Searchlight Pictures | Release Date: December 4, 2020
7.7
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 116 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
89
Mixed:
18
Negative:
9
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
9
bertobellamyJan 26, 2021
A very poetic take on the crumble of the American dream. Chloé Zhao and Frances McDormand blur the lines between fiction and documentary to bring to the forefront the tales of workers-turned-nomads who have liberated themselves from theA very poetic take on the crumble of the American dream. Chloé Zhao and Frances McDormand blur the lines between fiction and documentary to bring to the forefront the tales of workers-turned-nomads who have liberated themselves from the tyranny and indifference of an oppressive system. A great meditative film that resonates with every person searching for a real home. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
10
LatinCritic13Dec 18, 2020
Nomadland is truly a swan song when Frances McDormand gives her very best in this masterfully directed flick by Chloe Zhao. The raw emotion in this film that captures the struggles of homelessness of being a nomad will make you realizeNomadland is truly a swan song when Frances McDormand gives her very best in this masterfully directed flick by Chloe Zhao. The raw emotion in this film that captures the struggles of homelessness of being a nomad will make you realize something can be possible thanks to the portrayal of this film. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
7
migdalorguyFeb 20, 2021
This was a difficult move to rate. As a film, it is absolutely brilliant in every aspect. McDormand gives a tour de force performance. The cinematography and musical score are both as close to perfection as they could be. The story isThis was a difficult move to rate. As a film, it is absolutely brilliant in every aspect. McDormand gives a tour de force performance. The cinematography and musical score are both as close to perfection as they could be. The story is beautiful and touching. But therein lies the problem. The story, a clear indictment of everything that is wrong in the US and the inequalities resulting from unbridled capitalism and plutocratic rule, is just too much on the nice side of prettied up by Hollywood for the suburban and urban elite. While there are many aspects of the nomad life that ring true, and clearly show some effort to be honest, it glosses over way to much of the everyday nitty gritty and the harsh realities. As if work at an Amazon facility were so pleasant. As if working on a sugar beet harvest involved just those few moments shown rather than weeks of constant body-draining effort. As if Fern would really betray her values and take the money from her sister. Sadly, the film serves most to soothe the guilt of the self-proclaimed woke. Yes, the film deserves awards all around - acting, directing, cinematography, score. (Screen adaptation not so much. The book is much more realistic.) I let this film tug at me heartstrings and my love of movies. Then, after letting it sit for a while, I saw it for social failure it is. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
mattiazisaDec 29, 2020
Masterpiece. Chloe Zamora made a movie that si so silent and yet so powerful. Incredibile.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
ChrisPaniaguaJan 18, 2021
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The reality of many, that many ignore. The protagonist does not seem to enjoy the trip, but the viewer does. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
snorkissJan 8, 2021
Frances McDormand gives her all in this timely film about growing old and finding a new path in life, sometimes the road gets a little aimless but ultimately it's a trip worth taking -8 stars
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
10
upwardDec 14, 2020
This is a truly, truly special movie. It captures the beauty of humanity with grace, profundity, and empathy while also painting a nuanced portrait of the social ills of our society. What I love about this film is that, in addition to neverThis is a truly, truly special movie. It captures the beauty of humanity with grace, profundity, and empathy while also painting a nuanced portrait of the social ills of our society. What I love about this film is that, in addition to never patronizing its subjects nor its audience, it's not a movie that exists to just tell you "what's wrong with America." This so easily could have been an angry movie about how we've mistreated these people on the margins of our society, but Chloe Zhao recognized that what these people want is not our sympathy. Instead, she dug deeper and told a compassionate, emotional, beautiful story about the way the human spirit triumphs, grows, and heals even in the face of marginalization and inequity without giving the "easy" answers to the social problems it recognizes. Easily among the best of the year. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
dfelixfJan 6, 2021
Me gustó la película. Fue como ver un documental con gente real, visualmente es agradable, y la música es muy buena.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
8
AJ_13Jan 13, 2021
It's almost a documentary, with such an stunning photography, direction and music. Frances McDormand should win her 3 Academy Award.
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Jan 30, 2021
This quiet and soulful drama stars Frances McDormand as a middle-aged widow who loses everything: her home, her town, and her job due to the great recession and packs up all of her belongings and travels cross-country living in her van andThis quiet and soulful drama stars Frances McDormand as a middle-aged widow who loses everything: her home, her town, and her job due to the great recession and packs up all of her belongings and travels cross-country living in her van and meeting several others just like her. The people who travel and live in vans and RVs and don't live in a house are what's called nomads. Long before seeing this film, I knew it was going to be special, and that it'd likely be among my favorite films of 2020, and sure enough, it absolutely is! I was in tears by the end of this one, and it made me reflect on my own life and the state of the world all while watching it. Everything about the film can be likened to a beautiful poem. From its touching and impactful dialogue to the gorgeous cinematography to the intimate performances from all involved, even the real-life nomads who appear in this. Of course, this is McDormand's film to own, who gives the most heartfelt and personal-feeling performance of her long and already-impressive career. Director Chloe Zhao brings out the best in her and furthermore also has crafted a thought-provoking and all too timely-feeling story of being in search of and hopefully finding oneself in such a large and open yet lost and uncertain world. The fact that this film has been released in the time of Corona makes these themes resonate even more poignantly right now, what with people losing their jobs and not having a house to live in. This film really does hit differently in times like these, and it's hard to imagine it being released in any different time or moment than now. Overall, this film for the most part pretty much met my expectations, and paints such a beautiful yet aching portrait of loss and adventure, and I can say with upmost certainty that this is probably my favorite film of 2020. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantFeb 20, 2021
This inside look at a little-known community and culture is engaging for about the first two-thirds, but, in the end run, it begins to grow tiresome, leaving viewers wondering when and how it will ever end. Director Chloe Zhao's third featureThis inside look at a little-known community and culture is engaging for about the first two-thirds, but, in the end run, it begins to grow tiresome, leaving viewers wondering when and how it will ever end. Director Chloe Zhao's third feature offering is a notable improvement over her first two outings, but she still needs to refine her craft further to produce the kind of masterpiece she's likely capable of. "Nomadland" is a big step in that direction, serving up a heartfelt tale about the American nomadic community and its unconventional followers' love of the freedom it affords, set against the beauty of the country's landscape, depicted here through stunningly gorgeous cinematography. However, the inherent meandering of the protagonist ultimately gets taken a little too far in the film's narrative and could have been trimmed without losing anything. The much-heralded performance of Frances McDormand is adequate but far from the kind of stellar work she's capable of, probably due to the understated nature of her character, a casting decision that maybe should have been reevaluated before filming began. While I can honestly say I liked this film, I can also honestly say that I didn't love it, either. Maybe the fourth time will be the charm for Ms. Zhao. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
johnadams69Feb 18, 2021
With flawless aesthetics and editing, Chloé Zhao has managed to make one of the most intimate movies to date.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
erolsabadoshFeb 21, 2021
Wow. I hadn't heard of this but I saw it on Hulu and saw Frances Mcdormand is in it and because I really like her I immediately pressed play without even reading the description and I was blown away. I really didn't expect to be so moved butWow. I hadn't heard of this but I saw it on Hulu and saw Frances Mcdormand is in it and because I really like her I immediately pressed play without even reading the description and I was blown away. I really didn't expect to be so moved but I cried at least twice during the runtime. An intimate and poetic film that focuses on human emotion within a critique of American capitalism and modern isolation, if you're not put off by it being slow moving and fairly quiet you will most likely find something transcendent here. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
KurschFeb 22, 2021
Nomandland has moments of sublime beauty and poignant sorrow; it is a character study with a careful understated performance by McDormand, but the film isn't really about her. McDormand's character is as much a vehicle as her van "Vanguard",Nomandland has moments of sublime beauty and poignant sorrow; it is a character study with a careful understated performance by McDormand, but the film isn't really about her. McDormand's character is as much a vehicle as her van "Vanguard", she is a focal point for the indifferent cruelty of capitalism. The film is slow, it has no direct antagonist, so little dramatic tension. It is emotionally manipulative, but the moments where it strikes are heart wrenching, but veers away from any sort of scathing critique about the failure of the American dream. It's worth seeing, but if this is among the best films of 2020, it was a sad and slow year for film. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
9
istanbulJan 12, 2021
american honey. into the wild. La Loi du marché. - a kind combination of all those great movies of the last decade. McDormand is a star, yet the semi-pro cast supporting her is the real driver of the movie.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
LisaLR1Feb 20, 2021
Frances McDormand is Endearing as a Wandering Nomad Displaced by the American Recession: "Nomadland," directed by Chloé Zhao ("The Rider"), written by Zhao, based on the book by Jessica Bruder, follows the story of Fern, played by the onceFrances McDormand is Endearing as a Wandering Nomad Displaced by the American Recession: "Nomadland," directed by Chloé Zhao ("The Rider"), written by Zhao, based on the book by Jessica Bruder, follows the story of Fern, played by the once again brilliant, 2-time Oscar-winner, Frances McDormand, a woman forced to become a Nomad after the losses of her job in 2011 at a shut down factory in Nevada, her home, death of her husband and the town she lived in wiped off the map, all painful misfortunes, the results of the American Recession. Fern buys a van, which she customizes as her new home, and wanders the West in a constant search for work, including taking a seasonal job with other Nomads boxing packages at a large Amazon distribution center. The beauty in Chloé Zhao's direction is her ability to play on realism by mixing actors in the film with non-actors who manage to give equally gritty performances. Joshua James Richards, Zhao's Cinematographer, is truly an artist, capturing the breathtaking landscape of the American West, using his camera to paint an alluring palette of the stark Arizona desert, ominous mountains, long, winding, cold and lonely roads, powerful Pacific coastline, the Redwood Forest and glorious sunrises and sunsets. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
JLuis_001Dec 30, 2020
I loved this film. Frances McDormand is the soul of this story, and without a doubt she's going for her third Oscar.

There are many elements that I enjoyed about Nomadland, because it's indisputably an excellent character study, but there's
I loved this film. Frances McDormand is the soul of this story, and without a doubt she's going for her third Oscar.

There are many elements that I enjoyed about Nomadland, because it's indisputably an excellent character study, but there's also a big but, and that was decisive for me to take away points from it, and that was the lack of certain authenticity, mixed with an idealism that tries to make you believe that the life this characters have is kind of a dream life. Certainly the film mentions the reasons for its lead character, but never provides a conflict that feels more proactive.
Life is not easy, that's true, and perhaps it's not a brutal journey of hardships either, but it seems that everyone is happy and smiling at all times.

The material was of course excellent for a documentary, and the director; Chloé Zhao takes a similar visual approach to these, but perhaps spends more time exploring an overly meditative side, rather than criticizing the social and economic conditions that drive or force people to go out and live on the road like McDormand's character.

Nomadland is an enriching journey, and as I said, it has its share of issues that I couldn't put aside, but they didn't hinder my enjoyment of its story. It has deservedly earned all the attention it has received, and it will definitely deserve any nominations it gets in the upcoming awards season.
So if you're interested in a rewarding film, here's a great candidate.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
HerickDienerJan 6, 2021
Será difícil alguém terminar as 1h 48m desse filme sem ter uma opinião ao seu respeito, seja ela positiva ou negativa. Acredito que "Nomadland" não seja para todos. Tem um aspecto documental e é bastante íntimo. Ele requer uma imersão naSerá difícil alguém terminar as 1h 48m desse filme sem ter uma opinião ao seu respeito, seja ela positiva ou negativa. Acredito que "Nomadland" não seja para todos. Tem um aspecto documental e é bastante íntimo. Ele requer uma imersão na narrativa, o que os ótimos trabalhos de Frances na atuação, Chloe na direção e Joshua na fotografia abrem caminho. Se alguém me perguntar sobre o que se trata esse filme, falarei que é sobre uma mulher que experimentou a imensidão e não quis mais sair dela. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
Iceman21Feb 24, 2021
An atmospheric indie film to which Chloé Zhao has lent a great deal of down-to-earthness, humanity and poetics with her sensitivity in the director's chair and which is considered a hot contender for this year's Oscar race. Nomadland is aAn atmospheric indie film to which Chloé Zhao has lent a great deal of down-to-earthness, humanity and poetics with her sensitivity in the director's chair and which is considered a hot contender for this year's Oscar race. Nomadland is a character study of the suddenly "houseless" Fern, who tries to adapt to her new life as a nomad as best she can after the death of her husband. On the almost documentary-like followed journey in her van, Fern meets people with different personalities who help her in her new world. The centre of the film throughout the entire running time is clearly protagonist Fern, played by two-time Oscar winner Frances McDormand. She undergoes all kinds of setbacks and always carries around an inner conflict. She could do better, but wants to take the challenge on herself with all her might. McDormand embodies the basic mood of the film and tells the story of many: she is a victim of the glaring class differences and capitalist overweight in the USA. In the process, she works her fingers to the bone, is constantly on the lookout for new jobs and means well for people. She illustrates what the new situation triggers in her character and how she keeps her head above water. Fern goes hand in hand with the mood of the film: she is unobtrusive, subtle and has a lot of depth. This role is arguably the most important in McDormand's glorious career so far because she represents a group of people who are not seen. The actress lived in a van on a campsite for a few months before the start of filming herself and got acquainted with this kind of life. David Strathairn, as Fern's good friend Dave, is also very important to the protagonist's journey. He makes her conflicted by his obvious intentions and lets us experience the interpersonal component first hand. This comes across in almost every scene in the film, despite the clear main character. The other characters are real-life people, which brings an enormous amount of closeness and authenticity to the film.

McDormand carries the plot of the film brilliantly on her shoulders, but the real heroine of Nomadland is its director. You can tell from start to finish that Chloé Zhao cares deeply about this subject matter. She has turned a low-budget independent film into a technical masterpiece against which every action film with elaborate special effects falls short. The cinematography captures lengthy and beautiful shots of the landscape, making the film's actually dreary setting seem colourful and idyllic. The music by Ludovico Einaudi is softly and empathetically composed, making Fern's rides in the van meaningful. Zhao has put together a film that takes its time, but where all the cinematic elements become one big whole. As a result, Nomadland does not create seas of tears despite the sadness of its subject, but a cinematic masterpiece whose basic idea is always present and sticks with one.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
9
henryzandtDec 31, 2020
Sometimes we lose the people we hold in our hearts. Without them we are nomads and endlessly look for what we have lost. In all its simplicity this is a fantastic film about the quest to give a lost love a place in our lives. It is not a sadSometimes we lose the people we hold in our hearts. Without them we are nomads and endlessly look for what we have lost. In all its simplicity this is a fantastic film about the quest to give a lost love a place in our lives. It is not a sad film, it is even hopeful. Frances McDormand is (as always) fantastic. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
7
davemelbourne58Feb 22, 2021
Frances McDormand deserves all the praise she's been getting for this role. The no-mad life was a real eye-opener for me. I don't need to ever see it again, but it's a movie that will stick with you.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
Jamminman82Feb 23, 2021
This is not so much a story, but a look at a life style. I've follwed the nomad community for some time - I was looking at taking a job in LA, and I wasn't going to move there, so I seriously looked at van living with regular trips home. IThis is not so much a story, but a look at a life style. I've follwed the nomad community for some time - I was looking at taking a job in LA, and I wasn't going to move there, so I seriously looked at van living with regular trips home. I say that because I was surprised to see some of the actual people from the community in the movie. I've followed Bob Wells for years. It made the movie almost a documentary. Having Bob gave it some credibility. The movie gives us a little look at the van life community and may personalize it for some.
Frances McDormand did a great job giving the chracter somoe life without needing a lot of fill in. We can feel the desire for independance along with the resulting meloncholy and loneliness.
Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews