Universal Pictures | Release Date: October 8, 2010
7.3
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 140 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
90
Mixed:
22
Negative:
28
Watch Now
Stream On
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
10
TheUnpaidCriticOct 9, 2010
A mish-mash celluloid mess! Not the least bit scary or frightening! ANOTHER HUGE MIS-USE OF 3D! COME ON, FILMMAKERS! NOT EVERY MOVIE HAS TO BE IN 3D! CAN'T EVEN TELL THIS ONE IS 3D!
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
moviemaniac2007Oct 10, 2010
What the hell crawled up everyone's bum? This movie wasn't that bad at all. The acting is pretty good and the story line was kind of cool. Is it because it's not scary or too terribly bloody? Go see it. Don't think about the movie too muchWhat the hell crawled up everyone's bum? This movie wasn't that bad at all. The acting is pretty good and the story line was kind of cool. Is it because it's not scary or too terribly bloody? Go see it. Don't think about the movie too much and you might actually enjoy it. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
TheMovieFreakNov 15, 2011
I found My Soul to Take as a entertaining movie written & directed by Wes Craven. Not the best movie of the year (2010), but a fun entertaining film to see. I'd say recommend it.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
survivorfan989Jul 8, 2013
Despite receiving a lot of criticism I still thoroughly enjoyed this creepy little Thriller from Wes Craven, and its now the second time I've seen it. Perfect film to get you thinking also as it's a mysterious Thriller where you need to guessDespite receiving a lot of criticism I still thoroughly enjoyed this creepy little Thriller from Wes Craven, and its now the second time I've seen it. Perfect film to get you thinking also as it's a mysterious Thriller where you need to guess who the killer might be, similar to 'Scream' films. A great group of young actors and characters, as well as having some jumpy moments. The best thing was it held your interest the whole way through, and if you have the DVD check out the alternate endings! Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mchnuOct 24, 2010
Ok, i'm seriously disillusioned by the bad hype given by critics for this film. I watched this film minus any expectations, except that it would have a Craven touch to it. I walked from the theater smiling, while slightly jaded by the totallyOk, i'm seriously disillusioned by the bad hype given by critics for this film. I watched this film minus any expectations, except that it would have a Craven touch to it. I walked from the theater smiling, while slightly jaded by the totally unnecessary use of "3-D" in the film (jackass 3d used it more effectively, ha), i was impressed and deeply entertained by the self-referential and retro feel of this silly sleazy slick horror film. It's a given that every cliche in slasher-film history is at dispense, but Craven has damn fun with this. I immediately felt like I was watching an 80s slasher with a modern production aesthetic and a smirky, nearly slapstick attitude. The unknown cast confidently portrayed a delicious slew of campy horror cliche characters in a manner that felt fresh and well timed. I laughed more in the theater (as did the thin audience) than feeling any true sense of dread or nervousness, but that seemed to not be the focus of this 'scary' movie. If you appreciate 'B' horror films (mainly from the 80s slasher variety) Craven's direction will tease and delight you with its silliness, but tantalize you with its freshly cut violent scenes. Seriously though! I was shocked to see how negatively this film has been discussed. Come on people, open up to the true fun of camp. And not camp by way of poor piss acting, uneven pacing, asinine storytelling, and just bad production values... this is creamy classy camp love project from Wes Craven... it's silly cast is quite quotable to boot! It seems like most reviewers/critics of this film have missed the point, and disregarded the slick, fun production Craven crafted for this popcorn experience. 3D was added after filming and was totally unnecessary though, but the movie was worth my $12.50, maybe another. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
10
Forrestgump1Oct 16, 2010
"Tho not Cravens Best , this film is sleazy , predictable & typical. But its also , Fun, Edge of your seat bloody goodness , that will have you guessing till the end. Soul To Take is a great and fun SLASHER movie that will keep you begging"Tho not Cravens Best , this film is sleazy , predictable & typical. But its also , Fun, Edge of your seat bloody goodness , that will have you guessing till the end. Soul To Take is a great and fun SLASHER movie that will keep you begging for more" .. A+ Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
vini1904Aug 19, 2012
Simply brilliant, the story holds us from start to finish. I do not know why so much criticism has rejected the film. The acting is good and the atmosphere is great mystery. Even my father who is not a fan of these films teen terror ended upSimply brilliant, the story holds us from start to finish. I do not know why so much criticism has rejected the film. The acting is good and the atmosphere is great mystery. Even my father who is not a fan of these films teen terror ended up enjoying the movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
ManutdrulesAug 28, 2013
My soul to take is awesome one of the most scarests horror movies i've seen it gave me the creeps if you haven't seen it download it or watch it on netflix it's awesome
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
Sheyash124Aug 21, 2019
Nice idea that Alex tells his introvert friend Adam to show how to be strong when actually the demon resided with him (Alex)! The ending was nice. The fact that Alex told Adam to fake to be a here actually turned out to let people sleep withNice idea that Alex tells his introvert friend Adam to show how to be strong when actually the demon resided with him (Alex)! The ending was nice. The fact that Alex told Adam to fake to be a here actually turned out to let people sleep with a sigh of relief in the end. Don't know about the 3D version though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews