes of the classic animated movies has been a disaster in movie-making (if not in the box office). I hope they rethink this strategy of remaking joyful animated films as serious live action movies with the worst scripts in the world, and none of the fun of the songs and musical numbers. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
0
MacDaddy5Sep 6, 2020
This movie is straight trash. It wouldn’t be good even if they didn’t make it out to be a remake. Trash
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
AlbproSep 6, 2020
Honest to heart...... what happened to the movie industry? Glad I didn’t pay for this dog **** movie, bAd bad bad bad in every **** way, garbanzooo.
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
WoojooSep 6, 2020
I am getting tired of disney remaking all their cartoon characters alive...i have expected more since i very much like the aladdin remake (as much as i said i wont watch it). The fighting scene looks fake and as if they are on a low budget.I am getting tired of disney remaking all their cartoon characters alive...i have expected more since i very much like the aladdin remake (as much as i said i wont watch it). The fighting scene looks fake and as if they are on a low budget. Would rather watch the original cartoon version. What a disappointment Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
0
CaiotuliomSep 6, 2020
Mulan is strong because she was special, she was born with powers... that’s it, that’s the movie,
12 of 14 users found this helpful122
All this user's reviews
0
Charles2412Sep 10, 2020
Even the cinematography, which is surprisingly praised by some so-called critics here, is very amateurish and unappealing. Really vaporous and silly. A highly marketed nationalist farce disguised as an over-the-top feminist empowering story.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
Yuan1226Sep 9, 2020
Please don’t destroyed my memory of childhood
身為一個華人觀眾
看到這部片想譁眾取寵卻失敗了
整部片充滿了矯枉過正的討好
本末倒置的失了本該有的精髓
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
NoneyahsSep 11, 2020
The absolutely worst Disney movie ever made and yes I'm including all sequels.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
BrutusBombZ368Sep 9, 2020
Just a cashgrab, the movie lacked the charm the original had. It felt like a $3 offbrand movie. Definitely didn't feel like a disney movie.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
1
ArdanSortekSep 10, 2020
Useless remake. Terrible main actress. Disney should stop with these soulless cash grab live action remakes.
6 of 7 users found this helpful61
All this user's reviews
0
LastoSep 10, 2020
Pretty watered down and soulless rendition of a childhood classic 4/10. The rest of the stars are removed for Mulans support of the Xinjiang Muslim concentration camps. Pretty disgusting.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
3
winzentweenSep 11, 2020
Ok so I'm not a fan of the current regime in China. Its full on evil. But this is a film which many good people worked hard on. So if we ignore the fact...that an evil regime will benefit from this film and if we ignore the fact that the leadOk so I'm not a fan of the current regime in China. Its full on evil. But this is a film which many good people worked hard on. So if we ignore the fact...that an evil regime will benefit from this film and if we ignore the fact that the lead is infamous for her active support of the Hong Kong democracy crack down by mainland China and if we ignore that this film was actually filmed next to concentration camps and used slave labour only to actually thank the Chinese officials in charge of that well documented genocide etc...if we ignore all that ...what about the film? Well the film is not mulan as we know it. Its not much like the poem and it's even less like the cartoon. Its like ...star wars with the force called chi and some Chinese state propaganda thrown in for good measure. The Dragon is gone too. Apparently Chinese audiences didn't like it but western Americans loved it...So ofcourse China won. I guess the live action Shrek remake will also cut eddie Murphy and donkey Because apparently the chinese regime doesnt like donkeys...or winnie the pooh. The film is average as a film. Its no longer about coming of age or work hard and get good or anything to do with women's plight in China...which under the 1 child rule has been pretty bleak. Its more about being born the right type of Chinese person...So again very Xi JingPing rhetoric and reminiscence of Nazi Germany superman philosophy. Outside of that it looks lovely and sounds fine. Just very average overall and not really for kids. Not sure who this is for except China but apparently China isn't a fan due to the issues it has brought to light in our uncensored free press. In China there has been a media black out. So i found myself asking was it really worth it Disney ? No is the simple answer. This is a shameless greedy cash grab which has failed and cost reputations as well as lives. As a fan of mulan I'm gutted but in 2020...What more can we expect ? We should expect more than thanking Chinese nazis imo but then maybe I'm out of touch. C - Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
1
MarvelJoeSep 11, 2020
"What's that? Disney is taking away stuff that made the animated movie special for a favor of a realistic story take of Mulan? Controversial, but I'm willing to see them follow the actually Mulan story. Wait, why is there a Phoenix? Why is"What's that? Disney is taking away stuff that made the animated movie special for a favor of a realistic story take of Mulan? Controversial, but I'm willing to see them follow the actually Mulan story. Wait, why is there a Phoenix? Why is there a witch in the movie? Why is there people running on walls? Why do Chi exist in a Mulan story? Why's Mulan use for female agenda instead of actually making her grow as a character like in the animated film? I can't trust Hollywood or any movie studios to do any female leads because they forgot what makes a female lead great. Make her go through some challenges, make her learn her flaws, make her grow into a better develop character. Is that so hard?" Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
maxineslipSep 6, 2020
it's disgusting to me that so many media or critics took the money and give this piece of **** a 10 out of 10,you want people to spend their hard earned money and their preious time to watch a hot piling dog ****,how do you **** sleep atit's disgusting to me that so many media or critics took the money and give this piece of **** a 10 out of 10,you want people to spend their hard earned money and their preious time to watch a hot piling dog ****,how do you **** sleep at night,all those who give this beyond 0,kill yourself,just kill yourself Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
AxolotISep 11, 2020
A completely joyless remake with no songs, character development, or improvements over the original. No dragon and cricket too. it's too bad
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
kevin123pokeSep 11, 2020
El mensaje de Mulan es que si no naces con todos los poderes no sirves, ella es muy superior a los hombres y es mucho mas superior que todas las mujeres.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
daebu_charSep 9, 2020
You know you have yet another box office failure on your hands when reading the negative reviews to said movie proves to be a more entertaining & fulfilling experience. This is a disaster of biblical proportions.
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
ToomuchtocareSep 8, 2020
I was very dissatisfied with this film. I loved the classic but this film is just bad. It is bad for both type of audiences the ones who watched the classic and people who are seeing this for the first time. In the classic movie, Mulan goesI was very dissatisfied with this film. I loved the classic but this film is just bad. It is bad for both type of audiences the ones who watched the classic and people who are seeing this for the first time. In the classic movie, Mulan goes from a quirky lovable girl to a confident strong woman who can stand up to anyone. However, in this one, she has the super power of Chi that lets her do gravity deifying stunts (which is more in tune of Bollywood movies), she can master skills faster than anyone else and becomes a very bland character. The comedic element is gone from the movie and replaced with a more serious tone, which is hard to take seriously when the fighting begins some combatant’s just fly into the air or running and doing tricks on the wall. This movies has some pros to it but it's cons far outweigh the pros. Overall I would say If you love the classic don't watch it you would waste $30, your time and be pissed by the end. In addition, for those who are just going to watch it for the first time, you would still waste $30 and your time, but you would not be as butt hurt as the classic lovers. Expand
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
pennstatersSep 11, 2020
Terrible! The lead actress has supported the CCP to crack down Hong Kong demonstrations
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
knife_xSep 5, 2020
It’s a joke.
Ridiculous script, terrible costume & makeup, confusing buildings, poor battleground, and nonsense character setting all make this movie extremely hilarious.
Good job, Disney.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
0
LiquidusSep 6, 2020
Garbage, They took so many things out of the movie that made it so special. Its nothing but a waste of money. We ended up watching the cartoon just to get the bad taste out of our mouth.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
GuycameroSep 11, 2020
Was expecting the story to be similar to the cartoon, but was disappointed with the direction they took Mulan. Mulan was interesting on how at first she had difficult keeping up, but over time earned the respect of her comrades.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
lui93Sep 13, 2020
Simply bad movie, Disney should make new stories not live action of their old ones. And they should not work with communist China to make a movie.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
3
FabizemSep 6, 2020
SO SAD! They changed everything for worse! NOT REALIST AT ALL! Who do this movie was aprooved without musics?!
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
2
BlacksingerSep 11, 2020
Without a doubt the worst of the adaptations that have been made so far of Disney animated films.
Taking into account the potential of the original story, this is a real nonsense loaded with totally unnecessary messages since the plot and
Without a doubt the worst of the adaptations that have been made so far of Disney animated films.
Taking into account the potential of the original story, this is a real nonsense loaded with totally unnecessary messages since the plot and what it implies already highlights the courage and strength of Mulan.

I am not going to extend much more since the film has left me indifferent and the only thing that stands out could be the aesthetic that fulfills a correct soundtrack quite well.

A movie to forget that not even my ten-year-old niece liked.
spoiler:
Mushu, we have missed you.
If you remove the genie from Aladdin ... well that. Goodbye charisma.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
EldorethSep 12, 2020
Honestly, all these live action versions of animated classics just stinks of desperate cash-grabbiness. Disney loves to virtue signal, but here they used oppressed peoples' slave labor in Xin Jiang to produce a lackluster, mute, censoredHonestly, all these live action versions of animated classics just stinks of desperate cash-grabbiness. Disney loves to virtue signal, but here they used oppressed peoples' slave labor in Xin Jiang to produce a lackluster, mute, censored version of their own movie. The original mulan was more virtuous than this sad sack of a China-washed "movie". Hard Pass. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
catdad89Sep 9, 2020
Utter trash. Worst ending ever. Disney + China = Love ? I am glad I did not have to pay to see this.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
TestingTest123Sep 8, 2020
-Boring and painful to sit through
-A bit on the pricey side
-Nostalgia pandering for easy cash grab
-Literally thanking the administration of re-education/concentration camps near some of the filming locations in the credits
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
austin0505Sep 13, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It’s just rubbish movie. All of thing don’t make any sense. 1998 mulan is better Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
EvilAnusichSep 9, 2020
Нету дракона и вообще это не Мулан а японский фильм по типу дома летучих клинков.. не советую никому.. ну если вам нечего посмотреть перед смертью.. можете это глянуть вмиг уровень суицидальных мыслей возрастёт.Нету дракона и вообще это не Мулан а японский фильм по типу дома летучих клинков.. не советую никому.. ну если вам нечего посмотреть перед смертью.. можете это глянуть вмиг уровень суицидальных мыслей возрастёт.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
luuhoangkiemSep 11, 2020
Poor story line, poor acting and poor Asian culture. I'm not in #boycottMulan trend on the internet, but the movie really disappoints me.
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
MindSetOnMarsSep 11, 2020
don't waste your money, it's not worth it, better to pirate it instead, it's a tasteless echo of the original movie with no moral values and even less joy. none of the writers are Asian let alone Chinese, Mulan is nothing like the originaldon't waste your money, it's not worth it, better to pirate it instead, it's a tasteless echo of the original movie with no moral values and even less joy. none of the writers are Asian let alone Chinese, Mulan is nothing like the original poem nor is it like the 1998 movie. rate it a 1 for background noise on the TV. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
ThecujokillerSep 13, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Okay, so this is Kinda a Spoiler.
So there was no need to make a live version. The plot is very simple, there is a bad guy, the hero fails at first to win, then they win at the end with a battle. Pretty simple. They also took out the little dragon. Like that was one of the best parts he was the funny part of the movie. The new one is just not the same or pleasant to watch. I mean it’s good for your child who thinks he is old. It’s worthily of Pg.
Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
0
zmokSep 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Mulan the animation was one of my all time favorite movies and I really wanted this to be great. But this is one hot garbage of a movie. The animation celebrated and portrayed feminism and equality exceptionally well, while this movie got it completely wrong. Reducing Mulan's success to her being born with strong chi is both demeaning and cringy. In the animation, Mulan outperformed all the men in the army because her grit, hard work and determination, she earned the trust and friendship of her peers by proving herself and climbing the pole. She went from a weakling to a physically strong person through the army camp by driving herself to get better. Iconic and crucial moments in the animation such as her cutting her hair, or the emperor saying you bow to no one to Mulan.. removed without any proper replacement.

Don't get me started on the badly CGI pheonix or the shapeshifting witch. To reduce such an iconic and important movie to magical **** is disrespectful. It is embarrassing to say that this is actually worse than Matt Damon's Great Wall.
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
linkzinSep 5, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The film was good and had many things good, but I'm talking about the past, now I say: No Muchu no film.
And now they make a version more heavy for kids.
This is not Mulan, this is a sad video
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
MoviesteveSep 5, 2020
The plot wasn't well thought out and the fight scenes were corny. At the beginning, the film seemed like it had potential but ultimately surprises you and goes in a terrible direction. I felt robbed after paying to see this movie.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
AndiCeeSep 5, 2020
As far as remakes go, this one failed on most areas. The graphics were not good. Casting could have been better as well. Didn't do Mulan any justice sadly.
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
AmiaSep 5, 2020
It’s really bad. You’re better not watching this one. I waste my miney to watch it
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
Joey8964Sep 5, 2020
One of the worst Disney movie!
Don't even waste your time on this!!!!
The actress can't act at all!!
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
PhuonghoangSep 6, 2020
Mulan’s acting was terrible. I was expecting that the movie would be good but turns out it was so bad
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
VNtuananhSep 6, 2020
Garbage movie for garbage people starring by garbage woman.Watching Cats is better than this
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
0
peachboySep 6, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. what a disastrous movie, look how they massacred my boy. I hated it. It teaches that you must be born with greatness in order to succeed, whereas the original taught that hard work and bravery make heroes/heroines. Expand
9 of 12 users found this helpful93
All this user's reviews
0
andy24king24Sep 5, 2020
It’s unfortunate Disney can get to a new all time low and this is it. It’s not a film review, it’s the sad fact that Disney wanna charge their beloved fans an extra £19.99 to watch this film. It’s looks good but I ain’t paying for it. It’sIt’s unfortunate Disney can get to a new all time low and this is it. It’s not a film review, it’s the sad fact that Disney wanna charge their beloved fans an extra £19.99 to watch this film. It’s looks good but I ain’t paying for it. It’s only a fiver at the cinema and the dvd is only a tenner. So Disney try again in trying to lure your fans. It’s failed for me. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
1
MarkpmSep 5, 2020
Movie had no character development and Terrible dialogue. Not even believable when mulan looks obviously like a girl and sounds like one too, yet she somehow fools everyone into thinking she's a man...yeah ok. The movie takes all the best andMovie had no character development and Terrible dialogue. Not even believable when mulan looks obviously like a girl and sounds like one too, yet she somehow fools everyone into thinking she's a man...yeah ok. The movie takes all the best and most impactful scenes from the original and dumbs them down as everything is just rushed over. I would have rather watched the original again or any other movie besides this one tbh. Would not recommend. Expand
6 of 8 users found this helpful62
All this user's reviews
3
bertobellamySep 7, 2020
Boring and kind of ridiculous. A Disney melodrama with stupid new characters and no real development in the new ones. Bad CGI in some scenes. The only value here resides in the astounding art direction.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
Nobilis1984Sep 7, 2020
A film with beautiful pictures and good backdrops. The costumes also fit. But a big botch in terms of content. Mulan can do everything better than the others. That was not the case in the original. It feels like an ordinary martial arts filmA film with beautiful pictures and good backdrops. The costumes also fit. But a big botch in terms of content. Mulan can do everything better than the others. That was not the case in the original. It feels like an ordinary martial arts film and the Disney feeling is no longer there. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
exZerrySep 12, 2020
Lamest Disney effort to make a movie ever. Didn't think that after an Avengers level, they would even be able to make such a terrible movie.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
MaxPayneIsGodSep 13, 2020
Underwhelming
Full of contrived cliches
The Disneyfication ruins what could have been a great Kung Fu'esq movie
Decent cinematography and choreography watered down for what the execs think is the target demographic, of which I am not a part of.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
SantanillaSep 12, 2020
Not a single funny moment , not a single empathy moment, not a single good action scene. This movie has no soul, really a very very bad adaptation of the original masterpiece. This movie is boring and the worst Disney live action by far (Not a single funny moment , not a single empathy moment, not a single good action scene. This movie has no soul, really a very very bad adaptation of the original masterpiece. This movie is boring and the worst Disney live action by far ( Aladdin for me was a 7 , this is a 1) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
NudieSep 12, 2020
Would stay clear of this movie as it introduces way too many new elements that just don’t make sense, while also diluting the charm that the original Mulan had to offer.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
Shonen_HeroSep 14, 2020
This movie is robbed of all magic, music and romanticism that was featured in the animated film. Mulan is super underdeveloped as a character in this, and her arc feels flimsy considering her origin story and magical powers in the live actionThis movie is robbed of all magic, music and romanticism that was featured in the animated film. Mulan is super underdeveloped as a character in this, and her arc feels flimsy considering her origin story and magical powers in the live action remake. None of her strength feels earned, and the training montage is incredibly disappointing for those who enjoyed the training montage in the animated film. I recommend giving this a pass, and I encourage you to rewatch the old Mulan. It still holds up, and the music is still boppin' Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
kevscornerSep 12, 2020
It's like The Rise of Skywalker with Mulan. It's missing all the charm and music of the old animated version and replaced it with B grade martial arts. There are some good parts of the film but overall a disappointment. Plus, it's $30. JustIt's like The Rise of Skywalker with Mulan. It's missing all the charm and music of the old animated version and replaced it with B grade martial arts. There are some good parts of the film but overall a disappointment. Plus, it's $30. Just wait a few months and it'll be on Disney plus for free. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
3
djandredantasSep 11, 2020
It's visually beautiful, Mulan's performance is a little weak, the actress doesn't generate much impathy, she "doesn't feel" things, always with the same reaction, the story is kind of cliché, for those who were expecting a faithful remake ofIt's visually beautiful, Mulan's performance is a little weak, the actress doesn't generate much impathy, she "doesn't feel" things, always with the same reaction, the story is kind of cliché, for those who were expecting a faithful remake of the animated film 1998, you will be disappointed, a lot. A film to watch with your family once in your life and forget.

Weak and lazy story
Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
Xolt3cSep 14, 2020
Jesus Christ, 67% score on the Metacritic Critic section. Are these critics pumping out their weed or something? Do they even notice the monotone dialogue, no Mushu, absent story elements, terrible camera work, another Episode 9 Rey/CaptainJesus Christ, 67% score on the Metacritic Critic section. Are these critics pumping out their weed or something? Do they even notice the monotone dialogue, no Mushu, absent story elements, terrible camera work, another Episode 9 Rey/Captain Marvel protagonist, no depth, overused CGI, rushed pacing, and laughable choreography with the fight scenes? Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
NemocatSep 6, 2020
This movie is suck! In addition, the main actors and actresses support the Hong-Kong police killers.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
TaytueSep 10, 2020
Boring. Inferior to the original in every way. Seriously don’t waste two hours of your time. Watch the 1998 version and then use the extra 30 minutes to think about how lovely and well done it is.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
redspicerSep 12, 2020
what the hell is "chi"? Some frozen sxxx or something? And where they put that 200 millions dollars at? All I can see is a group of people that less than 200 pplz running in circles
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
2
XyionSep 12, 2020
A movie of a strong woman who fights for her family and proves with training anyone can achieve strength and not all strength is about physical prowess. This move is the animated Mulan. Watch that if you want a genuinely well made movie. ThisA movie of a strong woman who fights for her family and proves with training anyone can achieve strength and not all strength is about physical prowess. This move is the animated Mulan. Watch that if you want a genuinely well made movie. This Mulan(2020) proves that in order to be strong a woman, she must have mythical powers that heighten her to the status of god and that the only weakness anyone should have is hiding your power. I was left unemotional and uninvested. The action reminds me of crouching tiger but at least you can enjoy that movie. If you still want to watch the movie I insist you watch a review first. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
Hero666Sep 12, 2020
Most of all, poor storyline. And how it is possible for a Disney movie that comes without a epic song, but filled with hideous makeup character and full with awful choreographed fight scenes ..... Trash movie
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
SirwinalotSep 13, 2020
Bad story, took all the fun out of the movie. They wanted to make the movie more serious and less magic. So they took out fun character and mushu. But add a witch that can turn to birds and thousand bats
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
Mandalorian46Sep 13, 2020
I sincerely wish it was more complex than the original version ... Its a cliché! just like fast n furious.
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
kaliswOct 12, 2020
As an American, this is the most accurate movie showing China history. The fight scene is one of the best in 2020. This movie shows that any woman can be as good as man. It's better than the Chinese made Mulan 2009 movie, which is visuallyAs an American, this is the most accurate movie showing China history. The fight scene is one of the best in 2020. This movie shows that any woman can be as good as man. It's better than the Chinese made Mulan 2009 movie, which is visually plain with boring fights. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews